comicconcierge's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Nerd Initiative Reviews: 31
7.5Avg. Review Rating

7.5
Aint No Grave (2024) #3

Jul 10, 2024

Any fan of the Western genre should be giving Ain't No Grave a shot because it takes what this genre is known for and tries to tell a classic story in a new way. On a sheer aesthetic level, it is one of the most unique and best-looking books out today, and that fact helps me ignore my minor qualms with some of the character choices.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Big Burn (2024) #1

Jul 24, 2024

For a first issue, it gives you plenty of story. If you are a heist fan theres a lot to like with this first issue. It feels familiar but not repetitive. The cast of characters has a lot of promise, and the supernatural element helps distinguish it from similar stories. So far that supernatural element has been a soft touch, which makes sense for an introductory issue. My hope is it will truly expand upon that as this story continues to make it a truly distinct story.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Blow Away (2024) #1

Apr 17, 2024

I found the construction of this issue rather fascinating. One that utilized film and photographic techniques in a way that is rare for this medium. It demonstrates the power of giving the audience the least amount of information possible. You have just enough to have an idea of what is happening but nowhere close enough to being certain. When you have that much room for interpretation it makes it that much more fascinating because of all the different avenues the story can travel. This all leads to one of the most unique first issues I read all year and I cannot wait to see how this all develops.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Damn Them All (2022) #10

Nov 8, 2023

Ultimately, issue ten of Damn Them All is one of the best issues of one of the best series in comics today. While this series is reminiscent of comics of the past, it is telling a story that is very much of the now. Something that is made even clearer with this installment. With issue twelve set to be the ending of this arc (hopefully not the series in general) the $#!@ is about to hit the proverbial fan.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Damn Them All (2022) #11

Dec 13, 2023

The way this plays with expectations has me so excited for what is next. Anything is possible.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Deer Editor (2023) #2

Feb 14, 2024

The final third of this issue was quite exciting. Bucky shows the beast he is and the lengths he is willing to go to speak the truth. Overall issue two shifted the series into a brand new direction. Not being a fan of the choice but still highly enjoying the issue demonstrates how well it was executed.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Deer Editor (2023) #3

Mar 20, 2024

I for one would be in favor of that because Deer Editor has given us a fresh take the crime genre desperately needs.If these creators have more stories they want to tell I would be there for it. For now, it is an unquestionably successful that takes us on a journey. This feels like it was made by people who love stories of vastly different ilks from The Third Man, to I Am Legend, to Blacksad. Further evidence that variety is the spice of not only life but comics as well.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Edenfrost (2023) #1

Nov 22, 2023

You feel their love for one another along with the fear that they share. If the other narrative pieces can be designed as well as their relationship this book will be in great shape.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Fishflies (2023) #3

Nov 15, 2023

Fishflies #3 is not in a hurry to push the story along which is why it works as well as it does. Lemire allows real people to have real conversations about real issues but injects just the right amount of the fantastical to make things interesting.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Giant-Size (2024): Little Marvels #1

Jun 26, 2024

Giant-Size Little Marvels #1 is a fun read but I also get the sense we have pushed this concept to its limit.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Grommets (2024) #1

May 29, 2024

Will a younger generation get what I got out of Grommets #1? I could see doing for them what movies like Stand By Me that existed in a different time but told a story I wanted to be part of, because of the characters it created and the story it told. At the end of the day, a good story is a good story, and so far this is shaping up to be just that.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Grommets (2024) #2

Jun 26, 2024

All this comes together for a comic that is unlike anything else being put out monthly by the major publishers. It is a book about people coming from a personal place that is full of humor, good times, and the occasional danger that occurs when chasing both. Only two issues in and this is quickly becoming one of my favorite books on the shelves.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Lawful (2024) #1

Jun 12, 2024

When it comes to a first issue the number one thing I look for is if it created intrigue, and as mentioned with the way this explores morality that was accomplished. The second part is if it has something that provokes a great deal of excitement and makes you want to read the second issue as quickly as possible. I cannot say this had that impact on me. Part of that may be by design as this is not trying to force in those big moments but rather be driven by character first. I could see that however when those big moments did happen I was left overwhelmed. Theres still enough here to bring me back for issue two as I hope the strengths are built upon as the narrative continues.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Local Man (2023) #9

Jan 31, 2024

The stakes here are not world-endingthey are family-ending and that hurts even more. I still do not know if I understand the mindset behind some rather drastic character choices, but with one more issue to go, I hope that can be cleared up.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Local Man (2023) #10

May 22, 2024

There are so many storytelling choices made within the art that I find fascinating as well. Specifically how the pages are designed to slowly convey key information that is easy to overlook. You need to pay attention as something that seems trivial at first means much more a few pages later.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Local Man (2023): Bad Girls #1

Mar 27, 2024

Local Man: Bad Girls #1 builds upon the Local Man universe by focusing on characters that have not gotten much time within the main series. This issue simultaneously develops those characters as well as the foundation of this series. A foundation that revisits the world of nineties comics to highlight what worked and fill in what was missing.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Namor (2024) #1

Jul 17, 2024

Namor #1 was clearly designed to set the stage. Giving us a broken Namor that needs to be rebuilt and the conflict that will do just that. Because of that, it does come off as a big tease to something much bigger. But Aarons style fits the voice of Namor quite well, and as cliffhangers go theres plenty of promise. Finally a new story for Marvels oldest character.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Napalm Lullaby (2024) #1

Mar 13, 2024

Ultimately the goal of a first issue is to create enough intrigue to make you want to come back for issue number two. No question that goal was accomplished. The goal now for issue two is to find something deeper to connect to beyond that initial intrigue.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Napalm Lullaby (2024) #2

Apr 10, 2024

Breadcrumbs are being dropped but that may not be enough for everyone. The audience is being kept at a distance and there are a lot of unknowns. Despite being two issues into the series the characters are still mostly blank slates. I appreciate the faith in the audience to put the pieces together, but I would also value having more to invest in beyond generalities. As a fan of this creative team, I have faith my investment will grow as the story develops but this may end up being a comic that is best experienced in trade for others.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Napalm Lullaby (2024) #3

May 15, 2024

Despite everything that works with this book I do struggle to find an emotional connection with it. I appreciate its message regarding the dangers of conformity and being unwilling to be uncomfortable. What I struggle with is finding an attachment to the events that are taking place and the characters we have been given to follow.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Newburn #15

Feb 28, 2024

Issue fifteen of Newburn works because of everything that came before. Seems like that should go unsaid but at first this did not appear to be a book that was telling one unified tale.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Our Bones Dust (2023) #1

Dec 6, 2023

Any person with an ounce of empathy can feel for his plight, but not much is known about who or what he is to have any true emotional connection. Rather looking forward to see this story further balance out in upcoming issues.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Our Bones Dust (2023) #2

Jan 17, 2024

Now it does not overtly detract from the otherwise positive experience of reading this series. It is simply not a strength, but it is also only issue two so it could develop into one before things end. For now, I am rather intrigued regarding what is being built here, just not fully invested yet.

View Issue       View Full Review
4
Pine & Merrimac (2024) #3

Mar 6, 2024

At the end of the day, I enjoy being with these characters and learning more about who and what they are. In most noirs, the case is usually just an avenue we go down to learn more about the protagonist and that does appear to be what is happening here.Considering how this has put slight twists on common tropes it makes me wonder if there is more happening than we can realize at this point. Either way, I am enjoying the discovery.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Pine & Merrimac (2024) #4

Apr 24, 2024

When everything about this comic changed in a flash. Its not often a comic that can surprise me to the level this issue did. Do you know the best / worst part? We wont know what happens until the next issue. The wait is going to hurt, but I have faith it will be well worth it.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Profane (2024) #1

Jun 5, 2024

Profane #1 is two industry veterans trying to do something new with the noir genre by exposing what is old. It felt like Momemto by way of Stranger than Fiction, and I have the sense that it is only going to get stranger from here.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Space Usagi (2023): Death and Honor #3

Feb 21, 2024

What is great about this book is despite it being a reprint it is as relevant as ever with its connections to properties like Star Wars. It is this ultimate celebration of genre storytelling.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Swan Songs (2023) #5

Nov 29, 2023

Perhaps I was expecting something a bit cleaner than what they wanted to give me. It could also be my inability to see something that is clearly there. I do get the sense this is a type of issue that gets better the more times you read it. Still, that was my experience, but the beauty of art is that we can experience it differently.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Uncle Scrooge and the Infinity Dime (2024) #1

Jun 19, 2024

Overall Uncle Scrooge and the Infinity Dime #1 is a love letter done right. Longtime fans may find the direction of the story not to their liking but even they would need to admit this was done with a lot of respect for what came before. For new fans, this may inspire you to check out one of the most important but underappreciated pieces of comic book history.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Usagi Yojimbo (2023): The Crow #1

Apr 3, 2024

Overall Usagi Yojimbo: The Crow #1 was a satisfying warm-up to a new Usagi Yojimbo adventure. A new threat emerges that promises to be a challenge for Usagi like we have not seen in some time. Forty years strong and Stan Sakai shows no signs of slowing down.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Usagi Yojimbo (2023): The Crow #2

May 8, 2024

Overall this was the part of the story dedicated to getting the pieces together for the overall arc. You see the small characters being introduced that will no doubt play a larger role as the story continues. Usagi spends most of this issue just eating with his old pals. Those scenes did work as a nice comedic counterbalance to what was happening with Yukich. So the list of things that happen in this issue is small, but the benefit is you get to be with these characters and their silly antics. Its like stretching before a major run. It may not be the most exciting but its benefits will pay off later.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

July

June

More