David Torres's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Comix 411 Reviews: 82
8.4Avg. Review Rating

8.8
Adventure Comics (2009) #1

Aug 14, 2009

I love the idea of Conner having his own Lex Luthor with this Valentine character - if that's the direction Geoff is going in. Conner rejoining the Teen Titans is a great idea. I loved him in that book. It's too bad the title has gone downhill since Geoff left. Anyway, pick up Adventure Comics, Geoff Johns hits another home run here. Great stuff.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Adventure Comics (2009) #2

Sep 13, 2009

I hope Geoff stays on this book for a while. I have a feeling he's got a lot of fun stories in him that could be looked upon as classics years from now. Absolutely recommend this book. Even if you're not familiar with the characters like I am with the Legion, you will not be disappointed.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Adventure Comics (2009) #5

Dec 12, 2009

I also would love to Conner meet up with Prime again. Prime could be the bastard child of this story similar to the way Jason Todd is in the Batman world. Geoff Johns's run on the title ends with next month's issue. After that, we have a special top secret Blackest Night tie-in issue written by Tony Bedard. Does it have to do with Prime or someone completely different? I'll stick around to find out, but if with Geoff no longer on the title I'm gone after that.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Adventure Comics (2009) #6

Jan 17, 2010

Not sure if I'll be checking out these stories. I'll read the first issue of War of the Supermen as it will be released on Free Comic Day. James Robinson will be handling the writing chores on these events and his work has been okay as of late. Not enough to get me to invest my hard earned dollars. I do highly recommend this issue if you are a Superman fan. Geoff did a great job here. Hopefully he jumps back to writing Superman monthly or maybe a new monthly Superboy book. I'd buy it.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Amazing Spider-Man (1999) #600

Jul 23, 2009

Things should be interesting in the world of Spider-Man in the coming months. Between the return of MJ and the revival of the Clone Saga, I'm very interested in reading what happens next. Check it out people. Good stuff!

View Issue       View Full Review
6.2
Amazing Spider-Man (1999) #601

Aug 6, 2009

Next issue the Chameleon returns. This story will be written by Fred van Lente and the art will be provided by Barry Kitson. I'm not familiar with van Lente's work, but I've always liked Barry Kitson's art. I hope it's good, but I'm really waiting for the "Who was Ben Reilly?" storyline which begins in October.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Amazing Spider-Man (1999) #608

Oct 10, 2009

Also, since Norman Osborn was revealed to be the mastermind behind the Clone Saga, will he be making an appearance in this story? What about Gwen Stacy's clone? She's still out there. Will she make an appearance? Looking forward to seeing how this all plays out. Pick it up.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Amazing Spider-Man (1999) #609

Oct 22, 2009

Marc Guggenheim is a very good writer. Not sure if I mentioned this, but I wish Marvel would drop the rotating creative teams and make Amazing Spider-Man a monthly again with Guggenheim at the helm. Looking forward to the rest of story. Pick this one up.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Amazing Spider-Man (1999) #610

Nov 6, 2009

Next week Deadpool shows up. That should be funny. See you then!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Amazing Spider-Man (1999) Annual #36

Jul 9, 2009

I highly recommend this issue. Pat Olliffe provides the art work here and I was a huge fan of his work on Spider-girl. With all of this Clone Saga talk, I guess I'll be checking out Spider-man for a while. I will definitely be picking up the big 600th issue. If you're a long time Spidey fan like me and have abandoned the character because of "Brand New Day," give this issue a shot because it will definitely put a smile on your face. It's a fun read and it's able to stand next to the quality of old Spidey stories from the past. Go get it!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Arkham Reborn #1

Nov 1, 2009

A good start to this mini-series. My only problem was the confusion with the Bruce Wayne thing in the beginning. I love all of these new inmates. Would love to see an on-going series that simply focused on Arkham. Maybe this series is a test run. Pick this one up.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Batman #687

Jun 11, 2009

I thought having Dick takeover as Batman would simply be a rehash of the "Prodigal" storyline we saw in the 1990s, but so far it's been fun and different. It's a much more interesting storyline so far than what we saw in "Prodigal" and I can't wait for more!

View Issue       View Full Review
6.2
Batman #688

Jul 9, 2009

If you're a Batman fan, I'm sure you've picked this one up already, but if you are casual Bat reader, skip this and read Batman and Robin.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.2
Batman #690

Sep 4, 2009

I'm looking ahead to the Batman title post-Judd Winick. I'd like to see what Tony Daniel is going to do as the writer. Can't really recommend this book. With comic book prices going up, there's other stuff that's much better out there right now.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Batman #691

Oct 17, 2009

Tony Daniel comes in next issue where he will explore the Black Mask and his gang war. Very happy with this issue; it's too bad that the whole arc wasn't as good. Looking forward to Daniel as I liked his writing on Battle for the Cowl and of course his artwork is amazing. As for this issue, pick this one up!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Batman and Robin #1

Jun 3, 2009

I'm very excited by this issue and all of the upcoming stories that Morrison has planned. I can't believe I'm saying all of this because after reading "Batman: RIP" and "Final Crisis," I thought there would be no way I'd like anything Morrison would end up doing with the Batman character. But from what I've seen so far, my juices are fpumping and I'm excited about what we'll be seeing next. How long will DC have Dick in the cowl and how and when will Bruce return? If Morrison can follow in the footsteps and do what Ed Brubaker has done with Captain America, I say leave Bruce alone for a while and lets see Dick as Batman for the foreseeable future. This is truly Batman reborn and its damn good reading.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman and Robin #2

Jul 2, 2009

Another great issue. Can't wait for more.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Batman and Robin #3

Aug 26, 2009

This was a very good issue, but a bit difficult to follow at some points for me with the stuff Pyg was doing, and the scene with Le Bossu came out of no where. I still think this is the best of the Batman: Reborn books that I've read. (I haven't read Streets of Gotham or Gotham Sirens.) I just wish DC would have a uniform depiction of the new Batman and Robin. I understand artistic licensing, but this is a little too much I think. I highly recommend this book and I say recommend it to people who haven't read Batman in a while. They won't be let down!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Batman and Robin #4

Sep 19, 2009

A good job here by Morrison. I love all of these new characters. It's time for Dick Grayson to have his own Rogues Gallery. The Circus of Strange was a great start and this Gravedigger character looks promising. Still the best Batman book out there. Highly recommend it!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Batman and Robin #5

Oct 10, 2009

Whatever the case, Batman and Robin continues to be the best Bat-book on the market right now and it's shaping up to be a classic run. Congratulations to Grant and his artists.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman and Robin #6

Nov 13, 2009

So I'm very pumped up to see where Morrison takes this story with the reintroduction of Simon Hurt and Zur en arrh. I hated Batman: RIP, but I love what Morrison has been doing with this title so maybe he can take these elements of that storyline and make them appealing to me. Pick this one up Bat-fans. You won't be disappointed.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Batman and Robin #8

Feb 18, 2010

The best Batman book out there today. Pick it up.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Batman Confidential (2006) #27

Mar 14, 2009

Looking forward to conclusion of this story and I'm absolutely loving the "Batman: Confidential" title right now. I was happy to see that the team of Andrew Kreisberg and Scott McDaniel are returning to do a sequel to their Joker storyline. This one focuses on the cop whose wife killed herself thanks to the Joker. I'm looking forward to that as well. Great job DC! Keep it coming!

View Issue       View Full Review
6.2
Batman Confidential (2006) #29

May 16, 2009

Maybe I'm being a bit too hard on this story, but for some reason it really didn't grab me. I feel it was a little too quick for Sancoe to be driven into becoming a new super-villain - even though he's been on the edge of insanity for a while. I'll stick with this story as "Confidential" is on my pull list and until I really don't care about what's going on in the storylines I'll keep reading. This is a two-part story which I feel should have been longer. I think a more detailed descent into madness would have been much more interesting for this character. Up next in "Confidential" we have X-Force/X-Statix writer Peter Milligan coming in for a five-part story dealing with the Russian mob.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Batman Confidential (2006) #30

Jun 15, 2009

A very good issue. I recommend it and look forward to other stories Mr. Kreisberg will be working - especially Batman stories. The next "Batman Confidential" story arc will be written by Peter Milligan of X-Force/X-Statix fame. I've never read his work on those titles, but I will give a shot.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Batman: Battle for the Cowl #1

Mar 11, 2009

So nice job on the writing and on the artwork for Mr. Daniel. A very nice job indeed and I'm looking forward to the next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Batman: Battle for the Cowl #2

Apr 8, 2009

Looking forward to the final issue next month. It's also the 70th anniversary of the first appearance Batman - May 2nd to be exact. We then have the launch of the new Batman universe in June.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Batman: Battle for the Cowl #3

May 20, 2009

I'm sure Jason will return at some point to battle the new Batman and it's safe to say that Tim will be the new Red Robin and from what we know from advance solicitations, he does not believe Bruce is dead and he goes out in search of him. Next month starts the whole new adventure. See you then!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Batman: Battle for the Cowl: Arkham Asylum #1

Apr 23, 2009

I've read some of David Hine's work in the past with X-Men: The 198 and wasn't all that impressed. He impressed me here and I look forward to any Bat-stories he may do in the future. Maybe an on-going comic similar to "Gotham Central" with a book centered on the inmates of Arkham. So pick this one up. It's a great read!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Blackest Night #1

Jul 16, 2009

I like what DC has got going so far and Geoff Johns continues to prove why he's the best in the business right now. You don't have to be a GL fan to really enjoy this storyline. It's great fun and I highly recommend it.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Blackest Night #2

Aug 13, 2009

Johns succeeds here with this issue as I want to know more after this issue ends. Blackest Night is a long one so let's hope there is a big payoff at the end. Again, you don't have to be a GL expert to be able to follow this one. Great writing and great artwork. A near perfect comic book!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Blackest Night #3

Sep 17, 2009

I've never read much about the new Firestorm, but I like this kid Jason. Kudos to DC for creating another great new character to go along with all of the golden oldies running around. This story is great and it's reminding me of the original Crisis on Infinite Earths as far the scale and drama of the story. I repeat this may be Geoff's best work and could very well go down as a classic like the original Crisis. Next month the power levels of the Black Lanterns are at 100%. Can they be stopped? How will it all end and who makes it out alive?! Great stuff. Can't wait for next month.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Blackest Night #4

Oct 29, 2009

Great art work by Ivan Reis as always. A good story with some cool moments. Still great fun.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Blackest Night: Batman #2

Sep 12, 2009

Pick this one up. Lots of fun. Blackest Night is shaping up to be the event of the year and one of the best ever.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Blackest Night: Batman #3

Oct 18, 2009

Great story by Tomasi and again Ardian Syaf's artwork was top notch. Not a perfect series, but very enjoyable. Hopefully with all of these individual mini-series that deal with various DC characters fighting Black Lanterns on their own, we'll then see them join up for the big fight in the main Blackest Night mini-series. So pick this up. I highly recommend it.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Blackest Night: Superman #2

Sep 26, 2009

One more issue to go for this series. Will the Superman family show up in the main Blackest Night series? How will this story end? We'll find out soon enough. Having a blast with this series in case you haven't guessed yet. Can't wait for more!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Blackest Night: Superman #3

Oct 24, 2009

Great story with a lot of great comic book action. Artist Eddy Barrows did a amazing job here, and I look forward to more of his stuff down the road. Next week it's back to the main series with Earth being evacuated and the secrets of the Blackest Night will be revealed. See you then!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Blackest Night: The Flash #1

Dec 4, 2009

I love the Flash world and although there are too many speedsters running around (Jay, Barry, Wally, Bart, Jesse, Max, and Iris) it's still lots of fun. I hope the new series is geared to be more of a team book than a solo series for Barry. I think there are too many interesting characters to let them be pushed out into the background - especially Wally. Wally has been the Flash for me for many years. Although, I'm enjoying Barry's return, I still love the character of Wally West and hope he gets a lot of face time in the DC Universe. Whether you're a Flash fan or not, this is a great issue and I highly recommend it.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Captain America (2004) #600

Jun 17, 2009

I was shocked when I heard the news that Steve was coming back in "Reborn". I thought "Reborn" would be another tease that Marvel would put out in the same way we saw them do when they advertised the "Avengers/Invaders" mini-series to make it look like Steve maybe coming back. I'm pumped up about Steve's return and look forward to seeing how the story unfolds. Welcome back, Steve.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Captain America (2004) #601

Jul 16, 2009

This was a very good story, but I was really disappointed by Gene's artwork. If you want to see some really good classic artwork by Mr. Colan I would checkout his website www.genecolan.com. His old work is fantastic. I would pick this issue up if you're a Cap fan or if you're into vampires.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Captain America: Reborn #1

Jul 2, 2009

The issue opens up with a group of U.S. soldiers on a landing craft on June 6, 1944 " D-Day. On one of the landing crafts is our guy Steve Rogers aka Captain America " looking a lot like his Ultimate Universe self than the traditional Cap weve seen for the past 65 years. Im assuming this is a recon or maybe Steve is somehow stuck in the Ultimate Universe. Wouldnt that be a twist! Anyway, Steve is jumping from moment-to-moment in time from the beaches of Normandy to moment his mother died. Over in the present, Sharon Carter and the Falcon are informing Hank Pym and the Vision of what the situation is with Steve, the gun, and the time machine. The remnants of that machine are thought to be in the possession of Norman Osborn and HAMMER, so Bucky the current Captain America and the Black Widow, break into the HAMMER helicarrier only to find that its a trap and HAMMER agents along with Ares and Venom of the Dark Avengers are waiting for them. In a nutshell, thats about where we are

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Captain America: Reborn #2

Aug 5, 2009

This story is really good so far and I'm enjoying it thoroughly. Ed Brubaker is a master and Bryan Hitch's work is top-notch. Three more issues to go until the return. I can't wait and I also can't wait to see how this all plays out. A good twist would be to have Norman Osborn be successful in bringing Steve back and brainwashing him into being the leader of the Dark Avengers. Then we can have a big epic Steve vs Bucky; Cap vs Cap! Way cool! Anyway, pick this one up, comic fans! You won't be disappointed.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Captain America: Reborn #3

Sep 17, 2009

Only two more issues to go. Love the story. I'm wondering though if writer Ed Brubaker will wrap up this story here or continue it in the regular Cap title. It almost seems you would need more than just two more issues to wrap things up. Whatever the case, it's still good. A lot of action and some great artwork. Still recommend this series.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Captain America: Reborn #4

Nov 5, 2009

As I said, this is still a good series. Bryan Hitch continues with the artwork and does a magnificent job. Next month is the final issue and then we'll have Steve back as Cap, but what about Bucky? He'll be around I'm sure; maybe a new costume and identity. Maybe Marvel will launch a new solo series for him. Hopefully Brubaker is the writer if they go in that direction. I also wouldn't mind Cap and his own team separate from the Avengers. A team consisting of Bucky, Falcon, and Sharon Carter. The 1950s Cap will also showing up after the Reborn series. Can't wait to see where Brubaker takes him.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Captain America: Reborn #5

Dec 21, 2009

This has been a good series, but I'm looking forward to the end with Steve back and seeing where Brubaker takes him from here. I highly recommend this issue for Cap fans.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Captain America: Who Will Wield the Shield? #1

Dec 24, 2009

This was a great book. What more can you say about Ed Brubaker and what he's done with Captain America. The artwork by Butch Guice and Luke Ross is top notch. Check out the work they did during the scene where Steve takes out Mr. Hyde. Fantastic! Highly recommend this book for Cap fans and anyone else. Pick it up!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Detective Comics #853

Apr 22, 2009

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Detective Comics #854

Jun 25, 2009

As I said a good start to the new direction of Detective Comics. Rucka has me interested in reading more stories about Batwoman and J.H. Williams art was amazing here. Some great work in this issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Detective Comics #855

Jul 31, 2009

So for now, I'm sticking with this book as I'm interested in the character development of Batwoman. We'll see if Greg Rucka can keep my interest.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Detective Comics #856

Aug 28, 2009

Good issue and I'll stick with Detective Comics for now.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Detective Comics #857

Sep 28, 2009

Again I may stick around after this issue. I try to only get stuff that really blows me away. Dont have the money or the space in my house to keep buying comics that dont knock my socks off. Still I would recommend this story. Its decent enough and maybe other readers may take to it more than I did.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Flash: Rebirth #1

Apr 2, 2009

Anyway, a good job by all and some good stuff ahead for the world of the Flash. I love it.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Flash: Rebirth #2

May 7, 2009

A good mystery so far and I'm starting to get into the character of Barry Allen. The only Flash I've known has been Wally so this is a bit of a virgin experience. Looking forward to more.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Flash: Rebirth #3

Jun 14, 2009

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Flash: Rebirth #4

Aug 26, 2009

I love the Flash universe and it's great to see Max Mercury back in the land of the living. I've always loved his character from the days I first started reading Flash. So we have two issues left and where will all of this lead to? I have no idea. I just hope Geoff can continue to juggle all of these speedsters and make things interesting and not have them seem redundant. That's my biggest fear for the Flash universe - too many Flashes. If anyone can make it work though, its Geoff Johns, the best comic writer in the business today.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Green Lantern (2005) #44

Jul 24, 2009

I'm not picking up Tales of the Green Lantern Corps mini-series, but I will be getting the Blackest Night Superman and Batman mini-series. Superman vs a Black Lantern Earth 2 Superman and Batman vs the Black Lantern Flying Graysons is very cool. Can't wait.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Green Lantern (2005) #45

Aug 27, 2009

The Blackest Night has not let me down yet. I'm really enjoying this one. This could be a classic in the making!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Green Lantern (2005) #46

Oct 5, 2009

If you're already reading the Blackest Night series, you've picked this one up already so I don't have to recommend it to you. Next month's issue deals with the fight between the Blue Lanterns and Agent Orange. Looking forward to it.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Justice League: Cry for Freedom #2

Aug 9, 2009

I do recommend it though. I like James Robinson and I love the JLA. If you love both, then this one's for you.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Justice League: Cry for Justice #3

Sep 7, 2009

I'm disappointed in James Robinson. His Starman is an all-time favorite of mine and his work has been subpar since his return to comics. Hopefully the story turns around. If it doesn't, I won't be picking up the Justice League when he starts writing the book. Don't recommend this book, but if you're at your local comic store, flip through it because it's great artwork.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Justice League: Cry for Justice #4

Oct 10, 2009

Whatever the case this was a pretty good issue with some amazing art work by Mauro Cascioli. James Robinson's run begins on the main Justice League comic later this month. I'll check it out. Wondering how this series will tie in with his first issue. I recommend this issue more for the art work than the story. Only the hardcore JLA fans need apply for this series so far.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Justice Society of America #29

Aug 1, 2009

I'll be sticking with this title. I love these characters and the story so far is good enough to keep me interested. I hope things pick up and maybe when James Robinson comes on the Justice League book in October, we can have an old-fashioned JSA/JLA team-up. I thought the last one DC did was a bit of a letdown. So pick this up if you're a hardcore JSAer like I am. I wouldn't recommend it if you were a casual reader.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.2
Justice Society of America #30

Aug 30, 2009

It's still early in this run for this creative team. I'll see where this story goes, but if I don't like the stories I'll be moving on.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Justice Society of America #31

Oct 5, 2009

A very good issue that stopped me from dropping this title. I am intrigued as to who is behind this attack and why they don't want Stargirl harmed. I know that the new team being featured in the new book JSA All-Stars will consist of all of the young kids, but veterans Power Girl and Hourman will also be on the team. Interesting that Hourman is not on the same team as his wife. It does look like a pretty good line-up though. I'm very happy that this was a good issue because I really like the JSA and all of the characters. I doubt Mr. Terrific is dead. So I'm curious to see how his story turns out. If you had your doubts about JSA, pick this one up. A good read with some cool moments and Jesus Merino's artwork is much better here as well than what we've seen in the previous issues.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
New Mutants (2009) #1

May 8, 2009

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Red Robin #1

Jun 11, 2009

The big negative for this book is the artwork. I think it's horrible. I wouldn't mind seeing Mark Bagley on "Red Robin". He's going to be doing some work for the "Batman" title with Judd Winick. Maybe he could be the regular artist for the title after he finishes. I will continue to collect this title, but as much as I love the character of Tim Wayne, I'm not going to continue the title if the story isn't interesting. Lets hope the search for Bruce Wayne is a winner.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Red Robin #2

Jul 11, 2009

In the end of the issue, Tim does the unthinkable a contacts Ra's and agrees to except his help in finding Bruce. If you're a fan of Tim Wayne, pick this up. Tim is the best character to come out of DC in the past 20 years. Here's to many more!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Red Robin #4

Sep 12, 2009

A good issue here. Hopefully writer Chris Yost is able to build off of this good story and continue from here. As of issue six of the series, a new artist named Marcus To will be taking over the job as the series artist. From the cover for issue six, his work is pretty good, but I would much rather see an artist like Andy Kubert or maybe Tom Grummett take over the book. I'll be sticking around for a few more issues. Hopefully we get some good stories.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.2
Rise of the Black Lanterns: Starman #81

Jan 21, 2010

So, a big disappointment with this issue for this long-time Starman fan. If you're a hardcore fan like me, I'm sure you've picked it up already. If you were an occasional reader of the title or if you've never read Starman, skip this one. To those who've never read the book, do yourself a favor and read the series. You will not be disappointed.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Siege #1

Jan 7, 2010

According to Wikipedia, Marvel has stated that this event will help usher in a new "Heroic Age." If this means a return to traditional Avengers stories and lineups, I'm there. This has been a fun ride and it's good to shake things up a bit, but I'm ready for the Avengers to go back to normal. Whether I get my wish, we'll see. Supposedly this is also the last big crossover for a while and I'm very happy with that. I think it's time to go back to basics with small good little self contained stories; not just in Avengers, but in all Marvel Comics. The 60's and 70's had stories that worked and proved that you don't have to have the big blockbuster to tell a good story and sell a lot of comic books. As for the Siege, I highly recommend it.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Siege #2

Feb 4, 2010

Olivier Coipel's artwork in this issue is outstanding. That's what really helps this series so far because in my opinion, the story is good, but it's nothing we haven't seen before. Maybe I'm short changing writer Brian Michael Bendis on this one, because most of his work is top notch and I may be taking his work for granted. I don't think there will be any ground breaking, shattering events that will have an effect on the Marvel Universe for years to come. I think we'll have a big battle and Norman Osborn will be defeated. I don't foresee anything more than just that happening. Still, I'm enjoying this series and do yourself a favor and check out Coipel's artwork. Unreal! Great stuff.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Spider-Man: The Clone Saga #1

Oct 1, 2009

Again a nice beginning to the story. I think what will really make or break this series is how they end it. I'm assuming it ends with Peter being the true clone as that's what Marvel intended to do back then, but who knows? I recommend this one if you're a Spidey fan, but only if you're an older fan who was around back then and enjoyed at least some of the Clone Saga.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Superman: Secret Origin #1

Sep 25, 2009

So is this the definitive and final Superman origin? No, of course not. As long as Superman continues to appear in comics, TV, and movies, different writers will have different stories and ideas concerning the character. Some will be good, some will be bad. What will stay the same is the genuine feeling of what is right and what is good about humanity and how America is represented in the character of Superman: truth, justice, and the American way. Hats off Geoff on another great story.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Superman: Secret Origin #2

Oct 29, 2009

When I read old comics from the 40s and 50s, I get a sense of old fashion Americana. I feel that same way when I read Geoff Johns' Superman. It's good old fashion American storytelling. The next issue will feature Metropolis. The next issue's cover features Clark Kent and the Daily Planet staff, so we are going to be jumping a head a bit. That's disappointing because I would prefer more Superboy than Superman. Is it out of the question to have Geoff Johns return to Superman's days in Smallville? I would love it. See you soon!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
The Marvels Project #1

Aug 7, 2009

So I recommend people pick this one up. If you like Brubaker's Captain America, you'll love this. Why I didn't automatically put this on my pull list I don't know. I'm just happy I read the preview or would have missed out on this one. I'm happy I didn't.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Marvels Project #2

Sep 12, 2009

Love this series so far. The only disappointment is that its a miniseries. I want more! Love it. Love it. Love it. Pick it up now!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Ultimate Comics Avengers #1

Aug 13, 2009

Mr. Millar has every right to believe whatever he wants, but I also have the right to my beliefs and I won't be using my money to support him and his work. He does do good work. His work in the Ultimate Universe is great. So if you don't care about politics I recommend this book. It's a fun quick read and the artwork is amazing. Carlos Pacheco is one of the best in the business today. Check out his work in JLA/JSA: Vice and Virtue. The book is a one-shot hardcover graphic novel. It's probably out of print, but I'm sure you can get a copy somewhere.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Ultimate Comics Spider-Man #1

Aug 12, 2009

Pick this one up, people. It's very good. Brian Michael Bendis knows Spider-Man and we should all be glad he's been around for so long writing this book. It will be interesting to see when he does eventually leave, how a new writer interprets the character. However for now, sit back, have fun, and enjoy the ride!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Ultimate Comics Spider-Man #2

Sep 3, 2009

So continue to get this kids. Writer Brian Michael Bendis continues his great run on the character and isn't slowing down. Pick it up!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Ultimate Comics Spider-Man #4

Nov 8, 2009

A great issue - not much else to say. Looking forward to the next issue. I dropped the old Ultimate Spider-Man after Bagley left, but I'm glad I'm back. With Amazing Spider-Man, Web of Spider-Man, and Ultimate Comics Spider-Man, Marvel is doing a great job giving fans a nice helping of Spidey stories. Ultimate is right now the best. Pick it up!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Ultimate Comics Spider-Man #5

Dec 7, 2009

Highly recommend this book. Ultimate Comics Spider-Man is a must read not only for Spidey fans, but for any fan of super-hero comics.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Web of Spider-Man (2009) #1

Oct 15, 2009

So if you're an 80s kid like me and you love revisiting your youth through comics, pick up this issue. It has some very good stories and some good artwork. Love the Clone Saga like I do? Check out the Kaine story. J.M. DeMatteis does a great job. A good start and looking forward to more.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

June

1st

May

More