Gage Bullock's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: You Don't Read Comics Reviews: 58
8.4Avg. Review Rating

5.0
Bug: The Adventures of Forager #1

May 10, 2017

The books is really good and a lot of fun to read but also a little hard to read. It acts as almost a direct continuation of his previous stories which threw me off a little bit, I had to actually read this book twice to fully understand what was going on.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Defenders (2017) #2

Jun 28, 2017

It's easy to praise the writing when BMB has wrote all these characters before very well, and in Jessica Jones case he created her. He gets these characters and this series seems to prove it. Some people may not appreciate the netflix style take on these heroes but it's hard to complain about that when that's how comics are these days.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
Doctor Strange (2015) #385

Feb 14, 2018

Overall this was an overall solid issue with lots of great action and some really well written reveals. This issue also is extremely fast paced and reads fast but doesn't fail to deliver on any of its big moments because of this though. The art is still on par with previous issues and the film fantasy pallets used by colorist Jordie Belaire fits the tone of the book perfectly.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Doctor Strange (2015) #386

Feb 28, 2018

This issue was a solid issue, if I had to pick a complaint is that the pacing is pretty slow and seems off a couple times. Its not a very action packed issue but mostly a lot of talking and explaining, some of which may not have necessarily needed to be explained but is anyway.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Doctor Strange (2015) #387

Mar 14, 2018

Damnation has proved to be a hell of a good time so far and it's getting more intense by the issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Doctor Strange (2015) #388

Apr 11, 2018

Cates was ballsy to take a pause in the middle of the action in a big crossover for Strange to take a breather but it works, Cates really seems to gets Strange and nails the dialogue and dry quippy nature the character has had. Niko Henrichsons art is just as crazy absurd and good as the story itself and really brings a lot to this series as well. His art shines the best when hes getting to draw crazy creatures so I like that Damnation really plays to his strengths.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Doctor Strange (2015) #389

May 9, 2018

The art as always is really good and works perfectly with Cates style of writing with this story. And while this story mostly serves to resolve story points from Damnation it's still a really good read.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Doom Patrol (2016) #7

Jul 26, 2017

If you are not reading this series, do your self a favor and catch up. Because of delays it's easy to catch up on, the first 6 issues are collected into a trade then all you have to do is get this single issue after that. It's a fun wacky comic book that gives me a smile the whole way through.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
East of West #33

May 21, 2017

Of course I can't just compliment the writing without showing some love for Nick Gradottas' artwork. It's as strong as always and his work never seems to be anything but perfection.  But I can't just throw the artwork some love either because it's complimented by Frank Martins ingenious coloring. East of West is an all around amazing series and this issue is an amazing issue that we got some big payoff in.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Green Arrow (2016) #21

Apr 19, 2017

Overall this was a great start to what Percy is calling the biggest Green Arrow story ever.I absolutely can not wait to see whats next on this adventure, and if it continues the way it started then it very well may be the biggest one yet.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Green Arrow (2016) #22

May 3, 2017

I've been very pleased with the Rebirth of Green Arrow and I hope the quality keep up through this series.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Green Arrow (2016) #24

Jun 8, 2017

Like I've said before, Benjamin Percy is doing the lords work on Green Arrow but I got to say the real superstar is Juan Ferreyra here. The way he lays panels out and handles each character is just amazing. The dudes gonna be huge and has cemented his place as my favorite artist working. I can't say enough good things about this book or the creative team, everyone needs to be reading this.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Green Arrow (2016) #25

Jun 22, 2017

All around this was a solid issue with great art. I still can't get over how consistently great the art is for this series. We get Otto Schmidt doing interiors this issue and he really shines when it comes to drawing Star City. He does good distinguishing between the slums of the lower class and the pretty city of the upper class.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Green Arrow (2016) #26

Jul 12, 2017

And while this was a decent issue, I didn't love it as much as past issues, but it still is good none the less. One thing i want to praise is Stephen Byrne's art, its just so good. He brings such a clean style to this series (not knocking Ferrerya and Schmidts art, just different styles) and it visually is so different. His inclusion just cements that Green Arrow (imo) is visually the best Rebirth comic.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Green Arrow (2016) #27

Jul 23, 2017

My favorite thing about this issue is how Oliver and Dinah play off each other so well, I really wouldn't mind more issues of them working together. We are also getting a more political liberal loudmouth Green Arrow that I grew to love before the N52. Oliver really got the shaft in the N52 especially when it came to the league, and I love that this arc seems to be making up for that.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Green Arrow (2016) #38

Mar 7, 2018

Ferreyras art has always is spectacular for the eyes, but it seemss he had saved his best for last, because his art in this issue is just phenomenal, especially some of the bigger panels highlighting Oliver with the Justice League. This issue does not disappoint in the least bit, its a satisfying conclusion to Percys story he started back with Green Arrow Rebirth #1 while also setting up many exciting plot points to be used in the future, Green Arrow is in a better place than hes been in since before the New 52.

View Issue       View Full Review
3.0
Green Arrow (2016) #39

Apr 4, 2018

Overall this was a very mediocre and dissapointing issue altogether, which sucks because it had some really good ideas but not enough time to really make these ideas work. This arc very much feels like the filler that it is until the new creative team takes over but they still could have put more effort into it.

View Issue       View Full Review
3.0
Green Arrow (2016) #40

May 9, 2018

What sucks is that this story could have been really cool, and I could talk all day about what could have been but its here and out and is what it is. The story doesnt progress Olivers story in any way and gives him no development or growth at all so really whats the point?

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Green Arrow (2016) Annual #2

May 31, 2018

This was overall a great issue and a great tie in to No Justice as well. Julia and Shawna Benson seem to be able to handle Green Arrow very well and makes it even more exciting that they will be writing him from now on.This issue gets an A+

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Hit-Girl (2018) #1

Dec 31, 1969

All around this issue was a great fun read full of action, surprises and character growth as well without ever feeling to rushed. The art and colors are very energetic and work well with the fast paced action story this was.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Hit-Girl (2018) #2

Apr 4, 2018

The story does fall flat when it focuses on Manos little brother Ricardo, he brings nothing to this issue at all and his scenes bring the action to a halt which makes the issue feel disjointed and almost like two different comics altogether.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Jean Grey #1

May 3, 2017

Overall I was pleasantly surprised at how good this book was and it looks like it could end up being the best X book from Marvel right now. It seems to be succeeding where Blue and Gold aren't at the moment.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Kick-Ass (2018) #1

Feb 13, 2018

Overall this was a decent first issue but not as strong as some of Millars other work. This book does feel and look more cinematic than the original Kick Ass, but doesnt seem to have as strong of a start as a comic book itself. Hopefully the next few issues the book will slow down a little bit and be allowed more room to breathe.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Kill Or Be Killed #9

Jun 4, 2017

All in all this was a very good issue, everything from the drug dealers to the Russian mob was just amazing.It's a well, fast paced thrilling read that I'm gonna re read as soon as I finish this review. Ed Brubaker is on his A game as usual the overall story,pacing and dialogue is all well written. Sean Phillips art looks really good and is beautifully complimented by Elizabeth Breitweisers' coloring.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Mister Miracle #1

Aug 9, 2017

Teaming up with superstar artist Mitch Gerad, who uses a nine panel page layout, Tom King brings you the Mister Miracle series that you never knew you wanted.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Regression #1

May 10, 2017

I give Regression an A for being and all around damn good book

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Regression #2

Jun 14, 2017

It's a well placed story that is unsettling yet you can't keep your eyes off of it. It also helps that the book is just fantastic visually as well. If Regression keeps up this quality of work then we're in for a good ride.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Rocket #1

May 11, 2017

If the rest of this series is as good as the first issue (and who are we kidding? Al Ewing is always good) this this is gonna be one hell of a ride.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Royals #1

Apr 20, 2017

Overall these were two great issues and I am genuinely excited to see where this series goes.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
Royals #4

Jun 22, 2017

Overall this was a really good issue which we've come to expect with Ewing and Silas, when you get a book with those names attached then you know you are getting your moneys worth.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Sex Criminals #19

May 30, 2017

Matt Fraction shines best when it's focusing on the troubled relationship between Jon and Susie that he somehow manages to make feel so real. But the overall story arcs tend to move very slow at times. It was still another solid issue of this good series.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Snotgirl #6

Jul 12, 2017

This was another all around great issue of Snotgirl, O'MAlley and Hung knock it out of the park again. And i get the feeling that something big is coming up with all of Lotties creepy sexual dreams about Caroline and the Detective that seems to have a hug obsession with Lottie.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
Sonic The Hedgehog (2018) #1

Apr 5, 2018

The art in this issue is appropriately cartoony,sleek and stylish and also very easy on the eyes. What works best about the art is the colors by Matt Herms, his bright colors really pop and bring a sense of warmth to the comic. The only thing that doesnt work with this issue is that it may turn off new time readers because it feels more like the middle of a series than the beginning. But I wouldnt leave the series just yet because it seems like were gonna be in for a good ride with this book.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Sonic The Hedgehog (2018) #2

Apr 11, 2018

As said before this series has been a blast so far and so fun to read. Once again no complaints about this book so far, the writing and art both great and I personally cant wait till next issue where we get to see Knuckles

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Sonic The Hedgehog (2018) #3

Apr 18, 2018

Its hard to find complaints in a book that is just this good, everything works and the teams plays off each other very well. Writer Ian Flyn nails the personality of each character and the art teams perfectly showcase each character and makes the book really pop

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Sonic The Hedgehog (2018) #4

Apr 26, 2018

While this issue was good this series is becoming a bit formulaic at this point, but writer Ian Flyn is able to add enough variations to keep it interesting.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
Star Wars: Lando - Double Or Nothing #1

Jun 1, 2018

Overall this is a really good comic by if you haven't seen the Solo film then you may be missing out some. But if you're looking for a good fun read and especially if you're a fan of Star Wars then def give this a go.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Thanos (2016) #15

Jan 24, 2018

Once again Geoff Shaws art perfectly fits Cates writing and Fabelas colors just make it that much better. The perfect blend of these three guys styles is fantastic and just a all around treat for the eyes. I loved everything about this issue and have no complaints whatsoever, Donny Cates has wrote my favorite book now two weeks in a row. I cant wait to see where this story goes.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Thanos (2016) #16

Feb 28, 2018

This issue not only delivers on just being an origin it also sets up Cosmic Ghost Riders upsoming solo series and does way more world building than I ever expected. So much goes on in this issue that under a lesser writer it could come off rushed and chaotic yet Cates handled this issue with such grace and you can tell him,Shaw,and Fabela are having a blast pouring their love into this story.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Thanos (2016) #17

Mar 21, 2018

This issue was a masterpiece, its everything you could ever want in a comic book especially if you are a Thanos fan. Its fan service at its finest, and it knows that and runs with it in the best ways possible. If you arent reading this comic then you are missing out on a damn fun read

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Thanos (2016) #18

Apr 11, 2018

This issue pits Mad Titan against Mad Titan and give you everything you could want from a Thanos comic. Thanos #18 works on every level with some amazing art and coloring, that really highlights the brutal fight between the two forces of nature. This comic is brutal, fun, nice paced, beautiful and also somewhat poetic in a way that give you the ending that you couldnt see coming but works so well and is truly the perfect ending to this run.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
The Archies #1

May 25, 2017

Overall it's a decent issue with some great art and cool band references that is an easy read as well. I would recommend this to other Archie fans

View Issue       View Full Review
2.0
The Divided States of Hysteria #1

Jun 4, 2017

I did not like the writing,art,or the direction that Howard Chaykin seems to be going with this book. It's a shame though because I actually looked forward to this series up to this point. There may be an audience somewhere for this book but I am not one of those people that it was for.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
X-Men: Blue (2017) #3

May 10, 2017

Overall this is a decent issue and I can't wait to see more of this team together.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
X-Men: Blue (2017) #4

Jun 7, 2017

I love this book more with each passing issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
X-Men: Blue (2017) #5

Jun 14, 2017

I am gonna give this issue a solid B because while it was good all around having multiple versions of characters around can get confusing down the line and I would personally prefer a more consistency between the issues going forward. But still overall I do love what this comic has become and what it continues to become.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
X-Men: Blue (2017) #6

Jul 23, 2017

while a lot didn't happen plot wise it was nice to get asomewhat laid back issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
X-Men: Blue (2017) #8

Jul 27, 2017

Other than that it was a pretty fast paced issue with a few twists and turns that i never saw coming and Corey Smiths art is just beautiful. I'm gonna give X-Men Blue an A+ because this is easily the best issue yet, the only problem I could see people having with this issue is that it is a really fast read.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
X-Men: Gold (2017) #5

Jun 8, 2017

Overall this second arc seems to be a big step up in quality over the first. Guggenheim is finally getting comfortable with the team and their dialogue flows so much better. The art is a step up as well, R.B Silva seems to be a way better artist than the previous but he really needs to work on some of his facework.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
X-Men: Gold (2017) #6

Jun 22, 2017

It was a decent written issue and is good to look at, but they play it safe in every possible way and let's be honest; When have the X-men ever been about playing it safe?

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
X-Men: Gold (2017) #7

Jul 12, 2017

This issue is a fairly scattered issue, alot happens but then again alot doesn't happen at the same time. There's alot of wheels moving but don't seem to be taking us anywhere. It's not a bad issue by no mean, but not really a very good one either.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
X-Men: Red (2018) #1

Feb 7, 2018

This is an all around just great book that will make you feel a range of emotions while reading. Tom Taylor pushes the X-Men in a bold, new,exciting direction that still manages to respect the past.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
X-Men: Red (2018) #2

Mar 7, 2018

All around this was a good issue, Tom Taylor is really getting the hang of writing all these characters while having the pleasure to still be able to use Gabby and X-23, which he is so used to writing it brings a certain warmth and comfort to the book. Mahmud Asrar is still doing great on art, even though some of his facial expressions are over exaggerated a few times which some people may have a problem with.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
X-Men: Red (2018) Annual #1

Jun 1, 2018

X-Men ares Annual 1 gets a C+ for a solid story and solid writing but art that doesnt fit along with it.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
X-O Manowar (2017) #2

Apr 26, 2017

Overall I like what Matt Kindt is doing with the story even though it isn't the most original idea. The artworrk and coloring look great, like something you would see out of an 80's fantasy comic book. I do like where this story is heading and both issues have been pretty action heavy and that's never a bad thing. One small complaint for me is ,having never read the character before, that I want to see him in his suit and he hasn't worn it yet. I do like that the suit seems to be sentient and wants to help Aric even though he refuses to use it. Another cool thing is that Aric forges the suit into a ring and it brings up the point that Aric and the suit are wedded now and they both need each other. I am excited to see whats ahead for this and i plan to go back and read up on the character and eventually I will do a whole article on him and his history as well.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
X-O Manowar (2017) #3

May 21, 2017

Overall this was another great issue that is fast paced, full of action and gorgeous to look at. I'm still not sure what is gonna happen long term for this run but as of right now it's hitting all the right beats.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
X-O Manowar (2017) #12

Mar 1, 2018

The biggest problem with this issue is that things are wrapping up frustratingly quickly and rather smooth as well. One thing about this run is that everything has moved at a good slow pace to allow world building and everything to get explained well, but as we draw close to the end things are beginning to feel rushed and also things seem to be happening by coincidence which is painful to see because of how great previous issues have been. While this is not a bad issue of XO by no means it is also no where near Kindts strongest issue either. Hopefully Kindt hits his stride again after this arc ends because its becoming obvious hes ready for Arics time on Gorin to be over. This issue is gonna the a solidC

View Issue       View Full Review
10
X-O Manowar (2017) #13

Apr 4, 2018

Arics adventures on Gorin have wrapped up nicely and timely, it would have been easy to keep this story going to the point of overstaying its welcome but Kindt is way too good of a writer to let that happen.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

November

October

More