James Stone's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Caffeinated Critique, Dark Knight News, 411Mania Reviews: 132
8.3Avg. Review Rating

10
A Dark Interlude #1

Nov 11, 2020

This book came out of nowhere for me as I hadn't read the original Fearscape until A Dark Interlude landed in my inbox and now I feel like I missed out. I don't use the word incredible lightly but it seems the most appropriate right now. This book is incredible. It's dark, clever, funny and harrowing while all the time being completely engaging.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
A Dark Interlude #2

Dec 23, 2020

A Dark Interlude continues to be a complex comic which I think readers will either love or hate. It makes you think about everything being said and completely sucks you into the world of fantasy and mystery and that's exactly why I love it.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Autumnal #1

Sep 23, 2020

Autumnal is a book I did not expect to enjoy because I normally enjoy the more science fiction, super hero related books but I found myself pleasantly surprised. Autumnal is a great example of creating something good, compelling and engaging and you will win your audience. This is a book with great potential and I'm genuinely looking forward to seeing where it takes me. I think people who enjoy meaningful, thought provoking stories with a dark side will get a lot of enjoyment out of this.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Autumnal #2

Oct 26, 2020

The Autumnal feels like the movie Get Out with how it's story is a slow burn into a new town where everything looks normal on the surface but you can tell festering underneath is a dark and harrowing twist.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Autumnal #3

Nov 25, 2020

Autumnal is not my usual type of comic book because its not science fiction or contain super heroes but I continue to be impressed every issue with how engaged I am with the story. I believe issue #3 has built things up nicely for the weird and eerie tones to take a turn for the worse next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Autumnal #4

Jan 13, 2021

This is the issue I have been waiting for. Some answers are given while new questions are asked. As a series this has not been your typical horror, more a suspenseful drama but this issue certainly stepped up the fights as some gruesome details about the past are revealed.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Autumnal #5

Mar 9, 2021

A story filled with mystery, suspense and now possibly redemption makes The Autumnal one of the best stories on the shelves right now. A slow burn story done well to keep the reader engaged on every page complimented by some truly breathtaking artwork.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Autumnal #6

Apr 13, 2021

The Autumnal is a series which stands out much like the other series published by Vault Comics in the Nightfall range but what I love about this series the most is the honesty in the horror. Six issues in and I have felt every feeling, every emotion, every scare and every chill because the emotional turmoil displayed by the lead character Kat is believable. This especially highlights that the biggest fear is often what you dont see rather than what you do.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Autumnal #7

May 17, 2021

As the penultimate issue it did exactly what I wanted by pushing the story almost to conclusion without quite revealing everything and leaving things on a very tense cliffhanger. I will be sad to see this series end but it has been an enjoyable yet chilling adventure.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Barbaric #1

Jun 30, 2021

To describe this comic I would say Gladiator meets Witcher meets Venom on a Game of Thrones scale. The story is layered and very intriguing while the main character has a troubled soul while surrounded in mystery and he has a talking, blood drunk axe who is hilarious. I urge people not to sleep on this comic, If you like action, fantasy and graphic comics then you will like this.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
BRZRKR #1

Apr 12, 2021

I loved it, I loved it, I loved it. That is all I really want to say but what I should be saying is that BRZRKR #1 is a brilliant opening issue, packed with very graphic action which introduces us to a special and interesting character through stunning artwork. Welcome to comics Keanu Reeves, thank you very much for coming.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Crossover (2020) #1

Dec 5, 2020

Crossover came out of nowhere for me but after a friend told me to read it I had to instantly thank them for bringing this to my attention. As far as opening issues go this is one of the best I have seen this year. A story which starts with a bang and ends with a bang and has massive potential.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Crossover (2020) #2

Dec 9, 2020

Crossover is quickly becoming one of my favourite comics out right now. Its use of characters and references from the comics industry (which I'm sure Cates had to pull a few favours for) is enough to spark your interest but it's the interesting story beneath it that's developing which will keep you coming back every month.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Crossover (2020) #3

Jan 6, 2021

Crossover is pure genius and continues to be one of my favourite comics on the shelves right now. Routed in comics history I am loving the plot comparisons to comic book legends like Watchmen, making this a comic book for comic book readers while cleverly keeping the story front and centre to engage new comic book readers aswell.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Crossover (2020) #4

Feb 24, 2021

Crossover is probably my favourite comic coming out of Image right now and although this wasn't the best issue of the series it certainly showcases why people should be reading it. Big scale storytelling with world ending events and original yet familiar characters, all depicted beautifully on the pages.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Crossover (2020) #5

Mar 30, 2021

While I found this issue to be slightly lacking in story it completely makes up for it with the artwork. We do push things slightly forward while being left with many unanswered questions yet setting things up nicely for the final issue of the Kids Love Chains story.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Crossover (2020) #6

Apr 26, 2021

A perfect conclusion to volume 1 of what has been a completely awesome and original series. This issue has packed in more emotion and more action than any of the previous five and leaves us on a huge cliffhanger. If this was a movie people would be losing their mind with the characters we see in this issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Deathstroke (2016) #45

Jul 3, 2019

I was slightly worried how Deathstroke could continue without Slade behind the mask but Priest has managed to settle my nerves in two solid issues since his death. This issue gives us some conclusion to the Deathstroke legacy. It also set us up nicely with plenty of potential story lines fuelled by anger, revenge, hatred and jealousy. Then in the final page we are hit with the mother of all cliffhangers. I thoroughly enjoyed Deathstroke #45 and issue #46 can't come quick enough.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Deathstroke (2016) #46

Aug 7, 2019

A strong family story brings readers to emotional levels not seen before in this book. I was worried about how Priest would keep the audience gripped following the death of Slade. I'm pleased to say he is doing a great job by playing into the strengths of the other characters and bringing back some fan favourites to for the added element of excitement.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Deathstroke (2016) #47

Sep 5, 2019

I'm still excited to see what happens in the story next month, though.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Deathstroke (2016) #48

Oct 3, 2019

I enjoyed Slade returning as the main character to the story, as seeing his journey from beyond the grave was original and intriguing. Unfortunately the issue lacked pace and substance and didn't leave me eager for the next issue. Lets just hope Priest has something big up his sleeve for the final two issues. As one of the greatest comic book writers over the past 40 years, I have complete faith.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Deathstroke (2016) #49

Nov 6, 2019

Deathstroke #49 demonstrated beautifully the emotional connections between father and son, no matter their differences. I thoroughly enjoyed the chemistry between Slade and Jericho this week which really pushed their relationship to new limits. As a reader I was gripped on every page. This was always going to be a feeder issue for the final swansong. I think it has done a great job in leading the readers round the final corner and the homestretch is in sight. As sad as I am to see this series come to an end, I am very excited to see how it concludes.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Deathstroke (2016) #50

Jan 8, 2020

This series has been a pleasure to read and I've been honoured to have been given the opportunity to review the last six issues for Dark Knight News.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Deep Beyond #1

Feb 2, 2021

Deep Beyond has kicked things off with a bang as I for one am invested. A great looking comic with some dark horror moments but it's the mystery surrounding the different plot points in play and the intriguing characters that will make me come back for issue #2.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Deep Beyond #2

Mar 10, 2021

Deep Beyond is a really interesting science fiction comic which sadly isn't getting the social media chatter I would have expected. The more people that hear about this I'm positive the more and more people will like this series.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Deep Beyond #3

Apr 7, 2021

Deep Beyond is moving at a steady pace with purpose and comprehension. A story which has different layers to it and always making the reader aware of what is going. With stunning art to back up a good, original story makes this a very enjoyable comic to read.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Deep Beyond #4

May 4, 2021

Deep Beyond is a series I probably would not have been reading had I not been given press copies so I am eternally grateful to Image Comics for that because this series continues to surprise and impress me every month. A shift in direction this issue is setting things up nicely for what's to come.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Deep Beyond #5

Jun 2, 2021

This issue stretches the story out to new possibilities which is something I feel needed to happen. While I have enjoyed this series very much, it was taking its time to get anywhere, but now I feel confident things are moving at a new pace. We are exposed to a lot in this issue yet we dont learn much because everything is shrouded in so much mystery which demonstrates good storytelling towards what I hope will be a decent pay off in the end.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Endless Winter (2020): Teen Titans #1

Dec 16, 2020

Teen Titans: Endlesss Winter #1 is part of a crossover event the story will continue next in Justice League Dark #29.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Everfrost #1

May 31, 2021

Black Mask Comics have had a few good comics recently but I feel Everfrost could become their first major series. Packed full of world building and interesting characters the first issue of this 4 series arc feels like something special. There is a lot to read and a lot to take it but once people give this a chance I think it will hook many people to come back for issue #2.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Future State (2021): Teen Titans #1

Jan 12, 2021

As Teen Titans Future State #1 gives us a glimpse into the unwritten worlds of DC's future, these are events that we can only hope our greatest heroes can prevent.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Future State (2021): Teen Titans #2

Feb 9, 2021

Reading these two issues has been a joy. There're a lot of other stories connected to Future State, and comics which lead into this one, but being able to cram this much story, re-introduce a character, previously shrouded in mystery, and have a satisfying conclusion is an incredible achievement not to be ignored. Well done to all involved in creating Future State " Teen Titans #2.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Giga #1

Oct 28, 2020

I think Giga has created something really special and is a must read for comic fans. A Vast, war torn world with gigantic robots and a post apocalyptic feel. I thoroughly enjoyed reading issue #1 and haven't stopped thinking about the issues to come.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Giga #2

Dec 8, 2020

As much as I enjoy reading GIGA I feel this will be an amazing trade paperback to read in one big sitting because it makes me so mad I can't find out what happens next. We are only two issues in and so much has happened but I also know there are endless possibilities for the future. This is a special series people should be reading so in 10 years when it's spawned movies and TV series you can say “I remember reading issue number #1”.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Giga #3

Mar 30, 2021

I really enjoy Giga and its originality but we need a more regular release schedule to help readers get their teeth stuck in. This issue does enough to hook me back into the world and the art is always pleasant on the eyes.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
HaHa #1

Jan 11, 2021

A really interesting opening issue packed with emotion and heartache. A comic book telling a story about someone's everyday struggles in love and life.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
HaHa #2

Feb 17, 2021

HA HA is not a feel good comic as it addresses some very tough real life issues around depression, abuse and loneliness. It is however doing an excellent job at exploring these difficult subjects and is making me want to know where things are going and how the characters' stories develop.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
HaHa #3

Mar 24, 2021

HA HA continues to amaze me in how emotionally charged these stories are. I told someone recently that HA HA is a beautifully depressing story and I can't think of a better way to summarise this. Tragedy and sorrow told in a colourful visual medium sells the reader one thing but delivers something else, the harsh realities of life.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
HaHa #4

Apr 20, 2021

Ha Ha is quite a unique series in that every issue is unrelated to the last which is good for the casual reader who can pick them up in any order. For those reading the series in order will notice a slightly darker tone develop as the series progresses. For those that like a different style of comic and want a break from capes and cowls but still want to see well told stories unfold then Ha Ha is a perfect series for you.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
HaHa #5

May 26, 2021

This series is a collection of short stories drawn by different artists giving a very unique and different type of comic book experience. These stories are for those people who want something different to superheroes from their comics. I think HA HA is a bespoke level of storytelling with some lovely artwork but is an acquired taste.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Heavy #2

Oct 27, 2020

Heavy has quickly become one of my favourite books for 2020 and I find myself telling people to read this more than any other book right now. The story is original and graphic with a backbone of redemption and the perfect sprinkle of comedy.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Heavy #3

Dec 2, 2020

I have nothing but praise for this series and will continue to recommend Heavy to anyone that will listen. A story which grips you, engages you and intrigues you about what's next with beautiful art.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Heavy #4

Jan 12, 2021

I voted Heavy as my favourite comic from 2020 and it hasn't let me down with the first issue of 2021. Possibly the funniest issue so far with also some of the biggest shifts in tone and direction. Heavy is a graphic comic series with great characters, dazzling art and brings something new to every issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Heavy #5

Feb 9, 2021

As volume one comes to an end, Heavy was my favourite comic from 2020 and this is one trade paperback I am desperate to get my hands on. The conclusion to this volume is a perfect blend of conclusion to the previous stories and laying the foundations for what's coming next. This is what happens when a creative team are all at the top of their game.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Heavy #6

May 11, 2021

I was excited when this issue dropped in my inbox and I found it to be a delight and the perfect return for the series. Packed full of sex, action and drama, Heavy continues to be one of the very best comics on the shelves right now and I encourage anyone who will listen to read this series.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Hellblazer: Rise and Fall #1

Dec 14, 2020

I wish I read this book sooner. I'm a big fan of Tom Taylor and John Constantine so I'm not really sure how this escaped me. Originally released back in September there has now been a second issue released also. I would especially recommend this to fans of the Matt Ryan TV portrayal of the character as the tone and characteristics are very similar.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Hellblazer: Rise and Fall #2

Dec 15, 2020

DC Black Label is producing some of the best content right now with books like this and Rorschach. Two issues in and I'm hooked, Rise and Fall has become my new modern favourite Constantine story and I can't wait for the third issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Hellblazer: Rise and Fall #3

Feb 4, 2021

As a lifelong Constantine fan I have thoroughly enjoyed this series. It doesn't dive too deeply into the magical underworld but does dip its toes deep enough to wet your appetite. Rise and Fall offers a great stand alone series to offer new readers to understand what makes Constantine tick without having to make your way through years of history. Filled with humour, profanity, demons and blood while being glittered with Constantine's unmistakable charm and charisma.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Home (2021) #1

Apr 14, 2021

There was part of me going into this series worried it was going to be a political, anti establishment story and I couldn't have been more wrong. This is a real life story, depicting what has been reported as real life events and then sprinkled with some superpowers and I loved every single page.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Home (2021) #2

May 18, 2021

This issue drives the story by slowly revealing more of Juan's powers but takes some huge steps forward in potential. The introduction of a new character gives Juan's journey more optimism while his mother Mercedes' future is still at great risk. This story feels honest and real with a wonderful element of fantasy.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Home (2021) #3

Jun 14, 2021

Home continues to be a story about morality and optimism told through a real to life difficult situation faced by millions of people a year. Through the character Juan we see how hard life can be through innocent eyes and someone who just so happens to have super powers. It's this twist which gives the story a its spark of excitement and this issue had glimmers of origin stories like Spiderman and even young Superman.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
I Walk With Monsters #1

Nov 24, 2020

I Walk With Monsters blends horror and storytelling perfectly with a narrative to engage a mature audience. With a twist and a cliffhanger I'm eager to see what dark path the next issues go down.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
I Walk With Monsters #2

Dec 30, 2020

I Walk With Monsters is part of a string of gripping horror comics being released by Vault comics right now. A strong and harrowing tale which deals with real life issues and dabbles in the world of supernatural beings. We are again left on a cliffhanger desperate for the next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
I Walk With Monsters #3

Feb 10, 2021

I Walk With Monsters continues to be a story you don't expect. Reading the synopsis and looking at the covers might make you think this is a two dimensional good vs evil tale of monsters and men but it's far from that. This is a story about the true cruelties that happen in the real world by bad people and how that affects the emotional state of people. Redemption, revenge and closure are themes we explore this issue with a little monstrous rampage for good measure.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
I Walk With Monsters #4

Mar 16, 2021

I Walk With Monsters continues to be one of my must read comics but I understand it won't be for everyone. A story based around difficult subject matter with some very dark tones but if you're like me you will find this comic grabs hold of your interest and won't let go until it's over.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
I Walk With Monsters #5

Apr 20, 2021

I Walk With Monsters has been a very emotional and real story while flirting with the world of fantasy and as the penultimate issue comes to an end I'm thrown as to how it will all end. An incredibly clever story with a mighty twist in this issue mixed with lovely artwork shows how this series looks to be going out on a high.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
I Walk With Monsters #6

May 18, 2021

I Walk With Monsters has a dual meaning which only really hit me when reading this final issue. Jacey physically walks alongside David who turns into a monster but the biggest monsters she walks with are the ones in her head, the ones that she might never lose. This has been a wonderful series and the final issue proved to be the perfect conclusion. I think this series will be a great read for people when it gets a collected trade paperback release.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Judge Dredd: False Witness #4

Feb 3, 2021

With this being the final issue of False Witness I cant help but summarise the whole mini series rather than the single issue. A very satisfying conclusion to an action packed and interesting story built around mystery, espionage and Judge Dredd laying down the law. I have recommended this series to lots of people and have yet to hear someone say they didnt like it. If you like good, graphic and violent comics set in a unique universe then pick up this series as it's a great example as to why Judge Dredd remains to be the biggest comic book character outside of Marvel and DC.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Justice League: Odyssey #10

Jun 12, 2019

Justice League Odyssey #10 is a wonderful read that feels every part its own individual story, while still being part of a larger world. This proves that a simple tale told well can have a bigger impact than an overly complicated story told badly. After a rocky start this is a book picking up steam. I hope the team of Dan Abnett, Daniel Sampere, Juan Albarran and Ivan Plascencia can stick around for an extended run.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Justice League: Odyssey #12

Aug 14, 2019

This issue was a thing of genuine beauty and was written and paced perfectly. The suspense built slowly, yet it never gave you time to predict what could happen at the next turn. The detail in the action sequences was complimented, as always, by the sharp vibrant colors. The whole issue has this dark orange and red tone, which sets the mood perfectly. I cannot compliment this series and issue more.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Justice League: Odyssey #13

Sep 11, 2019

After a rocky start to this series, Justice League Odyssey has become my favorite ongoing series, bringing together four often ignored characters with a perfect fantasy blend. All elements are firing on all cylinders right now; the story, the characters, the artwork, the color is pitch perfect for the audience. The lettering in comics is often underappreciated but AnWworld Design curate the pages brilliantly, with an array of fonts and the varying boxes which ease the flow of the story. Justice League Odyssey #13 encapsulates all that is great about this series, while still managing to take some risks and even elevate the story to a new level.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Justice League: Odyssey #14

Oct 9, 2019

Justice League Odyssey #14 is a pleasant quick read which continues the story well. Dan Abnett has almost reset the series, and the latest chapter has changed the motivation, from protection and redemption, to a story fuelled by revenge and desperation. I have absolute confidence that this series will continue to grow and the spark will reignite for me. That confidence boost was quickly established on the final page, with a reveal which should make the next steps in the story very interesting indeed.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Justice League: Odyssey #15

Nov 22, 2019

I'm excited to see if they will be a friend… or foe.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Justice League: Odyssey #16

Jan 3, 2020

A new character with an interesting past joined the team, and the return of a former Justice League member made the final page a shock… but will they be friend, or foe?

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Kick-Ass vs Hit-Girl (2020) #1

Nov 10, 2020

I will be the first to admit this series was not on my immediate radar but once the preview arrived in my inbox its cover instantly grabbed my attention. Then page after page hooked me even more and before I knew it I was finished and instantly wanting to read issue #2.. Kick Ass vs Hit Girl is a great addition to the characters catalogue and will appeal to old school fans of the series but will also form a great jumping off point for new readers. Mark Millar should be proud of where his characters have gone.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Kick-Ass vs Hit-Girl (2020) #3

Jan 13, 2021

An issue that took a matter of minutes to zip through due to its lack of dialogue but makes up for it with brilliant action sequences. I would have perhaps liked a bit more meat on the story throughout the middle but the ending has me eager to see what issue #4 serves up.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Kick-Ass vs Hit-Girl (2020) #4

Feb 11, 2021

As the penultimate issue we are left on a very predictable cliffhanger but one I am extremely excited to see. A simple story which is a breeze to read and will make an awesome collected edition when complete. Guns, Girls, Swords and blood makes this a good fun Kick-Ass story.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Kick-Ass vs Hit-Girl (2020) #5

Mar 17, 2021

As a single issue the story felt a little flat without any great flow but this is the final issue to the series and does a good job wrapping things up. We get an ending, a conclusion and the potential for more stories in the future so overall I found this to be a great mini series.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Money Shot #9

Oct 5, 2020

People should get behind this series, or on top of it or underneath it or whatever position you want because Money shot is up for anything.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Money Shot #10

Nov 3, 2020

Money Shot is a hilarious and sexy space romp which has created layered stories with interesting characters. Just when you think you have seen everything you can think of in space sex you turn a page and there is a new alien having some form of sexual adventure. Volume two will be a trade paperback I will have to add to my collection and will continue to recommend this series to anyone who listens.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Money Shot #11

May 24, 2021

Money Shot was one of my favourite comics in 2020 and it looks like 2021 will continue in the same vein. Funny stories, sexy encounters and an intriguing new dynamic to the group makes this a great issue to kick off the third arc.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Money Shot #12

Jun 29, 2021

Money Shot is still the sexiest comic on the shelves and I like how they manage to push it a little bit further with every issue. This latest issue digs a little deeper into the emotional mindsets of the characters with a page turner of a cliffhanger at the end.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Nocterra #1

Mar 2, 2021

I said it in a tweet and I will say it again, this is one of the best opening issues of a comic book series I have read in a long time. Its fresh, bold storytelling on a big scale with superb artwork and introduces us to a world of crazy opportunities and possibilities.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Nocterra #2

Apr 6, 2021

Nocterra is quickly becoming one of my favourite comics on the shelves right now because it's a well structured layered story with characters I'm interested in and amazing artwork which feels like your looking at stills from a movie. The journey has only just begun and I can tell its going to be a wild ride.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Nocterra #3

May 5, 2021

Scott Snyder is a name that will attract people to buy this comic but its fast paced, entertaining story and dazzling art is what will keep people coming back every month. This issue is a turning point for the series crafting out the new arc and motivation for the story ahead. This series is becoming as gripping as it is entertaining with interesting characters and a unique setting. This is a creative team working at their very best.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Nocterra #4

Jun 1, 2021

Yet again this is a fantastic issue with great pacing and full of action but what surprised me was the amount of emotion packed into this issue. For people who love big action, well crafted stories and exquisite art, the Nocterra is the series for you. With a two month window now until issue #5 there is no better time to catch up on the absolutely brilliant series.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Radiant Black #1

Feb 9, 2021

In an age when some comics try too hard to make a statement or enforce an agenda, Radiant Black is a refreshing new comic setting itself up as a simple, care free superhero story. A series that fans of Fantastic Four, Spider-Man or X-Men will enjoy.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Radiant Black #2

Mar 17, 2021

Radiant Black continues to develop into a very good comic book series. I find most people like a good origin story and this is one I think lots of people will enjoy and even connect with. Nathan is a normal guy who can suddenly do extraordinary things and his journey towards heroism is turning into a fun and entertaining trip which I'm sure will have a few bumps along the way but I am 100% along for that ride.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Radiant Black #3

Apr 21, 2021

This was a major step in the wrong direction for this series. The pace was like a snail with no development and no actual story to talk about other than the creation of the name Radiant Black which was as uneventful as this issue. Let's hope this is a blip and issue 4 comes back with the same standards set in issue 1 & 2.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Radiant Black #4

May 17, 2021

After a rocky issue last month Radiant Black is back! This issue packs in plenty of action, character development and plot twists nobody will predict coming. This issue has me back pumped to see how this story unravels.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Radiant Black #5

Jun 16, 2021

The first chapter of Radiant Black comes to an end and it's a very exciting issue setting things up really well for what's next to come. At the start this series felt like something really special with its approach to an origin story and now all the groundwork has been laid, I hope Radiant Black comes back with a bang.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Resonant #6

Dec 15, 2020

Resonant is a comic for people who like dystopian futures or post-apocalyptic type settings. Touches of horror and gore fill the pages in a story grounded in morality and realism.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Resonant #7

Feb 3, 2021

Resonant continues to be one of the most unique comics on the shelves today. A world ravaged by unimaginable powers, corruption, warlords and disasters but detailing passionate stories about love and family. I tried to explain this to someone recently and found myself saying Imagine Mad Max set on a tropical island.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Resonant #8

Mar 3, 2021

This has been my favourite issue of the whole series packing suspense, mystery, fear and surprise into the story. Brilliant storytelling, executed to perfection with wonderful artwork. This issue especially highlights why fans of The Walking Dead or Y: The Last Man will love Resonant.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Resonant #9

Apr 19, 2021

This is a story driving towards a very explosive ending and coupled with issue #8 these have been the strongest of the series so far. From cover to cover this issue is gripping and full of action and energy while creating elements of fear and suspense.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Resonant #10

Jun 15, 2021

I have thoroughly enjoyed this second arc of Resonant and found the concluding issue to be satisfying. It gave me the ending I wanted without giving me exactly what I wanted at the same time which is a great feeling when closing the pages on a comic. An emotional, action packed Mad Max esq adventure set in the world of Lost.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Rorschach (2020) #1

Oct 13, 2020

As a huge fan of the Watchmen universe and Tom King as a writer I came into this series with high expectations. I can safely say my expectations have been met and exceeded. With mystery, suspense and drama I was hooked from the opening page to the very last and am extremely excited to see this series develop.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Shadow Service #2

Sep 29, 2020

Shadow Service is another surprise hit from Vault Comics who continue to deliver fresh new comics. This story connects with me because of my admiration for Hellblazer and Buffy the Vampire Slayer comics while creating something new that excites me. I like a cliffhanger and issue number 2 has left me dangling dangerously on the edge where I don't even think Sly Stalone could save me from. I need issue 3 now!

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Shadow Service #3

Oct 20, 2020

This series continues to impress me in the way it has created a vast, secret world that I want to see more and more from but I know we have only just scratched the surface. Shadow Service has crafted out it's own personality while having similarities to series like Constantine, Justice League Dark and Preacher.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Shadow Service #4

Nov 17, 2020

Shadow Service continues to be one of my favourite comics to come out in 2020 due to its sharp and witty writing, terrifying and graphic art and a group of misfit characters I am engaged to see develop. Also it makes a nice change to read a comic book telling magical stories set in England.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Shadow Service #5

Dec 22, 2020

At the mid way point in this arc we have met some interesting, bizarre and mystical characters. Our main girl Gina Meyer is still the key to the mysteries surrounding Mi666 and Quill but can we yet say who is working for good and who is working for evil? A supernatural mystery which keeps me on my toes at every turn.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Shadow Service #6

Mar 31, 2021

I strongly recommend people check out the first volume of Shadow Service if they haven't already because volume 2 is back maintaining the same levels of excellence we got in volume 1. When you get action, suspense and magic with a layered, character developing story in just one issue, you know you're reading something special.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Shadow Service #7

Apr 28, 2021

This has been my favourite issue of volume 2 so far simply because the way the story twists and turns and grips me on every page. The artwork continues to impress me by creating new and interesting characters. Witches, Zombies, Monsters and talking rats, if that isn't enough to entice people then this may not be the comic for them.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Shadow Service #8

May 25, 2021

This series continues to grip and engage me on issue 8 as much as it did with issue 1 because it's a great story. I think this is a comic which would transfer well on a TV screen one day and this issue is a prime example as to why with its character development across multiple times and locations. Things are heating up in MI666 and I couldn't predict how things are going to end and I love that feeling.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Shadow Service #9

Jun 22, 2021

Having read and reviewed this series from the first issue I'm pleased to see how much the story has grown. What once seemed like a simple story about witchcraft has blown up into a full out war between Angels and Demons and this issue is the full amalgamation of that development.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Shadowman (2021) #1

Apr 27, 2021

If you are a fan of comic and TV characters like Constantine, Swamp Thing or Lucifer then you need to read this book. Captivating and well structured storytelling complimented by some brutal, detailed and graphic artwork.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Shadowman (2021) #2

May 25, 2021

Shadowman is a series where both writer and artist are at the top of their game. The story is dark and scary but also fun with some subtle humour while the artwork is clean, crisp and very stylish. I guessed I would like Shadowman but I never thought I would like it this much as its quickly becoming one of my favourite comics out right now. When a comic does so much right and there is nothing I didn't like, it makes scoring very easy.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Shadowman (2021) #3

Jun 23, 2021

A horrific story about death and the beyond told in a complete engaging and entertaining way. When you have a heroic character dabbling in dark arts you never know what's going to happen or where you will end up but one thing you know about this series is it will keep you gripped the entire time and craving the next issue as soon as you finish this.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Snow Angels #1

Feb 16, 2021

On a couple of pages there is blood and the way the red is so prominent reminds me the way Frank Miller would use red to stand out in his Sin City books.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Snow Angels #2

Mar 18, 2021

As a Comixology original I don't see this series getting the social chatter some of the bigger brands get but I urge people to check this out all the time. Free to Amazon Prime members and a genuinely intriguing comic by two of comics royalty in Jeff Lemire and Jock. Snow Angels should be on everyone's pull list.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Snow Angels #3

Apr 21, 2021

Comixology Originals have published a few good titles over the last year and Snow Angels is certainly one to try and put them on more peoples radar. A comic about family bonds in an almost post-apocalyptic setting with brilliant visuals, interesting characters and steeped in mystery.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Spawn #314

Jan 27, 2021

I have dropped in and out of Spawn over the years but the last 6 months have been incredibly strong for Spawn and issue #314 continues that trend. Big action packed pages, intimidating characters and an ominous future for Earth makes this a good issue with a promising future.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Star Wars Adventures: Smuggler's Run #2

Jan 26, 2021

Smuggler's Run is a fun adventure for Star Wars fans young and old. This isn't bringing anything new to the universe but does explore a period in time that will have been very interesting for two of the most popular characters Han Solo and Chewbacca.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Star Wars: The High Republic (2021) #1

Jan 7, 2021

A very strong opening issue which has everything a Star Wars fan wants in action packed lightsabre battles, fun space adventures and an underlying evil waiting to pounce. Anyone can pick this comic up and hit the ground running with no prior knowledge required.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Star Wars: The High Republic (2021) #2

Feb 4, 2021

The most honest review I can give this book is to simply say it's Star Wars. It looks like Star Wars and it feels like Star Wars but with a completely new batch of characters who are instantly winning over the audience. Star Wars fans new and old will take great enjoyment from this fun but serious story.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Star Wars: The High Republic Adventures (2021) #1

Feb 2, 2021

The High Republic has completely sucked me into this new era of Star Wars and Adventures provides another excellent entry to the saga. Faced paced, adrenaline pumping action with an interesting group of young Jedi under the mentorship of Yoda, what more could you want? I found the suitable for all ages branding to be right on the money as it's not too childish to discourage older readers and not too graphic to scare the younger readers.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Star Wars: The High Republic Adventures (2021) #2

Mar 2, 2021

As someone who generally prefers their comics on the darker, more graphic side of things I'm surprised by how much I am enjoying this series. The fun action scenes and light heartedness of the characters makes it really easy to enjoy but it's the underlying threat of the Nihal and the connections to other High Republic books which helps this resonate with me. Lula is a very fun and interesting new Jedi and I'm invested to see where her journey takes us.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Star Wars: The High Republic Adventures (2021) #3

Apr 6, 2021

As a comic for all ages I find this does a brilliant job in balancing the appeal to the different audiences. There is some Teen drama for the younger audience mixed in with some scary moments for the older audience and a sprinkle of Star Wars lore for the old school Star Wars fans like me. On top of all that is an exciting story which is building up nicely to what I'm sure will be an explosive conclusion.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Star Wars: The High Republic Adventures (2021) #4

May 4, 2021

I continue to enjoy this series which has been slowly building to what I feel will be a very climatic finale. This book is packed full of Jedi and force users displaying all kinds of powers but underneath it all is a deep and meaningful story about friendship and trust.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Teen Titans Academy (2021) #1

Mar 23, 2021

The first issue of a new series needs to bring something to encourage readers to come back for issue #2 and I feel this has done more than enough to ensure people continue reading this series. Fun new students alongside the Teen Titans and their teachers the Titans are a whole lot of Titans for your money. When you remember Red X will also be making an appearance at some point then you will be hooked.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Teen Titans Academy (2021) #1

Mar 23, 2021

The first issue of a new series needs to bring something to encourage readers to come back for issue #2, and I feel that Teen Titans Academy #1 has done more than enough to ensure people continue reading this series. Fun new students alongside the Teen Titans and their teachers the Titans are a whole lot of Titans for your money. When you remember Red X will also be making an appearance at some point then you will be hooked.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Teen Titans Academy (2021) #2

Apr 27, 2021

This is quickly becoming a great comic series for new and old readers. Teen Titans Academy #2 delivers an abundance of fun and youthful new characters. All this, blended with the experienced original Titans line-up, makes for some interesting times. I don't want to spoil it for people but the last page cliffhanger is not to be missed, as it opens up the door to a potentially bonkers third issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Teen Titans Academy (2021) #2

Apr 27, 2021

Teen Titans Academy is quickly becoming a great comic series for new and old readers. An abundance of fun and youthful new characters blended with the experienced original Titans line up makes for some interesting times. I don't want to spoil it for people but the last page cliffhanger is not to be missed and opens up the door to a potentially bonkers next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Teen Titans Academy (2021) #3

May 26, 2021

Three different groups of Titans and the Suicide Squad makes this a very full but also very fun issue. Red X and Talon bring a Batman esq aura to the fights while characters like Crush and Gregg bring unprecedented power. The mystery of Red X is what will keep drawing people back to this series every month but it's the mysteries surrounding some of the younger trainees I'm keen to keep exploring.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Teen Titans Academy (2021) #3

May 25, 2021

Three different groups of Titans, and the Suicide Squad, all make Teen Titans Academy #3 a very full, but also very fun issue. Red X and Talon give a Batman-esque aura to the fights, while characters like Crush and Gregg bring unprecedented power. The mystery of Red X is what will keep drawing people back to this series every month, but it's the mysteries surrounding some of the younger trainees that I'm keen to keep exploring.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Teen Titans Academy (2021) #4

Jun 22, 2021

This issue completely blew me away with its structure and humour as our young Titans hunt the identity of Red X. Everything I love about Teen Titans is packed into this issue which is crammed full of story, chemistry, humour, action and a whole lot of heart. As much as I want to know who Red X is would read endless issues hunting him if they remain at this high of a standard. A collective 10/10 for the whole creative team behind this issue. If you haven't read this series yet you could easily pick up this almost stand alone issue and see if it works for you.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Teen Titans Academy (2021) #4

Jun 22, 2021

As much as I want to know who Red X is, I would read still read endless issues hunting him if they remain at this high a standard. I give a collective 10/10 for the whole creative team behind this issue. If you haven't read this series yet you should pick up this almost stand-alone issue and see if it works for you.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: Best Of: Splinter #1

May 19, 2021

The four stories in this book display Splinters different representations over the years across the different publishers. From the old and wise mentor to the Turtles in the sewers of Manhattan to a warrior in feudal Japan. There is something for everyone in this book and it's very much like a greatest hits album for your favourite band, you know every song or every page will be awesome.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
The Blue Flame #1

May 26, 2021

As far as issue #1's go I don't think you could ask for much more. There is spectacle and mystery with some plot twists you don't see coming. As an opening I feel this issue has laid a solid foundation for the rest of the series to build on and if people pick up this comic they will 100% want to come back for issue #2.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
The Blue Flame #2

Jun 21, 2021

This series is giving me familiar vibes to one of my all time favourite comics Reborn by Mark Millar and Greg Capullo and that is enough to keep me hooked. This issue does a great job exploring what could be out there beyond the realms of space but it also makes you think about life, death and the beyond. Clever storytelling with some great illustrations makes Blue Flame a series not to be missed.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
The Devil's Red Bride #1

Oct 3, 2020

A very different type of comic I am used to reading and although it hasn't blown me away it has created enough curiosity for me to come back for issue #2. Detailed artwork with a layered story that will appeal to an audience with an interest in Manga and Samurai.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
The Scumbag #3

Dec 21, 2020

The Scumbag is a brilliantly funny form of escapism. It has all the qualities of a superhero comic without the capes and cowls. A series which should appeal to fans of Deadpool or Preacher and is some light hearted fun while still being a gripping and engaging story.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
The Scumbag #4

Jan 18, 2021

Scumbag is a graphic series which takes the most useless person you can think of and throws them into ridiculous situations. The result being hilarious antics, crude humour and plenty of nudity on top of a story with real emotions about life, love and friendship.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
The Scumbag #5

Feb 23, 2021

A great conclusion to the first chapter whilst leaving plenty of unanswered questions to keep readers coming back next month. Ernie is a terrible human being but is slowly winning me over and fans of an underdog tale will enjoy this series. It's James Bond meets XXX meets Trainspotting which seems like a crazy blend but it's really working.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
The Scumbag #6

Mar 24, 2021

After the first chapter ended last month I wasnt expecting Scumbag to return so quickly but I was pleasantly surprised when this appeared in my inbox last week. Scumbag is a ridiculous over the top spy comic which focuses on the underdog proving everyone wrong about them, well almost wrong as he still messes a lot of things up and causes chaos everywhere he goes. That's what makes this series such a fun book to read and people should be checking it out.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
The Scumbag #7

Apr 13, 2021

I found this to be the best issue of the series so far but you need to have read all the previous issues to understand what the hell is going on. A series which has got crazier with every issue has taken things to a whole new level and is working on every front. Ernie is a disgusting character with unimaginable yet undeserved power and often makes a bad situation worse but man does it make great reading.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Scumbag #8

May 19, 2021

I've said it once and I'll say it again, this is the best issue of the series so far. It's its own mini story in itself which does need the buildup from previous issues to create the full picture but executed brilliantly so anyone can enjoy. Action packed, blood thirsty and nudity all wrapped up in one crazy and awesome comic.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Vinyl #1

Jun 21, 2021

Vinyl is a comic I did not have on my radar until its preview landed in my inbox from Image Comics and I'm so thankful for that because this looks like a series right up my street. A fun, weird and wild story with some great artwork makes this a graphic thriller with twists, turns and some bloody violence.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Witchblood #1

Mar 31, 2021

This is a beautifully crafted story which is complimented perfectly by its eye catching art. When a story like this comes along I find myself shouting from the rooftops for everyone to read it and I hope they do because when you have witches, magic, vampires and biker gangs what's not to love?

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Witchblood #2

Apr 26, 2021

Witchblood is another smash hit from Vault comics and this feels like just the beginning for what could be a big, extended world of Witches and Vampires as the future possibilities are endless and I'm very excited to see it develop. Also, don't miss the soundtrack recommendation in this issue which is a nice touch to enhance the readers experience.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Witchblood #3

May 24, 2021

The first thing that stood out for me on this issue was the stunning cover by Lisa Sterle and then you turn the page and get sucked into another good issue. A road trip type story with bizarre characters, elements of humour and of course witches and vampires makes Witchblood a series I continue to recommend to anyone that will listen.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Witchblood #4

Jun 28, 2021

It's another cracking issue for this series and things are really starting to heat up. The tables could be turning in our heroes favour but has Yonna bitten off more than she can chew. Only time will tell on how this all ends but I know one thing, it will continue to be a wild ride getting there.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

September

More