James Stone's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Dark Knight News Reviews: 12
8.0Avg. Review Rating

9
Deathstroke (2016) #45

Jul 3, 2019

I was slightly worried how Deathstroke could continue without Slade behind the mask but Priest has managed to settle my nerves in two solid issues since his death. This issue gives us some conclusion to the Deathstroke legacy. It also set us up nicely with plenty of potential story lines fuelled by anger, revenge, hatred and jealousy. Then in the final page we are hit with the mother of all cliffhangers. I thoroughly enjoyed Deathstroke #45 and issue #46 can't come quick enough.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Deathstroke (2016) #46

Aug 7, 2019

A strong family story brings readers to emotional levels not seen before in this book. I was worried about how Priest would keep the audience gripped following the death of Slade. I'm pleased to say he is doing a great job by playing into the strengths of the other characters and bringing back some fan favourites to for the added element of excitement.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Deathstroke (2016) #47

Sep 5, 2019

I'm still excited to see what happens in the story next month, though.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Deathstroke (2016) #48

Oct 3, 2019

I enjoyed Slade returning as the main character to the story, as seeing his journey from beyond the grave was original and intriguing. Unfortunately the issue lacked pace and substance and didn't leave me eager for the next issue. Lets just hope Priest has something big up his sleeve for the final two issues. As one of the greatest comic book writers over the past 40 years, I have complete faith.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Deathstroke (2016) #49

Nov 6, 2019

Deathstroke #49 demonstrated beautifully the emotional connections between father and son, no matter their differences. I thoroughly enjoyed the chemistry between Slade and Jericho this week which really pushed their relationship to new limits. As a reader I was gripped on every page. This was always going to be a feeder issue for the final swansong. I think it has done a great job in leading the readers round the final corner and the homestretch is in sight. As sad as I am to see this series come to an end, I am very excited to see how it concludes.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Deathstroke (2016) #50

Jan 8, 2020

This series has been a pleasure to read and I've been honoured to have been given the opportunity to review the last six issues for Dark Knight News.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Justice League: Odyssey #10

Jun 12, 2019

Justice League Odyssey #10 is a wonderful read that feels every part its own individual story, while still being part of a larger world. This proves that a simple tale told well can have a bigger impact than an overly complicated story told badly. After a rocky start this is a book picking up steam. I hope the team of Dan Abnett, Daniel Sampere, Juan Albarran and Ivan Plascencia can stick around for an extended run.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Justice League: Odyssey #12

Aug 14, 2019

This issue was a thing of genuine beauty and was written and paced perfectly. The suspense built slowly, yet it never gave you time to predict what could happen at the next turn. The detail in the action sequences was complimented, as always, by the sharp vibrant colors. The whole issue has this dark orange and red tone, which sets the mood perfectly. I cannot compliment this series and issue more.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Justice League: Odyssey #13

Sep 11, 2019

After a rocky start to this series, Justice League Odyssey has become my favorite ongoing series, bringing together four often ignored characters with a perfect fantasy blend. All elements are firing on all cylinders right now; the story, the characters, the artwork, the color is pitch perfect for the audience. The lettering in comics is often underappreciated but AnWworld Design curate the pages brilliantly, with an array of fonts and the varying boxes which ease the flow of the story. Justice League Odyssey #13 encapsulates all that is great about this series, while still managing to take some risks and even elevate the story to a new level.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Justice League: Odyssey #14

Oct 9, 2019

Justice League Odyssey #14 is a pleasant quick read which continues the story well. Dan Abnett has almost reset the series, and the latest chapter has changed the motivation, from protection and redemption, to a story fuelled by revenge and desperation. I have absolute confidence that this series will continue to grow and the spark will reignite for me. That confidence boost was quickly established on the final page, with a reveal which should make the next steps in the story very interesting indeed.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Justice League: Odyssey #15

Nov 22, 2019

I'm excited to see if they will be a friend… or foe.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Justice League: Odyssey #16

Jan 3, 2020

A new character with an interesting past joined the team, and the return of a former Justice League member made the final page a shock… but will they be friend, or foe?

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

November

October

September

More