James Stone's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Caffeinated Critique, Dark Knight News, 411Mania Reviews: 67
8.3Avg. Review Rating

10
A Dark Interlude #1

Nov 11, 2020

This book came out of nowhere for me as I hadn't read the original Fearscape until A Dark Interlude landed in my inbox and now I feel like I missed out. I don't use the word incredible lightly but it seems the most appropriate right now. This book is incredible. It's dark, clever, funny and harrowing while all the time being completely engaging.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
A Dark Interlude #2

Dec 23, 2020

A Dark Interlude continues to be a complex comic which I think readers will either love or hate. It makes you think about everything being said and completely sucks you into the world of fantasy and mystery and that's exactly why I love it.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Autumnal #1

Sep 23, 2020

Autumnal is a book I did not expect to enjoy because I normally enjoy the more science fiction, super hero related books but I found myself pleasantly surprised. Autumnal is a great example of creating something good, compelling and engaging and you will win your audience. This is a book with great potential and I'm genuinely looking forward to seeing where it takes me. I think people who enjoy meaningful, thought provoking stories with a dark side will get a lot of enjoyment out of this.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Autumnal #2

Oct 26, 2020

The Autumnal feels like the movie Get Out with how it's story is a slow burn into a new town where everything looks normal on the surface but you can tell festering underneath is a dark and harrowing twist.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Autumnal #3

Nov 25, 2020

Autumnal is not my usual type of comic book because its not science fiction or contain super heroes but I continue to be impressed every issue with how engaged I am with the story. I believe issue #3 has built things up nicely for the weird and eerie tones to take a turn for the worse next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Autumnal #4

Jan 13, 2021

This is the issue I have been waiting for. Some answers are given while new questions are asked. As a series this has not been your typical horror, more a suspenseful drama but this issue certainly stepped up the fights as some gruesome details about the past are revealed.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Crossover (2020) #1

Dec 5, 2020

Crossover came out of nowhere for me but after a friend told me to read it I had to instantly thank them for bringing this to my attention. As far as opening issues go this is one of the best I have seen this year. A story which starts with a bang and ends with a bang and has massive potential.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Crossover (2020) #2

Dec 9, 2020

Crossover is quickly becoming one of my favourite comics out right now. Its use of characters and references from the comics industry (which I'm sure Cates had to pull a few favours for) is enough to spark your interest but it's the interesting story beneath it that's developing which will keep you coming back every month.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Crossover (2020) #3

Jan 6, 2021

Crossover is pure genius and continues to be one of my favourite comics on the shelves right now. Routed in comics history I am loving the plot comparisons to comic book legends like Watchmen, making this a comic book for comic book readers while cleverly keeping the story front and centre to engage new comic book readers aswell.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Crossover (2020) #4

Feb 24, 2021

Crossover is probably my favourite comic coming out of Image right now and although this wasn't the best issue of the series it certainly showcases why people should be reading it. Big scale storytelling with world ending events and original yet familiar characters, all depicted beautifully on the pages.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Deathstroke (2016) #45

Jul 3, 2019

I was slightly worried how Deathstroke could continue without Slade behind the mask but Priest has managed to settle my nerves in two solid issues since his death. This issue gives us some conclusion to the Deathstroke legacy. It also set us up nicely with plenty of potential story lines fuelled by anger, revenge, hatred and jealousy. Then in the final page we are hit with the mother of all cliffhangers. I thoroughly enjoyed Deathstroke #45 and issue #46 can't come quick enough.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Deathstroke (2016) #46

Aug 7, 2019

A strong family story brings readers to emotional levels not seen before in this book. I was worried about how Priest would keep the audience gripped following the death of Slade. I'm pleased to say he is doing a great job by playing into the strengths of the other characters and bringing back some fan favourites to for the added element of excitement.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Deathstroke (2016) #47

Sep 5, 2019

I'm still excited to see what happens in the story next month, though.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Deathstroke (2016) #48

Oct 3, 2019

I enjoyed Slade returning as the main character to the story, as seeing his journey from beyond the grave was original and intriguing. Unfortunately the issue lacked pace and substance and didn't leave me eager for the next issue. Lets just hope Priest has something big up his sleeve for the final two issues. As one of the greatest comic book writers over the past 40 years, I have complete faith.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Deathstroke (2016) #49

Nov 6, 2019

Deathstroke #49 demonstrated beautifully the emotional connections between father and son, no matter their differences. I thoroughly enjoyed the chemistry between Slade and Jericho this week which really pushed their relationship to new limits. As a reader I was gripped on every page. This was always going to be a feeder issue for the final swansong. I think it has done a great job in leading the readers round the final corner and the homestretch is in sight. As sad as I am to see this series come to an end, I am very excited to see how it concludes.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Deathstroke (2016) #50

Jan 8, 2020

This series has been a pleasure to read and I've been honoured to have been given the opportunity to review the last six issues for Dark Knight News.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Deep Beyond #1

Feb 2, 2021

Deep Beyond has kicked things off with a bang as I for one am invested. A great looking comic with some dark horror moments but it's the mystery surrounding the different plot points in play and the intriguing characters that will make me come back for issue #2.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Endless Winter (2020): Teen Titans #1

Dec 16, 2020

Teen Titans: Endlesss Winter #1 is part of a crossover event the story will continue next in Justice League Dark #29.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Future State (2021): Teen Titans #1

Jan 12, 2021

As Teen Titans Future State #1 gives us a glimpse into the unwritten worlds of DC's future, these are events that we can only hope our greatest heroes can prevent.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Future State (2021): Teen Titans #2

Feb 9, 2021

Reading these two issues has been a joy. There're a lot of other stories connected to Future State, and comics which lead into this one, but being able to cram this much story, re-introduce a character, previously shrouded in mystery, and have a satisfying conclusion is an incredible achievement not to be ignored. Well done to all involved in creating Future State " Teen Titans #2.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Giga #1

Oct 28, 2020

I think Giga has created something really special and is a must read for comic fans. A Vast, war torn world with gigantic robots and a post apocalyptic feel. I thoroughly enjoyed reading issue #1 and haven't stopped thinking about the issues to come.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Giga #2

Dec 8, 2020

As much as I enjoy reading GIGA I feel this will be an amazing trade paperback to read in one big sitting because it makes me so mad I can't find out what happens next. We are only two issues in and so much has happened but I also know there are endless possibilities for the future. This is a special series people should be reading so in 10 years when it's spawned movies and TV series you can say “I remember reading issue number #1”.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
HaHa #1

Jan 11, 2021

A really interesting opening issue packed with emotion and heartache. A comic book telling a story about someone's everyday struggles in love and life.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
HaHa #2

Feb 17, 2021

HA HA is not a feel good comic as it addresses some very tough real life issues around depression, abuse and loneliness. It is however doing an excellent job at exploring these difficult subjects and is making me want to know where things are going and how the characters' stories develop.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Heavy #2

Oct 27, 2020

Heavy has quickly become one of my favourite books for 2020 and I find myself telling people to read this more than any other book right now. The story is original and graphic with a backbone of redemption and the perfect sprinkle of comedy.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Heavy #3

Dec 2, 2020

I have nothing but praise for this series and will continue to recommend Heavy to anyone that will listen. A story which grips you, engages you and intrigues you about what's next with beautiful art.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Heavy #4

Jan 12, 2021

I voted Heavy as my favourite comic from 2020 and it hasn't let me down with the first issue of 2021. Possibly the funniest issue so far with also some of the biggest shifts in tone and direction. Heavy is a graphic comic series with great characters, dazzling art and brings something new to every issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Heavy #5

Feb 9, 2021

As volume one comes to an end, Heavy was my favourite comic from 2020 and this is one trade paperback I am desperate to get my hands on. The conclusion to this volume is a perfect blend of conclusion to the previous stories and laying the foundations for what's coming next. This is what happens when a creative team are all at the top of their game.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Hellblazer: Rise and Fall #1

Dec 14, 2020

I wish I read this book sooner. I'm a big fan of Tom Taylor and John Constantine so I'm not really sure how this escaped me. Originally released back in September there has now been a second issue released also. I would especially recommend this to fans of the Matt Ryan TV portrayal of the character as the tone and characteristics are very similar.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Hellblazer: Rise and Fall #2

Dec 15, 2020

DC Black Label is producing some of the best content right now with books like this and Rorschach. Two issues in and I'm hooked, Rise and Fall has become my new modern favourite Constantine story and I can't wait for the third issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Hellblazer: Rise and Fall #3

Feb 4, 2021

As a lifelong Constantine fan I have thoroughly enjoyed this series. It doesn't dive too deeply into the magical underworld but does dip its toes deep enough to wet your appetite. Rise and Fall offers a great stand alone series to offer new readers to understand what makes Constantine tick without having to make your way through years of history. Filled with humour, profanity, demons and blood while being glittered with Constantine's unmistakable charm and charisma.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
I Walk With Monsters #1

Nov 24, 2020

I Walk With Monsters blends horror and storytelling perfectly with a narrative to engage a mature audience. With a twist and a cliffhanger I'm eager to see what dark path the next issues go down.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
I Walk With Monsters #2

Dec 30, 2020

I Walk With Monsters is part of a string of gripping horror comics being released by Vault comics right now. A strong and harrowing tale which deals with real life issues and dabbles in the world of supernatural beings. We are again left on a cliffhanger desperate for the next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
I Walk With Monsters #3

Feb 10, 2021

I Walk With Monsters continues to be a story you don't expect. Reading the synopsis and looking at the covers might make you think this is a two dimensional good vs evil tale of monsters and men but it's far from that. This is a story about the true cruelties that happen in the real world by bad people and how that affects the emotional state of people. Redemption, revenge and closure are themes we explore this issue with a little monstrous rampage for good measure.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Judge Dredd: False Witness #4

Feb 3, 2021

With this being the final issue of False Witness I cant help but summarise the whole mini series rather than the single issue. A very satisfying conclusion to an action packed and interesting story built around mystery, espionage and Judge Dredd laying down the law. I have recommended this series to lots of people and have yet to hear someone say they didnt like it. If you like good, graphic and violent comics set in a unique universe then pick up this series as it's a great example as to why Judge Dredd remains to be the biggest comic book character outside of Marvel and DC.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Justice League: Odyssey #10

Jun 12, 2019

Justice League Odyssey #10 is a wonderful read that feels every part its own individual story, while still being part of a larger world. This proves that a simple tale told well can have a bigger impact than an overly complicated story told badly. After a rocky start this is a book picking up steam. I hope the team of Dan Abnett, Daniel Sampere, Juan Albarran and Ivan Plascencia can stick around for an extended run.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Justice League: Odyssey #12

Aug 14, 2019

This issue was a thing of genuine beauty and was written and paced perfectly. The suspense built slowly, yet it never gave you time to predict what could happen at the next turn. The detail in the action sequences was complimented, as always, by the sharp vibrant colors. The whole issue has this dark orange and red tone, which sets the mood perfectly. I cannot compliment this series and issue more.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Justice League: Odyssey #13

Sep 11, 2019

After a rocky start to this series, Justice League Odyssey has become my favorite ongoing series, bringing together four often ignored characters with a perfect fantasy blend. All elements are firing on all cylinders right now; the story, the characters, the artwork, the color is pitch perfect for the audience. The lettering in comics is often underappreciated but AnWworld Design curate the pages brilliantly, with an array of fonts and the varying boxes which ease the flow of the story. Justice League Odyssey #13 encapsulates all that is great about this series, while still managing to take some risks and even elevate the story to a new level.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Justice League: Odyssey #14

Oct 9, 2019

Justice League Odyssey #14 is a pleasant quick read which continues the story well. Dan Abnett has almost reset the series, and the latest chapter has changed the motivation, from protection and redemption, to a story fuelled by revenge and desperation. I have absolute confidence that this series will continue to grow and the spark will reignite for me. That confidence boost was quickly established on the final page, with a reveal which should make the next steps in the story very interesting indeed.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Justice League: Odyssey #15

Nov 22, 2019

I'm excited to see if they will be a friend… or foe.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Justice League: Odyssey #16

Jan 3, 2020

A new character with an interesting past joined the team, and the return of a former Justice League member made the final page a shock… but will they be friend, or foe?

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Kick-Ass vs Hit-Girl (2020) #1

Nov 10, 2020

I will be the first to admit this series was not on my immediate radar but once the preview arrived in my inbox its cover instantly grabbed my attention. Then page after page hooked me even more and before I knew it I was finished and instantly wanting to read issue #2.. Kick Ass vs Hit Girl is a great addition to the characters catalogue and will appeal to old school fans of the series but will also form a great jumping off point for new readers. Mark Millar should be proud of where his characters have gone.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Kick-Ass vs Hit-Girl (2020) #3

Jan 13, 2021

An issue that took a matter of minutes to zip through due to its lack of dialogue but makes up for it with brilliant action sequences. I would have perhaps liked a bit more meat on the story throughout the middle but the ending has me eager to see what issue #4 serves up.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Kick-Ass vs Hit-Girl (2020) #4

Feb 11, 2021

As the penultimate issue we are left on a very predictable cliffhanger but one I am extremely excited to see. A simple story which is a breeze to read and will make an awesome collected edition when complete. Guns, Girls, Swords and blood makes this a good fun Kick-Ass story.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Money Shot #9

Oct 5, 2020

People should get behind this series, or on top of it or underneath it or whatever position you want because Money shot is up for anything.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Money Shot #10

Nov 3, 2020

Money Shot is a hilarious and sexy space romp which has created layered stories with interesting characters. Just when you think you have seen everything you can think of in space sex you turn a page and there is a new alien having some form of sexual adventure. Volume two will be a trade paperback I will have to add to my collection and will continue to recommend this series to anyone who listens.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Nocterra #1

Mar 2, 2021

I said it in a tweet and I will say it again, this is one of the best opening issues of a comic book series I have read in a long time. Its fresh, bold storytelling on a big scale with superb artwork and introduces us to a world of crazy opportunities and possibilities.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Radiant Black #1

Feb 9, 2021

In an age when some comics try too hard to make a statement or enforce an agenda, Radiant Black is a refreshing new comic setting itself up as a simple, care free superhero story. A series that fans of Fantastic Four, Spider-Man or X-Men will enjoy.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Resonant #6

Dec 15, 2020

Resonant is a comic for people who like dystopian futures or post-apocalyptic type settings. Touches of horror and gore fill the pages in a story grounded in morality and realism.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Resonant #7

Feb 3, 2021

Resonant continues to be one of the most unique comics on the shelves today. A world ravaged by unimaginable powers, corruption, warlords and disasters but detailing passionate stories about love and family. I tried to explain this to someone recently and found myself saying Imagine Mad Max set on a tropical island.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Resonant #8

Mar 3, 2021

This has been my favourite issue of the whole series packing suspense, mystery, fear and surprise into the story. Brilliant storytelling, executed to perfection with wonderful artwork. This issue especially highlights why fans of The Walking Dead or Y: The Last Man will love Resonant.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Rorschach (2020) #1

Oct 13, 2020

As a huge fan of the Watchmen universe and Tom King as a writer I came into this series with high expectations. I can safely say my expectations have been met and exceeded. With mystery, suspense and drama I was hooked from the opening page to the very last and am extremely excited to see this series develop.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Shadow Service #2

Sep 29, 2020

Shadow Service is another surprise hit from Vault Comics who continue to deliver fresh new comics. This story connects with me because of my admiration for Hellblazer and Buffy the Vampire Slayer comics while creating something new that excites me. I like a cliffhanger and issue number 2 has left me dangling dangerously on the edge where I don't even think Sly Stalone could save me from. I need issue 3 now!

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Shadow Service #3

Oct 20, 2020

This series continues to impress me in the way it has created a vast, secret world that I want to see more and more from but I know we have only just scratched the surface. Shadow Service has crafted out it's own personality while having similarities to series like Constantine, Justice League Dark and Preacher.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Shadow Service #4

Nov 17, 2020

Shadow Service continues to be one of my favourite comics to come out in 2020 due to its sharp and witty writing, terrifying and graphic art and a group of misfit characters I am engaged to see develop. Also it makes a nice change to read a comic book telling magical stories set in England.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Shadow Service #5

Dec 22, 2020

At the mid way point in this arc we have met some interesting, bizarre and mystical characters. Our main girl Gina Meyer is still the key to the mysteries surrounding Mi666 and Quill but can we yet say who is working for good and who is working for evil? A supernatural mystery which keeps me on my toes at every turn.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Snow Angels #1

Feb 16, 2021

On a couple of pages there is blood and the way the red is so prominent reminds me the way Frank Miller would use red to stand out in his Sin City books.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Spawn #314

Jan 27, 2021

I have dropped in and out of Spawn over the years but the last 6 months have been incredibly strong for Spawn and issue #314 continues that trend. Big action packed pages, intimidating characters and an ominous future for Earth makes this a good issue with a promising future.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Star Wars Adventures: Smuggler's Run #2

Jan 26, 2021

Smuggler's Run is a fun adventure for Star Wars fans young and old. This isn't bringing anything new to the universe but does explore a period in time that will have been very interesting for two of the most popular characters Han Solo and Chewbacca.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Star Wars: The High Republic (2021) #1

Jan 7, 2021

A very strong opening issue which has everything a Star Wars fan wants in action packed lightsabre battles, fun space adventures and an underlying evil waiting to pounce. Anyone can pick this comic up and hit the ground running with no prior knowledge required.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Star Wars: The High Republic (2021) #2

Feb 4, 2021

The most honest review I can give this book is to simply say it's Star Wars. It looks like Star Wars and it feels like Star Wars but with a completely new batch of characters who are instantly winning over the audience. Star Wars fans new and old will take great enjoyment from this fun but serious story.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Star Wars: The High Republic Adventures (2021) #1

Feb 2, 2021

The High Republic has completely sucked me into this new era of Star Wars and Adventures provides another excellent entry to the saga. Faced paced, adrenaline pumping action with an interesting group of young Jedi under the mentorship of Yoda, what more could you want? I found the suitable for all ages branding to be right on the money as it's not too childish to discourage older readers and not too graphic to scare the younger readers.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Star Wars: The High Republic Adventures (2021) #2

Mar 2, 2021

As someone who generally prefers their comics on the darker, more graphic side of things I'm surprised by how much I am enjoying this series. The fun action scenes and light heartedness of the characters makes it really easy to enjoy but it's the underlying threat of the Nihal and the connections to other High Republic books which helps this resonate with me. Lula is a very fun and interesting new Jedi and I'm invested to see where her journey takes us.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
The Devil's Red Bride #1

Oct 3, 2020

A very different type of comic I am used to reading and although it hasn't blown me away it has created enough curiosity for me to come back for issue #2. Detailed artwork with a layered story that will appeal to an audience with an interest in Manga and Samurai.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
The Scumbag #3

Dec 21, 2020

The Scumbag is a brilliantly funny form of escapism. It has all the qualities of a superhero comic without the capes and cowls. A series which should appeal to fans of Deadpool or Preacher and is some light hearted fun while still being a gripping and engaging story.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
The Scumbag #4

Jan 18, 2021

Scumbag is a graphic series which takes the most useless person you can think of and throws them into ridiculous situations. The result being hilarious antics, crude humour and plenty of nudity on top of a story with real emotions about life, love and friendship.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
The Scumbag #5

Feb 23, 2021

A great conclusion to the first chapter whilst leaving plenty of unanswered questions to keep readers coming back next month. Ernie is a terrible human being but is slowly winning me over and fans of an underdog tale will enjoy this series. It's James Bond meets XXX meets Trainspotting which seems like a crazy blend but it's really working.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

March

February

More