Jason Bennett's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Pop Culture HQ Reviews: 57
9.4Avg. Review Rating

10
A&A: The Adventures of Archer and Armstrong #11

Jan 7, 2017

In having read the entire A&A: THE ADVENTURES OF ARCHER & ARMSTRONG series so far, it's fantastic seeing this team of collaborators who are so in sync with one another. Collectively unified in not only delivering a great issue (month-in and month-out) but honoring the near 25-year old franchise and maintaining the integrity of everything that makes this the greatest buddy team-up in all of comics. If anything, they've set the new standard for further adventures of Obadiah Archer and Aram Anni-Padda.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Actionverse #1

Aug 13, 2017

ACTIONVERSE #1 ft. STRAY is a smart first issue drop by the creative team. It's entertaining, engaging, has likable characters, a moving plot, and fun covers. I personally feel David Golding's variants for issues one and two (seen above and below) greatly surpass the look and quality of the “action figure variants” of late with a different publisher and add that youthful feel you would experience in perusing the toy aisle looking for your favorite character when you were younger (well done, David!). Action Lab has a winning team and strong new title to their library with ACTIONVERSE #1 ft. STRAY! #BewareTheSTRAY

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
All New Fathom (2017) #1

Feb 5, 2017

PopCultHQs overall assessment:Too often nowadays in the comic book world, series are short-lived and simply rebooted. Don't get me wrong, if reboots are your thing, that's cool. I know of a couple of big publishers who'll have you covered in spades. But unlike bizarre mash-up characters (think Spider-Gwenpool) and struggling well-known properties, ALL NEW FATHOM #1 (Vol.6) is breathing new life into the franchise.The addition of Northcott, Renna, and Zen were bold moves that paid off handsomely. All three brought their “A” game and look to cement their way as to the new look and feel of the FATHOM series. Quite frankly, this entire creative team have some great synergy and it's a thing to behold when it jumps off the pages. While writer Blake Northcott's narrative and talent alone will have me back, bringing Renna on board simply added to my desire for more.Aspen Matthews has never looked better.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Alters #3

Dec 21, 2016

Finally to note, you have each person on the creative team at the top of their respective games. Back that with a publisher whose stock has been steadilyon the rise month after month, ALTERShas the potential to not only continue its successful run, but quite possibly become one of the cornerstones to AfterShock's library of titles.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Amerikarate #1

Jan 29, 2017

I think what the strongest attribute is with AMERIKARATE, and one you may not even be able to promote, is the feeling you have while reading it. It hearkens back to a time in our youth when we were more innocent. When reading a comic book felt like a getaway in which you could immerse yourself into this world and just revel in that happiness. That's what AMERIKARATE brought out for me. A feeling of comics being fun again. Of being able to open the cover and just be entertained the entire book. I know that the next issue will surely keep my laughing and I look forward to following along with Sam on his journey and his fight for his right to fight karate!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Animosity #1

Aug 6, 2016

Marguerite Bennett has created a brilliant story destined for a successful run. The narrative is solid and the conceptis magnificent. AfterShock Comics has struck gold with the addition of Bennett's Animosityto their already stellar lineup of titles. It's rare for me to want to add a new comic book seriesto my pull list after one issue but Animosity is a rare gem that delivers an all-around appeal that is not only a must-read, but a must-own!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Blood Blister #1

Jan 31, 2017

BLOOD BLISTER #1 is bursting with greatness. The writing, and its timing of delivery, make this a powerhouse of a debut. The story is unique, the art is mesmerizing, and has a very intriguing premise that you'll sadistically crave by the last page. While many books give you the impression of having vast potential due to the characters in that title's "universe" or some of the dynamics which make for possibly great storytelling, BLOOD BLISTER will be successful because it's more centralized and focused intimately with our lead Brandon Hull. This is going to give Hester a prime opportunity to show his range and depth as a writer by delving deep into his compelling story and to this main character. Overall, this was a great total package produced by the creative team and just like other AfterShock titles, it stands to set itself apart from what's currently out there.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Brigands #2

Dec 14, 2016

The storyline moves better than you might expect and overall is an enjoyable book. I wouldn't even say that I hope this series does well, because it's filled with so much you'd want from a title – intriguing story, something different than what's out there, steady pace, intelligent writing, art that defines the series – I can't see how it can get better. But alas, poor Yorick, I thought the same thing after reading last month's premiere and I was proven wrong. It's getting bigger, better, and bolder. Bring on the BRIGANDS!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Brigands #3

Jan 17, 2017

These lone rogue warriors are relinquishing their pride and working towards forming a cohesive unit. But how long will that last? Will egos come into play? And what of the next individual to join these Brigands? This is an exciting 20+ pages with a fun, bygone band of brethren. The terrific storytelling makes following along in their continued quest a true pleasure. Go pick up BRIGANDS and see for yourself. Take a trip to your LCS this Wednesday and then a trip back home to jump on into the (ancient) time of your life!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
BubbleGun (2017) #1

May 17, 2017

From cover to cover, BUBBLEGUN #1 is filled with a brilliant story, top-notch artwork, colors that pop more than Molli's gun, and lettering from one of the best in the business. Issue one has set the stage perfectly not only for what's destined to be a fantastic series, but all the makings of what will be a highly desirable. and necessary, collected trade upon the miniseries' conclusion. Though too early to tell, this neon-infused, high-tech, action thrill ride may very well be the top sci-fi series available today. It's certainly setting itself up to be.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Captain Kid #3

Dec 14, 2016

Writers Waid and Peyer have an entertaining story in Captain Kid. The interior dialog by Chris “Captain Kid” Vargas made the 43-year old in me chuckle out loud, as I have while reading the first two issues as well. It's a superhero story for adults, but not pushing the “comic for adults” all up-in-your-face. There are tongue-in-cheek moments in this series. You understand the feelings and complexities of these characters. It screams out to the inner child in all of us seeking to be something greater than ourselves. AfterShock has a hidden gem in today's sea full of cubic zirconia superhero titles. Add Captain Kid to your pull list, along with what is likely becoming a high percentage of AfterShock titles.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Captain Kid #4

Jan 16, 2017

CAPTAIN KID is not your normal superhero fare, but that's its appeal. It's filled with raw and real emotion, engaging characters, a bit of mystery tossed in, and an overall warm feeling from the entire presentation. The writing in CAPTAIN KID is what defines the series and what sets it apart from anything else in the superhero genre. A hero we get to experience as he himself is understanding his abilities.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Cougar and Cub #1

Jan 26, 2017

Get COUGAR AND CUB on your pull list because this will be the series you can always rely on to give you that risqu humor you need with plenty of tongue-in-cheek moments, and likely in other places.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Cougar and Cub #2

Feb 13, 2017

I am so glad this is an Action Lab: Danger Zone because some of the humor is definitely adult but definitely welcome. Between COUGAR AND CUB, and the upcoming AMERIKARATE, Danger Zone is bringing a new kind of funny to the comic world. I haven't laughed so much from a comic book and with back-to-back issues too. Though only two issues in, COUGAR AND CUB continues to contribute a colossal amount of comedic content with cute characters, cunning criminals, and a crime-fighting couple, when combined, are capable ofconquering crime and some crazy coitus.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Cougar and Cub #3

Apr 2, 2017

This is one of only a small handful of titles which I anticipate each month and the only series that delivers a lot of guaranteedlaughs every time. With the final two issues currently being scheduled for their digital releases, and the plans for Action Lab to produce a graphic novel of the five-issue miniseries later in 2017 (a MUST buy!), it's exciting to know that there is still more coming from the title and creative team. If you love some good ol' adult humor, a quirky cast of characters, and are fans of tv cartoon series likeJohnny Bravo, Dexter's Lab, and Ren & Stimpy, then COUGAR AND CUB needs to be in your collection. It's the perfect digital series to take with you on the go whenever you need a good laugh or to lighten your mood. It delivers all that and more!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Cougar and Cub #4

May 13, 2017

Just as Action Lab Entertainment leads the way when it comes to all-ages comics, their Danger Zone imprint has the titles which know how to deliver wildly funny and outrageous stories, especially notable new seriesAmeriKarate and certainlyCougar and Cub. Though you will be more than thoroughly pleased reading each issue digitally, and I highly recommend doing so since you can take the hilarity with you anywhere, it's exciting to know that a collected volume trade is slated for this July (details below). Now I'll have something the creators can sign when I hunt them down. Who am I kidding? I'd let them autograph my digital version

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Cyberforce: Artifacts #0

Jan 1, 2017

Since this was a result of a talent hunt, all the creators are on the top of their respective games. What makes CYBERFORCE ARTIFACTS #0 appealing is its culmination of talent, the self-contained anthology approach to the issue, a fantastic introduction to these decades-established properties, and its overall feel of people in the indie comic book community coming together to support and promote one another. Top Cow/Image has produced a comic that is an asset to the indie comic book industry and best exemplifies an indie publisher seeking to put out quality material, even if it's not someone currently under their label. Me, personally? Though I have a digital review copy, this is a book I will definitely be picking up at my LCS this Wednesday. It even screams to get signed by all the creators. Looks like I'll be taking my physical copy on the road to all the conventions I attend in 2017!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Danger Doll Squad #0

Aug 6, 2017

For readers who may be new to any one, or all, individual titles these lethal ladies come from, the delivery in this issue make it a perfect jumping-on point to all three. The art is expressive and lively, the colors pop, and the narrative will make you a fan.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Executive Assistant Iris: Enemies Among Us #1

Dec 18, 2016

Though Aspen Comics may not release a slew of titles, what they do release is guaranteed to be an enjoyable story, visually breathtaking, and definitely worth every penny for what's delivered cover-to-cover. Enemies Among Us is a top-notch one-shot andmakes for a great of the entry to the Aspen Universe.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Fu Jitsu #1

Sep 2, 2017

FU JITSU #1 is brilliant amalgamation of action, fantasy, science, and Eastern philosophies. Alook at events in history, and how magic and villainy played an integral role in many notable instances. Fortunately for us, there is a hero out there, protecting mankind. FU JITSU takes us along for the ride on his journey and by issue's end, there's nowhere you'd rather want to be.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Go West #1

Nov 20, 2016

GO WEST #1is a solid debut issue from top to bottom. Gunn has a unique story on his hands. A futuristic western depicting a land which could quite possibly be the destiny of America today. It's The Outlaw Josey WalesmeetsStephen King's The Dark Tower. There is a lot of potential and possibilities and it'll be interesting where Gunn takes us next. The artwork is just as pivotal to Go West as is the writing. If both stay on point and deliver each forthcoming issue, this will be a lasting series and a huge win for Alterna Comics.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Go West #2

Jan 12, 2017

Saint Yak has created such powerful imagery in GO WEST and has essentially doubled this book's value on top of Gunn's fascinating (and quite possibly prophetic) saga. After reading a mere two issues, you get the sense that Garrett Gunn and The Saint Yak are headed for greatness. Thisvery well could be the series that catapults their careers, individually and collectively.Alterna Comics has struck gold in GO WEST. It's the perfect ensemble of creators; a writer with a phenomenalnarrative and a gift in delivery, a well-rounded, multi-talented artist with a firm grasp of capturing the essence of every scene, and lettering from a pro who notably compliments the story. I highly recommend GO WEST, and to the creators…just like young Anakin Skywalker…

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Grimm Fairy Tales (2016) #1

Jan 8, 2017

The only thing that concerns me (“concern” may even be too harsh of a word) is with such a tremendous output in this premiere issue, can each subsequent issue be as full-bodied, well-rounded, and as powerfully moving as this one? It seems a Herculean task to keep that momentum and produce a narrative on par with what has been established here, but if anyone is up to the task and can make it happen, it is Brusha. And if he can continue at delivering at a pace like this, and artists Silva and Nunes stay attached to the project, they'll see this volume of GRIMM FAIRY TALES reach additional milestones of achievement.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Harbinger: Renegade #5

Jul 11, 2017

One of the reasons the death which occurs in HARBINGER RENEGADE #5 has such impact is thanks to Valiant Entertainment's shared universe. When something in one comic series can affect any character and/or any title, you go from being a shocking incident in a series to being an event-level shakeup with lasting implications.If you're already looking ahead to HARBINGER WARS 2, this is the catalyst forwhat will be the monumental event of 2018. We've only scratched the surface with the "Massacre" story arc, and by all indications, we've only begun to see the Valiant Universe-wide effect. HARBINGER RENEGADE #5 changes everything. Things will never be the same.The Road to Harbinger Wars 2 has begun!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Hellchild #3

May 6, 2016

The way this series began strong, and has progressively gained traction, has me feeling that come issue five I will likely be blown away and may need a change of shorts. You have the trifecta in a creative team with Shand, Riccardi, and Bruni. With their combined output, you can expect a compelling story and top-notch artwork. I only wish the series wasn't going to end after five issues. Hopefully their work here leads to the trio collaborating on a future project. Thiscreative team from Zenescope has got it going on!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Immortal Brothers: The Tale of the Green Knight #1

Apr 9, 2017

One of most notable features ofIMMORTAL BROTHERS: THE TALE OF THE GREEN KNIGHT, one in which I truly admired, was seeing these famous Valiant characters portrayed as they are in this issue. Honorable, noble, daring, and steadfast, the immortal Anni-Padda brothers have never looked more valiant (see what I did there?). Come this New Comic Book Day, Valiant's only new release is a great choice to pick up. You'll receive a very gratifying read with exceptional value from cover to cover.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Inferno: Resurrection #3

May 6, 2016

These next two issues should skyrocket in its narrative, culminating in what could be a potential mindblown ending. Limiting this series to five issues has to be difficult becausethere is so much you could do with the characters, their background, future encounters/battles, and growth possibilities. I'll be watching for issue four especially since I have a feeling Tedesco is going to present us with more shock and awe than even the end of this issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Infinite 7 #1

Dec 29, 2016

The unruly team of Dwonch, Mesa, and Filho have become public enemies to the state and are our highest priority. Though this is only their initial entry, if we don't attempt to neutralize this threat, we predict a rolling juggernaut of a series. Mystery still clouds some of the Infinite Seven's crew, so we have determined that our best tactical maneuver at this point is to lay low and watch for further, likely more extreme, developments. Make following INFINITE SEVEN and these creators your utmost priority, soldier. Nothing else matters. That is all"for now.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Jackpot #2

May 11, 2016

Writer Ray Fawkes takes the action and excitement from issue one and keeps the pace flowing. He certainly has a remarkable and thrilling adventure with this cast of characters. Simply put, the writing is superb. His creative team partners, artist Marco Failla and colorist Stefani Rennee, give life and intensity to the title's players and scenarios they find themselves in. Once again, this trio hit the Jackpot! on issue two with no signs of slowing down. By far, this is the only comic right now that makes me anxious for the next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Jackpot #3

Jul 29, 2016

This series will leave you anxiously anticipating the next issue and looking forward to how Fawkes outdoes himself" again. Although there are still 5 full months before the year's end, I can GUARANTEE that Jackpot! will be PopCultHQ's pick for title of the year. Hands down.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Jackpot #4

Nov 21, 2016

Jackpot! is a great addition to the AfterShock family. With titles like Dreaming Eagles, Rough Riders, inSEXts, and Black-Eyed Kids, plus recently released series as Alters and Animosity, AfterShock Comics has propelled themselves as major contenders in the indie comic book field in 2016. By adding Jackpot! to its stable, the publisher has a monster sleeper hit on their hands. This is the only series we have reviewed which received three 5-star ratings in a row, let alone the first three issues, and there's a reason for that. This is excitement personified; an explosive story, a beguiling cast of characters, and a look you want from a fantastic heist!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Jackpot #5

Apr 30, 2017

Though it may be premature for an announcement of a collected volume of the what will be six issues, I certainly hope the plan is to release one. This series is prime for a trade paperback and I feel would be enjoyed even more by many readers and they'll also gain a greater appreciation for the creative team individually and collectively. And though I'm not aware if Fawkes has more of this fascinating story to tell, there's definitely potential for a second story arc. Plus, this will allow for the writer to showcase his insanely creative mind. That just benefits everyone. And given the storytelling so far, and the way issue five ends, the stage is set for an explosive and possible dimension-shattering finale.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Legends of Oz: Tik Tok & the Kalidah #2

May 24, 2016

Still, this has been an enjoyable story withlikable characters that keep me interested in seeing issue three, the final issue in the miniseries. With the female companion shrouded in mystery and the quest for the magical compass, not to mention having the Witch's baddies hot on the group's tail, there seems to be a lot that needs to be answered. I expect the finale to bring many things to light and answer these questions carried over from the first two issues that will close this series on a high note.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Masks #1

Nov 27, 2016

Warner has a solid story and has been paired up nicely with artist Zeballos to create this Old West/New West hybrid of a society. The stage is set nicely for this world to expand, but I feel we'll also gain some more insight into the past and how it evolved into its present day situation. Within this one issue, you get a strong sense that Daniel Warner has great things in store with this title, so much to the point that you want him to reveal more of his narrative, which ultimately should translate into guaranteed readers already on board for issue two. If Team Warner/Zeballos continue the pace of this issue and add to its already solid storyline, MASKS has the potential to be a lasting sci-fi series and something unique not currently being offered.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
NVRLND #1

Jul 27, 2016

NVRLND is a series I will be watching with great anticipation. The premiere issue delivered much more than I expected, which was quite a pleasant surprise, and I was impressed with the overall product. The story and adult themes/suggested material (or as I like to call it, fun) shown inthis issue make this series tell a captivating tale, the characters created are intriguing, and the creative team shows that they are in sync with one another. That right there should bring this series great success. IfSalyers and Mulick continue to build on their dark, underground world, delve deeper into each character's backstory, and Luiz continues to bring out quality depictions of this world, this series may have hope beyond its planned four issue run.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
NVRLND #2

Aug 17, 2016

The only thing I suppose I can say negatively about NVRLND is that I foresee myself being upset that the title came to an end. However, I know with that closure will come a great sense of fulfillment and elation as I've just read what is my definitive pick for miniseries of 2016. Hands (and hooks) down!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
NVRLND #3

Oct 11, 2016

NVRLNDhas cemented itself among great titles such as Zenescope's Grimm Fairy TalesandVertigo's Fablesas quintessential adult-oriented fairy tales which rekindle a sense of youth in the reader from the characters, yet employ all the facets of current societal issues and real-world scenarios.With only one issue left, everything that has transpired will finally come to a head. From where this issue leaves us, next month's series finale is primed for an explosive ending. The stage is set (literally and figuratively) for a showdown of the ages.Simply put, this series is a must for any collection! My issue number one is framed and mounted on my wall.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
NVRLND #4

Nov 19, 2016

Kudos to 451 for opting this title. With the strength of this miniseries and their recent debut of Red Dog, they've ended the year in bold fashion by making a statement in the comic book community. There truly is Imagination to Burn and we're glad 451 is bringing it with such a fun, exciting, and breakout series as NVRLND.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Paradiso #1

Nov 12, 2017

Sci-fi fans, rejoice! The creative team of Venkatesan,Pramanik, Kelly, and Bidikar bring you a city of paradise"or is it?For a debut issue, PARADISO #1 delivers on numerous levels.Though there was little mention of The Midnight Event, and we get but a glimpse of the mysterious device protagonist Jack Kryznan carries, that only adds to the allure of the story and intensifies the anticipation. A captivating dystopian tale with loads of potential, a lead character who is dynamic and appealing, and it leaves you with questions that'll guarantee you want to pick up issue two. Expect this first issue to fly off the shelves because PARADISO is a smash hit!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Red Dog #1

Sep 9, 2016

There are a lot of possibilities for this series to explore. The writing is superb and is able to convey its message and intent with the words chosen. The artwork certainly would make me come back for more as I am curious to visualize more of this world through Cohen and Ewington's writing and Atkins' illustrations. With this being released and available in mid-November, much of the success of this series will come the first quarter of 2017. With a good push for its late Fall premiere, this title has the potentiality to become 2017's “Sci-Fi to Buy.” And that's a good thing!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Red Dog #2

Jan 10, 2017

Although we're still in January, and only a mere two issues in, RED DOG is one of 2017's “Sci-Fi to Buy” and you can expect it'll be included in “Top Sci-Fi Comic Books of 2017” and “Best Of…” lists come the end of the year. This series is not only for science fictionbuffs either. The characters are as relatable as likely someone in your family. With its dynamic narrative and talented creators, this well-rounded, action-packed, emotionally-feuled title needs to be on your pull list. 451 Media has put together a brilliant ensemble of creators for RED DOG and has a winning title on their hands to kick off the New Year!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Red Dog #3

Apr 5, 2017

Though this issue primarily focused on Kyle and his dogs, the landscape is about to open up.Now halfway through the miniseries, the impending battle between the colonists and the native Kira is on the horizon and it looks to be intense. The foundation of the series has been established in the first three issues andyou get the sense that issue four is gonna bring it! 451 Media may not produce as many titles or with the frequency of many publishers, but when they do it's solid work throughout. RED DOG is another example of how 451 carved their niche in the comic book world as a reliable publisher when it comes to quality.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Robyn Hood (2014) Annual #1

May 16, 2016

Great job to the entire creative team on Robyn Hood: 2016 Annual. Though it may wrap up the series, you know Robyn won't be disappearing from the Zenescope Universe anytime soon.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Rough Riders #2

May 17, 2016

I will certainly be following Rough Ridersto see what transpires withthis unique ensemble of characters and their mission shrouded in mystery. I look forward to learning more about what is happening in Cuba that demands the assistance of the Riders to protect American interests. I'm also curious as to how their individual talents will benefit the team as a whole. As Roosevelt pointed out, “You all possess special skill sets that will be required for our success.” Hmmm. Have my attention? Yeah you do!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Rough Riders #7

Nov 8, 2016

This series belongs in every collection. The art will draw you in, the story will keep you engaged, and the overall package will make you a tried and true fan!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Rough Riders: Riders on the Storm #1

Feb 22, 2017

As strong of a performance as last year's ROUGH RIDERS series was, even being chosen as TFAW's Comic Book of 2016, this second installment got even better. Glass' writing is one of honoring these notable figures and he does it to perfection.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Savage #1

Nov 28, 2016

SAVAGE #1 is a solid debut issue. The writing is appropriately descriptive (no fluff), the artwork is remarkably fitting, and the comic presents nicely overall.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Savage #4

Feb 15, 2017

In 2016, Valiant touted “The Future of Valiant” as the next wave of characters to enter their vast Valiant Universe. Seeing them announce titles like FAITH, GENERATION ZERO, and HARBINGER RENEGADE, I could totally see how they'd be absorbed into other titles. But I wondered just how will Savage enter the Valiant Universe? SAVAGE #4 will give you a taste, leave you wanting more, and show that we are far from done seeing this new character. Savage, welcome to the Valiant Universe.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Spencer & Locke #1

Mar 25, 2017

My recommendation for when you pick up a copy of SPENCER & LOCKE #1 is that you take the time to look at how each of these creators contribute to the overall product. Sure many willcritique the storytelling, as well as judge the art as a whole. But what you'll find is that this series would likely not be as good as it is had each person involved not been on the same page, creatively and as a team. From terrific storytelling that is elevated by the artwork, to colors that add another dimension to the illustrations, to lettering that can trigger any classic detective film's narration in your head, it's a sight to behold when four creative minds can collaborate so well on a debut issue. I will be purchasing print copies of this entire series. Definitely goes into the collection.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Stained #1

Apr 13, 2017

The creators of STAINED work quite admirably as a cohesive team. Writer David Baron has an intense narrative and delivers it exceptionally. Coupled with an appealing looking environment and what is a rather unique andiconic look for Emma London, STAINED has all the makings of another hit for 451 Media. With what has been delivered in issue one, the stage is set for an exciting adventure in what looks to become the next great sci-fi action hero.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Steampunk: Alice in Wonderland #1

Feb 7, 2017

GFT: Steampunk " Alice in Wonderland #1 is complete with strong, captivating writing, filled with artwork arguably better than a lot from the Big Two, and a team of creators working in harmony to bring you a hands-down beautiful book from cover to cover. To those familiar with Zenescope titles, and especially their recently established Steampunk universe, you'll love what this creative team brings to not only the title, but the legacy of the characters. If this is a new world for you, get ready to be whisked away on an adventure like you've never imagined with Lewis Carroll's Alice. It's a refreshing take on a classic story that will have you believing in fairy tales again. And what better home for that than Zenescope.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Circle (2016) #1

Jan 18, 2017

THE CIRCLE has an aesthetically-pleasing design and layout. The panels are atypical but that adds to the appeal of the book and I wouldn't want it any other way. For everything you get in-between the pages of THE CIRCLE, in either and both of the first two issues, it's remarkablethat this three-person creative team put together what would seemingly require the hands of at least 5 or 6 exceptional creators. If you think about it, perhaps that's their winning formula: Clark, Zherno, and Zen each do the work of two people, thus completing their circle.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
The Circle (2016) #3

Feb 22, 2017

Though there are some who might want to label this series as a teen thriller, I highly recommend removing any blinders and preconceived notions before diving in because it is so much more than that. There's something magical to THE CIRCLE (other than the obvious): a story which proposes an appealing premise, interior art that establishes the tone rather than accentuates it, and a trio of creators putting out a quality title. When the series finally comes to a conclusion in a couple of months, Damon Clark's THE CIRCLE will be recognized and remembered as a fun, dark, compelling story overflowing with creative talent. Another great addition to the Action Lab: Danger Zone family.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
The Fear Diaries #1

Feb 16, 2017

With a price tag at $1.99, THE FEAR DIARIES is a steal. Compelling story, fun characters, beautiful imagery, and an overall great output from all the creators involved. Alterna Comics is continuing its streak of hit series with THE FEAR DIARIES.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Underwinter #1

Apr 7, 2017

I truly believe we've only begun to see what the writer has in store for us. I just had a feeling that we were in for something pretty special in UNDERWINTER and writer Ray Fawkes went above and beyond with this debut issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
World Reader #1

Apr 16, 2017

AfterShock Comics adds a compelling and unique sci-fi series to their library, to go along with great titles from 2016 like THE REVISIONIST and REPLICA. But with WORLD READER, you're getting something different from most comics in the genre. Where most are depicting a dystopian future, run-of-the-mill outer space stories/battles, or ones focused on survivalism, Loveness brings a narrative that's interpersonal, rife with emotion,and what is shaping up to be a psychological wonder. Coupled with Doe's fantastic visuals and bold choices, WORLD READER #1 sets itself apart from standard sci-fi fare. It's an alluring story, visually enticing from cover to cover, and looks to be another hit for AfterShock Comics.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Wretches #1

Dec 2, 2016

I anxiously look forward to seeing where writer Roche is taking us. With its Blade Runner meets The Road Warrior with a helping of Surrogates feel, this series has the potential to lead the charge in a new era of the sci-fi genre for comic books. For me, this was the sci-fi story I didn't realize I was searching for and I'm ecstatic I've found it!

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for
the Week of...

November

October

More