Jeffrey Bracey's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Comic Crusaders Reviews: 40
8.2Avg. Review Rating

8.0
Aero #2

Aug 13, 2019

Aero is not at all a bad dip into manga for Marvel and I think its a pretty great idea soliciting actual mangaka for the work. Its really givng the book a best of both worlds flavor.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Age of Conan: Belit #4

Jun 18, 2019

This should have been a swashbuckling, rollicking adventure with dark undertones but instead its a series of events and characters who ignore basic story logic. Go read Conan or Red Sonja instead.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Age Of X-Man: The Marvelous X-Men #1

Feb 12, 2019

An interesting facet in the Age Of X-Man storyline which is an obvious inversion of the Age Of Apocalypse. It should prove interesting to see where this all goes.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Age Of X-Man: The Marvelous X-Men #2

Mar 19, 2019

Marvelous X-Men is a thought-provoking What If with a twist in that it ties directly will likely directly affect the 616 universe in a similar way that the Age of Apocalypse did. It's still an engaging story on all levels. Bring on issue 3!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Albert Einstein: Time Mason #5

Mar 5, 2019

What a delightful book this is! This is just pure fun through and through, highly recommended. 5 out of 5!

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Amazing Spider-Man (2018) #14

Feb 4, 2019

There are some real issues with storytelling as well. The fight scenes are poorly choreographed and clumsy looking. During a family fight amongst the Conner's, Peter doesn't look shocked embarrassed for his host but just calmly takes a drink. At least MJ and Mr and Mrs Conners look upset. In one panel Kraven's spear knocks off Arcade's hat but in the next it has magically pierced it. I don't get it, I loved Bachalo's work in Dr Strange last year but this…

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Amazing Spider-Man (2018) #18.HU

Apr 9, 2019

I've read the previous issues in this particular arc and they are pretty good but this issue, man oh man, it's a real stand out. For me its an instant classic.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Avengers (2018) #15

Feb 26, 2019

I do have a con that doesn't involve story or art that I will address here. Marvel, please choose where you place your ads better. Put them in between scenes, not in the middle of them. A couple of times I had to flip back to understand what was happening because I had lost context and continuity due to the interruption of 3 pages of ads. That aside this is a book I can recommend. The pros far outweigh any cons, this is an exciting story and I can't wait to see where it goes from here. 4 out of 5!

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Avengers (2018) #17

Mar 26, 2019

The comic has a grate conclusion with a nice twist but its not all good as there are issues writing wise. 3 out of 5!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Banjax #1

Jun 18, 2019

Another modern deconstruction of the idea and ideal of what a superhero is but this one doesn't add the humor of Kick Ass or the Machiavellian complexity of Watchmen but instead focuses on keep things completely down and dirty and grounded in reality as much as possible. Well worth a look.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Barbarella/Dejah Thoris #2

Feb 26, 2019

While this is the story of two heroines this issue is a Barbarella story for sure.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batgirl (2016) #35

May 27, 2019

This was a great issue, just flawless in my opinion. It really had everything I want in a comic book and more and actually got me excited once more about a character I had given up on. It really shows what a difference a change in creative team can make. Move over cosplay Batgirl, the real thing is back in town! 5 out of 5!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman (2016) #62

Jan 14, 2019

It's an unusual turn for Batman but one that was both entertaining and thoughtful. I recommend it. 5 out of 5!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Buffy the Vampire Slayer (2019) #2

Mar 5, 2019

Old fans will love this book for sure and hopefully it can snag some new ones. 4 out of 5!

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Cellies #9

Apr 9, 2019

The story didn't hold my interest but the art is solid. If you're into slice of life though this may be the comic for you.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Conan the Barbarian (2019) #2

Jan 22, 2019

Without a doubt this is comic worthy of the old Conan Marvel comics by creators like Thomas and Buscema. 5 out of 5!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Curse Words #23

Jul 30, 2019

With everything you need to get right into this story I don't think you will be disappointed if by picking up this series with this issue. 5 out of 5!

View Issue       View Full Review
2.0
Days of Hate #12

Jan 22, 2019

I just can recommend this book, by itself it has very little to offer a new reader. 1 out of 5!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
East of West #42

Apr 19, 2019

Even knowing nothing about the previous issues of this series I found myself sucked into the story wanting more. 5 out of 5!

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Female Furies #2

Mar 11, 2019

Jack Kirby's Fourth World doesn't deserve this sort of treatment but the art at least quite good. 2 out of 5!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Freedom Fighters (2018) #5

Apr 30, 2019

If you've ever been a fan of DC's Freedom Fighters and Elseworlds this book is for you, and even if not this is just a solidly satisfying comic book experience that combines superheroes with alternative history.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Friendo #4

Feb 5, 2019

If you like South Park by way of Tarantino this is the book for you. It is pure black comedy and vicious parody all wrapped up into one. 5 out of 5!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Friendo #5

Mar 12, 2019

With the final chapter told Friendo takes cynical to new heights. It's social commentary of the sort that is like a stick getting slowly jammed through your eye. If you dig movies like Brazil or Robocop and aren't afraid to take a few lumps while reading a comic book this one is for you! 5 out of 5!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
GANTZ #3

Apr 22, 2019

A really great sci-fi action manga with a fascinating premise, great characters and arcs with epic action but sadly I can't give it top marks because of some very bad lettering choices.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Go Go Power Rangers #16

Jan 15, 2019

While there are other more serious Power Ranger titles out there this one spoke to my nostalgia. It managed to capture the spirit of the show but was still something adult fans could enjoy and best of all, it expanded on the story at play and the over all mythology of Power Rangers. If you liked the old show you will probably enjoy this. 4 out of 5!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Green Lantern (2018) #4

Feb 12, 2019

The new Green Lantern series is of too a great start. This has the makings of a classic run in my opinion and I hope they can this up. I strongly recommend this book.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Kodoja #1

Aug 13, 2019

Kodoja pays great homage to the Kaiju classics in both story and art and its appropriately apocalyptic feel.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Merrick: The Sensational Elephantman #7

May 2, 2019

I liked the comic well enough to want more because the Elephant Man works perfectly as a Victorian superhero and the series is building up to something big but I wish it was a bit more unique in its approach. 2.5 out of 5!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Outer Darkness #4

Feb 19, 2019

A nice mashup of genres, an engaging story, interesting characters and descent art. Yeah, I want more of this. 5 out of 5!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Realm #12

Apr 2, 2019

What a pleasant surprise this comic is, it's a well told story from top to bottom. This is a strong recommend from me, go check it out. 5 out of 5!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Shades of Magic #6

Jul 1, 2019

Pretty decent comic and good enough to keep me interested. I'd be willing to read more. I'd say if you're in the mood for some sword and sorcery give Shades of Magic a look.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Sideways #12

Jan 29, 2019

Frankly it is nice to see a hero being heroic, this is the sort of thing that has fueled the comic book industry since its inception. This comic has drama, excitement and even some humor and most importantly it engaged me enough not only to want to see the next issue but to collect the previous issues of the series to get the full story. This is what a comic book should do and be.5 out of 5!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Star Wars: Target Vader #1

Jul 9, 2019

A good start to a new Vader story with the added bonus of bringing a cool character from the 80's comics into the modern Star Wars cannon.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Superman (2018) #9

Mar 19, 2019

The art however is a thing of beauty in this comic. Each story segment is handled by different artists given each a distinctive feel and look. Both sets do a grand job from pencils to inks to colors I have no complaints. In particular I love the way Reis draws capes. If you are gonna do Superman comics you gotta draw some awesome capes.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Crow: Hack/Slash #2

Aug 6, 2019

Honestly this was much better than I expected. I've seen a few crossovers with the Crow over the years and most of them sucked so this was a pleasant surprise and worth checking out. 4 out of 5

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Null Faeries #5

Jun 5, 2019

This is shaping up to be an interesting story. The art is solid if not celebrity caliber and the storytelling is mostly spot on. Definitely worth a look.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Wrong Earth #1

Feb 19, 2019

This was a great first issue a series that both honors and deconstructs comics from two different eras at the same time.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Venom (2018) #12

Mar 28, 2019

Buy this book if you haven't already, in fact go back and get the whole series!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Wolverine: The Long Night #1

Jan 8, 2019

Overall though the story is pretty good. The interactions between the feds and the locals are quite nice and the characters feel very human and fleshed out. The author does a nice job of capturing the perspective of the native Alaskans and the agents. It just seems that this story is for people who have never heard of Wolverine before, otherwise the it doesn't work as intended.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
X-23 (2018) #12

Jun 4, 2019

X-23 is a YA book dressed up in superhero tights. It might garner some interest among fans of that genre as there are some interesting ideas applied but I think it fails overall as a superhero book. Tamaki should look to Terry Moore for how to blend slice of life with drama and action.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

August

July

More