Jeremy Daw's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Weird Science Reviews: 53
7.6Avg. Review Rating

8.2
American Gods: Shadows #3

Jun 3, 2017

This issue delivers much more fantasy than the previous two and is all the better for it. As Shadow gets more and more entangled in Wednesday's plans, the richness of Gaiman's world is becoming clearer. Hampton's art works well here and Simonson's interlude is rather classy. This is entertaining, thought-provoking and, at times, disturbing storytelling. If you don't mind the slow burn, it's well worth your time.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
American Gods: Shadows #4

Jul 4, 2017

This was an impressive issue on a couple of levels. The checkers game is appropriately tense; the meeting between Zorya and Shadow mysterious. The back-up, however, is simply beautiful and transforms the issue from being merely good to being excellent. Highly recommended.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
American Gods: Shadows #5

Jul 22, 2017

The premature ending notwithstanding, this is an extremely enjoyable issue. There's no back up this time round and I'm inclined to say that the book benefits from having a little longer to tell its involving but nevertheless leisurely-paced story. After five issues, Wednesday's plan is becoming somewhat clearer and his world richer, weirder and increasingly unsettling. Expanding on his rather taciturn portrayal in the first couple of issues, Shadow is becoming ever more likable. In short, this story continues to smoulder, but there are promising signs that it's about to catch alight.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.8
Astro City (2013) #46

Aug 16, 2017

It is impossible to deny the very personal nature of this title – and issue – and it's difficult for this comic fan, who can remember picking up Busiek's first ever DC story in Justice League of America 224, to be all that objective about it. For inventiveness, great characterization and a warmth that clearly comes from the creators' genuine love of the genre, it's hard to beat a visit to Astro City and this issue, despite its somewhat overly talky – and inconclusive – ending, is a stylish and enjoyable vehicle to take you there.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.3
Astro City (2013) #47

Sep 7, 2017

Busiek has been writing comics since I was a kid in the 80s and it's clear that, just like me, he loves them. I said earlier that this issue could easily have become quite silly, but Busiek adroitly sidesteps some of the more obvious clichs and instead gives us a story whose central relationship is, despite its fantastical nature, utterly believable and incredibly affecting. Norton's art is clear and conveys both the warmth of that relationship and the dynamism of G-Dog's heroism beautifully. The subject matter might be a little off-putting to some potential readers, but I found the issue an exceptionally satisfying read.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Astro City (2013) #48

Nov 11, 2017

Allow me, then, to raise a metaphorical glass of something red and expensive in honour of Messrs Busiek and Norton. This issue concludes a really rather remarkable story and it's to their credit that, neither maudlin nor melodramatic, it manages to have the power that it does. Recommended for anyone who likes dogs and powerfully written stories about heroic redemption.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.9
Barbarella (2017) #1

Dec 16, 2017

A futuristic fable with clear feminist influences, this issue is considerably more entertaining than I've just made it sound! Yarar's art is expressive and exciting, while Carey's story rattles along at a fair pace, but never confuses. Barbarella has proven herself to be a character worth resurrecting and, if this issue is anything to go by, Dynamite is equal to the task.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Batman/The Shadow #1

Apr 26, 2017

While I like the central idea, it's far too early to tell if this will turn out to be a great story. At this early stage, there's certainly a lot of potential, although I'm not as confident as I'd like to be that the potential will be fulfilled. The mystery around The Shadow's identity and his links with Henri Ducard are enough to make me interested in reading the next issue, but some of the inconsistencies in both art and writing make me unsure whether I'll enjoy it all that much when I do.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.2
Batman/The Shadow #2

May 24, 2017

This series, then, is still not quite the out and out triumph it could be, although there are signs we might get there soon. Rossmo's art is, if anything, more impressive this time round. That final page is gorgeous, for a start, and The Stag is one of the creepier new characters I've seen in quite a while. The plot continues to intrigue and the Batman/Shadow contrast, although not as expertly set up as it could be, is strong enough that this reader is interested in seeing how it plays out. Next issue… well, next issue could be very special. We'll have to see. For now, this is worth a look.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.6
Batman/The Shadow #3

Jul 2, 2017

Whether you enjoy this issue will probably depend on how receptive you are to its rather bold central revelations. The plot is more sharply focused than in previous issues and dialogue is, for the most part, clear and accurate and, in some cases, memorable and emotionally engaging. The addition of The Joker is enough to mix things up in terms of plot and action and The Stag remains an enigmatic, interesting villain. All told, this issue does inject a sense of urgency into the narrative and, although the ‘surrounded by villains' ending might be overkill, the prospect of seeing The Shadow and Batman take them on is appealing. In short, with this issue, this series might just have turned a corner.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.8
Batman/The Shadow #4

Jul 27, 2017

The story is well-paced, well-drawn and, on the whole, well-written. Four issues in, the creative team finally deliver on the implicit promise of the series' title and show us Batman and The Shadow in tandem and the subsequent fight, although not quite an unqualified success, doesn't disappoint. Several questions remain unanswered, which, after four issues, is as it should be. At the heart of the story, however, is an examination of who Batman is, what his values are and what the potential cost of those values might be. This series remains both intriguing and entertaining and there are far worse ways a comic fan might spend four bucks.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.2
Batman/The Shadow #5

Aug 23, 2017

As penultimate issues go, this one isn't bad at all, but neither is it an unalloyed triumph. How much you'll enjoy it depends very much on how easily you can take Batman recovering from his fatal knife wound and how you feel about the issue's central revelation about The Stag. For me, there's enough here to keep me reading and Rossmo's art on occasion taps a wonderfully twisted and gothic vein. The series continues to ask interesting questions about the two main characters. Here's hoping we get some satisfying answers in next month's finale.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.8
Batman/The Shadow #6

Sep 27, 2017

As an ending to the series, this issue (just about) does the job. While you may, like me, find the issue's revelations about the Stag and use of the Joker disappointing, Rossmo's art is creepy and unsettling when needed and there is a fair amount of action to be enjoyed. Perhaps most important of all, though, is the issue's redefining of the relationship between Batman and The Shadow, which points to an intriguing second series later next month. A mostly satisfactory ending to a mostly satisfactory series.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Dastardly And Muttley #1

Sep 8, 2017

How silly do you like your comics? If you're an Ennis fan, this is pretty much exactly what you'd expect from him taking on an already established cartoon property. The first couple of pages aside, the humour here doesn't rely so much on jokes and gags but more on the strength of Ennis' characterisation, particularly that of Dick. He's not just a straight guy for the madness around him; his relationship with Mutt matters and means that, despite the surreal events taking place around him, there's a surprising amount of depth to this issue. If you're prepared to take a relaxed approach to the way the story's set up, there's an awful lot to enjoy here.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.6
Dastardly And Muttley #2

Oct 4, 2017

The central relationship that forms the foundation of this story is strong and entertainingly portrayed. That alone is a reason to pick up this issue. The problems with pacing notwithstanding, there's a lot of fun to be had here. Ennis' script, although a little too verbose at times, is witty and clever; Mauricet's art adds to the humour and his facial expressions are excellent. Overall, then, an enjoyable installment in the series.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Dastardly And Muttley #3

Nov 1, 2017

Although it's amusing and entertaining, the series' main story is still moving just a little too slowly for my tastes. Mauricet's art is a constant delight – stylish and clever without being too ostentatious. Ennis' comic timing is, as ever, perfect and his strongest gags are often his crudest. An enjoyable comic that's well worth a look, despite the occasional moment of narrative deceleration.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Dastardly And Muttley #4

Dec 6, 2017

I have no idea where this is going and that's fine. Ennis continues to tell a tale that threatens to crack under the weight of its absurdity, but is saved from doing so by its writer's skill with both characterisation and plotting. Mauricet's art is fabulous and the whole thing rattles along its own sweet, mischievous way, giving the reader a story that is as enjoyable as it is unpredictable. Well worth a look.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Dastardly And Muttley #5

Jan 4, 2018

All told, this series is ridiculously entertaining – unpredictable, liberally lubricated with lashings of often subversive humor and yet, at the same time, never allowing the characters to become two-dimensional or boring. There's a lot of exposition in this issue, but most of it is fun to read and the sense of a satisfying conclusion just round the corner is positively palpable. A highly enjoyable comic book. (And I'm giving it an extra half a point just for Cthluto the Star-Hound!)

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Eternal Empire #1

May 7, 2017

In introducing both, this issue is a clearsuccess and one that, if dystopian fantasies are your bag, I heartilyrecommend.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.1
Exit Stage Left: The Snagglepuss Chronicles #1

Jan 3, 2018

Some lovely artwork aside, this somewhat ponderous issue plays fast and loose with history and, more relevantly, an interesting character who deserves better than being transformed into an icon of suffering for one's (liberal) art. If you want a genuinely touching portrayal of a gay writer set roughly around this era, read Andre Parks' and Chris Samnee's gorgeous Capote In Kansas. If you want a powerful examination of McCarthyism, go watch The Crucible. If you want something to confirm your liberal political beliefs or indulge your Trump Derangement Syndrome, watch CNN or read the Washington Post. If you want a decent Snagglepuss story, go look for it on YouTube.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Nancy Drew And The Hardy Boys: The Big Lie #2

Apr 8, 2017

The issue as a whole is coherent and well-structured, withthe final few panels of narration unexpectedly referencing those on the openingcouple of pages. And, speaking of narration, del Col's portrayal of Nancy isgood throughout, even if she does come across as just a little smug at times. Tosum up, then, while not exactly mind-blowing, this issue was engaging enough,featuring a well-told character-driven story and some clear artwork. If you'reeven remotely interested in Nancy Drew or the Hardy Boys, it's worth a look.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Planet of the Apes / Green Lantern #2

Apr 16, 2017

That said, there are indications that we're about to veer off into more unfamiliar territory and that alone suggests that the series is worth sticking with.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Planet of the Apes / Green Lantern #3

Apr 25, 2017

That aside, there's a lot to like here and the story is, for the most part, fun which, surely, is what a crossover like this should be all about.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.3
Planet of the Apes / Green Lantern #4

May 27, 2017

Taken on its own, this issue is a little disappointing. While Bagenda's art remains very enjoyable and the story is easy enough to follow, its focus is almost entirely on characters meeting other characters and alliances forming and/or changing as a result. That said, I am looking forward to where we're heading, not least because I want to see what Sinestro's really up to. This meeting of the Planet of the Apes universe and the Green Lantern one remains intriguing and entertaining enough. I'm fully expecting things to pick up next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Planet of the Apes / Green Lantern #5

Jun 27, 2017

As penultimate issues go, this is pretty exciting stuff. With Grodd centre stage (Sinestro will presumably (finally) come to the fore next issue), there's a lot of action and some genuine drama. Bagenda's art continues to be good and, at times, it's very impressive indeed. The odd niggle notwithstanding, this has been a fun series and its finale has been set up very effectively indeed.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Planet of the Apes / Green Lantern #6

Jul 29, 2017

This has been a remarkably entertaining series and this issue is a fitting ending to a story that has not only been, for the most part, coherent, but has also featured enough twists and turns to keep the most jaded (hah!) Green Lantern fan happy. It's not been a monumental series, by any means, but it's been fun and exciting and, for a crossover book like this, I'd say that's job done.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.8
The Divided States of Hysteria #1

Jun 11, 2017

It's far too early to say whether this title will be a success, but the early signs are promising. Chaykin has his sights set firmly on an America that is trying to project itself as a world leader and representative of noble democratic and liberal values while its populace becomes ever more fractured and intolerant of each other. Whatever your political persuasion, this is a book worth reading. Its story is thought-provoking, well-told and, at times, a little disturbing. The book is well worth a look.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.5
The Ruff & Reddy Show #1

Oct 25, 2017

A sudden burst of plot at the end and Mac Rey's delightful art can't really hide the fact that approximately two-thirds of this issue is self-indulgent, obscure and confusing. It's difficult to work out precisely who this comic is for, but it would seem it's not really for me. At times diverting, but never fully engaging, I'm afraid I really can't recommend it.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.3
The Ruff & Reddy Show #2

Nov 22, 2017

Although an improvement on last month, this issue's languorous story means that, despite Rey's fabulous artwork and the odd humorous moment, I can't really recommend it. For a comic based on a cartoon, there's just an awful lot of talking going on here and, despite the arch wit on display, there's simply not enough incident to liven things up.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.2
The Ruff & Reddy Show #3

Dec 27, 2017

While an improvement on previous installments, this issue feels like the story is only now getting going and there's simply not enough of it to make this a memorable or overwhelmingly enjoyable comic. Mac Rey's cartoon cel-inspired artwork continues to captivate and impress, and Chaykin's script delivers some laughs, but this is still a series that seems curiously reluctant to tell a proper story. There are encouraging signs, though, and I hope for better things next time round.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
The Shadow/Batman #1

Oct 9, 2017

Moments of class and excitement occasionally dazzle in this opening issue, but the story is too muddled and the dialogue at times too awkward to make it as entertaining as it could – or should – be. Timpano's art is, on the whole, good. At times it is excellent; at others, merely adequate. There are, to be fair, enough mysteries here to keep this reader interested, but the opaqueness of the writing makes them too often a chore to encounter. Let's hope for better things next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Shadow/Batman #2

Nov 4, 2017

In keeping things relatively straightforward and concentrating on characterisation, Orlando and Timpano have produced an issue that is a huge improvement on the previous one. Building on the relationship between them forged in the previous series, both Batman and The Shadow come across as sympathetic characters here and it is a genuine pleasure seeing them team up at the end. Timpano's art is always good and, at times, is extremely impressive. On the whole, I would say this is well worth a look.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.8
The Shadow/Batman #3

Dec 5, 2017

On the whole, this was a well-told issue that moves the ongoing story forward rather nicely and ends with an extraordinarily bold cliffhanger. Orlando's handling of the series' central pairing is deft and packs a fair emotional wallop, which is amplified by Timpano's art. Tightly-plotted and entertainingly written, this is definitely worth a look.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.9
The Shadow/Batman #4

Jan 2, 2018

Timpani's art is improving quickly and, in some sections here, conveys a fluidity of action that is breath-taking. The plot is stalling, however. The intriguing implications of last issue's revelation that the Silent Seven's criminal empire has been woven into the very fabric of the modern world are here ignored in favor of fights that, deprived of wider context, feel like the book is treading water. Throw in some pointless destruction and mediocre dialogue and you end up with a disappointing installment in an otherwise promising series.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.1
The Spirit: The Corpse-Makers #3

Jun 9, 2017

If you've read my other two reviews of this title, you'll probably know what to expect. I am an unashamed Francavilla fan. I think he's one of the modern masters of the comic art form and his talents are particularly suited to this tale which combines hardboiled mystery and gothic horror in such an interesting way. His pacing is mostly spot on, and his artwork is simply phenomenal. This is incredibly decompressed storytelling and it will not take you very long to read at all. It is, however, a thrilling, involving and thoroughly entertaining experience. Highly recommended.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.8
Vampirella (2017) #2

May 20, 2017

This title continues to intrigue, entertain and disturb in more or less equal measure. The plot is rollicking along nicely and the art is generally very impressive. The pseudo-60s vibe is distinctly British, too. At times the book is extraordinarily reminiscent of Alan Moore-era Captain Britain and there is nothing whatsoever wrong with that. The insertion of a revamped Vampirella into a dystopian future is a great idea and, at the moment, it appears as if Cornell and Broxton are fully prepared to take advantage of the creative opportunities that collision of character and setting provides. In short, this is good stuff. Roll on, issue 3!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Wild Storm #3

Apr 19, 2017

Lately, I've been re-reading Ellis' initial run on StormWatch and, as good as that is, this blows it away. The Wild Storm is engrossingly mature – both in its portrayal of super-powered characters and the moral universe they inhabit. If that at all sounds like it might be your thing – or you have even a passing interest in the fate of characters you may have enjoyed a couple of decades ago – this book is a must-buy. It is effortlessly involving, dramatic, witty and intriguing stuff.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Wild Storm #4

May 17, 2017

Ellis is building a world here. He's weaving a grandnarrative that is not going to be resolved in a few issues' time. This issuecontinues the leisurely pace established in the first two instalments of thisstory. While the background we get here is important and very welcome, the lackof impetus moving forward is an issue. That said, I trust Ellis; if you canhang on, I suspect the eventual payoff will be worth your patience. And, in themeantime, you do get some gorgeous artwork and truly excellent dialogue.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.8
Wild Storm #5

Jun 23, 2017

I still trust Ellis. He continues to write engaging, interesting characters and continues to give us a masterclass in how to introduce a world in a layered, reasonably organic way. While this issue is not an especially ideal jumping on point, it is nevertheless entertaining, well-written and well-paced. And, it should go without saying, exceptionally well-drawn. Its ending suggests that we'll have some action next time. We shall see. For now, this is still recommended reading. It's comic book storytelling of a very high calibre and I'm still very interested to see where it's going.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Wild Storm #6

Jul 22, 2017

The sense of things being ratcheted up several notches is prevalent throughout this issue, and I very strongly suspect that it represents a new phase in the ongoing story. Having intrigued us over the last few issues by showing us the major players in this universe, Ellis is beginning to bring them into conflict more obviously and there's a very palpable sense of growing tension. I remain in awe of Davis-Hunt's artwork, which here manages to be both viscerally kinetic and emotionally subtle without sacrificing any of its clarity. I've been saying for some time that the slow build-up we've had so far will be worth it in the end. This issue is the first indication of just how good that pay-off is going to be.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.8
Wild Storm #7

Sep 20, 2017

I'm beginning to run out of superlatives for both Ellis' scripting and Davis-Hunt's art. Structurally, this issue is pretty much perfect – a stunningly choreographed action sequence sandwiched between two beautifully scripted sections of exposition and character interaction with a tantalizing dash of mystery thrown in at the end for good measure. In turns, witty, exciting, beautiful and intriguing, this as satisfying a comic book experience as one could wish for.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.8
Wild Storm #8

Oct 18, 2017

With mature sophisticated plotting and beautifully detailed – and imaginative – art, this is a gloriously confident book and the surprising way in which its focus has shifted and expanded with this issue has imbued it with renewed freshness and unpredictability. In short, The Wild Storm remains a must-buy title and this is as good an issue as any to jump on board.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.7
Wild Storm #9

Nov 15, 2017

Overall, another classy issue with characters like John Colt receiving some welcome attention, along with Mitch who, if he hasn't already, must surely soon be crowned “comics' most engaging dogsbody”. Davis-Hunt's art is gorgeous, too, and the whole series remains something to savour.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Wild Storm #10

Dec 20, 2017

Consistently excellent and enthralling, this book continues to be a delight. This issue is mostly preparation for what will undoubtedly be an explosive 'mid-season' finale, but the trust engendered by the creative team's deft handling of the story so far means that this reviewer at any rate is happy to wait a while before we get more action. What we do get here is impressive, grown-up comic book storytelling with a laser focus on a grounded, intriguing world and the three-dimensional characters who inhabit it. Quality stuff.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Wild Storm: Michael Cray #1

Oct 11, 2017

All told, this is an excellent first issue – involving, exciting and, perhaps for some at the end of the issue, just a little horrifying. The art is clear and, despite one or two missteps tells the story well, while the issue is paced perfectly, balancing explanation with action-based characterization with considerable skill. In short, this marks an interesting development in the ongoing exploration of the Wild Storm universe and I recommend you check it out.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.9
Wild Storm: Michael Cray #2

Nov 8, 2017

Despite some moments of intrigue and some generally engaging characterization, this issue doesn't quite deliver on the promise of the first. The development of Cray's character continues apace and the expansion of the title's supporting cast is welcome, but the feeling that it has crowded out what should have been a much more satisfying conclusion to the story of the Wild Storm universe's Oliver Queen is, unfortunately, hard to shake.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.2
Wild Storm: Michael Cray #3

Dec 15, 2017

This is a solid issue with some exciting, if uneven, art and some very engaging characterization. Despite some intriguing moments with Cray and the good Doctor Shahi, the sense of deja vu is inescapable, and I hope the creative team initiates a change-up in the format soon.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.5
Wild Storm: Michael Cray #4

Jan 10, 2018

Some good ideas and engaging dialogue notwithstanding, this series continues to fail to deliver fully on its initial intriguing premise. Inconsistent art and the odd issue with pacing mean this issue isn't as enjoyable as it could be, and the series as a whole, even at this early stage, is settling into a formula that is already beginning to feel like it's past its sell-by date. This is reinforced by a final page that is evidently meant to evoke some sort of anticipation in the reader, but left this one at least less than thrilled. A disappointing issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Wonder Woman/Conan #1

Sep 20, 2017

In short, this is a great start to the series. The odd bit of poor writing notwithstanding, this is a thoroughly engaging issue with great characterization that forms the basis of an already intriguing chemistry between our two lead characters. Lopestri and Ryan's artwork is dynamic and entertaining and there are hooks galore in the form of unanswered questions about Diana and an ending that promises plenty of action next time around. Highly recommended.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Wonder Woman/Conan #2

Oct 18, 2017

A somewhat lacklustre follow-up to last issue's more coherent opening installment, this issue is still entertaining enough but drags occasionally and errs on the side of predictability. Lopresti's art remains impressively dynamic and aesthetically excellent (his Diana is genuinely stunning), but that alone isn't quite enough to lift things here.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.1
Wonder Woman/Conan #3

Nov 15, 2017

Accomplished storytelling that makes both title characters three-dimensional, interesting characters and the relationship between them both intriguing and emotionally authentic combines here with invariably excellent artwork to continue a tale that this reviewer at least finds extremely entertaining. After the slight uncertainty of the previous issue, this one is back on track.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.2
Wonder Woman/Conan #4

Dec 21, 2017

In terms of pacing and the development of the overall plot, this issue is a little disappointing. That said, Simone's handling of these characters is assured and warm, and Lopresti's art is dynamic and expressive and generally rather beautiful. Although not particularly advancing the story all that much, this issue does nothing to derail it and there's actually a lot to enjoy here. This series is still recommended and I'm looking forward very much to seeing how it ends.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Wonder Woman/Conan #5

Jan 17, 2018

Simone's writing is generally excellent here and she introduces a couple of genuinely surprising moments that bode well for next month's finale. The art continues to be lively and clear, and the sense of rollicking adventure in the grand pulp style is positively palpable. An excellent slice of comic book excitement. Recommended.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for
the Week of...

January

December

More