Jesse Peterson's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Comic Booked Reviews: 59
8.4Avg. Review Rating

7
Action Comics (2011) #41

Jun 4, 2015

In the end, Action #41 is really about the "simple pleasures". During the "Doomed" storyline, they were pushing the alien side of Superman a bit too hard and now we have the reverse"we explore the human side. Pak's storytelling mixed with Kuders' art and Morey's colors makes for a brilliantly put together read. I was annoyed with lost references and some of the curses leaving the Man of Steel's mouth were bothersome at times, but I really look forward to what happens next.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Action Comics (2011) #42

Jul 5, 2015

I really love the direction this comic is going. It's becoming one of my favorite pulls of the month and I'm worried having Pak writing Hulk again is going to take him away from DC. Here's hoping that he can work for both companies and the readers can get the best of both worlds.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Action Comics (2011) #43

Aug 16, 2015

In the end, the book reads well and progresses the story in a new and fun way, just a little too fast for me. I am enjoying the man of steel being bent a few times, and I'm excited to see how far he can bend.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Action Comics (2011) #44

Sep 15, 2015

This issue is solid as the man of steel himself. The ending could have been stronger, but I loved everything before it. The story is becoming more and more interesting. This is one of the strongest teams I have ever seen on this book since the beginning. It's always worth a buy.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Action Comics (2011) #45

Oct 15, 2015

Action Comics #44 is an awesome start to what seems like a fun story. I always love when this book comes out each month and that love is still continuing. Action Comics is a must read!

View Issue       View Full Review
9
American Vampire: Second Cycle #9

Aug 9, 2015

The case study of America through the eyes of such beasts and legends and how they all intertwine makes even the slower issues worthwhile. Part of me wants to tell you guys to wait until the run is done to read this, because a marathon of this story is a perfect way to read it, but I would also highly recommend experiencing this story now.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Archie (2015) #1

Jul 10, 2015

If anyone is going to reboot a classic series or character, they need to take a look at Archie #1. It is a perfect example of how to make something fresh and exciting, but not losing the essence of why it is so iconic. Give me more is all I ask.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Archie (2015) #2

Aug 23, 2015

If issue #2 is a sign of what's to come, I'm stoked. The story is fun, light, and refreshing. Watching the love triangle form from the beginning is something I've always wanted to see, and it's playing out wonderfully.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Archie (2015) #3

Oct 4, 2015

Archie #3 keeps breaking down new walls. When announced everyone knew this series was going to be a force to be reckoned with, but I don't think we knew how much of a breath of fresh air it would be to Archie. I love every change they put in, and yet they still give it that Archie feel. This book is still a must read.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman (2011) #41

Jun 11, 2015

With easter eggs spread throughout, tight action, and great detective work the only negative I can think of is how badly I want more of this now. Snyder and Capullo are easily the best creative team on The Batman since Loeb and Lee, and I believe they surpass that dynamic duo. This is the definitive Batman run for any fan and it just keeps getting better. I am excited to see where Gordon will take the Batsuit.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Batman (2011) #42

Jul 10, 2015

Batman #42 is a solid issue in this run of Batman, but it doesn't do anything special in my eyes. However,it does keep me wanting to read what happens next. The momentum of the story slows down, but it gives time for a real mystery to build. My curiosity is peaked in this issue, but I hope that the ending doesnt fall flat.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman (2011) #43

Aug 16, 2015

The geek deep inside me cannot give this book enough praise. It hits every note that a long Batman fan wants, with still not robbing us of Batman. This story feels like we have reached the midway point. If that's true, the ride is going to be wild.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman (2011) #44

Sep 15, 2015

The books is a side story. It gives us small pieces to the main story, but not enough to really be related to it. That doesn't matter this time around. This book is perfect. The story is solid and well rounded. It hits every note right on the head and introduces some more that I never expected. The art for this book is different, but this was a different story that Snyder hadn't really told in Batman yet, so it worked. Even if you don't normally pick up Batman, just get this one. Read it.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman (2011) #45

Oct 15, 2015

Batman #45 is a powerhouse issue. With each issue getting bigger and badder, can they keep the momentum? Superheavy might be at its halfway point and this is where Batman stories tend to waver, but if it keeps going strong and hitting hard, it can be one of the best Batman stories in the New 52.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman And Robin Eternal #1

Oct 13, 2015

I'm already hooked by this story. I seriously want to know where this goes, and I love the twists and turns that have already taken place. Batman & Robin Eternal could be the next epic we have all been looking for.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Batman And Robin Eternal #2

Oct 16, 2015

For a second issue, Batman & Robin Eternal #2 packs a punch. It keeps the reader on the wild ride of the first issue and it honestly feels like the climb before the roller coaster drops.  I only wonder how many loops this ride will have.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Batman And Robin Eternal #3

Oct 28, 2015

Issue three of Batman & Robin Eternal is good, not as good as last issues, but still really good. I expect this book to have many highs, but there will be lows. All I can hope for is that the lows stay few.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Batman And Robin Eternal #4

Nov 2, 2015

Batman & Robin Eternal #4 is another fun issue, but the mystery doesn't go anywhere. It just keeps getting thicker. I can't wait to see where we end up in the end.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Black Canary (2015) #1

Jun 21, 2015

I feel like this book would flow better with the old BlackCanary at the helm. Maybe in a few issues we will get her back, but I am not sure I can hold on that long.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Chrononauts #4

Jun 13, 2015

As a fan, I wish I could go into more detail about the story and how it all unfolds, but this is something you just need to experience. I really hope Millar doesn't end the story here. Here is for hoping for Chrononauts 2.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Chrononauts #4

Jun 13, 2015

As a fan, I wish I could go into more detail about the story and how it all unfolds, but this is something you just need to experience. I really hope Millar doesn't end the story here. Here is for hoping for Chrononauts 2.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Daredevil (2014) #16

Jun 28, 2015

This run on Daredevil doesn't hold anything back. Everyone is at risk and the twists abound. This is what a man without fear should face. Something to be scared of. Please, Waid and Samnee, give us more.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Daredevil (2014) #17

Jul 30, 2015

I reallywish they would put all the issues out at once, because waiting for issue 18 is going to be torture. I want to know what comes next. I want to know who makes it. I just want to keep reading.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Daredevil (2014) #18

Sep 7, 2015

So thank you Mark Waid. Thank you Chris Samnee. Thank you Matthew Wilson and thank you to the rest of the creative team. I have loved every page of this run, and I will continue to go back and reread it. Whoever is on Daredevil next has big shoes to fill.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Detective Comics (2011) #41

Jun 13, 2015

In the end it was a good start and I still have high hopes for a great story arc. I miss Manapul's art, but it doesn't take too much away from the story. I hope by next issue they find their voice and straighten out some of the dialog, but they did hook me with a good mystery.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Detective Comics (2011) #42

Jul 5, 2015

In the end this comic book is good. It is worth reading and,if it's Francis Manapul's last story on Detective Comics, it's a great one to go out on. I'm still intrigued to see where it goes and man, does the action keep me going!

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Detective Comics (2011) #43

Aug 8, 2015

This book is far from perfect, but it's far from bad. It's had ups and downs, but knowing its true potential is part of the problem. If you have been reading Detective Comics for a while now, this story just seems like a let down. I want more from the book, but I enjoy what I have.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Drive #1

Sep 1, 2015

Even though it's only four issues, Drive already feels like a wild ride.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Flash (2011) #41

Jun 28, 2015

I've seen this team do much better. I know they have the talentto bring us a great story, and I will keep reading in support for one of my favorite heroes. I hope the next issue packsspeed force, andwill blowmy expectations.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Flash (2011) #42

Jul 25, 2015

In the end the issue is okay. It doesn't do anything special. They have great ideas that border on great and mind blowing, but when I finished reading the issue I felt gross. I felt like I wasn't reading a real Flash comic. It felt like a Elseworld. Hopefully the next issue delivers.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Grayson #9

Jun 27, 2015

Grayson is still one of the best new books DC has put out in a while. When first announced, I scoffed, but now it's one of my favorite reads of the month. It's book that doesn't have to stand on the shoulders of other Batman comics.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Grayson #10

Jul 26, 2015

In the end the series as a whole keeps surprising me. I never thought the idea of Dick Grayson as a spy could be so well executed. One day I hope he dons the mask again, but I am all onboard the spy team. Let the mystery train keep rolling.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Hacktivist Vol. 2 #1

Aug 1, 2015

Out of all the independent or not well known books I've read, Hacktivist really surprised me. It's gripping, it's real, and it does it all without compromising itself like other books do. I rather read this than watch Halt and Catch Fire or Scorpion.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Hacktivist Vol. 2 #2

Sep 1, 2015

As the book progresses it keeps going down a very gray tunnel. The ideas presented are neither all good or all bad. They are so well mixed, it leaves it up to the readers to decide which is which. If you want to fill the void 24 left in your life, let Hacktivist take its spot.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Hacktivist Vol. 2 #3

Sep 30, 2015

So far this issue is the best one yet. Every part is perfect. Art, story, pacing, it is so good! Hacktivist is a book that should be recognized. I can sense a TV series or a movie coming from this. A work of art in some ways. I really can't give this book enough credit.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Hacktivist Vol. 2 #4

Oct 30, 2015

Hacktivist Vol 2 #4 is solid as each issue before. With only two issues left, there is still a long way to go. If you haven't picked it up yet, go back and pick each issue up. Don't wait for the trade. You need this book in your hands now!

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Invincible #121

Jul 19, 2015

Invincible reboot is coming? Bring it on. This comic has always felt the freshest out of my pull list. The idea that it could become stale worries me. So bring it on Kirkman. Make me yell at my comic book again.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Invincible #122

Aug 23, 2015

In the end, the issue's only problem is that it doesn't do anything but serve as a bridge to the next issue. That's what the last few issues have felt like, but this one stood out. I want more; fortunately, I can see more on the horizon.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Invincible #123

Sep 21, 2015

In the end, issue 123 is solid as a rock. The ending is a nice twist, but one we have seen before. Will it pay off? I really hope so! If it does, it would all be worth it. Invincible Reboot is here, hold onto your butts!

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Invincible #124

Oct 29, 2015

Invincible #124 is a great issue. As fans waited for this Reboot? story line since it was announced, and I think they will be pretty satisfied with this issue. Kirkman has again brought me to the edge of my seat.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Jughead (2015) #1

Oct 11, 2015

Reading Archie then reading Jughead, the Archie universe is really coming together. Mark Waid has used the main book as the serious side, and that's okay, because we have Zdarsky's book. Which makes every character silly and goofy. By reading both series together, they feel like one complete universe. This is a must buy.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Justice League #41

Jun 5, 2015

After I finished every page, I went back to the top and reread it again. The action bouncing around between three different fights left me breathless and wondering if I still had my head on straight. Johns' seems to always know how to craft a deep and massive story. He goes to the roots of the comics and pulls out details I would never think of. While reading this, I did miss the Johns/Lee team of old, but Fabok's art was the right kind of grit and realism the battles needed. By the end of part one of "The Darkseid War", I have more questions than answers. I crave for more big battles with our heroes in real danger. Can it just be July already so part two is in my hands?

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Justice League #42

Jul 19, 2015

If you're looking for answers in this issue, pass it up, but if you want to experience the best Justice League movie we could ask for, pick this bad boy up. It'sepic. It's building to something big and something game changing.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Justice League #43

Aug 23, 2015

When I finished the last few pages and read the crazy new cliffhanger, I didn't feel full. I wanted more. I can't wait for the next issue, because this appetizer did what it needed to do, make me crave the main course.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Justice League #44

Oct 5, 2015

DC says at the end of the book "DC COMICS PROUDLY PRESENTS", and they should be proud about this. They are telling a crazy story and at every turn it seems to be paying off. I hope the ending is satisfying, but the ride there is enough to fill my nerd stomach.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Justice League #45

Oct 27, 2015

The biggest flaw in the whole book is the same flaw since the beginning of the arc. Where does this take place?!Does this story even matter or is it just a fun romp out of continuity/cannon. That one detail is the only big hindrance against the book. For being a fan of the DCU and the Justice League, this book is a must buy.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Justice League of America (2015) #1

Jun 21, 2015

Nothing blew my mind with this issue #1. The cliffhanger interested me, but it did not excite me. The story was a fresh rehash. The villain of the issue seemed out of place and a bit overpowered. Overall, this had a nice throwback tone to the JLA of old going for it, but that was pretty much it.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Justice League of America (2015) #2

Jul 10, 2015

I really want this comic to be brilliant, because I know Bryan Hitch's other work is great. He just seems over extended in this series and it is quickly falling from my pull list. I'll keep reading for now, but something's gotta change.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Justice League: Darkseid War: Batman #1

Nov 1, 2015

This is a solid tie in worth the read, but you can also pass over it. If you're a huge Batman fan, I recommend it. It explores Batman's mindset when it's set to its very extreme. I still want to know if any of theses stories really matter in the long run, but they are fun so far.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Moon Knight (2014) #16

Jun 20, 2015

You can feel the storylinebuilding up to something grand and life altering for our hero. That gets me excited. I like an author who cantease me, give me just enough and balance it perfectly. Let us nibble at the carrot,get a taste, and leftknowing more is yet to come.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Moon Knight (2014) #17

Jul 20, 2015

Again if this is the road to the end of Moon Knight, we are speeding down there fast. I don't want this comic to end. I don't want another reboot, I just want to stay on this ride forever.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Superman (2011) #41

Jun 27, 2015

If you pulled issue #41 out and just read it in a vacuum, it's a fine issue. Butread it andeverything surrounding it, andthe reader feels betrayed. I didn't learn anything in this issue. I wasn't shown how Clark's identity came out. I wasjustlet down. I hope that the next issue gives me some satisfaction

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Superman (2011) #42

Jul 31, 2015

The problem with the Superman books is that you have to read them out order if you are reading them at release. This ends up with us the readers totally lost and confused. Once this problem is fixed, these stories will spring forth new life.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Superman (2011) #43

Sep 2, 2015

I really enjoyed Superman #4; the ending felt a bit goofy, but it served its purpose. There is still that big question hanging over my head, and probably the writer's: How does Superman recover from this? I don't see this story lasting forever, and he sure isn't staying weak for long. That's the part of the story I really want to read about.

View Issue       View Full Review
4
Superman (2011) #44

Oct 14, 2015

Honestly I'm extremely disappointed with this issue. Superman has been so good up until the last few issues, and Superman #44 feels like they are scraping the bottom of the barrel. Just skip it.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Superman (2011) #45

Nov 3, 2015

So far this storyline has been riddled with confusing dialog and plot. Mixed with uneven villains and character motives, I really don't like this issue. Superman used to be my favorite pull of the month just a few issues ago. Right now, I'm ready to drop Iit.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Titans Hunt #1

Oct 28, 2015

Overall this is a decent, solid first issue. The characters are how I hopped they are. The mystery really grabs you, but that this issue seems to be missing something. I can't quite put my finger on it, but I will keep reading.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Tokyo Ghost #1

Sep 20, 2015

For a debut issue, the books hits it off with a bang! Remender & Murphy are a brilliant team that are a match made in heaven. This could easily become one of my new favorite Image book. Absolutely worth the read for any fan of sci-fi.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Tokyo Ghost #1

Sep 20, 2015

For a debut issue, the books hits it off with a bang! Remender & Murphy are a brilliant team that are a match made in heaven. This could easily become one of my new favorite Image book. Absolutely worth the read for any fan of sci-fi.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

December

November

More