Joe David Soliz's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Wildstorm Addiction, The Comic Addiction Reviews: 159
7.6Avg. Review Rating

9.0
DV8: Gods and Monsters #1

Apr 23, 2010

This comic is off to an incredible start. It has all the markings of a great first issue. From interviews with Wood, it's obvious this is something he's let simmer in his mind for a long time. Just from this issue alone, you can tell this is a well thought out story that takes a group of characters Wood has stated he's very fond of, and puts them in a situation that will provide for an in-depth exploration of the characters. I can tell it's going to be quite a thought-provoking ride theyre going to take us on and I'm ready for the next stop!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
DV8: Gods and Monsters #1

Apr 23, 2010

This comic is off to an incredible start. It has all the markings of a great first issue. From interviews with Wood, it's obvious this is something he's let simmer in his mind for a long time. Just from this issue alone, you can tell this is a well thought out story that takes a group of characters Wood has stated he's very fond of, and puts them in a situation that will provide for an in-depth exploration of the characters. I can tell it's going to be quite a thought-provoking ride they’re going to take us on and I'm ready for the next stop!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
DV8: Gods and Monsters #2

May 20, 2010

The issue was not as exciting as the previous but it moved the story along which seems was its purpose. Wood is obviously taking us through a certain series of events that must play out before we get to some all out action. Its a build-up that Im willing to wait patiently for to see the pay off.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
DV8: Gods and Monsters #2

May 20, 2010

The issue was not as exciting as the previous but it moved the story along which seems was its purpose. Wood is obviously taking us through a certain series of events that must play out before we get to some all out action. Its a build-up that Im willing to wait patiently for to see the pay off.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
DV8: Gods and Monsters #3

Jun 17, 2010

Overall, a good issue but I know something bigger is coming. I have a feeling that each of our little stops with each character will build to something really cool here when all is said and done.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
DV8: Gods and Monsters #4

Jul 19, 2010

Were half-way through this mini-series and it has been a solid read so far. Wood and Isaacs continue to give us an engaging story. Each month they prove why they were the perfect creative team for this book.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
DV8: Gods and Monsters #5

Aug 18, 2010

Overall, I like the structure of this story but Im starting to get the feeling that we might have benefited from a few more issues to this series. Obviously I wont know for sure until its over but so far, we are definitely focusing on Freestyle next issue (based on the cover image). So regardless, Im just happy that weve got these characters up on the stands again and that there are taking part in a great story.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
DV8: Gods and Monsters #6

Sep 16, 2010

Just two issues left and I love where this series is going. I have never enjoyed these characters as much as I have during this mini-series. Im so glad Wildstorm finally let Wood do this story and Im excited to see what happens next.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
DV8: Gods and Monsters #7

Oct 24, 2010

Just one issue left of this incredible series! You guys out there can trade-wait if you want but youve been missing a great ride. Plus Ill know how it ends before all of you! So if you dont want to get left behind, go out and catch up now before next months issue 8!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Garrison #1

Apr 29, 2010

Francesco Francavillas art is good. He obviously knows how to structure a story with his panels and they flow like scenes from a movie. Overall, its a decent issue. Im intrigued, but Im not hooked yet.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Garrison #2

May 26, 2010

We also get a little more info regarding Garrison’s mysterious origins. Apparently, he’s a little fuzzy on his origins as well. It’s a good mystery that really takes an interesting turn with the cliffhanger to the issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Garrison #2

May 26, 2010

Im going to hold back on upping my rating from issue one only because I get the sense were going somewhere very cool next issue. But it is a strong 7. Id go 7.5 if I could. Im really curious to see what happens next.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Garrison #3

Jun 24, 2010

Garrison so far is following the path of a summer popcorn flick. Theres not much I have to figure out with this story. I just get to sit back and enjoy all the action. For now, thats ok.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Garrison #4

Jul 30, 2010

I think when all is said and done this may read better as a whole. Theres still a mystery behind the title character that has yet to be solved. I was hoping for at least a little more revelation in this issue. But like I said, I think Francavillas art is really whats got me enjoying a book that would normally leave me wanting for more story. So far its been a fun little romp that hasnt required much thinking on my part. I know one thing for sure. If these last 4 issues are any indication, weve still got 2 more action-packed issues before this mini-series is done.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Garrison #5

Aug 26, 2010

I am still enjoying this comic but I was kind of hoping theyd try something new with the story. I anticipate next issue well get at least one more good fight and probably a happy ending but regardless Im still interested enough to see how it all ends. I just wish Mariotte had taken more chances with this story.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Garrison #6

Sep 24, 2010

With the shutdown of the Wildstorm Imprint, Garrison will be one of the last creator-owned titles Wildstorm ever prints. With such an event, I just wish we wouldve gotten a better story. But at least weve still got two more creator-owned titles that are wrapping up under Wildstorms imprint that I am thoroughly enjoying.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Gen13 #34

Feb 13, 2010

Overall, this was a huge improvement from the last issue! I liked the story and how it tied in with the events of the other Worlds End books without necessarily having to read the others (but why wouldnt you?). Next issue Phil Hester comes onboard as regular writer and I look forward to his take on Wildstorms teen-team.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Gen13 #35

Apr 14, 2010

Overall, a really good first issue for Hester. I’m still frustrated that this is bi-monthly. I hope this creative team will bring some readers in so we can get this back on a monthly schedule. If you’ve been curious about Gen 13, give this issue a try.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Gen13 #35

Apr 14, 2010

Overall, a really good first issue for Hester. Im still frustrated that this is bi-monthly. I hope this creative team will bring some readers in so we can get this back on a monthly schedule. If youve been curious about Gen 13, give this issue a try.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Gen13 #36

Jun 11, 2010

I still liked the issue but not as much as Hesters debut issue. But its ok because I like what was setup here and I look forward to seeing where he takes us next.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Gen13 #37

Aug 11, 2010

This Gen 13 run is the most unique Ive seen it in a while. Hester does well to make sure we dont know where hes taking the team next and has done well to bring life to some of these characters which are still relatively new. The cliffhanger just leaves me wishing it were October already.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Gen13 #38

Oct 23, 2010

Hester has done a great job with this story. It makes me wish he couldve worked his magic at reviving the Wildstorm Universe like hes done over in Top Cow. But Im glad he at least got to play in the Wildstorm sandbox before its done. I eagerly anticipate the Soul-Searing Climax as Hester states in the cliffhanger.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Grifter #0

Sep 12, 2012

Well, issue 12 was epic, this issue was perplexing but interesting, so I'm seeing a positive trend with this title now. Plus, we get Voodoo joining the title next month so it'll be cool to see two former Wildcats team members interacting again. Things are looking up for Grifter!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Grifter #1

Sep 15, 2011

I couldnt be happier with this first issue. Those who know me would say that Im biased because of who the character is and knowing how much I love this character. Only the opposite can be true for me because in loving this character so much, I dont like when I feel writers get it wrong with him (and it has happened in the past). Im happy to say that I think the combination of Edmondson writing and CAFU drawing has put out one of the best books of the New 52 so far.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Grifter #2

Oct 13, 2011

Overall, a good issue, but I didnt think it was a great issue. It seems to be setting up a lot so Im really anticipating the payoff here. But ultimately, isnt that what a good creative wants is to make you want to come back and read more?

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Grifter #3

Nov 10, 2011

I am still enjoying the series, but I am hungry for more. I know Grifter can kick-ass and I hope we get plenty of that next issue. The solicit for #4 shows us that hes going to face Green Arrow next. I understand crossovers are good because it allows readers to crossover but I want more time with Grifter too!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Grifter #4

Dec 15, 2011

Overall, an excellent issue that I didnt mind was as fast-paced as what weve gotten so far. I look forward to this new team of Edmondson and Clark giving us a high-octane action title which is exactly what a Grifter comic should entail.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Grifter #5

Jan 12, 2012

For those who thought the first few issues of Grifter were a little slow, give these last two a try. For one thing, you will get a lot more action and get a deeper view of what the Daemonites are up to. The solicits show that Edmondson and Clark should be working together on the title for the next few months. I anticipate the issues can only get better from here.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Grifter #6

Feb 11, 2012

Im still very much enjoying this title but I wouldve been disappointed if Edmondson had taken the easy way out of this story. Im glad he chose a different route and its makes next months issue that much more anticipated. Because the solicits show us its Grifter vs. Midnighter! I cant wait!

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Grifter #7

Mar 15, 2012

I am still enjoying the Grifter title, but Im actually ready for something new with the character. Edmondson does leave us on a couple of interesting notes as Grifter comes up with a new plan to stop the Daemonites which sounded interesting. However, with Edmondson only having one issue left Im not if its an idea that will carry over into Leifelds upcoming run. I will end with one great thing about the issue (and this is not a spoiler since its on the cover of the next two Superman issues). We get to see Clarks rendition of Helspont and his arrival in the DCU! Its a nice lead in to Superman #7 and I cant wait to pick it up!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Grifter #8

Apr 13, 2012

The Grifter title started really well for me, dropped significantly into too much action and not enough story, but then made a decent rally here at the end of Edmondson's run. I know Edmondson had planned to be on Grifter longer and I think I can see the frustration in his writing when he realized he wasn't going past this issue. I took this last issue as a “what could have been” issue of sorts. This felt like more of an amalgamation of the first couple of issues but with a decent amount of action as compared to the action-heavy issues we'd been getting. But next month, we've got Scott Clark back on as artist with Liefeld plotting and Frank Tieri assisting with story duties too. We'll see where the new team takes Grifter from here. Hopefully, most of fans will too.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Grifter #9

May 10, 2012

This title was already on life-support and it really needs something unique to get people to try it. It's frustrating as a fan because I love this character so much but it's so hard to get people to read a book I myself am starting not to enjoy. But I am loyal and I will follow Grifter to the bitter end but I hope Leifeld and Tieri have something big up their sleeves because this title needs serious help.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Grifter #10

Jun 14, 2012

I am worried a little about the next issue because I'm not impressed by the design of the new villain they're set to fight. But I'll reserve judgment for that until next month. It's still by no means perfect, but I'm not as exasperated with this title as I was last month. Above all else, I'm glad Grifter survived the cut of the 3rd wave of the New 52. I hope this creative team takes this opportunity to take some chances on the title and really garner some attention to it.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Grifter #11

Jul 11, 2012

Next issue is set to be interesting as we have another appearance by Helspont promised in the solicits. Like I've said before, I support this title even if I don't agree with everything that's being done in it. I just want this character to be successful in the New 52 and between this title and the upcoming Team 7 title, I'm glad he's getting a lot of exposure.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Grifter #12

Aug 8, 2012

I hope this issue is an indication of things to come. If this is a sign that Liefeld and Tieri have gotten their grove with the title, then it was worth sifting through those early issues. I also like that the end of issue has ties to other DC books (won't spoil which one) which continues to show the inter-connectedness of the New 52. For the first time in months, I look forward to the next issue of Grifter!

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Grifter #13

Oct 10, 2012

I have to say I didn't enjoy the issue as much as #12 and #0 but I think it's better with Liefeld gone. Tieri informed me on Twitter that issue 15 he did solo so I really look forward to seeing what he does without Liefeld's influence still lingering. I know this title is in danger of being cancelled so if that's true, let's hope these last few issues take us out with a bang!

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Grifter #14

Nov 15, 2012

While it is sad that the title will end soon, it's probably for the best since it's had so many missteps. Hopefully people will still be interested in Grifter over in Team 7 and eventually that'll lead to a Wildcats title (here's to hoping!)

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Grifter #15

Dec 12, 2012

I'm actually excited to see how Tieri ties is all up. I learned recently that #15 was originally going to be the last issue. But thankfully, someone in DC's offices had mercy and allowed next month's issue to give the title a proper ending. For the first time in months, I'm excited for the next issue of Grifter, even if it's the last.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Grifter #16

Jan 16, 2013

Overall, definitely more frustrated about this cancellation than I was with Voodoo. Grifter has been and will always be a cool character (as well as my favorite, next to Batman). But as with any other character, if he's not done right, he cannot have success as a comic. Grifter's in the hands of Justin Jordan now over in Team 7. Here's to hoping he'll get better treatment there.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Ides of Blood #1

Aug 19, 2010

Overall, a great first issue! Paul did a good job of getting us into this world, setting up the characters, and dropping enough clues to begin the mystery in the story. Im so glad this mini-series is starting off strong. Ever since seeing the preview for it I have eagerly anticipated this series. So far, so good. Im ready to read more!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Ides of Blood #2

Sep 16, 2010

Im afraid this comic is going to fall under the radar for most people. I know money is tight for a lot of people but if youve got that one title youve wanted to drop, do it and add Ides of Blood to your pull. Its only 6 issues and with what weve gotten so far, I anticipate that it will be a solid read all the way through. Give it a try if youve been on the fence about it. Its worth the read!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Ides of Blood #3

Oct 24, 2010

Even though the news of Wildstorm shutting down is sad, its great to see such a superb comic being one of the last to be printed under the imprint. Both Stuart Paul and Christian Duce are going to be sought after creators from here on out. And for those of you who are not checking out Ides of Blood now, you will be when these two guys make names for themselves. Mark my words!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Ides of Blood #5

Dec 22, 2010

But Paul doesnt let up even on the last page where we end on a very interesting cliffhanger as well. This one will leave you scratching your head until next issue. Without a doubt, this is the most under-rated title on the stands right now. I so hope this gets traded so more people can experience its awesomeness.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Incorruptible #6

May 26, 2010

One thing that adds tension to this series is the ever-looming threat of The Plutonian (from Irredeemable) showing up and confronting Max. It’s a confrontation that is inevitable but at this point it’s a matter of when and also of whether or not Max can even handle The Plutonian.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Irredeemable #14

Jun 3, 2010

The series has had a few different artists, but overall I’ve found the art to be consistently good each issue. In this issue, Barreto’s art is not only good, he also does a great job with the panel layouts which convey a steady flow of the story.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Sparta U.S.A. #1

Mar 18, 2010

But then Lapham not only let’s us know that something is desperately wrong in Sparta, but also that something is very weird. First off, we’ve got two characters that have red and blue skin, the main character being one. Then we have the citizens of Sparta who are shown doing terrible things to each other for their own personal gain. And finally despite all the weirdness, things in Sparta are almost literally not what everyone perceives them to be.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Sparta U.S.A. #1

Mar 18, 2010

At this point, I have no idea where this is going to go next and thats a great feeling to have as a comic reader. While I was not blown away by the issue, Lapham has laid out enough odd cards on his table that Im curious to see where this goes next.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Sparta U.S.A. #2

Apr 10, 2010

Were only two issues in but Id imagine that even when all is said and done, this story will require a second reading to really get all that is being set up here. One thing I will say thats unique about this is taking supernatural story elements and mixing them up with the mundane. This mix makes for interesting scenes like the cliffhanger of this issue. This cliffhanger couldve easily been the end of a sitcom or a soap opera. But with all the supernatural elements present, it puts a whole new spin on this situation. Keep leading the way Mr. Lapham, because I have no idea where in the world youre taking us. But, thats ok.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Sparta U.S.A. #2

Apr 10, 2010

Writer David Lapham, while leaving me scratching my head most of the time, has crafted a story that seems to feed off our need to know what’s going to happen next. Because even though there is a natural progression of events that happen when dealing with an oppressive force, again it’s this odd little world in which it’s all taking place that doesn’t allow you to predict what’s coming with absolute certainty.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Sparta U.S.A. #3

May 7, 2010

The one constant about this book is its ability to keep us in uncertainty. This was fine for the first two issues but like I said, its starting to wear on me. On the flip side, Johnny Timmons art is growing on me. Im starting appreciate all the detail he puts into it and there are some really cool scenes involving Yetis (yes, you read right) that I thought were the hi-light of the issue. Well, that and the harem of women mowing down an invading force on Godfreys front lawn (again, yes, you read right). Have I ever mentioned this book is weird?

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Sparta U.S.A. #4

Jun 2, 2010

Theres a subplot about Ralphies sister wanting a baby that Im not sure how it fits into the grand scheme of things yet. Im also a little disappointed that while its been established magic is part of this world, weve seen very little use of it. This title may be appealing to some but Ive given it more than a fair shot and I can honestly say it doesnt appeal to me.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Sparta U.S.A. #5

Jul 9, 2010

Well, just one more issue and well see where this all ends.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Sparta U.S.A. #6

Aug 5, 2010

So, what are my overall thoughts on this series? Id say it was just okay. All the awesome stuff at the end is not enough to justify getting through those early issues. Even if you read this in trade youd realize that the story drags in the middle. But the plus side to having the entire story in your hands is that you can flip to the end and see all the great stuff that happens. Lapham does leave it open for a sequel though. Id hope now that the towns portion of this story seems to be done that Lapham will take the strengths of these last few issues and do something really good with it in a future series.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Stormwatch (2011) #0

Sep 5, 2012

The first outing for Zero Month for me was a hit! The issue delivered as promised. It showed us the hidden history of Stormwatch, it showed their connection to Demon Knights, and threw in more Wildstorm concepts just for good measure. I hope there is a round of fans who are picking up all the zero issues as a good jumping on point. If nothing else, I hope the story will intrigue them enough to want to back track and find out more.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Stormwatch (2011) #1

Sep 8, 2011

Overall, it was a solid first issue. It did a great job of not only setting up the characters, but also several plot points that are interesting to say the least. It definitely has a different feel to it than the other DC books. It felt more like a Wildstorm book to me than a DC book. I hope that works in its favor because I know there are people out there who miss the likes of book like The Authority or Planetary. I can safely say this comic is done in the spirit of those books.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Stormwatch (2011) #2

Oct 6, 2011

I enjoyed the issue but I am really curious to see what happens next.I cant necessarily say that its written for trade.I think its more that Cornell is just doing his best to fit this epic opening story in the pages allotted to him.I am really enjoying this new incarnation of Stormwatch!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Stormwatch (2011) #3

Nov 3, 2011

Overall, this was a spectacular issue. I think Stormwatch is proving without a doubt that they have a very significant place in the DCU. Cornell is delivering on all aspects with this title and its obvious him and Sepulveda are collaborating well. If you're still hesitant about this title, I hope this issue sells if for you.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Stormwatch (2011) #4

Dec 8, 2011

Im enjoying this comic but because its over so fast its been difficult to write spoiler-free reviews. This was just a short 4 part story and the news recently broke that Paul Cornell is leaving after issue 6. Its sad to see that so many of the writers that launched these New DCU 52 titles are leaving so soon. I was hoping for at least a years worth of stories but you never know what goes on behind closed doors. But I am looking forward to more adventures of this Stormwatch team in the DCU.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Stormwatch (2011) #5

Jan 5, 2012

I am bummed that next issue will be Cornells last but he is going to be followed up by good company as Paul Jenkins takes over with issue 7. But with the way Cornell ended this issue, Jenkins should be happy if theres even a team left to write about when the dust settles!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Stormwatch (2011) #6

Feb 2, 2012

Finally, I love that Cornell left some things unresolved so the next creative teams could handle them. Cornell set up so much that it would've felt rushed to try and wrap it all up here. It was recently announced that Peter Milligan will be taking over with #9 after Paul Jenkin's two-issue run on 7 and 8. So it'll be interesting to see how the three writers bridge everything together. I'm still enjoying this title a lot and I'm eagerly anticipating where we will go next with this team.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Stormwatch (2011) #7

Mar 8, 2012

I wasn't sure what Jenkins was going to do with only two issues but so far with just this one he has crafted a great story! It's sad that he's only going to get two issues but if next issue is anywhere close to this, it's going to be some great stuff!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Stormwatch (2011) #8

Apr 5, 2012

I can't stress enough how much I enjoyed Paul Jenkins on this title. I know he's moving on to other things but I hope the sales on these issues are strong enough that when Peter Milligan finishes his upcoming run, Jenkins will be the first on their list. He made sure that this title continues to be one of the fresher and more original titles in the New 52 and I hope people are starting to drop other books will give this a try if they haven't already.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Stormwatch (2011) #9

May 3, 2012

Milligan is off to a strong start in a story that seems deceivingly self-contained. I feel he's setting up some great stuff here and I for one am hooked with this new writer. Stormwatch continues to be one of the stronger titles of the New 52.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Stormwatch (2011) #10

Jun 7, 2012

This is still my favorite of the Wildstorm titles but this was definitely one of the weakest issues so far. But I do like what I'm seeing set up here and Milligan's already proven to me he can do a great story. I'd encourage you to read Stormwatch #9 from last month and Red Lanterns #10 to see what I mean. (all I got say about RL #10, Midnighter punches a cat!)

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Stormwatch (2011) #11

Jul 4, 2012

I'm really excited for this new direction for the book. So far Stormwatch has had some interesting adversaries but they've been taken care of pretty quickly. I'm glad to see villains here who are meant to last more than one issue. I'm looking forward to what those evil Neanderthals have planned next (I can't believe I just typed that sentence).

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Stormwatch (2011) #12

Aug 1, 2012

This is one of those comics that reminds me why I love this industry so much. The high-concepts, the great characters, the “special effects” that would cost a fortune to do in the real world. It's issues like this that make me glad I'm a comic fan and after next month's zero issue, I eagerly anticipate where Milligan and company take us next.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Stormwatch (2011) #13

Oct 4, 2012

Even though I felt this is the weakest issue of Stormwatch that we've gotten in a while, I can understand why. Peter Milligan has done well to carry this title forward. We've gotten six really good issues from him (and that awesome Red Lanterns #10 which was basically Stormwatch #9.5). So I can't complain too much about an issue that allows us to step back and reset for a new story. This is still my favorite book each month and I'm curious to see how the team with deal with Etrigan.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Stormwatch (2011) #14

Nov 7, 2012

With the cancellations of Voodoo and Grifter, Stormwatch is the last of the Wildstorm titles from the original New 52 launch. I'm hoping that it picks up because it would be sad to have all the Wildstorm launch titles gone. Here's to hoping people give it a try (especially with the next trade coming out soon).

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Stormwatch (2011) #15

Dec 6, 2012

The creative team is really shaking up this title. The solicits show that things are going to get worse for the team. What's really going to be interesting is to see where the team stands when the dust settles. Since the zero issue, I feel like this title has gotten new life. I hope others are realizing that as well and jumping on board.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Stormwatch (2011) #16

Jan 9, 2013

Stormwatch is still a solid title and I'm hoping for the best, but I can't help but worry with the declining monthly sales. I can easily see how this book could morph into The Authority title just like it did in the old Wildstorm Universe, but I'm not sure if that's what DC intends to do. Regardless, I hope they keep these characters going because with the Voodoo and Grifter titles gone, it's the only original New 52 launch title pulled from Wildstorm that's left. Here's to hoping!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Stormwatch (2011) #17

Feb 6, 2013

This issue made me feel better about the Stormwatch title again. We have since learned that Jim Starlin will be taking over with issue #19 so I hope he can bring on some new readers to the title. In the meantime, I hope Milligan and Conrad's run ends on a high note next month.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Stormwatch (2011) #18

Mar 6, 2013

Overall, it was a decent ending to the run. The book really did become the Midnighter and Apollo show which is not necessarily a good thing, because it's supposed to be a team book. Don't get me wrong, I love the characters, but if you want to focus on them this much, give them their own book. Unfortunately, based on what upcoming writer Jim Starlin has indicated, none of this may matter after next month's story begins. But I guess we'll have to wait and see what that entails.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Stormwatch (2011) #19

Apr 3, 2013

I'm so happy this new run is off to a great start. I cannot emphasize enough if you were frustrated where Stormwatch was going before, jump on this issue and give it a try. I feel this is Stormwatch's Hail Mary play. If this book is going to survive it's needs support. Thankfully, in this case I can say that the support is well deserved.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Stormwatch (2011) #20

May 14, 2013

I'm hoping the title gets back on track next month because I'd hate to see the last Wildstorm title die. But we all knew this was DC's Hail Mary play for the title. Let's see if they score a touchdown after all.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Stormwatch (2011) #21

Jun 25, 2013

Unless something drastic happens, we may be on the verge of losing our last Wildstorm title. There's no Stormwatch book listed for Villains Month so already that's not a good sign. So we may be coming back in Sept. to discuss the end of the book is how it looks right now unless a miracle happens.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Stormwatch (2011) #22

Jul 24, 2013

Well, the solicits for October do show Stormwatch #24 with no Final Issue tag attached so that's good. So we know we'll at least make it to issue #25 which for a Wildstorm title is a milestone in itself. Honestly, I just hope Stormwatch survives to see another creative team change. We need a stronger artist and something that will get this team interacting with the DCU if the title is to survive.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Stormwatch (2011) #23

Aug 22, 2013

The book will be gone for a month during Villain's Month but will be back with #24 the following month. I would've liked to have seem them do something with the villains from Stormwatch but the reboot is still to fresh and the villains not well-known enough to carry their own book. I'm just happy it's still not cancelled. You gotta take your victories where you can.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Team 7 #0

Sep 12, 2012

As a zero issue, this was done well. It introduced everyone and set things up for next month's issue one. Overall, it was good but not great. I think after I read #1 next month I may come to appreciate the zero issue more. But unlike some of the other zero issues which had twelve issues precede them, this book had the luxury of actually starting off fresh. I am so happy to have this team in the New 52 and I look forward to see where Jordan takes us.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Team 7 #1

Oct 10, 2012

While a decent follow-up issue to the zero issue, I was expecting a little more. We've got a good set-up here and we've got the conflicts amongst the team members established. I'm just looking for something that's really going to grab me with this title. Here's to hoping Jordan's got something hidden up his sleeve.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Team 7 #2

Nov 17, 2012

This was the issue I wanted after zero but it's ok that we had to get through all the re-introductions in issue one. If the stories continue like this, than the title should have a long shelf life. I'm still pushing for a better artist just because I think the book needs to have a stronger visual appeal. But for now, hopefully the story alone will keep people hooked.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Team 7 #3

Dec 13, 2012

Great title. Go buy it!!!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Team 7 #4

Jan 17, 2013

This title has not just found its footing…now it's sprinting! It was kind of a shaky start coming out of Zero Month and the constant change in artists, but for those who've held on, I hope you enjoyed the outcome as much as I did. And if you jumped off, at least finish this storyline. It's only issue 4 after all. And next month, we get the introduction of another Wildcat into the DCU as we get Spartan! As if I needed more reasons to love this book!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Team 7 #5

Feb 13, 2013

But much like Ravagers, the current creative team has been cranking out some great stories. Even if this is the end for this title, I know Jordan is going to end with a bang! There was so much potential with this book and I really think DC dropped the ball on this one.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Team 7 #6

Mar 13, 2013

The ending was a little confusing but I think it was meant to be to get to the shocker of which character makes their New 52 debut at the end! Of all the series that have been cancelled since the New 52 started, this one has kept me excited even with the news of the cancellation. That to me, is great story-telling! Take us out with a bang Mr. Jordan!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Team 7 #7

Apr 13, 2013

I can't help but repeat, of the titles slated for cancellation so far, this one bums me out the most. It should have at least been given up to issue 12 before they decided to cancel it. Jordan has really hit his stride with the title, but it's obviously too little too late. Well, if the momentum keeps up like this, the series will at least end on a high note next month and will make picking up the trade that much more satisfying for those who were trade-waiting.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Team 7 #8

May 14, 2013

There's not too much to say about this issue other than I think Jordan wrapped it up to the best of his abilities. The ending promises “The end of Team 7 for now…” but I doubt DC will be using this team any time soon unless it's in flashbacks. Overall, it was nice to have the team in the DCU while it lasted. Team 7 was always a finite concept but I just wish Jordan would've had more time to tell stories in the New 52′s past.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Authority Vol. 4 #18

Jan 7, 2010

All of this and we get not one, but two great cliffhangers at the end of the issue. If this new creative team can keep up this kind of kinetic energy I hope itll generate enough buzz so people will come back and give not just The Authority, but Wildstorm in general a try.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Authority Vol. 4 #18

Jan 7, 2010

Rating: 8 On its way to greatness

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Authority Vol. 4 #19

Feb 4, 2010

This new creative team has got two great issues in the can now and I hope people will continue follow them to see where theyll take the story next.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Authority Vol. 4 #20

Mar 6, 2010

All in all, another great issue. We also get another great cliffhanger here which I can say this creative team has done masterfully well at crafting these so far. I'm definitely excited to see more.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Authority Vol. 4 #21

Apr 8, 2010

This is a highly appropriate progression of events because the characters have literally not had a chance to think since The Carrier took off into space 3 issues ago. Here, they finally get to settle into their situation. Plus, we get some questions answered about some missing characters. We also get to see how this whole situation is really getting to some of the characters and it reminds us for a moment that despite their superpowers, they’re still very much human.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Authority Vol. 4 #21

Apr 8, 2010

Ive mentioned before that I really appreciate the smaller cast here (which has grown a little in the last two issues). I would hope that people who have not been long-time readers will finally get a good sense of some of these characters. Each of them is being faithfully represented and were getting some interactions between characters that I dont think have interacted much (or at all) in the past. Add to that at least one more mystery to solve and a great cliffhanger and youve got an incredible final issue from this creative team. Thanks for giving us a wild ride guys and I look forward to the new creative team picking up where you guys left off.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Authority Vol. 4 #22

May 5, 2010

I really liked Miller’s art too. I think he did a great job with the characters and I especially loved some of the facial expressions he gave them. His art was solid all the way through and some of his shots that showed outer space were amazing.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Authority Vol. 4 #22

May 5, 2010

This is a new arc but new readers might be a little thrown with all the stories coming together here that have been going on. But its not too far to backtrack four issues. I promise, itd be worth it.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Authority Vol. 4 #23

Jun 4, 2010

Much like Wildcats, The Authority has proved to be a solid book each month since the new stories began in January. Other than some creative team changes, Ive had no qualms with this book whatsoever. If you like your superheroes with a dash of sci-fi, this book is the place to be right now.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Authority Vol. 4 #23

Jun 4, 2010

Mike Miller’s art is still excellent. I’m torn about this being his last issue because I love his art but I also love Al Barrionuevo’s art who is scheduled to return to the book with the next issue. I hope Mr. Miller returns to the Wildstorm Universe eventually with another book.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Authority Vol. 4 #24

Jul 9, 2010

The end of the issue was pretty awesome and really unexpected. It closes an arc for one of the characters who weve followed for a while now. This run is more than halfway done and with certain storylines wrapped up and others opened, Im anxious to see what else weve got coming before years end.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Authority Vol. 4 #25

Aug 4, 2010

Were rolling the down the second half of this creative teams run. Itll be a race to see who has the bigger finish in December, The Authority or Wildcats. Regardless, I can tell you its going to be one hell of a race!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
The Authority Vol. 4 #26

Sep 1, 2010

All in all, a great issue even if it was a quick one. Anyone whos big into science fiction like me should be enjoying the heck out of this title. These are places I never thought Id see The Authority go but Im so glad they did (even if The Authority themselves are not).

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
The Authority Vol. 4 #27

Oct 7, 2010

I will give Tom Taylor credit for a very intriguing cliffhanger. As with the other WSU titles, as we begin the countdown to December I hope a lot of these plotlines get resolved. Im anxious to see how this all concludes.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
The Authority: The Lost Year #5

Jan 23, 2010

Overall, a good issue that had a lot of action and very good cliffhanger but I think it couldve been a tad more new-reader friendly.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Authority: The Lost Year #6

Feb 17, 2010

Again, this is by far the strongest issue of this series so far. It seems now-a-days many (not all) comics need at least a good six issue run to get you into the over-arcing story. Lost Year has been a unique case because of the behind the scenes happenings that have affected the book. But thankfully, the middle of the series seems to have finally hit a good stride. Next months #7 will let us know for sure.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
The Authority: The Lost Year #7

Mar 19, 2010

This is by no means a horrible issue. Overall, I do like the story. It just made me feel cheated because I wanted more. I just think these little 2-issue story arcs are not the way to go here. And from the solicitations it looks like thats what were getting as we move into the second half of this mini-series. Hopefully, the next arc will come together in a better way without feeling so rushed.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
The Authority: The Lost Year #7

Mar 19, 2010

This is by no means a horrible issue. Overall, I do like the story. It just made me feel cheated because I wanted more. I just think these little 2-issue story arcs are not the way to go here. And from the solicitations it looks like that’s what we’re getting as we move into the second half of this mini-series. Hopefully, the next arc will come together in a better way without feeling so rushed.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
The Authority: The Lost Year #8

Apr 29, 2010

Fans of J.M. DeMatteis will appreciate his take on The Authority but I think the idea fell a little short. But we still have the second part of this next month so we’ll see how this is all resolved.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
The Authority: The Lost Year #8

Apr 29, 2010

Fans of J.M. DeMatteis will appreciate his take on The Authority but I think the idea fell a little short. But we still have the second part of this next month so well see how this is all resolved.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
The Authority: The Lost Year #9

Jun 24, 2010

Does this issue redeem my feelings towards this series? Not really. But Im glad to read an issue and not regret that I did. Weve got 3 issues left so well see if the team will end up anywhere else thats interesting before all is said and done.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Authority: The Lost Year #10

Jul 14, 2010

Even though I know it ends the story, Im hoping next issue is as enjoyable as this one. For as much as this series has disappointed me as a whole, its nice to be excited about at least two of the last three issues. Well see how the final issue plays-out.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
The Authority: The Lost Year #11

Jul 29, 2010

Well, were done to one issue left and then this series wraps up. It will be interesting to look at the series as a whole when all is said and done but the awesomeness displayed here is probably too little too late.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
The Authority: The Lost Year #12

Aug 19, 2010

I think theyre much better off for it.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
The Ravagers #1

May 31, 2012

I could not be happier with this book. When it was first announced I was skeptical because, first off, I was hoping for a Gen 13, but secondly I had no idea what the title ‘Ravagers' meant. But since coming through The Culling crossover and seeing how it all came together I'm really happy how it turned out. I hope everyone who's curious about the second wave books will give this one a try. You will not be disappointed!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Ravagers #2

Jun 15, 2012

This series continues to be a pleasant surprise and is now one of the titles I really look forward to each month. This strange amalgamation of Gen 13, Teen Titans, and some new characters is mixing up rather nicely. It's one of the most refreshing things to come out of the DCU New 52 and I hope it's got a permanent place in the line-up.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Ravagers #3

Jul 11, 2012

I was actually surprised to see a sharp sales drop from issue 1 to issue 2. I'm not sure what people are not enjoying about this book. It's got good art, good story, and a fresh concept that didn't exist Pre-Flashpoint. Maybe because it's the new team and new concept for DC that people don't know what to make of it. Regardless, out of the New 52 books I pull, I think it's my second favorite so far. I hope buzz about it will drive more people to try it.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
The Ravagers #4

Aug 8, 2012

The issues ends of a nice cliffhangers and reminds us of the books ties to some of the other Young Justice titles. However, there will be a 60 day wait for the resolution to the cliffhanger because next month is zero month which promises the origin of Beast Boy and Terra. It should be an interesting read.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Ravagers #5

Oct 10, 2012

Ravagers is such an under-rated book in my opinion. I've been having a lot of fun with it and it's got a great creative team. Mackie always has me wondering where we're going next and now that they team has survived their first arc, I'm anxious for the next one.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
The Ravagers #6

Nov 17, 2012

Stormwatch and Ravagers are my two favorite books right now. Ravagers once again narrowly beats Stormwatch for me this month. I'm just so happy with the direction of the book and I'm loving the interaction between the characters. All this and some beautiful art make for a winner in my book.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Ravagers #7

Dec 13, 2012

I am consistently satisfied with this book and I can't say enough good things about it. I love where Mackie has taken this title and it's unfortunate that this is his and Chruchill's last issue. Writer Michael Alan Nelson comes on next month with new artist Ig Guara who has done some issues of Teen Titans. So we'll see where this new creative team takes the series from here.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Ravagers #8

Jan 16, 2013

This was definitely a great start to this creative team's run. I'm inclined to say it's new reader friendly, but I think that'll be more easily determined when the Ravagers actually show up next issue. Regardless, I think it's a nice change of pace and I look forward to what Nelson and Guara have planned next.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
The Ravagers #9

Feb 13, 2013

Overall, another good issue from the new creative team. Looks like we'll only get three more from them until the end. But so far, they've proven that they will be really good ones!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
The Ravagers #10

Mar 13, 2013

It's a shame this title is on its way out but if you don't give a title a chance to get its footing, what else do you expect? Hopefully these last few issues will be enjoyable at least. In the announcements of the cancellation it was mentioned that we'd find out more about Rose Wilson and Fairchild. I look forward to what that is and if it'll lead to a new book.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
The Ravagers #11

Apr 13, 2013

Well, it's hard to stay excited about this book with the impending cancellation. But I look forward not to a wrap-up next month, but an open door that will hopefully lead to a new book (or books) with some of the these characters.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
The Ravagers #12

May 14, 2013

Overall, Ravagers was always enjoyable because it was so different. But I guess it was probably too different for long time fans who really just want the classic Teen Titans to be re-assembled. If that is what they wish, they'll appreciate the tease at the end of the issue. Until then, The Ravagers will just have wait on the sidelines.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Voodoo #0

Sep 26, 2012

Overall, the Voodoo series was just ok. It's a shame because I want the Wildstorm characters to succeed so getting one of their books cancelled is never a good thing. On the bright side though, more people know about the character of Voodoo now. So when she becomes part of the Wildcats book that I know I'm hoping for, people will have some idea of who she is. Until then, at least she's going to continue over in Grifter's book.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Voodoo #1

Sep 29, 2011

I thought it was a solid first issue and I hope newcomers find it easy to follow. Marz keeps the characters to a minimum so you know all their names by the end of the book. I think he also does a good job of establishing what Voodoo can do without spoiling the mystery too soon. I look forward to more from this title and I hope others will give it the chance it deserves.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Voodoo #2

Oct 27, 2011

If I had any gripes its that the issue was over too quickly. But I think its similar to the Grifter title where I actually dont want the issue to end. We also get a nice little tease at the end of another well-established DCU character who will encounter Voodoo next issue. I cant wait to see it!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Voodoo #3

Nov 23, 2011

Unfortunately as I write this review, the news has already broken that Marz will be off the title after next months issue 4. Im sad to see him leave so soon as he really seemed eager to work on the project and has done some great work in these premiere issues. I look forward to his last issue next month and hope that his departure will not cause people to leave this book because Im really enjoying it.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Voodoo #4

Dec 28, 2011

As sad as I am to see Marz leave, a recent interview with upcoming writer Josh Williamson really has me curious to see what hell have in store for this title. He seemed very enthusiastic about coming aboard I look forward to what he has in store for this character.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Voodoo #5

Jan 26, 2012

Overall, I think it was a great first issue for Josh Williamson. I hope people give this title a chance with the new writer. It seems that Williamson is going to breathe some new life into this book and it's obvious by the issue cliffhanger that he's not afraid to take chances with the book. If you've dropped the book, at least pick this issue up and see if the cliffhanger intrigues you enough to pick up the book again.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Voodoo #6

Feb 23, 2012

Ultimately, I think this title has a strong pulse again. If you dropped this book you have got to come back and give it a try. Williamson's doing a great job of ramping up the action and the mystery here and if he keeps this pace up, things can only get better from here.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Voodoo #7

Mar 30, 2012

I think Williamson has turned this title around and breathed new life into it. If you are not reading Voodoo anymore, pick up Willimason's issues and see what you think. I personally am having a lot of fun with them. Oh, and Basri's art is still amazing!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Voodoo #8

Apr 26, 2012

The first trade for this can't come out fast enough (listed for Oct. I believe). I know some people are trade-waiting this title but I just hope it can survive until then. For now, I'll just continue to enjoy the craziness Williamson is throwing at us each month. And trust me, when Williamson has throw his stories at us before, it hits you right in the face!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Voodoo #9

May 24, 2012

The evolution of this character gets more interesting with each passing issue. I can tell Williamson is having with this title and that his collaboration with Basri is turning out to be very successful. If people would just give this title a try (or return to it), that would make their success complete.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Voodoo #10

Jun 28, 2012

I hope the adventure on Europa turns out to be memorable at least. It's never fun to be enjoying a book only to know that the issues will end soon. All we can do is see what Williamson has up his sleeve for the character as they get ready to turn out the lights.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Voodoo #11

Jul 25, 2012

The Voodoo title is not as strong as it once was but maybe that speaks to why it's being cancelled. She's a great character and I'm glad DC is not abandoning her. Hopefully the next issue will prove to be a great confrontation and afterward the zero issue will answer lots of questions about the character.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Voodoo #12

Aug 22, 2012

Overall, the series seemed to coast to its conclusion here. I am curious to see what revelations we get in the zero issue next month but for now, I think the series is pretty much done. It's sad that we're losing this title but I'm glad we'll be seeing Voodoo over in Grifter afterwards.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Welcome to Tranquility: One Foot in the Grave #1

Jul 21, 2010

This was a good first issue that sets up a great new mystery for the citizens of Tranquility. We got to see the majority of the residents here but theres still a few more I hope to see by the end of the mini-series. Im glad Simone decided to come back to this sandbox and play.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Welcome to Tranquility: One Foot in the Grave #2

Aug 12, 2010

I still have neglected to re-read the original series but so far I can tell you Simone is adding enough information here to where I dont feel lost. So if youre still afraid to pick this up because you think youll be lost, think again. Simone is a great writer that doesnt disappoint so you know coming into this youre going to get a great story.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Welcome to Tranquility: One Foot in the Grave #3

Sep 10, 2010

One Foot in the Grave seems to be focusing on our new villain more than the citizens of Tranquility. This may make the difference for new readers because theyre learning about this new character as older fans do the same. Its almost as if hes the window into this story. I hope people are giving this title a try. It is proving to be a solid read each month.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Welcome to Tranquility: One Foot in the Grave #4

Oct 14, 2010

I have to hold my rating steady for this one. This has been a great little mini-series so far and I know with two issues left weve still got room for a lot more Gail Simone goodness!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Wetworks: Mutations #1

Oct 4, 2010

All in all, it was a decent one-shot but I really wish they wouldve let this creative team know the imprint was ending. That way they couldve made different decisions story-wise. But we as the fans asked for more Wetworks and we got it. So in that at least we can be happy.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Wildcats #19

Jan 30, 2010

All in all, an incredible first issue by this new creative team. I am really excited to see where the Wildstorm Universe as a whole is going now and Im confident these new creative teams will continue to deliver.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Wildcats #20

Feb 26, 2010

I'm still loving Tim Seeley's art. There are a few characters that I think he draws better than others but that's nit-picking. My two favorite shots were a splash page of Midnighter and a splash page of The New Dynamix character who showed up. The creative team is doing an incredible job so far. I eagerly anticipate how they're going to end this arc next month.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Wildcats #21

Mar 31, 2010

Some might argue that the ending was predictable, but I disagree. I thought Beechen kept enough surprises in it to keep it fresh and lead us to an incredible conclusion that is worthy of some of the most famous summer movie-blockbusters. Thank you guys for making the Wildstorm Universe exciting again! I cant wait to see what youve got up your sleeves next.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Wildcats #21

Mar 31, 2010

Some might argue that the ending was predictable, but I disagree. I thought Beechen kept enough surprises in it to keep it fresh and lead us to an incredible conclusion that is worthy of some of the most famous summer movie-blockbusters. Thank you guys for making the Wildstorm Universe exciting again! I can’t wait to see what you’ve got up your sleeves next.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Wildcats #22

Apr 29, 2010

Beechen and Seeley have created another great jumping on point with this issue. It is such a good idea to do this because it gives people who passed over the last arc a chance to pick it up here if theyre curious now that the creative team has completed an arc. Its also noteworthy that the final page of this issue was an incredible shot that is full of symbolism that I think fans will appreciate.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Wildcats #22

Apr 29, 2010

Beechen and Seeley have created another great jumping on point with this issue. It is such a good idea to do this because it gives people who passed over the last arc a chance to pick it up here if they’re curious now that the creative team has completed an arc. It’s also noteworthy that the final page of this issue was an incredible shot that is full of symbolism that I think fans will appreciate.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Wildcats #23

May 26, 2010

Last issue was a good jumping on point, but this one could be as well. It’s got enough set-up in it to give a new reader time to digest while still inserting some action, which is what was missing last issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Wildcats #23

May 26, 2010

It is so good to have a book like this that I not only look forward to each month, but also leaves me very satisfied in the end. Tim Seeley? Dont think Ive forgotten you. Your art is still phenomenal and did anyone ever tell you, you draw gorgeous women?

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Wildcats #24

Jun 24, 2010

Weve got two set-ups for some good fights next issue here. Like I said, Im eager to find out more about the character Aeon and see where this creative team will take the story after these two big fights.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Wildcats #25

Jul 28, 2010

Well, it's been a long time since a Wildcats series reached issue 25 and it is in great hands with this current creative team. This is the mid-point for their run so now we start the road to December when their run ends and see what other exciting things they've got planned.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Wildcats #26

Aug 25, 2010

I had to bump up my rating for this one because I loved everything that Beechen packed into this issue. I didnt feel like any part was slow and the emotions displayed here were genuine and believable. Things are getting worse for our heroes but the ironic thing is that makes it better reading for us fans.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Wildcats #27

Sep 23, 2010

The twilight of the Wildstorm Universe is upon us and I for one am going to savor every last moment of it. It was an exciting issue but I wasnt blown away by it. Either that, or Im still reeling from the news. Regardless, I look forward to seeing how this all wraps up.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Wildcats #28

Oct 31, 2010

The fat lady's warming up her voice as she preps for her song as the Wildstorm Universe moves into its final act. I hope some people are picking up these issues out of curiosity since the announcement to experience a true end of the universe story. As we begin the crescendo into the final verse, I expect Beechen and Miller will give us a grand finale.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Witchblade #135

Mar 12, 2010

All in all, a great issue. Im really curious about Top Cows Artifacts crossover this summer and I hope I am able to follow it. Even though I primarily follow Wildstorm, when the time comes, the Top Cow Universe will be my next universe Ill get into.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
X-Files / 30 Days of Night #1

Jul 12, 2010

Weve got the setup for a great story and I think fans of both series will find something they like here. Im extremely curious to see how Mulder and Scully are going to handle such a dangerous opponent as vampires. But Niles has never let me down with his storytelling so hes definitely got me hungry to know whats coming next.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
X-Files / 30 Days of Night #2

Aug 19, 2010

We end with another great cliffhanger as the mysteries continue to pile up. Even though we as the readers know who the bad guys are here, there is still enough mystery to keep us guessing about whats really going on in this story. This creative team is doing an excellent job so far. I hope they can keep this good momentum going throughout the remainder of the series. Its even got me wanting to go back and watch some X-files episodes.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
X-Files / 30 Days of Night #3

Sep 16, 2010

The series is continuing to be a great read each month. Im confident that the remaining issues will be just as enjoyable. Niles proves time and time again that he knows how to write a good comic. Now with Adam Jones providing some insight, it appears the two work really well together. A solid read each month and one that is worth checking out if you still havent.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
X-Files / 30 Days of Night #4

Oct 24, 2010

This is what the fourth issue of a six-issue mini-series is supposed to be like! Weve reviewed other mini-series where the fourth issue was still dragging. But Niles and Jones have kicked this series up a notch with a great new story element introduced in this issue. Its put a whole new spin on this story for me. I cant wait to see where it goes next!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
X-Files / 30 Days of Night #6

Dec 23, 2010

Despite its shortcomings here at the end, I still think this is a great read for both X-files and 30 Days of Night fans. I plan to pass these on to a friend whos an X-files fan and I know hell love them! I know the series sold really well and Im glad it did. Niles and Jones ended up being a great collaborative team and since they made it obvious we can expect a sequel, I anticipate it will be equally as good.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for
the Week of...

January

December

More