Josh Rathbun's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Graphic Policy Reviews: 42
7.5Avg. Review Rating

5.5
Alien (2021) #1

Mar 26, 2021

Maybe what I want out of this is too much or maybe the Alien comics just arent for me. That said, this is a $4.99 comic book and I dont feel like the cost is worth it. Alien #1 is a fairly average story with average art. The world wont end if you dont get it.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Avengers (2018) #39

Dec 14, 2020

This felt like a whole lot of build-up for a better story, which I guess will be the upcoming Phoenix rehash that Marvel is serving up. Avengers #39 is fairly lackluster in the storytelling but its a really nice issue on the eyes.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Bloodshot (2019) #11

Feb 27, 2021

Theres just one issue left of this run of Bloodshot. Im hoping for a big fight between Bloodshot and Rampage, although I had those same hopes when Salvation was ending, only to not get it. That said, Bloodshot #11 has something really cool going on with the art, although the story needs just a bit of work.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.5
Byte Sized #1

Dec 26, 2020

Do you love stories where robotic creatures break free from the government stooges and eventually befriend some young child? Im pretty sure thats where were going with Byte-Sized. I get that there's probably a lot of inspiration from the likes of Gremlins or Batteries Not Included but maybe I need more issues to get some enjoyment from Byte-Sized. Kudos to AWA Studios for continuing to do different material with everything. Their scope is so wide in what they put out that you are bound to find something youll like. It just might not be this.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Conan the Barbarian (2019) #17

Dec 26, 2020

This was an awesome issue and like the “Tooth Of The Northstar”, I hunger for more of this story. Do yourself a favor and get Conan the Barbarian #17.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Crossover (2020) #1

Nov 4, 2020

I came into Crossover #1 open-minded of what it was, did all I could to not read any spoilers. Story-wise, Crossover #1 is an entertaining read. The concept is tight and the art hits on so many levels. This issue helps get the world-building explained and set up and with that, I am definitely interested in where this story goes and am excited for issue two.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.2
Doctor Tomorrow #5

Aug 24, 2020

While I never know how much anything Valiant does goes to bring in new fans, I think the regular fan of the publisher will enjoy Doctor Tomorrow very much.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Dungeons & Dragons: At the Spine of the World #1

Nov 11, 2020

I love the world that Dungeons & Dragons encompasses and IDW Publishing continues to do right by the properties with their comics. Dungeons & Dragons: At The Spine Of The World #1 has me excited for more issues. There's something for everyone with these kind of stories and they put a spotlight on folks from all sorts of fantasy walks of life. At The Spine Of The World explodes with a rush of adventure from the get-go and is just the sort of tale any hardened fan of fantasy can enjoy.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Dungeons & Dragons: Infernal Tides #1

Feb 23, 2021

Ultimately, IDW Publishing does Dungeons & Dragons right. Ive been really happy with all of the stories theyve done but I do feel theres something a bit more special, exciting and enjoyable about Jim Zub and Max Dunbar working on a tale set in Baldurs Gate. Dungeons & Dragons: Infernal Tides ends up as another truly enjoyable tale of Minsc and company thats sure to keep fantasy readers enthralled.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Endless Winter (2020): Justice League #1

Dec 6, 2020

I didn't see any sort of checklist to know how long Endless Winter was going to be. I just know the next part is in The Flash #767. I'll definitely be checking that issue out to see where this all goes. For a first chapter, Justice League: Endless Winter has plenty to keep a reader interested and happy. I'm not much of a DC reader and I enjoyed this so I think if this is your wheelhouse, you'll be pleased.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Eternals (2021) #1

Jan 6, 2021

I think going into this, I didn't have that high of hopes but I enjoyed this a lot and plan on continuing the adventure of the Eternals. I think if Marvel can keep this creative team on the book, it's going to help with keeping readers interested in the Eternals. I'm sure the upcoming movie will help, too, but in the pages of the comics is where the work needs to be done and Gillen and Ribi are the right team for it. This book has way too many variants but that should also mean it's an easy book for potential readers to find a copy of.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Eternals (2021) #2

Feb 14, 2021

If I had one concern with Eternals #2, it would be whether this book sticks the landing. Is the focus on Thanos or the mystery killer of Zuras? Is it both? And who is narrating the issue? I know that not everything can be revealed. I liked Eternals #2 but I feel the Eternals need to focus their efforts going in the next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Fantastic Four (2018) #25

Oct 21, 2020

Dan Slott has been on this book for a few years and from the few issues I've read of his FF run, I've really enjoyed it and wished that I kept up in a better fashion on it. R.B. Silva and Jesus Abertov crushed the visuals. I think for a new reader, Fantastic Four #25 would not be the most friendly issue to pick up but I do think this was a pretty good issue of Fantastic Four and definitely worth the read.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Fantastic Four (2018) #29

Feb 13, 2021

One thing you dont normally see is a bunch of heroes just popping up but this issue had them all over in the backgrounds, which in a way isnt the norm with event tie-ins. Usually, its a more secluded setting for whoevers book it is and then it brings them in near the end of the main series. Sadly, I felt like the end twist in Fantastic Four #29 happened off-panel and it was a letdown. That said, if you are an event completist, youll not want to miss the Fantastic Fours involvement in King In Black.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
G.I. Joe: A Real American Hero #275

Nov 18, 2020

Overall, an issue like this can hit a few different ways. I thought G.I. Joe: A Real American Hero #275 was one of the better issues with no words Ive read. It got me from point A to B and sometimes, or in this case, part 9 to part 10, and what a way to wrap a story. Its not a perfect issue, but its a good one that, I think, pays off for those who have followed Hamas G.I. Joe comic. Its not one Id recommend to a new reader.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
G.I. Joe: A Real American Hero #276

Dec 14, 2020

I dont know if “Untold Tales” is going to be a bunch of single-issue stories or if this issue will build onto something much bigger but as far as G.I. Joe: A Real American Hero #276 goes, it works well as a solo issue story comprised of a good team of Joe favorites. One chapter in, “Untold Tales” is shaping up to be another quality story.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Hollow Heart #1

Feb 22, 2021

If you wanted to shake up your regular comic reading with something quite a bit different, Hollow Heart #1 is just that book. Its a unique and odd romantic story between a man and whats left of a man locked in a casing. But it really stands out as good storytelling with a bleak approach. This is an easy recommendation.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Iron Fist: Heart of the Dragon #1

Jan 30, 2021

This was a really enjoyable first issue thats got me excited for the next issue. Iron Fist managed to stop the bad guys in this issue. I have been reading Hamas work on G.I. Joe for years and Im glad to see him working on a character like Iron Fist. I might not like this as much as his work on the Joes but add in a fantastic artist and this ends up being just what a fan of this half of the Heroes For Hire needs.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
King In Black #5

Apr 8, 2021

King in Black #5 was a total package of fun and excitement, coupled with some really cool art. Im not huge on Marvel or DC events but my overall feeling is that this one ended up being fun while also bringing a lot of stuff that Cates has worked on at Marvel to a head. As far as Venom goes, King in Black serves as a good exclamation point on a really great run for the character. Not sure if its worth the cost of admission but I think youd like what you would read.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Knock Em Dead #1

Dec 6, 2020

I had a bit higher hopes for the first issue of Knock 'Em Dead. I loved the look but only kinda liked the story portion. That said, I'm definitely picking up the rest of this series as I tend to like everything Eliot Rahal writes. But, with how the story is playing out, I'm sure it really kicks into gear with the next issue. Here's hoping for that.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Magic (2021) #1

Apr 10, 2021

Magic #1 is very much in the vein of IDWs Dungeons & Dragons comics, which I also really enjoy. We can never have enough fantasy-driven work in comics so if thats what you like, take a chance with Magic.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
No Heroine #3

Oct 7, 2020

No Heroine #3 finishes as a fairly decent Vampire story that has that added layer with the addiction problems that the heroine Kayla is dealing with. While the story didnt blow my socks off, I felt that it was a good read and I would recommend it to anyone looking for a horror story thats a bit off the beaten path. I wish the art grabbed me a bit more as I didnt love the overall appearance but with that said, it wasnt enough to make me dislike No Heroine.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Orcs (2021) #1

Feb 12, 2021

Orcs! is part of BOOM! Studios‘ KaBOOM! imprint, focusing on stories for younger readers or those young at heart. The impression I was left with after reading Orcs! is that it had a good dose of charm and comedy to reel me in with art that had a pleasing aesthetic. It wasnt quite my cup of tea and thats fine because plenty will like what this book is. Maybe it doesnt have the action or combat I like in my fantasy books but as a parent looking to add to my childrens reading pile, these are the kinds of comics I love picking up because Im fairly certain theyd enjoy it.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Post Americana #1

Dec 21, 2020

Purchase: comiXology  Kindle  Zeus Comics

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Radiant Black #1

Feb 12, 2021

Overall, its a good-but-not-great first issue but I think its enough to get me excited for the next issue and I feel like I can see the potential of Radiant Black. Not all origins need to be great. Whats more important is what happens after you get your powers. Radiant Black also gave us a look at the other side of the coin, so to speak, with the emergence of a foe who popped up at the end of this issue. Image has a history of superhero books and while theyve done a colossal job of expanding from that. Its awesome to see a book like Radiant Black usher back the Image Comics age of heroes.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Rai (2019) #10

Dec 22, 2020

This issue ends this volume of Rai and with some cliffhangers, too. My hopes are that its not for long and that we can get this team back on these characters. The pandemic has had such an awful effect on everything and been brutal on the work of smaller publishers. Still, this issue continues my thoughts that Rai is one of the best books of 2020 and that everyone asking for good comics should be rushing to get this one.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Reaver #11

Sep 12, 2020

It's the end of "The Grim After" but what comes after should be another epic story for Reaver. If you are looking for an adult fantasy story, I feel there's none better. To me, Reaver is a total breath of fresh air and comes off wholly original. If you want something different in the genre that's high quality, then it's definitely Reaver that you are after.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Savage (2021) #1

Feb 17, 2021

Savage #1 ends up as the blood-and-guts battle royale book that I desperately needed. Im glad that this is finally seeing the light of day, as I am sure this was probably supposed to have been released last year and should have finished by now. And for older Valiant fans, its okay to like this. Turok will never return to Valiant and with a character as wild as Savage, theyd never need him back in the first place.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Savage Avengers (2019) #15

Dec 7, 2020

Savage Avengers is the kind of book where the premise should take me right out of it. Im an old-school Avengers fan and its been a really long time since I liked an issue of any adjective-driven Avengers team. But with how ridiculous some of the stuff in this is, Im a bit torn on how I felt but I decided to go with the positive. The Murder Avengers won me over but just barely.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Savage Dragon #258

Apr 9, 2021

While I wasnt blown away by the story, Larsens art is still something to behold and this issue had quite a few moments where I liked what I was seeing. The opening page was full-on Kirby (in a good way) and what followed was a very energetic two-page splash. Nikos Koutsis is a fantastic colorist for Larsens work and I thought that this issue showed that. I do feel like Larsen has gotten a bit loose with his pencils, as compared to how I think his older issues of Savage Dragon look but I do still think there are quality visuals in this issue. Its good to know that I can still appreciate the art on a book like this, even if the story doesnt click with me.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Shadowman (2021) #1

Mar 26, 2021

I think Shadowman #1 is just what the Valiant fan base needs. Maybe they dont love books like Savage and maybe X-O Manowar left them a bit grumpy but I feel this feels like a natural progression of who Shadowman is. The writing is there and the art is there. And if nothing else, it left me feeling like a publisher could draw me in hard with a really good first issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles #113

Jan 24, 2021

Right now, I am digging whats going on in the world of Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles, at least, Im digging the publishing side of what IDW is offering. Between this and The Last Ronin mini-series, they are putting out some high-quality stories featuring the TMNT. From this issue and the deluxe editions that Ive picked up, this isnt the cartoon and thats actually a good thing because I feel these stories really do speak to more than just kids.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: The Last Ronin #1

Oct 28, 2020

Point blank reaction: I enjoyed the hell out of this book. Ive started reading through IDW Publishings TMNT books and while I havent read it all, The Last Ronin reads like one hell of a sendoff. I do wonder how hard this will be to actually get. Word is the print run was cut short and some shops think their full orders wont be filled. There are also around 70 variants out there for this book. This is definitely a read but I think its good enough to purchase. I feel like a lifetime of enjoying the various incarnations of the TMNT, whether its been comics, cartoons, or movies, has prepared me for this moment where they are down to one against all the evil in the world. Maybe it's cliche but The Last Ronin is an absolute blast.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
The Devil's Red Bride #1

Oct 15, 2020

Overall, I think that if your tastes are like mine, you grew up on samurai cinema or if you just want something totally different, The Devils Red Bride #1 offers all of that. Im looking forward to where this story goes and one can hope it ends like so many samurai tales, with two opponents standing their ground and steel being swung all over the place. Recommended.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
The Tankies OGN

Apr 14, 2021

I enjoyed reading The Tankies very much. Honestly, I buy every war story Ennis works on when I know about them. While some might not enjoy the destructive power of war or the violence man casts upon themselves with it, I always appreciate the history lesson of it and the little things that Ennis and Ezquerra inject into it. If you enjoy war or if you like what Garth Ennis brings to comics, The Tankies is just the book for you. Its not as funny as Ennis and Ezquerras work in The Adventures Of The Rifle Brigade but certainly feels similar in tone to World Of Tanks.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
The Tankies #1

Apr 14, 2021

I enjoyed reading The Tankies very much. Honestly, I buy every war story Ennis works on when I know about them. While some might not enjoy the destructive power of war or the violence man casts upon themselves with it, I always appreciate the history lesson of it and the little things that Ennis and Ezquerra inject into it. If you enjoy war or if you like what Garth Ennis brings to comics, The Tankies is just the book for you. Its not as funny as Ennis and Ezquerras work in The Adventures Of The Rifle Brigade but certainly feels similar in tone to World Of Tanks.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
The Witcher: Fading Memories #1

Nov 25, 2020

Overall, I'm not overly impressed with the art but I am enjoying where the story is going. I'm still looking to take in as much of the Witcher's adventures that I can and The Witcher: Fading Memories #1 continues to help the comic book stories of the Witcher excel in this medium.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
U.S.Agent (2020) #1

Nov 15, 2020

Overall, U. S. Agent seemed quite a bit mediocre and I don't see the appeal of a weak knock-off going on this kind of adventure. It lacked the humor and action that I expect from a Christopher Priest book. Instead of buying this, go get one of the Deathstroke trade paperbacks because that's a better use of your money.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Usagi Yojimbo (2019) #14

Nov 18, 2020

This was an arc that saw Usagi come back home to where his lord was defeated. Usagi hasn't dipped in quality but it certainly feels like it's got a new life with IDW Publishing. This arc is worth a read and new readers could jump on with little trouble. I do recognize the art is not the most detailed but the look of Usagi Yojimbo is so unique. Happy trails to Tom Luth on an illustrious career and I can't wait for issue 15.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Usagi Yojimbo (2019) #17

Apr 17, 2021

Overall, Usagi Yojimbo #17 is another enjoyable issue of Usagi Yojimbo. Honestly, I have been reading UY off and on for so many years and feel like it just doesnt skip a beat and has maintained a quality form of storytelling. As part of a 3-issue story, this chapter doesnt feel like the slow part in the story and had a lot of good action and storytelling. I feel confident in stating that Usagi Yojimbo is one of the best books I read each month and Usagi Yojimbo #17 is no different.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Usagi Yojimbo: Wanderer's Road #1

Nov 25, 2020

Usagi Yojimbo: Wanderers Road #1 is highly recommended and this issue alone is a masterful reminder of what a creator can do with just one issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
X-O Manowar (2020) #2

Nov 27, 2020

After reading this issue, I feel like were at a low point for the character. The art is fine but thats never been an issue with X-O Manowar. The story is a bit uninspiring to keep with and there are elements that dont feel complete. I really hope its a case of a mediocre issue and not something more indicative of the entirety of this run of X-O Manowar. As it stands, Im left wanting more from X-O Manowar #2 and it cant give it to me.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

April

March

More