Joshua Rathbun's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Outright Geekery Reviews: 29
9.0Avg. Review Rating

9.0
4 Kids Walk Into A Bank #1

Apr 16, 2016

This was a great read and one that is highly recommended to all looking for something fresh and different in what can feel like a stale market of heroes.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
All-New Wolverine #1

Dec 12, 2015

So the verdict on All-New Wolverine? It's good enough to keep reading. I really liked the pictures, man. Really, but the story wasn't too shabby, either.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Archie vs. Predator #1

Dec 3, 2015

I don't read Archie and don't care to pick it up but I would read a lot more Archie stories like this. Stories so out of whack with its own universe that you can't help but be curious about the end product. Highly recommended.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Beasts Of Burden: What The Cat Dragged In (One Shot) #1

Apr 23, 2016

Perfect storytelling isn't easy to come by but Beasts Of Burden has continually been able to do that. Look What The Cat Dragged In continues the fine adventures of these supernatural-battling animals with another great story, chock full of beautiful art.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Bloodshot: Reborn Annual #1

Mar 20, 2016

Straight-up, I have no complaints here. However, for a company that basks in its own history so much, I do with this would have been called a Yearbook, which is what the 90's Valiant referred to its annuals. Not a knock, as that is just a personal preference. As far as every page of Bloodshot Annual 1 goes, I enjoyed this so much and if this is what their annuals are going to be like, then the fans are going to be very happy.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Bloodshot: Salvation #1

Jul 25, 2017

I've really enjoyed everything Lemire has done with the character. He's made Bloodshot into more than just a gun pointed at a bad guy. It was just a few years ago that he got the character reins and with this new series, it feels that he has a great idea for where to take the character. Teamed with arguably Valiant's biggest artistic names, Bloodshot Salvation is primed to be a huge, successful book for Valiant.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Dark Knight III: The Master Race #1

Nov 29, 2015

A while back, I would have skipped this because of the last story, but DK III, so far, is great. DC, tone down the variants and just get this book out.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Divinity #0

Aug 14, 2017

The story of Divinity has been told through a series of mini-series for the past couple of years and this one does a superb job of bridging the gap from the past stories into what Eternity will offer. It reads like a good starting point for what is to come. In the past, I have always scored the Divinity books high and this is as good as any in the series.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Faith #1

Jul 20, 2016

This first issue is a big one for Valiant, hoping to pick right back up with the success they previously had with the title. This is the first in a string of big launches the company has planned for this year, with a new book each month. There's quite a bit added to this issue after the main story to show readers what they have coming down the pipe. It all looks incredible.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Faith #5

Oct 31, 2016

Another great issue from what seems to be Valiant's big hit. Pick up Faith 5 for the stories. And regardless of where you land politically, it's still one of the best all-ages superhero books around.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Faith (Mini-Series) #1

Jan 26, 2016

Do you read Valiant? Then you are picking this up. But, this should be the kind of book that attracts readers from outside that circle. It's a good first issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Harbinger: Renegade #1

Nov 1, 2016

Harbinger Renegade was one of the books from the Future Of Valiant presentation earlier this year that I was the most eager to read and there is no disappointment here. Being a long-time reader of Valiant, I was very pleased with this. The trick will be to bring new readers into the fold but Harbinger Renegade is a good enough book to do that.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Jonesy #1

Feb 13, 2016

All I can say is that even though stories like this aren't my cup of tea, Jonesy was a lot of fun. It'll be great to see what happens with the remainder of the series.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Kill Or Be Killed #1

Jul 9, 2016

This is something I've been waiting to read for a long time, since I saw the announcement at Image Expo back in April. But again, I'm sure you've read The Fade Out, Fatale, or picked up the recent Criminal one-shot. I shouldn't need to sell you on this. But if I have to, I would want you to know that these are creators at the top of their game doing something pretty special in the medium. Pick up Kill Or Be Killed. And if you haven't picked up their previous work, then shame on you because you are missing out on some exciting work.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Lobster Johnson: The Glass Mantis #1

Dec 27, 2015

It's a solid issue. Books like this remind me that I probably should venture into this universe a bit more. Again, B.P.R.D. is my only real source of knowledge of the character. I imagine that for the regular reader, this is a bit hit.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Ninjak #14

Apr 3, 2016

It was a pretty damn good issue and I enjoyed every bit of it. While maybe not the best of places to jump onto a book you aren't familiar with, Valiant does a great job of recapping before every issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Ninjak #27

May 12, 2017

Overall, a really great read for an issue that might fly right under the radar with a lot of readers. Don't miss it. And is you can, remember the name Kevin Maurer, because he seems to have what it takes to craft a great comic book story.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Old Man Logan (2016) #1

Feb 7, 2016

Marvel's recent relaunch has made me enjoy some books that I normally would not care for. I really like All-New Wolverine and I like Old Man Logan just as much. This is the start of a great series.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Rapture #1

May 23, 2017

This was an excellent first issue. I'm not sure how new reader-friendly this was, as I feel that reading Ninjak would certainly get one ready for this tale. Still, it's exciting to see how Kindt caps his Ninjak run and I am certainly ready for more Shadowman.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Goddamned #2

Dec 16, 2015

It's easy for me to recommend this, and I do, as there's nothing in it that bothers or offends me. That can't be said for the regular reader. It's a book about God giving up on humanity and how people batter each other to pieces and curse their creator. It's a great book. After plowing through it, I just want more to read. I hope it finds a good amount of readers because I feel it's every bit as good as the early issues of Walking Dead or Saga. It's just crazy how Image finds great creators to do great things for them. This is for sure my favorite thing Image Comics is putting out.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
The Sheriff Of Babylon #1

Jan 6, 2016

All in all, Sheriff Of Babylon is the right amount of real world for someone like me. And, it's good to see Vertigo still churning out great adult material. There's a strong history there and while this won't be the next Sandman in scope, it could turn out to be every bit as enjoyable.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Unity #24

Nov 19, 2015

Not much great about Unity. Part of the problem is all the male protagonists in this book have their own titles and they are great books(Eternal Warrior's new title dropped this week) and what would have been better is to focus more on Livewire. My one true gripe with Unity, apart from just being lackluster.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Wrath of the Eternal Warrior #3

Jan 17, 2016

While I felt the first issue was a good launch to the title, the second one lagged a bit. Not here. This was a really good issue in my book.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Wrath of the Eternal Warrior #4

Feb 13, 2016

Another stellar issue from Venditti and Allen. Wrath Of The Eternal Warrior 4 is another good issue from Valiant Entertainment.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Wrath of the Eternal Warrior #7

May 14, 2016

Jump into Labyrinth and find out just how bad someone wants to know all the secrets of Gilad Anni-Padda. After reading the issue and gazing upon the art, you'll know that you were treated to something great.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
X-O Manowar #43

Jan 11, 2016

X-O has to be shaping up for something great at issue 50. This was a good point to hop on and find out.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
X-O Manowar #44

Jan 31, 2016

Valiant's flagship title is as good as ever right now. I've felt like ever since the Armor Hunters story that X-O has had better stories, better art. The Kill List is certainly one not to miss out on.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
X-O Manowar #47

Jun 28, 2016

It'll be sad to see it go but issue 47 is the start of X-O going out on top. While it is the end, it's shaping up to be a hell of a story. Get in on the action. If you've been looking for comic book action, this is the home of it.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
X-O Manowar (2017) #1

Feb 22, 2017

For someone new to the characters, it is as perfect a place to start X-O Manowar, without being bogged down by numerous mentions of the past adventures. Whether you seek an exciting and compelling story or just want mind-blowing visuals, X-O Manowar will deliver both.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for
the Week of...

September

August

More