Sam Roche's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: AiPT! Reviews: 147
7.8Avg. Review Rating

9.5
'68: Hallowed Ground One-Shot #1

Nov 6, 2013

Writer Mark Kidwell has made good use of his allotted 32 pages. Do we want to hear the origin story of a character we will only know for one comic? Hell no. We want to see some real, gritty, human interaction that creates satisfying drama. Was that delivered? Yes.

View Issue       View Full Review
2.5
'68: Rule of War #1

Apr 2, 2014

I didn't enjoy it very much. The story was uninspired and at parts rather insipid, while the art was crude and the characters bland. If you desperately want to read this story, despite my criticisms, my only advice is wait for the trade; there are too many threads to follow in the monthly series.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
A Game of Thrones #18

Jan 8, 2014

Although it doesn't push the Game of Thrones universe to any unexplored places, A Game of Thrones #18 was a faithful and enjoyable adaptation and even standalone source of entertainment. It was nice to revisit a part of the story I read long ago and see the characters I know the way the master scribe first pictured them. I will definitely be around to see the next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
All-New X-Factor #1

Jan 8, 2014

For a debut, this comic isn't bad. The plot is certainly lacking, and the whole situation seems a bit lackluster compared to other Marvel conflicts currently. But still, Gambit and his supporting characters make this book by being such enjoyable and human characters. The art and cover are also quite awesome.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
All-New X-Factor #2

Jan 22, 2014

All-New X-Factor #2 is without a doubt a good time, and a recommended book. The graphic design and paneling is terrific and makes this issue feel like it actually is endorsed by Serval Industries. Frantic, action packed artwork also makes this issue stand-out as a really well-made book. However, I thought the dialogue was a little too cheesy and the story needed too much explaining from the characters for me to give this anything above a (very solid) 8.5.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
All-New X-Factor #4

Mar 13, 2014

So far I'm really digging this incarnation of the X-Factor. It's witty, kind of cheesy, nicely energetic and an all around blast. I can't wait to see what's in hold for next month because Anka's cover once again makes the upcoming issue look really enticing.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
All-New X-Men #16

Sep 4, 2013

I love Immonen's art and some of the panels in this issue just dripped with epicity.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
All-New X-Men #17

Oct 2, 2013

And despite the fact that I'm getting my knickers in a bunch about some of the story construction, I must admit, the writing mechanics in that bo

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
All-New X-Men #18

Nov 13, 2013

Yeah, what is a relatively tame issue is beautiful in its characters and small moments.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
All-New X-Men #19

Nov 27, 2013

Very meh. A forgettable story and a steep price for a small comic, take it or leave it.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
All-New X-Men #20

Dec 18, 2013

This whole arc is shaping up to be skippable. Not a very compelling story of the X-Men, but it might bring fans in to see X-23 in action. This is made even more disappointing considering we know how well this creative team can do. It's not like I'm going to be dropping All-New X-Men anytime soon, I'm just not enjoying it all that much.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
All-New X-Men #21

Jan 15, 2014

This issue and arc are entirely skippable.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
All-New X-Men #22.NOW

Jan 22, 2014

It sure looks good. With a giant #1 and some pretty font, this issue was all ready to take this series in an entirely different direction. And when Stuart Immonen is on pencils, little can go wrong. But still, this issue was a total drag with piss-poor dialogue and a weak story. This crossover shows few signs of improving, however, I plan to stick around to see it conclude.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
All-New X-Men #23

Feb 13, 2014

This was the least successful issue of All-New X-Men to date, but that doesn't mean things can't change. From what we've seen so far, Guardians might be a strong enough tie-in to carry this crossover even if we don't see some better material in this book.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Amazing X-Men #1

Nov 6, 2013

An ambitious and well-made premier of a promising new series.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Amazing X-Men #2

Dec 4, 2013

Yes, this is a fantastic comic. Jason Aaron perfectly captures the fun nature of this team without making everything a joke. The story is quickly paced and doesn't try to do too much. McGuinness's work is incredible and makes the terrific story just that much better.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Amazing X-Men #3

Jan 16, 2014

This is awesome. One of my favorite X-Men books on shelves keeps on rolling. Although I didn't mention it above, for the sake of refraining from repitition: Ed McGuinness's artwork is ridiculously good. He has an attention to detail and expressions that elevates the books personality while keeping things nicely in control with jaw-dropping backgrounds.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
ApocalyptiGirl: An Aria for the End Times #1

May 21, 2015

This MacLean guy should be watched very closely. Every work he produces is brilliant and this spectacular graphic novel may be the best yet. An easy recommendation to anyone who likes being happy.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Archie (2015) #1

Jul 8, 2015

It's great! This issue was truly the perfect way to start off an Archie series that promises to be thoughtful, dramatic and tons of fun.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Ash and the Army of Darkness #1

Oct 30, 2013

The art is different, I'll give it that. It sort of works with the trippy writing and scenes, but by itself looks sloppy. I really disliked how Dennis Calero drew faces, the eyes and nose were disproportionate and the shading around the eyebrows and cheeks makes everyone look like raisins.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Astounding Villain House One-Shot #1

Oct 30, 2013

The issue is simple yet sophisticated in its art. Some may dislike the cartoony style, but it really compliments the writing perfectly.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Bad Blood #1

Dec 31, 2013

Bad Blood may have just moved up to my favorite Dark Horse mini, along with Never Ending. It has so much potential to be just a mind-blowing and extremely moving story about some great characters. I very much enjoyed this debut issue and would love to see things just get better from here.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Bad Blood #2

Feb 5, 2014

Yes, it is. As Jonathan Maberry said in my interview with him, "It's not the feel good story of the year" but we don't hit anyone over the head with it." This is a depressing, interesting, contemporary look at a different side of the vampire genre.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.5
Batman (2011) #28

Feb 12, 2014

This issue is the definition of skippable. It in no way enhances or moves along the normal Batman story but just serves as an advertisement and teaser for Batman Eternal. This is a lot to be asking of fans to pay for especially when there are a shorter number of pages to allow for the American Vampire sample.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Batman (2011) #35

Oct 9, 2014

Yes. Batman #35 gave me so much promise for this arc and for Joker's future as a character. I am thrilled to read the next issue!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Buzzkill #2

Oct 16, 2013

All of the writing in this book is absolutely stellar. From dialogue to narration to just bad guys monologuing, all of the speaking feels natural but keeps a defined

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Buzzkill #3

Nov 20, 2013

There is very little that is left to be desired from this issue. The team made good use of the pages and created a memorable issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Buzzkill #4

Dec 18, 2013

Not good, the best. My favorite mini-series of the year wraps up with a hell of a conclusion.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Colder: Toss The Bones #1

Sep 30, 2015

Colder: Toss the Bones #1 aptly starts what looks to be a very compelling horror story. There are many fun and bone-chilling stylistic tools in place that make this issue an enjoyable and satisfying read. You will not soon be able to purge Nimble Jack's menacing character from your brain. This is a truly frightening comic with a pitch-perfect villain.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Conan / Red Sonja #1

Jan 17, 2015

Yes! This is a wholly enjoyable comic, I'm glad that I can finally get behind and recommend a Red Sonja comic. I am very excited to see how the next four issues unfold and to get some more of this gorgeous artwork.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Conan the Barbarian #19

Aug 22, 2013

The art is just gorgeous. All of the shadows and coloring give the book just the right feeling. The blood splatters all over the page in a bright red that draws you in. The scene in the church especially is just gorgeous and makes the fight scenes just that much better.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Conan the Barbarian #20

Sep 18, 2013

As I mentioned in the beginning of this review, art has a lot to do with how the story is told; and thankfully, this story is told with beautiful art. Although some of the expressions on the faces are inconsistent, the colors are just gorgeous and all the movements and action flow naturally.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Daredevil (2014) #1

Mar 19, 2014

Hell yeah! I'm definitely on board for this run, even though I missed the last one, and recommend you come aboard as well. Also, I might have scored this issue high just for the horns on the second “D” in the logo. That's a great little touch.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Daredevil: Dark Nights #3

Aug 8, 2013

As always the art is phenomenal. All of the snow scenes could not have been more lifelike and gripping. All of the emotions were so real, the action so believable. You could almost feel Daredevil's agony as he trudged through the snow. Overall terrific art.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Deadly Class #5

May 29, 2014

I daresay this is the best chapter of Deadly Class so far, and Deadly Class is pretty damned good. I can't wait to see where this story goes next!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Doodle Jump #1

Jun 18, 2014

Looking at this comic as a comic based off of a video game: it was very good. Looking at it just as an independent and entertaining comic book: it was still good, but less so. This comic really succeeded in bringing the game to new places in a different medium, despite the weirdly convenient and random story.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Drumhellar #2

Dec 11, 2013

Yeah, I liked it a lot. Besides the fact that most of the story is totally lost on me this is a well written, well paced comic featuring some of the greatest comic art to ever be published. This is a fun, weird story that everyone should relish, because something of its like may never be created again.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Drumhellar #4

Feb 5, 2014

Without a doubt. Drumheller is really starting to come into focus, and I'm so glad that it is. Although it keeps up its trippy, random feel, this comic is starting to be more and more enjoyable as the writer spends more time developing the plot and the characters.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Goof #3

May 14, 2014

This comic is certainly funny and does seem to be a step up in moral consciousness than the debut issue, but I still can't say that I agree with the author's decision to have his clear protagonist do something so wrong. I will definitely keep reading for love of the author's witty dialogue and the artist's prowess. I am not ready to recommend this book quite yet, but I can say that I enjoyed reading it.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Grimm Fairy Tales Presents: Ascension #2

Mar 12, 2014

It's a solid second issue that has some key character developments. I am excitedly awaiting Helsing's involvement in the plot and the next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Grimm Fairy Tales Presents: Neverland: Age of Darkness #1

Mar 12, 2014

I'd say yes. This title surprised me in being quite entertaining and providing a nice jumping on point for a new reader such as myself. I have to say, I am looking forward to seeing the rest of Nathan's tale as the author has succeeded in capturing my attention.

View Issue       View Full Review
1.0
Grimm Fairy Tales Presents: Quest #1

Nov 27, 2013

The writing is kind of bland and melodramatic. Again, everything is made so emotional that we just don't have the ability to enjoy any of the banter.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Guardians of the Galaxy (2013) #11.NOW

Feb 5, 2014

I'd say my first issue back with the Guardians was a fun one, and a productive one story wise. I'll be sticking around, in part because I want to see how the crossover plays out, but also because I like this books direction.

View Issue       View Full Review
3.0
Guardians of the Galaxy (2013) #13

Mar 26, 2014

This was sort of a non-ending with a standard routine of people switching sides and everything just returning to the way it was. No real shockers here, nothing that will make you question everything you thought you knew about the X-Men, just some minor shifts that don't justify all of the story we've had to endure.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Halo: Escalation #1

Dec 11, 2013

Leaps and bounds better than the last series, that's for damn sure. A lot of the story is really hard to understand, especially for all of us who aren't fans of the game. That was really the only reason keeping me from giving this book the highest possible rating, just the fact that I had to reread and decipher every single sentence.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Halo: Escalation #2

Jan 8, 2014

Yeah, I'd say so. With an incredibly intricate plot and breakneck pacing, this issue carries the story right along and was a blast to read. Art by Sergio Arino is great with carrying the various movements of the characters, despite being a little rough on the face work. Overall, a fun and thrilling issue with elements that I will look forward to seeing later in this series.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Halo: Initiation #1

Aug 14, 2013

The art by Marco Castiello is decent and some of the panels stand out well. Even better are the beautiful backgrounds that evoke a watercolor feel. Some of the characters look pretty stiff at times, but that's forgivable. 5.0 Pretty good art.Unsatisfactory dialogue.Most of the issue is a bland action scene.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Halo: Initiation #2

Sep 11, 2013

Just like last issue, the art is horrible. The penciling is decent but when accompanied by the thick inking and weird-ass colors and tones it looks god-awful.

View Issue       View Full Review
3.0
Halo: Initiation #3

Oct 9, 2013

And then the action starts. Well, sort of. All we get is a push of a button and an explosion. See, my problem with this book — and it's been this way the whole series — is that we don't get to know the characters at all. I mean, who cares if a bunch of Spartans b

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Hellboy: Winter Special #2016

Jan 27, 2016

Despite the impressive display of artistic capabilities, none of these Hellboy stories reached the full potential of the character, and almost all relied on similar tropes. A winter collection is a fun idea, but for this one, I'd wait to see what's in store for spring.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Hit List #1

Sep 11, 2013

The first thing that got me a little on edge was the overly-sexy cover. Sure, it's nothing too crazy, but I am really against women in comic books being only eye-candy and sex figures. It is both degrading to women and makes them jealous of these perfect looking characters and sets a false example for men that all women should look this way. I was even more displeased to find that in the very first scene a woman is getting treated like trash by her boyfriend. Fortunately his brains are splattered all across the street in no time. But then his assassinator turns right around and shoots the girlfriend

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Howling Commandos Of S.H.I.E.L.D #1

Oct 27, 2015

In short, yes. Although there are minor fixes to be made, this team of zany characters appears to be worth following. I hope that the creative team finds it's groove and starts pumping out more crazy fun.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Invisible Republic #1

Feb 23, 2015

March 18th may just mark the beginning of a new era in comic books, incited by Invisible Republic #1. This book has revolutionary storytelling, captivating characters and a dark and intriguing personality. Comics don't get much better than this.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Invisible Republic #2

Apr 27, 2015

Invisible Republic is rolling, and I'm loving the ride so far. The characters, the action, the dystopian backdrop…everything about this book pulls you in and doesn't let go. I'm also so blessed to have met the creators who are charming and super smart as well as extremely talented. I can't wait for #3!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Jughead (2015) #1

Oct 7, 2015

A refreshing debut. Chip and Erica manage to capture the essential Jughead spirit while also bringing a beloved old character into a new age of comics. Brilliant and entertaining.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Jughead (2015) #2

Nov 17, 2015

This is another very solid issue of Jughead, even if it didn't live up to the quality of it's debut. I recommend this comic for children and adults alike, it's in equal parts thoughtful and playful.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Jughead (2015) #3

Dec 28, 2015

Definitely. Jughead is a pleasure to read every month. Hopefully it maintains its momentum into 2016.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
King: Jungle Jim #1

Feb 3, 2015

Jungle Jim #1 is a good experience despite a few fixes that could be made to make it seem a little more novel. The artwork strangely reminds me of James Cameron's Avatar in its picturesque landscapes and washy colors. It's captivating art to match a fittingly captivating story.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Legends of Red Sonja #1

Nov 6, 2013

I did enjoy the effort put into the second creative team's vignette. It seemed like they were trying as hard as they could to tear it away from the ridiculous tale Simone set in motion. Although this is a noble cause it doesn't work; the vignette could be interesting on its own, but as a part of the overall arc, it doesn't work at all. The art does improve, however.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Legends of Red Sonja #2

Dec 4, 2013

It is, for the most part. This is definitely Simone's best writing on this character, which makes me hopeful for the future of her regular series. All of the guest creators are good enough, but not incredibly memorable.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Magneto (2014) #1

Mar 5, 2014

Not if you don't question it. At face value this issue is very good and has some neat qualities to it, but if you try to understand Magneto's motives or some of the moral values, the plot begins to crumble. Still, pick it up if you like the character and want to see his own personal adventures.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Magneto (2014) #2

Apr 2, 2014

Despite the questionable morals and ideas in this comic, I have to say, I really lost myself in the pages of Magneto #2. It's a very engaging story told expertly, and some of the character's motives at play are very interesting. The art is also thoroughly enjoyable and gets all of the shading exactly right. The Warsaw scenes looked brilliant in the grey tones, just like a silent movie. And the one panel of red at the end of the flashback? That's brilliant yet subtle artistry. Although, I didn't love what's going on conceptually in this book, definitely a recommended read to anyone who's looking for a story that'll really grab you.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Marvel Knights X-Men #1

Nov 13, 2013

I think that the characters are really a weak point for this issue. Rogue is a southern gal so, I mean, why would she talk about anything other than the south, right? (Groan.) Logan is rough and tough, so hey, let's stick to the status quo, right? Kitty is the only one who is at all interesting as a character and she doesn't even get that much spotlight.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Marvel Knights X-Men #2

Dec 8, 2013

It's well made, the writing is solid and the artwork is great, it's just not the most incredible of stories. The action and characters are all kind of forgettable and the reveal at the end was just disappointing. Could it turn out that this series is good? Yes. It's just not doing much for me this far through.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Material #2

Jun 24, 2015

It's certainly good. Although this book hasn't won me over quite as quickly as some of Ales's other works, I'm definitely enjoying it more as it progresses.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Never Ending #1

Nov 29, 2013

The themes and organization of the story make it worthwhile and seem unlike anything else, save some similarities to Watchmen. It's a fun read that you could definitely throw $4 at. I definitely enjoyed this comic enough to be along for the rest of the series.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Never Ending #2

Dec 18, 2013

I liked it. It's a really good book for cramming a lot of related content into one issue and spinning it around a consistent theme. It's definitely a fun read and for $12 for the entire series, you shouldn't miss it.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Never Ending #3

Jan 30, 2014

This is the ultimate closer for a great series. I would even goes as far as to say this issue is the team's best work on the mini. I really loved this series and will continue to follow this team.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Neverboy #1

Mar 3, 2015

I certainly enjoyed it. This debut was exciting if not a touch confusing but with enough intrigue and cool ideas in play to make me hungry for the next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Noctua #2

Oct 9, 2013

The last thing that I'd like to talk about is the origin story/flashback sequence in this issue. What we got to see was sort of an origin within an origin. We get a better look at what caused the transhuman virus and how it affected humanity. This is being told while we get a better look at the life of our hero (more like antihero) before the virus. This gives us a lot of insight and is just fun to read.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Pariah #1

Feb 26, 2014

Pariah #1 has a good heart and an intruiging story, and that aspect of it I enjoyed. However, certain storytelling devices were hindering to the story the creators were trying to get across, making the read uncomfortable and kind of bland.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Punisher (2014) #1

Feb 5, 2014

As it stands, this is my favorite #1 from the All-New Marvel NOW relaunch. It was exciting, human and clever and provided a great opening issue. The artist is perfectly matched to the script and makes this comic visually masterful.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Punisher (2014) #3

Mar 5, 2014

Punisher keeps rocking as we near the climax of the first arc. The only thing I have to dock points for here is the torture scene which was totally uneeded and only made you care less about Frank.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Punisher (2014) #5

May 7, 2014

This comic is really flawed, in a whole bunch of ways. From really frail character motives to nonsensical schemes, this comic feels rushed and contrived. It's really a pity to see such a strong opening to a series dwindle into a sad, subpar ending.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Ragnarok #1

Jul 22, 2014

It certainly wasn't bad. If you're fancying some nice artwork and a fun taste of Norse mythology be sure to pick it up, but if you want a really great storyline, you might not want to spend your money on Ragnarok #1.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Rasputin #6

Jun 23, 2015

This was the return every Rasputin fan was waiting for. It had some great story development, wonderful character moments with Rasputin and a pitch-perfect atmosphere. I simply wish there were more.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Rasputin #7

Jul 29, 2015

If you're not already reading Rasputin, get on it. It's a haunting, personal tale of struggle and woe with clever writing, beautiful storytelling and some of the best art you can find for $4 a month. Yes, it's good.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Rat Queens #3

Nov 29, 2013

Rat Queens is a fun, funny, original series and #3 is no exception. This comic is well worth the money visually and in terms of story. Definitely check it out, it's worth a try!

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Red Sonja (2013) #4

Oct 9, 2013

I enjoyed some parts of it but really some of the parts of this comic were just boring and unneeded. The art was pretty good though, so this issue can be praised for that attribute.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Red Sonja (2013) #5

Nov 20, 2013

This is a bland and uninteresting tale that reads and feels exactly like every issue since the reboot. At least Sonja isn't oversexualized like usual.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Resident Alien: The Suicide Blonde #0

Aug 14, 2013

Fast forward three years and Harry has made a name for himself as a loyal and caring doctor in a small town. Temporarily disabled, a new, young doctor takes over in his absence. People come to Harry to complain about this new doctor who isn̵

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Resident Alien: The Suicide Blonde #1

Sep 11, 2013

I'm not so crazy about the artwork in this issue but I think as an overall piece of art this comic book works very well. The art does compliment the writing by not being as dark and gritty as much comic art is today.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Resident Alien: The Suicide Blonde #2

Oct 2, 2013

But alas, a comic should not only be judged on it's door-quantity. The writing in this issue was exactly right for the book. Peter Hogan did a great job of giving us a good sense of what his characters were really like, more so than in the past two issues. The dynamic between Harry and Asta shifts and progresses, all of the people interrogated have very different and defined personalities and we even get a glimpse at Harry's love-interest back on his home planet.The writing in this issue was exactly right for the book.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Resident Alien: The Suicide Blonde #3

Nov 13, 2013

It surely is. A solid ending to a worthwhile miniseries.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Roche Limit #1

Sep 25, 2014

Roche Limit is a comic I'm proud to share a name with. It's well written and has some great ideas behind it. The artwork is on point and I can't wait to visit this strange intergalactic colony again next month!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Savage Wolverine #10

Oct 25, 2013

Brilliant art and strong characterization make this an issue worth picking up.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Savage Wolverine #14

Jan 9, 2014

Eh, not really. It's so predictable and such a throwaway story that I can't excuse the poor writing. I will say that the art is beautiful and gives the story most of the emotion that was lacking from the unfortunate writing. I appreciate creators trying to branch out, but I really think this creator was brought into this world to draw, not to write.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Star Trek: Khan #1

Oct 16, 2013

Take it or leave it. While it's not the most fresh or sophisticated origin story it's an entertaining read.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Terminator Salvation: The Final Battle #1

Dec 4, 2013

Yeah, worth a shot for sure. A few grievances and shortcomings here and there keep this book from being monumental, but a fun read for any Terminator fans, hardcore or not. The story and pacing make this comic engaging and a great choice to fill that free spot on your pull-list.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Terminator Salvation: The Final Battle #2

Dec 31, 2013

Only sort of. This isn't very engaging or memorable story wise and the writing isn't terrific. I feel like this book could get a (much needed) surge of emotion that would make it much better and would really turn the series around. However, for now, this series can be skipped.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Terminator Salvation: The Final Battle #3

Feb 7, 2014

It will be better in trade format. If someone can sit down and read this whole tale from start to finish I think they will appreciate what JMS is trying to do a lot more. For now I'm sticking with my opinion that this series is lacking in places but still could do good.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
That's Because You're a Robot (One Shot) #1

Jun 11, 2014

I liked it quite a bit. Although it may not be the most elavating comic out there, the kookiness of That's Because You're A Robot charmed the hell out of me.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Auteur #1

Mar 5, 2014

I am actively excited for the next issue of The Auteur. It's an incredibly fun comic and I just want more. I have no idea how the story will continue and grows more grotesque, but I'll be eagerly awaiting each installment.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Darkness: Close Your Eyes #1

Jun 4, 2014

Oh, it's great. I highly recommend this comic and think it is a worthy addition to Kot's shelf of masterpieces.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Darkness: Vicious Traditions #1

Mar 5, 2014

This is a brilliant artistic achievement and should be read and enjoyed by all. Definitely not a gorefest or horror comic like the cover advertises, but rather a study of humans and their nature, set against the backdrop of something horrific.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Fuse #1

Feb 12, 2014

Yes, if you are not already reading a copy of The Fuse #1, get one. From the sophisticated cover to the question-raising conclusion, this is a debut you don't want to miss.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
The Fuse #2

Mar 19, 2014

The Fuse #2 is a little slower-paced, wordier and less stunningly new feeling than the series' debut, but it's still a fantastic and highly recommended read. The characters are ringing really true and developing some recognizable and enjoyable personalities while the plot keeps rushing forward. This is some great storytelling and should be enjoyed by all.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
The Infinity Gauntlet #2

Jun 24, 2015

I didn't enjoy this issue nearly as much as the debut. It was majorly confusing and the plot and dialogue seemed overdone and unoriginal. I will stick around for a few more issues but I cannot wholeheartedly recommend this issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
1.5
The Memory Collectors #1

Oct 9, 2013

This isn't worth your time, to be honest. It might seem a cool concept to some but the execution and story are just so terrible that the concept doesn't matter.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
The Mocking Dead #1

Sep 4, 2013

Just like the title suggests, this book is a complete joke. And not in a good way. The plot is non-existent, the jokes aren't that funny and none of it makes sense. The government has pretty much enlisted a geek who owns a comic-based porn-site to stop the zombie apocalypse. As if the government with people who devote their lives to plan for any kind of attack on

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
The Other Dead #1

Sep 25, 2013

Art wise, this book is pretty solid. The pencils are nice and accurate and the inks and shadings are right for the story and create a gloomy and somewhat hostile tone. While this helps convey a feeling it also makes the reader a little uncomfortable.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
The Other Dead #2

Oct 23, 2013

Do you want to read an exciting comic about zombie animals? If this is what you're into, it's great. I supposed it wouldn't really be that fun for anyone wholly disinterested in the horror genre, though.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
The Other Dead #3

Nov 13, 2013

Not just good, great. Definitely pick this book up for its cutthroat suspense and exciting action.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
The Other Dead #4

Dec 11, 2013

This rip roaring comic delivers hard, gritty action while maintaining a human, (at times) humorous tone with Tommy and the hunter-Obama interactions. All of the writing is top notch and the story continues along in a way that promises a satisfying next couple of issues.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
The Other Dead #5

Jan 29, 2014

But in all seriousness, The Other Dead #5 was a fun issue, with enough gore to go around and Qing Ping Mui again delivering on the artistic front. Aside from a few points of contention about plot decisions, this comic sets up nicely for the finale of Other Dead's first mini-series.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
The Rocketeer / The Spirit: Pulp Friction #1

Jul 24, 2013

This issue is definitely a good way to start the series and obviously gets the story rolling right away. The only thing I wasn't impressed was the scope of the project. It doesn't seem too ambitious or ground-breaking.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
The Rocketeer / The Spirit: Pulp Friction #2

Oct 23, 2013

A fun, old school comic that is definitely worth your cash. In fact, if you could buy only one indie comic this week, choose this.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
The Rocketeer / The Spirit: Pulp Friction #3

Nov 13, 2013

This series truly has a chance to wrap-up well. If Mark Waid can combine all of the threads well and finally reveal who Herr Octopus is, I believe the ending will be a good one and the series will be memorable.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
The Rocketeer / The Spirit: Pulp Friction #4

Dec 18, 2013

Writing and art are great as always, but what else could you expect? Mark Waid's excellent dialogue is really a blast to read and an art in itself to write well. The art also keeps the books tone pulpy yet sophisticated with a slightly more cartoonish look to it than some other comic books these days.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
The Surface #1

Mar 12, 2015

There are parts to The Surface #1 that I really liked, but due to a lack of clarity and some off-putting expositional bits placed throughout, I can't say it's great yet. For me right now it appears that this is going the way of Change, but I'll still be around next issue just because I trust the author.

View Issue       View Full Review
2.0
The Surface #2

Apr 7, 2015

No, not really. Despite some truly amazing artwork The Surface is just not a comic book that I can connect to. If you do understand this comic, I am extremely happy for you, but I just do not want to spend the money and effort trying to decode a comic book when there are so many great books out there that I am able to follow without contacting code talkers.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
The Walking Dead #118

Dec 12, 2013

There were good aspects to this comic, but as a whole, it was only average. The fact that Shiva died seemed a little bit just for dramatic effect and doesn't really help the story much. Charlie's art is solid and the inking is great, but that's a given for this series. Some of the writing techniques are a little questionable, but overall I'm pleased with how this comic read.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Thor: God of Thunder #18

Jan 29, 2014

It was good, but it certainly doesn't live up to expectations. The art is absolutely beautiful and encouraged me to look into more into Das Patoras' work, and on that front I was really pleased. However, it just doesn't seem like Jason Aaron was trying with the story and just thought he could disguise a weak plot with clever dialogue and awesome art.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Triple Helix #1

Oct 9, 2013

A nice mix of old-school spirit and exciting action makes for a pleasing opening issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Triple Helix #2

Nov 13, 2013

If Triple Helix #3 doesn't introduce any new elements next time around " then you might want to consider dropping it, as there's not much here that we haven't seen before.

View Issue       View Full Review
3.0
Triple Helix #3

Dec 4, 2013

Both IDW and John Byrne have created far better works than this, books you should be spending money on and really enjoying. Semi-fun happenings and art without a substantial story just can't keep me interested in this book any longer.

View Issue       View Full Review
1.0
Triple Helix #4

Jan 15, 2014

Definitely not. Byrne fails to end his already subpar mini series well. So much wasted potential here, plenty of story threads that weren't well treated or explained. Not even the fun dialogue and nostalgic art can rescue this mess of a story. I would not recommend this series to anyone who cares about what they are reading.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Uncanny X-Men (2013) #9

Jul 31, 2013

A fun, well told story that adds a lot to the overall narrative.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Uncanny X-Men (2013) #11

Aug 29, 2013

The art is not my thing. I really don't like Frazer Irving and thought he didn't carry the story well. Brian Michael Bendis is a very talented writer however and makes up for Irving's shortcomings with his intriguing dialogue and great storytelling.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Uncanny X-Men (2013) #12

Sep 18, 2013

The art is just brilliant. Although some may be against cartoony art, I love it. Chris Bachalo has great expressions and draws some kick-ass figures. I had the pleasure to meet Tim Townsend just a few weeks ago at Boston Comic-Con. Tim is not only a really nice guy but he is one of the most talented inkers in the industry. Although he is not the only one on the book all of the inks and the colors are delicious and are very consistent.

View Issue       View Full Review
3.0
Uncanny X-Men (2013) #13

Oct 16, 2013

And while I understand that this is a book almost completely rooted in fiction I have to comment on the realism of this comic. Some characters seem to have an unlimited amount of power while characters who we know are tough-as-nails seem weak and soft. And that's not all. The killing and violence is just immoral and as any Marvel reader knows, the X-Men are a group with great moral values. 3.0Bendis is not afraid to kill his babiesArt is a chaotic messThe story is hard to follow and not that interestingDoes not leave the X-Men in a good place

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Uncanny X-Men (2013) #14

Nov 20, 2013

This is a bridge issue that reads more like a one-shot, a rare but wonderful occurrence. Great character development, art and writing in general.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Uncanny X-Men (2013) #15.INH

Dec 11, 2013

What an issue, especially following such a sophisticated and satisfying issue last month, this comic really did wonders in showing the best of the X-Women and Bendis. Really all aspects of this comic were wonderful.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Uncanny X-Men (2013) #16

Jan 15, 2014

For sure. This is the third Uncanny X-Men issue in a row to really knock it out of the park. So many game-changers and intense moment in this incredible issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Uncanny X-Men (2013) #19.NOW

Mar 19, 2014

If you've been reading since the start yes. If you're jumping on now, not at all. I highly recommend this book but only following all of its predecessors. I just think that this marketing gimmick in particular detracts from the actual work and really makes comics less good overall.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Wayward #1

Aug 26, 2014

I anticipate many people will find this story exciting and intriguing, but it's just not for me. I simply can't connect at all with the way this comic is written and besides that one good fight scene, the whole story was pretty bland to me.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Wolverine (2013) #7

Jul 25, 2013

The writing is solid for the most part. Paul Cornell is not my favorite writer in part because he writes mediocre dialogue. Although the pacing is questionable (one of the scenes in a bar made no

View Issue       View Full Review
4.5
Wolverine (2014) #1

Feb 5, 2014

This seems like an uninspired spin on the character with not much more than a lot of backstory to kick the concept off.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Wolverine and the X-Men #36

Sep 25, 2013

I would say that the bulk of the suspense in this comic came from the psychic battlefield. The battle was intense, confusing, dialogue heavy (which I love) and colorful to boot. All of the women played important parts in this fight and the ending was actually pretty neat. Although I love Jason Aaron to death, I don't think he fully understands how to write women's dialogue. I thought some of the talk was kind of clunky and awkward.

View Issue       View Full Review
2.0
Wolverine and the X-Men #37

Oct 24, 2013

What started off as such a promising and terrific crossover is slowly deteriorating.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Wolverine and the X-Men #38

Nov 27, 2013

This is a great start to a promising new arc. Wolverine is definitely the key player in his own book but the kids aren't neglected either. This is the kind of storytelling that engrossed so many readers when this series first started " I hope this level of quality is maintainable throughout the rest of the arc, and hopefully the rest of the series.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Wolverine and the X-Men #39

Dec 11, 2013

You bet. Characterization has always been this series strong suit, and this issue the characters are so very enjoyable. Although the plot may seem a little recycled to some, I definitely had fun reading this comic book.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Wolverine and the X-Men #40

Jan 22, 2014

Most definitely. I continue to delight in this series and it seems like because it's ending this team has decided to amp up the awesome.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Wolverine and the X-Men #41

Feb 12, 2014

It's funny and ironic that Wolverine and the X-Men is reaching its quality peak as it draws towards its end. Now we're doubly sad it's not going to be here. Anyways, another extremely well done issue on all fronts.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Wolverine and the X-Men #42

Feb 26, 2014

Yes, I am very pleased with this finale. It was a solid story with a great closing sentiment. I think that it made the run as a whole very worthwhile and would definitely recommend this series to binge-read. It distinguished itself as a completely unique and brilliant X-Men story and is one of the greatest Logan stories ever.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
X-Men (2013) #5

Sep 12, 2013

7.5Solid installment in the crossover that keeps the story progressingSome great moments and dialogueChock full of plot conveniencesNot enough of the cover team

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
X-Men (2013) #6

Oct 9, 2013

This is the issue that contains the bulk of the action thus far in the crossover and is unmissable if you want the whole story.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
X-Men (2013) #7

Nov 21, 2013

I can say with all honesty that I had a lot of fun reading X-Men this week, something I have not been able to say for a while.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
X-Men (2013) #8

Dec 18, 2013

The X-Women from the JGS will never be as exciting as those from the New Xavier School but they do hold their own as enjoyable characters. I really liked Psylocke in action, the exclusion of Storm for once and a little bit of spunk from Rachel. And, the scene with Roxy and Jubilee was sweet in its own way and again will (hopefully) be followed up with more explanation in the near future.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
X-Men (2013) #9

Jan 22, 2014

Not particularly. It's just too confusing a narrative to get invested in any of the characters, especially when they are so alike. The first two issues of this storyline were so strong that I'll stick around, but if I don't like how they end it, X-Men may be next on the chopping block.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
X-Men: Battle of the Atom #1

Sep 4, 2013

The art is great. Frank Cho is a super talented guy and although it takes away from the length of the actual issue the art gallery in the back is really cool. 9Ambitious, great startWonderful artGreat balance between X-TeamsYet another Sentinel battle

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
X-Men: Battle of the Atom #2

Oct 30, 2013

Artistically this book was a joy to read. Esad Ribic is a phenomenal artist and this is some of his better work. I totally agree with the decision to make all of the epilogues have a different artist, that gave them some div

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Zero #4

Dec 18, 2013

Zero is the best. I would read this story over and over tens of times and draw new inspiration each time. Gareth is such an amazingly written and drawn character and will be branded into my memory forever. This is a powerful, moving, beautiful example of comic storytelling at its very best.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Zero #5

Jan 22, 2014

So yes, Zero is great. Another knock-out issue that perfectly concludes the arc.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Zero #6

Mar 19, 2014

Ales Kot does it again! Another stellar issue with the help of Vanesa Del Rey whose charcoal lines and dark shading made this issue come to life. The motion and paneling make the action so real and the storytelling surreal. This team knows when to have a page with more negative space than panels, when to use diagonally aligned panels and when to have epic two page-spreads. Everything is beautiful both in words and pictures, I thoroughly recommend this comic.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Zero #8

May 21, 2014

Yeah, definitely. If not one of the better issues of Zero, still a great comic. I loved how the action was handled and continue to love Kot's characters and the story he is telling. In fact, I love Zero so much that today I bought the trade paperback at my store, even after reading all the digital issues. Keep it up Image!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Zombies vs. Robots #1

Jan 21, 2015

Yes, this is quite an enjoyable comic book. It sends a breath of fresh air into the idea of zombies and despite some awkwardness in exposition, is a delightful read. The artwork is suitably drab but at the same time exciting and sharp. The artwork in the shorts at the end are also spot on.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

November

October

More