Sasha Kaplan's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Comic Watch Reviews: 11
7.3Avg. Review Rating

7.8
Hawkeye: Kate Bishop (2021) #1

Nov 22, 2021

I hope to see Cassie and other Young Avengers members pop up in future issues.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Hawkeye: Kate Bishop (2021) #2

Dec 22, 2021

I liked this issue. It was fun, it wasnt super action-packed, but it didnt need to be. Kate continues to delight and shows why she is the best Hawkeye by helping people, and telling anybody off that needs to hear it.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.9
Hawkeye: Kate Bishop (2021) #3

Jan 12, 2022

The story continues to keep me hooked, the art did take some getting used to. But now, I think it does an amazing job with acrobatic action sequences that one would expect from a Hawkeye comic. All in all, this is a comic book everyone should be picking up. I am excited about the next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.6
Hawkeye: Kate Bishop (2021) #4

Feb 9, 2022

The artistic scope and emotional journey conveyed throughout the previous issues are lacking here. Nevertheless, the promise of what is to come keeps me interested in the comic. But this was not as strong an issue as we have previously seen. I hope we see Cassie and America appear at some point, because otherwise, all the teasing is unfair.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.7
Hawkeye: Kate Bishop (2021) #5

Mar 9, 2022

Be sure to read the whole adventure and pick up issue five. Its a soft conclusion to a gentle comic about two sisters learning to love each other and understand each other.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.1
The Last Annihilation: Wiccan & Hulkling #1

Aug 30, 2021

Although the art is not the best, the story and dialogue more than compensates by crafting an emotional character-driven tale that reminds us that Wiccan and Hulkling are a force to be reckoned with, whether they're fighting together, worlds apart, or right beside each other. Oliveira delivers a well-written and characterized one-shot set amid not just The Last Annihilation, but also continuing the threads that may be carried further into Trial of Magneto.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
X-Men: The Trial of Magneto (2021) #1

Aug 18, 2021

It's also worth mentioning that the father/child dynamic between Magneto and Wanda also demonstrates a lack of forethought abut the characters and their relationship, as though Williams is going to unnecessarily extreme lengths to make Magneto the bad guy. It's a harsh implication to portray Magneto as the worst father ever and feels downright harsh, tarnishing an otherwise intriguing narrative.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
X-Men: The Trial of Magneto (2021) #2

Sep 15, 2021

The story seems a bit muddled, once again with unnecessary word choice and odd characterization for Magneto. Something is missing from the story that will hopefully be explained later, as will the odd dialogue and odd character choices. That being said it is worth picking up to continue the story, even though there are some odd choices it delivers a couple of interesting punches and plot threads.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.4
X-Men: The Trial of Magneto (2021) #3

Oct 20, 2021

Although the mystery surrounding Wanda is intriguing, it seems like Williams isn't sure of the direction she's taking the story. So much is already going on that isn't being addressed that I am left to wonder what the point is?

View Issue       View Full Review
5.8
X-Men: The Trial of Magneto (2021) #4

Dec 1, 2021

This is not the Trail of Magneto, this is yet another convoluted Wanda Maximoff story, and we are just the spectators. We are running low on time for answers. At this point, Im seeing this through to the end, and I hope that the end is worth it.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
X-Men: The Trial of Magneto (2021) #5

Dec 22, 2021

This was ok at best and all over the place at worse. Although we know who killed Wanda and got a new status quo for Krakoa, it feels like it missed the mark completely. The Trial of Magneto might be the biggest misnomer in comics this year, if not the last five.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

September

August

More