Secret Invasion #5

Writer: Ryan North Artist: Francesco Mobili Publisher: Marvel Comics Release Date: March 15, 2023 Cover Price: $3.99 Critic Reviews: 2 User Reviews: 9
5.8Critic Rating
7.4User Rating

The Skrulls have tightened their envious grasp on the world as their plan creeps toward its ultimate culmination?and with Maria Hill, Nick Fury and Tony Stark off the board, all seems lost! The Skrulls have nuclear codes. They've got people in positions of power. But for once, they DON'T have the element of surprise. Twists, turns, shocking reveals and a conclusion you won't want to miss! This invasion is going out with a BANG.
Rated T+

  • 6.5
    Weird Science Marvel Comics - mrgabehernandez Mar 16, 2023

    Secret Invasion #5 ends the arc with a lot of gotchas, exposition dialog, twists, and bait-and-switch maneuvering. The Skrull's plot is well executed, but the way the heroes save the day is thin on believable details and heavy on convenient contrivances. Read Full Review

  • 5.0
    ComicBook.com - Logan Moore Mar 15, 2023

    All in all, Secret Invasion had the potential to be a lot more, especially given the various characters that were involved. Instead, I doubt I'll even remember that this storyline even existed in just a few short years. Read Full Review

  • 8.0
    Amazing Psycamorean Mar 17, 2023

    Well, *I* liked it. Or that's what I would've said if not for this blunder: There is a moment where they show a map, with locations, and they put Arlington, Virginia, in central Virginia... The unmitigated gall of the creators here. For those geographically challenged out there, Arlington is right at the northern tip of Virginia, right next to Washington, DC, and Maryland. And here they are just throwing it in like Lynchburg or something. Honestly, I hope someone was fired for that one.

  • 6.5
    fzanca Mar 17, 2023

    This issue is a product of not having a long enough story. Some story are too decompressed and this one is the opposite. We have no reason to believe that these group of Skrulls would turn on teh others. Maria Hill's test by simply shooting at them is not much of a test at all (though I did like the plot twist) and a get a two page spread of a fight scene - and that's it. Then we get three pages of Maria telling Fury that she needs to be better and not be a Skrull-aphobe. Give me a break. We have one panel of Capt. Marvel intercepting the missle after it had already happened. This book needed another issue to really up the ante, instead, it just seems rushed and non-eventful.

  • 5.5
    KittyNone Mar 15, 2023

    I regret to report that none of these reveals were especially shocking

  • 10
    Bruno Mael Mar 16, 2023

  • 8.5
    retcon_D Mar 18, 2023

  • 7.5
    JBL Reviews Jun 23, 2023

  • 7.5
    Adsun22 Mar 21, 2023

  • 7.0
    K-23 Jun 19, 2023

  • 6.5
    jmprados Apr 10, 2023

Reviews for the Week of...

April

March

More