Logan Moore's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: ComicBook.com Reviews: 117
6.8Avg. Review Rating

5
Abbott: 1973 #1

Jan 20, 2021

With this being only a five-issue run, the next installment feels like it will need to do quite a bit for me to become more invested in this follow-up series

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Abbott: 1973 #2

Feb 17, 2021

I mentioned in my review of issue #1 that Abbott 1973 felt like it was getting off to a slow start and that trend has largely continued here in the second chapter.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Abbott: 1973 #3

Mar 17, 2021

We'll see if Abbott 1973 finishes strong in its next few issues, but this book has largely been more of the same.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Abbott: 1973 #4

Apr 28, 2021

I continue to be so underwhelmed by Abbott 1973.

View Issue       View Full Review
4
Abbott: 1973 #5

May 26, 2021

Abbott 1973 didn't click with me from the outset and this last chapter really only served to verify how I felt about it in the first place.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Amazing Fantasy (2021) #1

Jul 28, 2021

If you're looking for something associated with Marvel that is still unique compared to everything else available at the current moment, Amazing Fantasy could be just what you're looking for.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Amazing Fantasy (2021) #2

Aug 25, 2021

Amazing Fantasy only continues to grow more strange in this second issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Amazing Fantasy (2021) #3

Sep 29, 2021

I'm finding myself less interested in Amazing Fantasy as this series continues onward. Although what this story has built to isn't bad, much of the potential that I thought it had at the outset has started to dwindle.

View Issue       View Full Review
4
Bermuda #1

Jul 21, 2021

Bermuda could have potential moving forward depending on how its story develops, but for now, this first installment hasn't done much to convince me that it will be anything special.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Bermuda #2

Aug 18, 2021

Between giant monsters, strange creatures, and now the introduction to a city filled with pirates, Bermuda definitely has an inventive world to bring readers into. It's just the story that is at the center of this comic that I continue to not be engaged with.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Bermuda #3

Sep 15, 2021

If nothing else, Bermuda #3 is one that is filled with action from start to finish, which makes for a lot of excitement. Still, I wish I was more hopeful about where Bermuda was heading in its forthcoming final issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Carnage: Black, White & Blood #1

Mar 24, 2021

Assuming you have been craving more Carnage stories since Absolute Carnage wrapped up, Black, White & Blood will absolutely scratch that itch and will hopefully continue to do so moving forward.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Carnage: Black, White & Blood #2

Apr 21, 2021

This is an easy recommendation if you're hungry for some bite-sized stories that are all of incredibly high quality.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Carnage: Black, White & Blood #3

May 5, 2021

If you're looking for some excellent Carnage storytelling, you really can't do better than this.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Carnage: Black, White & Blood #4

Jul 14, 2021

Black, White & Blood might have reached its low point here with issue #4, but it's still worth picking up if you have enjoyed past installments.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Clans of Belari #1

Jul 7, 2021

I'm hoping that the characters will get better in time though as this series does seem to have some promise.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Clans of Belari #2

Aug 11, 2021

If nothing else, I will say I'm more invested and interested in seeing where Clans of Belari goes from this point on, so in that regard, this is a solid second outing.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Clans of Belari #3

Sep 15, 2021

I continue to commend the world-building that Clans of Belari has once again achieved in this third issue, but I'm definitely starting to struggle when it comes to clicking with the main characters of this series.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Cold Dead War #1

Mar 24, 2021

This first issue has definitely laid the groundwork well and I'm interested in seeing where things go in the future but I don't feel all that pulled into this world at the moment.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Cold Dead War #2

Apr 28, 2021

Although I'm still not really invested in the overall story and characters of Cold Dead War, there are enough sequences in this in this second issue to keep you thoroughly entertained.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Cold Dead War #3

Jun 23, 2021

While this continues to not be a series that I would suggest for its deep storytelling, Cold Dead War at least remains a fun read and is worth looking into if you'd like a series that doesn't take itself too seriously.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Dark Blood #1

Jul 21, 2021

And while there are still questions to be had after the first issue of Dark Blood, writer Latoya Morgan doesn't waste any time in setting the stage for what this series will become.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Dark Blood #2

Aug 25, 2021

I'm not sure how Dark Blood is going to play out in the future, but I continue to remain invested in everything that has happened up to this point.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Dark Blood #3

Sep 22, 2021

All in all, I continue to be interested in Dark Blood and I'm very much looking forward to the coming installments in this six-issue run.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Demon Days (2021): Mariko #1

Jun 16, 2021

This might be a book that some fans will really find enjoyment in, although I don't think it's for everyone.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Fear Case #1

Feb 3, 2021

Even if the answers to some of the questions that have been presented in this first issue don't turn out to be as interesting as the questions themselves, Matt Kindt has done an excellent job of making me look forward to what's coming in the future.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Fear Case #2

Mar 3, 2021

By all accounts, this latest chapter doesn't bring with it any stark revelations about the future of the series, but I'm still very much on board with where this is heading.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Fear Case #3

Apr 7, 2021

I'm not sure where this series could be going next, all I do know is that I'm very much looking forward to reading the upcoming issue. It's likely going to be the biggest one yet.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Fear Case #4

May 5, 2021

If you've been reading Fear Case since its beginning, I have a hard time imagining that you'll be disappointed by how it ends. It leaves you with something to think about by the time you reach its final page, which is the mark of any good piece of media.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Gamma Flight #1

Jun 23, 2021

If you have been reading The Immortal Hulk in any form over the past few years, this is an easy add for your pull list.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Gamma Flight #2

Jul 21, 2021

Seriously, add Gamma Flight to your pull list if you haven't done so already.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Gamma Flight #3

Aug 18, 2021

This very much feels like a team-focused series where each member of the team is getting its own time to shine, which I appreciate.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Gamma Flight #4

Sep 22, 2021

The majority of this book sets in motion the events that will take place in issue #5, which is the final book in this mini-series. And while there is some good character work and action to be had in this issue, what's here didn't really resonate with me in a major way.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Gamma Flight #5

Oct 13, 2021

Many of the different character arcs end in a satisfying way, even though I do feel like this series came to a conclusion a bit too suddenly.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Gods of Brutality #1

Jul 28, 2021

While the elevator pitch alone makes is enough to make this an enjoyable first issue, the writing throughout is spotty and unnatural sounding at times.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Heroes Reborn (2021): Squadron Savage #1

Jun 9, 2021

If you're being selective when it comes to the Heroes Reborn offshoots that you're looking to read, this is one you can feel comfortable adding to your pull list.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
King In Black: Captain America #1

Mar 3, 2021

It sheds a lot of light on some of the self-doubt that one of Marvel's most iconic heroes carries with him. I'm not sure if this is a throughline that will continue in subsequent issues, but I enjoyed this first installment a lot because of how different it was compared to what I was expecting.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
King In Black: Ghost Rider #1

Mar 31, 2021

It's an issue that has more to do with the current run of Ghost Rider than it does the ongoing "King in Black" saga. As such, it's worth the skip if you're solely looking to keep up with the larger "King in Black" story on its own.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Maestro: War & Pax #1

Jan 20, 2021

Maestro has been a joy to read over the past year and that continues so far with War & Pax.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Maestro: War & Pax #2

Feb 24, 2021

Even though not a lot happens in this issue. I'm very much intrigued by the direction in which things are heading.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Maestro: War & Pax #3

Mar 24, 2021

While there are some lingering questions that I have about where this series is going next, I have more than enough confidence at this point that the resolutions will be satisfying.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Maestro: War & Pax #4

Apr 14, 2021

Maestro: War and Pax #4 is an enjoyable yet predictable penultimate chapter.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Maestro: War & Pax #5

May 26, 2021

War and Pax has been a fun ride over the past few months and based upon the ending of this book, it looks like we're in for even more enjoyment with Maestro in the future.

View Issue       View Full Review
4
Maniac of New York #1

Feb 3, 2021

What can be found in this first issue isn't bad, especially when it comes to the art, but if this series is going to pull me in further, it needs to do a lot more legwork.

View Issue       View Full Review
4
Maniac of New York #2

Mar 10, 2021

I continue to just find it hard to connect with Maniac of New York.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Maniac of New York #3

Apr 14, 2021

I'm still not really hooked on Maniac of New York as a whole, but I'm hoping that future installments will continue to improve in this manner.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Maniac of New York #4

May 12, 2021

This is the most action-packed issue of Maniac of New York so far, which is both a good and bad thing.

View Issue       View Full Review
4
Maniac of New York #5

Jun 9, 2021

Maniac of New York was never something that clicked with me, sadly, and I can't recommend picking up this five-issue arc when there are so many other great comics available at the moment.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Marvel's Voices: Legacy #1

Feb 24, 2021

The stories here aren't meant to be groundbreaking, necessarily, but they are supposed to shed new light on some characters that we may not see all that frequently. And to that end, it serves as not only a great read, but a fantastic way to celebrate this month-long observance.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Orcs (2021) #1

Feb 10, 2021

Orcs is a very playful read with lots of tongue in cheek humor.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Orcs (2021) #2

Mar 17, 2021

Orcs is still one of the most charming comics I have read in recent months.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Orcs (2021) #3

Apr 21, 2021

Although issue #3 isn't a landmark piece of storytelling for the comic book medium, it continues to be fun more than anything. And that's the most important part.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Orcs (2021) #4

May 19, 2021

I wouldn't say I dislike Orcs at this point. It just needs some more structure to get me further invested.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Orcs (2021) #5

Jun 9, 2021

The last issue of Orcs definitely slowed things down quite a bit, and that slower pace has continued here in issue #5. I'm still finding that this series is in need of a larger goal at this point in time.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Orcs (2021) #6

Jul 14, 2021

After slowing things down a bit for a couple of issues, Orcs has delivered an action-packed installment that is filled with witty banter and great character moments.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Ordinary Gods #1

Jul 7, 2021

This is one to have on your radar.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Ordinary Gods #2

Aug 11, 2021

Even though there are still many more questions to be had than answers at this point, I'm still very excited to see how Ordinary Gods evolves from here. And if the last panel of this issue is anything to go off of, this series seems like it's only just beginning to gear up.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Ordinary Gods #3

Sep 8, 2021

All in all, if you're not already reading Ordinary Gods, I definitely suggest you start getting on board right now. It seems like this series is only primed to get better as time goes on.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Ordinary Gods #4

Oct 13, 2021

Even though not a lot happens in issue #4, teases like this keep me interested in this series even when it moves a bit slower.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Out of Body #1

Jun 2, 2021

Overall, I'm looking forward to seeing where Out of Body goes but I'm unsure what to make of it as a whole right now.

View Issue       View Full Review
4
Out of Body #2

Jul 7, 2021

Out of Body isn't bad, but I'm still not feeling pulled into this world or characters as much as I would like.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Out of Body #3

Aug 4, 2021

I still don't know if I'm personally enjoying Out of Body all that much on a personal level, but the narrative is definitely becoming more coherent as time goes on, which is a nice start.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Out of Body #4

Sep 29, 2021

The book moves at a very brisk pace and starts to actually try to unravel the mystery at the center of this narrative. Still, I don't find myself all of that engaged with the plot.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Rick and Morty: Rick's New Hat #1

Jun 2, 2021

If you're a fan of the show and are looking for something to tide you over until the start of season five, this first issue should at the very least be able to elicit a chuckle or two from you.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Rick and Morty: Rick's New Hat #2

Jul 21, 2021

I continue to be impressed with how spot-on the writing in Rick and Morty: Rick's New Hat is when compared to the TV series. That being said, I'm also starting to think that this same writing is a better fit for the television medium.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Rick and Morty: Rick's New Hat #3

Sep 8, 2021

Despite my qualms, this third issue is at least quite funny and the constant change of locale leads to a number of good jokes. Plus, there's a Pickle Rick sighting, which is always good to see.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Rick and Morty: Rick's New Hat #4

Oct 6, 2021

Rick and Morty: Rick's New Hat #4 is the most asinine so far"and that's saying something.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Savage (2021) #1

Feb 17, 2021

Regardless of what's next, this opening issue is quite fun and is unlike anything else I have read lately.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Savage (2021) #2

Mar 17, 2021

Savage continues to be a surprise and is worth checking out.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Savage (2021) #3

Apr 14, 2021

Savage continues to be the weirdest ongoing comic book that I'm reading, but that's not a complaint in the slightest.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Savage (2021) #4

May 12, 2021

As a whole, Savage is one of the most surprising comics I have read in quite some time and is an easy recommendation for anyone who enjoys the medium.

View Issue       View Full Review
4
Savage Hearts #1

Jul 14, 2021

I can see Savage Hearts getting quite better as the series moves forward, but for now, I wish this first chapter did more to capitalize on its premise.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Savage Hearts #2

Aug 18, 2021

This second issue does a good job of surprisingly fleshing out the two main characters in ways that I wasn't really expecting. And while I'm unsure where this series is going to go in the future, I'm hoping that it will begin to have more moments like this.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Savage Hearts #3

Sep 15, 2021

It has a sort of 1980s cartoon flair that really amplifies the overall tone. Pick this series up if you're a more humor-focused comic at the moment.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Shang-Chi (2021) #1

May 19, 2021

Based on the first issue of Marvel's new Shang-Chi run, this seems like an excellent starting point. Not only does it do a great job of familiarizing you with the character's backstory, it features some really fun writing and characters.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Shang-Chi (2021) #2

Jun 30, 2021

Marvel's new Shang-Chi series continues to be one of the more enjoyable comics that I have read in quite some time.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Shang-Chi (2021) #3

Jul 28, 2021

In short, pick up Shang-Chi if you haven't already. It's quite good.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Shang-Chi (2021) #4

Sep 8, 2021

If you just saw Legend of the Ten Rings in theaters and are looking to dig into Shang-Chi even more, this current series continues to be great.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Shang-Chi (2021) #5

Oct 13, 2021

Shang-Chi continues to be a fun read with every new issue, but this latest chapter is probably my least favorite so far.

View Issue       View Full Review
4
St. Mercy #1

Aug 25, 2021

St. Mercy could have promise moving forward, but this first issue felt much too grandiose for its own good.

View Issue       View Full Review
4
St. Mercy #2

Sep 22, 2021

The story at the center of this conflict is somewhat interesting, but I fail to see how it plays back into the events from the first book in a meaningful way. I'm sure those answers will come in due time, but for now, I'm still left scratching my head and wondering where this series is going.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
The Golem Walks Among Us! #1

Aug 4, 2021

Those who are already fans of Joe Golem will continue to find enjoyment in this first issue, although anyone who is unfamiliar with the character could surely get a kick out of this book as well.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
The Golem Walks Among Us! #2

Sep 29, 2021

This two-issue run of The Golem Walks Among Us is crazy in all of the right ways.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
The Last Witch #1

May 5, 2021

While the series seems to be taking a break for the time being, I'm perhaps more interested than ever before in seeing where The Last Witch goes from this point.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
The Last Witch #3

Mar 10, 2021

As a whole, this latest issue is incredibly solid and the art by V.V. Glass and Natalia Nesterenko continues to be lovely.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
The Last Witch #4

Apr 7, 2021

Overall, this is another strong issue in a series that continues to be a consistent joy to read.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
The Legend of Shang-Chi #1

Feb 3, 2021

What's here isn't anything groundbreaking, but it feels like a classic comic book story. As such, it's pretty hard not to like.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
The Marvels (2021) #1

Apr 28, 2021

It remains to be seen where The Marvels goes from here, but this opening issue has"at the very least"sold me on the idea Busiek and company are pitching.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
The Marvels (2021) #2

May 26, 2021

The Marvels slows things down a bit more in this second issue, but I think it's a wise decision.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
The Marvels (2021) #3

Jun 30, 2021

This series as a whole continues to weave a really unique narrative while each individual issue on its own has more than enough to enjoy in the moment.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
The Marvels (2021) #4

Aug 18, 2021

I still continue to like the format of The Marvels a lot, but this has been the first issue in the series where I've failed to see it being used in an interesting manner.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
The Marvels (2021) #5

Sep 29, 2021

Just when I thought that The Marvels might be running out of a bit of steam, issue #5 has once again reminded me why I've enjoyed this series so much up until this point.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
The Mighty Valkyries (2021) #1

Apr 21, 2021

Lots of the book, as you might imagine, sets up what is to come in the ensuing installments, but there's still a great mix of witty writing and action sequences in issue #1 to hold your attention all the way through.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
The Mighty Valkyries (2021) #2

May 19, 2021

This might become an issue I'll enjoy more in retrospect once I see how this series plays out, but for now, it feels like a purely transitional chapter.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
The Mighty Valkyries (2021) #3

Jun 16, 2021

While these individual threads are pretty compelling on their own, I feel like I'm still waiting to see how this series is going to eventually link all of these stories together and create a more overarching narrative.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
The Mighty Valkyries (2021) #4

Jul 28, 2021

As a whole, The Mighty Valkyries feels like it might be headed for a very rushed conclusion and I'm not sure if it will stick the landing.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
The Mighty Valkyries (2021) #5

Sep 15, 2021

The final result isn't necessarily bad, but The Mighty Valkyries as a whole feels a bit disjointed and rushed as a result.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Thor & Loki: Double Trouble #1

Mar 10, 2021

It's not a series that is going to provide you with deep storytelling, but it's not really supposed to. In a time where some comics are taking themselves a bit too seriously, this issue feels like a breath of fresh air.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Thor & Loki: Double Trouble #2

Apr 14, 2021

While you're not going to get any sort of deep storytelling from Thor & Loki: Double Trouble, it'll be hard to read without cracking a smile.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Thor & Loki: Double Trouble #3

May 5, 2021

While this is more of a transition installment in Thor & Loki, I'm still looking forward to what wacky hijinks it will have in store next time.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Thor & Loki: Double Trouble #4

Jul 7, 2021

If you're looking for a series to pick up and ready with someone young in your life, Thor & Loki: Double Trouble is a fantastic and fun entry point to the medium.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Time Before Time #1

May 12, 2021

It's one of the more refreshing comic books I have read in quite a while and I can't wait to see how it evolves in the future.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Time Before Time #2

Jun 16, 2021

While there is less that happens in the grand scheme of things in this installment, I continue to very much be invested in where things are going in the future.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Time Before Time #3

Jul 21, 2021

I'm not sure what's going to happen in the next chapter of Time Before Time, but I very much continuing to enjoy this series so far and continue to suggest that you put it on your radar.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Time Before Time #4

Aug 18, 2021

Just when I think that Time Before Time might be slowing down a bit, this series continues to find new ways to generate high-stakes drama.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Time Before Time #5

Sep 15, 2021

As a whole, I remain completely invested in Time Before Time and I cannot recommend it enough.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Transformers/Back to the Future #3

Mar 17, 2021

Three issues in and I'm still bewildered that this Back to the Future and Transformers crossover is even a thing that exists. While this is something that I would typically say in a positive way, I'm starting to feel a bit different about this series as a whole.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Trover Saves The Universe #1

Aug 4, 2021

Personally, I found this first issue of Trover Saves the Universe to be a bit overbearing and jumbled, but your mileage will definitely vary depending on how much you like the video game.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Trover Saves The Universe #2

Sep 8, 2021

All in all, your enjoyment of Trover Saves the Universe will continue to hinge upon how much you like this world's style of humor. As such, your mileage will definitely vary.

View Issue       View Full Review
4
Trover Saves The Universe #3

Oct 13, 2021

Personally, I'm really starting to bounce off of Trover Saves the Universe quite hard, but your mileage may vary if you enjoy the property a bit more.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Two Moons #1

Feb 24, 2021

It's hard to know what to make of Two Moons right now. I very much like the idea of a horror-focused comic book series set during the Civil War, but there's a lot in this first issue that is hard to pass judgment on at the moment.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Two Moons #2

Mar 31, 2021

Two Moons may continue to be a slow burn moving forward but I'm definitely more intrigued in this series than I was previously.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Two Moons #3

Apr 28, 2021

Two Moons keeps getting better.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Two Moons #4

May 26, 2021

If you weren't already reading this series from the start, it's nearing the point where I would absolutely tell you to jump aboard.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Two Moons #5

Jun 30, 2021

This newest issue also wraps this first arc in Two Moons up quite nicely and leaves things open-ended enough that I'm really fascinated to see where it may go in the future.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Winter Guard (2021) #1

Aug 25, 2021

Although the conclusion is intriguing and makes me want to see where things go in the future, I do with that this first book would've been more cohesive.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Winter Guard (2021) #2

Sep 29, 2021

Winter Guard #2 continues to sow the seeds of mystery and intrigue in a great way.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

October

September

More