The Mighty Valkyries #4

Writer: Jason Aaron, Torunn Gronbekk Artist: Mattia de Iulis Publisher: Marvel Comics Release Date: July 28, 2021 Cover Price: $3.99 Critic Reviews: 1 User Reviews: 15
5.0Critic Rating
7.2User Rating

THE TERRIBLE THREES!
The bowers of Hel are filled - with new life?! Just what is Karnilla, Queen of the Dead, trying to do? And if the cycles of life and death are in flux, where does a Valkyrie's allegiance fall? Jane Foster and her new comrade in arms, R na, must untangle a web of lies before the realms of both the living and the dead are irrevocably changed!
Rated T+

  • 5.0
    ComicBook.com - Logan Moore Jul 28, 2021

    As a whole, The Mighty Valkyries feels like it might be headed for a very rushed conclusion and I'm not sure if it will stick the landing. Read Full Review

  • 7.5
    Fracadactyl Jul 28, 2021

    Is it odd seeing how the differing art between this issue bring out some small instances of question. Like why is Runa's hair braided in one instance while next isn't? But what I'm more interested in is what Hela and Karnilla had been trying to achieve. Maybe something to do with the Midgard Serpent. I like all of the questions about identity and where everyone wants to fit into everything. Maybe even find answers in places none thought possible. Gotta admit I liked how Runa downplayed this issue's talk with Thor by bonding over drinks.

  • 7.0
    Gizmo Jan 17, 2022

    I'm enjoying this more character centered issue.

  • 7.0
    CrazyforRAMU Dec 23, 2021

    Hel turns against Hela and the tide of the plot sweeps toward a mythic high-water mark. The Valkyries (and us readers) are swept along in the waves, helpless and uncomprehending. I think this series, and this issue, have a lot of impressive building blocks, including some great art. But what's missing is a narrative spine built out of characters making choices and taking action. All of the choices and motivations are buried deep, hidden for far too long. So what we get is a "great story toolkit." Somebody could build a great story out of these parts -- but the work hasn't been done.

  • 7.0
    DDJamesB Jul 29, 2021

    I probably liked this more than I should have and thats mainly because the main story art is fantastic. It was pretty good throughout. Its just nothing ground breaking.

  • 6.5
    Kalaoui Aug 3, 2021

    This book could have been something, it could've been a contender but alas it is not. Aaron and Gronbekk as writers are not complementing each other. Yet another series suffers from mismatched art between two artists that could not be further from each other in style. MATTIA DE IULIS is in a whole other category all by himself and D'Urso is great but next to him her art is not holding up. It is as if I'm watching a James Bond movie and switching channels to watch a Disney cartoon and back again and then back again some more. Whoever made this decision was an idiot and I hope they see that now and never do it again.

  • 5.0
    Amazing Psycamorean Aug 2, 2021

    I am really turning on this series. I don't find it very engaging or entertaining. I'm just waiting for it to be over at this point.

  • 10
    DSuler Jul 28, 2021

  • 8.0
    Rachit Mittal Sep 16, 2021

  • 8.0
    Blackgirl Jul 29, 2021

  • 8.0
    Adsun22 Jul 29, 2021

  • 8.0
    tonpas1989 Jul 28, 2021

  • 7.5
    E-Motion Jul 31, 2021

  • 7.5
    Radar Jul 30, 2021

  • 7.0
    Emma Jul 29, 2021

  • 4.0
    Fmernamz0 Aug 2, 2021

Reviews for the Week of...

August

July

More