The Mighty Valkyries #5

Writer: Jason Aaron, Torunn Gronbekk Artist: Mattia de Iulis Publisher: Marvel Comics Release Date: September 15, 2021 Cover Price: $3.99 Critic Reviews: 2 User Reviews: 12
7.0Critic Rating
7.2User Rating

NEW GODS BRING FRESH HEL TO THE VALKYRIES!
A new pantheon emerges from the dusty gates of Hel - one that Queen Karnilla thought she could control. She was wrong...and now all the realms must pay the price. Jane and R na fight to save the gods and restore the mortal world! Don't miss the conclusion to Jason Aaron, Torunn Gr nbekk and Mattia de Iulis' realm-shaking epic!
Rated T+

  • 9.0
    Comic Watch - Lillian Hochwender Sep 16, 2021

    The Mighty Valkyries #5 is a visual feast that strikes a balance between the high-octane and the profoundly human. Read Full Review

  • 5.0
    ComicBook.com - Logan Moore Sep 15, 2021

    The final result isn't necessarily bad, but The Mighty Valkyries as a whole feels a bit disjointed and rushed as a result. Read Full Review

  • 7.0
    Gizmo Jan 17, 2022

    The artwork in this issue is just breathtaking. If only I could better follow what is going on... I'll just smile and nod, I think I've got the gist of it, I just don't fully understand who More is and why they are so ridiculously powerful... They're a cool character nonetheless.

  • 7.0
    Amazing Psycamorean Oct 6, 2021

    I really don't know why this series exists. It really is the worst aspects of Jason Aaron's narrative tools, and I just really don't want any more Valkyrie.

  • 6.5
    Kalaoui Sep 28, 2021

    Narrative wise this was a mess and this chapter just went in a carousel of nonsense. Again there is not enough great art can do to save a story. Mattia de Lulis is a fantastic and unique artist but Aaron and Gronbekk just came up with a useless and unnecessary series. I gave it a shot but I cannot trust this duo to do a good job going forward.

  • 6.5
    DDJamesB Sep 15, 2021

    Cant say I really enjoyed this too much. Parts of this series were really good but, its just felt unclear towards the end of what it was trying to accomplish.

  • 6.0
    CrazyforRAMU Jan 21, 2022

    Beautiful nonsense.

    Is Mattia De Iulis a good artist? Certainly! When it comes to beautiful painterly renditions of characters, he's top-tier. But *gorgeous character rendering is not a comic artist's only job*. There are many poor blocking and layout decisions here that do nothing to help the reader parse the story -- and some that actively hurt comprehension.

    Usually, I regret it when a good artist shifts to doing mainly or exclusively covers. But that might be the right way for Mr. De Iulis to go.

    As to the writing, well, I find myself reaching for the sort of faint, damning praise usually evoked by open-mic poetry. "I'm sure you're very passionate (about what, I don't know), and I'm sure many listeners w more

  • 9.5
    DSuler Sep 15, 2021

  • 8.5
    tonpas1989 Sep 17, 2021

  • 8.5
    Rachit Mittal Sep 16, 2021

  • 7.5
    Radar Sep 20, 2021

  • 7.5
    Adsun22 Sep 16, 2021

  • 7.0
    KittyNone Sep 15, 2021

  • 5.0
    daspidaboy Oct 6, 2021

Reviews for the Week of...

October

4th

September

August

More