Brian Arbizo's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Comic Watch Reviews: 26
9.1Avg. Review Rating

10
Avengers (2018) #1

Feb 27, 2019

This Avengers series is what everyone should be talking about. Avengers No Road Home is writing at its best. The three writers that work on this event appear to work perfectly together. In this particular issue, the internal monologue with Hawkeye is great thought-provokingwriting. How Nyx and her Army is drawn is especially creepy, which works perfectly. You are never really sure where each issue is going to go until the end. You are often left with Oh My Cheese, did that really just happen. I am giving this book a 10 out of 10. Art is stunning. The writing is stellar. I cannot wait for the next chapter (Next week).

View Issue       View Full Review
7.4
Coffin Bound #1

Aug 10, 2019

Character development is important to a new book. You must click with a character in order to pick up the next issue. Doesnt mean you have to like them; you can hate them but still may be interested in what happens to that character. Was it enough to pull me in? Yes and No. I like the story, I like the direction its going, the artwork is fun. Yes, I am interested and will pick up issue two.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Hex Wives #1

Nov 8, 2018

I did give the art an 8. Now to be fair I am an art snob, I love all forms of art. I think the art is great, what I didn't like about it was some of the facial expressions the lines in the face where drawn a little harsher then I like it but seriously that is me nitpicking. I love love the use of colors. It was bright and beautiful.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Miles Morales: Spider-Man (2018) #1

Dec 15, 2018

This creative team is off to a great start, and I can't wait to read issue 2.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.4
Miles Morales: Spider-Man (2018) #2

Jan 10, 2019

I am generally not a reviewer. I work mostly on the news side of Comic Watch. I only review books I am interested in. I generally don't review books that are ongoing I like minis, just because I focus on news and generally don't have time to review. We are not paid by Marvel,DC or any companies to give good reviews. I pick books I really want to review and have been lucky enough that they have been great books. The reason I say this, I am a fan of this book, It's an awesome book so far and I want everyone to go read it. Spider-Man fan or not I think everyone will enjoy this book. Although we are only on issue 2,Saladin seems to have a firm grasp on how to write Spider-Man.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Miles Morales: Spider-Man (2018) #3

Feb 24, 2019

I thoroughly enjoyed the story arc. It was great seeing Miles struggle as a student, personal life and superhero. Often times we dont see superheroes struggles, we only see them superheroing. The art is cool, the coloring in every panel is outstanding. This is a fun Spider-Man book. It has action, heart, what more could you ask for in a Spider-Man book.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Miles Morales: Spider-Man (2018) #4

Apr 1, 2019

If you want a good Miles Morales run, this is your must-read series.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Pearl #1

Aug 28, 2018

Writing I was hooked since the first page. As someone who is heavily tattooed and love the tattoo shop culture I love that it is included in this book, it is so rare that you see in a comic book.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Pearl #2

Sep 26, 2018

The story is amazing. The ART is so stellar. The Layouts are astounding. There is nothing that I do not like about this book. There are very few books that I will think about outside of my reading time. I will be at work randomly thinking about a scene from Pearl. That is how I know this book is special.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Pearl #3

Oct 29, 2018

I gave it a 10 out 10 again because it continues to impress and get me excited. The club art was bright and loud. The fact that you can hear the music just by the art deserves 10 out of 10. The story is amazing, we are always left with a cliffhanger. This issue we got the answer who she was going to shoot, was it going to be Rick? Now we are left wanting to know what is she going to do now. Why is this boy so special to her.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Pearl #4

Dec 9, 2018

The writing and storyline are great, especially for a tying everything together book. I really just want to take a moment to talk about Gaydos. Most of the script is taken place in a dark garden. He adds touches of color when he can while keeping the reader in the ambiance of night, which is really hard to do. Kudos to Mr. Gaydos.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Pearl #5

Jan 19, 2019

The story continues to develop and you continue to want more. Michael Gaydos does such a great job with his art. I praise him each week. This issue I was really able to see how Bendis is developing the characters. Pushing it forward. This issue was a great addition to the story arc.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Pearl #6

Feb 6, 2019

Pearl is like nothing I have ever read before, it makes it a gem that everyone should read.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.2
Spider-Geddon #3

Nov 10, 2018

I really appreciatethis book. I almost feel bad for being the reviewer, because I do feel if I knew more about the spiderverse I would have scored it a lot higher. However, because it could be hard for new readers to catch on I did place it at an 8. Storytelling I gave it a solid 9 because even if I do feel lost I still love the current story. The Art is done really well, I love the coloring, there is a ton of detail in each Spider-Man. I truly feel as a Reviewer I am not doing this book the justice it deserves, but as a new fan, I really appreciatethis series.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
Spider-Geddon #4

Nov 24, 2018

Writing and Storyline is a solid 9. This is how you write a Spider-man book. Even with the tie-in issues, I believe you would be able to keep up, but I also feel the writing makes you want to buy the tie-in stories. Art is an 8, when we are taken to different worlds, we know it, and it feels like it. Truthfully it is a great book. I have very limited experiencewith Spider-Man, it turned me into a fan. Can't wait to see what develops after the saga.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.2
Spider-Geddon #5

Dec 21, 2018

Great saga. I really enjoyed the story even with my confusion. The ending could have gone many ways. I wasn't completely thrilled with the end, however, I was not disappointed either. I am not sure what I wanted the end to be, or it could be my sadness that the saga is over.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Star Wars (2014) #56

Nov 13, 2018

Writing and story I gave a sold 9, I really enjoyed the fact I wouldn't be super lost, the storyline appears fun and reads as it would be in a Star Wars Movie. The Art was beautiful, my only complaint was some of the faces weren't the style that I like, but realistic to their characters just at times appeared more cartoonish. Which nothing wrong with that at all, just not my preference. It's fun, action-packed, colored beautifully book that I will continue to read regardless if I continue reviewing or not.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Star Wars (2014) #57

Nov 30, 2018

After the hype of the last issue, I was expecting a bit more from the issue so I did group the score down to a 7. The story appears to a bit of a slow start, but still onboard. It's still a good issue, I am just really picky.Art is fantastic, the color in each page is great and full of color which is what I like.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.4
Starcraft: Scavengers #2

Sep 7, 2018

I would buy this just based on the beautiful art and colors, to be honest.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Superman (2018) #6

Dec 14, 2018

The story was awesome, The return of his son came out of nowhere. The writing is great. The artwork is awesome. They really conveyed the emotions in Clark's facial expression. The splash pages were beautiful as they showed the destructive power of the fight. Just simply stunning.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.2
Superman (2018) #7

Jan 20, 2019

Bendis writing draws me in, I want to see what grandpa did, how did Jon become 17, how did we lose so many years. I want to see more how mama Lois reacts. This is a great book with a lot of messages about life betweenthe lines.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Superman (2018) #8

Feb 15, 2019

Bendis is doing a stellar job at storytelling on this arc. I personally felt Clark's pain, you can tell Jon is happy to be home, Lois you can feel for her as a mother. I cannot wait for the next issue. This issue is a solid 10. This story proves that superheroes don't have to punch its way through an issue but shows every book can have a heart.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Superman (2018) #9

Mar 17, 2019

Jon continues to tell Superman and Lois his epic return to Earth. Bendis is hitting the story out of the ballpark, keeping readers intrigued.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Winter Soldier (2018) #2

Jan 8, 2019

Winter Soldier kicked 2019 off right. The story is engaging, the art risk-taking that hits every time. When I say risk-takingI mean it's different and it's amazing. Every panel is consistent. I reached out to Rod and begged him to never stop, I am in love with his art. Winter Soldier is the must-read of 2019 already.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Winter Soldier (2018) #3

Feb 21, 2019

I love that I never know what is coming in this heartbreaking issue. RJ is healing in more ways than one, not just physically, but also his mind and heart. Wounds are so much easier to heal than the heart. Rod Reis does an amazing job bringing these complex emotions to life and Higgin's writing is putting a ton of heart into this project. Rod brings Higgins story to life making this the perfect mini-series.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Winter Soldier (2018) #4

Mar 26, 2019

I cannot say how much I love this book. Writer Kyle Higgins gives Bucky a purpose, gives him a mission with heart. Bucky is just looking after this kid. Feels for him, but it never works out. Rod Reis on art, it's outstanding. It shows the perfect expressions. Higgins and Reis team is one for the ages.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

August

July

More