Bryan Spaulding's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Comic Crusaders Reviews: 18
8.4Avg. Review Rating

7.0
Amazing Spider-Man (2015) #29

Jun 30, 2017

The Amazing Spider-Man #29 lays a strong foundation for this new story arc that promises to tell us who the rightful ruler of Parker Industries is. The battle between our web slinging hero and the mayhem of one of his classic rivals is on, and fans of the series will I'm sure be thrilled. If you're looking for a good place to pick this title up anew, there is no better time than the present.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.2
Babyteeth #4

Sep 15, 2017

Beyond the fact this is a story about a teenage mother who has given birth to a spawn of Satan, this is really a story about family. There is a young girl, willing to do anything to keep her child safe. She relies on her sister to help her when she is overwhelmed, and trusts her protective father to keep her safe when it is truly needed. The duality of this family element should not be lost on the main story of finding a way to survive in a world that seemingly will stop at nothing to destroy you and your young. I see this in other stories Donny Cates writes, (see Redneck) and it makes me think he must be an honorable and decent human being. Babyteeth is one of my favorite ongoing series at the moment. I can't recommend it enough.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
Batman (2016) #28

Aug 4, 2017

Overall, I really like this book. The story has been solid through the first three issues, and my excitement is already building for the fourth. When Batman and the GCPD make their move on The Joker and The Riddler, chaos will ensue, and we will all be the better for it.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.2
Batman (2016) #30

Sep 6, 2017

Batman #30 does the unthinkable. It turns Kite Man into every person we pull for to succeed. After the tumultuous last month in the US, this is a perfect book to remind us of our collective humanity. Sure, it's a comic book, but as life becomes stranger than fiction, we sometimes turn to familiar characters to keep us grounded. With Tom King at the helm, this book has remained topical, relevant, and very human.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.2
Batwoman (2017) #6

Aug 17, 2017

This issue, "Pax Batmana" is a perfect place to jump into the Batwoman series. You're being given what looks like it will be a really tremendous story arc, and it is based in a future none of us have really seen, so you won't feel as if you're missing anything that has happened before. The character introductions are easy to understand for new readers so you'll be up to speed in no time. If you've ever been a fan of anything related to the Batman universe, this book will absolutely be for you.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Conan: The Slayer #11

Jul 27, 2017

If you've ever been a fan of Conan, either the books or either of the movies, this will appeal to you. If you are looking for a good jumping on point, I would recommend starting with issue 7 in this series and working up to this current issue 11. The warrior spirit is alive and well with this book and I expect this to only continue with the tremendous creative team in place. Conan, as a character is pure heavy metal. The unwavering action and bravado of this story do justice to such a character. Long may the king reign.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
Crosswind #2

Jul 26, 2017

This new offering from Image Comics is off to a strong start. Great writing and fabulous illustrations bring these new characters and story to the forefront of books worth paying attention to. The foundation has been build, and we've been introduced to the cast. It's now time to buckle up and enjoy the roller coaster we've all stepped onto.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Deadpool Kills The Marvel Universe Again #1

Jul 6, 2017

If you are a fan of recent Deadpool comics, I'm sure you'll be pleased with this issue. The tease we're left with at the end does provide some tantalizing intrigue. As I finished the book I was left with a familiar feeling. I thought if only he had not already killed the Marvel universe once before, then threatened to come after all of us, there may be a bit more sizzle for this series.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.2
Freeway Fighter #3

Jul 12, 2017

I really like this book on a couple of levels. First, it is a quality addition to the genre of dystopian worlds. These looks into our possible futures have fascinated readers for some time now, but not often are the stories as well-crafted as they are here. Second, the creative team behind this book have taken the high road. They've provided a great piece of work that will appeal to readers from the pre-teen age up to adults. Job well done.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Graveland #1

Sep 13, 2017

Graveland seems like it can be an amazing series. The concept is solid and there is ample opportunity for tense battles and character development. If the creators are given an opportunity to slow down and develop the story, I could see this as a book that is talked about for a long time. I'm intrigued enough to want to read the next issue. (Very nice cliff hanger ending to this issue) I do hope that we are given an opportunity to learn more about how these giants came to be released, and the characters who are tasked to stop them. Without further development, this will sadly be a missed opportunity for a great idea.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
James Bond (2017) #6

Aug 3, 2017

This sixth issue of the book wraps up the story nicely, but if you've not yet had the opportunity to follow along, don't let that keep you from picking up this release. You can read it and fully understand the plot without any unanswered questions. Fans of Bond, or classic comic art in general will enjoy this book. My expectations were without a doubt exceeded.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Planet of the Apes / Green Lantern #6

Jul 13, 2017

I recommend the conclusion to this series, and if you've not picked up the previous issues, it is worth checking with your local comic shop to see if they can get them for you. You'll be glad you did.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Robotech #1

Jul 19, 2017

All fans of Robotech owe this creative team a debt of gratitude. We're given an opportunity to remember how the series made us feel when we were first introduced to it, but they've also found a way to keep it fresh. As the story continues to develop in future issues, they promise it will have some new twists and turns. I'm excited to watch this unfold. Welcome back old friend, I've missed you so.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Samurai Jack #1

Sep 22, 2017

When I found out Fabian Rangel Jr was going to write a Samurai Jack series, I was over the moon excited. This first issue, while much different from I originally expected, is not a disappointment. I'm not sure why I thought Rangel Jr would write a straight Jack story, that does not seem to be his style. He took this beloved character, wrapped it up, and re-gifted it to us in a way that allows us to feel like we got something brand new. The birth of this new series is a welcome addition to the history of our favorite Samurai.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Saucer State #2

Jun 28, 2017

Issue #2 of Saucer State delivers. After reading, you'll be left with many questions, but in a good way. The crescendo is still building and has not yet been reached, but if this issue is any indication of what is to come, it will be well worth the wait.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Shirtless Bear Fighter #3

Aug 24, 2017

Not since the Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles has the name of a comic book made pause to reflect on the words I'd just read. Shirtless Bear-Fighter, does the same for me today. Everything about the book has perfect comic timing, balanced with strong writing, and a flair for the ridiculous. This is a book written for comic book fans, by a creative team, who has not forgotten how to have a good time.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
X-O Manowar (2017) #6

Aug 23, 2017

The series has not disappointed since its debut in March. This sixth issue continues the strong output that has been provided thus far. I challenge anyone to find a stronger, better written ongoing series today. This is truly a must read for any fan of hero or fantasy comics.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Zojaqan #1

Jul 20, 2017

This is a fantasy story that found a way to tug on my heartstrings while never removing me from the lush colorful world that has been created. Human instinct, the never-ending fight to survive, freedom to work through agonizing grief, and a willingness to explore this curious new world. This is a fantasy book, but it has deep roots in our human condition.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for
the Week of...

September

August

More