Bryan Spaulding's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Comic Crusaders Reviews: 69
8.3Avg. Review Rating

9.0
2000AD #2073

Mar 21, 2018

Reading 2000 AD is like pressing the pause button on time. The quality has consistently been there for more than 40 years and as art styles in comics have changed, the high quality of work you see this, week in and week out, has remained. I'm a believer in this weekly and have been for a long time. With continued output like this, I don't see my loyalty to this book ending any time soon.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Amazing Spider-Man (2015) #29

Jun 30, 2017

The Amazing Spider-Man #29 lays a strong foundation for this new story arc that promises to tell us who the rightful ruler of Parker Industries is. The battle between our web slinging hero and the mayhem of one of his classic rivals is on, and fans of the series will I'm sure be thrilled. If you're looking for a good place to pick this title up anew, there is no better time than the present.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Aphrodite V #1

Jul 20, 2018

Fans of science fiction, noir, or future crime in general will fall head over heels for this comic. It delivers everything you could possibly want from this genre and promises to give us more in upcoming issues. I'm looking forward to what appears to be a potential partnership between Carver and Aphrodite V, and will be paying attention to this one for sure.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.2
Assassinistas #2

Jan 17, 2018

Assassinistas is a series where comics and pulp cinema tangle and have a love child. The two seem like they were destined to be together and I'm glad they finally were born to be presented to the world. Check out this issue and see if you agree.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Atlas & Axis #3

Mar 16, 2018

I found myself looking for another comic to compare this to, and the one that kept coming to mind was Bone. While the reasons for the adventures may be different, both books create rich worlds full of well written characters who seem to learn tremendous life lessons as they continue on their journey. I can't recommend Atlas & Axis enough for young readers. Let the adventure begin!

View Issue       View Full Review
5.6
Baby Badass #1

Feb 16, 2018

Baby Badass had a lot of opportunity to make me a fan but missed. It could have been as amazing as Shirtless Bear Fighter, which was equally absurd, but it chose to go a different route. The world presented in this comic does not seem like one I would want to visit, but I do really applaud the initial idea.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.2
Babyteeth #4

Sep 15, 2017

Beyond the fact this is a story about a teenage mother who has given birth to a spawn of Satan, this is really a story about family. There is a young girl, willing to do anything to keep her child safe. She relies on her sister to help her when she is overwhelmed, and trusts her protective father to keep her safe when it is truly needed. The duality of this family element should not be lost on the main story of finding a way to survive in a world that seemingly will stop at nothing to destroy you and your young. I see this in other stories Donny Cates writes, (see Redneck) and it makes me think he must be an honorable and decent human being. Babyteeth is one of my favorite ongoing series at the moment. I can't recommend it enough.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
Batman (2016) #28

Aug 4, 2017

Overall, I really like this book. The story has been solid through the first three issues, and my excitement is already building for the fourth. When Batman and the GCPD make their move on The Joker and The Riddler, chaos will ensue, and we will all be the better for it.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.2
Batman (2016) #30

Sep 6, 2017

Batman #30 does the unthinkable. It turns Kite Man into every person we pull for to succeed. After the tumultuous last month in the US, this is a perfect book to remind us of our collective humanity. Sure, it's a comic book, but as life becomes stranger than fiction, we sometimes turn to familiar characters to keep us grounded. With Tom King at the helm, this book has remained topical, relevant, and very human.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.8
Batman (2016) #36

Dec 6, 2017

The normalcy on display between two couples, who continually do extraordinary things is what makes this issue stand out to me. We're reminded that outside of being Batman and Superman, these are two people who still struggle with who they are. The greatness of Tom Kings writing is on full display, and I can't wait to see how a double date between the two couples plays out.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.2
Batwoman (2017) #6

Aug 17, 2017

This issue, "Pax Batmana" is a perfect place to jump into the Batwoman series. You're being given what looks like it will be a really tremendous story arc, and it is based in a future none of us have really seen, so you won't feel as if you're missing anything that has happened before. The character introductions are easy to understand for new readers so you'll be up to speed in no time. If you've ever been a fan of anything related to the Batman universe, this book will absolutely be for you.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.4
Black Magick #9

Nov 30, 2017

Black Magick #9 is a tremendous offering. Now that I've read this issue, I feel compelled to go back and pick up at least issues 6-8. I don't need to do this because I'm missing major plot points, the solid writing took care of that, but I want to because it's THAT good! Check it out.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.6
Blue Beetle (2016) #18

Feb 28, 2018

I doubt we've seen the last of The Blue Beetle, but alas, this series has come to an end. If you've not given the run a chance, take a look at this issue. It's really a fun story. It's been a good comic for teens to pick up, and once you give this issue a read, you may find yourself looking for some of the back issues.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.8
Brilliant Trash #2

Dec 13, 2017

I truly want to focus on what this comic is. Brilliant Trash is a fresh approach to tech driven Sci-Fi at its best. The concept of these sim-cells, which have the ability to turn people into Gods, as long as they're willing to trade days off their lives for the privilege, challenges the reader to question what they would do if presented with this choice. If given the opportunity, what would you do?

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Calexit #3

May 10, 2018

In America, where we celebrate celebrity more than scientific discoveries, CALEXIT is the comic book we deserve. This cautionary tale is the amalgamation of our own hubris and naivet. To me, there are no 'good guys' in the story, because everyone is willing to walk down the path of destruction to get what they want. It's a book we should all read, and maybe we can avoid this one possible outcome.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Conan: The Slayer #11

Jul 27, 2017

If you've ever been a fan of Conan, either the books or either of the movies, this will appeal to you. If you are looking for a good jumping on point, I would recommend starting with issue 7 in this series and working up to this current issue 11. The warrior spirit is alive and well with this book and I expect this to only continue with the tremendous creative team in place. Conan, as a character is pure heavy metal. The unwavering action and bravado of this story do justice to such a character. Long may the king reign.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
Crosswind #2

Jul 26, 2017

This new offering from Image Comics is off to a strong start. Great writing and fabulous illustrations bring these new characters and story to the forefront of books worth paying attention to. The foundation has been build, and we've been introduced to the cast. It's now time to buckle up and enjoy the roller coaster we've all stepped onto.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Crosswind #5

Nov 1, 2017

The Crosswind comic has recently been picked up to be developed for a television series. It's going to end up being your next favorite show. If you've not been reading the series yet, this is only the fifth issue. You've got time to quickly catch up and see what I'm talking about. There are few series I get overwhelmed with joy for, this is one of them.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
DC House of Horror (One Shot) #1

Oct 26, 2017

The DC House of Horror is a fun comic that has its ups and downs. I would recommend picking it up simply for the odd concepts it presents with familiar characters. There are truly some talented writers on display as well which I'm sure we'll hear from again.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
DC/Hanna-Barbera: Black Lightning/Hong Kong PHOOEY Special #1

May 30, 2018

Not only should you check this book out, you should also look up some of the other crossovers in this series. There is a lot of solid work here that is building upon characters we know, but putting them in situations that are unfamiliar. This is a good thing. The freshness is welcome and needs to be recognized.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.4
Deadly Class #33

Apr 11, 2018

For fans of martial arts, horror, or simply damn fine stories, this is a book for you. There is no doubt it's for mature audiences, but if you fit the bill, it's highly recommended.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Deadpool Kills The Marvel Universe Again #1

Jul 6, 2017

If you are a fan of recent Deadpool comics, I'm sure you'll be pleased with this issue. The tease we're left with at the end does provide some tantalizing intrigue. As I finished the book I was left with a familiar feeling. I thought if only he had not already killed the Marvel universe once before, then threatened to come after all of us, there may be a bit more sizzle for this series.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.2
Flash (2016) #42

Mar 15, 2018

With the cliffhanger in this issue, if you're really a fan of The Flash, you will find yourself counting the days until the next issue. There is a storm brewing for sure. It's a lightning storm, and we are yet to learn which direction it's winds will blow. Issue 42 was not the answer to all our questions, but it is a great set up to what is on tap in the coming weeks. Let the games begin comic fans.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.2
Freeway Fighter #3

Jul 12, 2017

I really like this book on a couple of levels. First, it is a quality addition to the genre of dystopian worlds. These looks into our possible futures have fascinated readers for some time now, but not often are the stories as well-crafted as they are here. Second, the creative team behind this book have taken the high road. They've provided a great piece of work that will appeal to readers from the pre-teen age up to adults. Job well done.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Fruit Ninja #3

Nov 15, 2017

Fruit Ninja #3 is a fun comic for the nine-year-old version of myself. It's short, fast paced, and lite. With those check boxes marked, if you're looking for a comic to surprise the little super hero loving gamer in your life, this is a good choice.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Fu Jitsu #1

Sep 28, 2017

This is a really good first offering for this new series. It does a great job introducing the characters and setting up the story for months to come. It does this with a style that is much appreciated.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Future Quest #11

Jun 20, 2018

Fans of the original Saturday morning cartoon should truly enjoy this comic book. If not for anything else, you'll get to see Gloop and Gleep again, which is AMAZING! I recommend it not only for the tremendous art, but for the proper story this long ignored classic franchise is getting. I hope to see more of The Herculoids in the coming months. They still have my attention.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.6
Genius: Cartel #5

Dec 20, 2017

There could easily be at least one more comic in this mini-series. Based on this issue alone, I would recommend reading the entire five issue series. I have to believe there will be another opportunity for us to find out where Destiny is headed. With the world-wide open for her now, there seems to only be one thing left to do. Ride or die.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.4
Giantkillers #0

Nov 29, 2017

The new series starts in earnest with the February release of issue 1, but I highly recommend picking up the issue 0 being released this week. The character introductions we're presented with are wonderful and the foundation for the story is laid out masterfully. The issue deals with a child, someone who's path is foretold, yet all they want is to be a child. A warrior must protect them, while they encourage them to embrace the prophecy they must fulfill. This hero's journey tale, mixed with the amazing fantasy scenes drawn by Sears and Raney really pique my interest in the new series. The coming four issue series, based on this introduction will definitely be added to my pull list. Any fans of fantasy books would be encouraged to give this new series a look.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Graveland #1

Sep 13, 2017

Graveland seems like it can be an amazing series. The concept is solid and there is ample opportunity for tense battles and character development. If the creators are given an opportunity to slow down and develop the story, I could see this as a book that is talked about for a long time. I'm intrigued enough to want to read the next issue. (Very nice cliff hanger ending to this issue) I do hope that we are given an opportunity to learn more about how these giants came to be released, and the characters who are tasked to stop them. Without further development, this will sadly be a missed opportunity for a great idea.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.4
Green Arrow (2016) #38

Mar 9, 2018

Green Arrow is without a doubt a character who is trying to make the world a better place. He is not perfect, and you may consider him damaged, but his heart is in the right place. This series has done a good job of selling him as a social justice warrior. He simply tries to fix the sins of his family's past.I'm looking forward to where this series will take us in the coming months, but I do want to pause and say thank you to Benjamin Percy and Juan Ferreyra for the amazing work they've done over the last couple of years to add their fingerprints to the rich history of this character. Thank you both.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.4
Green Arrow (2016) #42

Jul 4, 2018

I'm glad to have read this comic. Not only was it a fun and exciting story, but had a deeper meaning as well. It's more thoughtful than you would expect, and I never felt there was an agenda being forced upon me. I know Green Arrow does lean in a bit on our morality usually, but this just felt very gentle. That, my friends, is great comic book writing.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.4
Halo: Collateral Damage #1

Jun 6, 2018

Being new to the Halo series, my first impression is a good one. There was much more of a story than I would have imagined and the art is really nice. If you're a fan of the game, action stories or space adventure comics, this is a quick series you might want to pay attention to. With only three issues in the story arc it's not a huge commitment, and from what I've read so far, it's worth it.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Hi-Fi Fight Club #4

Nov 29, 2017

Heavy Vinyl #4 is a good, fun comic for teens. It's not tainted by the news of the day. It is what a teen comic should be, a brief escape from the world we live in to allow you to enjoy yourself. If you've not read the first few issues, I would recommend picking them up as well.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.4
Hit-Girl (2018) #2

Mar 27, 2018

If you're a fan of the original Hit-Girl or Kick-Ass series, you should really enjoy this. You'll get a fresh story with all of the carnage you would expect from Mark Millar, and it is absolutely delightful.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Hungry Ghosts #3

Mar 29, 2018

With tremendous art from Sebastian Cabrol and Paul Pope, this is about as good as spooky comics can get. Each issue of this series has outdone its predecessor by upping the ante in the creepiness of the stories. My expectations for the final issue are high, but I've not been let down yet. For all fans of horror comics, Tales from the Darkside, or even The Twilight Zone, this is a book for you.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
James Bond (2017) #6

Aug 3, 2017

This sixth issue of the book wraps up the story nicely, but if you've not yet had the opportunity to follow along, don't let that keep you from picking up this release. You can read it and fully understand the plot without any unanswered questions. Fans of Bond, or classic comic art in general will enjoy this book. My expectations were without a doubt exceeded.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Jazz Legend #2

Apr 9, 2018

I've got a high level of interest in following the rest of this series to see where the comic takes us. Personally, I'm a fan of noir stories, beat writers, and general insanity, so this comic checked a lot of boxes for me. With a nod to classic jazz and bizarrely hallucinated worlds, I'm happy to ride along to complete this journey.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Judge Dredd: Under Siege #3

Jul 25, 2018

For fans of action, and people who like sci-fi crime drama, this will be a good book for you. The comic stories for Judge Dredd have always, in my opinion, far surpassed anything we've ever seen written for him on the screen. This issue is pivotal in the ongoing story arc, as we are taken to the brink of all out anarchy, which seems to be exactly what Tallyrand wants. If he gets what he's after is anybody's guess.There is no denying I'm a fan of Judge Dredd and the universe of characters who patrol Mega City One. This comic, published by IDW Comics and 2000 AD, is no exception. There is no slowdown in the action and the well written, fast paced story is worthy of its title character.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.6
Justice League (2016) #38

Feb 7, 2018

As with most team comics, there is a lot going on in this issue of Justice League. Sometimes this can cause stories to go off the rails fairly easily, but Priest does a solid job of keeping everything busy, but moving in the same direction. Solid writing, and very high quality artwork make this a comic worth adding to your pull list for the week.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.8
Looney Tunes #241

Jan 24, 2018

Finally, we complete the Sylvester trifecta, this time he is paired with Porky Pig in Dig That History! (also written by Frank Strom). The pair arrive at a cave to search for fossils, or better yet, the missing link. Porky works diligently, while Sylvester continues to get bonked in various types of ways by a caveman that only he seems to see. It's the traditional bit where Porky looks away each time the caveman shows up. It is, again, a fine story, but does not offer any originality to these traditional characters.If you're looking for a kid comic where you know exactly what you'll get, this is it. There is not anything really new to speak of, but I wonder if that is expected?

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Modern Fantasy #1

Jun 4, 2018

First issues of new comics normally feel like introductions. With Modern Fantasy #1, I felt like I was already part of this world, and simply was reading about old friends. The book is new, but this world, being well-built, already feels familiar. It's humorous and fun, with the potential to have a nice long run that will keep us interested for the foreseeable future.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.4
Monstro Mechanica #2

Jan 10, 2018

Monstro Mechanica #2 is a fun comic that shows a lot of potential for this new series. If the creative team continues to expand on the relationships that we see in this book, I could see a nice following for the series. With fearless creativity, Monstro Mechanica shows us what a new comic series is capable of becoming.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.4
Motherlands #1

Feb 1, 2018

The dysfunctional family relationship in Motherlands takes center stage for me, and it looks like it will play out very well in the upcoming issues. The year is young, but this seems to be a strong contender for best new series in my opinion. Bring on issue #2.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Planet of the Apes / Green Lantern #6

Jul 13, 2017

I recommend the conclusion to this series, and if you've not picked up the previous issues, it is worth checking with your local comic shop to see if they can get them for you. You'll be glad you did.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Prism Stalker #1

Feb 6, 2018

For fans of sci-fi, horror, or for anyone who finds themselves pulling for the downtrodden to have their voices heard, this comic will serve you well. I'm looking forward to the ongoing series, and following Vep, her family, and her people as this journey begins.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
PumpkinHead #1

Feb 21, 2018

Horror comics have really exploded to the front of the stage for me recently. With modern masters like Bunn working in the field, it's easy to be a fan. Aficionados of supernatural or horror titles should really give this book a chance.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.6
Punks Not Dead #1

Feb 22, 2018

Overall, the comic is not perfect, but it's an ok start to a new series. I'm interested to see how the next day at school goes for Fergie, and I'd really like to see Sid be Sid. There does appear to be some really great parts to work with here, and I'm hopeful for the next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.2
Regression #6

Jan 24, 2018

With 2018 now declared the year of horror comics by yours truly, I give you all a homework assignment. You are asked to read this book and let me know what you think. Please comment and let me know what other horror comics you've recently found outstanding.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Robotech #1

Jul 19, 2017

All fans of Robotech owe this creative team a debt of gratitude. We're given an opportunity to remember how the series made us feel when we were first introduced to it, but they've also found a way to keep it fresh. As the story continues to develop in future issues, they promise it will have some new twists and turns. I'm excited to watch this unfold. Welcome back old friend, I've missed you so.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Samurai Jack #1

Sep 22, 2017

When I found out Fabian Rangel Jr was going to write a Samurai Jack series, I was over the moon excited. This first issue, while much different from I originally expected, is not a disappointment. I'm not sure why I thought Rangel Jr would write a straight Jack story, that does not seem to be his style. He took this beloved character, wrapped it up, and re-gifted it to us in a way that allows us to feel like we got something brand new. The birth of this new series is a welcome addition to the history of our favorite Samurai.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Saucer State #2

Jun 28, 2017

Issue #2 of Saucer State delivers. After reading, you'll be left with many questions, but in a good way. The crescendo is still building and has not yet been reached, but if this issue is any indication of what is to come, it will be well worth the wait.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.4
Sci-Fu #1

Feb 19, 2018

Sci-Fu wraps itself up in an inter-dimensional blanket of Kung-Fu, Hip Hop fun. Give credit to the creator Yehudi Mercado for not only writing a fun and compelling story, but animating the entire world himself. Mercado proves to be a rising star in comics with this book and we should all take notice of his talent. I would highly recommend picking up this graphic novel, popping in an old Run DMC cassette tape, and having some fun.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Shirtless Bear Fighter #3

Aug 24, 2017

Not since the Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles has the name of a comic book made pause to reflect on the words I'd just read. Shirtless Bear-Fighter, does the same for me today. Everything about the book has perfect comic timing, balanced with strong writing, and a flair for the ridiculous. This is a book written for comic book fans, by a creative team, who has not forgotten how to have a good time.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Skip to the End #1

May 15, 2018

This is a story of urgency. It's a panicked race to find a way to change events that haunt us for years. We can get lost and continue to cycle through the "could have been" situations, or we can find a way to make peace with what is and keep walking forward. I appreciate the work very much, and find the aftermath of such sudden, unexpected loss compelling. I would recommend this graphic novel to teens or adults alike who are willing to explore these subjects.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.4
Snotgirl #8

Nov 22, 2017

Snotgirl #8 sets out to do what is intended in this issue. It allows a glimpse into the day of its male characters. You see them for who they really are when nobody else is around. You hear the locker room talk and learn than not everyone is completely comfortable with it. This is all done within the overall ongoing story and seems like it could be important as Ashley and Meg approach their wedding. If you're a fan of this series, you'll find this to be a fun issue. If you've never read Snotgirl, but love soap opera style drama sprinkled with humorous interludes, then I would recommend giving this issue a look.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
Sonic The Hedgehog (2018) #1

Apr 6, 2018

Sonic fans will enjoy this comic. It's a great introduction to a new story and would be fun for young comic readers to pick up as well. There is no better jumping on point than with the first issue of a series and with loveable characters who never seem to get old, how could you go wrong?

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Superman (2016) #43

Mar 22, 2018

This comic is fun. It's Superman in his element. He's being a good guy who tries to help others. As we move deeper into stories about Superman/Clark Kent the family man, these lessons seem to be something we will need to get used to. The dad lessons are there for sure, but all in all, it's still Superman, and it's still good.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
The Beatles Story #1

Feb 16, 2018

The back cover of this graphic novel proclaims "The Beatles as you've never seen them before," but that is not true. This is exactly as I've seen them before. If you're a long-time Beatles fan, and want a graphic novel of the bands story, then this would work well. If you're a new fan of the band, and want to learn more about them, then this book would be a good place to start. It's nothing new, but the story is still one that I love.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
The Beef #2

Mar 30, 2018

I do want to give major kudos to Shaky Kane for the art and colors, which jump off the page. So far, this has been the consistent stand out work in the series.If you have patience, this comic has potential. There are a lot of moving parts and if they are brought together into a cohesive storyline, it might be really fun. If you're reading along with me, let me know what you think. I'll continue to keep tabs on this one.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
The Dead Hand #2

May 16, 2018

If you're looking to expand your comic book horizon beyond super hero or movie tie-in stories, this would be a great book to pick up. There is a depth to the story and characters that has not yet been fully revealed and we're just the second step into the journey into finding out what the heck is going on in Mountain View. I'll keep this one on my pull list for the foreseeable future.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Gravediggers Union #2

Dec 8, 2017

If you're a fan of other books by Wes Craig, such as Deadly Class, or Blackhand Comics (which introduced us to The Gravediggers Union) then you'll like this comic. The subplot of The Black Temple using Union member Cole's estranged daughter Morgan as their prophet is compelling and will bring me back to find out where the story goes. I recommend giving it a look.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Unbeatable Squirrel Girl (2015) #25

Oct 13, 2017

It's safe to say The Unbeatable Squirrel Girl has broken open the cage around my stone-cold heart and freed its inner child. If you're looking for an amazing book to give a child or young adult to introduce them to comics, this is the one. It's fun, engaging, and downright loveable.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
The Wilds #2

Apr 26, 2018

While this was an entertaining comic book, I hope writer Vita Ayala dives deeper into what the cause of this outbreak is and the struggle to find a cure. This, to me, seems like a real opportunity to make the story unique instead of focusing on frivolous friction between factions of survivors. The potential for development into an interesting, smart, mind-blowing story is here. We're just at the beginning of this journey, let's see where it takes us.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.8
Trespasser #3

Oct 19, 2017

I really like what Ryan is doing with this book. I'm unsure why this is only a four-part series, because in a world where The Walking Dead has an unquenchable popularity, I can see where a comic like Trespasser would be able to thrive. This story seems to be sustainable for a long period of time.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Underwinter: A Field of Feathers #1

Oct 27, 2017

Overall, I would expect the beginning of a storyline to present more for new readers. I was disappointed in the lack of clarity in this comic, but maybe if I knew more about the subject matter it would be different. Reading the first issue of a story arc however, it shouldn't be such a puzzle.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Void Trip #2

Dec 29, 2017

Void Trip is a cosmic roller coaster of a comic with endless loops and excitement. If you like robots driving hot rods across the galaxy, then this is a book you need to check out. It's a little crazy, and a lot of fun.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
X-O Manowar (2017) #6

Aug 23, 2017

The series has not disappointed since its debut in March. This sixth issue continues the strong output that has been provided thus far. I challenge anyone to find a stronger, better written ongoing series today. This is truly a must read for any fan of hero or fantasy comics.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Zojaqan #1

Jul 20, 2017

This is a fantasy story that found a way to tug on my heartstrings while never removing me from the lush colorful world that has been created. Human instinct, the never-ending fight to survive, freedom to work through agonizing grief, and a willingness to explore this curious new world. This is a fantasy book, but it has deep roots in our human condition.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

November

October

More