Danielle Luaulu's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Major Spoilers Reviews: 65
6.6Avg. Review Rating

6.0
Abe Sapien #1

Apr 8, 2013

Slow to start, this book is one of those that you really need to hold out until maybe the second issue. Like the Hellboy series, Mignola and Allie have the chance to take their time and make a cohesive story, one where they can focus on a much grander plot than they normally do in the typical mini-series. Hopefully, thanks to that, they will be able to delve into Abe's story further in the next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
All-New Ghost Rider #9

Dec 10, 2014

Felipe Smith continues to write a great Ghost Rider series, tapping into a part of American culture rarely seen and creating a beautiful story about two brothers and their love. The artwork"while not as clean as Trad Moore's"continues in the same vein of urban street art, making it one of the few books that really stand out. The art isn't necessarily for everyone, as it strongly veers away from "typical" comic book art. This book isn't a good hopping on point if one hasn't been following the story. It'll be confusing and it's best to wait until the next story arc. However, if one has been following along, it's a good one to pick up and this series continues to be an entertaining and fun read.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Ame-comi Girls #3

Dec 16, 2012

Having not read this series in its original online debut, I've so far been enjoying it. It's not for everyone though. The series is lighthearted even when it's being dark, like with Duela's backstory, and it feels like it's meant to be just a fun and entertaining read. No secret agenda or hidden meaning, just campy fun. Keep in mind that it is kinda estrogen heavy on that Mean Girls meets the Spice Girls sort of way, so if that's not really your thing, steer clear. If you want something just kinda fun and visually interesting, might want to give it a look.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.3
Aquaman (2011): Futures End #1

Sep 7, 2014

It would have been nice to see something a little different for Aquaman rather than it's standard fanfare. It's getting a little tiresome that the Atlanteans are always unhappy and Aquaman has to always soothe relations between his people and the surface dwellers. It's even more disheartening that this is set five years in the future and nothing has really changed. While somewhat entertaining, this issue continues the trend of making Aquaman a one-trick pony. The art is good"neither terrible nor amazing"and Sotomayor has done a good job of keeping everything looking aquatic when necessary. Overall, it's not a life-changing book, but it's not a rag either. It's somewhere in the middle. If "somewhere in the middle" isn't enough to make you spend $2.99, then go ahead and skip it, though it make behoove you to at least flip through it if you plan on picking up this month's Aquaman and the Others.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
B.P.R.D.: Hell On Earth #109

Jul 21, 2013

Having read the previous installments of this story arc, I was kind of expecting a bit more of a payoff that just didn't come at the end. It wasn't a bad story, as it had it's interesting parts (like the reemergence of Howards), but I was left with a kind of bland taste in my mouth after reading it. While the art was good, I felt that the writers got a little sloppy when depicting a child and what a child would realistically do in a world gone to hell.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Batgirl (2011) #0

Sep 17, 2012

I really enjoyed this book on a second and third read-through. Gail Simone has so far done a stellar job on this series and hasn't disappointed on this issue either. The art continues to enhance and work with the story, instead of against it. This was a very good edition to the Batgirl series and its ending, while a little heart-breaking, really tied together this zero-issue to the rest of the Batgirl mythos. I recommend that one at least gives it a look.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Batman (2011) #14

Nov 15, 2012

Snyder's writing with Capullo's art make for a winning series and this issue is another fantastic addition. They're not afraid to delve deep into the heart of Batman and Joker's relationship. Snyder breathes life into the Joker, making his dialogue come alive on the page. Though the new facelift Joker has is distracting, it's not enough to dock points from this book. Pick it up for the story and characterization, if for no other reason.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Batman (2011) #23.1

Sep 16, 2013

This book is one of those stories that can be classified as "meh." Other than the hurtful subtext of 'victims of child abuse will become psychopaths', the story is only okay at best. It's not the best Villains Unleashed story out there, but it's also not the worst. The holographic cover is very good and Clarke manages to create a more emotive character, but it's really not enough to save the book. Overall, this is, disappointingly, one you could probably skip.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Batman and Robin (2011) #13

Oct 17, 2012

This is a really nice book that presents Damian Wayne from a different point of view. It's refreshing to see him vulnerable, a kid, instead of the cocky brat he's usually presented as. The art is visually mismatched. Whether that's because of a miscommunication between the artists or just a bad pairing between the two is hard to tell, but it doesn't gel like it should. The art styles aren't bad, just too different from each other to be in the same book. Pick it up if you like the Bruce and Damian Wayne dynamic.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batwoman #17

Feb 27, 2013

This is a great issue and a great conclusion to the massive Batwoman storyline, not only making it go out with a bang, but setting up the reader for the next big bad in the Batwoman series. It's positively addressing the issue of gay marriage is something I applaud it for and it's a bold choice for the writers to make. Williams' art is as beautiful and pleasing to look at as ever and is reason enough to collect the whole series, let alone this issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Before Watchmen: Minutemen #3

Sep 2, 2012

So far, this book has been my favorite in the Before Watchmen run.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Blackacre #6

May 11, 2013

The BlackAcre series has been an interesting look at a dystopian future that isn't necessarily caused by zombies or some sort of global catastrophe. Since Greene has been the focus of the of the previous books, it's nice to see him get his own solo issue. However, to understand what was happening in the previous issues, you don't really need this particular book. While it remains to be seen if this issue is necessary for the larger plot (and it probably is), it's not really something you need to have right now. Unless you're a die-hard fan of the series, there's no need to pick up this book at this time.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Catwoman (2011) #13

Oct 24, 2012

Personally, I don't care for Ann Nocenti's writing and actually dropped her Green Arrow run fairly early on. I was thus a little disappointed to see her working on Catwoman, a series that I have adored since the beginning of it's New 52 run. Her writing isn't terrible. It just doesn't really work for this series and feels more like a labored attempt at mimicking Grant Morrison's more prose-like style. The art is fairly solid for this book with little complaints, if any. Overall, this is a good starting point for the Death of the Family story arc, but on it's own it's just an okay book.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Daredevil (2011) #25

Apr 27, 2013

I may be a bit biased when it comes to reviewing anything by Mark Waid just because I personally think he's one of the great comic writers out there. Putting that aside, though, this book is really relevant for the Daredevil storyline and will probably confuse the reader if one were to skip this issue. Plus, why would you want to? This book alone is packed full of action that plays on the senses just right. And, quite frankly, it's beautiful to look at. Skipping it would be a mistake. Not to mention, if you missed the previous issue, there's still time to follow along if you pick this one up soon. Overall, Daredevil #25 earns a four out of five stars.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Daredevil: End of Days #2

Nov 12, 2012

As said before, I'm not a huge Bendis fan, but this series has been excellent so far. With a very old-timey detective atmosphere and lots of potential intrigue, this book is a welcome installment to this mini-series. The art may not be for everyone, but the storyline is deserving of a look through. Grab the first issue and then this one, or else you'll be kind of lost on what's going on.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
East of West #4

Jul 21, 2013

Every once in awhile, a series comes along that is good every issue and manages to maintain that high standard each and every time. East of West is one of those series. It is good time and time again and has yet to have a bad issue. This particular book is no exception. The plot only continues to thicken and you can't help but care about the characters with every read through. Pick this one up to continue this epic journey that Hickman and Dragotta have started.

View Issue       View Full Review
3.0
Epic Kill #5

Sep 10, 2012

As a fan of kitschy 70s grindhouse type movies, I really wanted to like this series. I really tried. I really wanted the finale to be, ya know, epic, like the title suggests. It just wasn't. I cared about none of the characters, got bored halfway through and was only surprised by the ending in that it failed to deliver what it was attempting to build up to. The only redeeming quality about this book is Ienco's attempt to both write and illustrate a series all by his lonesome. Gotta support a person's attempt at being indie, right?

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Fairest #11

Jan 12, 2013

Lauren Beukes and Inaki Miranda's work on the Hidden Kingdom story arc has been stellar. Even though Mayumi's story turned out to be a bit of a cop-out, it's not enough to out-do what's becoming an epic addition to the Fables universe. With an original take on a classic heroine and dream-like artwork, this is one you must pick up if you've been following the story so far.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Fairy Quest: Outlaws #2

Mar 13, 2013

This title is a really fun read and I'm very happy that it's going to have a next issue instead of the allotted two. I'm serious about feeling okay to read this series to my younger sisters, giving us something to bond over that keeps both myself and them entertained without insulting one or the other's intelligence. The art keeps things exciting and I look forward to seeing what they come up with next for this series. Overall, this title earns four stars out of five.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Fatale #14

May 21, 2013

Even with all my frustrated gnashing of teeth at still knowing diddly about Jo or her place in this universe that Brubaker has created, I will be back for the next issue. It's a good edition to the Fatale plot line dealing specifically with Josephine. While it's a good book, for followers of the series, there isn't really a lot of new information here. Mostly it's coloring in what's already known. For fans of the series, it might be a nice one to pick up but for the casual reader, it can probably be skipped.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Five Weapons #3

Apr 30, 2013

Making a series that is not only creatively refreshing but also one that is illustrated by the writer himself is no mean feat. Robinson's series is a fun take on what could be a formulaic story. Developing a number of strong female leads, this book is a good addition to a series that appeals to readers of both genders. While I question his using a few stereotypes with some of the teachers, it's forgivable given his normal line of work. Pick this up if you've been following the series so far. Overall, Five Weapons earns 3.5 stars out of five.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Flash (2011) #16

Feb 1, 2013

If you've been following the Flash's Gorilla Grodd story-arc so far, it's a good idea to pick up this one. While the plot is still kind of mediocre, the art is beautiful, as always. If you're a comic-art buff, grab this one just for the sheer artistic brilliance of the Manapul/Buccellato duo.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Ghost #4

Mar 23, 2013

I really enjoyed this finale to the main storyline and I like how they set the reader up for things to come. Ghost continues to be a good character to follow and the plot is enough to make me come back for the next issue. However, I would like to see a bit more variance for their male leads. It's nice to be able to just look at a character and know whom I'm looking at instead of having to keep taking notes. Overall, Ghost earns three out of five stars.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Green Arrow (2011) #17

Feb 11, 2013

Honestly, I'm so biased against the terrible writing of Ann Nocenti that literally anyone could have written this book and gotten a five-star review from me. However, putting that aside, Jeff Lemire has really managed to put this title back on track. With Sorrentino adding his gritty artistic style to the Green Arrow universe, this issue is a promising sign of things to come for Oliver Queen. Pick it up.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Grimm Fairy Tales #83

Mar 30, 2013

This would be a good time to jump into the Grimm original series. It's a new chapter and it pays homage to where it all started. If you've missed out on these books prior, and are a little familiar with the earliest issues, this is a good time to hop back on the GFT bandwagon. There's an interesting plot brewing and it looks to be a good one.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Grimm Fairy Tales Presents: Wonderland #2

Sep 9, 2012

This is a solid new addition to the Grimm Wonderland mythos and more of a character development book than something action packed. That in no way takes away from the story. Raven Gregory delivering what's looking to be a fun and once again morbid story in the Wonderland series. The art needs some work and hopefully will start jiving together by next issue. If you're a fan of the Grimm Wonderland series, go ahead and pick this one up.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.6
Guardians of the Galaxy (2013) #20

Nov 3, 2014

This book is a fairly good"though slightly predictable"end to the Guardians of the Galaxy Original Sin tie-in. Bendis does well with Nova's death, though the rest of the book doesn't have a ton in the way of substance. Other than the all-male nudist colony taking place in the Cancerverse, the art is solid with Schiti and McGuiness working well off each other in their own respective parts of the book. It's a nice send-off for Richard Ryder, but, if you haven't been following the Original Sin tie-in books for this series, you could probably just thumb through this one to get the gist of it.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Harley Quinn (2013) #4

Mar 27, 2014

As mentioned before, this is a good book to read if you've just come off a different “emotionally heavy” book or need something quick to pass the time. It's a fun book and the art is consistently up to snuff, but it's not terribly deep or thought provoking. If you're looking for deep and thought provoking, probably best to look elsewhere. If you're looking for humorous and light-hearted, however, this could be a fun one to at least leaf through and doesn't really require one to have read previous issues in order to grasp what's going on. Overall, Id give it about 3 out of 5 stars.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Hellboy in Hell #1

Dec 11, 2012

Hardcore Mignola fans should take to this book immediately. It's not quite as active as the other Hellboy books out there, but that's also because Mignola has time to thoroughly tell a story sans deadline. While you won't get a ton of action, you will get a classic Mignola book and what is a promising start to this new ongoing series. Be warned though: If you haven't read the Storm and the Fury, or at the very least the Wild Hunt, you will be lost.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Hexed (2014) #3

Oct 12, 2014

Much like it's predecessor, this incarnation of Hexed is turning out to be a fun romp through magic and mayhem, without the cutesiness that usually follows. Though it primarily has a female cast, it'll appeal to men and women alike, if you can muscle past the men-as-pawns aspect. Dan Mora does an excellent job with his Burton-esque art style, backed up by Cassata's frisky sense of color. Though it does have serious elements, it's not a terribly deep and provides a good quick read grounded in the supernatural. If you have been following the series, this is a book that you'll have to pick up to continue with the storyline, thus making it not a great spot to jump on for new readers. Still, it's shaping up to be a fun series so far.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Indestructible Hulk #1

Nov 26, 2012

Mark Waid is one of my favorite writers and Leinil Yu's art fits like a glove for this story. It's not the most amazing book out there, but the story has small noticeable changes to Bruce Banner's character. He's calling the shots with his life now and it promises to be a great comic to start following. Pick it up!

View Issue       View Full Review
3.0
Insurgent #1

Jan 19, 2013

I have to applaud DC for supporting creator owned comics. It's a big risk to take on a bunch of newbies and I really hope they continue to give others the same chance. That said, this particular series isn't off to a great start. The characters are underdeveloped and the art looks unfinished at best. In a publishing company where one is going up against the Justice League, Superman and more Batman titles than one can shake a stick at, a lone miniseries really needs to be something special. This one isn't it.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Jinnrise #3

Mar 12, 2013

This is a good issue to pick up if you've been following the series so far or if you enjoy a good philosophical debate. It'll be nice to see what Awan continues to cook up as far as these alien species and cultures go. Plus, Vassallo's attention to detail really made the Kibrani in particular come alive. Together Awan and Vassallo have created a really viable and interesting culture.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Judge Dredd: Year One #4

Aug 9, 2013

For many people first coming to the Judge Dredd universe, this run so far has been a good way to go. It's been vastly entertaining and this story-arc gives an interesting look into Dredd's first years as a judge. While the ending was too hasty and a lot of the art was overshadowed by tons of word balloons, it's an interesting look at the Dredd mythos for someone who's a newcomer. Even with the abrupt end, it's still an enjoyable read. Overall, Judge Dredd: Year One #4 earns three stars out of five.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Justice League #15

Dec 27, 2012

This is an excellent addition to the Justice League series and a very promising start to the Throne of Atlantis story arc. Geoff Johns is doing some interesting things, story wise, and the new artistic duo is proving more than capable of delivering a very aesthetically pleasing book. Pick this one up.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Justice League Dark #0

Oct 2, 2012

This book was fun and a welcome break from the doomsday intensity of the usual Justice League Dark storyline. The story is a little on the predictable side, but that doesn't mean it's a boring read by any means. The art is nice, but seems out of place when compared to the previous books in the series. Overall, pick it up if you're a John Constantine fan and want a bit of info on his early years with Zatanna.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Justice League of America (2013) #4

Jun 2, 2013

Despite the "reveal" that's supposed to rock the DC world, all I can think about is how I hope this will, in some way, bump off Ann Nocenti from anything pertaining to Catwoman. I'm not sure what that says about the book that I'm more interested in whether this will have reverberations for the logistics of the Catwoman series than the fact that Catwoman is potentially dead, but it should say something. Although, I can't say it enough that Kindt's story about Martian Manhunter is well worth giving this book a quick look if not just for that purpose alone.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Legend Of The Shadow Clan #1

Jan 31, 2013

Overall, this is a pretty fun start to what could be an interesting series. Once you get past the Serling-esque narration, it's an entertaining book and a good one to pick up if you're looking for something new to add to your list. Plus, it's only a buck, so what do you have to lose, really?

View Issue       View Full Review
6.3
Lobo #2

Nov 7, 2014

LOBO #2 is entertaining at best and familiar at least. While Lobo's backstory and the mystery of who hired the assassins are potentially promising plot lines, the "I work alone" plot is a bit standard and really not enough to keep things interesting. Plus, the last assassin's plot to destroy the Earth felt more like he played a lot of Resident Evil than anything else. Though a lot of the artwork is standard issue for a DC book, the colors do make the book pop and it's definitely a plus that Brown and Decastro are experimenting with different body-types for heroines instead of the usual fit-and-athletic body type we normally get. Overall, LOBO #2 is a pretty book to look at, but it's nothing particularly special in the way of plot.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Masks #1

Dec 4, 2012

I was really excited when I first heard about this book. I thought it was a brilliant concept. With the exception of the art, the book has so far failed to deliver. It may just be because it's the first issue and I optimistically hope the following issues will outshine this one with the official introduction of Zorro and Black Bat but, so far, it's not off to a great start.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Miss Fury #3

Jun 12, 2013

This book is fairly dense in the time travel department. It's also too quick to make Marla Drake trust people she barely knows. Plus, Nazis are an overused motif and, here, they're found everywhere. Despite all this, this book is still a lot of fun and is an entertaining read. Not to mention, Herbert and Nunes make a great artistic team when they're not drawing female faces. It's what I wish Catwoman would be.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Planetoid #3

Aug 24, 2012

This isn't the action packed book the first two issues were and that is just fine as far as I'm concerned. While much slower paced, it gives the readers a moment to sit back and take a breath. From every minute detail, such as a woman's smile or a rover's helmet, there is always something new to see in every read through. As both the writer and the artist, Garing has achieved a simplicity and beauty that even the most seasoned of writers haven't begun to scratch the surface of. I can't recommend this book highly enough.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Rat Queens #8

Oct 2, 2014

While not necessarily part of the main plot per se, Wiebe continues to create a fascinating world with insights into Violet's past and gentle nuances about where she comes from instead of slapping the reader in the face with dwarven culture. Upchurch continues his stellar work with the series and even manages to impress with how pretty he was able to make whiskery women. If you've been following the Rat Queens storyline, this is a great supplement into one of their title characters' history. Buy it if you've enjoyed the Rat Queens' universe thus far.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Red Hood And The Outlaws #0

Sep 24, 2012

I really enjoyed the first part of this book and hearing Jason's story from Jason's own words. Most people know Jason Todd's history so having something viable to go back on is nice especially if one is a Red Hood fan like I am. I was really confused when they decided to squeeze in the Joker's 'behind the scenes' scoop and having his be the orchestrator for who Jason would eventually become. However, the artistic contrast between Jason's story and the Joker's really at least deserves a look through.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.6
Resurrectionists #1

Nov 14, 2014

Overall, it's a nice book, but it doesn't deliver all it implies as quickly as it realistically should.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Revival #2

Aug 19, 2012

Overall, I really enjoyed this newest addition to what's looking to be a fairly interesting take on the idea of resurrection and what that means to both the living and those who've been brought back. The relationships in the Cypress family are also shaping up to have some pretty solid character development, showing just enough to hint at a dysfunctional family without hitting you over the head with it. The art is very fitting for the series overall and I appreciate both the author and the artist not making this a full blown zombie story. This is a good one to pick up if you have the money to spare.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Robyn Hood #4

Dec 27, 2012

Robyn is rapidly climbing my list of favorite heroines from the Zenescope universe and this book helped add to it. So far, Shand has created and maintained a likeable new addition to the Myst universe and has left the book off on a classic sort of cliffhanger. Putting aside how freakish Prince John looks, the art is fairly solid and Watts makes Robyn look good in just about every panel she's featured. His action panels are quite nice as well. Pick it up if you've followed the series up to this point.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Saga #12

Apr 16, 2013

Vaughn and Staples continue to be a powerhouse in the comic world and Saga yet again lives up to its reputation. Delving into the very human issues of PTSD, Vaughn breathes further life into his characters with Staples being more than able to keep up stellar work each and every time. Pushing past the controversy surrounding two very tiny images, this book is yet another beautiful chapter in the Saga saga and should be picked up by anyone who's been tuning in so far.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Savage Wolverine #1

Jan 21, 2013

Discounting Wolverine and the X-Men, this is my first foray into a Wolverine-centric series and so far, it's okay. Frank Cho is a great artist and he writes an entertaining book. Is this title a life changing experience? Not really, but it is fun. It's definitely not the strongest title out there with Wolverine as it's main focus, but it's worth a quick flip-through if one has the time.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Shadow Show #1

Dec 10, 2014

Despite it not being a completely true, one hundred percent adaptation of Joe Hill's original story, Jason Ciaramella has stayed as true as he can to the original, allowing not only Hill's work but his own to act as an opening ode to Ray Bradbury. Wilson and Mohler also give the reader a child-like insight into the story, much as the story itself did via narration. While there are some things that could have been cut, this is a good first entry into a series that acts as a love-story to Ray Bradbury's work. It's a must get if one is a Bradbury or Hill fan.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Suicide Squad (2011) #0

Sep 16, 2012

Overall, this felt like a huge advertisement for Team 7. Since the first Team 7 came out the same week as Suicide Squad, it really felt like overkill. This issue had more to do with Amanda Waller and her associations with Team 7. It would have been nice to have a story based around the actual squad members and anecdotes about their origins, instead of this being an entire issue dedicated to Amanda Waller on her lonesome. I was a little disappointed because I've really liked the entirety of the Suicide Squad run so far. Unless one is an Amanda Waller or Team 7 enthusiast, this book was a bit of a letdown.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Superior Spider-Man #10

Jun 1, 2013

ProsSlott knows how to create suspense.Art makes a depressing plot less depressing.ConsSatellite characters come off as naive and stupid.Cartoonish art is not for everyone.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Superman (2011) #13

Oct 29, 2012

While I personally enjoyed Clark's diatribe about the state of the media, I'm not sure it was enough to totally carry this book. The art was amazing for battle scenes but Superman's constant monologue, and then an omniscient narrator's step-by-step analysis, were a bit long-winded and occasionally distracting. It's a good introduction to the H'el on Earth story arc, providing Lobdell goes into why the dragon is here in the first place.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Superman (2011) #23.1

Sep 16, 2013

For a book about Bizarro, this issue is very Lex Luthor heavy. It focuses on a failed attempt at making Bizarro, but not on Bizarro directly, which is disappointing. The art is clean and it's easy to see what Luthor is thinking just by looking at him, although the plot feels more hindered by the art than anything. The story is mediocre, though it gives a good look into Luthor's psyche. Compared to some of the other Villains Unleashed books out there, this one is just okay.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Talon #3

Jan 8, 2013

When I first heard of the concept behind Talon, I was gung-ho for a dark revenge-esque type story or at least something Batman-based that manages to hold on it's own. Yet, as the series has gone on, there is very little I haven't seen before. The art is nice and the story is passing, but this book doesn't particularly stand out from the other issues in this series or from anything else that DC is currently putting out. I keep waiting for Snyder and Tynion to step up their game and that has yet to happen. I'm giving them one more issue before I decide to move on to something else altogether.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles #15

Nov 8, 2012

I grew up with the ninja turtles, having the toys and watching the cartoon. Out of sheer nostalgia purposes, I'd rate this comic a 5 out of 5, but alas I must give it an unbiased rating. While the art was considerably toothy, the story was an interesting addition to the story, introducing the character of Slash to the new mythos. This issue was considerably low key from the previous issue, but that isn't necessarily bad.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Ten Grand #3

Jul 15, 2013

ProsStory just keeps getting strongerArtist and writer work well together as a teamConsLaura and Joe's relationship is a little unrealisticTemplesmith isn't for everyone

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Hypernaturals #4

Oct 10, 2012

The art is very activeA bnett and Lanning do great work together. Not a great jumping on point

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
The Jungle Book: Last of the Species #1

Feb 28, 2013

This series is definitely different from Zenescope's usual line of work and it's a welcome break to see them branch out thematically. With a more realistic looking female Mowgli and a story about power within the established system, this is a fun more grown-up take on the Jungle Book and a good sequel. However, it is a bit pricey for what it is and one might be lost if they haven't read the original series. Flip through it first and, if you have the extra cash, pick up a copy. Or just wait for the trade paperback.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
The Spider #8

Feb 1, 2013

This issue was a disappointment. Having been spoiled with Colton Worley's art for so long, Ivan Rodriguez's seems bland in comparison. Not horrible, but not amazing either. With a clichdand uninteresting plot, one hopes that this isn't a sign of things to come. With any luck, the plot will pick up and the Spider won't become one of those titles that vanishes into obscurity. Here's hoping.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
The Wake #3

Aug 9, 2013

With Snyder and Murphy at the helm, this is shaping up to be a very engrossing story if one has been following it so far. While this particular book may hold up on it's own, it's not advisable, as having the previous two books enhance the overall story. Snyder definitely knows what he's doing as a writer and partners up well with Murphy who seems to really understand the mood and ambiance Snyder is going for. This is a great series to follow. Overall, the Wake #3 earns three and a half stars out of five.

View Issue       View Full Review
3.0
The Walking Dead: The Governor Special #1

Feb 16, 2013

Overall, this was really disappointing. I had genuinely been expecting something along the lines of the Michonne Special. Having never read either of the two Woodbury supplement novels, I figured this would be a good chance for a summary, of sorts, in the good ole' Walking Dead fashion. You don't get that here. You get a barely interesting micro-story and then a bunch of stuff that serves more as filler than anything else. If you are a die-hard fan of the series that absolutely needs every issue, then pick this up. Otherwise, skip it.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Thor: God of Thunder #8

May 15, 2013

This series has been consistently good through its entire run so far, bringing a fun and trippy feel to the Thor mythos. This book continues that winning streak. As Aaron continues to weave a plot that only gets better as it goes on and Ribic continues to illustrate a vast and grotesquely beautiful universe,this is a series""and a book""that one should pick up as soon as possible. Overall, Thor: God of Thunder #8 earns four and a half stars out of five.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Trinity Of Sin #1

Oct 20, 2014

DeMatteis did a fairly good job at narration and writing for this book and introduced pretty good villains for the trio to take on. With the exception of their turkey-vulture Big Bad, Guichet and Gorder do a fairly good job on art. However, while I'm not an avid nu-52 hater, I do think DC messed up bad when they made the Question a mystical entity and not a mortal investigative reporter and I continue to really miss Vic Sage and Renee Montoya. This is something that's not DeMatteis' fault, though. If you're an avid fan of any of the Trinity of Sin members in their current incarnations, you might want to pick this up. Otherwise, it's just okay.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
X-Men Legacy (2012) #15

Aug 31, 2013

This title has consistently been one of the better X-Men titles out there, though it gets surprisingly little coverage. David Haller is quickly becoming one of the most complex and fascinating characters in the X-Men mythos, no longer just the stuff of nightmares with an irritatingly strong well of power to draw from. Spurrier has created a well-crafted story that delves into self-discovery without being preachy and still able to pay homage to the universe it comes from. This remains a good title to pick up and has earned three and a half stars out of five.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for
the Week of...

November

October

More