Henry Starling's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Outright Geekery Reviews: 42
9.9Avg. Review Rating

10
4001 A.D. #1

May 1, 2016

Overall, this is just about as perfect as a comic could get. You have great writing with the emotion, the pacing, and structure, and you have all the beautiful panels that take the action up to a whole new level. This is a perfect jumping on point for anyone looking to get into the Valiant Universe.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Bloodshot: Reborn #2

May 17, 2015

Overall, the read on this issue was fresh, fast paced, and just plain fun to watch. It's going to a great ride.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Bloodshot: Salvation #9

May 16, 2018

While were are now at issue #9, this story does not take place in the telling of this newest arc, more like stopping to take a breather and tell the story of one of Valiants most interesting characters. Which is good, as it not only allows us readers a chance to get close with Bloodhound, but we get to take stock in what his actual role in this universe actually is.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Dead Drop #1

May 6, 2015

All in all this was an exciting, fun, action packed issue, all using just two characters. I for one can't wait to see how this affects the Valiant Universe. Maybe just like The Valiant? Another game changer? I guess we'll have to wait and see!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Divinity #1

Feb 8, 2015

So, in short, all this fantastic writing, artwork, extras, and 34 pages all at standard cover price? This is why Valiant Entertainment is leading the new comics Renaissance we are currently in and exactly why I am a proud Valianteer.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Divinity #2

Mar 15, 2015

In the end this was a great read, merely for the fact that it opened up Divinity's world a little bit, and we start to see his place in the valiant universe. It's going to be a long wait until issue #3.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Divinity #3

Apr 19, 2015

This series is Valiant's battle cry. Almost mirroring, to me at least, what the company had to go through just to emerge today and a formidable opponent to the Big 2. I, for one, feel I'm in the right corner in this title bout.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Harbinger: Renegade #5

Jul 7, 2017

Overall. Breathtaking, heartbreaking, exciting"nah those arent the words needed. I dont even think I am allowed to use those words. I dont even think the words that can describe this issue have even been invented yet! Valiant is known for shaking things up every once in a while".but jeez!!!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Imperium #1

Feb 8, 2015

As the first steps are being taken into the Valiant Next initiative I feel we are all in for quite a ride! I feel we will see some of the results of these new titles become evident" in the world of Rai. Imperium is only one of these first steps being taken.So to sum this issue up. The writing sets up what looks to be a great title, backed by a fantastic art team, will have ramifications that should ripple through the other valiant titles as well. With that said"

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Imperium #2

Mar 2, 2015

To sum things up, this issue is fantastic. The tension is built up to critical levels. Harada has the entire world's attention. It also shows what and who we are willing to trust in order to achieve a successful mission.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Imperium #3

Apr 5, 2015

Wow! I am left reeling from this issue! I literally had to wait awhile before writing this review, otherwise it would've been a jumbled mess. The entire Valiant team hits another home run!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Imperium #4

May 11, 2015

This was a graphic, disturbing end to the first arc of Imperium. And I loved it. Project Rising Spirit has officially been breached, and they don't even know it.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Ivar, Timewalker #2

Feb 17, 2015

Ivar TimeWalker does head and shoulders a stand out amongst all the other comics on the shelf. None of the others offer us the best qualities of sliders and Doctor Who. We get both in this series. For this valiant deserves a pat on the back.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Ivar, Timewalker #3

Mar 16, 2015

OMG this was a fun read! Lots of laughs, action, and intrigue. I could not put it down until I was done.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Ivar, Timewalker #4

Apr 20, 2015

Together, with the other issues leading to the Book of Death series coming up, looks like Valiant is moving each of their pieces into position, for their first ever "Unity" type crossover event. I for one just cannot wait!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Livewire (2018) #2

Jan 20, 2019

Overall, if you were looking at Livewire as a chance to jump on to Valiant, you will need to start all the way back to Secret Weapons, and then Harbinger Renegade, The Harbinger Wars Prelude, then to a lesser extent Harbinger Wars 2. Do yourself a favor"pick these all up, then start on Livewire. It is all the best comic reading that is out there today.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Negative Space #1

Jun 15, 2015

Overall, the writing was decent, story was fun, but the art hurt this book. This story could have a chance.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Ninjak #1

Mar 8, 2015

This whole issue was so fun to read. It has elements of James Bond, to Ridley Scott movies. I am excited for this series. There is some great stuff coming down the way from Valiant on this one!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Ninjak #2

Apr 20, 2015

Valiant is making great strides into introducing us to new elements of storytelling, while at the same time, reintroducing us to some elements long forgotten by the rest of the industry (variant covers, rewarding readers who are whole heartedly fans, and boisterously proud to be so). This is a new comic renaissance, and I'm glad to be a part of it!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Quantum and Woody Must Die #2

Feb 24, 2015

James Asmus write a story that feels like something straight out of a buddy cop movie. Makes me want to take my shoes off make some popcorn and enjoy the ride. This kind of writing is the reason what makes me an avid comic reader. The art and color team of Steve Lieber and Dave McCraig also had me rolling with the physical slapstick! The way they tell the story just as well as the writing is just brilliant. And the visual nuances made this issue a joy to look at as well as read. Overall, this, as always, was a fun read. Laid back and never took itself seriously. There are not a lot of comics out there that can do this. The buddy cops of the valiant universe. What a fun concept.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Quantum and Woody Must Die #3

Mar 22, 2015

Overall, this issue had a fast paced story, great artwork, and lots of jokes to the end.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Quantum and Woody Must Die #4

Apr 26, 2015

The art in this series by Steve Lieber brings me back to the time when I first started liking comics. Bold lines, subtle nuances drawn in the backgrounds, etc" And the colors by Dave McCaig were just as great as ever. Brilliant, fluid tones that were vibrant and fun to look at. Suicide sloth? Great job guys! I almost dropped my phone over that one!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Rai #6

Feb 9, 2015

So, before I go off on a wild tangent let's just say that the Rai team at Valiant plan to take us on a ride. And with what is being shown and with what is coming up I for one can't wait.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Rai #7

Feb 10, 2015

In short valianteers, this issue is where it is at. Everything starts at this point. Rai is on the comics scene, and there is no stopping him at this point. Valiant is making some bold moves and Rai is no exception.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Rai #8

Apr 5, 2015

With everything that happened in The Valiant, especially that ending, Matt Kindt gives us a hint as to what transpired just before, (or after, if you will) to The Valiant. Beautiful writing, that blew me away!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Shadowman (2018) #11

Jan 12, 2019

"A wild ride full of history, emotion, and (once again) more action than one series should be allowed to have."

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Switch #1

Dec 2, 2015

Overall this was a great start to a new chapter of the Witchblade. Here's hoping Mary is up for the challenge.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Life And Death Of Toyo Harada #1

Feb 3, 2019

This is quite possibly the best mini series of the year.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Valiant #2

Feb 14, 2015

The Valiant is shaping up to alter what we currently know as the Valiantverse. What's in the box? What does Neville have planned? Will the team up of all the known Valiant heroes be needed in order to stop The Immortal Enemy? I, for one, am excited to find out.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Valiant #3

Feb 16, 2015

Valiant Next has aimed for the stands again this month, and they are coming out swinging. The Valiant seems to be the key in what Valiant will be bringing to the superhero table. Fresh ideas, fresh artwork. This is what this industry needs right now. And The Valiant has it in spades.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Valiant #4

Mar 23, 2015

This whole series deserves a 5 out of 5 rating. If anyone new to Valiant picks these up, they will be Valianteers for life.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Unity #13

Feb 6, 2015

In short, this issue is just one fraction of what Valiant is all about. Fast paced adventure with stories that stretch beyond it's own covers.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Unity #15

Feb 17, 2015

Ninjak has always been one of my favorites for a long time. Bring able to see this side of him was a true delight. Action, drama, suspense, boredom, tediousness,are all very well represented in this issue, proving yet again that valiant is bringing their A game to us valianteers yet again.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Unity #16

Mar 8, 2015

The cover art does a great job of drawing the readers in by showing a battle scene (in fantastic detail) without giving away any of the story inside. This is probably the best single issue of garage character development. I was just floored by the fact that no matter how many friends he has, ultimately, he is eternally alone.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Unity #17

Apr 13, 2015

All together this was a good read. It gave a glimpse into the private life of one of our heroes. How sad she is on the inside.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Unity #18

May 11, 2015

All together, this is a good jumping on issue. No major arcs going on, but enough to get any new reader up to speed. Good thing that Valiant does a good job with "The story so far") on the inside cover

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Witchblade #185

Nov 29, 2015

Overall, I will miss Sara Pezzini and, by defacto, Michael Turner. His work, and his characters will long be remembered in this industry. And in our collections.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
X-O Manowar #34

Mar 2, 2015

All in all, this is why I read Valiant comics. They are never afraid to try new things, or to bring back things that made Valiant so popular on the 90's. This issue is no exception.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
X-O Manowar #35

Mar 28, 2015

So far the Dead Hand story is shaping up to be a monumental success for Valiant. Maybe with the advent knowledge of there being other X-O suits maybe we'll get X-O Corps. Here's hoping.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
X-O Manowar #36

May 9, 2015

Thus is probably shaping up to the best space epic arc I've read in some time. Valiant keep surprising me. I am eager to see the outcome of this arc, and how it plays into the upcoming Book Of The Dead.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
X-O Manowar (2017) #15

May 21, 2018

This was a good slow down issue. Recap some of the more recent event in Aric's life, while preparing for the Harbinger Wars II event. The story telling was phenomenal, and the artwork was top-notch. I would even go as far to say this issue would be a great jumping on point for non Valiant readers to pick up on.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
X-O Manowar (2017) #20

Oct 20, 2018

A great jumping on point for anyone wanting to get into reading X-O Manowar.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

December

November

More