Hollie Cumberland's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Word Of The Nerd Reviews: 68
8.8Avg. Review Rating

10
Batman: Eternal #35

Dec 5, 2014

With Hush-the silent enemy, captured and yet still able to wreak havoc, and Jason Bard, the mysterious Police Commissioner, desperate to get rid of The Dark Knight, Batman has a lot on his hands. The use of characters such as The Spoiler, Batgirl and Batwoman have made this half of the series fantastic. Now, hopefully this has set the precedent for the rest of the series, and the use of special guest Super Heroes continue well on to whats bound to be a shocking conclusion to this extremely entertaining series.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Wonder Woman (2011) Annual #1

Jun 11, 2015

After what I would call the wreck which was the Convergence story arc, it was nice to come back to this series and see such a spectacular issue. It was most definitely well worth the wait, and I truly can't wait to see what next month has to offer.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.4
Supergirl (2011) #34

Aug 22, 2014

This issue shows that there doesn't need to be a lot of action for Supergirl to truly shine, which is why this issue has become one of my favourites, and if it's anything to go by, the rest of this arc is going to be truly exceptional.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Supergirl (2011) #35

Oct 16, 2014

I say this almost every time, and I never regret it: I really cannot wait for next month's issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Supergirl (2011) #36

Nov 21, 2014

Overall, and to put it short and sweet, this issue is simply sensational. I really can't find any faults with this issue, as a matter of fact, I think it's perfect.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Supergirl (2011) #37

Dec 20, 2014

So, I really enjoy this storyline. Not only because I am enjoying the fact that Kara is getting a chance to experience something she's never really had the opportunity to before in terms of getting a fulfilling education, but because the inclusion of people such as Maxima, Tsavo and Comet adds something new to this series: a sense of teamwork. Kara is excellent working on her own, but she needs to be around people who are like her, this storyline allows her to do just that.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Supergirl (2011) #38

Jan 23, 2015

The combination of incredible artwork and an impressive storylinemakes it very easy for me to say that this is an exceptional issue of Supergirl. Definitely one to read if you haven't read it already. This series is already good, but the storylines being thrown our way are getting more interesting and more intense. I have a feeling it's going to get evenbetter in upcoming issues.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Supergirl (2011) #39

Feb 20, 2015

The Kara that has developed over these past few issues is mature and level headed, something Supergirl needed to develop, and I'm really hoping the friends she's made throughout will stick with her for a time. It's Perkins and Johnson that have allowed for this to happen, and I applaud them for that. It's a well out together issue, and sets the scene perfectly for what's sure to be an action packed issue next month.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Supergirl (2011) #40

Mar 20, 2015

As much as I loved this Crucible conclusion, I do have a negative comment to make: Why the hell would you leave it on such a cliff hanger? As if we haven't been through enough in this past arc, now you have to leave us with that?! Not cool DC . . . not cool.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Wonder Woman (2011) #33

Aug 4, 2014

With all of the confusion, and the changes brought about by the New 52 reboot, it's refreshing to continually see a Diana we all know and love, regardless of her new back story, and her new title, she upholds her continuously established title of Princess/Queen of the Amazons until the very end. The artwork is truly exceptional in showing the utter heartbreak and devastation Diana must have felt in her last few moments, only to re-emerge as the fearless warrior the Amazons, and the God of war for that matter, have always been portrayed to be. It's a solid instalment to the already established series, and I, for one, cannot wait for next month's issue to see how she gets herself out of this one.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.4
Wonder Woman (2011) #34

Oct 3, 2014

With the Futures End story arc being released at the moment, it may be a while before the next issue, but with how the storyline has progressed so far, there is no doubt the finale is going to be spectacular.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Wonder Woman (2011) #35

Oct 30, 2014

I can honestly say, this is the best conclusion to a series arc I've ever had the pleasure of reading. It's entertaining, dark, gruesome, and contains more emotion in a few simple sentences, than many other comics manage to achieve over multiple issues. I can't imagine anyone would dislike this, it has everything you could ever want in a comic book, but if they do" there's something seriously wrong with them. Nah, just kidding. Everyone's entitled to their own opinion, it's my opinion that this is one of the best, if not the best issue of Wonder Woman the new 52 has produced.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Wonder Woman (2011) #37

Dec 19, 2014

To sum it up then, this comic is not only drawn fantastically, but the writing is of a fantastic quality, which comes as no surprise, but this comic marks the beginning of an important debate for Diana, one which I'm excited to see the conclusion of.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Wonder Woman (2011) #38

Jan 23, 2015

Overall, this is a fantastic issue of Wonder Woman, and undoubtedly one that deserves to be read over and over again. The Finches are a sensational team, and this issue is definitely one of my favorites! Well worth a read if you haven't already.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Wonder Woman (2011) #39

Feb 20, 2015

Whether she realised it or not, Diana has needed help to come to terms with what it means to be the God of War, a founding member of the Justice League, and a successful Queen of the Amazons, all at the same time, and that help comes in the form of her dearly departed mother. Her inclusion, as well as the inclusion of Batman and Superman, have made this an exceptional issue, and definitely one not to be missed. Not only that, but it sets the scene perfectly for a more action packed issue, one I intend not to miss.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Wonder Woman (2011) #40

Apr 3, 2015

Overall, this is a spectacular issue, with a gripping storyline, and amazing artwork, and sets the tone perfectly for the next explosive issue. I can't wait to see it. So thanks to the Finches for making not only this issue, but the whole arc, perfect.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Wonder Woman (2011) #41

Jun 18, 2015

The team has taken a risky move inventing a new costume, and even though I really like it, some people probably won't. It will be interesting to see just how the fans react, but regardless of their reactions, I found this to be a highly entertaining issue. It's not as fast paced as the past few issues have been, but it makes a huge impact, and that's all that really matters. The main focus of this issue is really the impact Diana's journey has had on her. I think it's a huge turning point for the character, and I am anxious to see the effect such a huge decision has on the rest of the series.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Wonder Woman (2011) #42

Jul 24, 2015

Overall, this is an exceptional issue of Wonder Woman. The artwork perfectly accompanies the storyline, and the tale it tells is a completely new twist on things. This entire creative team just keeps getting better and better, and I hope they continue to work for this series for a very long time. With this storyline unfolding as it is, I can't wait to see what happens next. And as I said last month: Wonder Woman's new outfit is awesome!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.4
Wonder Woman (2011) #43

Aug 20, 2015

Overall, this is a very well put together comic. It's got everything you'd expect from a Wonder Woman comic"action, adventure, and a little bit of emotion. It's a very good addition to the series, even with the devastating cliff hanger it leaves us on. I definitely can't wait until next month now.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Hexed (2014) #1

Aug 13, 2014

It's such a well put together book, and while I'm used to writing longer reviews, I really don't think this needs it- there's only one word I can think to use when describing this to you, and that's 'amazing'. I promise: reading this will not be a waste of your time.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Hexed (2014) #2

Sep 12, 2014

The only problem I have with this series is that the issues aren't long enough. For purely selfish reasons, I want to read more of Lucifer, fall further in love with her character, with the supporting characters, and the enriched storyline we have been, and undoubtedly will be presented with, week in, week out. Admittedly, this isn't the kind of comic I'm used to reading, but it has opened my eyes to what else is out there. The adventures, or more appropriately, the misadventures of Lucifer, as expertly created by Michael Alan Nelson, compiled into a moderately sized comic, are something I would be an idiot to miss out on.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.4
Hexed (2014) #3

Oct 9, 2014

Overall, this is a very strong addition to the series so far. The storyline is progressing well, the characters are developing at a decent rate, and the consistently impressive level of artwork to accompanied by an equally as impressive storyline, makes this an easily enjoyable comic book series. I know I say this a lot, but I can't wait to see what happens next in Hexed.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Hexed (2014) #4

Nov 14, 2014

I won't beat around the bush. Once again I find Hexed to be fantastic. The storyline is good, it really draws you in, and keeps you hanging. The constant cliff hangers can be an annoyance to those who aren't used to having to wait for the conclusion, or continuation of a storyline, but as a writer I know how important it is to keep the readers interested, which is exactly what this does. Yes, I do think the faces could be more proportionate, but it certainly isn't a bad think, more of a pet peeve of mine, nevertheless, the artwork is just as good at the storyline, making this a well-rounded comic indeed. Certainly one to read, if you haven't had the pleasure already.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Hexed (2014) #5

Dec 12, 2014

Despite my misgivings about the cover art, there is no doubt in my mind that this has turned out to be a fantastic issue, and I hope I'm right in assuming that a lot of people feel exactly the same.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Hexed (2014) #6

Jan 15, 2015

This issue was definitely the best so far. There'swell written and beautifully drawn fight scenes. There's further character development that fueled my love of Raina and Lucifer. And of course, there's all the magic that I've come to expect from this story. It's easy to see just why this series had to make a comeback in 2014 and why it's still going strong. If you haven't read this issue, I highlyrecommend it. There's everything you'd ever want in a comic book and then some. I know I say that every month, butI really believe myself when I do. Without a shadow of a doubt, Hexed #6 is definitely my favorite so far. There are no negatives I could list, sinceI wholeheartedly believe there are none. You should definitely figure it out for yourself, though. Trust me, you will definitely not be disappointed.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Hexed (2014) #7

Feb 13, 2015

I strongly urge you to pick up Hexed #7, even if you haven't read any of the previous issues. This issue rehashes what's happened in previously, so you're not likely to get too lost. Plus, the wonder team that is Cassata, Mora and Nelson have created a literary and visual masterpiece. This issue's got a cliffhanger that will leave you cursing Nelson and BOOM! Studios for the entirety of the next month. It's the best and the worst cliff hanger I've read, and when I say I can't wait to see what happens in the next issue, I've never meant it more. Happy reading, folks!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Hexed (2014) #8

Mar 12, 2015

Nelson, Mora and Cassata have definitely outdone themselves with this one. I don't really think there's any more than can be said about this issue. From cover to cover, this is, without a doubt, the best Hexed issue yet, and if this is anything to go by, things are about to get a lot more interesting for our intrepid duo.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Hexed (2014) #9

Apr 17, 2015

Overall, this is an incredible issue, not just because of the quality of the comic in general, but because of the direction it's taking the characters in. This is so different from the first few issues in the series, but by no means is it a bad thing, in fact it makes it more entertaining, and I really can't wait to see what happens next. It doesn't leave us on a cliff-hanger per se, but the final page contains some of the best dialogue of the entire series, and that leaves me wanting to find out what more this entire team can come up with.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Hexed (2014) #10

May 22, 2015

The whole team behind Hexed have managed to make an already fantastic series truly exceptional. This issue is incredibly well made, and perfectly shows off the ability of the people who have worked on it. The artwork is awesome, the colours, provided by Cassata are spectacular, and the storyline is amazing. Overall, this story arc has been a real pleasure to read, and it's not over yet. Next month's issue is going to be awesome

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Hexed (2014) #11

Jun 18, 2015

It was a very entertaining issue, with fantastic artwork accompanying an equally as fantabulous storyline. The creative team behind Hexed work really well together, and constantly create incredibly well rounded issues. Things are really heating up now, and following the trend they've set, the next issue is bound to be better than this- if that's possible.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Grimm Fairy Tales #106

Jan 9, 2015

The reason I love Zenescope comics, particularly the different Grimm series, is the fact thatthey're all so different, yet each is completed to the same exceptional standards.This issue has the perfect balance between a gripping storyline (not too much action, not too much talking, but it follows on perfectly from previous issues, and gives the reader just enough to keep them wanting more, while not providing enough to spoil anything), and aesthetically pleasing images that grace every page. It's deserving of my praise a hundred times over, and I can honestly say that I look forward to reading what ever Grimm adventures Zenescope publish next.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Grimm Fairy Tales #107

Feb 5, 2015

Leaving us on a cliff hanger is so cruel, but I guess it's so people like you and I will tune in next month, which I definitely will.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Grimm Fairy Tales Presents: Coven #1

Jul 3, 2015

Overall, the entire creative team have created an exceptional first issue in this short series. It's most definitely deserving of its place in the Grimm series, and if the rest of the series is like this, the earlier prediction of it being the most intense and exciting Grimm Universe title is bound to come to fruition.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Grimm Fairy Tales Presents: Coven #2

Aug 20, 2015

This is a solid issue. The artwork isn't anything spectacular, but it is good. The coloring and storyline are the best parts of this issue, and make this entertaining to look at and read. It's still early days, so with any luck, the next four issues will improve on this. It's set to be an interesting series, and I can't wait to see what's to come.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Robyn Hood (2014) #2

Sep 25, 2014

So Robyn, I apologise for passing judgement so hastily on you, I hope others will join me by saying that I think you're Bloody Brilliant, and I cannot wait to read what you do next.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Robyn Hood (2014) #3

Oct 31, 2014

Overall, this has been a solid issue in the series. It's a little bit disappointing as conclusions go, but it is a very good read, and certainly paves the way for more action to come in the following issues.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Robyn Hood (2014) #4

Nov 28, 2014

I really enjoy the relationship between Robyn and Marian. They have such a deep admiration for one another; they know how each other works, their strengths and their weaknesses, and even though they don't always win on their first try, they are most definitely a formidable team. It's definitely something, as a woman, I enjoy seeing; female empowerment at it's best. It's for these reasons, as well as the many I've mentioned above, that I find myself having to re read this comic in order to be able to fully take in its sheer awesomeness. It's definitely the best Robyn Hood comic I've read to date, especially with the inclusion of Red, but I have a funny feeling, and I know some of you are going to back me up on this, that the next issue is going to be just as good, if not better than this, and I can definitely not wait to see what happens next!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Robyn Hood (2014) #5

Dec 25, 2014

This issue is well put together: the artwork is of a spectacular quality, as Brescini has proven before in other comics, and Pat Shand continues to provide us with fantastic storylines, making this a well-rounded issue, definitely one the creative team should be proud of.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.6
Robyn Hood (2014) #6

Jan 29, 2015

I'm willing to give the series the benefit of the doubt, and say this issue probably needed to be slow for a reason. It just didn't work for me. Nevertheless, I'm certain Zenescope will be able to come back from this lackluster issue, and Robyn will be back to entertaining us with her snark and wit next time.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.4
Robyn Hood (2014) #7

Feb 20, 2015

This issue is a lot slower than it has been previously, but it's not a bad thing. It is kind of a rehash on what has happened up until this point, and a good starting point from which the next issues can carry on from. I haven't found any negatives within Shand's work, but just because I haven't it doesn't mean there aren't any, I just feel like the work he produces is slowly improving with each excellent issue, and I'm genuinely excited to see what he produces next.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Robyn Hood (2014) #8

Mar 20, 2015

Robyn Hood #8felt a little slower than usual. Don't get me wrong, there was plenty of action for both of our lovely ladies, but it wasn't as entertainingly action packed as usual. I have every confidence that this was an anomaly, or a prelude to main events, if you will, so I wouldn't necessarily call it a bad thing. Every comic needs to slow things down every now and again. Maybe this is the calm before the storm, and if next month's preview is anything to go by, it's going to be one hell of a storm.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Robyn Hood (2014) #9

Apr 2, 2015

Overall, Shand delivers once again with a sensational storyline, the only thing that 'lets this issue down' is the artwork, but don't take that to mean the artwork is bad, because it's really not, it could just be better, and as Ingranata continues to build her portfolio, I'm sure it will. This issue marks the start of something new for the girls, and what an incredible arc its set itself up to be.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Robyn Hood (2014) #10

May 15, 2015

Shand has managed to take us on a rollercoaster of emotions this issue, which is completely unlike Robyn, but has expertly managed to stick to the Robyn we all know and love. Her devotion to Marian is unwavering, and it's a genuine joy to see that perfectly portrayed within this exceptional issue. If you haven't had the pleasure of reading this issue yet, then I strongly urge you do so. It's just the perfect blend of fantastic artwork, and an equally as enthralling storyline. Easily one of the best Robyn Hood issues to date.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Robyn Hood (2014) #11

Jun 12, 2015

Overall, this is the perfect issue to settle down to. The entire team behind it have done an exceptional job of making a comic that is slow paced and comedic, while still managing to include the Robyn and Marian that we have all come to know and love.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Robyn Hood (2014) #13

Aug 6, 2015

Overall, this is an excellent addition to the series. Marian is clearly growing into a very independent woman, but this issue leaves me wondering, at what expense? Will this new found independence and recklessness with her magic spell disaster for the series' main characters, or will everything turn alright in the end?. . . I guess we'll have to wait to find out!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.4
Harley Quinn (2013) #11

Oct 24, 2014

This is definitely one to not miss, and if it's anything to go by, the rest of this series is going to be just as spectacular.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.6
Harley Quinn (2013) #12

Nov 21, 2014

Hopefully, things will be different in the next issue, because I, for one, am not impressed. Harley Quinn is one of the most entertaining DC villains out there; there must be more riveting storylines the writers can create for the Psychotic Psychiatrist.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Harley Quinn (2013) #18

Jul 17, 2015

Overall, the entire creative team have put together an amazing issue of Harley Quinn. It's different to the Harley Quinn we all know and love, but the exclusion of the Joker obviously works in her favour and I'm thankful to the creators for giving her the opportunity to really show us what she can do out from the Joker's shadow. It's a real credit to DC as a whole, and I definitely can't wait to see what happens next.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Batgirl (2011): Endgame #1

Mar 19, 2015

Overall, it's a really enjoyable comic. The storyline is well presented, and the artwork adds a slightly comedic feel to the entire thing. It's a definite must-read to any Batgirl fans out there.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.4
Batgirl (2011) #35

Oct 9, 2014

Not only has this been a fantastic read, the sensational artwork, and one of my all-time favourite heroines, has made this one of the best Batgirl comics I've read in a very long time. Well done guys" keep up the fantastic work.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batgirl (2011) #36

Nov 14, 2014

This is therefore a solid issue in the continuing Batgirl series. It's not the best, the storyline could have been a bit more exciting, but I understand that even Superheroes need a slow day. It's just not what comic book fans want to read, but hopefully things will heat up for Babs, and I hope (selfishly so) Dinah will be along for the ride.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batgirl (2011) #36

Nov 14, 2014

This is therefore a solid issue in the continuing Batgirl series. It's not the best, the storyline could have been a bit more exciting, but I understand that even Superheroes need a slow day. It's just not what comic book fans want to read, but hopefully things will heat up for Babs, and I hope (selfishly so) Dinah will be along for the ride.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.4
Batgirl (2011) #37

Dec 12, 2014

The only redeeming quality this time round is the fantastic quality artwork Babs Tarr has provided us with once again.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batgirl (2011) #39

Feb 20, 2015

Overall, this is a fantastic issue, and it leads in nicely to what I'm expecting to be an action-packed issue next month, not only that, I can't wait to see who the fake Batgirl really is. Check out Secret Origins #10 before the next Batgirl(#40) issue to find out!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.4
Batgirl (2011) #40

Mar 20, 2015

OK, drum roll please people" Black Canary is back, in a new series. I can't be the only one excited about this! Dinah is awesome, and has really helped Barbara throughout the course if this arc. As a major DC character, she is definitely deserving of her own series. She is always going to be there for Babs, but it's time for her to spread her wings. I can't wait to see what's next in store for both of them!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Batgirl (2011) #42

Jul 30, 2015

Overall, the artwork ruled (as per usual), but the writing seriously let this one down. Every writer (or writers in this case), is entitled to a few bad issues, I'm going to say this is one of Stewart and Fletcher's. I really hope the next issue will be better. But in any case, Babs Tarr seriously rocked with her artwork, so if there was an excuse to read this one, it would be to see the amazing pieces of art Tarr has created.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Batgirl (2011) #43

Aug 28, 2015

It's highly probable that you'll have a different opinion of this issue to me, and that's cool. I just can't get over the fact that the Barbara and Batgirl portrayed in this issue are so out of character. The story just seemed too slow, like too much emphasis was being placed on the fact that her friend had come to see her, and not enough on the fact that the partnership that had been formed between herself and Frankie had been fractured, perhaps beyond the point of repair. Stewart and Fletcher are usually good at keeping everyone in character, so I'm hoping things will be righted in the next issue. With this being said, it's not an excuse to not read the comic, or at the very least look at the fantabulous pieces of art Babs Tarr has once again created for us. If anything, it's this issue's redeeming quality, and is another reason why I like Tarr so much.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Birds Of Prey (2011): Futures End #1

Sep 12, 2014

Here's to hoping next month's issue is going to be full of surprises.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Black Canary (2015) #2

Jul 16, 2015

I think I've ranted enough for this issue, and luckily enough Fletcher has created such a fantastic storyline, I've got nothing bad to say about it. I am a fan of Fletcher's storylines, they're always full of action and suspense. The Black Canary band's determined to finish their contractual obligation by performing a few more gigs, and unfortunately for them. their enemy is still hot on their trails. Dinah is determined to teach them all how to fight in order to protect themselves, and their most vulnerable (and secretive) member: Ditto. In true Black Canary style, things don't stay calm for long, and before long they're face to face with their enemy, who one of their members is intimately familiar with. From start to finish this comic is packed with enough action and adventure worthy of being associated with the Black Canary, and if the shocking cliff hanger is anything to go by, the next issue is going to be even more awesome.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Dark Ages #1

Aug 13, 2014

Overall, I found this to be a surprising 'first in the series' book, with just enough mystery accompanied by a well written story-line to pique my interest. This is definitely a book I could read more of, if only to see who 'They' are, and their role in the story-line. Yet another solid piece of work by Abnett and Culbard.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Sundowners #3

Oct 31, 2014

The premise of the book is one I'm surprised hasn't been covered before, and it's for that reason I seriously urge you to consider reading the rest of this series, as I most certainly will be.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Supergirl (2011): Futures End #1

Sep 19, 2014

I don't know about you, but I cannot wait to see what happens in the next issue of Supergirl Futures End.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.6
Wonder Woman (2011): Futures End #1

Sep 19, 2014

A war is coming, one the Goddess of War is going to have difficulty fighting, and I, for one, am going to be watching it every step of the way. Cannot wait for next month!

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Charmed: Season 10 #1

Oct 9, 2014

Overall, the story is fantastic: it feels just like an episode of Charmed, but it's let down by sub-par artwork. It has the potential to be a fantastic comic series, but not if this level of artwork continues. I really hope to see an improvement in the next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.4
Buffy the Vampire Slayer Season 10 #8

Oct 24, 2014

Bear it in mind that this is just my opinion, but I really feel that this has done a disservice to the Buffy name. Buffy the Vampire Slayer was an awesome series, about a girl who got to kick ass. This comic series simply does not portray that as well as it should, and for that reason I find myself not wanting to continue with this series. Buffy, as a series, is supposed to be awesome- this Buffy is anything but.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.6
Goddess Inc. #1

Aug 8, 2014

Overall, this book wasn't terrible, it had promise in terms of the artwork and the premise of the book, but the general presentation needs work if it's going to be a successful mini-series. If you can stomach it, a look at the next book might make things clearer, but understandably not many people, after the shoddy work portrayed within these pages, would be willing to give it another go.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.4
Convergence: Batgirl #1

Apr 10, 2015

Overall, this was a rather disappointing comic. The artwork let it down big time, and while I applaud Buccellato and Kwitney for their hard work, it simply isn't enough to save this. The current Batgirl series is fantastic" beyond fantastic even, but this simply doesn't do justice to the Batgirl name. Stephanie Brown is awesome, don't get me wrong, but if you're going to bring her back as Batgirl, even if it is just for two comics, you need to give her something better than this. It makes her seem incompetent, and she is anything but. Hopefully the next issue will be better, not just for our sakes, but for hers.

View Issue       View Full Review
3.4
Convergence: Batgirl #2

May 8, 2015

If you're a Batgirl fan like me, I would highly recommend that you wait for the return of the regular monthly series, because this does a serious injustice to the Batgirl name. The artwork is a step up from last month, and for that I give the creative team credit – but the writing took a massive nose dive, and what had to potential to be an interesting conclusion to the two part saga, turned out to be a major disappointment. There aren't any Batgirl comics I wouldn't enjoy reading again, but I guess there is a first for everything.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

May

April

More