Ivan Alino's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Shoot The Breeze Comics Reviews: 11
7.2Avg. Review Rating

7.5
All-New Wolverine #22

Jul 9, 2017

After all that strain Laura and Gabby went through during the Immune Arc it was nice to see them have light hearted moments in this issue. It does shift quickly back to something a bit dark by the end of the book but the consistent characterization of the cast were enough to compensate that shift. I do hope Tom Taylor doesn't drag the story too long though.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
All-New Wolverine #23

Aug 13, 2017

Final Thought: Still a fun book but I consider it one of the weakest issue coming from a very consistent and entertaining series and writer. I am hoping Taylor does not drag his future stories after this chapter/arc ends.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.7
All-New Wolverine #24

Sep 18, 2017

The conclusion of the Hive arc was a fun read and very action packed story. However, the story was getting a bit dragging despite Taylors consistency of writing Lauras adventures. The major downside of issue 24 was Kirks art looking kind of rushed in this book which was very noticeable.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Generation X (2017) #4

Jul 14, 2017

A surprisingly good issue! I am now curious as to how these kids will react with their failed encounter with M-Plate. Especially the overly confident Quentin Quire whose attacks were easily countered and was beaten up by M-Plate. Strain has successfully delivered a good character development for these lovable losers. I originally feared that the story might drag a bit more in this issue but I was surprised that she was able to handle the plot very well. Hoping she maintains this and hoping that the art would improve in the next coming issues.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Generation X (2017) #6

Sep 9, 2017

Another awesome writing and character development from Christina Strain. I enjoyed the relationship she is building between Hindsight, Kid Omega and Morph. The best part is how she can write Jubilees character development very well. The way she is handling & writing Jubilees fear/self-doubts and concerns added depth to the characters maturity as a mentor to the kids and her struggle as a single mother. Kodas art was the cherry on top of the cream. With his quirky style and very expressive art, I ended up enjoying the flow of the panels and relating to each character in the book with ease. Sobreiros coloring was still perfect for the quirky art style and added the right mood for each scene. I especially enjoyed how he colored and set the mood when Jubilee and Chamber were patrolling around the park at night and how the mood shifted to being classy during the auction scenes.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Generations: Wolverine & All-New Wolverine #1

Aug 22, 2017

Tom Taylor wrote one of the best Wolverine team up for Marvels Generations Line-Up, despite some minor inconsistencies. Youll definitely enjoy the fast paced, action packed team-up between Logan & Laura. The bonus is that he was still able to deliver heartwarming father and daughter moments in the story. Add in the art by Rosanas & color from Woodard, the book delivers a visually stunning and satisfying story.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Runaways (2017) #1

Sep 15, 2017

Rainbows Rowells comic book debut delivers an excellent story and added depth to ongoing drama of our struggling young runaway heroes. Partnered with the clean expressive art of Kris Anka and the skillful coloring of Matthew Wilson. It looks Marvel has hit another pot of gold for this awesome relaunch.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Uncanny Avengers (2015) #24

Jul 3, 2017

Nothing really spectacular or memorable for this issue, especially with expectations from Jim Zub's writing. This issue felt more like a filler and a forced tie-in for the major cross over. It would have been interesting if they added more focus on the team's ongoing doubts and disappointment towards their former leader Captain America. Especially with Wasp questioning Rogue's ability to take over the role from Steve. As a Secret Empire tie-in, Zub could have added and handled it better through taking advantage of the team's ongoing internal drama and issues.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Uncanny Avengers (2015) #25

Jul 17, 2017

It's clear that Zub is only focused on making this a filler story for the Secret Empire Crossover. At least he tried adding in small some plot devices for us to prepare for the upcoming issues after the crossover. The art is still good like the previous issue. Jacinto is still able to deliver good fights scenes. The two filler artists, Lindsay & Ramirez were also able to deliver some good art as well. I did notice some minor awkward art (Rogue releasing the demon from Voodoo's Body) but I think it was more of the artist's style. It didn't feel rushed at all plus it sort off added a bit of charm to it. At least now we can say the Unity squad is done and over with Secret Empire.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Uncanny Avengers (2015) #26

Sep 5, 2017

I'm not sure what Zub has in store or planned for the Unity Squad. For some reasons it feels like he doesn't know the core reason behind the Unity Squad at all.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Uncanny Avengers (2015) #27

Sep 18, 2017

Despite my disappointments with how Rogue is being written under Zubs writing. Plus clearly, this issue was not story driven, like most of Zubs current works on this book. It was still entertainingly good, but honestly not great.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for
the Week of...

September

August

More