Jason Saba's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Comic Book Corps Reviews: 62
7.4Avg. Review Rating

6.5
Aquaman (2016) #37

Jun 20, 2018

This issue was a bit tedious and overly grandiose for me in parts, but I still liked a lot of it enough to give it a thumbs up. I'm missing Mera though. I know she has her own mini series that dovetails this arc, but I still would like to see her more often in the main Atlantis title.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Aquaman (2016) #38

Jul 25, 2018

Big things are on the horizon in Aquaman, and now that the Corum Rath arc is all tiedup, it would be wise for Abnett to now apply a different mode of storytelling to show that he can deliver speedy results on big events.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Aquaman (2016) #39

Aug 15, 2018

This arc has been quite enjoyable so far with a premise that is quite exciting. If the script can improve a little it could be quite the sign-off for Abnett on Aquaman beforeKelly Sue DeConnick takes over.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Aquaman (2016) #40

Sep 19, 2018

Even if you are not enjoying the Sink Atlantis crossover or Harley's meta synopsis and general humor is not your cup of tea, it should not deter you from picking up Middleton's variant cover of issue #40, it is just that good. Wow!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Batman (2016) #54

Sep 5, 2018

This was a warm and comforting issue that will possibly give you something akin to the secure feeling of finding a childhood blanket you've misplaced many years ago and thought was lost forever. It's a nice experience, but is it enough to charm back some lost readers? Nonetheless it's a small triumph.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Batman (2016) #55

Sep 19, 2018

It could be postulated that reviews of his comics easily morph from being a review of the content inside the comic to a review of the content that is possibly inside Tom King's head.Is this what King has wanted all along? Only he can definitively answer that question.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Batman (2016) #56

Oct 3, 2018

The sage advice ahead of next issue is to remain mildly pessimistic, that way if there is disappointment, the sting is nothing more than a nuisance. As long as there is great art, almost any flaws can be overlooked.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batman and the Signal #1

Jan 3, 2018

I see a lot of potential in this character if it is done right, and who better than the guy that gave us the Court of Owls and Dark Nights Metal to draw the broad strokes for Tony Patrick to fill in.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Batman and the Signal #2

Feb 21, 2018

Thismini-series was one of the more eagerly anticipated titles spinning out of Metal. The delays between issues does not help, but the scope of Duke's powers and how he is connected to others that have also developed abilities should be enticing enough for you to forgive these long waits.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Batman: Creature of the Night #2

Jan 3, 2018

Batman: Creature of the Night is one of those books that you could easily dismiss and ignore in your local comic store and you would never know what you actually missed out on. A true diamond in the rough.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Justice League: No Justice #1

May 9, 2018

I really liked issue #1 overall, and I think Snyder having James Tynion IV and Joshua Williamson help him with the story will make sure that the plot doesn't get too out of hand as they would have discussed every major turn in a writer's room to make sure that every punch lands where it needs to.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Justice League: No Justice #2

May 16, 2018

#1 and #2 have been pretty much what I expected so far, and the penultimate issue will most likely accelerate events quite a bit if we go by past Snyder arcs. If you're loving it so far then strap in as the third issue will probably have the most thrills and spills. See you in seven!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Justice League: No Justice #3

May 23, 2018

The writing team of Snyder, Tynion IV and Williamson got the pacing exactly right in this issue because we got to learn so many things in such a small space of pages while setting up another cliffhanger for the final issue next week.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Justice League: No Justice #4

May 30, 2018

The final chapter in Scott Snyder's month long mini-series finishes with a big bang as Francis Manapul triumphantly returns on pencils with an ocular feast of successive double splash pages that can't be described as anything other than magnificent.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Mera: Queen of Atlantis #5

Jun 27, 2018

Being such a big Dan Abnett fan, I have found it hard to pull the plug on this mini-series even when it hasn't excited me as much as I wanted it to, and hopefully this loyalty will be rewarded in the final issue next month.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Mera: Queen of Atlantis #6

Jul 25, 2018

If you love Mera as a character then you need to pick up this final issue because it really is a moment where a line in the sand is finally drawn if you can pardon the pun. If you do pick this up then you should also pick up Aquaman #38 as it directly leads in to the Corum Rath conclusion that is also out today.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Nightwing (2016) #37

Jan 17, 2018

Not a disappointing issue, but one that could have provided much more answers than it did.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Nightwing (2016) #38

Feb 7, 2018

Come for the art and possibly stay for the story if you are intrigued enough. Humphries has yet to sway me into committing to Nightwing long term, but I do want to know how the finale of the arcis going to play out.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Nightwing (2016) #39

Feb 20, 2018

This arc is long but we are basically rounding third base right now and I have my fingers crossed for a decent dash to home plate. If it doesn't pan out we've always got Jamal Campbell's magnificent art to look back on and wax lyrical about.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Nightwing (2016) #40

Mar 7, 2018

This issue is very heavy on the action and is a breezy read with fast advancing plot from Sam Humphries.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Nightwing (2016) #41

Mar 21, 2018

It's not a great finish to the Judge arc but it's not terrible either. The art is fantastic and is enough in my opinion to justify the $2.99 spend. Two more issues, then we get to see what Benjamin Percy has in store for Dick Grayson.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Nightwing (2016) #42

Apr 4, 2018

This is not a bad issue, but the problem for me was that nothing grabbed my attention and held it until Damian actually was depicted in a panel by the end of the issue. The art style was not my preference but it was very good for what it was trying to achieve. A satisfactory effort, but next time, keep an issue like this in a showcase issue please, DC.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Nightwing (2016) #43

Apr 18, 2018

Here we are, the final issue before Benjamin Percy starts his run, and we of course have another inconsequential one-shot up on deck. Please forgive my dismissive attitude, truth be told, I enjoyed the issue quite a bit, but at the end of the day, it will be forgettable.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Suicide Squad (2016) #46

Sep 12, 2018

This issue is part 3 of the 4 part crossover and focuses mainly on the newer members of Task Force X, Lord Satanis and Master Jailer, and their contrasting feelings about the species ending mission they are heading up.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Teen Titans (2016) #14

Feb 28, 2018

I could have possibly rated this issue higher if it wasn't Garth focused, as he is nowhere near being a favorite as I find his shtick a little tiresome, but if he is one of your favorites then you will definitely like this issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Teen Titans (2016) #16

Jan 24, 2018

A completely forgettable issue that can be painlessly subtracted from your pull list this week as it is purely a self-contained story with no future ramifications.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Teen Titans (2016) #17

Feb 28, 2018

I could have possibly rated this issue higher if it wasn't Garth focused, as he is nowhere near being a favorite as I find his shtick a little tiresome, but if he is one of your favorites then you will definitely like this issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Teen Titans (2016) #18

Mar 28, 2018

Percy's writing this issue attempts to showcase Gar's isolation from the group and how he feels none of them really understand him and how much he resents the way Damian treats him. It's a deep insight into his thoughts and how easily vulnerable he is to someone like Joran, who can say all the right things to make him feel better about himself and his insecurities.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Teen Titans (2016) #19

Apr 25, 2018

I'm not too sure what to expect from Teen Titans after No Justice finishes but if there is more of Damian's pet Goliath to come, like we got this issue, then that will definitely put a smile on my face.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Teen Titans (2016) #20

Jul 25, 2018

This new beginning is encouraging for Teen Titans as a whole, and the new characters show promise with only a minor reservation held in regards to Roundhouse in terms of what he will offer in substance.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Teen Titans (2016) #21

Aug 22, 2018

Teen Titans is a nice easy and enjoyable read right now, and that is down to the whole creative team. They deserve credit for not trying to do too much each issue and the singular focus is a welcome change from what many other titles are doing right now.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Teen Titans (2016) #22

Sep 19, 2018

While we are still waiting for all the gears to click into place with this title, the ride so far is enjoyable and paved with good intentions and is worth the cost right now.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Teen Titans (2016): Special #1

Jun 27, 2018

This special is something I would highly recommend to all Teen Titans fans. It is well written and unlike any Teen Titans comic you have read recently. The art is so good, peaking with Emiko's story being the visual highlight of the issue. It's a must-buy that gives hope to the series finally becoming a consistent and successful title.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Titans (2016) #2

Apr 25, 2018

While this wasn't my favorite arc that I have read of the Titans Rebirth era, it ended up exceeding my expectations slightly when I was trying to predict my opinion when Titans Apart started.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Titans (2016) #19

Jan 10, 2018

These are not the Titans you are looking for. This issue will leave you frustrated and resigned to the fact that the team may never really shed the baggage of the past...or the future.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Titans (2016) #20

Feb 14, 2018

If you like internal turmoil and characters teetering over the edge psychologically then the "Titans Apart" arc is definitely for you. I'm on record as being against it, but I am also keen to see where all of this will lead.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Titans (2016) #21

Mar 14, 2018

If you're not sure what to make of the Titans Apart arc so far then don't worry " you are not alone. We now know that the upheaval of the Titans is taking place to set everything up for Scott Snyder's No Justice crossover series. So for now, I am okay with letting the chips fall as they may.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Titans (2016) #23

Jul 11, 2018

The return of Titans to a regular schedule did not excite all that much, and this is mainly due to Metal fatigue. Do readers still want to explore the effects of a post Metal war each and every month in a comic like Titans? Or do they want Titans to stand on its own two feet and go back to what Titans is all about, namely family, friendship, drama, and inappropriate humour - all whilst saving the day. Only time will tell.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Titans (2016): Special #1

Jun 13, 2018

If you are a big Titans fan, then you have to pick up this issue as this is the stepping stone to their new path and direction. It's a fun read, but I must say that I will miss Wally (who is busy Flash warring and such) and Roy. Hopefully Arsenal ends up in the pages of Red Hood and the Outlaws to reignite those New 52 feels with Red Hood as I feel those two play off each so well, and Roy deserves to have a decent platform each month.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Witchblade (2017) #2

Jan 12, 2018

This new series is far removed from the previous Volume and the short lived TV series, and that is such a good thing! I love this new take on Witchblade and eagerly await Issue #3.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Witchblade (2017) #3

Feb 7, 2018

This title is not getting the attention I feel it deserves right now. If you have not read the previous two issues, I highly recommend picking them up and giving Witchblade a try.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Witching Hour: Wonder Woman and Justice League Dark #1

Oct 3, 2018

With the endings of Metal and No Justice leaving readers feeling a little flat, the attention now turns to Tynion, whose stock has probably never been higher since he begun work on the refreshed Justice League titles. Tynion has taken another great step forward with this special but he will need able assistance from Steve Orlando to keep the praise going and deliver a worthy conclusion before we can even think about praisingan entire DC event for coming up with the goods from start to finish.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Wonder Woman (2016) #38

Jan 10, 2018

Robinson's story is well written as he skilfully dovetails two recent events into one by the conclusion of the issue. Lupacchino's Diana is tough and beautiful and she manages to make Diana and Jason easily look like brother and sister.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Wonder Woman (2016) #39

Jan 24, 2018

This issue provides a lot of clues about Darkseid and Grail's plans while further developing the tension between Diana and Jason. While the story chops and changes a little abruptly, the magnificent art does not miss a beat.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Wonder Woman (2016) #40

Feb 14, 2018

If you picked up Part 1 and 2 of "Swan Song", then you must grab Part 3. It's just as good as the previous two parts and is even better considering the villain cameo we get, not to mention what happens to Jason at the very end of the issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Wonder Woman (2016) #41

Feb 28, 2018

If you are a regular reader of Wonder Woman then this issue will not rock your world as it plays out like a clip show of what has happenned since Diana's brother turned up. The art is great though and you should check out Sogovia's first go at drawing Diana as I think she looks great.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Wonder Woman (2016) #42

Mar 14, 2018

Robinson's story moves along well enough this issue, and there is a decent amount of Grail appearing to satisfy those of us who have been craving it because recently, she has been relegated to an on-set extra.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Wonder Woman (2016) #43

Mar 28, 2018

The issue ends with the promise of another showdown, so do yourself a favour, and pick up this issue so that you are not lost when issue #44 hits the stands. Robinson has an opportunity to stay in the high rev range all the way to #50 and silence those who are still pining for a Rucka return. Godspeed Jimmy.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Wonder Woman (2016) #44

Apr 12, 2018

I'm scoring this issue high, and it's mainly due to the art, but I am also enjoying the no nonsense plot too, and I know you will too.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Wonder Woman (2016) #45

Apr 25, 2018

Every single page and panel really is so good. It is the main reason I look forward to reading Wonder Woman every two weeks, but I cannot end the praise with just the dynamic duo and must extend it out to Ray McCarthy and Romulo Fajardo Jr. for their cleans lines and color choices on inks and colors.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Wonder Woman (2016) #46

May 9, 2018

There's some potential here for a nice upswing if Robinson gets the story right and manages all the spinning cups he's initiated this issue. Fingers crossed he can do all the characters justice, and that this arc stays interesting.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Wonder Woman (2016) #47

May 23, 2018

Not a ground-breaking issue by any means but a good par for the course if you are a regular Wonder Woman reader.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Wonder Woman (2016) #48

Jun 13, 2018

The art in this issue is amazing and is very consistent with the other artists that have worked on Wonder Woman recently, and I don't think that is by accident, so credit must go to the artists and the editorial staff that work on Wonder Woman.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Wonder Woman (2016) #49

Jun 27, 2018

This arc hit its height in the recently released Annual, but then got bogged down with too many unnecessary details, but perhaps will rise to the occasion once more for the final issue of Robinson's run on Wonder Woman to give fans something to cheer about as he bows out.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Wonder Woman (2016) #50

Jul 11, 2018

The art highlights are the final set of pages where Lupacchino does her emotional work with Diana, conveying her complete sadness as she gets tearful several times reflecting on all that has happened. Luppachino's version of Diana is so beautiful that it makes you think about wanting to see her draw Diana forever, but we all know this is not possible.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Wonder Woman (2016) #51

Jul 25, 2018

This issue is not a game changer, and it doesn't have a massive cliffhanger. It's simply a palette cleanser, as the term goes, whenever a new creative team starts their run. The issue gets a pass mark, but there is work to be done if DC wants Wonder Woman to climb the sales charts. One thing that will help sell it is the gorgeous cover by Stanley Artgerm Lau. Normally his covers are the variant, but not on this occasion as Jenny Frison has had the regular variant gig for quite some time now. If you collect Artgerm covers then you will definitely want this one, it's breathtaking.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Wonder Woman (2016) #52

Aug 8, 2018

This team-up has promise and even if it is not something permanent, there are plenty of other reasons to pick up this issue and the next couple of issues that will follow. Those reasons are Artemis, Artemis and Artemis.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Wonder Woman (2016) #53

Aug 22, 2018

This issue is heavy on dialogue as Steve Orlando delivers a story full of what seems like endless amounts of script that ends up obscuring a lot of the great art and weighing down the story from possessing any pace. Essentially, this issue is one big fight scene but you would never really know it given how long it will take you to finish the issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Wonder Woman (2016) #54

Sep 12, 2018

If you can get past the art style change from the previous issue then you will find issue #54 quite enjoyable. If not, just wait a month and you will be rewarded with the wonderful return of Emanuela Lupacchino in issue #56 when Wonder Woman crosses over with Justice League Dark to bring you The Witching Hour.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Wonder Woman (2016) #55

Sep 26, 2018

Things have come to a head in Qurac and this issue's story is equal part action and philosophy as Steve Orlando explores the motivations of conflict and attempts to muddy the waters of right and wrong taking every opportunity to showcase the antagonists viewpoint to get you to question your views on who is right or wrong. Clearly it is not that black and white.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Wonder Woman (2016) #56

Oct 10, 2018

This weekly event is coming along quite nicely, and it is so good only having to wait 7 days between issues allowing all the magical and mythological information to stay fresh in the mind that as we explore this new world Tynion is building.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Wonder Woman (2016) Annual #2

Jun 6, 2018

You must pick up this annual! Even if you find any of the major plot points confusing you will be that gobsmacked by the art that you won't care. This story is easily one of James Robinson's best since he took over the Wonder Woman writing duties so you really have no excuse not to buy it.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

October

September

More