Joanna Robinson's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Shoot The Breeze Comics Reviews: 41
8.0Avg. Review Rating

7.8
Batgirl (2016) #20

Feb 28, 2018

There is some pretty funny stuff in this issue, which fits in well since it's kind of a "filler" arc. But it still shows off why Barbra is part of the "Bat" Family with her super smart thinking and detective like skills. Not to mention her ability to kick some major butt.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Batgirl (2016) #21

Apr 1, 2018

Once again, this is just a filler till a big arch starts and it's a cute one. There is still the action and suspense of lots of Science-Detective talk to make it a Batgirl comic. But it's a nice one to add to the Batgirl collection more so because it shows the strong bond between the Gordon's, in and out of the Mask. Let's hope it stays that when bigger arch's occur.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.6
Batgirl (2016) #22

Apr 29, 2018

As always with a new arch, I'm interested to see where this goes. As I said, Babs goes through constant mental struggles with the chips in her head and her life. To see where her brain has taken her during this one is interesting though, imagining a day in her life like its nothing.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Batgirl (2016) #23

May 26, 2018

We all go through times in our lives where we have to decide what we want in life, especially now with graduation time right around the corner for students. This issue will hopefully serve as a reminder and a comfort to those that it can be done. Batgirl shows that no one might have it down, but it's possible to find yourself in the struggle.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batgirl (2016) #24

Jul 2, 2018

Batgirl is still entertaining as always, and Two-Face is a pleasure to see. Another fun issue with its usual message at the end that makes you think. Hopefully a larger storyline is on its way from all these self-building issues Barbra is having.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.2
Gideon Falls #1

Mar 11, 2018

This is definitely creepy in the way that it is written and the sketchy art style.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Gideon Falls #3

May 24, 2018

A comic with a horror theme can seem difficult but as expected, Jeff Lemire and Andrea Sorrentino deliver. You are excited and scared to pick up the next issue and that's how any good horror should be.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Gideon Falls #4

Jun 24, 2018

Hooray for more backstory about the Black Barn that we have now realize is more than what it appears to be. And more to the history about Gideon Farms which is keeping the story moving strongly. The last page is what is going to get you (it definitely got me!) and make you anticipate the next issue. Horror in a comic at its best.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Justice League (2016) #31

Oct 20, 2017

I was totally going with everything. The fights, the secrets revealed, the hate/love relationships going. Even the struggles of the Justice League that these kids represented futures they probably didnt want. I was even down for how they defeated the darkness. To see the kids true powers was very impressive. But I didnt like how fast it ended, the darkness just defeated like that. Then the way they disposed of it, while sad and heartbreaking, seemed like way to easy an answer that was brought up very quickly. I think they left a few things unanswered and that was my only head tilt. Otherwise, I enjoyed it. Seeing the Justice League realize that there is hope for them and their future was reassuring with everything they go through.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Justice League (2016) #33

Nov 16, 2017

About the Author Latest PostsAbout Joanna RobinsonIm 34 years old, attending school for Graphic Arts and Illustration. I started reading comics in the 90s and have continued on till now adding Manga to the mix. I sing and work at Indy Wrestling shows, love going to Cons and Cosplaying. Big movie buff and toy collector. Moose.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.8
Justice League (2016) #34

Dec 8, 2017

Priest does a great job in this with the mix of humor, action and important story telling (like there was going to be any doubt).

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Justice League (2016) #35

Dec 27, 2017

Priest's writing is always amazing and it still manages to keep you entertained while throwing in major story issues. I liked the art in this one as well, no one likes bugs. These bugs are no exception. Even in some of their simplicity of art.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.2
Justice League (2016) #36

Jan 4, 2018

The points of the congresswoman at the beginning of this issue set the tone. It's going to be a rough one, not just physically but mentally. It is the perfect way to really get the team to start to break apart with some clearly on Bruce's side and some not. It all goes back to the age-old question some people have with Superhero's: Should They, or Shouldn't They? It's also interesting to see how the team feels and their reasoning's without breaking their character's like some other comics have done. And it more importantly gets the reader thinking.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.9
Justice League (2016) #37

Jan 18, 2018

I'll admit, I'm a big Green Lantern fan myself. Got two giant shelves on my wall of JUST Green Lantern Universe figures and merch and they fill the majority of my Graphic Novel shelves. Hal Jordan is my boy. But dressing like him and trying to kill people isn't my thing. Priest's writing is a joy in this issue to read between the little bits of comedy and the serious notes of the Fan and his mindset. It's creepy yet makes total sense. There is also something about the artwork this issue (not that it was bad in other issues with Pete Woods) that seems to really stand out. But most importantly, it comes down to the major question of how is the League going to deal with someone like The Fan? It has to be a question most fan's of the comic universe have had and now the League must answer it!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.9
Justice League (2016) #38

Feb 7, 2018

Wow. Lots of wow. The dialoge in this issue is heavy but it never FEELS it despite the heavy themes. It flows smoothly throughout the story and you never have a moment of "hu?". Especially when Flash is talking which with all the science talk has the potential to be confusing.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.8
Justice League (2016) #39

Feb 24, 2018

The writing is once again so thought-provoking while reading it and just plain fun to read.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.6
Justice League (2016) #40

Mar 11, 2018

This issue brought up some interesting things. First the obvious issue with the rights of Black People against cops. Not to mention the difference in treatment between the rich and the poor. This was touched on a bit in the last issue and to see it still going a bit in this one is good. With everything going on in the world, it's nice to see these issues touched upon with Superheroes being thrown in the mix.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.4
Justice League (2016) #41

Mar 24, 2018

Another issue with so much going on its hard to keep things straight. A lot of referring back to previous issues so if you missed one you might be lost even in its subtlety.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.2
Justice League (2016) #42

Apr 5, 2018

Between Wonder Woman dying, Cyborgs dialogue with Slade, the whole fighting going on in Africa and the fate of the Fan, it's pretty intense.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
Justice League (2016) #43

Apr 20, 2018

This is the end of Priest's run with the Justice League but let's hope he returns, perhaps for Wonder Woman with the way he has written her in just these last few issues. The League is now stronger than before and ready for their next big arch, which if you've been reading comic Gossip News, is going to be a big one.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Spider-Gwen (2015) #24

Oct 14, 2017

FINALLY!! As a Spider Gwen fan from day 1, I have been excited since the announcement of Gwenom. And I was not disappointed. Its interesting to me how the Symbiote is not the Symbiote Spiderman fans know but a hybrid creation. Its also been hard to watch Gwen fall apart mentally over her being not as in control as she has wanted to be since becoming Spider Gwen. To see her finally have a moment of clarity, as short lived as it was, turned away from the Anxtiey Gwen that she has become. But more importantly, just to SEE her lose control was not as hurtful as I was afraid it was going to be. Jason has done a fantastic job of transitioning her to this new form. Also, the artwork by Rodriguez does not disappoint, not just in her new outfit but in each panel from a fight scene to standard dialogue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Spider-Gwen (2015) #25

Oct 21, 2017

I would never want to be on Gwenoms bad side after reading this. Seeing her emerge was great, but seeing her be evil is pretty bad ass. At the same time, seeing her struggle to keep some part of her tears at your heart strings. Latour knows how to keep the balance between the drama, a little mix of comedy and action.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Spider-Gwen (2015) #26

Dec 2, 2017

The writing for this issue is spot on, especially between Gwen and Linda. You are so ready for the interaction between the two but the conversation is so well written you can't help but laugh, cry and get mad all at once. The art, as always by Robbi Rodriguez, is wonderful. Gwenom's look still creeps me out as she gets darker and darker in her mental journey. I'm also excited to see more Captain America and Gwen together.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.4
Spider-Gwen (2015) #27

Dec 22, 2017

This is also one of the few issues where Robbi Rodriguez isn't the main artist for the panels and only the cover art. You can't really tell the difference when the artist switch pages except on the very last page. Reminded me of something out of the movie "The Grudge" and I liked it.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Spider-Gwen (2015) #28

Feb 5, 2018

OK, we all know The Devil of Hell's Kitchen's back story. To see it twisted so well while keeping to the original is delightful. Now there is much more dialogue then I'm going to let on in the review so as not to spoil everything. And that is delightful too. There is so much more to Matt Murdock then what we have seen in the previous issues. It's refreshing and the writing is so well done as to be expected. This is a Matt Murdock based issued but the small clips of Gwen struggling between her friends, the Parkers and herself is more than enough.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Spider-Gwen (2015) #29

Mar 6, 2018

The issue is so battle heavy it would have made sense. But as usual the dialogue is placed so effortlessly in the right places and the comedy included with the Watchers is enough that I can get over less Captain and Gwen fight.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Spider-Gwen (2015) #30

Mar 26, 2018

I hope that they continue the art style between the two Gwen's as long as possible ha-ha. I am also interested to see how the story goes now that the villain has been revealed. Not to mention just EVERYTHING about this villain should be interesting if done correctly, which I'm sure it will be

View Issue       View Full Review
7.8
Spider-Gwen (2015) #31

Apr 29, 2018

Well now that Gwen is back with a slightly new perspective on things, here is hoping that she puts it too good use with the alliance of Jameson. Jason Latour's writing hasn't been bad this whole run so now that they are getting back on track with the main story, its only a matter of time before all hell can "officially" break loose.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Spider-Gwen (2015) #32

Jun 23, 2018

Only one more issue to go before we say Good-Bye to our(my) love Gwen Stacey. This issue is a perfect build-up to the ending which we can only hope is going to end with either a BANG! or a positive not. Or maybe both. Either way, I'm sad to see her go but I'm excited to see how it ends!!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Spider-Gwen (2015) #32

Jun 4, 2018

Latour and Rodriguez's run of Gwen is coming to an end and its sad for everyone. But things have to start getting wrapped up for Gwen and her story. Murdock is at the end of his ropes and Gwen must now face the world with her identity being out there. Hopefully it will go better than the last time a Spider Person revealed their identity!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
The Mighty Thor (2015) #1

Jun 20, 2018

If you're worried about continuing with Thor now that Jane is gone, don't be. This first issue is a perfect way to restart the original God of Thunder's Journey back to being worthy. And, as said earlier, it flows so well with the story Jane had started. It's time for Thor to finish it and we should all look forward to it.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
The Mighty Thor (2015) #23

Oct 21, 2017

If you dont love Jane Foster as Thor by now, you will after this. Seeing her at one point with TWO hammers made me squeal. But its her compassion and dedication to protecting her friends and innocents that makes me love her. She knows she is dying of Cancer but that thought is what is making her stronger (at one point she even screams it) when fighting. The small prelude to Malekeiths plans of destruction is making me impatient. He has been planning something since day 1 and Im just ready to see it!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
The Mighty Thor (2015) #700

Oct 21, 2017

With a title that has the word Death in it, you know it cant be good. I know comics are meant to jump around but this was a bouncy house of jumping around. I had to reread it a few times (note, this is a 50-page comic) to figure out what was actually going on and the point of the jumping. Its because there is just SO MUCH going on all over the realms and how it all connects that I finally was ok with it. Not to mention there are different art styles going on with every story. From the playful style of Loki to the dark style of Mighty Thor and She-Hulk going at it. A lot is going on here and while its all good story telling, it gets to be a smidge too much. But some of the stuff in here (stuff that is big time spoilers) is amazing to see and I look forward to seeing if those spoilers come true.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
The Mighty Thor (2015) #701

Nov 17, 2017

The back story of Mangog is enough to make you cringe but to see him completely beat the living thunder out of War Thor was impressive. The art is simple but you can still feel the pain of every punch both fighters give. You always think that a new villain is never powerful enough to take out your favorite superhero out but Mangog is pretty fierce. I'm kind of nervous to see how our favorite Lady Thor handles him when the two finally meet!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
The Mighty Thor (2015) #702

Dec 23, 2017

This is one of those issues where you aren't going to see a lot of fighting, this is all about storytelling and setting up for the big boss battle to come. And it's wonderful.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
The Mighty Thor (2015) #703

Jan 19, 2018

Ok, so Jane's cancer has ALWAYS been the main underlying fact of this series. It's mentioned in every issue and imbedded in our brains with good reason. But to now see the seriousness of it, the effects it has finally had on Jane is hard. Really hard, and not just for the characters but for the reader. The severity of the situation has finally been addressed and it couldn't have come at a worse time. You can see Jane's pain in the amazing artwork as she makes the decision wither to save the Realms or die. Especially since Jane has always been so Gun-Ho about being Thor and saving other's lives over her own. Also, don't worry about the mysterious stranger at the end of the comic. It's a set up for the return of one of Marvel's biggest character's and he's just popping in for a quick cameo.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.2
The Mighty Thor (2015) #704

Feb 24, 2018

Jane's tragic past is shown to us in beautiful flashbacks. She has been fighting on two difficult fronts to live and save those she loves. Jane is forced to put the hammer down while she attempts to recover before she is killed by her transformations.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
The Mighty Thor (2015) #705

Mar 27, 2018

Now that Thor is dead and the truth about her identity can be revealed, I look forward to seeing how the Marvel Universe reacts. Not to mention I know that I will be sobbing like everyone else at saying goodbye. It's terribly sad to see such a strong female character go after all the anger of introducing a "female Thor" to the Marvel Universe. Jane and Thor together were strong not just physically, but mentally in their hardships against supernatural forces and the reality that humanity must face on a daily basis. Sure you have strong female characters like Wonder Woman, don't get me wrong, but she is considered an Amazon and doesn't have to deal with humanities struggles such as Cancer.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.2
The Mighty Thor (2015) #706

Apr 29, 2018

This is a great set up for what is to come and even though I've been all about the thought of having a female Thor, the way it ended has me excited for Odison taking over. Jane has shown throughout her run that she is worthy of this in more ways than one. As a girl, it's hard to live in a male dominated world but "Lady Thor" has made waves. Now it's time for Odison to show that he can carry on the Mantle that she carried when he couldn't. While it's sad to see her go, I'm happy to see her mark on the Marvel Universe.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
The Mighty Thor (2015): At The Gates Of Valhalla #1

May 25, 2018

If it isn't obvious that Jane Foster as the Mighty Thor was inspiring to people, especially girls, you are going to feel it in this issue. And you are going to feel it in a very heartwarming way. If you aren't convinced by the Granddaughters faces when they meet Jane, they I don't know what else will convince you. But with Jason Aaron still at the helm of the series, you know that the action is not over, and the story must go on with Odion returning as The Mighty Thor once again!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.3
Thor (2018) #2

Jul 2, 2018

Issue 2 starts with a bang and ends with one. Love the reunion of all the Boys and Karnilla to help them out. But things can't always be what they seem and that's what makes this fun. Tons of great action and comedy with some gorgeous art. The ending alone is going to keep you hyped up for the next issue

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

July

June

More