joedwardlewis's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Geeks Unleashed Reviews: 60
8.5Avg. Review Rating

9.0
Adventure Time #16

May 22, 2013

Furthermore, this is the best licensed comic I've ever read. KaBOOM and their creators are telling wonderful original tales " it truly is a golden age when you consider also Regular Show #1 released last week.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Alex + Ada #1

Nov 7, 2013

Either way this first issue is a triumphant return of Luna to comics after a three year absence and is a worthy winner of our Comic of the Week accolade.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Alex + Ada #3

Jan 15, 2014

Such is its intelligence, Alex + Ada may serve as a guide for the debate on artificial intelligence and sentience, as Isaac Asmiov's 'Laws of Robotics' did in the mid-20th century. Therefore seek a moment's solitude this week and read Alex + Ada, you shall neither regret nor forget it.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Batman (2011) #37

Dec 23, 2014

Like all the best comics (books and films) Batman #37 spans genres, from psychological thriller to shock horror. The scene with Gordon is a prime example. However, Snyder also weaves in humour and poignancy, a skill which is beyond your average creator in comics (fiction and movies) today.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Batman: Eternal #4

Apr 30, 2014

Despite not being thrilled by the preview issue, and aided by the fact it was a 'light week', I yielded to Batman Eternal, and was instantly pleased with its focus on the supporting cast of Batman, who I have my fill of in Snyder's main title, which I have a love/hate relationship with. I prefer the Bat portrayed by the excellent Tomasi and Gleason run on Batman and X (where X originally equalled Robin, and has subsequently featured other heroes) " who are hopefully heirs apparent to the Bat kingdom. REVIEWED: Batman Eternal #4 DC Comics

View Issue       View Full Review
3.0
Batman: Eternal #9

Jun 6, 2014

My patience with Batman: Eternal ran out two weeks ago and it's dangerously close to being culled from my pull-list.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Black Science #4

Feb 27, 2014

Black Science continues to mesmerise and stands head & shoulders above the rest. This is truly epic sci-fi, equal to the works of Alfred Bester and Philip K Dick.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Bloodshot #0

Aug 20, 2013

With the character, there's no grey area " a problem for Bloodshot's operators, as he leaves a trail of destruction. Dr. Rees is charged with giving the solider memories, a conscience, a soul. This is one machine which requires a ghost. It's truly great, one and done, storytelling. ChrisCross' art brings the graphic script to life (and then death).

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Buzzkill #1

Sep 18, 2013

Buzzkill reads like every bit of the "love letter to superheroes" Donny Cates desired, how it deals with addiction will determine how long I'm on-board for.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Buzzkill #2

Oct 15, 2013

Shaw's line work is reminiscent of Tradd Moore (who will provide art for a new Ghost Rider book in March) and Sean Gordon Murphy. It's entirely suited to the narrative, as is Lauren Affe's colour palette. Buzzkill is my (current) drug of choice.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Captain Midnight #1

Jul 29, 2013

Captain Midnight suffers from attempting to remain loyal to the original incarnation while appearing modern. Unfortunately it fails on both counts. Fans of the original radio serial, which ran from 1938 to 1949 or the television series Jet Jackson, Flying Commando, may have more patience for this series. I, however, do not. They may have "stole his future" but this issue stole my time and unfortunately I can not "take it back". Stay for the simplistic fun, leave for the lack of originality.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Conan the Barbarian #16

May 16, 2013

This is perhaps my favourite interpretation of Conan; writer Brian Wood's young Cimmerian is more sympathetic and vulnerable, while tough as old boots. This month, Conan and Blit embark on a 'vision quest' after partaking in Yellow Lotus, a psychotropic of the enlightened, as "true pleasure can only be found in the mind", which results in our hero facing many of his demons.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Daredevil (2014) #1

Mar 20, 2014

This is not a radical new direction but a continuation of one of this decade's finest comics because, according to Marvel, we demanded it. New readers, jump on board. Old readers, carry on.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Darklight #1

Apr 29, 2014

If you've enjoyed Black Science of late or yearn for another series of Star Trek: The Next Generation, look no further than Darklight.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Dead Body Road #1

Dec 12, 2013

Scalera, whose Black Science hit shelves last week and which I raved about to the entirety of the internet, demonstrates why he is such hot property. The thrilling car sequence, in which the vehicles are rendered with a fetishtic quality, redefines 'the chase'. Stylistically the scene is reminiscent of Sean Gordon Murphy. How Scalera captures the movement so deftly will remain a mystery. This truly is a golden age of creators. The artwork is in such stark contrast to the aforementioned Black Science, and his work on the Indestructible Hulk, leads me to conclude he is a rare talent. One I hope to see more of in the coming years.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Deadly Class #5

May 30, 2014

Deadly Class is an exaggerated retrospective of a creator's colourful history; however, it is neither self-indulgent nor trite. Often poignant and humorous, the pop-culture references, unlike Dan Slott's The Amazing Spider-Man, never feel tacked on, this month our protagonist is in the throes of a 'bad' acid trip, tortured by the events of his past. However, it is also a tale of friendship and comradery.

View Issue       View Full Review
3.0
Detective Comics (2011) #30

Apr 3, 2014

Disappointed Flash readers will now be disappointed Detective Comics readers; we, as comicophiles, are poorer as a result of this creative switch. Perhaps this is a case of style over substance? However, I'll temper my words with this " I was similarly disappointed by John Layman and Jason Fabok's run, therefore perhaps the kindest thing I can say is, 'it's not you, it's me'.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Green Arrow (2011) #32

Jun 6, 2014

Green Arrow is action-packed superhero fare " BUY IT, add it to your pull-list and search the shelves for back issues.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Harbinger Wars #1

Apr 4, 2013

The artistic team of Henry, Crain and Suayan, with their contrasting styles, work wonders with the material " at no point does it feel jarring or disjointed. Valiant's trick is to let each have different scenes, whilst timelines are distinct, they are woven deftly.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Hawkeye Vol. 2 #11

Jun 27, 2013

Hawkeye #11 is a masterclass in sequential art, of which Will Eisner would be proud. When it comes to comics, Fraction and Aja are mans best friend. Is there any chance of a team-up between Pizza Dog, Krypto Dog and the Beasts of Burden?Share this:Share on Tumblr

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Hawkeye Vol. 2 #19

Aug 1, 2014

News will have reached you that this series will end in the near future. While disappointing, it is likely to mark a turning point in superhero comics " its influence can already be seen in She-Hulk and to a lesser extent Silver Surfer. Expect this creative team to go out with a bang while the racks of your LCS fill with cheap imitations in the coming months/years. Much like their seminal work on The Immortal Iron Fist, this run will stand the test of time.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Hellboy in Hell #5

Dec 4, 2013

Whether or not the series is accessible to new readers is a matter of debate. These tales, while steeped in Hellboy mythology, have also worked equally as one shots. Mignola has struck a great balance, beyond most working in the medium. Be warned, however, there is a bleakness to the tales not often found in mainstream comics " they are delightfully grave, strewn with dark humour and moralising, not therefore, for the faint of heart.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Hit #1

Sep 5, 2013

Written by Bryce Carlson, drawn by Venesa R Del Rey, Hit #1 by BOOM! Studios is everything you'd want in a archetypal noir " classic German Expressionist framing, with hardboiled crime fiction and a dame to kill/die for. Focusing on the men who will stop at nothing to bring drug lords, rapists and murderers to 'justice', this one hits hard. The opening issue is reminiscent of Brubaker and Phillips finer work, as well as Darwyn Cooke's Parker series. It's mightily impressive " return to the comic shop and buy.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Infinity #1

Aug 14, 2013

The weather may be nice outside, but you'll want to spend some time at your LCS this summer as Infinity continues. With this Hickman has set the bar not only for the series but for future event comics.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Infinity Man And The Forever People #1

Jun 12, 2014

The New Gods and New Genesis has been sadly missing from the New 52 " this is a laudable introduction to the team, their internal conflict and future adventures. Giffen and Koblish capture Kirby superbly. Didio, previously known for his work in Wednesday Comics, The Outsiders and the OMAC series, was pillaged for overseeing the DC 'hard' reboot " lest we forget, this lone action revitalised sales and kick-started the current 'golden age' of Marvel. He has the best interests of the industry at heart.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Judge Dredd: Mega City Two #2

Feb 6, 2014

This is a great book, one which I'd recommend it the strongest possible terms. Return to the comic shop and BUY!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Letter 44 #1

Oct 17, 2013

My imagination has run wild since reading this delight " it feels akin to Battlestar Galactica, House of Cards and the more enjoyable aspects of Firefly. Plus, if you can find it, it's only a dollar. It'll be the best one you spend. Good news if you can't, a reprint is one the way and will be available November 27, the scheduled release of the second issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Loki: Agent of Asgard #4

May 8, 2014

If you're not reading this title, amend your ways. I can't imagine not reading this book. Accept thy challenge and read Loki: Agent of Asgard our Comic of the Week!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Mind MGMT #11

May 23, 2013

Engaging, thrilling, magical " Matt Kindt's Mind MGMT is a composite of classic genre tropes and yet is more than the sum of its parts. The layering of stories in Mind MGMT is exceptional. The Case File, in which the origin of the Hulk races towards its conclusion, has been an unimaginable step up.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Mister X: Eviction #1

May 1, 2013

With a noir-ish, grimy feel, Mister X: Eviction is the archetypical pulp fiction, minus the ragged, untrimmed edges, which would be a disservice to such a beautiful comic book. The issue features a second story (note: not back-up, it accounts for half the page number!) equally crafted. REVIEW: Mister X: Eviction #1 Dark Horse

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Moon Knight (2014) #8

Oct 3, 2014

Wood introduces familiar themes from his previous work (Channel Zero, DMZ) and in the final panels and pages hints at a larger story to come. As a result, you should add this title to your pull-list now. It'll be the talk of the blogs in 6 months time. The continuity provided by Bellaire's colours, which are the best in the business, give this volume a familiar feel while it forges to be different. The storytelling employed in Smallwood within this issue is akin to that of David Aja's in Hawkeye, game-changing.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Outcast By Kirkman & Azaceta #1

Jun 27, 2014

It's gut twisting horror. Furthermore, Kirkman once again proves he is a master of character " Kyle Barnes, our protagonist, is a dislikeable chap, but over the course of the double-sized issue, he invokes sympathy, to such an extent we're rooting for him.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Polarity #3

Jun 5, 2013

The conclusion of this miniseries, which has been thoughtful and satire at its best, is one Im jonesing for. Polarity is just what the Doctor ordered.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
She-Hulk (2014) #8

Sep 5, 2014

There's an Andy Warhol pop-art feel to Marvel's She-Hulk, akin to Matt Fraction and David Aja's Hawkeye and G. Willow Wilson's Ms. Marvel. The House of Ideas has developed this motif in recent years (see Kieron Gillen and Jamie McKelvie's Young Avengers and Peter Milligan and Mike Allred's forerunner X-Statix) setting it apart from the dark and brooding DC titles currently on offer. Creators have been rewarded with Eisner Awards (David Aja, Best Cover Artist x2 and Best Penciller 2013, Hawkeye #11 Best Single Issue) and, hopefully, sales. DC take note.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Sheltered #1

Jul 12, 2013

The final panels of this issue left me desperate for the next. Once again, following creators rather than titles, produces results. Johnnie Christmas' art was perfectly suited to the title and his final page splash is one of my favourites of the year! This lad is a talent! He was aided by fantastic colours by Sharo Chankhamma too.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Sheltered #2

Aug 6, 2013

Nothing as yet as to why the kids of Safe Haven are so terrified, and while Lucas' mask slips briefly in this issue, his true character remains hidden. How these plotlines are developed will determine the series trajectory " either way, it's one I'll follow for the foreseeable. Sheltered has earned its way onto my pull-list in record time.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Sheltered #12

Oct 24, 2014

This issue was been a master-class in mood, akin to the very best issues of Robert Kirkman's The Walking Dead. News of a big screen adaptation, courtesy of the producers of AMC's The Walking Dead, circulated earlier year " fingers crossed this'll reach my local multiplex before long. The finite storytelling nature of Sheltered has been hugely beneficial, compare (again) to the unending saga of The Walking Dead with its false endings and waning popularity (with this reader).

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Six Gun Gorilla #1

Jun 13, 2013

SGG #1 is loaded with social commentary and a bit of the old ultra-violence " it's the perfect remedy for the oft uttered complaint of "all the books are too similar". Spurrier draws you in with character and then punches you, repeatedly, in the face, with high concept sci-fi. You could drop ANYTHING on your pull list for this series and you wouldn't regret it. Stokely's art is the perfect match, as are Andre May's colours.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Sledgehammer '44 #2

Apr 11, 2013

A tale of sacrifice and the bonds between men, Sledgehammer 44 read like a classic Captain America tale of yesteryear " a welcome reminder of a bygone age. What's more surprising, given the bulls eye which Mignola and Arcudi have hit, is that this is their first venture into the genre of war comics (to my limited knowledge). And the pair have added a dash of sci-fi/action, which pushes the book into the rare category of REQUIRED reading.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Stray Bullets: Killers #2

Apr 17, 2014

Stray Bullets has influenced some of the finest comics of the past decade, 100 Bullets, Scalped and Ed Brubaker's creator-owned work. 'Killers will no doubt do the same. The wait may have been long, but it was worth it. Hopefully Stray Bullets: Killers will run and run, preferably on time.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Superior Foes of Spider-Man #17

Dec 1, 2014

SuFo # 17 was a fantastic end to a superior comic book series " long live the Superior Foes of Spider-Man.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Superman (2011) #32

Jun 27, 2014

John Romita Jr polarises opinion; his work here with Klaus Janson and Laura Martin, ranges from incredible to serviceable. The artistic team's action sequences are second to none, however, JRJR struggles with the humdrum " there's a lack of realism to these sequences. This is however a major deviation from DC's house style, which may mark a turning point in their fortunes.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
The Darkness #113

Jun 10, 2013

If you haven't been reading The Darkness since Hine took over, you've missed out! The introduction of Balakov, Jackie's Doppelganger and the Ancient Ones was a masterstroke by Hine. He understands horror and has used it to good effect throughout his run. Jeremy Haun and John Rauch have been perfect bedfellows. Haun's pencils deliver sickening blows, which are emphasized by Rauch's use of colour. These are creators which I have my eye on.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
The Eltingville Club #1

Apr 23, 2014

This is genre defining comics and it's not every Wednesday you get to say that!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
The Empty Man #2

Jul 9, 2014

his unsettling mini-series set in a dystopian future, where our world is in the throes of a disease with no known cure, is the epitome of horror comics.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
The Ghost Fleet #1

Nov 6, 2014

The scope of this series differs from Buzzkill, which was an intimate tale of addiction. This indie-vibe is not apparent in The Ghost Fleet, however, the heart contained within good storytelling remains. Whilst 12 issues are planned this will largely be dependent on sales. Therefore grab The Ghost Fleet #1, our Comic of the Week, today!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
The Manhattan Projects #11

Apr 25, 2013

Hickman's mainstream efforts (e.g. Fantastic Four) have shown him capable of the most intricate of planning and subsequent execution. This is also evidenced in The Manhattan Projects, however, in this issue the poetic and poignant pause, as plot is advanced, has earned the issue our 'Comic of the Week' award.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
The Private Eye #2

May 9, 2013

Usually, Id implore you to return to the comic shop and buy. This week a simple hop toPanel Syndicateis all thats required I would advise subscribing to theirRSS feedto keep abreast of The Private Eyes latest releases. This is one you wont want to miss.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
The Private Eye #4

Oct 9, 2013

If The Private Eye represents the future of comics then roll on tomorrow. This is comics at their very best. Head over there now and splurge on the latest issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
The Rocketeer / The Spirit: Pulp Friction #1

Jul 25, 2013

The Rocketeer and The Spirit: Pulp Friction #1 was published by IDW and DC Comics and is our Comic of the Week " congratulations to all involved. I was fortunate enough to pick up the variant cover by Darwyn Cooke, who seemingly goes from strength to strength.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
The Wake #1

Jun 3, 2013

I expected nothing short of perfection given the creative team and I got it. It sits comfortably among the great first issues of many Vertigo series. Hopefully your LCS will still have a copy if you missed The Wake #1, released Wednesday May 29th 2013.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
The Walking Dead #113

Aug 12, 2013

In terms of plot progression, very little happens. This is a Kirkman trait, what he's best at, 'the calm before the storm'. It makes for an exceptional issue, of an incredible series, which will celebrate its 10th anniversary in the coming months (issue 115 will ship with 12 covers). As the pendulum swings from one camp to the other, my heart rate escalated from resting to maximum in minutes. The final page is another TWD stalwart moment, akin to that in issue 24

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Think Tank #7

May 16, 2013

One of our 'Top 20 Comics of 2012', Think Tank hit the ground running and hasn't slowed since. Dr David Loren (maths whizz, indirect mass murderer) has become increasingly sympathetic, while remaining devious, and is certainly my favourite new character, alongside The Will in Saga and the oddballs which inhabit The Manhattan Projects. Each issue has built momentum and delivered a powerful cliff-hanger, it's a comic writing master class by Matt Hawkins.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Thor (2014) #4

Feb 1, 2015

Issue 4 marks the conclusion of the first arc; a trade is surely hot on its heels for those who have missed out (or where childishly sulking awaiting the return of their favoured male protagonist). Characterisation has been key throughout Aaron's work (see Scalped and his Wolverine & The X-Men run) " it's why I'm excited about his Star Wars work (a sentiment not expressed since my childhood).

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Trillium #2

Sep 5, 2013

Trillium is another fantastic addition to their canon. It's epic sci-fi at its best. Having followed Lemire from Essex County to Sweet Tooth (via Lost Dogs, Rip Hunter in Time Warp #1 and now Green Arrow) " this is some of his best work.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
We Can Fix It! #1

Aug 8, 2013

Fink then expands on the premise and philosophises on the nature of memories " are they trustworthy? Are we adequate arbiters of our consciousness? Do we shun the good times and recall the bad, casting long dark shadows upon our past? I certainly can trust my recent memory in this instance " We Can Fix It! is definitely worth your time (and money) and is good for you, if John Tierny is to be believed.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
X #0

Apr 10, 2013

Look elsewhere for character development and plot, this one (so far) is about the ultraviolence, although (as yet) none of the old in and out. If you felt Luther Strode was lacking a certain je ne sais quoi, this one's for you and comes RECOMMENDED.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
X #12

Apr 10, 2014

A character at the interface of the Punisher and Batman was not on my pull list for its Shakespearian plot. However, since those early days, Swierczynski has hit his stride, making X one of my favourite monthly reads. The characters are compelling and what they must endure in the coming months will ensure I'll return.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Zero #1

Sep 19, 2013

Your mission is somewhat easier than Edward Zero's " BUY Zero #1, winner of our much coveted Comic of the Week accolade, before it's too late. This one, as another Image No.1, is sure to fly off the shelves.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Zero #3

Nov 21, 2013

Zero, Volume 1 'An Emergency' his shelves this February, however I strongly recommend you chase your local retailer for the issues. Failing that, go digital. Great comics, such as this, are few and far between, so why wait? It's simply genius, by Image Comics, my publisher of the year.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

October

September

More