Joey Davidson's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Comics Bulletin Reviews: 66
7.8Avg. Review Rating

10
Action Comics #867

Jul 13, 2008

If youre an Action Comics fan, issue #867 will more than likely leave you happy and excited. For those who are new like me, dive in. Johns is a wonderful storyteller, and personally, I look forward to where he takes Superman next.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Air #2

Sep 18, 2008

Air #2 will give you excuses to keep reading. By the time youve reached the end youll be looking forward to the next installment. The ending doesnt read like a traditional cliffhanger, but the moment Wilson leaves us with is good enough to keep a hold on you.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Angel: Revelations #1

May 27, 2008

The writing within the first installment is spot-on. Aguirre-Sacasa has spent time on several other Marvel books, like Sensational Spider-Man, but I have honestly never spent any time with the writer and his work. His style works well for this story, at least, and never was there a moment of awkwardness that overwhelmed the feeling of the book. Aguirre-Sacasa has managed, within the standard 22 page comic, to build a presence for Worthington that I haven't experienced in quite some time. Through a several page scene, Worthington expresses so many clear and concise emotions regarding the strange development that his body is going through (this is, since it is about Angel, the addition of his wings). In the issue, readers are taken through the gamut of typical high school emotions: fear, anxiety, jealousy, love, lust and the need to earn approval. Never will the book be considered without heart. While the writing is great, the art of Adam Pollina still manages to surpass. Unlike

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Angel: Revelations #2

Jun 24, 2008

One final note: the preacher present in the first issue, the one who murders a mother and daughter before he makes his way to Warren, is not here at all in this issue. Since this is the second part of a limited series, I found myself completely surprised when the issue closed and the enemy of the book was nowhere to be found. That one point is what will keep this book from a perfect (or near perfect) rating. Still this is a great read. Fans of Angel and anyone looking to learn about a marvelous character's origins will enjoy this book. I recommend it.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Angel: Revelations #4

Aug 26, 2008

Up until this issue, I'd say that the strongest point of this mini story has been the art. There's so much passion and force to what Pollina draws that it physically makes readers stick with single images for a longer amount of time. That doesn't change here; the moments of iconic stature feel epic and important, so much so that I stared at one particular image for a good five minutes. It came around the fourth page, and it was incredible.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Batman #679

Aug 17, 2008

All that aside, issue #679 is the moment when I have become excited about Batman. I'm excited for next month, and I'm really excited for what happens next. I will say, in addition, that the recent Robin tie-ins have done a lot to expand the story and assist them. So if you want more from the storyline, look into Robin. Otherwise, it's a great book for now, and I hope it stays this way. Morrison has a lot to keep in check with this crazy storyline. Let's hope he gets it done.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Caliber #2

May 22, 2008

What semblance of story there seems to be in this book carries with it a lot of potential. Sarkar has room to do wonderful things with this justice seeking weapon, but with two issues under his belt so far, only three left in the mini itself, it seems he has a lot of work to do. Thats the thing with Caliber after the second issue, it feels like work. I dont mean that in a hugely bad way, but the book seems to read in a very difficult manner. I found myself pulling at the images within panels just to get exactly what was going on, and sometimes I downright failed. There was a turning point in my opinion of the book, Ive mentioned it above, and that was the firing of the magical weapon. The moment had a brilliant effect on me and Im excited to see the pistol fired again and the poor sap that catches the blast; but will the juice really be worth the squeeze? Only time will tell with Caliber. The same goes for Radical as a publisher.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
DMZ #32

Jun 19, 2008

I really cant stress the importance and weight DMZ has as a book of political character. Its relevant in most every way, and youll get that vibe as you read it. I love what it does for the medium and this issue is fantastic in that it seems to take the stress level from the last and, somehow, kick it up. Excellent work Mr. Wood. Keep it up.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
DMZ #33

Jul 24, 2008

This fifth part in the six part arc stands as a build up point. While not much physically happens within, the issue serves to make readers anxious for the conclusion. I can't wait to see how the chips fall.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
DMZ #34

Aug 28, 2008

Issue #34 of DMZ is an incredible conclusion to a remarkable story. The island of Manhattan has been setup for a flurry of changes over the next several months and Im thrilled to say that I cant wait for a single moment of it. Matty has been instructed to take a vacation at the end of this issue, so well see where he winds up with some time off. Maybe hell visit some old friends.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
DMZ #39

Feb 12, 2009

Issue #39 leaves off with a moment of shock and brutal anticipation. The things that are happening in the DMZ are getting more and more frightening. For Petes sake, I just want to see this mess cleaned up and I cant wait for next month as #40 concludes this arc.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Dragon Prince #1

Sep 8, 2008

But I've been harping on it this whole time, this book is an extremely strong effort and I'm excited by it. Anyone looking for a new, short series to dive into should pick up Dragon Prince. It's part Ultimate Spider-man, part Firebreather and all good. A great job by Marz.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Dynamo 5 #13

May 22, 2008

Dynamo 5 is a great series; each issue brings with it a new tier of evolution. By #13 in the series, I have found myself engaged and entertained and Faerber shows no signs of slowing down. If you are unfamiliar with any of Faerbers work, I suggest you become informed. Hes a brilliant writer and deserves your attention.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Dynamo 5 #14

Jul 3, 2008

This is another great book in the Dynamo 5 line. If youre a fan, you wont be disappointed. I dont recommend it as a jumping-on point for newbies, as the world of the team is in complete disrepair. Instead, pick up the first trade. Its what, 10 bucks!? Why not get it? Dynamo 5 is a great read, and for anyone that wants to take in a new team experience, I recommend this book highly.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Dynamo 5 #15

Jul 31, 2008

Dynamo 5 #15 is a great entry into the series. Scrap fans will be tickled with all the attention the heroin gets, and fans of the series will be treated to some good action and a little of the drama that they are used to. The final splash throws the fate of the old Dynamo 5 team into question, and now we wait to find out what's good next month.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Dynamo 5 #16

Sep 11, 2008

Back on track. Like I said, #16 is the best in the Dynamo 5 line in this reviewers opinion. I havent had this much fun with a super hero comic in a damned long time.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Firebreather #1

May 30, 2008

In the end, this book will almost certainly be the start of something fantastic. Hester and Kuhn will hopefully provide readers with the service they deserve, but so far fans of Firebreather will be happy with this one. As a reader whom is new to the character, Im really excited for the directions this one will take. Pick it up if youre looking for something new.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Firebreather #3

Nov 20, 2008

Phil Hesters plot, setting and characters share a lot of obvious similarities with Invincible. The teenage drama, the father issues, the single mother theme, the youth energy. Its all there. But its still cool. If youre looking for a well written, well conceived piece of literature, this is a great place to turn. Firebreather is a solid book.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Firebreather #4

Feb 19, 2009

Issue #4 is sort of a mixed bag for Firebreather. The art is the only part that I feel is a little bit off, but it was enough to bring me away from the book. The ambitiously jarring location that fans will end up at by the end of the storyline is one that they wont soon forget. The series, if Hester chooses to hit the ground running with the new plot implications, could become something grander than what it was before. Im ready to dismiss the melodramatic story that Im used to every once in a while if this is the type of stuff that comes up. In issue #4, the emotions are intense, the implications are hefty and the possibilities are endless. Really, if Hester keeps this up, Firebreather will undoubtedly become one of the better series on shelves today.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Flash (1987) #242

Jul 18, 2008

Seriously though, #242 in this arc is a great point for Flash lovers. Pick it up, pick up the Final Crisis installment as well. It's probably really good too.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Flash (1987) #243

Aug 21, 2008

All is not lost, I suppose. Ive really liked the family dynamic that Peyer has come up with for Wally. It works on all sorts of levels and adds depth and much needed personality to an extremely one dimensional character. He will be vacating the series with the next arc, and one can only take a blind stab at where the next team will take the West family. It doesnt have to be brutal in order to be goodjust take some scary family dynamics and mash them up with super speed and weve got a wonderfully entertaining comic. This one, however, a little disappointing.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Flash (1987) #244

Sep 18, 2008

Lets not mince words here; while this review may read a bit scathing I want to remind everyone that this is not a bad book. I know the 2.5 up top may look pretty negative, but it isnt. This thing is just average. Forgettable, even. Youll read it once, throw it in a box and move on. Its a mediocre story written by a writer that can do better. Maybe he will, maybe this time next month Ill be practically seething with compliments. But thats the future, Ill let Future Joey deal with that.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Foolkiller: White Angels (2008) #1

Jul 15, 2008

Overall, Foolkiller: White Angels #1 is a great start to something that could be incredible. It's charged, filled with emotion, and Greg Hurwitz is well suited for the medium. The book will make you set it down and step back for a few seconds as you finish up with it, and that's what makes comics wonderful: that moment of thought that fills the time as you finish. I look forward to this series with high hopes, and only time will tell how it delivers.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Gemini #2

Jun 19, 2008

Gemini is only a five issue mini. I cant come up with a single reason why you shouldnt be getting this book. Its fast, light and entertaining as all hell. It will certainly provide perfect relief for those summer-time-universe-wide-event blues. Just pick up the first and second issue and youre caught up. Easy, right? I really recommend Gemini for anyone thats a fan of comics. Go. Now. Get. Read. Seriously.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
I Hate Gallant Girl #2

Dec 11, 2008

I Hate Gallant Girl is friendly, even-paced and approachable. Its just plain cool. Kat Cahill writes up a colloquial script and Jim Valentino has come up with an easily digestible plot. Id like to add that his issue has a twist at the end, and this is another fail-point for me -- I saw it coming from page one. Thats no good. But hey! I enjoyed the book and will stay with it for its conclusion next month.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Invincible #50

Jun 13, 2008

With all of that in mind, issue #50 of Invincible is nothing short of fantastic. The art is on par with the rest of the series and Kirkmans writing manages to elevate the plot to a new level of meaning and intricacy. Things happen that will leave their mark on the book for years to come; Invincibles going to be dealing with this stuff for a long time. I cant wait.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Invincible #51

Jul 24, 2008

The one thing that kept this book from its perfect score was its final page splash. Man, I flipped to it as I was making my way through and the first uncontrollable words out of my mouth were "God Damnit." It's something that I thought was done with, but no, it's back. I said it loud enough to make my roommate who is not caught up to current happenings look down and repeat the same phrase. He, of course, was speaking to me. I ruined quite a bit for him on accident. Oh well, stop reading over my shoulder, jerk.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Invincible #53

Oct 9, 2008

Like I said, this is a chance for us all to catch our breath before the next plunge. The calm before the storm. Kirkman has taken a step back, perhaps to observe the whole picture, before it comes time to grind Mark and his loved ones into the dirt once more. Well certainly be clamoring for calmer times when this turns to crap, but #53 marks a point of relative nothingness in the series. Get the book to continue the line and to stay in touch with Invincible, but dont be surprised when you walk away feeling less entertained than you were, say, one issue ago.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Invincible #56

Dec 11, 2008

Perhaps Im being too hard on Kirkman and this issues plot line. This is solid, Invincible caliber stuff. It doesnt feel rushed and it certainly doesnt feel like Kirkmans about to shove our heads under the water again. He will, of course, but it doesnt feel that way right now. Thats a strength, and its my favorite part about his writing. You never really feel it coming. The shock is one of the big reasons for my reading this book, but this issue just doesnt have it. It will probably serve as a perfect bridge towards bigger and better things.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Invincible Iron Man #2

Jun 3, 2008

I'm going to start this with the most obvious and recognizable mechanic at work in this book, or most any comic book for that matter: the art. Larocca and Darmata produce some of the most well polished, detailed and refined work in any book you'll likely find on Marvel's shelf. With every fight scene and every dialogue exchange, Larocca manages to create the sense of the epic that one will be hard-pressed to match. For the most part, even the small and relatively simple panels look great:

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Kaeru-Boy #1

Sep 29, 2008

As for the plotline itself, well, much like the thematic direction of the comic, its amusing. This isnt going to raise the bar for the super-hero genre, its just going to pass some time as an entertaining read. Vegas writing and humorous characters make the read feel almost like Ren & Stimpy meets The Animaniacs. Each character is an odd caricature and the mastermind/villain readers are presented with on the final page made me laugh out loud. By the end of the issue I was ready for more, which is exactly what a comic like this needs.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Kick-Ass #4

Aug 28, 2008

But overall this issue does not disappoint. Millar even manages to squeeze in a Marvel 1985 reference; this is, of course, his own series. Fans of the storyline, and there are plenty of you out there, will be excited enough to continue with the next installment.

View Issue       View Full Review
4
Last Defenders #4

Jun 12, 2008

But Hell, the way this is going, by the sixth issue Ill wish that the book sold as a pamphlet with only Nighthawks dialogue with Tony Stark. How far weve fallen

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Last Defenders #5

Jul 8, 2008

I welcome Casey's efforts to take a low level hero and bring him to serious situations and concepts, but the moment he ditched the hilarity of the first issue was nearly devastating. I miss Blazing Skull, a lot.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Legion of Super-Heroes (2004) #43

Jul 4, 2008

I will end this review, however, on a good note. I really like the direction Shooter has taken with Lightning Lad. Charged with the duty of leading the Legion, Lightning Lad is in way over his head and the manner that Shooter pours the stress on him is more than effective. I actually felt bad for Lightning Lad at the end of this issue, and it will be a treat to see how he copes with the team and his responsibilities in the next several issues.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Legion of Super-Heroes (2004) #44

Jul 27, 2008

What I am going to complain about until the day I die is the curse-substitution language. "Florg that," "Let's show them who they're zorking with" The obnoxious loophole that writers like Shooter and the folks that put that "frack" back in Battlestar Ga-crap-tica (yeah, I went there) is a complete turn-off and almost a waste of my time. I even view it as a sign of bad writing. Rather than finding a way to circumvent the curse words entirely and writing, perhaps, better and more inventive dialogue, writers like Shooter decide that now is a good time to throw in a zork, florg, etc. Look, I don't care what you have to do, just don't make me read the word "zork" again.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Mythos (2006): Captain America #1

Jun 26, 2008

Overall, this is a great effort by both Jenkins and Rivera. I was pleasantly surprised by the end of the issue, and find myself wishing for more. If you are like me and cant wait for Captain America: White, give this a go. Its a nice way to make the next two weeks come a little quicker. Oh, and this thing is seething with patriotism, so get ready for tons of that. It is Captain America, after all.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Noble Causes #36

Sep 5, 2008

Noble Causes is still going to be the series you love until the very end. I know that I am just one among the many who are going to hate the moment I finish the final issue. I have grown to look at the Noble family as a dysfunctional set of my own pets, as strange as that sounds. I'm here every single time to see what they're going to do next. This will always be one of my favorite series. This issue is only a minor point of mediocrity in an otherwise incredible run.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Northlanders #6

Jun 1, 2008

Northlanders is growing, it's undeniable. The series already feels much larger than its page count, so for those out there looking to step into something epic that isn't about men in tights, look no further. And for those who have felt so-so about the series thus far, let's hope that this one puts your anxieties to bed like it did for mine. Northlanders is frighteningly epic.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Northlanders #7

Jul 3, 2008

Okay, Northlanders has been an awesome book so far. I dont mean to make it out to be this pile of soulless pages that no one should read. Read it! Its great, really. But dont be surprised if you find yourself wandering between loving it and being nearly perplexed by it. This issue came home to open arms this Wednesday, and I loved every bit of ituntil the end. Its the return to narrow form thats knocking some bullets off of this baby. Northlanders, this hurts me more than it is going to hurt you, but ugh, 3.5 bullets for one of my favorite books.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Northlanders #8

Aug 3, 2008

These first eight issues have been wonderful. Two issues longer than a standard comic arc, the story can only be considered drawn out if you don't like the non-eventfulness of the final chapter. But for those who are willing to step back and think of the entire plot, most will probably come to the same conclusion: it was a good run. I'm sad to see Sven leave us, but I welcome the next story Wood presents in his Northlanders. I will likely sell back these eight issues and buy a hardcover version. It's been that great.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Northlanders #9

Aug 28, 2008

This first part in a two part arc has turned out a little mediocre. Im ready to read more, but I find myself a lot less pumped for next month. This is something to which I am not accustom.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Northlanders #10

Sep 26, 2008

Definitely get this issue if you got the first in the two part story. #10 is stronger on nearly all points and wraps quickly and neatly. It will raise the level of the story overall and make you excited for Woods next tale. Ive found myself looking forward to the next set of characters, which is a nice change of pace. Before this issue I would have considered myself more apprehensive than anything else. Kudos to Wood.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Nova (2007) #14

Jun 10, 2008

For those that were put off by the first issue in this three-part arc, just walk away from that feeling right now. Nova #14 is a return to form for Abnett and Lanning, and the book reads wonderfully. I just hope that this series isnt buried beneath the summer epics. The blockbusters are great, but theres nothing quite like a brilliantly thought out and executed thrill ride to restore ones faith in the world of comics. Nova is that restoration point. Amazing.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
NYX: No Way Home #1

Aug 5, 2008

NYX: No Way Home #1 isn't bad. It's not great yet, but it isn't bad. This first issue has its moments of beauty and wonderful simplicity, but in the end it doesn't make good on the promises of the first few pages. It sort of wanders a bit and serves up a nice distraction to make you want to pick up the next to find out more about the opening's provocative situation. You'll have to wait a while on that one, however. Only time will tell with the series as a whole.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
NYX: No Way Home #2

Sep 9, 2008

This issue is a nice point for new readers to jump-on. The first page provides an efficient recap of the story so far. The writing is good enough to hook you in, and the art will make you think twice about advancing pages. NYX: No Way Home has a bright future, and it's just starting.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Outsiders (2007) #8

Jun 19, 2008

Batman and the Outsiders is on par with itself. Sure, that doesnt sound too great, but in reality the series has become dependable. It has turned into a book that guarantees to be at least mildly entertaining every month. Fans of the characters wont be disappointed at all; their favorites are represented well here. But the book does little to push itself into new directions. It just doesnt feel like its going anywhere huge. But these consistencies will certainly go by the wayside when Dixons final comes out in a few months. Im not confident at all in where the book is likely to wind up. I really think this ones going to get canned; if not canned, then treated horribly by the heads at DC. I hope not, but thats what I think is bound to go down.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Outsiders (2007) #9

Jul 18, 2008

Overall, Batman and the Outsiders is a series that will cause plenty of folks to walk away with the desire to neglect it entirely. You wont ever find yourself on the edge of your seat here, but you will be entertained. If you are a fan of the team-up, then stick with it. The laughs alone are worth the price of admission. But for those looking for something with a little more umph and pizzazz, go somewhere else.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Outsiders (2007) #12

Oct 18, 2008

As for the way this issue handles the remains of its R.I.P. tie-in factor, well, it leaves me in the same exact state the last one did. I want to read more of Morrisons direct line. I need to know how far the Batman falls, and this issue does a nice job of reinforcing the emotions Ive already garnered. As a tie-in, this one should be considered another success.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Outsiders (2007) #14

Dec 18, 2008

Frank Tieris time with Batman and the Outsiders has been brief, but good. This is a solid time for a transition and I look forward to whatever Tomasi has in store for his take on the series. I wouldnt recommend this series with Dixon at the helm, but for those looking to dive into Gotham sans Bats, this line would be a decent place to head. Of course, in my opinion, Robin has had the best stories lately. Maybe you should look there first. That may change as soon as Tomasi weighs in, so until next month...!

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Robin (1993) #174

May 22, 2008

So then that leaves us with this: Did the issue live up to its preceding? Yes and no. Sure, questions are answered for the most part. Dixon set readers up for a nice, drama-filled rollercoaster of despair and joy, and we are treated to a bit of emotion throughout this book. But that emotion and excitement lasts maybe 9-ish pages. Everything before that seems to be little more than filler. Nevertheless, with Dixon at the helm on this one, now is a great time to be a fan of Robin. Drake is being forced to deal with a lot of intense situations, and Dixon is handling that pretty well. I am nervous to see the next installment and how it ties in with the Batman R.I.P. run. Until then, thisll do.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Robin (1993) #175

Jul 24, 2008

I, however, love the cover of the issue. This issue is titled "Death of a Family," lining up, obviously, with the controversial "A Death in the Family" featuring the demise of Jason Todd. Here we have Tim Drake holding Batman exactly like Batman was holding Jason Todd on the cover of "A Death in the Family," except mirrored.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Robin (1993) #176

Aug 7, 2008

Fabian Nicieza is the new writer for Robin from #175 on out. He brings a more mature and intense feel than Dixon did. Nothing against Dixon there, but readers looking for a darker Robin will find it. His ability to tie this book in with R.I.P. is working wonderfully and the book has done a lot to make me excited, not only about Robin, but about the main Batman line as well. Looking forward to more already!

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Robin (1993) #177

Aug 23, 2008

Okay, so maybe Robin isnt entirely alone. As the cover suggests, someone is fighting crime in Gotham as the Red Robin. It isnt Jason Todd. Well then who the heck is it? Dont know yet, and thats part of the alluring mystery thats going to draw folks towards Robin. #177 is the perfect outlet for Fabian Nicieza to display his talent with Robin when he isnt concerned with a tie-in. After the exit of Chuck Dixon, the title was thrown into a realm of question. Will it be good? Yes. Fabian Nicieza is one of the best things that has happened to Robin in some time, and I hope hell be here casting a mature light on Tim Drake for a good while to come.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Runaways (2008) #4

Nov 25, 2008

Runaways is a solid bet for anyone looking to dive away from Secret Invasion and into a pool of less serious and possibly better content. While I won't stick with the monthlies (and I do know how bad this is for the industry), I'll think about picking up the trades. That says a lot for a book in times as economically trying as these. Think before you buy, but if you're on the fence then I can only reccommend you make the purchase. It's decent.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Secret Invasion: Thor #1

Aug 12, 2008

On a final note, Ill address the art. It looks great. I've come to expect a lot from the way Copiel delivers the Thor world. But Braithwaite more than delivers an epic visual, and I can safely say that I'm pleased to see the Secret Invasion: Thor story in such good hands. Things look like they will extend pretty well into Thor's world during the heated conflict. Fans looking to stretch their SI experience will be hard pressed to find an outlet better than Secret Invasion: Thor.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Secret Six Vol. 2 #4

Dec 11, 2008

Secret Six is a blast. Its humorous, revolting, dark and intense. This series has promptly become one of my favorites and I think it deserves a spot in everyones box. Secret Six needs to be seen as one of the best DC titles in years.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Supergirl (2005) #34

Oct 2, 2008

Sterling Gates has done a nice job with setting this series up for a potentially good future. If he can keep pace with Robinson and Johns then there is no telling how good this book could become. With enough work and retooling, Supergirl is likely to become one of my favorite characters. But Gates does have some growing to do.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
The Umbrella Academy: Dallas #4

Mar 1, 2009

Im big into this book. The art rocks, the writing is solid, the narrative itself is set to deliver one whole megaton of epic; this thing is getting great. The Umbrella Academy becomes a recommendation for all of those points. But these are one mans opinions; youll have to read what my colleagues have to say if you want a consensus.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
The Walking Dead #51

Aug 14, 2008

The pacing of the book sure has changed from the prison yard, community theme that once dominated the spanning horizon. Now Im not really sure what the heck is going to happen. Consider Kirkmans no one is safe theme a win; I dont know what to think. Plus, the next issue teaser shows off an arm and sword that looks like Michonne. Im excited for that.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Walking Dead #57

Jan 10, 2009

The Walking Dead continues to be one of the best series on my pull sheet. The story is always brilliant and the art never disappoints. I applaud Kirkman for keeping his books on time in 09, and Ill be seeing Rick and the gang next month. You should too.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Thor (2007) #10

Jul 29, 2008

Thor has been touted as a great series since Straczynski took the helm some ten issues ago, and it is. This book reads incredibly well and carries with it a sense of epic that should go hand in hand with the stories of the gods. If you're looking to dive into Thor, there is a trade of the first six issues hitting this week and after that you'd only be four more off. If, like me, you must a complete series, spend your money here. You won't regret getting into Thor.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Transhuman #2

May 15, 2008

By the end of the second installment, readers of Transhuman will likely find themselves excited for the next little tidbit. The book is great. There are no ads, no interruptions, just story. The second issue even comes with a nice little mini that Hickman felt needed including. A story told with only symbols and pictures, no words. A nice, quaint, two page read. The addition feels just fine. Transhuman itself really is a great buy, and buyers won't regret the purchase. Its a mini that's only two issues deep, I suggest you pick it up.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Young Liars #4

Jun 12, 2008

While the happenings of the issue do little to progress the plot of the book, we do learn more about each of the characters Lapham has given us to soak in. If youve enjoyed the first three issues of the series, then youll like this one as well. But I would never recommend this as a starting point for new readers. Its still pretty early on for this one, so if youre interested in something fresh and powerful, pick up Young Liars in its entirety.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Young Liars #5

Jul 11, 2008

Maybe Im being sadistic for the characters on the page. Or maybe Im relating to them way too much for my own good and have become addicted to a monthly masochistic fix. I dont know. I do know that Ive enjoyed this fifth book in the same way that I enjoyed the ones before it. Im almost positive that all you fans of the series out there will agree. Its rough, tough and gritty, its Young Liars. My only advice is to get used to it.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Young Liars #6

Aug 14, 2008

But, like I said, I still like it. I think thats what is most disturbing here. It isnt the scenarios and the gruesome images that happen in Young Liars that make me queasy. It isnt the bloodshed or the perversion or the killing that makes me shift uncomfortably while I read, its the fact that I enjoy it so much. Its just so twisted and deranged that Im hooked. Im hooked on the horrible things Young Liars does to me. I love it. You will too, unless youre normal. But who is?

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

November

3rd

October

September

More