Jordan North's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Comic Bastards Reviews: 74
9.1Avg. Review Rating

10
Chew #33

Apr 17, 2013

I never regret time spent with Chew, the humor, the weirdness, the crack pot ideas the mature- audiences cartoon tone. These are man-child comics at their finest. Enjoy with some pop tarts and a beer.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Chew #34

May 30, 2013

Another high point happens at the very end where an evermore badass Tony Chu, given all the reason in the world to get the hell out of dodge or lay down and die, looks his guy (vampire) dead in the eye and with undying confidence proclaims, “There’s only one way this ends. I am going to kill you.” I don’t doubt you Tony Chu. Don`t doubt Tony and NEVER doubt John Layman and Rob Guillory... unless you were one of those weird kids that carved ABBA in your middle school’s desks instead. In which case, Angus Young probably wouldn’t have liked you much anyway. So go to hell.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Chew #35

Jul 11, 2013

Another thing that keeps me so turned on to these books is the humor. It's all great, it's all ridiculous and dumb and it has to be produced by some goofy S.O.Bs. I feel a particular connection to these stories for that reason. The note left under the phone on Agent Colby's desk by one (because there are two) of his elderly lovers, "Colby, I heart you in a totally gross kind of way." the Fidel Cancero Cuban cigar box. All this stuff is shit I get drunk and talk about in my friend's basement while watching Regular Show reruns. Say that about another comic on the shelf.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Chew #36

Sep 4, 2013

This issue is outstanding in that it breaks the mold, which is saying something for a book that does and says such ridiculous things every issue I could design at least a couple T-shirts, for each book turned out. That said I'm excited about the possibilities of the creators showcasing some of Tony's family as stars in the next few stories of this arc. Don't miss out on what may very well be the most fun comic book on the shelf.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Chew #37

Oct 10, 2013

The quality of art goes without saying here (because Chew). It, as always adds the perfect complement to the types of downright zaniness these stories are chock full of. Overall issue #37 is a pretty low-key one focusing more on buildup than anything else; nevertheless I still enjoyed it as much as I do any issue of what is one of my favorite comics on shelves. Plus, the return of the lying cat t-shit! Times are good for Chew. Read it. Love it. Food porn.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Hellboy: The Midnight Circus #1

Oct 23, 2013

This is a book any Hellboy fan has to pick up and one that any comic fan would be missing out to pass up on. Rarely are heroes depicted so young which is interesting in and of itself, but with all the heart that Mike Mignola infuses into this book and his trademark character the whole project is brought up to the next level. Great work is done here by all. Don't miss out.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Invincible #102

Apr 24, 2013

This issue is compact, intense and hard hitting, soaked in blood and big moments. It’s a simple but effective issue with mighty plot developments paired with Ryan Ottley`s simple, but always cinematic art. This is a good issue of a good series of comic books that I’m eagerly planning to follow from here on out.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Invincible #103

Jun 20, 2013

Accenting everything is stellar art and color work by Ryan Ottley and John Raunch who really do their respective parts in making the characters and action look visceral and in your face as well as making the color stand out as if it was done by a demented ex-Pixar guy. Invincible, as always, looks great (particularly Eve who’s got curves for days. Shades of Topanga. Swoon). And Kirkman is Kirkman, you know the drill. Awesome stuff. As tongue and cheek as the header of best hero comic in the universe is, after reading a few issues of Invincible it`s hard to disagree, at the very least, that it`s up there.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Invincible #104

Jul 17, 2013

I love this comic. Buy this comic. All hail Rob Kirkman.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Saga #14

Sep 25, 2013

Saga does many things, right, absolutely tremendous writing; beautiful and pitch-perfect art by Fiona Staples. Ever-interesting characters and creatures and new worlds to explore every issue, but what it does the very best, and I realize the lame clich, is heart. It doesn't matter what story you tell, or how you tell it. If you can connect to the humanity in people you can tell a gorgeous story. Or you can show one. It is, to me, the very most important part of any tale. Fiona Staples and Brian K. Vaughan know this, and for it, the quality of their comic book goes without saying.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Saga #15

Oct 30, 2013

Saga continues to impress. I'd tell you to buy this book but at this point it'd be a waste of digital ink.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Saga #16

Nov 27, 2013

I can't wait to see where next issue goes. Brian K. Vaughan always makes sure of that.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Saga #17

Dec 19, 2013

At this point you know what it is, Saga is the coolest comic around and for good reason. This issue it all blows up and if you've ever had any stock in this story? This is the issue you don't miss. It's the best damn $2.99 you can spend as a comic fan.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Saga #18

Jan 29, 2014

The final narration of Hazel is one of a, "new chapter" type persuasion (ending in a delightful literal "new step") that really gives us the feeling that Saga is ready to turn the page and take a swan dive deeper into what has been some of the best and most imaginative lore in comics in the past few years, and Jesus H. Christ am I ready for the trip.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Samurai Jack #1

Oct 23, 2013

Overall the team of Jim Zub and Andy Suriano work on Jack. It's just familiar enough to satiate old fans and just new enough to set itself apart from its wonderful subject material Samurai Jack: the comic book shows promise and its first issue is a sterling example of an adaptation done right. Samurai Jack is just as fun here as you remember him. Bring on the next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Samurai Jack #2

Nov 21, 2013

Despite a big name to live up to IDW's Samurai Jack team does great work again, establishing all the things that made this series such a good time in the first place and adding their own, welcome spin on everything. This is the cartoon book to pick up.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Samurai Jack #3

Dec 19, 2013

That all being said with the Jack formula it has inherit pratfalls. It tells simple stories and is very minimal so if you're looking for dense lore or tons of characters all with complex progressions don't look here. Samurai Jack has always been presented as a really great exotic children's book of sorts, simple,beautiful and noble. Now if those things sound good to you (which they should)? You know where to go.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Rocketeer: Hollywood Horror #4

May 8, 2013

This issue ties everything up nice and pretty, just the way you want it. The evil hypno-conman Otto Rune is thwarted. Our hero Cliff confesses his love for his girlfriend Betty in a moment of passion and subsequently gets the newly out of distress damsel. The Rocketeer gets his original jet-pack back and can again become The Rocketeer and the whole gang gets a wealthy (albeit mysterious) sponsor. Read before you go to bed or during some down time on a sunny afternoon, this thing goes down like a cool lemonade float.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Victories (2013) #3

Jul 3, 2013

Buy these comic books if you have a pulse.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Victories (2013) #4

Aug 7, 2013

The Victories is cool because it has no problem showing you familiar tropes and then turning them on their head by doing something you wouldn't think seems particularly courageous or bold for the medium but is; it gives you reality. Real reactions, real vulnerabilities, real repercussions, at least compared to the super-heroey world-logic we get so much in other books

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Victories (2013) #5

Sep 5, 2013

In the end were introduced (kind of) to a classic "new world order"-esque shady organization. The Post-human arc will continue the story and hopefully showcase the heroes banding together and fighting back in an all-out war. I'm pumped for the next phase of the book that always keeps me laughing, my adrenaline going and me on my toes. And you should be too.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Victories (2013) #6

Nov 7, 2013

The Victories continues to be a must for me each week, it's a damn good book presenting a lot of damn good ideas damn well.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Victories (2013) #7

Dec 5, 2013

In twenty-two pages Michael Avon Oeming manages to show us what being a true hero is all about. He pulls no punches and offers no apologies for it. He could teach the workshop on balls-out comics writing and many writers would be wise to attend. This man is onto something.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Victories (2013) #8

Jan 3, 2014

The Victories never lets me down, and that's what's so great about it. Its characters are consistently awesome, along with the overall plot and art and the quality never really waivers. Sprinkle on the fact that Michael Avon Oeming has some of the biggest balls in comic story telling these days and writes his stories fearlessly and you have a solid comic that never leaves my pull list.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Victories (2013) #10

Mar 10, 2014

For all the answers it brings this event's conclusion brings more questions, fortunately its creator is so good at delivering I'm more than happy to stay on the ride.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
B.P.R.D.: Hell On Earth #109

Jul 17, 2013

BPRD is never anything less than good fun (it's also always stunningly beautiful). A popcorn book if you will, and for it there are few, if any substitutes.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
B.P.R.D.: Hell On Earth #110

Aug 21, 2013

Being a reader of Mignola's Abe Sapien title I've never felt more like these two books are connected than in this issue, where Abe usually favors a more intimate approach to the disaster and those that inhabit the world after it, BPRD tends to focus on a team and scale things on a city-wide level. This issue of B.P.R.D. gives us the best of both worlds mixing those types of moments. The continuity established here is impressive and I look forward to more refreshing departures from the established framework and storytelling experimentation.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
B.P.R.D.: Hell On Earth #111

Sep 18, 2013

All in all this is a book that knows its stride and may be the best of its kind. Fast, fun and endlessly imaginative, B.P.R.D. isn't one to miss.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
B.P.R.D.: Hell On Earth #112

Oct 17, 2013

This is a real good, real fun and (in most ways) real pretty book and a damn fine comic. Read it.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
B.P.R.D.: Hell On Earth #114

Dec 19, 2013

A Mignola team monster and man story is a good monster and man story. Period.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
B.P.R.D.: Hell On Earth #115

Jan 16, 2014

B.P.R.D. deserves your time and money. If you've ever fantasized about fighting monsters, there's no reason to not pick this thing up.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
B.P.R.D.: Vampire #1

Mar 27, 2013

And that’s it; it’s simple, concise and to the point, but that doesn’t make me any less excited to see where it’s going. The short intro to Anders character and the first few pages where were shown a brief tease of just how despicable the vampires can be have me hooked, I want to see what’s down the rabbit hole for these characters. Add some wonderful art by the likes of Gabriel Ba, Fabio Moon and Dave Stewart, and you have my money.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
B.P.R.D.: Vampire #2

Apr 24, 2013

So far these comics have been a nice meaty stew of dialogue, faux history and folklore, spiced up with excellent coloring and illustrations. I’m intrigued, I’m excited, and I’m looking forward to more from Mr. Mignola and his gang.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
B.P.R.D.: Vampire #3

May 29, 2013

Kudos to the art team who does a wonderful job on the issue as always and to the writers too, who make the absolute most out of only a few words in these books. This is another solid and gorgeous issue for Mr. Mignola and his team.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
B.P.R.D.: Vampire #4

Jun 27, 2013

It's not all just violence though; bits of intrigue pepper this story. What's up with all the colonial flashbacks? Why does the head vampire in them look so much like Anders? Will our agent be corrupted by the power of the spirits inside him or will he eventually face off against them? These stories are beautiful, fun as hell and tell a simple and clean story that makes you want another scoop as soon as you finish off your first one. Don't miss out.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
B.P.R.D.: Vampire #5

Jul 31, 2013

This was a book that gave me some of the most fantastic art, memorable moments and intriguing turns than nearly any I was keeping up with. It was a fun ride and I'm sad to see it go. Mike Mignola, Fabio Moon and Gabriel Ba you all have outdone yourselves with your work here.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Walking Dead #109

Apr 10, 2013

Art is nice, the thick lines and black and white we’ve come to know and love setting an appropriate tone for the book, close-ups and shadows are used well making what is essentially a book mostly consisting of conversations interesting. Characterization is well done as always and, just like the show its exciting when we get to fly across the map and visit a character we like. It’s all very commendable and well done. The Walking Dead is so popular for a reason, and this is a solid issue. Now give me the trade paper back and leave me alone.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Walking Dead #110

May 9, 2013

The scene is wonderfully done with great lines written on both sides and really expert characterization getting to show out (Takes notes. Seriously. I know I did). Watching the king make an ass out of himself and basically show his belly, “ rule number one is to never bullshit a bullshitter”, to Michonne to get her to do the same was brilliant (seriously whens the last time you’ve seen that woman crack a smile) and heartwarming. Sometimes all it takes to win over a heart of stone is a story about an orphaned tiger at the end of the world. Life lesson learned indeed.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Walking Dead #111

Jun 13, 2013

This issue of The Walking Dead is about pretty much one thing and one thing only-- preparation for war-- and what a ripe situation it is for the story telling in particular. Characterization has always been one of the many strongpoints of these books and what better way to strip back the bullshit and show us what these characters are really made of then to show them getting ready for a battle. A battle that, very realistically, none of them may walk away from. It's in these moments that some of the best bits of this issue come from.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Walking Dead #112

Jul 11, 2013

If Neegan is supposed to be the bad guy, why do I love it so much when he's around? In a book dominated by darkness and dismal circumstances Neegan sticks out like a sore"and very profane" thumb.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Walking Dead #113

Aug 14, 2013

Adding to the mix is Charlie Adlard's minimalist and always spot on face/body artwork. All this comes together to make this universe feel real, which is so important for a book that is, ultimately, about people and how they deal with seemingly insurmountable circumstances. In this, as usual, Kirkman and his team knock it out of the park.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Ghosted #5

Nov 7, 2013

Ghosted #5 is a totally satisfying issue with Joshua Williamson writing up a big story that all comes to a head and keeps on delivering throughout the issue's thirty-two pages, Goran Sudzuka`s charcoal sketches looking artwork lending everything a distinctly pulpy feel that I adore and color by Miroslav Mrva that does grand work in making everything that should pop. If you haven't been following this comic book"do. It only looks to get better from here.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Ghosted #6

Jan 16, 2014

Ghosted #6 hits all the right beats. The idea of completely starting over with new plot after five issues is nearly unprecedented and I wouldn't advise it for lesser storytellers who could mangle plot moving at that speed, however, as he's proven over the course of six issues, Joshua Williamson is no lesser storyteller. Ghosted #6 twisted and turned me, pumped me up and made me ready for more in spectacular fashion. This comic book is a blast. It`d be wise to remember the name Josh Williamson in the upcoming months and years, I have the feeling the guy will be around for a while.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Ghosted #7

Feb 20, 2014

This is a series that dives headlong into whatever suits it, regardless of how cray that thing seems. I mean, "Soviet ghost woman beheads pair of devil orgiers?" Sure why not? You know who says sure why not to an idea like that? A person with brass balls that's who, a guy like Josh Williamson. Ghosted #7 is a blast, just like the six issues before it. If you don't read Ghosted, do. If you've ever enjoyed Indiana Jones, Cowboy flicks or haunted houses you will enjoy this comic. If you don't enjoy a single one of those things? The door is that way…

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Ghosted #8

Mar 24, 2014

Issue #8, while lacking some of the epic feel and forward progression of some of the other issues, still does a damn good job of being an all around exciting and original comic (don't worry,a hefty portion of slit throats and nut-kicks still make it into the mix), sitting and asking yourself, "how the hell does he make it out of this one?" has rarely been this fun, and if anything this issues really does prove no holds are barred with a last page that'll make you chuckle and say, "Damn, Joshua Williamson will go where he needs to keep it interesting." I've said it before and ill say it again, Ghosted is one of the most fun, easy to read and imaginative books on my pull right now. I enjoy every issue, and I think you would too.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Locke & Key Omega #4

Apr 18, 2013

These books are great fun and hit all the right emotional notes while carving a genre all to their own and they deserve to be read and commended.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Locke & Key Omega #5

Jun 6, 2013

Ty and Rufus are on the way (Rufus where were you this issue?!), Jordan and Kinsey proved that true courage cannot die and things are looking up...well, more like we’ve discovered there’s an up at all. August can’t come soon enough.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The True Lives Of The Fabulous Killjoys #3

Aug 14, 2013

There's been doubt attributed to the sporadic nature of this comic, hell I've even been a critic myself, but if this book continues the upstroke that it seems to be and gives us a payoff worth waiting for, it could be the sleeper hit that The Umbrella Chronicles was years before.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The True Lives Of The Fabulous Killjoys #5

Oct 30, 2013

‘True Lives' isn't the best book on the shelf, but it may be the most ambitious, and that alone is worth a look. It doesn't always hit all the right notes, but if you're looking for a new world to dive into and have a couple bucks to spare it's always worth a pickup.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
To Hell You Ride #4

May 16, 2013

This book is a testament to what can happen when you put veterans in the industry together and let them go nuts. Damn near pitch perfect, beautiful and intriguing work and masterful storytelling. Rare is it that I have come across something so original and it’s for good reason—every book simply couldn’t be this good-- but, when stars align and the comic gods are pleased you will occasionally get something that it would be irresponsible to miss. This is that comic book.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
To Hell You Ride #5

Jul 17, 2013

Could the conclusion to what was truly a standout series have been a bit less disjointed? Sure thing, but at the end of the day this conclusion does not disappoint.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Six Gun Gorilla #4

Sep 18, 2013

In the end though this book is funny, vicious and creative as hell. It makes for a great Saga-esque fix between issues of Saga. Not to say this is a lesser knockoff, not at all, that statement really speaks to the quality emerging in this thing. The brilliant writing, fun characters and sublime art make this a comic book that does what very few others can. It can still be a bit rough, but I'm really getting into this thing.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Six Gun Gorilla #5

Oct 9, 2013

With one issue left Six-Gun Gorilla is sure to go out with a metaphorical (and probably literal) bang. I, for one, will be awaiting it eagerly.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Six Gun Gorilla #6

Dec 5, 2013

Is it perfect? No, but for what Six-Gun Gorilla lacks in uber-polished storytelling, it makes up for in sheer scope, ambition and cool ideas. Ultimately Mr. Spurrier and his team succeed in taking us through a zany journey in one of the most creative worlds in comics at the moment. It's a ride I had great fun on. I'm sure you will too.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Spawn #230

Apr 5, 2013

The story is a pretty basic affair with some cool themes thrown in in which the new Hellspawn is approached by the Vatican who is vying for his endorsement after, as plain old Jim Downing, he’s tricked into pulling some rather extraordinary stunts on television. The idea that people see Jim, the new Hellspawn's, actions as possible being the work of god is gleefully ironic and a cool concept, as is the idea of having Jim in the public spotlight as Jim by day and out as a defunct general of hell fighting devils by night. McFarlane writes a moody and dank affair here, full of devil clowns and zombie wrist cutting girls and it’s all very Spawn. At the same time one that focuses more on characters and plot and atmosphere and it all feels new and yet familiar, but still very good. I’m glad I gave this character, this world, another chance.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Spawn #231

May 2, 2013

Overall the issue further sets up a story that I’m anxious to see explored and a character I can’t get enough of- the way Spawn rips Jim out of bed, comes over him and transforms him into a monster is really cool and makes me want to see the inevitable point where the man Jim Downing and the Demon symbiote Spawn butt heads. The setup of the corrupt Vatican and the traitor in the midst subplot of the demon inhabited Susan all make me want to stick around to see what comes of it all. I just wish it would move a little faster or at least that a few more heads would get split along the way.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Spawn #232

Jun 5, 2013

The other half of the story focuses on Jim himself, a man manipulated, however, a man also with great power residing in him. Apparently he visited hell, heaven and earth and told each of their respective deities to shove something up each of their respective asses. And apparently if one can pull off such a thing he/she becomes potentially incredibly powerful. The catch is that Jim was in a coma the whole time and has no idea he’s such a crazy hard-ass. But everyone else does, including K7-Leetha who chooses Jim as her first ever living host; and they want a crack at the power residing in his soul. It’s intriguing writing and sets up a conflict that I can’t wait to see pan out, especially if the art team continues to do such a tremendous job with action and atmosphere. You had my curiosity gentlemen, but now... you have my attention.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Spawn #233

Jul 3, 2013

I'm excited to see where this goes, and you should be too. Yes much of Jim Downing's go as Spawn has been build up this far but you bet your nerdy ass that I'll be there throwing my money at Mr. McFarlane to see how this thing pans out.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Spawn #234

Aug 14, 2013

Todd McFarlane has always been that guy to me, all about the darkness and the maturity. The kind of comics I'd sneak and read beside the pool at summer camp, the kind of characters and content that I'd swoon over and beg my mom to buy action figures of even though they were covered in blood and had gnarly looking weapons. And I love that I get that same sense of glee still, all these years later, every time I open one of his books.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Spawn #236

Oct 2, 2013

Still a bit slow but interesting and budding and building towards something bombastic, this issue of Spawn moves the plot along in exciting ways, with a few twists and turns along the way.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Spawn #237

Nov 7, 2013

Spawn gets juicer and juicer with each passing issue. Jump on board.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Spawn #238

Dec 5, 2013

McFarlane and team take a big leap creatively, and what results is one of the most interesting and telling Spawn issues to date.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Adventure Time #14

Apr 1, 2013

If you’re a big fan and would like to see the show in a new format pick these books up for a fun and refreshing change up into a pretty spot-on translation in the medium of comics, go for it. After the first few reads expect to want to pop in your DVDs and catch up on the real McCoy. To a newcomer I’d recommend the cartoon and that’s where you’ll find me too, these books are pretty frickin' sweet bro, but the show is totally MATH.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Adventure Time #15

Apr 18, 2013

Art is pure Adventure Time which is to say clean, simple and colorful and good. Good just like the whole comic. As similar as the books are to the show they sets themselves apart and continues to earn, for me (even if I don’t prefer it to the cartoon) a place in this fan’s cannon. For whatever that’s worth to you guys.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Adventure Time #16

May 23, 2013

Back to the Ice King, later on in the issue we encounter, THE ICE QUEEN! How wacky is this? It’s actually a big deal, this is the first time we’ve seen a crossover with the fictional-fictional universe of Fionna and Cake. Granted, this version of the Ice Queen is just a robot but it`s still cool. A line, following asking her creator why he left her alone for 200 years was actually pretty damn sad. Ice King immediately and cheerfully begins to destroy his creation who asks, “Why? Why did you create me just to do this?” and I promise you it never gets mentioned again. It certainly doesn’t here. Why you gotta be so cold AT? Follow that with a scene where Ice King explains the torture of being so old and having so many painful memories and so much loss that’s great, “Finn, when you get older you realize some things...memories blow so hard sometimes” and you have a great issue of Adventure Time.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Regular Show #4

Oct 17, 2013

These things added together Regular Show is a comic adaptation that's worth picking up and a good alternative to the also-good original TV series.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Walking Dead: Tyrese Special #1

Oct 9, 2013

The special wasn't flawless. On top of not focusing much on the character it was supposed to be dedicated to it had this weird jumping effect where instead of one cohesive story it felt like we were watching a slide-show jumping from scene to scene. This really messed with the level of immersion for me. Also, and maybe this is all in my head but it seemed like in places the art wasn't on par with the main book. These gripes aside seeing some old faces back in action and getting a "behind the scenes" look at some legendary TWD moments is more than enough to earn the price of admission.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Hellraiser: The Dark Watch #2

Mar 20, 2013

The story here is a bit cheap and the charterers typical but it’s interesting enough and cool enough to see the cenobite characters that it all makes it okay, you’re not here for prime storytelling, (at least I wasn’t) I just wanted to see Clive Barker`s creations on the page of a comic with a little bit of decent tale-telling thrown in, and as of issue #2 that’s just what I’ve been getting. Art here serves its purpose but feels rather uninspired with dark backgrounds making all the characters pop. Tom Garcia can do some good violence though, as every kill here is just as cringe inducing as it would be in the source material. Well done there. Hellraiser: The Dark Watch continues to feel like a pop-corn book for the casual horror fan and that’s quite okay.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Hellraiser: The Dark Watch #3

Apr 25, 2013

Sometimes in these books I feel like things happen just because they do and it feels a bit disjointed and odd but, this isn't supposed to be a book for those looking for a particularly compelling story. It's a reason to check in on Clive Barker`s classic monsters and the blood splattered world they inhabit with a bit of story and drama thrown in for good measure. And on that front it succeeds. I do not doubt any fans will have major complaints, I know I don`t. This is a decent niche book that's average at narrative, okay at art and good at gore and monsters. And that's all it really needs to be.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Hellraiser: The Dark Watch #4

May 23, 2013

There are two artists this time, I’m not sure if they’re the regulars but I enjoyed this issue more than most art wise. Some of the gore and creature design was top notch. Try not to wince when a well-placed question from Harry prompts a sewn together monster to literally tear itself apart. Cool business. Writing was fresh too and gave me something this week that I was interesting in reading. It was awesome to see a cenobite take on an almost anti-hero role. Harry D'amore just became without a doubt Hellraiser: The Dark Watch's coolest protagonist.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Adventure Time Annual #1

May 30, 2013

These short stories are fun and for a fan of the series or even a lover of comic strips and eccentricity. It’s worth a pickup.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Conan the Barbarian #16

May 16, 2013

While not groundbreaking these stories have been giving me something that I don’t often get in comics-- a pure adventure story that feels like kids could have been reading it a century ago on a porch while their fathers were out hunting, just as easily as by a young guy today waiting for a bus in L.A-- this comic is worth a read.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Conan the Barbarian #18

Jul 17, 2013

I actually chuckled as the last page announced, in bright colors and with an exclamation point an event called, BLACK STONES! Which sounds boring and pretty lame and is a great metaphor for how I've felt about the past couple issues. ("The thing you're reading is exciting and engaging, we swear!") There are things to like here, just not an incredible amount. Conan has been better, even in this run.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Conan the Barbarian #19

Aug 21, 2013

Conan is sinking. It's not horrific but damn is it vanilla. I read it and, outside of the art I just can't think of many reasons to come back. The novelty of a jacked guy with a broadsword is a powerful thing, but all charms have their limits.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

October

September

More