Karyn Pinter's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Comics Bulletin Reviews: 160
7.1Avg. Review Rating

6.0
Abiding Perdition #1

Apr 20, 2011

With a little tightening and tweaking, I think Abiding Perdition, and any sequel it might spawn, could really take off.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
American Sinner #1

Jan 28, 2010

Overall, I'll break it down like this: Great concept, okay script, fair artwork. American Sinner definitely will stay with me for a while, simply because of the shocking topic, not because of any superb writing or mind blowing art.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
American Vampire #1

Mar 21, 2010

American Vampire is really going to need to surprise and astound in order to hold up its end of the bargain in promising us more. Otherwise, it'll just be another good vampire story rather than a genre-changing one.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Arthur the Legend (Books One and Two in One Volume) #1

Aug 12, 2009

For those of you still with me, you won't find a more complete history-based comic version of the Arthurian legend than this.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Athena Voltaire #1

Aug 23, 2010

Now this is an old comic, not like '70s old, but it is from a few years ago. I certainly didnt have this sitting on my desk that long either. No, I picked this up at Comic Con 10 and had a chat with the artist/creator, Steve Bryant. It was first published as a web comic and earned an Eisner nomination. It was then put to paper by Speakeasy Comics until it went under a couple weeks later without finishing the run and without paying anyone. Ape Entertainment picked up Athena Voltaire in 2006 to relaunch the title and put out a second volume. Truly, its been an adventure for Athena, sort of the little comic that could. Id say if you happen across the issues somewhere and you really love the action adventure genre, then this comic just might be up your alley.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Batgirl (2009) #1

Aug 23, 2009

I'm going to give it a shot--at least for the first few issues to see if it's got any legs.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Batman and Robin #1

Jun 7, 2009

This is like the New Coke scenario--brought to us by the makers of the original but with a new recipe. How long will it last and was it really necessary? DC replacing their original characters has had a poor track record. The original is always better and eventually comes back. Batman and Robincertainly is a must read, good or bad. This is a new dawn for Batman. The change has come, but we can all secretly hope it changes back.

View Issue       View Full Review
3.0
Black Dawn #1

Apr 18, 2009

I would say Ive read better horror comics, but when I think about it, all the horror comics Ive read werent good. So, if you look at it from that angle, this is an average horror comic. Bonus, right? Maybe. I cant say Id recommend it though. What I can say is that every time I read a horror comic and end up disappointed, I do get the urge to remind myself of how great the genre used to be and head to the video store. So, if you really want a recommendation, I say keep the $2.99 and go rent 28 Days Later.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Blackest Night: Wonder Woman #1

Dec 6, 2009

If youre really into the Blackest Night story and cant miss a single part of it, then this is another title youll be picking up. If you dont particularly care about Blackest Night but are a Wonder Woman fan, then please enjoy this small interlude of violence.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Blonde Squad #1

Sep 27, 2010

I really wish I didnt come off as sounding so negative, but sometimes thats the way this sort of thing goes. Not all comics are going to be a hit. Thats the problem with independent comics, quite a few of them are misses. Maybe somewhere out there someone will find an issue of Blonde Squad and love it, but as for me, it wasnt catching.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Bram Stokers Death Ship #1

May 24, 2010

Overall, this turned out to be much more than I expected. It's horror, but not the type of horror that has plagued us in recent years. This is horror the way it should be done, more psychological than graphic. A definite read for the Dracula fans in the world who are tired of the current vampire trend and want to go back to the good old days of neck biting for sustenance.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Brimstone #1

Jun 18, 2011

Brimstone draws you in and the first issue leaves you with a wanting for more, but the characters are going to have to get interesting and theyre going to have to do it quick. It has big promises, but only delivers about half of what is expected.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Bruce Wayne: The Road Home: Catwoman #1

Oct 25, 2010

In the long saga of Bruce Waynes triumphant return to the city of Gotham, Bruce Wayne - The Road Home: Catwoman doesnt seem to play a big role other than putting Selina on the main stage in a comic, a spot she already occupies. The worst part, though, is that this is a one-shot that is continued in Bruce Wayne - The Road Home: Commissioner Gordon, which means I have to drag myself all the way back to the comic shop to find out if Catwoman starts a heist. Strangely enough, the comic is good enough for me to want to finish the story. Take or leave it, this is a quantity, not quality DC comic.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Caped #1

Mar 26, 2009

Caped is something you would pick up if you are a fan of the writer/publisher genre. I couldnt see myself seeking this out in the store. Its more of an impulse buy, like the comic equivalent of a Snickers bar. Youve got your milk, eggs, bread, and then as youre on your way out, you look at it, and look at it, and finally convince yourself why the hell not. Its not really necessary, but it wont break the bank if you go ahead and get it.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Captain Action #1

Oct 30, 2008

Heres to issue #2 being double the size and twice as good. And a note to Moonstone: on page four, the last panel, right across Captain Actions head, it says sample text. Its in the print version too.

View Issue       View Full Review
3.0
Captain Action #2

Jan 30, 2009

Its a bit sad, but with only the second issue out, Ive begun my countdown to the end. Im not sure how many more issues Ill be picking up after this one. The story isnt catching. After the ending of the first issue, finding out that Action Boy is a limbless torso floating in a medi-tank, how can you not follow that up? Where was that story line? That was far more interesting than watching the new Captain getting his butt kicked by a girl and a bunch of Russians.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Captain Action #3

Apr 6, 2009

Although this has been a far better issue than the last one, will this be a turning point in the story? I hope it gets back on track, and reaches its full potential.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Captain Action #4

May 21, 2009

How do you guys feel about this? I really cant say anymore, Im either not going to buy the next issue, or I am? There are certain things that need to happen *cough* Action Boy *cough*, and it does need more then ten pages to play out well.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Captain Action: First Mission, Last Day #1

Jul 21, 2008

Definitely read this one. It's for the old fans and the new ones.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Caption Action #4

Oct 12, 2009

Although this new take on an old issue isn't without merit, it left me a bit disappointed. It left me wanting more, and it still told only 10 to 13 pages of story. More could have been done. After all, Captain Action deserves more then 10 pages. With the promise of more Action Boy in the next series and a Lady Action spin-off waiting in the wings, Moonstone still has some incentives to offer the loyal Captain Action fans.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Catwoman (2002) #83

Jan 15, 2010

I didn't quite understand the need for an army of pencilers and inkers, and colorists. All their work was fine, and I barely noticed the transition between them. I don't know if any of them would or could take that as a compliment, but I'm not saying anything negative, I swear. I was too engrossed in the story and the action to notice the switch. The transition between artists was good. There, that sounds better. Really though, I was 100% into the story. Very well written, and well drawn and coloredall of you artists.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Catwoman (2011) #2

Oct 24, 2011

And Batman knew Selina was Catwoman. Yup, the deed is done, in all its raunchy glory, but there's more to this comic than just the sex... I think. We get a closer look into Selina, the way she acts towards her relationship with Batman, the way she interacts with her friends and how she manipulates people. Is this the same Selina/Catwoman that has always been? Or is a new one all together? She's rawer, more like a live wire, a bit of a cocky smartass. But wasn't she always? What has Winick done? I'm not upset over whatever it is because I love Catwoman in any form, including the over the top, hissingly snide villainess in Batman: Brave and the Bold television show. I just want to know how he did it. How did he take a character formula, change basically nothing and have a whole new version of the same character?

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Cauliflower for Al Jordan #1

Jun 8, 2012

Could I recommend Cauliflower for Al Jordan? Yes and no. Yes, because it's just fun, plain fun, it takes a small jab at the zombie book and anyone who it tired of the same old crap will enjoy it. Then no, because looking at the price, it costs $4. Four dollars for a short comic isn't worth it to a lot of people, and you'd have to really love it to shell out the cash for it. I'd have to say that will be the biggest downfall for Cauliflower; it's an independent comic with a high sticker price. But if a silly take on a cure of the average zombie interests you, Cauliflower for Al Jordan is a good read, quick, but fun and memorable, it'll stick in your mind. I am leaning more towards the yes. I'd definitely recommend reading this, if you're willing to pay the price, that is.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Chip n Dale: Rescue Rangers #1

Dec 2, 2010

Its a sad day. I was greatly looking forward to reading this, to get a sweet trip down memory lane to the good ole days of childhood. A fair try by BOOM! but it just didnt cut it. I havent ready any of their other cartoon based comics, like Ducktails, but I would hope it reads better than Chip n Dale.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Cleaners #1

Oct 23, 2008

There are only four issues in this mini-series and with one down the story should hopefully pick up in the next issue, but there isn't any guarantee of greatness. Sadly, The Cleaners comes off as another back of the rack comic.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Contract #1

Jul 7, 2008

Again tremendous. Make sure you hunt this one out in the store. If you see it pushed to the back of the shelf, give it a bump to the front, and make some space for it. It needs love. It's a definite read for the fans of Total Recall and Cowboy Bebop.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Cursed Pirate Girl #1

Jun 15, 2009

Other than my little complaint about the lettering, this comic is wonderful. Its got action/adventure, sea witches, pirates (obviously), humor, sharks, and mysterious dream pirate dads. Its great--read it to your kids for a bedtime story, or just enjoy it for yourself. Hands down one of the better blind comic buys Ive gotten so far.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Cursed Pirate Girl #2

Aug 15, 2009

I could just ooze and gush about this comic for days. Its goodno, not just good, its so good. The unfortunate part is that its hard to find. I got lucky and found issue #1 at my local shop, but for issue #2 I had to go straight to the source and buy from Jeremy at Comic Con. So, if you are at all interested in enjoying the awesome, fantastic, charming, and masterful Cursed Pirate Girl then you will have to talk to your local shop about ordering copies. Moms and Dads please read this to your daughters. I highly, highly recommended it.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Danger Girl and the Army of Darkness #1

May 5, 2011

Danger Girl and the Army of Darkness was far more entertaining than I thought it would be, and I bought this on a whim because I wanted something completely different to read. Its a fantastic dose of action clich that promises evil, undead antics and the likeness of Bruce Campbell. I cant find much wrong with that.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
DC Halloween Special 2010 #1

Oct 28, 2010

The only thing scary about DCs Halloween special is how disjointed it is and the fact that I blew three bucks on it. Boo, indeed. I cant recommend the Halloween issue this year; it just isnt worth seeing the DC characters so misused in this way. Save your money and buy all the Halloween candy when it goes on sale at the drug store. Better to rot your teeth than your brain.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep? #1

Jul 19, 2009

I have to say, youve done well, BOOM! Studios.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Dragon Age: The Silent Grove #2

Mar 6, 2012

Not that this was the worst thing I ever read -- lord knows I've read some real crap -- but this just wasn't as fun as it should have been compared to the amazing games is spun from. Though you can't write off a comic completely from just two issues, unless it really is serious crap. Dragon Age: The Silent Grove just might have the chops, I can see this turning into something exciting and worthy of a month's wait.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Eldritch #1

Jul 7, 2011

Eldritch #1Posted: Thursday, July 7, 2011By: Karyn Pinter Aaron AlexovichDrew RauschAntediluvian Blasphemies How to explain Eldritch? I dont know if I can. Maybe its Johnny the Homicidal Maniac bred with The Absent Minded Professor. Maybe its like a Tim Burton film before they all became a goth kids wet dream. It certainly is intriguing, thats for sure. Any story that starts off with Charles Darwin in a diving bell and ends with mysterious black ooze seeping out of a babys room has to be worth reading.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Erfworld #1

Feb 25, 2010

Overall, the comic was a healthy dose of nerdiness and fun. With some correction to the flow of the comic, I think Erfworld would be near perfect.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Executive Assistant Iris #1

Jun 22, 2009

Executive Assistant Iris definitely hit the radar as something I would have a good time ripping apart and making a bunch of snide comments about, but I liked it, I really did. It was an impulse buy--I saw the title and thought, "Why the hell not?" Its no masterpiece, but its fun and the story is intriguing. Its created by David Wohl and Michael Turner who were part of the team who brought us Witchblade, so Iris sort of comes from that same mold--a perfectly crafted woman who oozes sex and could kill a man with a sideways glance and a push-up bra. The writing is decent with good action and the characters are interesting, and Iriss inner monologue really makes her come off as trained monkey, which she is. You do want to keep reading, and the end is set up nicely with a cliff hanger. Im definitely in line for issue #2. Id have to say this is a surprise hit, though probably one that will get more attention than other sleeper hits because of the creative teams history.

View Issue       View Full Review
3.0
Far West: Bad Mojo #1

Mar 13, 2009

I guess if you read this comic ten years ago and were a fan you will be celebrating its return to the comic shelves. If you werent a fan, or (like me) had never read a Far Westcomic before, then I would have to say you arent missing much. It certainly isnt the worst thing Ive ever read, but I probably wont be picking up the next issue. I just didnt get it, didnt find it very appealing, and it came off as the type of comic a teenaged boy would draw in the back of his notebook and think was the coolest thing ever.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Fool's Gold #1

Jan 27, 2010

Overall, there is promise in this work. Yes, there are parts that need a little smoothing, but overall it rates a passing grade. I have to say, if this book had been written by a professional writer I would have been a lot harsher in passing judgment. It is remarkable, however, that a school would give kids a chance like this to publish a comic. I wish any of the schools I attended had given students that option over the same old school newspaper or yearbook.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
G. I. Joe #1

Jan 19, 2009

25 years (one more time for redundancy) of cannon gone. Will this one last two and a half decades? Who knows? It could, as long as things dont go spiraling out of control, like killing off main characters just to prove no one is safe. Its a comic--everyone is safe and death is like the flu in comic books. Get plenty of rest and well see you next issue. Time to sum it up. Yes, G.I. Joe is back in action, but is it the G.I. Joe we all know and love? Could be. There is a lot more to come, including two completely separate comics. One is being written by the godfather himself, Larry Hama, which will probably rock the socks off of this one, but this wasnt bad, just different in its own way. If youre a G.I. Joe fan, youve already read the issue before reading this review, and youre probably making space in your storage boxes to house the rest of the series. Although if you havent totally nerded out over the quick return of our American heroes, its almost like they never l

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
G. I. Joe #2

Feb 13, 2009

Im hooked, youre hooked, were all hooked. Its GI Joe, and in any form its good.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
G. I. Joe #12

Dec 3, 2009

Hopefully, the next story arc gets better. With Snake Eyes disappearing and Destro embarking on a kidnap mission with the Baroness, its got promise. But thats what I thought after the first issue or two and it has yet to truly materialize. As a die hard fan of GI JOE, Im not yet ready to give up on the title. Im really pulling for the franchise because its been in my life since childhood, but I feel like this could be so much better.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
G.I. Joe: Cobra #1

Mar 20, 2009

Everyones a critic I guess. Im looking forward to the next issue though, so its got a good hook, and it ended at the right spot. Enough was given to us to spark our interest, but theres so much more to be told. G.I. JOE fans will undoubtedly pick this up, and they/we dont have to worry about it being a waste of time or money. All in all, it was a solid, average comic. Its not going to spawn a revolution, but I think its the second best so far.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
G.I. Joe: Cobra #3

May 16, 2009

The bar has been raised. Lets just hope it hasnt been raised too high since it would be nice to continue to get comics of this caliber. Definitely, definitely check out G.I. JOE: Cobra, not just for this issue (although its the best so far), but because this is something new and its a good something new. I cant wait to see what happens next and if Chuckles will be able to redeem himself.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
G.I. Joe: Origins #1

Feb 21, 2009

Ultimately, its G.I. JOE and its Larry Hama, so even if it was a little lackluster its still worth reading. Now we all have to wait for the third book, G.I. JOE: Cobra, to see which one will reign supreme. So far, I think its Dixons.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
G.I. Joe: Origins #3

May 4, 2009

Larry Hama is back in the game with issue #3 and now Im kind of glad the series has been given the go ahead for extension. Although things have been changed and updated for the new generation, this has a good GI JOE feeling. There are no goofy uniforms yet, but theres still time to add those. The remaining issues should be good and lets hope the creative crew keeps reintroducing our favorite characters.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
G.I. Joe: Origins #6

Aug 21, 2009

In my eyes, GI JOE: Origins has always been treading water. Its had its moments of cool nostalgia but it hasnt been as fun as the main series and it certainly isnt as mind blowing as GI JOE: Cobra which went places GI JOE had never gone before. This latest issue isnt winning any brownie points. Where it should have stepped up, it took a step back. I really dont know if I could recommend buying this issue. Im now faced with the dilemma of having a gap in my collection. If the next issue is good (and its about Mainframe, so theres a chance) then I can say that buying this issue wouldnt be a waste. I guess well all have to wait a month to see if the series will pick up the slack left by issue #6.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
G.I. Joe: Origins #7

Sep 21, 2009

For now, I'd say if you're really into the G.I. Joe comics IDW is putting out and you've been following them for this long, it would be a pity to have that gap in your collection. But if you don't really care or were put off by the last issue you're not missing a whole lot, and you should save your money for the continuation of the way more kick ass G.I. Joe: Cobra.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
G.I. Joe: Origins #8

Oct 19, 2009

Well, if two years really have passed in comic time, then we have to be getting close to crossing over to the main GI JOE series, which would render this series redundant. For me this series is winding down. It's not that I don't want to continue reading, it's just that I feel like I'm getting less and less from the issues. At this point in the comic I'm not sure how much more can be done. Eventually, it's just going to drag out too far and it would be best if it were ended before that happens.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Gotham City Sirens #3

Aug 31, 2009

Hopefully next month will see Sirens back on track with the ladies on the trail of Tommy Elliot (Hush) as he has absconded with Harley. The series is enjoyable as long as you dont expect it to be the next Dark Knight Returns.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Gotham City Sirens #4

Oct 5, 2009

Right now I'm adoring this comic. I wasn't so sure if it was going to make it, but now I would be supremely disappointed if it didn't. It's got three of the best Bat girls in one comic, and if Batgirl were to guest star then it could be a fun little Gotham Girls reunion. Openly love it or hide it as a guilty pleasure. Either way you still gotta have it.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Gotham City Sirens #5

Nov 2, 2009

I really think this is one of the more fun comics out there, and it's especially nice to have a break from the downtrodden "Bruce is dead" story lines running in almost every other Batman comic right now. And come on, the Sirens could totally take on Marvel's Divas any day of the week, day or night, all hands tied behind their backs. It seems the comic is finally settling into a comfortable groove. Let's hope Dini can keep the groove going!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Gotham City Sirens #6

Nov 30, 2009

Right now's still a good time to jump into the title. From what the blurbs on the DC website say about the upcoming issues Riddler will be back and he's evil again (I think). Plus, he's still got a bone or two to pick with the girls. Who knows what Paul Dini has left up his sleeve, but I'm sure whatever it is, it'll be tons of fun and the art team will knock it out of the park.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Gotham City Sirens #7

Dec 24, 2009

Ill keep this one short; I wouldnt want to keep you from the holiday festivities. What youll get is another funny, fluffy work from Paul Dini with added holiday goodness. Id have to say this is a sweet issue. Its not Miracle on 34th Street or anything like that, but it has moral fiber. Itll warm the cockles of your heart and maybe put a smile on your face. Such holiday spirit, even if it is a silly comic, comes through in the issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Gotham City Sirens #8

Jan 29, 2010

I have to say, if anyone has any doubts about this comic, forget them. This is the issue. Great writing, great art, three characters people love, and more to come, hopefully with added mischievousness. Paul Dini, get your pencils sharpened because I think you've got some making up to do.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Gotham City Sirens #9

Mar 1, 2010

Oh well, not everything can be gold. I can't say yea or nay to this issue. There certainly isn't anything about it that would make me not want to read it--something unbelievable would have to happen for me to stop reading Gotham City Sirens. But I wasn't jumping for joy over this issue either. There's always next month, and I just have a feeling that we haven't seen the last of Hush trying to take down Catwoman, or her buddies for that matter.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Gotham City Sirens #10

Apr 5, 2010

The issue wasn't a complete disappointment, but it certainly wasn't thrilling. I guess the moral of this story is be careful who you outbid on a property purchase. It seemed all too much like a throw away issue, like Dini is buying time to work on something really good. I hope that's the case. One can only hope that things will get back on track in the next issue where Ivy takes on a new job in STAR Labs. It already sounds like hilarity will ensue. Heres to hoping things get back on the cheesecake track.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Gotham City Sirens #11

May 1, 2010

Back on track? Check. Fun times ahead? Oh, maybe, maybe not, depending on which character you are, I guess. One-third of the group is in some certain peril, and that's where the story is really going to thrive, if it holds. Let's hope it does. We don't want another slump in the story.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Gotham City Sirens #13

Jul 10, 2010

Guillem March is also missed. His art still graces the covers, and I am still most impressed by the range of his imagination and use of color for the images, but the interiors arent the same. Since there are two artists working on the comic, it is unclear who is penciling which page, but the style jumps around too much and at points was almost too cartoonish and rather shapeless, and at other times showed a heavy anime influence. I can honestly say I did not like the female face in the issue. This is going to sound greatly chauvinistic, but the girls are supposed to be hot. Two women, one dressed as a cat and the other a clown doll, how can one possibly ugly that up? In a couple of panels Harley wasn't looking too good, like all of a sudden the comic was presented in HD and we could see how old she really is even through all that white make-up.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Gotham City Sirens #14

Aug 10, 2010

The writing just feels wrong, like theres no direction that leads to a pleasing outcome, or a story that makes any impact or sense. Gotham City Sirens has been on a steady decline in my view, and at this point its only my love for the characters that keeps me coming back to it, since the story and dialogue sure arent doing much for me.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Gotham City Sirens #26

Sep 8, 2011

And so it ends. Catwoman, Poison Ivy and Harley Quinn all go their separate ways. Too bad its not under happier circumstances, both for the characters and the readers.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Greek Street #1

Jul 6, 2009

So far, though, this comic is pretty bad ass. Yeah, never thought I would call a 3000 year old play about a guy who fondles his mother "bad ass," but I guess theres a first time for everything. Its priced cheap at just a buck so theres not much to lose on taking a chance on Greek Street, although I think youll find its more than worth it.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Hercules: The Knives of Kush #1

Aug 10, 2009

Sit back and enjoy the ride kids, it looks like its going to be a good one. Ancient cults, Egyptian civil war, Hercules smashing faces with his club, pirates--what more could you ask for? Its high adventure, plain and simple, like the classic Sinbad movies. I say Sinbad because I have yet to see a good Hercules movie (sorry Governor Schwarzenegger), and Ill be dead before I count that bullcookies version Disney put out. This comic is the best weve got so far and a must read for fans of the sword and sandals flicks. This is definitely one of the best series coming out of Radical.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Heresy #1

Jul 18, 2008

This isn't as much of a horror comic as it is a commercial for iPods. I feel bad as I have nothing good to say about this comic, other then the one great panel and a small narrative in the beginning. I usually try to give things the benefit of the doubt, so I'll say maybe it'll all pay off in the remaining issues, but I've seen many mini-series run the same course: Draw out the story until the last issue where everything comes to a close in a rushed 28 pages.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Hexed #3

Mar 5, 2009

Ive been a bit harsh on BOOM! Studios lately, but Im enjoying the Hexed series. I suggest that if you see this in the comic shop and are curious, go pick it up and flip through it.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Hexed #4

Apr 6, 2009

Okay, this wasnt the best issue of the four, but its still a good story overall, and thats what really counts. Definitely a worthy read if you havent picked any of these up yet.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
High Rollers #1

Jul 3, 2008

Good, very good. If you liked BOOM! Studios' Hunter's Moon, then you'll like this. Pick up a copy.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
High Rollers #3

Oct 6, 2008

If you started reading this series and want to see it through, go for it and give it the benefit of the doubt. If you haven't read any of this comic yet, the first issue was pretty good, second was okay, but issue #3 is the beginning of a WTF-athon.

View Issue       View Full Review
3.0
High Rollers #4

Nov 8, 2008

I wish I could say there was something besides the cover art that was worth the price of the comic, but there isn't -- just empty words, a twisted plot, and poor art. It's truly disappointing.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Jingle Belle: Santa Claus Vs. Frankenstein #1

Dec 8, 2008

Will this story make waves? Probably not, but it isnt a bad read. Its a pleasant departure from the everyday heavy comics that our weekly pick-ups are comprised of, like the sweet whipped topping on top of a big piece of chocolate cake. Its the holidays, so indulge, be frivolous, pick up the cute comic. Lie and say its for your little sister if you feel strange about buying it, although you shouldnt hesitate since its by Paul Dini (who should call me so we can get that Emily Post/Nazi pirate thing off the ground).

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Jurassic Park: Redemption #1

Jun 28, 2010

This project strikes the same cord as the third Jurassic Park film did: it's something that just didn't need to happen and it's hard to justify. Nothing about it seems worthy of the franchise, which had its day ten years ago. I hear that IDW is going to rerelease the comics that came out when the movie did, but I think the time of Jurassic Park has passed. What this comic ultimately does is create a desire to re-watch the movie, because that's what Jurassic Park fans really want.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Kill Audio #1

Aug 3, 2009

Man, if I knew what was actually going on in this comic Id tell you, but I just a little confused. Its like a bad acid trip, or just a normal acid trip since there really isnt a difference between the two...so Ive been told. I guess to really get to the bottom of what the hell is with this comic well all just have to wait until October to run down to the local comic shop and check it out. Based on what Ive read so far I had to give it middle-of-the-road rating but only because I dont have the full issue sitting in front of me, but for only a small section of the story it didnt do so badly. Id say my chances of getting a full copy are pretty high though, and I think it might be worth checking out for all of you who like strange like Goth rock trolls and pimp chickens.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Kill Shakespeare #1

Apr 19, 2010

It's hard to tell if or when Kill Shakespeare will pick up action wise, or become more detailed plot-wise. I found it to be a very middle of the road and generally an average effort. Nothing felt new, nothing popped out as exemplary. I expected to be grabbed by the first issue and instead found myself struggling to finish, much like my days of reading Hamlet back in high school. The title is very straightforward, and you would expect the plot to be the same, but right off the bat it feels like there are too many twists and turns to be taken and the reward just might not be worth the time.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Kill Shakespeare #2

May 20, 2010

The story is progressing a little more now. I wasn't too sure how things would play out after reading the first issue, which was a little heavy on the words but not so great with the plot, but now were set up for an adventure. A few things still remain unclear, but I'm sure all will be resolved soon enough. After reading this issue, you'll probably want to reread some of Shakespeare's work, but you might have more fun just reading Kill Shakespeare.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Kinky & Cosy #1

Oct 26, 2011

Now this is the kind of crazy crap I like to see in my comic strips. Arson, didlo jokes, cripple jokes, Fair Trade ripping, addressing the issue of violence in schools in an insensitive manner -- all this and more is within the pages of Kinky and Cosy, from the Belgian comic strip from writer/artist, Nix. You're pretty much going to have to toss all your self-righteousness out the window because if you don't, you'll just get offended and end up missing something that is cute, funny, and disturbing all rolled up into the form of two twin girls who get into their own brand of trouble.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Last Unicorn #1

Apr 27, 2010

The Last Unicorn is mind-bogglingly wonderful. Perfect, absolutely, unfathomably perfect. All the magic and wonder is here, accompanied by some of the most astounding art to be seen in a comic. It's a guaranteed great read and a definite candidate for best of the year.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Legend of Steel Bashaw (The) #1

May 25, 2011

Sometimes I get a book that is so good its hard to do it justice. I should be able to write pages about how amazing and wonderful and fantastic a book is. However, with a book this good words escape me completely. When all is said and done, The Legend of Steel Bashaw is magical. Its the type of book that people will read for their own enjoyment and will also want to share with their children. It should not be missed.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Legends: The Enchanted #0

Jan 29, 2010

I am a huge Radical fan, I've enjoyed everything I've read so far, but I'm just not in love with Legends. It's got its flaws but it also has it good parts. I am a little intrigued by it, but I don't know if it's enough to compel me to run out and buy a copy of this issue, or even the graphic novel when it hits.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Logan's Run #1

Feb 22, 2010

It seems lately that I've been seeing a ton of book to comic translations, but most of them are word for word, public domain stories. Logan's Run on the other hand has something new to offer, something those of us who have read the book and seen the movie haven't gotten to experience yet. I really think there's something special about this comic and I absolutely recommend it to all fans, new and old alike.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Logan's Run: Last Day #2

Apr 1, 2010

This comic has been strong right out of the gate, and it carries so much potential. Many people already know the story, either from reading the book or seeing the movie, but also from word of mouth. There are differences between the other adaptations and this one, but generally the same story all around. Ultimately, it's Salamoff's handling of the characters that drives this story to new heights.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Massive Awesome #2

Jan 6, 2011

Just follow the smell of greasy bacon and pickles to one of the funniest comics that will have you question the sanity of the writer after every page. Massive Awesome is one comic that is worth the cover price and then some. It will make you want to keep reading.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Massive Awesome #4

May 14, 2011

As all good things tend to do, Massive Awesome has come to an end, or has seemingly come to an end. The wild ride that is Massive Awesome ends with most loose ends tied up, but not all. The door is left wide open and hanging off the hinges for a follow-up volume, and I for one would welcome it. Bring on more Bacon and Pickle.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Mouse Guard: The Black Axe #1

Dec 20, 2010

I was contacted very recently by a father who had read my review for Mouse Guard: Legends of the Guard TPB, and he asked if it would be appropriate for his young son. Now, the comic is listed for all ages, but after reading Black Axe, I might have to warn parents of some graphic happenings. Animals do get hurt or killed, and some kids are sensitive to that. So even though the comic is listed for all ages, I think its best given to perhaps a seven or eight year old, and not to a very young child. Thats my only concern with the comic, but its nothing that will take away from the rating I gave it. This is a good book. Theyre all good books and one would be hard pressed not to enjoy them even in the slightest way.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Penny for Your Soul #1

Feb 25, 2010

So let's put this all into a math equation (it's simple, I promise): Las Vegas + devil girl + kinda slutty Mary Magdalene + plot to create an army of souls + uber-sexed dialog and illustrations = sinfully fun read. Tom Hutchison, I salute you. I've read a lot of oddball, profane, and down right disturbing comics, but I think you are the first to make me feel like I blasphemed by partaking in my hobby. As I hear it, Penny for Your Soul isn't getting a huge release so you must sell your soul to your local comic shop for a copy, or buy it online.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Penny for Your Soul #2

Aug 2, 2010

If you're a fan of Tales From the Crypt then I think I've found a comic for you, especially if you're one of the sixteen people who own a copy of Bordello of Blood. Seriously though, I really would recommend this to people. I honestly couldn't tell you why, but I think it's funny, and I love anything that sticks it to the religious man. This doesn't carry a DC stamp on it, so it doesn't get a huge release. Make it a point to go to your local shop and order a copy.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Penny for Your Soul #3

Sep 16, 2010

Really, if you arent reading Penny For Your Soul and loving it, then you must be Catholic. Zing! No, really, its fun and sultry and smutty, and a whole lot of other things, but fun is the most important. Go get a copy already. Im running out of words to convince you.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Penny for Your Soul #4

Nov 20, 2010

There arent many issues left for Penny For Your Soul and there doesnt seem to be much time left for the human race with three opposite sides all vying for control. Things are in disarray and there is no certain outcome. Were all chips on the roulette table of fate. As always, it isnt too late to get hooked. All you have to do is make the order through your local shop.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Penny for Your Soul #5

Jan 31, 2011

Were closing in on the final issue of Penny for Your Soul, and fans wont want to miss the countdown. Theres still so much unresolved drama. Father versus daughter, Jesus versus Satan, angel versus demon, and three more horsemen have yet to show upif they do at all. There have been plenty of heaven and hell stories, but the ones that stand out to me are the ones that take on the subject with good humor, like Gaiman and Pratchetts Good Omens and Penny for Your Soul. So run sinners! Go get your copy of Penny for Your Soul before the End of Days.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Penny for Your Soul #6

Apr 9, 2011

With one issue remaining to seal the fate of the world, whats going to happen? And with one issue left, will everything get wrapped up nicely? It seems like theres a lot left to explain. There is, however, a second volume coming up that will involve the false prophet who was unceremoniously skipped over when Jesus didnt open the first seal. Its going to be a wild night in Vegas come next month, and I, for one, wouldnt miss it for the world.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Penny for Your Soul #7

Jun 23, 2011

So rare is it that I get this involved with anything that it breaks my heart a little when it ends and bad things happen to favorite characters, but I cant give it a bad rating just because Im butt-hurt over it. Its a good series, strong start, good build up and a monster ending. Act one is over and it was a hell of a transition into the second, I dont know whats coming, so Im prepared to be astounded by the revelations, I hope you are too.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Penny For Your Soul: The Temptation of Mary Magdalene #1

Feb 7, 2011

Altogether The Temptation of Mary Magdalene is just a glimpse into one single day and moments in the life of a fascinating character, but it falls short of doing her justice.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Pirat Tales #1

Nov 17, 2008

It seems to be aimed at a younger audience not children, but a young adult audience. I found it very enjoyable, however, and I am older then the young adult age range. This was a great comic. I loved it, but it could have been a little longer, simply because it was intriguing. Im not sure if this is an ongoing series or a mini-series, but I cant wait to read the next issue. If youre a fan of Mouse Guard or Mice Templar, then this is definitely up your ally.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Planet Hulk (DVD and Blu-Ray) #1

Feb 7, 2010

Obviously, this movie is a must for any fan of the Hulk series--but for those of us who aren't die-hard Hulk fans, the movie is really worth checking out. I think I'll definitely be tracking down the original "Planet Hulk" comic book issues.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Psylocke #1

Nov 8, 2009

Matsu'o did make Psylocke into the Psylocke we all know and love; there's some bad blood between them, and now it's only been made worse. Will Yost successfully lay the body plot to rest for good (yes, ber pun intended), and if he does, what's going to happen then? Will this be the end of it, once and for all?

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Psylocke #2

Dec 8, 2009

With the addition of a new character, and the Wolverine card still waiting to be played, the final two issues could go anywhere. At this point its anyones guess as to whether or not Psylocke will go through with her plan to kill Bill Matsuo or flake out because of the history they share together. Id have to say this is damn near a dont miss mini-series. Chris Yost is proving himself worthy of attention with a fun story and hes handling the character well. Combine that with the fantastic art team and youve got yourself a regular monthly pick up.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Rat Queens #1

Oct 1, 2013

Time for something new. I want a free loving Halfling with a magic mushroom addiction and a sweet tooth, and Rat Queens delivers. Kurtis Wiebe delivers, piping some fun and freshness in an otherwise overdone genre.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Red Sonja: Revenge of the Gods #1

Mar 17, 2011

You know what? I had way more fun with this comic than I thought I would, and isnt that the point of any good comic? To just enjoy it no matter what the genre or the characters in it? I think Red Sonja has got it where it counts. Great story, art to match and nice coloring -- especially on the King Trius-kicks-goblin-ass section. If youre looking for something fun to read, then I would proudly recommend Red Sonja. You wont get anything intellectual out of it, but who cares?

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Rocketeer Adventures #1

May 22, 2011

There was certainly more good than bad in this first issue, so well chalk it up as a worthy effort, although nothing will beat the late Dave Stevenss original works. What I really hope is that Rocketeer Adventures will inspire more people to go out and buy the collected works of Dave Stevens and get to know the real Rocketeer.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Shrapnel #1

Jan 9, 2009

I loved it, really loved it--like Im going to take it everywhere I go and demand that people place an extra seat at the table for it. Ill read it until the gloss wears off the pages. Honestly, this is one the best books Ive reviewed, and I wish the best of luck to the creative team on the future issues. Im certainly looking forward to them.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Shrapnel #2

Feb 9, 2009

War is hell, and Shrapnel does its best to show us what that hell would look like if it were happening years into the future. Definitely look for this one on the shelf. Its worth it, and double worth it if you can get an issue with the Barbarella -esque cover A. Youll know it when you see it.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Shrapnel #3

Mar 7, 2009

Shrapnel is good. Maybe issue three wasnt the best one yet, but it was still pretty good. I heard there was going to be other volumes, which was a cool surprise, so theres something to look forward to if you enjoy this series so far. There are two issues left in the saga of Sam. Who knows if shell make it back from her mission for the next volumes. I hope so. Not that this issue was bad, but lets hope issues four and five wrap up Shrapnel with a big bow of awesome.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Shrapnel #5

May 4, 2009

Overall, as a series, this has been one of my favorites of the year and I do believe I heard whisperings of there being a second volume. There are some things I thought could have been changed or built upon, but this really was a near perfect story. Its great because its a war comic, nothing fancy, no subplot about finding the super-weapon to enslave/save the galaxy, no distracting love story (although there was a tiny one). The focus was on war and how violent it is, and the toll it takes on a person or city, or the world. People die, including the ones you love, people make mistakes that they live to regret. Fighting for freedom isnt always glorious or pretty--this is what Shrapnel is about.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Shrapnel: Aristeia Rising #1

Sep 9, 2009

It still holds a solid spot on my ambiguous top five of the year list. It may require a re-reading of some parts since it can get a bit wordy and dense, but again its a definite must read for the genre fans, or if you read and loved the books published by Radical. I recall that around the time the first issue was released there seemed to be few comics that were similar. I read and reviewed a couple of those, but this is the one that really stood out.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Shrapnel: Hubris #1

May 11, 2010

I have that feeling, the feeling that this is going to be some kind of amazing. The first chapter was mind blowing, and it seems clear already, with the first issue of Hubris, that this is on a whole different level. The dark places of the solar system, of society, and of human nature and mind will be explored, and I for one don't plan on missing it. Neither should you.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Shrapnel: Hubris #3

Nov 9, 2010

Radical recently debuted their bigger comics for less money, which essentially equals one and a half to two comics per book. In the case of Shrapnel, however, it cut the number of issues from six to three. Thats a lot of information to retain in between issues, which are further apart than one would like. I honestly felt like Id run a marathon after reading just one issue. Though, when all is said and done, the comic will literally be novel-sized and have novel-like content. This isnt a quarter comic about cape wearing superheroes, this is an epic. Despite my being a little disappointed in this second chapter, it is just the second chapter. Its far from over and the real fight has yet to begin. Things are definitely building up to a battle royal between the Alliance and Sams Venus Militia, and I cant help feeling that it may cost Sam more than just her life.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Some New Kind of Slaughter #1

Mar 7, 2009

Some New Kind of Slaughter is something special. It may not be right for everyone, but for those who apperciate a smart and meaningful comic every once and a while, this is a great comic. Honestly, if I hadnt received a copy from mpMann himself, I probably wouldnt have ever seen this. Im glad I got a chance to read it. I would highly recommend Some New Kind of Slaughter to anyone; whether or not they listen is up to them.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Space Warped #3

Sep 13, 2011

I really dont know if this is the dumbest thing Ive ever read or if Im secretly in love with it. Im starting to think it's something like love. So many parodies of Star Wars have come and gone since 1977, and after Mel Brooks Spaceballs, the Star Wars spoof to end all Star Wars spoofs, you think itd be tapped out. Well, not necessarily.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Spartacus: Blood and Sand #1

Aug 7, 2009

Overall, it was a fairly mediocre comic, nothing too special about it other than how amazingly violent it was. If youre looking forward to the show then youd probably be interested in picking up the comics just to see how they all fit in, like the edge pieces of a 1000 piece puzzle. If you couldnt care less about a bunch of mostly naked, sweaty, buff men hacking each other to tiny bits, well then just walk past this one and on to whatever it is you enjoy reading.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Spera Volume 1 #1

Jan 25, 2012

I think for the few flaws that Spera does have, it has so much more heart and soul. Josh Tierney's webcomic is one to follow online, and certainly one to check out in book form. Spera may look like something for the younger audience, but really it's a fun for all ages comic. It's every enjoyable, and I hope there will be a follow up book since this seems to be listed as a Volume 1. Archaia, Josh Tierney and company have put together a lovely book worthy of anyone's collection.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Street Fighter II Turbo #6

May 18, 2009

I think I expressed my love for the art work in the Street Fighter comics before, but Ill express it again. Theres just something about this comic series. I think its the colors--theyre so vivid and sharp. And Im usually against Photoshop in comics, but I know it has to be used here, and its good. It really does have an anime quality to it, but without being manga or anime. The Street Fighter series is pretty enjoyable, and a must read for fans of the game.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Street Fighter II Turbo #8

Aug 17, 2009

My only real problem with the story is some of the characters are treated like paper towels, used once and tossed out. Although these characters arent any of my particular favorites, they do deserve to stick around for a little while. Its all a bit of a popularity contest dominated by Ryu, Ken, and Chun Li. Well, other then the lack of some characters, this is still way, way better then any Street Fighter movie thats been put out. So, is youve played the game to the point of memorizing the cut scenes and want something a little more in depth then I highly suggest picking up Udons take on Street Fighter. Also included in this issue is a character backup story for what I can only assume is the follow up series, Street Fighter III.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Street Fighter II Turbo #9

Oct 24, 2009

It feels like things are just getting started, so whether there are two or five issues left, they should be action packed. I'm really excited to see how this is going to end. If it's anything like the ending to the last series, then no one should feel disappointed, only hyped to see what happens next. If you've been following the series since the begging, back when it was being published by Image, I hope you share my feelings that this has been a fantastic storyline. And if you're new to the Street Fighter comics, then you need to go read the TBPs. This is almost like a soap opera, with people getting married and having kids, traveling the world to kick ass, selling themselves back to the side of evil so the innocence ones can be saved, missing partners and sworn vengeance. What does a daytime soap opera have that Street Fighter doesn't? I can tell you right now that Young and the Restless doesn't have Blanka, so I think round one in over the top, intertwining storylines, goes to Stree

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Street Fighter IV #2

Apr 27, 2009

The comic is really good and is a great tie-in to the game, as are the others in the Udon Street Fighter series. This series Street Fighter IV also interconnects with the regular monthly series, so there are parts you maybe puzzled about if youve missed an issue or just arent reading the monthly on-going. But it wouldnt make much sense to read one and not the other. If you can pull yourself away from the Playstation (I know its hard--I had to do it to write the review), I suggest you pick up the comic. Which reminds me, does anyone know a cheat code to get Cammy without having to beat the game?

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Stumptown #1

Nov 9, 2009

* To prove she's a Jim Rockford, call Dex's cell number: 1.503.389.2135. Do it, and I hope you all enjoy the homage.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Stumptown #2

Jan 11, 2010

Hey, anyone who doesnt have a New Years resolution, or needs a new one because youve already broken your original vow, Ive got just the thing for you. Read Stumptown. Super easy to keep this resolution--just go to your local comic shop and buy the new issue every month. Its more than worth it.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Stumptown #4

Sep 9, 2010

This is just the tip of the iceberg for Stumptown, and hopefully it has a long and undisturbed run. If you havent yet read an issue, then what are you waiting for? I can guarantee this comica 100% guarantee this will be one of the best comics you read all year.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Super Human Resources #1

Dec 1, 2008

This isn't a dense comic, and it's not going to sprout off into six different story arcs that you'll have to chase through five different comics; it's just a good time. You remember those comics -- going to the shop, flipping through a comic, and then buying it because it looked like it could be interesting? Well, this is that comic. Super Human Resources, the comic that's just worth reading. Right now the story is just getting warmed up; Tim is in the office and there is foul play in the future. We'll just have to keep reading to find out how Tim's 9 to 5 grind is going to end.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Super Human Resources #2

Mar 30, 2009

Besides that one little issue, this is just a good comic. Its worth the cover price and its full of laughs. Definitely check this one out if you havent already, and make sure to share with your co-workers. Everyone needs a little lightheartedness on a sour work day.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Super Human Resources #4

May 14, 2009

This was one of the best comics overall as a series that Ive read this year. I cant stop recommending this to everyone I work with who enjoys comics. Like I said in my review of the first issue, its the comic version of Office Space, and its especially funny if you spend your days in a cubicle. If you work in an office setting you can totally relate to the crazy copier trying to kill you, or the slightly crazy guy who youre pretty sure will some day burn the place to the ground. If you havent been following the series, it shouldnt be too late to find the past three issues. Or, if were lucky, a TPB will be released in the near future.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Superman/Batman: Apocalypse #1

Oct 10, 2010

Superman/Batman didnt seem as well rounded as director Lauren Montgomerys Wonder Woman, which made great use of humor and action, and was a prime origin story. Speaking of origin stories, I hear Montgomery is working on Batman: Year One. Exciting! Hopefully that turns out to be a little more intriguing than Superman/Batman: Apocalypse. It honestly baffles me how a comic book film could turn out to be sub-par. Everything was laid out already: dialog, action, story board. It should have been fool proof. It was still watch-able, but it wasnt first rate.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Tales of the TMNT #52

Nov 14, 2008

While I haven't fallen in love with the new Ninja Turtles by reading this comic, I have to admit I enjoyed it, although it is obviously aimed at a much younger audience then the twenty-somethings who were around to see the birth of the Turtles. Where some franchises tend to fizzle when they reach the twenty-year mark, if they reach it at all, Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles has not only survived, but improved.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Tank Girl: Dirty Helmets #1

Apr 16, 2010

Out of the onslaught of Tank Girl comics that have been released recently, this is probably at the bottom of the list. It is Tank Girl and true and devoted fans will take it in any way, shape, or form we get, but Dirty Helmets just may not be the right one to pick up if you're new to the character. I guess for those of us who might have felt let down by this issue, we'll just have to plant ourselves and wait patiently for the next issue of Tank Girl: The Royal Escape, which is the most bug-nuts Tankie comic in a long, long time.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Tank Girl: Skidmarks #1

Nov 23, 2009

Now, this may not be my favorite yet, but I'm still having a great time with the newest Tank Girl. The loyal followers shouldn't be too disappointed in this, I mean it's been far too long a wait to get all uppity now. Take what you can get people. And as for all of you who have never read a Tank Girl comic, what are you waiting for? A world of potty language and cigarettes await you. Go watch the crap movie and appreciate the characters and the mentality. Then come back and fall in love with the offbeat, punk rock comic. She may not be in her heyday, that was like 20 years ago, but don't let it stop you, she's still fabulous. Everyone has a little Tank Girl in them dying to be let out. And if you don't let her, she'll likely blow a hole in your gut with a nuke in an attempt to escape.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Tank Girl: Skidmarks #4

Mar 15, 2010

Chalk this one up as another misadventure (a good one) for Tank Girl and her gang. It was an enjoyable read, perhaps not as outstandingly classic as Tank Girl: Odyssey, but when you're given an actual storyline from Alan Martin you take what you can get. Hell, even if you didn't like this story it's not like it would make a lick of difference. Past stories are rarely mentioned again. Ultimately, what this mini-series proves is that Tank Girl isn't dead yet. In fact, she's just hit her second wind.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Tank Girl: The Royal Escape #1

Mar 29, 2010

If I had more than two thumbs they would all be up for Tank Girl: The Royal Escape. It's fouler, it's smellier, and it's more naked than before. A definite must read for all fans of Tankie.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
The Bond of Saint Marcel #1

Jul 3, 2008

In the end, I'd say pick it up in the store, flip through it, read the first 11 pages, and if you think it might pay off in the end, buy it. If you feel nothing after flipping through it, put it down and move on, that $2.99 is better spent on something you know is a sure thing.

View Issue       View Full Review
2.0
The Haunted Caves #1

Nov 6, 2008

Ive read a lot of bad comics, but this time around I really feel like I will never get my time back. In all honesty and with no regret, I can say I could have done something better with my time, and so can you. Its not too late to stop yourself from buying this comic.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
The Myth Adventures of the Muses #1

Aug 11, 2011

The Myth Adventures of the Muses #1Posted: Thursday, August 11, 2011By: Karyn Pinter CW CookeNacho Arranz Esteves, Begona Ballester Carrillo (c) Warren Montgomery (l)Bluewater Productions Wow, classic greek mythology turned into an episode of Bratz. I did think it was possible, but lo, here it is in front of me.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
The Remnant #1

Dec 15, 2008

So, like I said, this is a fair comic -- nothing too spectacular about it, but its not trash. I dont think I could be any more to the point than that. The dialogue isnt going to stick in your mind, but at least the story has a flow to it that isnt stunted or broken up by unimportant, pointless nonsense. I didnt care too much for the art though. It wasnt bad, and certainly better then some other pencil and color work Ive seen, but ultimately just okay. The coloring was so-so. It seemed like there was a dominant color for many scenes, like pages of purple hue giving everything a twilight look. It didnt excite me -- it just looked purple. Not a bad attempt by Stephen Baldwin, and of course Andrew Crosby, one of the reasons I fell in love with BOOM! Studios so long ago (Mr. Stuffins resides in a small closet of love in my heart). Theres a lot of wiggle room for The Remnant. It really could go anywhere from here, and I have to say Im interested to see where it takes us.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Stuff of Legend #1

Aug 6, 2009

Tremendous--my favorite reviewing word, which I think Ive only handing out two or three times. Well, now its four. The Stuff of Legend is a tremendous, and engaging comic. It is a very rare thing to find a comic that is sweet and moving, well written, beautifully illustrated, and emotionally charged. The Stuff of Legend is one of those rare comics that pop up from time to time under the radar because they arent published by a big name. Honestly, I wouldnt have picked it up if it werent psychically put into my hand at the shop, but Im glad it was. Go, find this comic. The only problem is that the next one wont be out until September. Thats an awfully long time to find out what happens next.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Wonderful Wizard of Oz #3

Feb 16, 2009

I was at work on a dull Friday (which happened to be Friday the 13th) and it was raining. I was battling a small head cold, but I couldnt go home early because my boss was leaving me in charge until closing. Then I remembered what I had stuck into my bag to read at my lunch hour and things got better. Oh, how The Wonderful Wizard of Oz can make everything better again, from skinned knees to crappy days at work. The way I see it, if you havent at least seen the movie then your parents raised you wrong. But, all those who hate watching movies or reading real books must worry no more for Marvel has given you a gift. This is an amazing comic adaptation of The Wonderful Wizard of Oz. Reading it kind of makes you feel six years old again. Seriously, even the cranky old guy who lives a few houses down and gives me dirty looks when I wash my car in front of the house could not help but smile if he read this.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
The Wonderful Wizard of Oz #4

Mar 10, 2009

So far this miniseries has been nothing if not a delight to read. I could go on gushing about it, but I'm afraid it would pretty much come to me typing "I love this comic" about 150 times until I fill a page. The creative team has done a wonderful job of capturing the story and translating it to a new medium, and keeping true to the source material. There's something very comforting about this adaptation, like a warm blanket. It just makes you feel good. Of course, there are a ton of Wonderful Wizard of Oz stories floating around out in the world, but this one is special. Next issue is the Wicked Witch of the West and her flying monkeys! Wouldn't and couldn't miss that issue for all the world.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Wonderful Wizard of Oz #5

Apr 7, 2009

I can't get enough of this Wonderful Wizard of Oz, but Im afraid Im running the risk of just repeating myself with all the praise I give it. But it deserves all of it. Love it, love it, and love it. It's one of the best comics on the market today, and seriously, if you are not reading this comic you ought to.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
The Wonderful Wizard of Oz #6

May 19, 2009

If you haven't fallen in love with The Wonderful Wizard of Oz, then I'm pretty sure you have no heart, no brains, and no courage. Perhaps the Wizard can help you out.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Titanium Rain #1

Mar 5, 2009

All in all, Titanium Rain was a pretty good comic. Not much happening in the first issue, but it ends with a set up for some fighter pilot action. The writing seemed a little forced and lengthy in some spots, but wasnt dry and conveyed a message, even if it did take some time to get there. If youre a fan of the genre, then perhaps you might want to check this one out.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Total Recall #1

May 19, 2011

I'm going to use Gone With the Wind as an example here. I am not comparing it to any version of Total Recall, but if Gone With the Wind were adapted into a comic, would the burning of Atlanta be as grand as it had been in the film? Or when Scarlet wanders out amongst the wounded and the camera pulls back to show the endless rows of men laying dead and dying on the ground -- that visual wouldn't be as powerful because a comic lacks the depth and dimension a movie camera provides. Total Recall the comic is just not as exciting as the movie because we're only looking at the story, not experiencing it. 

I know I'm coming off pretty harsh but I really don't see the reasoning in a four-part sequel to Total Recall. It doesn't seem like it'll do anything for the legacy of the movie, good or bad, which, in my eyes, makes it redundant. It would have been better if it were an adaptation of Philip K. Dick's original short story -- that would have been worth it. I walk away from this u

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Trojan War #1

May 8, 2009

This isnt bad--I liked it, but its no Homer. If youve never read the The Iliad or The Odyssey then I can recommend this. If you have read the two stories, I would still recommend reading The Trojan War, but it just might drive you crazy if youre a big fan. Its classic literature smashed into a comic, so its never going to be perfect--unless its The Wonderful Wizard of Oz.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Turf #1

Apr 11, 2010

Oh please, please comic gods, if there is one thing you do for any of us this year (besides giving Barbara Gordon back her Bat mantel), please let it be an all-out war between the mob, vampires, and some aliens. That is all I'm really hoping to get out of this comic.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Viking #1

Apr 24, 2009

This was a good comic. Not great, but certainly not bad. I would recommend it to others, mostly based on the art. Nic Klein really pulled me in and Im sure anyone else who would read this comic would feel the same. Definitely pick this one up. Although I wasnt entirely keen on this issue, it seems like it has the potential to get much better.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Weekly World News #1

Jan 14, 2010

I don't know if I can truly recommend this or not. If you do decide to buy it, don't worry, I doubt the other comic nerds will judge you. Unless you're also buying the Stephenie Meyer issue of Female Force; in that case, then yes, you are being judged.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Werewolves on the Moon: Vs. Vampires #1

Jul 6, 2009

I just dont know about this one. Really there is nothing redeeming about this. Its not good, but its not bad enough to be cultish. Thats it. It comes off as an attempt to write a cult classic, but the thing is, you cant create a cult hit, they just are. Trying to be oddly off the wall never works out. The quirk cant be fabricated, it just happens naturally. Unfortunately for Werewolves on the Moon: Versus Vampires the quirkiness seems fake. Unless vampires and werewolves are your thing I would recommend passing this title up for something with a little more substance.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Wonder Woman (2006) #26

Dec 4, 2008

In the end, this whole changing the life of Wonder Woman thing is a big risk for something that's barely two years out. But I say don't give up -- we lived through Amazons Attack!, we can get through this. All of us Wonder Woman fans will just have to wait and see to what extent this life altering will go. Hopefully, it will be in a good direction with sturdy plot structure and witty dialogue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Wonder Woman (2006) #27

Dec 29, 2008

DC is setting up some crazy stuff. Theyve already locked Batman up in a closest somewhere, and I havent been following Superman at all so I dont know whats going down in his neck of the woods. Now Wonder Woman has lost her lasso (lets hope thats all of her outfit that goes missing or shell be without dignity, too). I cant wait to see where all of this is going -- whos going to make it out alive? 5:1 odds on Tom Nemesis Tresser getting it in the end, heroically of course, leaving Wonder Woman heartbroken. I just hope with all the disappearances and the canceling of books, DCs super coup d'tat doesnt implode on them. All in all, this is going well. Wonder Woman, although down, certainly isnt out at least not yet.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Wonder Woman (2006) #30

Mar 27, 2009

Its been a bit of a bumpy road with Wonder Woman lately; consistency hasnt been a strong point. Every month it seems like a gamble on whether or not the issue will be better than or not as great as the last one. This month we got lucky (at least I think so), and have gotten one of the better issues to date. Although Ill be one un-happy camper if anything really bad happens to Etta.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Wonder Woman (2006) #31

May 4, 2009

Things got pretty interesting in this issue with the surprise twist, the reintroduction of Ares into the series, and poor Etta in a coma. The next issue should be really good, and hopefully will set up some great following issues.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Wonder Woman (2006) #33

Jun 26, 2009

So where does this issue stand? Aaron Lopresti + little to no Genocide + silly wang cannon = good. Screwing with Wonder Woman identity (again) + potential rehashing of blah story arcs = bad. Hey, its slightly better than bad, making this an okay issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Wonder Woman (2006) #34

Aug 1, 2009

Well, bottom line, the issue was fun, not a tremendously great issue, but fun. Gail Simones writing doesnt disappoint me, but the lack of super awesome story arcs does. Yes, Wonder Woman just gave up being an Amazon because shes pissed at Zeus, but why didnt that get the same hype as Batman dying? Maybe its the lack of hype that keeps this comic in the middle, which is a bad place to be when youre freakin Wonder Woman. Things are being set up for some kind of hell storm. Themyscira may soon be under attack from the inside, think of it as a parasite infestation, and Wonder Woman seems to have yet another person out for her head, this one seems pretty intent on violence. Hopefully something will come of these set ups, something that will drag Wonder Woman out of its humdrum slump. At least, for right now, we can look forward to more of Black Canarys wit in the next issue!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Wonder Woman (2006) #36

Oct 2, 2009

Well, gosh, what more is there to say that I haven't already said in past reviews? If you're a die hard fan then this book is probably already in your hands. If youre a new fan, well then I would assume you wouldn't be starting with issue #36, but maybe that's your thing. Either way, Wonder Woman doesn't fail to entertain, but it's falling short of impressing.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Wonder Woman (2006) #38

Nov 30, 2009

I refuse to give up on the superheroine, but this is almost torture. I gave this issue a 3 out of 5, but it's a dull 3. I'm sure Gail Simone is doing her best within the limits of DC, but I feel that time, talent, and character are being wasted. The art team remains the same, thankfully, and unlike the story line the art hasn't become tiresome. I enjoy the familiar faces of Lopresti's characters and the beautiful coloring job by Hi-Fi, but they are small comfort. The year's almost up and DC hasn't accomplished anything awe inspiring with Wonder Woman. I hope they're sitting at home thinking of some New Year's resolutions.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Wonder Woman (2006) #40

Feb 1, 2010

I was almost tempted to give this a perfect score simply because there was no mention of Alkyone or Zeus or Achilles, but I have to be fair. Hopefully, Wonder Woman is out of its rut and can get back on the path to greatness once more. Coming up for all you fanboys out there, Wonder Woman has it out with Chesty Majors in a chapter appropriately titled, Throwdown. Prepare for a super cat fight.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Wonder Woman (2006) #41

Mar 8, 2010

So Ares' plan to make children even more evil didn't work out, thanks to a fistfight between Wonder Woman and Power Girl (however that works). I guess we'll just take what we can get. Next month something about a Silver Serpent's wrath happens. As long as Achilles stays away, I'm down.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Wonder Woman (2006) #43

May 1, 2010

It seems Wonder Woman is riding a high note passed on from the last issue. Let's hope the wave continues to the next part. The Wonder Woman series needed this breath of pure air. Things for a while were looking dim, and so close to the historic 600th issue too. The last thing you, me, or Wonder Woman needed was a slow, plotless death leading to the end of the series and going through yet another volume reboot.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Wonder Woman (2006) #601

Aug 1, 2010

Not that DC would ever cancel Wonder Woman, because then there really would be riots.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Wonder Woman (2006) #602

Aug 29, 2010

Second issue out and Im already not impressed. Thats not a good sign, but then again this could just be a fluke. I do have faith in Straczynskis skills, but I think this issue was all flash and weak build up. Not that its bad to have a good hardcore action issue; it just shouldnt be when youre trying to get the audience comfortable with the changes made to a classic character.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Wonder Woman (2006) #606

Feb 5, 2011

J. Michael Straczynski and Phil Hester, saviors of the Amazons? Maybe. This is the best Wonder Woman has been in a long time; I mean, its readable. The fact that I even bothered to keep reading has to count for something. Im excited for the next issue and I havent felt that way in a long time. The Amazons are going to fight Ray Harryhausen-esque skeletons! Im still waiting for the change back to the old outfit. At this point in the comic, its just being tossed in our collective face at every turn. But until that day comes, Im happy to sit and enjoy the exertion of Dianas repressed violent, Amazonian anger.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Wonder Woman (2006) #607

Feb 21, 2011

What an amazingly vast improvement over what was Wonder Woman. I know Ive really harped on the steady mediocrity of the comic, but I think that ray of sunlight might finally be shining through. I’m not getting my hopes up yet, however. Life is full of ups and downs, and this might be a really nice high, but it can still come crashing down like things tend to do. Fingers crossed, we all get a nice long run of goodness out of this current wonder team, because lord knows

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Wonder Woman (2006) #608

Mar 14, 2011

Anyway, Im glad to see Wonder Woman keeping steady, even though this issue wasnt the strongest story-wise. It had a few good developments, but the majority of the pages were devoted to the girl fight in the middle of the street. Straczynski and Hester again hold up their end of keeping the reader entertained for the month, while the art team has shown improvement. Geraldo Borges is so far my favorite on the all-new Wonder Woman. Does he do anything special? Yes, but its not "standout" special; its the kind that you just know when you see it, where you just look at the page and see good art that compliments the story. And check out the cover by Alex Garner. It captures the villainesses completely. Theres been so much improvement in the past eight monthslets try to make it a whole year.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Wonder Woman (2006) #609

Apr 7, 2011

This certainly isnt the best issue by far, but its not the worst. I can say that much. However, the whole thing is starting to feel a bit long-winded and pointless. The glimmer of Wonder Woman getting a much needed beat down has already worn off, and now were back to scratching our heads and wishing we could just have our damn star spangled onesie back. Something fun needs to happen again, and fast. Otherwise, Wonder Woman is going to fall right back into that horrible rut again, and DC will have to do another drastic change to pull it back out.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Wonder Woman (2006) #611

Jun 6, 2011

I know a good handful of people who no longer care to read Wonder Woman. I myself sometimes wonder where I find to nerve -- and money -- to keep reading it every month. To steal from Marvel, maybe Im just a true believer. Wonder Woman was great once, a giant amongst the supermen. Maybe if DCs power play works shell return to her rightful place come this fall.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Wonder Woman (2011) #1

Sep 25, 2011

And so my celebration ends. Why? Because besides the lack of pants, this new Wonder Woman lacks catching substance. At least Catwoman had sexual controversy. I understand the gist of it, that Zeus is up to his normal womanizing ways, knocking up farm girls in the form of golden mist or a well hung bull-- which says a lot about that farm girl-- and someone, whom I presume is Apollo, isn't too happy about his dad trying to replace him. Enter implied nudity Wonder Woman! DC is on a real fucking roll with the naked girls lately. Diana finds herself facing two homemade centaurs, and by homemade I mean the heads were cut off horses and humans grew out of the stumps. It was pretty messed up and probably the best part of the comic. Knocked up farm girl is in danger and now is under the protection of Wonder Woman.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Zombie Tales: The War at Home #1

Oct 30, 2008

Again, if you were to read Zombie Tales: The War at Home as a serious zombie story, you would feel betrayed -- like if George Romero gave you a ticket to see his new zombie flick, but while you were in the theater he torched your car. On the other hand, if you read it and keep in mind a campy midnight horror film, then the comic comes off as a mildly entertaining waste of time.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Zorro: Love Never Ends #1

Jan 24, 2011

For the first Zorro story written by an Aussie, its pretty damn good. I would recommend it to any fan of the masked swordsman and, of course, to people to love zombie stories.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for
the Week of...

November

October

More