Kate Coenen's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Geeked Out Nation Reviews: 72
8.7Avg. Review Rating

8.9
A-Force #1

May 22, 2015

Overall, A-Force is one of the Secret Wars titles I'm most excited about, with an awesome roster of characters and interesting setting fleshed out by a talented creative team. With this first issue, we see that A-Force has a lot of promise, and it will be interesting to see how the story unfolds. Under She-Hulk's leadership, the multiverse is about to learn that the power of the women of Marvel is nothing to be trifled with.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
A-Force #2

Jul 3, 2015

Overall, A-Force #2 is a great team book with well-developed characters and a plot that entices you to keep reading. I can't wait to see what happens next.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Archer & Armstrong #25

Nov 1, 2014

Archer & Armstrong #25 is the perfect gift for readers, with its wealth of world-building, action, and humor. This issue also serves as a great lead-in to other titles, like The Delinquents and the upcoming series Ivar, Timewalker. Valiant's comic universe is only getting bigger, so let's look forward to more special anniversary issues in the years to come!

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Batwoman #34

Aug 23, 2014

Overall, although this issue risks upsetting fans with the direction the story takes, the story benefits by evolving in interesting ways. Kate Kane faces immense obstacles in her path"her self-sabotage of her relationship with Maggie and the escalated threat posed by Nocturna"and when Batwoman overcomes these obstacles patient readers should see payoff. In the soap-operatic nature of comics, new developments are always around the corner, and I can't wait to see how Batwoman digs herself out of this hole.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Batwoman #35

Oct 18, 2014

Overall, with this issue and Batwoman: Futures End both throwing the reader into the middle of the action with little set-up, readers might be better off waiting for this story arc to be collected as a trade and see how this issue works as part of a larger whole. This story arc shows a lot of promise, with the opportunity to see Batwoman lead a team and reconcile with her sister, but readers will need patience to see the story coalesce.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.9
Batwoman #36

Nov 22, 2014

All in all, the supernatural mystery and dramatic tension of this issue tries to win out over the fact that this story arc has sputtered along in fits and starts. There are some good moments in this issue, but the story arc still has yet to gain traction or come together in a cohesive way. For a story so tied to the supernatural, it's a shame that so far it feels lacking in magic.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.8
Batwoman #37

Dec 20, 2014

With Batwoman's cancellation looming, it's hard to say why you should keep reading these last few issues, other than a mix of mild interest and inertia. Perhaps we'll see a new lease on life for Batwoman post-Convergence, because Batwoman is too resilient a character to keep down for long. For now, though, Batwoman's story appears to be coming to a close.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.8
Batwoman #38

Jan 24, 2015

Reading Batwoman #38, I feel just like Maggie Sawyer"frustrated that Batwoman has become unrecognizable and longing for the heroine with integrity I once knew. At this point, Nocturna has completely derailed the narrative and drained all the life from the title. Put a stake in this vampire of a storyline and nail the coffin door shut.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Batwoman: Futures End #1

Sep 20, 2014

Overall, this is an odd, frustrating issue. Most of the questions this issue leaves unanswered look to be addressed in the upcoming story arc as it fills in the gaps between the last issue of Batwoman and the future shown here. In the upcoming arc, we may get a clearer idea of what Marc Andreyko has in mind for Batwoman. However, this issue's story feels like a betrayal of Batwoman as a character"sometimes it's interesting to see the hero brought low, but only to see them rise again. This story offers no redemption, and no hope"no future for Batwoman.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Bee and PuppyCat #3

Aug 30, 2014

Overall, Bee and PuppyCat #3 is a delightful issue, both surreal and down-to-earth. There's a sweetness and childlike glee to Bee and PuppyCat that's unique in comics, and Bee shows that even if you've got a house to clean and a job to go to, there's still time for fun"you don't have to grow up too much. With Bee and PuppyCat, we can always "go do something fun and weird!"

View Issue       View Full Review
8.7
Bee and PuppyCat #4

Sep 27, 2014

In conclusion, I think we need to take Bee as an example: kick back on the couch with Bee and PuppyCat #4 and a bag of chips, forget your chores, and relax. PuppyCat will take care of everything.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Bee and PuppyCat #5

Oct 25, 2014

Overall, Bee and PuppyCat #5 is fun from start to finish, and each artist lets their unique style shine while maintaining the sense of a singular universe. If you like the chaotic humor of Adventure Time and the feisty heroines of Sailor Moon, pick up this issue and get drawn into the strange and beautiful world of Bee and PuppyCat.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.9
Bee and PuppyCat #6

Nov 27, 2014

Bee and PuppyCat #6 is a great comic for fans of magical girl anime, or anyone else drawn to cute, offbeat humor. The short-story format makes each issue a good jumping-on point, so there's no excuse not to pick up this issue and dive right in. Devour this issue with zeal, like Bee devouring chocolate cake.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Bee and PuppyCat #8

Apr 8, 2015

These light and quirky shorts showcase a variety of great art, and Bee and her friends always make life seem a little more magical. Bee and PuppyCat is a great all-ages comic that works for die-hard fans and new readers alike"give it a shot if you're looking for something fun and unique.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.9
Captain Marvel (2014) #8

Oct 11, 2014

"Release the Flerken" is a good story to hook someone onto Captain Marvel. It has space adventure, strange alien creatures, and a fun cast. Kelly Sue DeConnick grants Captain Marvel a distinctive tone, irreverent and ambitious, and this story shows what joyous chaos ensues when her imagination is unleashed.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.7
Captain Marvel (2014) #11

Jan 17, 2015

Captain Marvel #11 is a fun story full of holiday spirit that explores one of Carol's most meaningful friendships. Also, in the knockout fight between Captain Marvel and Grace Valentine, we learn a very important lesson: do not mess with Captain Marvel, especially when she's visiting a friend in the hospital, because you will not win"and you'll definitely end up on Santa's naughty list. Captain Marvel lights up the night sky like the Christmas star, and this issue is definitely a bright spot on the comic shelves.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Captain Marvel (2014) #13

Mar 13, 2015

Captain Marvel‘s fast-paced action and spirited humor make for a fun read. Captain Marvel shows her considerable skill pulling off a death-defying rescue mission, her thrilling heroics sure to get the Carol Corps' adrenaline pumping. We see in Tic how Carol's influence inspires others to stand up and find the hero within themselves, and that inspiration draws us to Captain Marvel just as much as the thrills. This issue was such a wild ride, and I can't wait for more.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Captain Marvel (2014) #15

May 17, 2015

Captain Marvel #15 will leave you gutted, like you just lost someone close to you, but you're also left feeling uplifted. In Carol and Tracy's friendship, both women built each other up and supported each other, and even with though Tracy is gone her memory will lend Carol strength. We see Carol's valor and compassion through the lives she touches, and in these small, human moments she is as heroic as ever. A comic this touching and real doesn't come out every day, so this is definitely an issue to be cherished.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Captain Marvel And The Carol Corps #1

Jun 12, 2015

Captain Marvel and the Carol Corps #1 sets the stage for this series well, dropping you feet-first into a world of danger and secrecy. Kelly Sue DeConnick and David Lopez continue to take Captain Marvel to new heights, and Kelly Thompson is a great addition to the creative team. If you're not already a member of the Carol Corps, this is the perfect opportunity to enlist.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Captain Marvel And The Carol Corps #2

Jul 18, 2015

Captain Marvel and the Carol Corps is a great book for readers who want to find more about Captain Marvel. While the story takes place in one of Battleworld's alternate universes, Captain Marvel and the Carol Corps encapsulates Captain Marvel's character perfectly"a determined leader always aiming higher and pushing her limits. Carol's love interests, aside from Rhodey, are adrenaline and the open sky, and that's why she's always exciting to read about.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.8
Detective Comics (2011) #41

Jun 13, 2015

Detective Comics #41 presents a solid if not groundbreaking start to the new storyline"while the action scenes provide spectacle, the character drama drives the story forward. For fans who have waited a long time to see Renee Montoya return, this issue is a much-anticipated treat. As strange as it is to Jim Gordon don a mech suit and take Batman's place, it also makes sense, because Gotham City needs Batman, and what Batman symbolizes is bigger than Bruce Wayne alone. It will be interesting to see how this story progresses.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Hawkeye Vs. Deadpool #4

Jan 9, 2015

Hawkeye vs. Deadpool #4 brought non-stop fun, and overall this mini-series stands out as a story that's unafraid to embrace the absurd, as any story featuring Deadpool must. Hawkeye vs. Deadpool is a quick read that's easy to jump into, so be sure to pick up this book.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Howard The Duck #3

May 16, 2015

Howard the Duck #3 is a solid issue, and as unlikely a hero as Howard is, this comic adds a unique perspective to the Marvel universe. While Howard the Duck‘s humor may not appeal to everyone, the jokes hit more often than they miss. I can't wait to read more and see what madness is in store for Howard next.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.7
Howard The Duck #4

Jun 27, 2015

Howard the Duck is such a treat"it's fun and weird and never takes itself too seriously. Howard the Duck revels in the absurdity of the comic book universe it inhabits, pulling you along for the ride. With this book you never know what to expect, and that's what makes it a gem.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Howard The Duck #5

Aug 16, 2015

Zdarsky and Quinones leave readers with a teasing hint of cosmic mystery, and that (as well as Howard's new hat) is something to look forward to when Howard the Duck returns. Howard the Duck is a weird, offbeat book"an odd duck, if you will"and through Howard's eyes we see the Marvel Universe as absurd as it truly is. Marvel fans should flock to Howard the Duck.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Ivar, Timewalker #1

Jan 21, 2015

With Ivar, Timewalker #1, Fred Van Lente and Clayton Henry have hit a home run. The issue hooks readers in with thrilling sci-fi adventure, compelling characters, and a plot that keeps you guessing. There's no telling where the story's going to go next, but one thing's for sure"Ivar, Timewalker is a book you cannot miss.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Ivar, Timewalker #2

Feb 21, 2015

Overall, Valiant is putting out some of the most fun comics out there, and Ivar, Timewalker is an exemplar of Valiant's high-quality storytelling. I'm looking forward to following Ivar and Neela on many more adventures. Grab a copy and fall through the portal to this weird and wild world too.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Ivar, Timewalker #3

Mar 21, 2015

Ivar, Timewalker #3 is an impressive issue, with a fast-moving plot and compelling characters. With a protagonist as secretive and deceptive as Ivar, there's always a new secret to be uncovered, for readers as well as for Neela. After the way this issue upends the relationship between Ivar and Neela, with Neela's trust in Ivar broken, seeing where the characters go from here is going to be an interesting journey.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Ivar, Timewalker #4

Apr 25, 2015

Ivar, Timewalker #4 brings the first story arc to a strong close, keeping you on the edge of your seat anxious to see what happens next. The Neela of the future is a powerful and unsettling villain, and it will be interesting to find out how present-day Neela will change after seeing her future. Ivar, Timewalker combines sweeping action with a story that hits close to home, so there's no doubt that what Neela has in store for her will have huge implications on both a personal and a cosmic level.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Ivar, Timewalker #5

May 30, 2015

Ivar, Timewalker continues to tell an engaging story with ingenious hooks and vibrant characters. Neela's journey is compelling, especially with her future self driving her to pursue her mission despite the possible consequences. Ivar, meanwhile, shows heroism and nobility despite his manipulative nature as he puts together a team to rescue Neela. Ivar and Neela are heroes worth cheering for, and I can't wait to see where they go next.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Ivar, Timewalker #6

Jun 20, 2015

This issue of Ivar, Timewalker keeps the story moving with vibrant characters, humorous dialog, and suspenseful action. It's hard to predict what's going to happen next, but the story's been such a wild ride so far you can bet that what's coming next will be absolutely mad. The Anni-Padda brothers may be immortal, but surviving this still won't be easy.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Ivar, Timewalker #7

Jul 25, 2015

Ivar, Timewalker #7 reaches a pivotal point in the story, and from here on out it will be interesting to see how Neela copes with this new knowledge about her future self. As a major theme of Ivar, Timewalker is the Chronology Protection Conjecture"the idea that the timeline is fixed and cannot be changed"Neela's situation raises questions about fate and inevitability that are worth exploring. Also, since Ivar's always been reluctant to share what he knows, it's likely that the story still has quite a few curveballs left to throw.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Lazarus #18

Aug 1, 2015

As the war escalates and the threats keep piling up, Lazarus is shaping up to be quite the rollercoaster ride. The Lazarus team has assembled a rich and vivid world and then pushed it into upheaval, and there's no telling what it will look like when the dust settles.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Ms. Marvel (2014) #13

Mar 14, 2015

Ms. Marvel #13 is as exciting as meeting your first crush, with characters that feel real, fresh, and alive. You feel for Kamala as she struggles not only with super-powered villains but with normal teenage stuff. All this plus an upbeat sense of humor makes Ms. Marvel one of the most fun and unique books out there. G. Willow Wilson is crafting a standout story, and I can't wait to see what's in store for Kamala next.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.9
My Little Pony Annual #1

Sep 27, 2014

is a great introduction to the superhero genre for young readers, with clever writing to hook in adult fans. This issue's fast-paced action and gentle humor continues to demonstrate the kind of top-notch storytelling that brings readers back again and again. These Power Ponies can hold their own with the likes of the Avengers and the Justice League, so how long do we have to wait for a Power Ponies blockbuster film?

View Issue       View Full Review
8
My Little Pony: Equestria Girls Holiday Special #1

Dec 20, 2014

The My Little Pony Equestria Girls Holiday Special is a deluxe-sized treat, showcasing the characters' vibrant personalities and imparting its message with lighthearted humor. This issue maintains My Little Pony's uplifting spirit, with the bonds of friendship brightening the coldest and darkest days. Go ahead and share a cup of cocoa with the Equestria Girls this holiday season.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
My Little Pony: Fiendship is Magic #1

Apr 4, 2015

My Little Pony: Fiendship is Magic #1 is a moving start to this event series, and Sombra's tragic backstory provides added depth to the character without excusing his behavior. This issue offers something different from the traditional happy ending, and explores fear and isolation in a powerful but age-appropriate way. After this issue, I'm looking forward to learning more about the rest of Equestria's fiends and seeing more of My Little Pony‘s dark side.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
My Little Pony: Fiendship is Magic #2

Apr 8, 2015

My Little Pony: Fiendship is Magic #2 is a unique issue, in terms of setting and character focus, but while it is different than most My Little Pony issues the magic and intrigue make it a fun read. I enjoy seeing how the world of My Little Pony grows with every issue, and here we see more of what goes on in the realms beyond Equestria. While Tirek is a villain, I think he and I can agree on one thing"pony magic is powerful. Harness some of that magic for yourself by picking up this book.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.9
My Little Pony: Fiendship is Magic #3

Apr 18, 2015

Aria Blaze, Adagio Dazzle, and Sonata Dusk may be villains, but when they take the stage in this issue of My Little Pony: Fiendship is Magic I don't care how wicked they are. The colorfully illustrated music battles make this playful issue a fun read. To get the full effect of the Sirens, fire up the Rainbow Rocks soundtrack as you read this issue, and you'll fall under their spell.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
My Little Pony: Fiendship is Magic #4

Apr 25, 2015

My Little Pony: Fiendship is Magic #4 is a playful and imaginative story, and the story shows us more of Nightmare Moon while hinting that there's even more to tell. The rift between Princess Celestia and Princess Luna, and their later reconciliation, can yield plenty of interesting stories as one of Equestria's most prominent legends. Nightmare Moon's dream-based powers are also worth further exploration. The great thing about the My Little Pony comics is that there are always plenty of stories to be told, and always more to look forward to.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
My Little Pony: Fiendship is Magic #5

May 2, 2015

All in all, My Little Pony: Fiendship is Magic #5 is an enjoyable mix of adventure and humor, and this issue indulges in Queen Chrysalis's creepy side without losing My Little Pony‘s sense of fun. It's a strong issue to end the Fiendship is Magic miniseries on, and Queen Chrysalis comes across as a strong and clever foe. The story's conclusion opens up the possibility for more of Queen Chrysalis in the future, so here's hoping that the changelings have more havoc to wreak upon Equestria soon.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
My Little Pony: Friends Forever #7

Jul 26, 2014

Pinkie Pie is the Element of Laughter among the Elements of Harmony, and in this issue she shows Princess Luna the importance of not taking yourself too seriously"something we can all take to heart. My Little Pony embraces a light, fun tone, adding variety to the comic stands. Every issue of My Little Pony: Friends Forever shows that the creative team understands the spirit of these characters, and I can't wait to see where they'll take these characters next.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
My Little Pony: Friends Forever #8

Aug 23, 2014

My Little Pony: Friends Forever #8 has to be my favorite of the Friends Forever series to date, because of the priceless interactions between Rarity and Applejack and the whimsical look at the roadside attractions of Equestria. Everything that makes My Little Pony great is present: humor that kids and adults can both appreciate, amusing adventure, and an important moral at the story's core. With effervescent stories like this issue, My Little Pony never ceases to delight.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
My Little Pony: Friends Forever #9

Sep 13, 2014

My Little Pony: Friends Forever #9 brings together some unlikely characters for a very charming story. The Flim Flam Brothers may be con men, but the quality of this issue is 100% genuine, and that's no lie.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.9
My Little Pony: Friends Forever #10

Oct 24, 2014

My Little Pony: Friends Forever #10 shows what makes Fluttershy such a powerful character"ponies underestimate her because she is soft-spoken and gentle, but she stands up for herself when it matters and her ability to listen to and empathize with others turns enemies into allies. That's a rare and valuable skill, in comic book stories and in real life. My Little Pony combines its strong moral center with colorful characters, humor, and adventure, making it as fun as it is wholesome.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
My Little Pony: Friends Forever #11

Nov 15, 2014

My Little Pony: Friends Forever #11 is a fun, effervescent story. The characters are bright and expressive, and the action depicted well. My Little Pony maintains its all-ages appeal by telling skillfully-crafted stories that both kids and adults can relate to. After all, this issue shows that even grown ponies can have a lot to learn.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.7
My Little Pony: Friends Forever #12

Dec 13, 2014

My Little Pony: Friends Forever #12 succeeds by embracing Pinkie Pie's quirky nature and running wild. With its wide range of characters and rotating spotlight, My Little Pony can tell lots of different stories. Every issue may not appeal to every fan, but every issue has something unique to offer"and this zany, sweet confection is a very pleasant treat.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.7
My Little Pony: Friends Forever #13

Jan 10, 2015

In My Little Pony: Friends Forever #13, we experience new facets of these ponies' lives, from Rarity's loneliness as a child to Babs Seed's passion for roller derby"and just like Rarity learns to see parts of herself in Babs, we can see parts of ourselves in these colorful cartoon equines. As Babs shows, not even the ponies can avoid adolescent awkwardness, and we love them all the more for it.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
My Little Pony: Friends Forever #14

Mar 7, 2015

My Little Pony: Friends Forever #14 presents all the elements that readers have come to love in the My Little Pony comics"a heartfelt story, wonderful characters, whimsical humor, and in-jokes galore. It's a story that all ages can appreciate and share, and the story's themes can inspire some valuable conversations with young readers. Spike's example shows that even one little dragon can make a difference by standing up for what's right.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
My Little Pony: Friends Forever #15

Mar 28, 2015

My Little Pony: Friends Forever #15 is whimsical and offbeat, and while some of Applejack's experiences at city hall may go over the heads of younger readers, the ponies' wacky hijinks will keep them giggling anyway. Applejack's hard-working spirit and problem-solving skills make her a great role model, and Applejack fans will enjoy seeing her take her turn in the spotlight. Ponyville faces some unique challenges, but with Mayor Mare and citizens like Applejack, Ponyville is in capable hooves.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
My Little Pony: Friends Forever #16

May 16, 2015

My Little Pony: Friends Forever #16 has everything to love about My Little Pony"great characters, playful art, and lighthearted humor. While there's always a possibility that Silver Spoon and Diamond Tiara will learn to become better friends with the other ponies"this is My Little Pony, after all"I hope that they never lose all of their attitude. It's what makes them unique"if every pony were a perfect friend, there would be little conflict to drive the story. Silver Spoon and Diamond Tiara will never be my favorite characters, but shine on you crazy diamonds.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.9
My Little Pony: Friends Forever #17

Jun 6, 2015

My Little Pony: Friends Forever works best when it takes two characters that don't normally go together and explores what they bring to each other. This issue shows that even somepony as smart as Twilight can learn a lot from others, and that even a pony as quiet as Big Mac can have a lot on his mind. As simple as My Little Pony‘s lessons may seem, they also strike close to home, and since I experience stress a lot like Twilight I appreciate this issue even more than usual. That My Little Pony couches these life lessons in fun and imaginative stories is key to its enduring appeal.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.2
My Little Pony: Friends Forever #18

Jul 3, 2015

My Little Pony: Friends Forever appeals to readers with stories that are both magical and easy to relate to. Its all-ages appeal makes it a great book to share, and even when it tackles heavier emotions it remains bright and optimistic. My Little Pony is full of cheerful blue skies and rainbows, making it hard to feel sad for long.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.7
My Little Pony: Friends Forever #19

Aug 9, 2015

Overall, My Little Pony: Friends Forever #19 is a sweet and heartwarming story with an eye for style and design befitting Rarity. The Cakes and Rarity may not get much screen time together normally, but in this issue they make a great team. What a delicious issue!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.7
My Little Pony: Friendship is Magic #21

Jul 19, 2014

My Little Pony: Friendship is Magic #21 is a fun story, with the high-quality storytelling I've come to expect from this title. The art and writing work perfectly in tandem to make the story come alive. The story features a mix of main and minor characters, and develops those characters well. This comic, like friendship, is magic.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
My Little Pony: Friendship is Magic #23

Sep 5, 2014

With the pets taking the spotlight in My Little Pony: Friendship is Magic #23, readers experienced adventure in Ponyville from a new perspective, with the help of well-crafted artistic storytelling. This is the perfect issue to hook a kid on comics, as the art makes the story so easy to follow. My Little Pony's optimism and cheerful humor can melt the heart of even the most jaded and cynical adults, and this issue stands out as one of the best.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
My Little Pony: Friendship is Magic #24

Oct 11, 2014

My Little Pony: Friendship is Magic #24 takes the ponies to other places and times, but no matter where the ponies go friendship is not far behind. The sweetness and goodness at the heart of the story is one of the most remarkable traits of My Little Pony, and Discord shows that you can be a good guy and still be wild and unpredictable. With all the in-jokes and fun with time-travel tropes, My Little Pony: Friendship is Magic #24 is a good issue to use to introduce Doctor Who fans to My Little Pony (or My Little Pony fans to Doctor Who).

View Issue       View Full Review
8.9
My Little Pony: Friendship is Magic #27

Jan 31, 2015

My Little Pony: Friendship is Magic #27 sets up a strong beginning for the story, making it hard to wait for the next issue. My Little Pony's high-quality storytelling is apparent in this issue, with gorgeously detailed artwork and characters with distinct voices. This is a must-read comic for My Little Pony fans as Twilight Sparkle explores new places and grows into her role as a princess.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
My Little Pony: Friendship is Magic #28

Mar 21, 2015

My Little Pony: Friendship is Magic #28 is as wild as the Everfree forest itself, and My Little Pony continues to be a wonderful book for readers of all ages to share. It's bright and fun, with unique characters and a playful style. As we saw in this story arc, there's always a new part of Equestria to explore and new characters to meet, and there's no telling where My Little Pony will take us next.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.9
My Little Pony: Friendship is Magic #29

Mar 28, 2015

The My Little Pony comics are unique in the variety of stories they tell, and while seeing the ponies as professional wrestlers is unexpected, this story manages to fit perfectly within the ponies' world. In the My Little Pony world, empathy and understanding help you not only win friends, but also win the championship belt"of course, a well-executed Spinning Appleloosa Roll helps too. All in all, I'd say this issue is the next best thing to having your own ringside seats at Madisoat Square Garden in Manehattan.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
My Little Pony: Friendship is Magic #30

May 23, 2015

My Little Pony: Friendship is Magic #30 presents a realistic conflict in a whimsical way, showing that even best friends and close-knit neighbors can argue, especially when competing for special recognition. This issue captures the characters' personalities well, and the friendship dynamic created by the characters' personalities drives the story. One thing's for sure"Ponyville may be a small town, but it's never boring.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
My Little Pony: Friendship is Magic #31

Jun 13, 2015

This issue of My Little Pony: Friendship is Magic shows what great things can happen when the citizens of Ponyville band together, teaching young readers the importance of cooperation and conflict resolution through a humorous story. Once again, My Little Pony whisks readers away to a sweet, bright world full of fun and whimsy, where we can glean a few insights on how to make our own world a bit brighter too. Come visit Ponyville Days for yourself and see.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
My Little Pony: Friendship is Magic #32

Jul 25, 2015

This issue's quirky humor won't appeal to every reader, but it doesn't need to. The My Little Pony comics present a wide array of stories, varying in tone, style, and character focus. Each story is a surprise because you never know what to expect, but even as each story strikes a different tone, the stories call back to each other and build upon each other to create an imaginative and well-realized world.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.9
Secret Wars Journal #1

May 30, 2015

While Secret Wars Journal highlights a variety of talented creators and takes the characters to imaginative new heights, the book suffers from being to tied too much to the other Secret Wars books. The Kate Bishop story in particular comes across more as a preview for Siege than a story that stands on its own, and as much as I enjoyed "The Arrowhead" I could feel myself being pulled quicksand-like into yet another part of this sprawling metastory. Ultimately, how much you get out of Secret Wars Journal depends on how invested you are in Secret Wars, but if you want a sense of the variety of stories Battleworld has to offer, then this issue is worth a shot.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Stumptown (2014) #1

Sep 11, 2014

If you like private eyes with muddy cleats, then Stumptown is the perfect comic for you, and even if aren't a scarf-waving soccer fan, you should check out Stumptown for the compelling characters and plot. Stumptown has made a strong return to the comic stands, and Greg Rucka and Justin Greenwood are a winning team.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Stumptown (2014) #2

Oct 26, 2014

Stumptown #2 succeeds in drawing you into Dex's life and community, showing the camaraderie of the Timbers Army and why it's so important that Dex finds her friend's attacker and prevent more violence. The story keeps readers on their toes as it promises surprises in store and never treads obvious ground. With Rucka and Greenwood's considerable skill, Stumptown feels as real and alive as the city and people that inspire it, so pick up this issue and give Dex a visit.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Stumptown (2014) #5

Jan 17, 2015

Reading Stumptown #5, one gets the sense that Dex Parios has what it takes to join the ranks of iconic private eyes"she's our era's Phillip Marlowe or Jim Rockford. While these characters are woven into Dex's DNA, she's definitely her own person, though. Dex's relationships with her friends, family, and community have shaped her into the person we see on the page, and the hints that we get into her past are as compelling as the mystery which comprises the main plot. I can't wait until Dex takes up her next case.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
The Delinquents #1

Aug 21, 2014

The Delinquents #1 is an ambitious start to the adventure, and I can't wait to see what happens when Quantum, Woody, Archer, and Armstrong finally collide. Valiant has given us one of the most fun comics out there, so if you ignore The Delinquents you're as big a fool as our protagonists.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Delinquents #2

Sep 20, 2014

The Delinquents #2 maintains the fast pace of a freight train barreling down the tracks, so hop on if you want the ride of your life. Where else are you going to get an odd mix of Americana, superpowered goats, drunken depravity, innuendo, and no-holds-barred fisticuffs? Take this road trip with The Delinquents and you won't regret it"well, you might regret the hangover.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
The Delinquents #3

Oct 26, 2014

The writing on this issue is solid as well. Something that seemed like a throwaway line in issue #1 turns out to significance to the plot of this issue, and James Asmus brings back a running joke from his run on Quantum and Woody. The characters' voices are unique and rendered well, and Archer's wide-eyed innocence among these degenerates is always good for a laugh.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.6
X-Men (2013) #17

Aug 1, 2014

All in all, it's a decent issue. The characterization is spot-on, giving life and energy to the story, and the story arc ends with a sense of closure. While this issue has its weaknesses, it's also an enjoyable read. As fun as it is, though, in the end it's only just "okay." It doesn't make enough of an impression to stand out in a crowd. Compelling characters form the heart of X-Men, but they also need stories that do them justice.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
X-Men (2013) #25

Mar 6, 2015

With fast-paced action and an epic cliffhanger, X-Men #25 builds momentum and raises the stakes for this story arc. X-Men‘s well-rounded characters and team dynamic are its greatest strength"the thrill's in seeing how the team comes together to face insurmountable odds. With the revelations the team uncovers in this issue, "The Burning World" is a story you can't miss.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

February

January

More