Kevin T. Brown's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Comics Bulletin Reviews: 105
6.9Avg. Review Rating

6.0
Action Comics #839

Jun 6, 2006

Overall, a good story, but nowhere near as good as the previous parts. As I stated at the beginning, what we have here is Part 6 of a 5 part story. Johns & Busiek are now streeeeeeeetching things out to fill 8 issues. So with two more parts to go, can we pick up the pace a bit here, guys, please?

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Agents Of Atlas #1

Aug 3, 2006

As I stated in the beginning, this is just a fun read. It's also very accessible to anyone. You don't need to know who did what, where and when. The story starts right off, and you're there for the ride. Well, this is one ride I want to be on for a long time and not just for six issues. But for the next six issues I'm going to be recommending this book to everyone I know. It looks like Marvel has struck gold once again, but this time it sure feels like Silver to me.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
All New Atom #1

Jul 10, 2006

I went into this issue with high expectations, and I was not disappointed. Once again it looks like DC has a hit on its hands. Luckily, there just seems to be something magical in the pairing of Gail Simone & John Byrne. In this case, the magic that's being produced is The All New Atom and the fans are the lucky ones.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
All New Atom #3

Sep 11, 2006

This title has tons of upside, but it needs to find that right niche. Simone is all over the place with it, and DC is switching artists mid-story. That is not how to build a successful book. I still like this title quite a bit, but I hope it settles in as to where it wants to be. Right now, I have no idea.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
All-Star Superman #1

Nov 20, 2005

Overall, All-Star Superman has me hooked, if only because of the artwork. Morrison has obviously crafted a story with many levels, but so far theyre not all falling into place for me. The next 12 issues can really go either way. The foundation is there for this story to be fantastic or fabulous, especially with Lex Luthor, but so far its stuck in average.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
All-Star Superman #2

Jan 29, 2006

Overall, this was a huge disappointment, especially after the first issue. I dont know what Morrison was attempting to do with this story, but I dont think he was trying to bore the reader. Unfortunately, he did.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Aquaman (2002) #36

Nov 15, 2005

The last page: The Spectre is not happy with the magicks being performed by Atlantis, prepare to face his Infinite Crisis, er. Wrath!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Aquaman: Sword of Atlantis #40

Mar 13, 2006

Finally, while I was personally a little disappointed in the story itself, the art is worth the price. I do trust in Kurt Busiek, and I know he'll have it all pay off eventually. This is also a damn good jumping on point for any reader. Not only because of DC's one year jump, but because this is essentially a brand new book. So if you're looking for something new and different that has high quality creators attached, then take a look at this book.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Astonishing X-Men #13

Feb 19, 2006

Overall, an astonishingly dull story with fantastic art.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batman #652

May 1, 2006

As you can tell, I revealed very little of the story itself, and that's for a reason: It's a mystery. I'm not going to reveal who was killed, who wasn't, who's accused, etc. That's for the reader to discover on his own. What I have mentioned is how very strong this story is and how well drawn it is as well. It's also my suggestion that people need to start reading this book. This is probably the best written and drawn Batman in a very long time. I'm going to miss this team when the new permanent team comes aboard. (A couple of new guys called Grant Morrison & Andy Kubert.) So until that new team comes on, read this title and Detective Comics and enjoy one hell of a Batman story.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Batman #655

Jul 30, 2006

Overall, I really have no idea where this story is going. If I didnt know Morrison was writing it, Id wonder who hacked it out. The thing is, Morrison always has a plan and Im willing to play along with the wait and see attitude, plus there are numerous Easter eggs for the fans to figure out along the way (i.e. the graffiti in the alley). For now, Ill just enjoy the high quality artwork and hope the story catches up soon.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Batman Annual #25

Mar 9, 2006

Finally, I feel the reasons for Jason Todd's return have been made worse and far more convoluted by this revelation. And while I know this has probably been planned from the very beginning, it still had that feeling of coming out of left field in order to make it work because of the writer having to explain the unexplainable. I also hope this is an idea that goes away once Infinite Crisis is over, because it's too easy of a crutch for a writer to use now. So if you're able to take at face value that what Superboy-Prime did was enough to bring back Jason Todd from the dead, you'll enjoy this story. If not, then pass it by. I really wish I had.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Batman and the Mad Monk #2

Oct 2, 2006

Overall, I enjoyed the book, but the story just plodded along for me. But as long as Matt Wagner is drawing it, I can look past some story problems. I strongly suspect this will read a lot better when all six issues are read at once.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman/The Spirit #1

Dec 3, 2006

I could easily go on and on and on about this book, but, since this is a Slugfest, space needs to be left for my fellow reviewers to voice their opinion. Suffice it to say, if you pass up this book, youre passing up a true classic. Will Eisner would be very proud to see his creation in such good hands.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Birds of Prey (1998) #96

Jul 31, 2006

Birds of Prey is not without its problems, but its potential (hm, again?) is tremendous. This title can be so much better. Hopefully Simone, Sequeira & Riggs are going to realize all that potential (notice a theme here?) these characters have and get this book noticed once again. And it appears that it may be on its way, we shall see. For now, thank you, Ms. Simone, for Ted's good bye.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Birds of Prey (1998) #100

Nov 20, 2006

Overall, the lead story is a by-the-numbers rescue mission that gives the reader a chance to see how the new team is going to look. The jury is still out as to whether this is the right move or not, but it's promising. I like the addition of Spy Smasher to the book. I especially like Nicola Scott as the artist on this book. That, more than anything else, generated the excitement. This book is on the upswing now, and this issue is a very good jumping on point for new readers.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Blue Beetle #4

Jul 3, 2006

As I said in the beginning, there are some comics that sneak up on you. Not only did this one seemingly come out of nowhere, but it's quickly become one of my favorites. If you're not already reading this title, you're missing out on something very special. DC has got a solid hit here.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Crisis Aftermath: The Battle For Bludhaven #1

Apr 14, 2006

Overall, the battle for Bldhaven is not as exciting as the title suggests. As I said above, it does have a lot of potential. The next issue or two will hopefully begin to explain who these characters are and clear up a lot of the confusion. Right now, it's just a series of this set of characters battling that set with little rhyme or reason behind it. In other words, it's just average.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Crisis Aftermath: The Spectre #1

Jun 5, 2006

So while this may not invoke the intensity of the classic Michael Fleisher & Jim Aparo Spectre stories in Adventure Comics from the 70s, it's quite possibly a worthy successor. As long as Pfeifer & Chiang steer away from the extreme God-like powers, as has been the problem the past few years, and use those classic stories as its focus, this series will be headed in the right direction.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
DC Universe Infinite Holiday Special #1

Dec 18, 2006

Overall, 6/7ths of this book were quite enjoyable, for the most part. I certainly would recommend it to others, but inform them to just not read the final story. And I'm not quite sure why DC had to put the word Infinite in the title.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Deathblow #1

Oct 30, 2006

As I stated at the beginning, this is an extremely good book. While it started off a little shaky, it picked up steam quickly. I'm looking forward to seeing what future issues bring us. Azzarello & D'Anda have found the right character at the right time to work on together and that's gold for the reader.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Detective Comics #815

Jan 10, 2006

I realize that issue #817 begins James Robinson's 4-issue run as writer (along with 4-issues of Batman), but after he's done with his story I'd love to see McCarty and Chiang become the regular team on this title. They did something with this issue that has not been done in a long time: They've crafted a Batman story that is about the man himself, not the persona that's been created and over-used poorly. So to those who are tired of the Batman as a high and mighty, know-it-all jerk stories, I urge you to pick this and next issue up. You will not be disappointed.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Detective Comics #816

Feb 6, 2006

These last two issues of Detective Comics by McCarthy, Chiang and Baron are a great swan song for this book. While it'll obviously continue next month, this is essentially the end. I cannot think of a better way to end the pre-OYL version of Detective Comics. One last thing: These 2 issues had better be on someone's short list for awards. These three creators and these two issues definitely deserve that type of recognition. Period.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Flash: Fastest Man Alive #1

Jun 25, 2006

This book has all the potential in the world. Its got a pencil artist whose work is very dynamic and is a perfect fit for the Flash. But I fear all that potential is going to go to waste unless Bilson & Demeo find a way to rein things in and focus on what makes the Flash such a cool character. Right now, however, they just need to focus on telling a better story and hope there are still fans around to want to read it.

View Issue       View Full Review
3.0
Flash: Fastest Man Alive #4

Sep 25, 2006

Four issues in, and this title is just terrible. Every single issue is a surprise in the respect that you have no idea how many artists will contribute. And that's not a good thing. More is less in this case. It's time for DC to try to find a full creative team that can do more than one issue in a row. Then, hopefully, this team can actually put together an issue that's worthy of the Flash.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Gotham Central #37

Nov 15, 2005

The epilogue: The final 4 pages show why Allen was so determined. His reason for fighting. His reason for never giving up: Family. And in the end, thats all that matters to him. Even if its another end of the world in the DCU.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Green Arrow (2001) #63

Jun 19, 2006

This title is on very solid footing now. Winick seems to have found his niche and is keeping things interesting without going too far over the top. It also helps to have such a strong art team. I like the direction this title is heading now. It's quite possibly one of DC's stronger titles now because its taking chances. Green Arrow is a book that everyone should be taking a long look at, they will not be disappointed.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Green Lantern (2005) #8

Feb 10, 2006

One last thing: Moose Baumann. What can I say about his work? Well, actually just one word comes to mind. Gorgeous. He elevates an already great piece of work to exceedingly great. He deserves as much credit on this title as does Geoff Johns or Carlos Pacheco or anyone else. All involved with this book are operating at the top of their game. And that's great for the fans and Green Lantern.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Green Lantern (2005) #10

Apr 4, 2006

With the One Year Later jump, this title has really kicked it into high gear. There might be some things that I don't like, but for the most part this book is even better than I hoped for or expected. Yeah, this is as it should be. With this issue, Green Lantern is definitely one of DC's best titles. Finally.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Green Lantern (2005) #12

Jul 18, 2006

Yes indeed, Green Lantern is in fine hands with these gentlemen. It's a great time to be a Green Lantern fan. However, this title is the best one of the bunch. It hit the ground running once OYL occurred, and it shows no indication of slowing down. This is still one of DC's best titles, and it's only getting better.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Green Lantern Corps #1

Jun 19, 2006

Overall, this is one Green Lantern fan who is quite happy. Since DC decided to re-energize the Green Lantern franchise beginning with Green Lantern: Rebirth, every single GL title since has been a solid hit. This is yet another one and, dare I say it, quite possibly the best one of the bunch.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Green Lantern Corps #5

Oct 16, 2006

Overall, this was an "okay" issue. The silliness factor needs to ease up though. Guy Gardner is a wiseass, but that doesn't make him a joke character. He has been treated as such in the past, but he's grown up since then. He's been given Honor Guard status within the GLC, and it's time that he gets a bit more respect. I certainly have enjoyed this series immensely, and this one little bump in the road won't prevent me from constantly recommending it, but let's keep the silliness to a bare minimum. That's not what this series is about.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Guy Gardner: Collateral Damage #1

Dec 4, 2006

So, if you're a huge fan of G'Nort, this is the book for you. If you're a Green Lantern completist and you just cannot pass up anything GL, I say wait for the trade. If you're a fan of good stories featuring Guy Gardner, pick up recent issues of Green Lantern Corps or some Warrior back-issues and ignore this title. Right now, I'm embarrassed to even admit I bought this issue. I think I'll go dig out my issues of American Flagg! and remember how great Howard Chaykin used to be as a writer and artist.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Helmet of Fate: Detective Chimp #1

Jan 22, 2007

After reading this, I would love to see this same team do a Detective Chimp series! Yes, I am serious. Willingham & McManus produced a gem of a comic here. But, overall, you learn one valuable lesson along the way: You don't monkey around with Fate.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Infinite Crisis #4

Jan 23, 2006

So how much story can you put into 30 pages? Enough to keep the reader on the edge of his seat; enough to have the reader wanting it to not end; and, most of all, enough to have the reader emotionally involved with it. And believe me, you will run through the gamut of emotions by the time you hit page 30. Then youll go back and read it again. This storys not just good, its damn good.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Infinite Crisis #5

Mar 5, 2006

So while this is an artistic masterpiece, the story had its flaws. Instead of the powerful ending I believe Johns was shooting for, he got an apathetic reaction from me. It pretty much sapped a good portion of the excitement the previous 31 pages had elicited. It also knocked half a bullet off of my review. I'm still excited and eager to see how everything plays out, but the ending muted some of that feeling.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Infinite Crisis #6

Apr 9, 2006

Overall, IC #6 is the best issue to date. Its also the toughest one to review. I felt after issue #4 that Geoff Johns had hit the pinnacle of the series. This issue proved that wrong. While that issue and this both have received the highest bullet rating we can give, I would have loved to go much higher. Right now I feel like Nigel Tufnel saying we should go one louder. Heck with it, this review goes to 6 Bullets. One louder. This issue is deserving of it. Man, what a ride!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Infinite Crisis #7

May 7, 2006

One countdown, one day of vengeance, one interstellar war, one satellite run amok, many villains united into one society, and one crisis of infinite proportions. The end result is this issue. An issue that from page one to page thirty-six is filled with nearly everything imaginable. To just call it non-stop action would be a disservice. When last issue ended, I was left wondering how Geoff Johns was going to tie up nearly everything in one final issue. When it was announced there were to be six extra pages of story added to the issue, I figured that would be just enough. Boy, was I wrong. The unfortunate thing is that its only 36 pages. What we have here is a 64-page story stuffed into 36.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Ion #1

Apr 27, 2006

Overall, Ion would be off to a fairly decent start if it wasn't hampered by disappointing artwork and a somewhat confusing story. Be that as it may, there is some promise in there. I do believe Marz is capable of having the promise shine more often than the confusion when given the opportunity. Right now though, the torch bearer is getting smothered, and it needs something to light the way.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
JLA #123

Dec 18, 2005

Overall, this issue falls victim to the need of a tie-in and disbanding of the JLA. Both the creators and fans are left to deal with this crisis in a not so satisfying way.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
JLA Classified #16

Jan 30, 2006

Overall, this was a project full of promise, given the collective talent involved. The sad thing is, it fell flat.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Jon Sable, Freelance: Bloodtrail #5

Nov 17, 2005

Final note: I do need to point out the best section of this issue are pages 2 through 7. Its Mike Grell at his finest.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Jonah Hex #3

Jan 10, 2006

As I said in the beginning, this is quite possibly one of the best titles DC is producing. Jonah Hex, coupled with Vertigo's Loveless, shows to all that the western comic is not dead. Both titles are not only great western comics, but also great books. Period.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Jonah Hex #12

Oct 10, 2006

Jonah Hex is consistently the best book DC has to offer. Twelve issue into its run, and I cannot recall any issue deserving to be rated any less than . And that's all because of Justin Gray & Jimmy Palmiotti. Yes, they have a great selection of artists on this title, but this book is as good as it is because of them.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
JSA (1999) #82

Feb 13, 2006

As I said in the beginning, you can go home again. To me, this issue represents all that has been missing in the DCU, and DC Comics in general, of late. I certainly hope that post-Infinite Crisis that we see more stories like this one. And let's also hope that Paul Levitz finds the time to write more often!

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
JSA (1999) #87

Jul 10, 2006

Anyway, so it ends. 13 issues shy of #100. I'm not sure which is sadder: That it is ending so close to such a milestone or that it ends in such an average way. Either way, it's not a happy ending to say the least.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Justice League of America (2006) #0

Jul 23, 2006

Suffice it to say, DC potentially has a monster hit on its hands here. Justice League of America is in extremely good hands.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Justice League of America (2006) #1

Aug 27, 2006

No, Justice League of America #1 is not perfect, but its as close as you can get. And with one issue in, its probably the best book that DC is publishing today. The next 12 months are going to be a joy.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Justice Society of America #1

Dec 10, 2006

Finally, I must bring up the fact that Alex Ross is adding his talent to this series as well. Not only in providing the covers, but to the story itself and in painting one panel over Eagleshams pencils in this issue. Based on interviews that Ive read, all those involved with this series are committed to making this the best book out there. Once you read this issue, youll know theyre not just feeding you a line of bull. Justice Society of America #1 is probably the second most fun Ive had in reading a comic this year. Geoff Johns, Dale Eaglesham, Art Thibert, Jeromy Cox, and Alex Ross have out done themselves with this issue. A job very well done, gentlemen!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Justice Society of America #2

Jan 14, 2007

Now then, despite how much I loved this book, that last page will always continue to bother me. For 21 pages I was ready to give this issue , but one page changed all of that. I feel those 21 pages are among the best youll ever read, but that last page supremely disappointed me. Justice Society of America is one of the best titles DC produces and, but for one page, its quite possibly damn near the perfect team book. Johns, Eaglesham and Jos should all be proud of their effort. Im not going to allow one page to ruin my enjoyment totally, but it did affect this months rating. Heres hoping it truly is a feint.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Legion of Super-Heroes (2004) #12

Dec 5, 2005

Finally, one of the best sequences in the book presents Salu Digby (the formerly named Shrinking Violet, now named Atom Girl) literally bursting upon the scene. In 4 panels you know her character and what she's going to be like. The only bad part about this issue is that she's only in 4 panels. Ah well, no issue is perfect, I suppose.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Legion of Super-Heroes (2004) #15

Mar 20, 2006

Overall, the main story in this issue failed to do what it was apparently intended to do: Celebrate the past. The unfortunate thing is that it felt as if it ridiculed it. New readers picking this issue up cannot help but be confused or, worse yet, turned off. This particular issue is not indicative of the quality we've had the previous 14 issues. Better to read the original stories that this issue was based, than to be subjected to something that was lacking and less than satisfying.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Loveless #2

Nov 28, 2005

Finally, the last four pages of this issue were a stroke of storytelling genius. You not only see to what length Cutter and Ruth go to keep their land, you also get to see what event got them involved in the War. And while I was already hooked, those four pages made it a definite. I'm with this title until it ends. Period.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Loveless #11

Oct 10, 2006

Loveless is not a book for the weakhearted. It's harsh, and it can make you cringe with its language and situations. Overall though, it's probably the best Vertigo title.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Manhunter #19

Feb 21, 2006

Overall, Manhunter is a title in need of a larger audience. Perhaps once OYL kicks off, the readers will flock to it. There's a lot to like about this series and very little to dislike. All those involved in this title are operating at a high level of quality. Now it's time for that to pay off. Buy this book. There's not too much out there that's better month in and month out than Manhunter. You will not be disappointed!

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Martian Manhunter #1

Aug 14, 2006

Overall, Martian Manhunter #1 has some good ideas, but they're mired in a clichd plot. While it's too late now, the story would be better served if Lieberman could shake loose the secret government project and focus in on what makes J'onn such a unique character. Right now though, the only thing unique about him is he's green with an odd shaped head. If DC wants this book to stand out, they need more than clichs.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Maze Agency #1

Dec 13, 2005

Finally, while definitely not flashy, Maze Agency is a nice little story that does show potential. Though it's difficult to see where it might lead in the next three issues, especially since each issue is going to be a self contained story. I hope the remaining issues pick it up a notch or two; otherwise there won't be another four issues.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Midnighter #1

Nov 6, 2006

The title has a lot going for it. It got off to a bit of a shaky start, but ended strongly and with a promise of more to come. Ennis, Sprouse and Story look to be heading in the right direction. Now they just need to cut loose a bit more. That is something I don't think we need to worry about; it will happen sooner rather than later. And I certainly don't want to be in Paulus' shoes when it happens.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Moon Knight #1

Apr 2, 2006

As you can tell, I didnt reveal details of the story. And I did so on purpose. I am not going to ruin anything about this issue. This is an issue that needs to be read to be enjoyed and not have key points spoiled. You can tell that everyone involved has put their all into this book. They also have me doing something that I havent done in a very long time: Buying a brand new Marvel comic AND recommending it highly!

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Moon Knight #6

Nov 21, 2006

If I could just rate this book on the art alone, I'd give it easily. However, the lack of story pulls the entire issue down. No, check that. Not the lack of story, just more of the same. Issue one is issue two is issue three is so on and so forth. Until I get something more out of this title, I may start looking for something different to read. For now though, it's a one trick pony.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Mystery in Space #1

Sep 11, 2006

Despite the back-up, this was a good beginning for this title. I'm really excited about Captain Comet being back in a major way. And while I was slightly disappointed in the story, the art is what carries this issue. Here's hoping there's a lot more movement in the story with the next issue. If not, then we can just enjoy what Davis draws.

View Issue       View Full Review
2.0
Nightwing (1996) #118

Mar 21, 2006

I've read this issue three times prior to writing this review. I know I'm extremely harsh in my comments, and perhaps they come from my extreme disappointment, but this issue's just a huge mess. While Bruce Jones can possibly be considered a top talent to some, what he presented to the reader is not indicative of what he can do. This book..., hell, all books..., do not need to feel like it was just thrown together quickly, especially if DC wants to retain readers. Let's hope next issue is MUCH better, otherwise this reader won't be buying it.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Nightwing (1996) #128

Jan 8, 2007

So to those who dropped this title during Bruce Jones' run, come back! Marv Wolfman is the regular writer and, while Dan Jurgens won't be the regular artist, Jamal Igle is coming on board with Nightwing #129. All is well once again, and the upside is high. This is a title to keep an eye on in 2007.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Outsiders #35

Apr 10, 2006

Overall, I just cannot shake the feeling that Winick is trying to level best to make this book just too different, throwing stuff against the wall to see what sticks. It's one thing to be different, but it feels like Winick is trying too hard, and it's not working. There's no rhyme nor reason as to what he's doing with this title. At least, not yet. Maybe it all comes together eventually. For now however, it's just bleh.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Outsiders #44

Jan 15, 2007

Yep, this is a short review. I truly wish I could tell you more about this issue, but there's not a lot to tell. I covered it all, without revealing some spoilers and the cliffhanger. I know this book's creative team is better than this, but everyone has an "off day" every now then. So let's chalk it up to that and hope the next issue improves.

View Issue       View Full Review
3.0
Rann-Thanagar War: Infinite Crisis Special #1

Feb 7, 2006

If you havent gathered by now, this issue disappointed me on many levels. It wouldnt have been so bad if it didnt feature a great number of my favorite characters done by quality creators. It pained me to read this book. Its rare when I feel cheated, but in this case I do. All involved should be embarrassed by this issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Red Menace #1

Nov 27, 2006

As I stated in the beginning, I was experiencing a bit of trepidation in buying this title. I can say with confidence though, Bilson and DeMeo have proved to me they're capable of writing a great comic book. Granted, they're joined by Adam Brody, but this book was their "redemption." Here's hoping everyone gives Red Menace a chance. It deserves it. It's a damn good book. One of the best I've read this month.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Robin #149

Apr 24, 2006

Overall, Robin is definitely on solid ground here. This title has a very good creative team, and it appears that it'll only going to get better. I like the direction this title is headed. The OYL leap definitely helped this title. Robin is finally starting to get his own identity and out of the shadow of Batman, while still retaining that connection. DC has tried for years to make Robin this stand alone character, without much success. Every time they start to get the separation, they pull him right back to being the sidekick. I think issue finally showed how strong of a character Robin can be without Batman.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Robin #151

Jun 26, 2006

As I wrote in the beginning, this is a very solid title. Whatever complaints I have come from some of the more inexperienced portions of the story that show through, but they're very minor and don't detract. Beechen and Williams are making Robin their character, and he's in very good hands.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Secret Six #1

May 26, 2006

For the most part, this was a very good beginning. It's not without its little hiccups along the way, especially artistically, but it does get stronger in the end. I'm definitely looking forward to the next issue. I'm also slightly saddened to realize that this is only a mini-series of six issues. Hopefully that'll change, but in the meantime I shall enjoy the issues we do get. And to Ms. Simone, you're golden once more.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Secret Six #3

Aug 14, 2006

As much promise as this series showed in the first issue, it's essentially gone by the wayside now. While I have no doubt I'll buy the next three issues, doing so may not be as enjoyable as I was hoping it would be, but I want to finish it and see if it gets any better. Though at the rate it's going, there's not much hope of that right now.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Sgt. Rock: The Prophecy #1

Jan 24, 2006

Overall, this book is not a surprise in the quality given the person responsible for crafting it. I just hope that there's more than a 6-issue story that Mr. Kubert wishes to tell. I know I certainly want to see a lot more. And I think there's probably a Sgt Rock story or two out there that needs to see the light of day. One that only Joe Kubert can tell.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Shadowpact #4

Aug 21, 2006

Overall, this was an okay issue. Nothing really special, nor something I want to see more often, at least not until the book is more established. So, while for one issue it might be fun, and as long as this doesn't become the norm, Shadowpact will succeed. I like the way each character plays off one another as a group. Focusing on one character every so often obviously is something that helps in the long run, this issue is not really the way to go. I'd much rather not read a fight scene taken from the Hellboy movie or overused Bond villains. Shadowpact is better than that, as is Willingham.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Squadron Supreme #1

Mar 19, 2006

So while some may enjoy the dialogue heavy story, I did not. This is a very inauspicious start to this new series. I know Straczynski is quite capable of writing better than this. Thankfully, we at least have some gorgeously drawn head and shoulders to look at though. Heres hoping that issue #2 has more action in it. Not sure if I can handle more talk about such things as macaroni & cheese.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Squadron Supreme #2

Apr 28, 2006

Overall, this is a book with supremely under-utilized artistic talent. And it's not one that I can recommend, unless you're a fan of slow moving, watching paint dry, plodding along comics. If you like that type of comic, then this book it for you. If not, spend your $3 on something else. I know I probably will.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
StormWatch: Post Human Division #1

Nov 13, 2006

While this particular issue was not great, it does have a TON of potential. I like the team that Christos Gage is assembling on this book. And having Doug Mahnke drawing it means it can't get much better than that. This book along with Deathblow are the two titles I'm most excited about. However, with all the other new titles coming out by Wildstorm, I hope this doesn't get lost amongst them. That would be a huge shame.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Supergirl & The Legion of Super-Heroes #16

Mar 23, 2006

Overall, this was not a bad issue. It was actually quite good. But as I mentioned in the beginning, I suspect my expectations were extremely high, plus the first five pages didn't set well with me. I still don't know how or why Supergirl is in this title, but I look forward to finding out. If you haven't read or bought Legion of Super-Heroes, then you may want to pick up Supergirl & the Legion of Super-Heroes. This is a great jumping on point. We just need to work on DC's math skills now..

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Supergirl (2005) #9

Aug 28, 2006

As I stated in the beginning, this is the perfect jumping on point for new readers. The future looks bright once again for this book and hopefully the past difficulties are working themselves out now. Joe Kelly has shown he's got a very good handle on this character, and I want to see where he takes her. I suggest that if you've given up on this title, come back and pick up this issue. I don't think you'll be disappointed, and you may want to stick around.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Superman #226

Feb 16, 2006

Overall, this was a solid issue, but still Kelly manages to put something in his stories that hinder more than help. The thing that really saves this issue was the artwork. Not one weak page in the entire issue. I'm definitely looking forward to the next two parts if they're anywhere near this quality.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Superman #654

Jul 16, 2006

Overall, this is the perfect book to jump on to if anyone is looking to buy something new. It literally has almost everything one could hope to find in a comic nowadays. Busiek, Pacheco & Merino are off to an excellent start here. And I hope its a very long run for them. This is the best Superman book DC has put out in years.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Superman #656

Sep 25, 2006

Kurt Busiek & Carlos Pacheco have made this book among the best that DC has on the shelves today. Period. Anything else I can say to describe it may not be sufficient. This title is just that good.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Superman #658

Jan 8, 2007

As I said in a previous review of Superman, Busiek & Pacheco working together is pure magic. Never has a Superman title been so good for so many issues. Despite my dislike of one aspect of the story, overall this was truly an outstanding story. Now if only they could do something about the delays.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Superman Confidential #1

Nov 6, 2006

Overall, Superman Confidential is suprisingly average. It does have its moments, but not nearly enough of them. I'd like to believe that future issues will though. For now, I'll take a wait and see attitude while knowing the talent involved is fully capable of producing fantastic stories. Even MVPs have off days.

View Issue       View Full Review
2.0
Superman Secret Files & Origins 2005 #1

Dec 23, 2005

Overall, this is a waste of $4.99 ($6.75 Can.). Of all the great stuff DC is doing of late, this ain't it. I suppose everyone is entitled to one clunker here and there. And this is a doozy

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Superman/Batman #27

Jun 26, 2006

Overall, and I cannot emphasize it enough I suppose, this is just a fun book. It's also a great starting point for people to jump on to this title. Verheiden appears to be the right choice to take over, and I'm really looking forward to what he has planned. And, if new regular artist Ethan Van Sciver needs a break, Kevin Maguire is the perfect choice to fill-in or as an alternating artist. Did I mention how much fun this story was yet?

View Issue       View Full Review
2.0
Superman/Batman Annual #1

Oct 30, 2006

Look, this story is just flat out bad. B-A-D, BAD. Kelly really outdoes himself. No, really, he does. When I figure out what he was trying to do, I'll let you know and then I can tell you what he was trying to outdo. For now, ignore this book. Save yourself $3.99.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Supreme Power: Nighthawk #5

Jan 9, 2006

Overall, this series has surprised me. I was not expecting to enjoy it as much as I am. And all the credit for that goes to the creators: Way and Dillon.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Tales of the Unexpected #1

Oct 15, 2006

Overall, we have a mixed bag here. If you love blood and gore, this is your book. If youre a fan of the Spectre, I suggest ignoring this title. This is not the Spectre. This is all about shock value. Now if DC dumped the lead story, instead making the Dr. 13 story the lead and expanded on it, then this title would definitely be worth recommending. Otherwise, I can think of better things to spend my $3.99 on.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Team Zero #1

Dec 15, 2005

Overall, Team Zero is off to excellent start. My only minor complaints are some of the more predictable parts of the story. And they are very minor indeed. My other complaint is that this series is only scheduled to last 6 issues. Though high sales can take care of that If you missed it, that's a hint for you to buy this book! Seriously, you will not be disappointed.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Teen Titans (2003) #30

Dec 19, 2005

Finally, about the Captain Carrot story: What can I say? It's fun stuff. And having Scott Shaw! drawing it makes it the perfect comeback, for both he and the good Captain. Let's just hope DC finds a way to make this comeback something of a more permanent nature.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Teen Titans (2003) #40

Nov 13, 2006

As I already stated, I'm really enjoying this title. And it just keeps getting better and better. Johns & Daniel have definitely have their "A-game" going with Teen Titans. Just pick up an issue and you'll see that, especially this issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Teen Titans (2003) #42

Dec 22, 2006

It's been a long time since I was this disappointed in a comic. Perhaps my expectations were too high, but the bar has been set very high for this series. Ah well, no one can hit a home run every single at bat.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Testament #1

Dec 26, 2005

Finally, as someone who is not exactly a religious person to begin with, I nonetheless found this story interesting from beginning to end and then some. I know I basically glossed over the religious aspects of this story, which was not my intention. Believe me, every page is filled in some way with the religious overtones that moves this story. I am eagerly looking forward to the next issue to see where Jake goes in his life and beyond. Testament will never be an easy read, youre going to need to actually sit down and read this book to take it all in. Trust me, its time well spent.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
The Authority: The Lost Year #1

Oct 22, 2006

Yes, I realize this is a very short review, but so is the story I reviewed. It may be 22 pages of story, but you can breeze through it in a matter of a couple of minutes. If this is indicative of whats to come, you can find something else to spend $2.99 on. As I said, decompressed story-telling at its worst. Hopefully, things pick up and quickly. As good as people think Morrison is, this effort is not his best.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Boys #1

Aug 21, 2006

As I mentioned above, this is definitely a Mature Readers title. What makes it mature is not just the sex scene, or the rough language, or even the violence, it's the entirety of the package. While it may appear to be gratuitous, it's all there for a reason. Ennis & Robertson are building their own little universe here. One in which the heroes are not always pure of heart. And because of that, a team like The Boys is needed. I know I'm definitely on board until the end. And, as much as I don't like comparing one title to another, if you're a Preacher fan, you're going to love this book!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Trials of Shazam! #4

Dec 18, 2006

As I said in the beginning, this series is surprising me. Being a relatively hardcore Captain Marvel fan, I wasn't exactly looking forward to this series. But Winick and Porter have won me over. I can still get "my" Captain Marvel when Jeff Smith's Monster Society of Evil mini-series comes out in a few months. For now, however, this is a very good substitute and an excellent book in its own right. I'm eager to see the future of Cap, Freddy, Billy and all the Gods of Shazam.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
The Warlord #1

Mar 6, 2006

Overall, a somewhat average beginning, especially in terms of the story that shows a lot of promise. No, this is not Mike Grells Warlord. While based on Grells creation, this is an entirely different Warlord. And thats not a bad thing at all.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Ultimate Fantastic Four #27

Feb 23, 2006

I'm really looking forward to the next two parts of this story. Millar is hitting his stride with this title. And as far as I'm concerned, this is the best Fantastic Four Marvel is producing today.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Uncle Sam and the Freedom Fighters #1

Jul 24, 2006

So while this issue does have its disappointments, overall it's still a solid book. I just keep hoping to see Palmiotti & Grey push the limits a bit more here and steer clear of the safety of what's been done before. This title has that potential. Let's see if it reaches it.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Villains United: Infinite Crisis Special #1

May 2, 2006

Overall, VU:ICS has delusions of grandeur. Delusions of being much better than the end result. An end result that just leaves the reader wishing they had spent their hard earned cash on something else. I don't know what has happened to Gail Simone, but this and her current run in JLA: Classified is not indicative of how good she can be. She's far better than this.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Welcome to Tranquility #1

Dec 12, 2006

Welcome to Tranquility is a series that should not be overlooked. It's fun, refreshing, unique. It's also a series where the upside is tremendous. I have no idea where Gail Simone and Neil Googe are going to take us on this ride, but I'm here for the long haul. Besides, where else are you going to get a character whose facial expressions are ":)" ?

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Wildcats: Worldstorm #1

Oct 23, 2006

Overall, of all the Wildstorm re-launches, this is the best one I've read so far. It'll also probably be the highest selling, and rightfully so. Morrison, Lee & Williams have hit this one out of the park. Now let's hope it truly does come out as scheduled.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Wonder Woman (1987) #223

Dec 5, 2005

Finally, while I know the last page is supposed to illicit an oh my God feeling, it doesn't. By the time you get there, you're glad you got to the end. Assuming you do.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Wonder Woman (2006) #1

Jun 11, 2006

Overall, a decent story with fabulous art. Heres hoping that DC finds a way to keep this creative team on this title for a long time and not just the previously announced five issues. At the very least, make sure this the art team remains in place. Its the art that makes this book special.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Wonder Woman (2006) #3

Nov 27, 2006

When I reviewed the first issue of this series back in June (yes, you read that correctly), I was disappointed then. Nothing has changed. Wonder Woman OYL is a severe disappointment. For now, I'm hoping above all else that the next two issues come out relatively soon (hey, a guy can dream, can't he?) so we can get past them quickly and then look forward to what Jodi Picoult has in store for us. What Allan Heinberg is giving us is nothing but lateness and less than a mediocre effort.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

October

September

More