Nicholas Slayton's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Comics Bulletin Reviews: 75
6.8Avg. Review Rating

7
52 #5

Jun 12, 2006

Final Thoughts: "It's coming! 52! 52!" For the most part, this was a great departure from the main storylines of DC's missing years. A great hospital drama is one of the few things comics lack, and this made up for that. The art may be a bit off, but for those looking for an exciting book with litle touches of a mystery, pick this up!

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Action Comics #851

Jul 8, 2007

After all the wait, this issue delivers big time. In all honesty, this is one of the best Superman stories Ive read since the initial One Year Later arc. Johns and Donner have finally gotten acclimated and are now in full swing, updating old concepts and revitalizing forgotten characters. Adam Kuberts Phantom Zone is a brilliant, twisted take on the concept. Its a shame that we have to wait until the next Annual for the conclusion; this issue revitalized my interest in the story to new heights.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Action Comics #857

Nov 1, 2007

Johns and Donner have managed to finally get Action Comics back on track, free from scheduling woes and artist delays. Thanks to that, the comic is full of wonderful new ideas and some great revitalizations of old ones. The writers have proved not only why Superman matters, but that he can have fun comics.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Action Comics #858

Nov 4, 2007

Now that the Action Comics scheduling woes are resolved, the title is once again cranking out brilliant stories. For fans of Superman, Gary Franks art, or the Legion, this is a must have read. Even with the Metropolis scenes, Johns and Frank have laid the groundwork for what looks to be one of the best Superman stories in a while.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Amazing Spider-Man (1999) #532

May 28, 2006

Final Thoughts: I need to make a decision, and God, I just...I dont know what to do. Same here Peter! I love the characterization and the style of the art here, but there are just so many little things that drag it down for me. Im happy we get to see another side of Tony Stark and the Registration Act. Im just not really happy that nothing happens. However, this is only the first issue of a long story arc, so I look forward to the rest. Considering Spider-Mans decision on where to stand is going to be a key plot point in Civil War, I recommend this to those of you who want to see how the perrenial Everyman handles politics.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Amory Wars #1

Jun 15, 2007

This debut issue is just good. From the epic concepts to the family motif, Sanchez has managed to bring back his story and make it even better. Add in expressive artwork and unique characters and you've got a winner. I highly recommend to fans of the band, strong stories, and good science fiction.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Amory Wars #2

Jul 20, 2007

The Amory Wars continues to be one of the most unique, innovative comics out there. Each issue makes you stop and say "Woah, did that just happen?" After this issue, I'm even more excited for what's to come, and the next issue certainly looks like it's going to be crazy.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Amory Wars #3

Sep 3, 2007

All in all, this is simply a brilliant series. Innovative science fiction, genius level theological debate, interesting characters, and a good story make this a must read. Add in Miller's art and a truly creepy cliffhanger and you've got a winner.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Annihilation #1

Aug 6, 2006

All in all, Annihilation #1 is a great start to a very promising miniseries. With rich characters, witty dialogue, and an against-all-odds storyline, this stacks up pretty highly on my favorites list. For fans of Giffen, Nova, epic storylines, or people wanting to try something not affiliated with Civil War, pick this up.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Annihilation: Conquest: Prologue #1

Jun 17, 2007

With this Prologue, Annihilation: Conquest is shaping up to be another sleeper hit from Marvel. The story is engaging, the action is epic, and the dialogue (especially Quills) is brilliant. This looks like it may be the Godfather Part II to the wonderful Annihilation saga.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Annihilation: Conquest - Wraith #1

Jul 8, 2007

To quote Dom DeLouise, Wraith is nice. Not thrilling, but nice. While there is not really a central plot going on, only a subplot or two, the main character does kick butt, and the action sequences are awesome. Hopefully the next issue gives us some more information.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Aquaman (2002) #38

Jan 20, 2006

Final Thoughts: Atlantis, Bye Bye: The creative team delivers, and delivers hard. This comic will move you. Aquaman is one of the titles I wish I had picked up earlier. It rocks. No more Superfriends jokes at his expense now. With one issue to go until "One Year Later" and Kurt Busiek's new approach, there's a lot to be resolved. Yet I have faith in the creative team. Next month's issue is going to rock!

View Issue       View Full Review
2
Bat Lash #1

Dec 16, 2007

Instead of being a fun, fast paced revival of a great character, Bat Lash suffers from a slow plot, the main characters lack of action, and a story riddled with cliches. In a time where old Western characters like Jonah Hex and the Lone Ranger can be brought back with a level of enjoyment, Bat Lash got the short end of the stick.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Batman #654

Jul 18, 2006

So, eight issues finished, and where does this leave Batman and readers? Well, Robinson gave us a great mystery, that reestablished Batman into the DCU, as well as brought back a classic villain. Where Batman goes from here is in the hands of Morrison and Dini, but "Face the Face" was a wonderful story that goes does as one of Batman's greatest adventures.

View Issue       View Full Review
2
Batman #670

Nov 6, 2007

I really, really want to get back into the Batman books again, but with mindless, boring drivel like this, its apparent I will not for some time. Morrison's Batman continues to be a terrible, out of character take on one of comics most iconic characters, all while focusing on annoying, vague, and downright random stories. He may be good on fourth wall breaking weirdness, but Morrison is not the writer for a series like this. In all honesty, Tony Daniel's art is the single saving grace of this issue, and even that is not enough to make me want to continue reading this series.

View Issue       View Full Review
2
Batman #673

Feb 18, 2008

Once again, Morrison's Batman disappoints. It's a real shame. I really want to read a good Batman story, but I cannot find one on this title.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Batman and the Mad Monk #1

Aug 28, 2006

I really feel kind of bad. When I was at the store buying this, I recommended it to a fellow reader, based simply on the plot outline and cover. I now wish I could apologize to the guy. While the first issue of Batman and the Mad Monk offers an amazing cover and a great Gordon fight scenes, the dependence on The Monster Men and no appearance of the titular Monk, along with not-so-adequate art makes this one a let down. Oh, I'm going to read the next issue, I want to see the Monk and all, but for casual readers, this might not be the best bet.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Bram Stokers Death Ship #1

May 17, 2010

Bram Stokers Death Ship is not a bad comic, but it is not off to a great start. While Sayger can deftly handle the horror elements of the story, and Gerani has adopted the flow of Stokers story, the two struggle with the more mundane aspects of the comic, which seem to make up the bulk of the issue. The story of the Demeter does grow more horror filled, so hopefully the mini-series will pick up, but for now, Death Ship is a mildly entertaining book for only the most enthusiastic of Stoker fans.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Captain America (2004) #18

May 14, 2006

Final Thoughts: It was nothing...believe me. I wont believe you. This is by far the best series Marvel is producing right now. Brubaker, Epting, and d'Armata have crafted a wonderful issue to kick off their new story arc. The subplots are handled with superb care, and Captain America is indeed his own man under Brubakers pen. For those out to find a series that is not a Civil War tie-in, or if you are a Captain America fan, or if you just want a good title from Marvel, buy this issue. I know Im sticking around for this arc.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Captain America (2004) #19

Jul 20, 2006

All in all, this is a wonderful continuation of the so-far brilliant "Twenty-first Century Blitz" storyline. The mystery builds as the action dies down a bit, building the overall storyline. Where the series is heading, I don't know, but I want to find out. The art isn't as good as the previous issue, but it is still a cut above most other series. Brubaker and Co. deliver another wonderfully thrilling story, worth every penny.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Captain America (2004) #20

Sep 7, 2006

With this issue, honestly I don't know how Brubaker is going to end the arc, but I can't wait to find out. Captain America is one of my favorite books in today's market, and this issue keeps up that standard. I'm really looking forward to the Wednesday when Part Four of "Twenty-first Century Blitz" comes out.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Captain America (2004) #25

Mar 11, 2007

Im not really sure what to think of Captain Americas death. Maybe he is dead, maybe he isnt. Im not even sure if I care. I mean, the series doesnt look like its being cancelled, and with Brubaker still at the helm, and the events of this issue, the series is far from out of ideas, Cap dead or not. As I said, Brubaker deserves an award for this. Even with the press ruining the ending for me, even with Civil War putting Cap in a terrible position, Brubaker, Epting, and D'Armata manage to recapture my love for this series and get me hooked once again.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Captain America (2004) #26

May 29, 2007

If someone had asked me a few months back if I would read a Captain America series without Cap in it, I would have said no. After seeing the last two issues, I plan on reading this book until it ends. Without a doubt this is Marvel's best comic, and the mix of espionage, grief, revenge, and Epting's wonderful art makes this a must buy.

View Issue       View Full Review
4
Civil War #2

Jun 18, 2006

Overall, Civil War continues along at a slow, moderately interesting pace. Solicitations have somewhat spoiled the story, but the eventual showdown between the two factions, as well as McNivens amazing art are going to keep me around for the long haul.

View Issue       View Full Review
2
Civil War #7

Feb 25, 2007

All in all, Civil War was a limited series full of potential, poor executions, and plot threads that go nowhere. Hey, what happened to the Watcher showing up in issue one? Was that ever touched upon? The Punisher took up two full issues, but only to serve as a launch pad for a new series. The motivations were weak, character decisions worse (seriously, whatever happened to actually trying to support a cause?; the Secret Avengers did nothing to help themselves, instead getting into fights), and the finale utterly disappointing. I really wanted this to be a good story, I expected it to be, considering Millar was the writer. In the end, it was nothing but an overhyped, far too crossed-over disappointment. At least the art was pretty.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Civil War: Front Line #1

Jun 11, 2006

Final Thoughts: ...Shove it down the liberals throats so hard they think the Wednesday Sports page is the Sunday Edition! Despite the fact that the miniseries probably wont hold up well in the future, in the now it has an interesting premise, fun characters, wonderful art, and a very human perspective on Marvels Big Event. In fact, this issue is a better start to a miniseries than Civil War #1.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Daredevil (1998) #100

Sep 9, 2007

The Daredevil creative team is on a roll. Theyve found a great balance between Matts life as Daredevil and as a lawyer, fleshed out the supporting cast, and set up a serious threat for this issue. I am honestly surprised at how much I liked this issue. Considering how many aspects of this issue have been done before, it really shows how good of a writer Brubaker is, making it feel new and fresh. Without Fear is off to one heck of a start.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Detective Comics #817

Mar 21, 2006

Final Thoughts: "...I'm going to sleep well tonight". Batman is back with a vengeance. This issue is a perfect kickoff to what looks like a promising story. The story is interesting, with enough hints to keep you enthralled. The characterization is dead on, and the art is near perfect. And remember, this is only half of the storyline's creative team; I can't wait to see what Don Kramer does with the book.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Detective Comics #820

Jun 13, 2006

Final Thoughts: "You're very cruel." Robinson continues "Face the Face" with a deepening mystery. There have been some revelations, but there is one issue left to tie up the story. Can Robinson do it? Maybe. I'm in for the ride. The art is the best it can be, and I'm really going to miss the team of Kirk and Clarke on the title. Oh well, this story has proven to be good, and this issue is no exception.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Detective Comics #823

Sep 25, 2006

Yeah, this wasn't exactly my favorite issue of Detective Comics. The mystery was weak, the reveal came out of no where, and the art was subpar on the main characters. I'm definitely dropping this book along with Morrison's Batman. Hmm, well, there goes my Batman fix...

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Detective Comics #825

Nov 6, 2006

All in all, for a fill-in issue, this is a really enjoyable story using an old member of Batman's rogues gallery. In fact, I have to say I enjoyed this issue more so than all of Dini's run. It is simple, yes, but it is a refreshing story that utilizes all sides of Batman, has some great interaction, and a wonderful ending. If nothing else, this is a good example of what a "one and done" story should be. DC, please put McGraw on Detective Comics more often!

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Green Arrow Year One #1

Jul 20, 2007

Honestly, I haven't been this excited for a Green Arrow book in a while. While Ollie's currently being written poorly, Diggle, Jock, and Baron have crafted an excellent miniseries that captures Ollie perfectly. It's refreshing, funny, and fun. Definitely one of the best books DC is putting out.

View Issue       View Full Review
4
Green Lantern (2005) #18

May 1, 2007

Johns and artist Dave Gibbons add a backup feature called "Tales of the Sinestro Corps," and it is more interesting than the main story. The Sinestro Corps, hinted at heavily but not really explored, is given a member by member introduction through rookie Amon Sur and Lyssa Drak, the keeper of the Book of Parallax. The story, about a living biological weapon wiping out a Green Lantern's planet is intriguing, moderately disturbing, and a great hint at things to come. Sadly, the art isn't up to par. Gibbon's pencils are a tad bland and feels slightly outdated. Still, the execution of the story is wonderful and hopefully will continue to stay that good in the next few issues.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Green Lantern (2005) #25

Dec 16, 2007

Johns and co. have created one of the best epics in comics, and this issue is the perfect conclusion to it. Brilliant art, edge of your seat action, and a great cast make Green Lantern the best thing coming out of DC. I cannot wait to see where Johns takes things next.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Green Lantern: Sinestro Corps Special #1

Jul 1, 2007

Complaints aside, this comic is amazing. After years of buildup, Johns plans for Sinestro and the Green Lantern Corps have exploded into a truly epic event. The art is brilliant, the characters dead on, and the action nonstop. It was definitely one of the best reads Ive had in a while.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Harpe: America's First Serial Killers #1

Aug 12, 2009

Overall, Harpe is an entertaining look at an often ignored part of American history. Kinkle and Shaw have created a wonderful character study of two killers, taking history and spinning a great story out of it. For fans of true crime, historical fiction, or just non-superhero comics, Harpe is a fitting book and well worth the read.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
JSA: Classified #6

Jan 17, 2006

Final Thoughts: Don't Wake Grundy Up! This is one of the most entertaining comics out in a while. This manages to fit into the Infinite Crisis stuff without simply being a a pointless tie in. The characters are topnotch and art is beautiful. I'm tossing out my copy of Villains United and petitioning DC for an Injustice Society comic by this creative team.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
JSA: Classified #7

Jan 30, 2006

Final Thoughts: To the Injustice Society! After three issues we have a team of thieves with a family tie. Van Meter and the artists have provided one of the most enjoyable story arcs of both 2005 and 2006. If you are interested in bad guys, want a JSA story, or just want to read a geniunely brilliant story, pick this up. Now, if you'll excuse me, I have to go petition for a Injustice Society comic.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Justice League of America (2006) #1

Aug 27, 2006

Overall, this is a great issue of wonderful potential. The art may not be to ones fancy, but the story is great. A bit slow, sure, but with the dead on characterization and the tear-jerking final page more than makes up for it. I certainly am looking forward to the next part of The Tornados Path.

View Issue       View Full Review
4
Justice League of America (2006) #4

Dec 26, 2006

All in all, if you like Meltzer and Benes, this should be great. For me though, I really need to find a way to drop this. I'll probably stick around to the end of the story arc, but this series has failed to meet my expectations for a good Justice League series.

View Issue       View Full Review
2
Justice League of America (2006) #6

Mar 26, 2007

At the start of this review, I asked why I can not seem to quit this book. It's because I am bullheaded and stubborn enough to continue with a series even if it continues to disapoint me to no end. Also, the series is about to crossover with Justice Society of America, which is in my opinion the best title DC is publishing. So I have to put up with more terrible stories and characterization to get the full version of a story running through my favorite series. I hope after that I can drop this series...

View Issue       View Full Review
4
Justice League of America (2006) #8

May 7, 2007

So far, the crossover is off to an unbelievably slow start. This issue is par for the course for this series: a mediocre story with a poor attempt at characterization. However, the premise is strong enough to hold my interest, even though I have no knowledge of the Legion at all. Shane Davis proves to be an equal to Benes, possibly better even in terms of action. Sadly, the slow script means this issue drags along slowly. Hopefully, the Justice Society of America issue will be more promising.

View Issue       View Full Review
4
Justice League of America (2006) #9

May 29, 2007

So far, "The Lightning Saga" is leaning towards the side of bad stories. Despite a wonderful second part, the Justice League stories, which make up the majority of this crossover, are dragging the story down. The constant overlapping of scenes, annoying internal monologues, and out-of-character characters are detractors from what should be a fun story.

View Issue       View Full Review
2
Justice League of America (2006) #10

Jul 10, 2007

All in all, "The Lightning Saga" failed. Sure, the Legion succeeded, but as a story this was not exactly the best there could have been. Instead of giving the reader some interaction between the JSoA and the JLoA, pointless exposition and a lack of any real action dragged it down. Johns provided some great moments with his handling of the Legion and the truly creepy Arkham Asylum sequence, but Meltzer's hand, especially in this issue, folded miserably. This could have been so good, but it just bombed.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Justice Society of America #1

Jan 9, 2007

As a relaunch of a successful title, Justice Society of America is by far a work of art. The large cast is wonderfully balanced, the action is fluid, and the story is compelling. The art, while personally not my favorite, is solid. Any fans of JSA should definitely get this series.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Justice Society of America #3

Mar 20, 2007

I am continually amazed by the quality that Johns manages to infuse into his comics. Characterization is topnotch, the story is innovative, and Eaglesham's art continues to improve. Without a doubt, this is the best title in the mainstream DC Universe. I cannot wait to see what happens next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Justice Society of America #5

May 7, 2007

I must applaud the team of Johns and Pasarin. They managed to give the "Lightning Saga" a much needed shot to the arm after the initial disapointing issue. I'm not sure where its going to go from here, but at the very least, Justice Society of America is still the best read from DC. Bring on the next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Justice Society of America #14

Apr 18, 2008

Overall, Justice Society is one of the best series from DC. Yes this issue has its faults--and I am growing pretty sick of seeing Kingdom Come influences replacing Golden Age concepts--but this is still better than half of the mainstream titles out there. The storyline looks to be moving forward, and the mystery behind the Big Bad is pretty enticing.

View Issue       View Full Review
4
Moon Knight (2006) #1

May 12, 2006

Final Thoughts: "But please, let me be a hero again." It's great to see Moon Knight back in publication, but this just doesn't work. The lack of an introduction to the character, as well as the lack of a central plot leaves a lot missing. However, Finch's art more then makes up for it. Still, I recommend this only for the most devout fans of the character. I'll stick around another issue, but I have my doubts over the quality of it.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
New Warriors (2007) #1

Jun 3, 2007

New Warriors is a great change of pace from the old incarnations of the team. Grevioux has crafted a wonderful story, tying in both Civil War and House of M to give the book a good cast and unique story. Sadly, the art, while good, does not really fit the mood presented in the book. The issue itself feels like its missing a few more pages, decompressed when it should be jam packed with story and action and suspense. Ill admit I'm interested in seeing where things go from here.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Red Menace #2

Dec 25, 2006

For anyone looking for a refreshing take on the same ideas presented in Civil War, a fun take on fifties, or a subtle, character-driven political thriller should get this book. Who would have thought two producers and an actor could write one of the best titles of the year from any company? Not I. My only complaint with this book? It's a miniseries.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Rex Mundi #4

Feb 26, 2007

Still, I shouldn't complain about triffle things when the series is really kicking into high gear. The revelations and decisions made in this issue are sure to have a definite effect on Julian in the next installment. How he's going to cope with things is beyond me, and I eagerly await the answers. With one more issue left in this story arc, I'm on the edge of my seat waiting for the conclusion. With one of finest stories in modern comics, and unparalleled art, this series still stands as the best on the market.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Rex Mundi #5

May 7, 2007

I honestly cannot wait unti the next issue, it should be amazing.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Rex Mundi #6

Jul 10, 2007

I admit, I am extremely upset at the sudden standalone issue in the middle of one of the best narratives I've ever read, but this issue was satisfying. Arvid Nelson has a great handle on vampire lore, and Jim Di Bartolo delivered big time in the art department. Still, I eagerly await the return to the main storyline, as this issue somewhat brought down the brilliant cliffhanger of the previous issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Rex Mundi #7

Sep 3, 2007

This series just gets better and better, and this issue was simply stunning. The levels of intricacies and the world war unfolding in the book make this a must read. I just wish the series was not bimonthly: After this issue, the wait for the next installment will be too long.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Rex Mundi #8

Nov 1, 2007

This book continues to read like a great novel, with each chapter building on the last and making me eagerly await the next installment. Once again the series puts its characters into new directions, and with the series now in its third act, it is almost barrelling towards a conclusion that looks to be epic, even considering the world war scope of the book right now. Anyone looking for a smart comic with mystery, dynamic characters, and a richly developed universe needs to check this series out. Rex Mundi is one of greatest, if not the best, comics on the market.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Rex Mundi #16

Feb 23, 2009

The series is definitely in the full swing of a climax, and with only three issues left, the mysteries and relationships that have driven the story look to be reaching their peak. I am very excited to see how things will end, and if this issue is any indication, Rex Mundi is going to wrap up in a very shocking, unexpected way. Nice.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Tales of the Unexpected #1

Oct 15, 2006

All in all, Tales of the Unexpected is off to a rather lackluster start. While the art is colorful and moody, the story is all but dead (no pun intended). If you are an avid Spectre or Crispus Allen fan, Id say get it, but if not, well, keep the three dollars. The backup provides a nice change of pace and a good little adventure, but Im not sure I want to spend all that money just for the backup.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Teen Titans (2003) #31

Jan 24, 2006

Final Thoughts: Dude, You're Dead: In the advent of Infinite Crisis, Geoff Johns shows us that he can still crank out great work. Between the great Titans history related moments and awesome action, you get one awesome story. I recommend it.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Teen Titans (2003) #33

Mar 17, 2006

Final Thoughts: "Then we hook up with everyone else and go Deathstroke on the bad guys." If nothing else, this issue is memorable for Marv Wolfman's return to Titans comics. The characterization is spot on and the lush backgrounds in the art while surely please your eyes. Fans of the title will not be disappointed.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Teen Titans (2003) #37

Jul 21, 2006

All in all, this series is continuously brilliant. Johns and Daniel deliver a wonderfully paced story that concludes an equally wonderful story arc. The end sets the stage for future issue, which, if the final few pages are any indication, will be completely incredible.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Teen Titans (2003) #38

Sep 26, 2006

I know that every series has an subpar issue, but Teen Titans is the only title I actually buy consistantly month after month. I really don't like to spend money on things I don't really like. Yes, the cover is brilliant, and the book is still better than a lot of the stuff out there, but it just doesn't keep up with what I have expected of the series. Hopefully the next issue is better.

View Issue       View Full Review
4
Teen Titans (2003) #45

May 1, 2007

I'm really bummed with the way Titans is heading. It used to my favorite DC book, but Beechen's handle of the characters has killed my favorite draw to the title. Despite having a brilliant first half, "Titans East" drags along with poor art, bad dialogue, and out of character moments galore. It's a shame really, as I have been looking forward to this arc for months.

View Issue       View Full Review
3
Teen Titans (2003) #46

May 29, 2007

"Titans East" should have been brilliant. It should have been a wonderful sendoff from Johns and Tony Daniel. Instead, it was two issues of goodness, and a second half of letdowns. I'm not sure about Beechen's run on the title after reading this issue. This issue seriously is making me consider about dropping Teen Titans.

View Issue       View Full Review
2
Teen Titans (2003) #48

Jul 10, 2007

All in all, I am confused more than anything at what happened to Titans. The writing and art has dropped heavily since the previous creative team left, and the characters no longer feel like a realistic collection of teenagers. The whole issue was just hard to follow and painful to read really. Well, at the very least, this last chance to redeem the series failed. What a shame.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
The Brave and the Bold (2007) #1

Mar 20, 2007

Maybe I got my hopes a little too high, but when a series with this much history is relaunched, and DC puts a lot of hype on it, they should make sure it really is the best there is, and not rely on reputation. While there are rather amusing character bits, the overall story, the lack of a resolution, and lackluster art from Perez brings this down. Hopefully the series can pick up the pace.

View Issue       View Full Review
4
The Occultist One Shot #1

Dec 20, 2010

The creative team seems to be aiming for an ongoing, if the cliffhanger at the end is anything to go by. The Occultist does have promise, but the writers need to shift their focus. The one-shot hints at an epic scope, but instead it focuses on the mundane. In the end, The Occultist is just that--a few glimpses of potential overshadowed by creative indecisiveness and familiar tropes.

View Issue       View Full Review
4
The Order #1

Jul 15, 2007

The Order is a twist on the standard superhero team, no doubt about it. However, poor characterization and rather weak storytelling drags down some great art and kills the potential in the book. Frankly, I just cant stay interested in what is basically superhero American Idol.

View Issue       View Full Review
4
Ultimate Power #1

Oct 8, 2006

All in all, Im thinking about dropping the limited series after this debut. For all the beauties of Lands art, the dialogue, story, and pacing are so awful I cant keep reading. Unless I hear about a great twist next issue, this series is out of sight, out of mind.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Ultimates 2 #13

May 29, 2007

I'm honestly surprised I liked this issue. I loathed Millar's Civil War since issue one, and I never expected to see a political comic by the same writer to actually be good. Yet this was an over the top, fun comic. The action, the comedy, it all works. Hitch provides art that fits each scene rather well, and while the Thor as a god revelation falls flat, the team manages to wrap up its plot threads rather well. I just hope the creative team behind Ultimates 3 can keep up the gritty, political feel that Millar and Hitch included.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Uncanny X-Men (1963) #503

Oct 14, 2008

I used to stay away from the X-books due to confusion and fear of their long continuity. I only recently picked up Uncanny X-Men, yet Brubaker, Fraction, and Land have managed to really capture my interest and have crafted an accessible book. This issue alone has its flaws, but the overall arc, especially the revelation on the last page, is enthralling.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Union Jack #1

Sep 17, 2006

All in all, this is the most enjoyable comic Ive read all week, and certainly the second best title Marvel has put out after Captain America. For a first issue, this not only catches the readers attention, but keeps them entertained. Theres no gimmick or crossover here, just straight forward, exciting story telling. Theres a great cast of characters, a spy-thriller feel, and some wonderful action. I highly recommend this to anyone looking for a new book or some butt-kicking-Brit action.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Wonder Woman (2006) #1

Jun 11, 2006

Final Thoughts: Youre Not Wonder Woman. As I jumped on this book for Donna Troy, Im a bit bummed out by her portrayal. Still, the fresh approach to Wonder Woman combined with some all-star art makes the book worth its price and then some.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
ZeroKiller #1

Jun 23, 2010

Still, despite the tantalizingly unexplored world, Zero Killer is a highly entertaining graphic novel that manages to combine an excellent setting, a fascinating mystery, and great action--all told through some of the finest art in the comics industry. In a time when event tie-ins and movie adaptations are on the rise, something as original and fresh as Zero Killer is a gem.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

September

More