Nick Verissimo's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Comics Crux Reviews: 49
7.5Avg. Review Rating

8
Adventure Time #8

May 10, 2013

All-in-all, the resolution to this short arc was fun and Adventure Time continues to be something better than it should be as a comic, especially when you consider that the fine work of the voice actors from the show counts as a huge reason as to why most jokes fly.  I should probably feel bad for liking a show or comic like this so much, but you know, you cant spell immature without Im mature or something, right?  Cool. You guys can use that one, its on the house.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Adventure Time: Fionna and Cake #1

Jan 2, 2013

Overall, this is an extremely well done first foray into this series and should be a great read for anyone who already loves the Adventure Time mythos or really just wants a great book featuring some amazing art duties. It also doesnt hurt that there is a backup story done by the very talented Noelle Stevenson (known as Gingerhazing on the internet) so this is really the perfect first issue to get you excited for more Fionna and Cake.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Amazing Spider-Man (1999) #695

Oct 3, 2012

There are not tons of standout moment s in this issue, but it is very solid from top to bottom. It lets you in on how big these events are going to be, but subtly points towards them without deciding to skip ahead to the end and trace back key moments as they go along. I like the slow simmer that Slott has started. When things get to boil over, everything is going to be an irreversible mess. Well, sort of, you know, considering this stuff might not matter in the Marvel Now! Ah heck, that's a debate for another day. Buy this book!

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Amazing Spider-Man (1999) #698

May 10, 2013

I dont know if this is what you were expecting or even waiting for, but Slott absolutely delivered on his promise. This was a terrific moment for the series and should really garner some interest from those who havent read an issue of ASM in a long time.  Things are going to definitely get a little crazier and you should definitely punch your ticket and hope on the ride.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Animal Man #10

May 10, 2013

Last week, I kind of admitted that I was getting a little tired of the formula that Animal-Man uses most issues and while we do get a break from that here, issue feels a little too much like filler. The Justice League Dark characters are not used particularly well, but hey, sometimes you've got to hit a sac fly to score a run and I think Lemire does that effectively here by giving us enough to excited for next month.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Animal Man #13

Oct 3, 2012

When it comes right down to it, this issue just doesn't get this event off with a bang. The prologue in issue 12 set things up nicely, but there was almost no follow through here. I guess I've just come to expect really big things from this team over this past year so an issue like this one is lower than the bar they've set for themselves. I'm still excited to get Animal Man next month, but this arc could potentially lose me on the series altogether.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Avengers Vs. X-Men #7

May 10, 2013

This is a really cool issue to be found in the thick of all of the battles in AvX and it really has kept me interested in where all of this is going to go. Issue 5 and 6 had ton of big moments in it, but its the deeper seeded issues that have me interested in what the Marvel universe will look like when all of this is said in done.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Batman (2011) #13

Oct 11, 2012

All-in-all, this was a pretty interesting beginning to the DITF arc.  It has good tension, the dialogue was pretty great and I really did want more, especially on the basis of that back up story.  While I am a little bit disappointed in some of the story bits, this easily has potential to be one of the more entertaining things I get my hands on the in weeks to come. 

View Issue       View Full Review
4
Batman (2011) #16

Jan 16, 2013

Im really hoping that this is one of those situations where this arc reads better in totality then it does as single issues. There is a giant web being spun here, but the mystery just is not pulling me in. I continue to hold out for something, anything to trigger in my head as to what Im missing that is making people rave about DotF, but for now I will continue to sit in the rain, without an umbrella wondering why Im still here.

View Issue       View Full Review
4
Batwoman #10

May 10, 2013

This definitely is the weakest issue of Batwoman to date, but Im willing to excuse it because I know that we all are bound to have situational factors affect the work that we do from time-to-time. I still really do recommend this series to everyone, but if you do inevitably pick up this issue or wait for the trade, just know that there is going to be a serious 20 page lull that will end soon enough.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Before Watchmen: Comedian #1

May 10, 2013

I think this is a very interesting angle and its one thats going to propel a lot of talk going forward. The other two Before Watchmen have been really fun so far, but this is the first issue Ive read that really has me interested in seeing something different. Heck, maybe I even will like Brian Azzarello by the time this is all done.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Before Watchmen: Dr. Manhattan #1

Aug 22, 2012

Against all of the other Watchmen books, Dr. Manhattan is probably neck and neck with Ozymandias for being my favourite entries. They not only manage to provide us with something new for the character, but also make sure not to forget its origin.   I wasnt so sure about where this story could actually go, but at this point the possibilities are limitless and I want to be on board the ride.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Before Watchmen: Nite Owl #2

Aug 1, 2012

There is no doubt that the characters of the Watchmen have always been terribly haunted by their pasts. Making those stories not only compelling, but fun at the same time, is no easy feat and something that will continue to draw into what Straczynski does with Nite-Owl. Issue 3 might not live up to this one, but it's definitely something that I'm going to look forward with a less cynical mind then I had going into this issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
4
Before Watchmen: Silk Spectre #2

Jul 18, 2012

My biggest problem with the Before Watchmen reboot is that things sort of just happen rather than anything really building and falling into place. This book gives you a villain without you hating him and doesnt provide you with a reason to be completely bothered by him because you might not be sure who Laurie is going to be from one panel to the next. I really hope that subsequent issues of this series are a little more linear, if only to give Laurie a real direction for the rest of the series. I really enjoyed issue 1, but for anyone who was hoping for a strong continuation in the story may be a little disappointed with this chapter.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Billy the Kids Old Timey Oddities #1

Oct 17, 2012

If you cant tell, I went pretty nuts over reading this book.  Its so much fun and this first issue is so strong in terms of its world building and characters, that if you ever wanted a completely irreverent Jonah Hex or just a weird sort of Western, then this is the book for you.  For my interests, its absolutely perfect and I think you should do yourself the favour of at least checking out the first issue. It is definitely worth your time.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Bravest Warriors #1

Oct 24, 2012

This series is easily going to be one of my favourites going forward and I really hope that it does very well for itself.  Like Adventure Time, its definitely not something just for kids and feels like its on a path that will make all of this comedy based on references be a less prevalent means to tell jokes.  Bravest Warriors is pretty great you guys, so go get it before its too late!

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Captain Marvel (2012) #2

Aug 15, 2012

While I cant say that this is a series that will ever wow people, it definitely does have something interesting going on with the art.  Ive heard some people say that it wasnt something that appealed to them, but if you in anyway think its cool then its worth picking up the book for the fights alone. I cant say for sure that Ill be returning for issue three, but overall, waiting for the trade might not be a bad idea (if youre into that sort of thing). 

View Issue       View Full Review
4
Charismagic (2013) #4

Aug 9, 2013

While I digress, seeing smaller publisher have to play the safe card with their stories feels unfortunate. To me, if you're independent, keep that spirit and stop trying to be DC and Marvel. Sure, these types of stories are marketed for different crowds and I really hope there is someone out that's really pumped every month for these books, but my Geiger counting was hitting Zero's all day; no energy effort. I think these books should be the breeding ground for experimentation with these universe's, but these seem to be the type's of books Hernadez likes to write and as E-I-C at Aspen, it seems to just be good enough.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Cyber Force #1

Oct 17, 2012

So thats about it really.  This is a really solid book and there really is no excuse for you not to get it.  With the first five issues being free you are basically getting an entire arc of a pretty cool story for nothing.  Youre on your computer right now; go to comiXology and get it dude!

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Daredevil (2011) #13

May 16, 2012

The issue doesn't deliver a whole lot in terms of excitement or memorable action, but it sets up what is definitely going to be an interesting next chapter in this series. The one question that continues to ring in my head is that time after time, Murdock proves that he is the man without fear, but how long can he continue being this risky?

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Daredevil (2011) #16

Aug 1, 2012

While this is not a content or action heavy issue of Daredevil, it continues to be an absolutely fantastic read every time out. I'm not sure there has been a character I've liked more recently and is something that you all should jump on immediately!

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Daredevil (2011) #19

Oct 17, 2012

While this arc probably doesnt hold up to the last one, I still really enjoyed this issue.  Its a little safe, but I hope that Foggy and Matt do stay apart even longer and things get a little darker.  Matt, despite being setup, needs to examine himself and his actions a little bit more and the end of this arc should hopefully touch on that.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Deadpool Kills the Marvel Universe #2

Aug 8, 2012

While this series isnt amazing by any stretch of the imagination, the overall package of writing, art (the cover for this series are amazing) and fun are pretty damned high.  If you, unlike me, can simply turn your brain off and take in this action-flick type story, then there is a whole lot to like here.  If youre the contemplative sort though, this might be something youll want to check out once it hits the dollar bins.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Gambit #2

Aug 29, 2012

There is a certain fear that Gambit could move into that middling zone where the series is fun, but lacks any sort of substance to keep you interested.  While its well written and very well drawn, youve read this type of story before and I dont have a lot of faith in it being anymore interesting then what this issue had to offer.  The bottom line is, Gambit is a fun character and the stories should be fun; so, if you enjoyed whats happened so far, then you should definitely stick around.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Ghosts #1

Oct 31, 2012

The other stories range from campy, to emotional, endearing and humourous, but that Joe Kubert is really worth forking over the money for this anthology.  It feels like one of the most honest and genuine stories Ive read in a while and does come from a real place.  While I may have said that you could pass on this book if you arent in the Halloween mood, it is probably worth reading or taking a look at if youve ever appreciated Kubert or want a piece of one of his last works.

View Issue       View Full Review
4
Great Pacific #1

Nov 14, 2012

This is something of a coming of age tale, but Chas does not come off as being genuine enough or having the strength of character to fight for himself and his belief to make you want to follow him on this journey. Chas aside, I didn't find myself enjoying any of the other characters and can definitely see this as the biggest roadblock going forward. While I can see this being an interesting story overall for its subject matter, it's a little bit harder to recommend over the lack of character definition for this story's lead. He really isn't endearing or relatable, so the one thing that can make or break a story is definitely a deal breaker.

View Issue       View Full Review
4
Happy #1

Sep 26, 2012

To me this book is a complete and utter pass.  Not since I read Brilliant #1 have I read a creator-owned book that left me so unfulfilled from one of my favourite writers. I guess sometimes Morrison just needs to write something crazy, but if no-one can rein him in, then I suppose this is the result.  Im still a Morrison fan, but I have no problem admitting that I wont be following along with the rest of this story.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Hawkeye Vol. 2 #2

Sep 5, 2012

There really is not a single dull moment in this issue.  Its witty, the art is terrific and the characters are very well realized.  You know where the series is going both physically and emotionally and its one that just about anyone could pick up and enjoy.  Just dont get too hung up on the whole any character could be in this thing.   This is a uniquely human, Hawkeye story and its fantastic.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Justice League (2011) #16

Jan 23, 2013

To its credit, the action in this book is top notch and Ivan Reis panelling is excellently done. I really loved the amount of action and depth of strength you feel drawing out of some of the character designs. Other than that, this issue, while integral to the arc, wasnt all the great for me. This issue feels like a filler issue and couldve benefited from a little more action to pace itself along a little bit; nonetheless, its a decent book overall and wont hurt the overall story if you choose to read this arc all at once.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Lets Play God #1

May 10, 2013

For what it is, Lets Play God is a reasonably well told story.  It might be a little too safe, especially when you want to grab peoples attention in a first issue, but I did like it.  Sticking within the confines of a premise, so as to not turn people off makes sense, but the market for these books is pretty crowded and needed something more for me to really recommend it. 

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Mega Man #17

Sep 12, 2012

For what it is, these Mega Man books are really fun for people who love Mega Man.  The ability to have Guts Man have a functional conversation with Dr. Light is pretty hilarious to me, but it probably means nothing to anyone who doesnt have some sort of reverence for the source material.  In the end, the book is sort of middling, but I do think there is something to be enjoyed by newcomers and fans alike.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Multiple Warheads: Alphabet to Infinity #1

May 10, 2013

I love the overall look of the world and how happy the main characters are and how cool the anti-hero, I suppose, of the story is. Its genuinely refreshing to just have a story where the personalities of the characters can elevate everything in the world to a point that all the other absurd things feel more cohesive then obtrusive. While it doesnt quite have the scope of something likeSaga, the two have a similar feel and tone, which leads me to think that fans of that book may enjoy this one. I know that this might not be for everyone and has its technical problems, but this is the type of book that gets me excited to read comics. Its easy to recommend this book and I hope you enjoy it as much as I did.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Number 13 #0

Nov 21, 2012

Issue 0 of Number 13 is a near perfect entry to this mini-series.  It hits all the right notes on creating a world new, but I definitely would have liked a little bit more mystery to who Number 13 is.  This doesnt feel like anything terribly new, but it should find a home with those who enjoy character development first and a fleshed out world second.  This should turn into a worthwhile read, even for those tired of that whole wasteland, thing.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Perhapanauts: Danger Down Under #1

Nov 7, 2012

While Im not that big of a fan of this first issue, there is definitely enough here to draw you in and keep you interested down the line. As a four issue mini-series, this is something Id be more likely to pick up as a trade, but definitely cant see myself strung along in some chunks.

View Issue       View Full Review
4
Prophet #27

Jul 25, 2012

I still do have faith that Prophet is going to be something special, but if youve been keeping along to date, then I think you can definitely pass on this one and feel okay going into issue 28 next month.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Red Hood And The Outlaws #0

Sep 19, 2012

Scott Lobdell does the right thing here and makes sure that you get a real sense of who Jason Todd was in order for you to sympathize with who he becomes later on in the ongoing series.  That being said the issue is really solid and while it isnt wildly entertaining, it is a very good primer for everyone interested in the series.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Revival #2

Aug 15, 2012

While this is definitely not The Walking Dead, there are definitely some beats that feel very close to it.  The tone is sombre, the pace is slow, it has the undead, but, like the walking dead, those malevolent figures are not at the forefront of every issue.  If Revival can manage to be even half as good The Walking Dead, then I really think were going to be in for a treat here.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Road to Oz #1

Sep 5, 2012

Being the first issue of an eight issue arc, the Road to Oz has plenty of time to grow into a bigger more whimsical adventure, but for now it serves the series to be low key and grounded.  Its an absolute joy to read and if any part of you enjoys the Oz universe, terrific art or charming dialogue between a young girl and her new drifter friend then grab a book buddy, because this is for you!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Saga #5

May 10, 2013

It should be clear at this point that I think that if you are not reading Saga yet that you should absolutely head out and get it now. I think that first issue is on something like its 8th or 9th printing, so you have no excuse! Get to your LCS and start buying now!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Saga #7

May 10, 2013

What is there left to say about Saga that hasnt been said?  Its probably one of the best ongoing series right now and definitely requires your attention if it doesnt have it already.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Spider-Men #4

Aug 8, 2012

For fans of the Ultimate Spider-Man stories, this issue is an absolute must.  People who havent been following along with that series probably wont get too much out of it, but from my perspective this book is perfect.  Like I said, its really brave, to me anyway, for someone to have a book be entirely dialogue as the penultimate issue of an arc, so I tip my hat to Mr. Bendis and excitedly await the final issue!

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Steed and Mrs. Peel Vol. 2 #0

Aug 29, 2012

All-in-all Steed and Mrs. Peel is a pretty interesting book. Its funny, the story demands a bit of patience, if not a tiny scrap if reverence for the source material, but most importantly has a heart.  Too often do I read stories that feel like they are a job for the writer, but when it comes to this one it feels as though this is a labour of love for Waid.  Thankfully, Steed and Mrs. Peel is probably pretty different than anything youre currently reading at the moment and if you want something different, albeit not in the abstract sense; then I recommend that you add Steed and Mrs. Peel to your pull-list.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Manhattan Projects #6

Sep 12, 2012

Its sort of hard to find fault in anything in this series.  Its extremely well written, its drawn beautifully and the colours are fantastic.  Despite how brilliant series like Batman, Saga and the Walking Dead have been this year, for me, the Manhattan Projects blows them all away.  If you like what if stories, and this is a big what if, then youve got to read this book.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Massive #5

Oct 10, 2012

There is honestly nothing I can really complain about in this issue.  There is good character development, the dialogue is fantastic and this version of the world is great to visit, even if I dont want to ever live in it.  This is a story that I am full board on and I think its definitely something to check out.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Ultimate Comics Spider-Man Vol. 2 #15

Sep 19, 2012

While Im sure some people will cringe at certain moments in the dialogue of this issue, Id like to think that anyone reading USM at this point are all big fans of bad puns and the content being a little more light hearted than brooding.  BMB has created an eminently likable character in Miles Morales and its something I will continue to come back to each month.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Uncanny Avengers #2

Nov 28, 2012

At the end of the day, this sort of Marvel story lacks a certain appeal to me.  The war between humans and mutants will always be a huge factor in these story lines, but I just dont see the point of it when we came off a sizable mutant-on-mutant war.  Sometimes there is nothing wrong with going into a new story knowing that here is the villain, hes going to do something villainous, thats pretty cray.  I think people will definitely find things to enjoy here, but Im personally not interested in it.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Uncanny X-Men (2011) #13

May 10, 2013

I really don't want to go into many details about how this book ends or sets up the remaining issues of AvX, but Gillen lets us know that the phoenix is every existential, meta-physicists wet dream. It is a re-curing event happening, out of human control that is bound to the perpetual change and betterment of life. Whether the course wants to be corrected or not, the Phoenix will rise in anticipation of change and will not be stopped. This is an absolutely fascinating premise that I have to admit I wasn't aware of, but as any cynical person would tell you, the idea of a reality where all events always lead down a single path, regardless of our decisions, this is kind of amazing. I'm probably reading into this a little too much, but I'm always way into stories that end badly for the characters that we all love. If Marvel wants to do something interesting with AvX and everything they've been building up, then I would love to see some universe changing events occur

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Web of Spider-Man (1985) #129.1

Aug 22, 2012

While I can definitely admit that I really enjoyed the story, Im not sure whether or not Ill stick along with it. This version of Peter Parker was not one that I really enjoyed and at the end of the day, my Spider-Man enjoyment lives and dies by his writing. I think there definitely is enough here to enjoy, but it should be said that youll have to make some concessions to really want to keep along with it. I want to continue reading this in order to expose myself to characters I have little knowledge of, but if youve gotten your fill of Brooklyn Avengers or lesser known Spider-Man villains, this book might be a pass.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
X-Treme X-Men Vol. 2 #1

Jul 25, 2012

Foiled expectations aside, this story definitely has potential and could really turn into something really cool in the long run. While there are things that definitely bugged me, I think the early growing pains are over and were there merely as a causal reason for the multiverse to be opened and for this story to justifiably occur. It might not be the best book youll read this week, but I think its worth checking back with in the months to come.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

April

March

More