Ray W's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Pop Culture Uncovered, Major Spoilers Reviews: 120
8.4Avg. Review Rating

8.0
2000AD #2021

Mar 7, 2017

Kingdom follows Gene Hackman (yes, that's his name); a genetically modified dog, who has been woken up from slumber by Lee Sower. This tale has been a slow burn, but has been getting better with each Prog. This issue drops a bombshell on who Lee really is, and it causes a conundrum for Gene. Who can he trust, and what will he do now? I guess we will have to find out in the next Prog. The art has been consistent throughout each Prog, and taps into a Cronenbergstyle of body horror. The colors also added to the dark and moody tone of the story.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
2000AD #2050

Sep 30, 2017

Following the fall of the resistance base, Judge Fairfax is taken to the capital of Deadworld. Ive been enjoying this story, and seeing how people are surviving in this harsh environment. Fairfax takes a backseat here, but instead focuses on Sister Psiren. Psiren is dealing with the effects of how she used to be. Kek-W seems to be planting seeds for things to come. I love the ending, as Fairfax comes face to face with an old friend. Kendalls art is haunting, and makes the capital of Deadworld horrifying. His visuals makes the various characters look decayed, and malformed. The colors go hand in hand with the art, and adds to the mystique of this world. The lettering was good, and I like how the word bubbles would change, when the Dark Judges were speaking.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
2000AD #2050

Oct 1, 2017

Following the fall of the resistance base, Judge Fairfax is taken to the capital of Deadworld. Ive been enjoying this story of the Dark Judges ruling over a dystopian society. This new arc feels like its taking its time to set things up. I like that because it gives time for character development on the people affected from the last arc. There's definitely seeds beingplanted here that may come into play down the line. Kendall's art is haunting and makes the capital of Deadworld horrifying. His visuals make the various denizens appeardecayed and malformed. The colors go hand in hand with the art and add to the mystique of this world. The lettering is terrific, and I like how the word bubbles would change, when the Dark Judges were speaking.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
A&A: The Adventures of Archer and Armstrong #1

Mar 17, 2016

Archer and Armstrong return with a bang and it doesnt miss a beat. Rafer Roberts did a phenomenal job on the story and it feels like the Archer and Armstrong of old. Some may not like the art of David Lafuente, but I loved the uniqueness of it.The colors look amazing and captures the tone of the story. If you dont know much about Archer and Armstrong, this may not be the best to know about them. If you go in without knowledge of the characters, it is an enjoyable first issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
A&A: The Adventures of Archer and Armstrong #12

Feb 1, 2017

A&A: The Adventures of Archer & Armstrong #12 is entertaining and ends with a few questions that need to be answered. The writing, colors, and artwork well together on this final issue. Im definitely looking forward to more Archer and Armstrong in the future. So check them out in Divinity lll Escape from Gulag 396 #1, coming out in March.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Action Man: Revolution #1

Oct 26, 2016

If you want a fun issue that ties into the Revolution storyline, check this title out. Its only a one-off, so if you like Action Man give it a shot. The story is good and has enough action to keep you hooked.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
All-New Inhumans #1

Dec 5, 2015

All New Inhumans was a great first issue. The team of Soule and Asmus did an excellent job on this title. We get new characters, old characters and new threats. The stories were interesting andthe artwork from Stefano Caselli and Nico Leon with colors by Andres Mossa were filled with pop. If you're new to the Inhumans, check this title out.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
American Vampire: Second Cycle #5

Oct 2, 2014

I love horror and American Vampire has delivered on that. Snyder really brings more mystery to the "Gray Trader" who has been laying in wait over the many years. Creating a story around just two men during the "Gold Rush" was an interesting choice and it really delivers.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
American Vampire: Second Cycle #6

Feb 5, 2015

Overall this was a good issues of American Vampire and I can't wait to see what comes next. The story by Scott Snyder is really good and the artwork from Rafael Albuquerque are really great to see. Some of the characters faces are a not as detailed but that doesn't take away from the great story and art. Colors from Dave McCaig are really great meshing well with Albuquerque's work. I'm actually curious as to how everything is going to unfold in the end when they face the the beast.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Angel City #3

Dec 14, 2016

Angel City #3 isnt bad, I had a few issue with the title, but overall it was an enjoyable read. The writing is great, art is superb, and colors shine. Also, check out the information at the end of the comic about Girl 27.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Angela: Asgard's Assassin #1

Dec 5, 2014

Angela " Asgard's Assassin was a really great issue filled with action, storytelling, and great moments. The writing from Kieron Gillen and Marguerite Bennett was great. The stories really expanded on who Angela is and how she operates. The artwork from both stories was amazing. The action and mood setting from the art really gave this story more solid. Also we do get to see the reason why Odinson and the gang are after Angela at the end of the story. The stories are a bit exposition heavy but its not to much to take away from the issue itself. I really enjoyed this issue and will definitely keep reading.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Another Castle #1

Mar 8, 2016

Andrew Wheeler did a terrific job on this first issue. The dialog waswitty and fun and the storyhas an awesome heroine even if the villain and his nefarious plot arelittle cliche. Paulina Ganucheau captures the tone of the story perfectly with her art and colors. I really enjoyed reading this title, even though I just picked it up on a whim. Im definitely sticking around to see how this new series plays out in the end.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Aquaman: Rebirth #1

Jun 8, 2016

Aquaman Rebirth #1 is great and is new reader friendly. The writing is superb with introducing him and his supporting cast. The story is good, but the villain's plot is flimsy because its been done before. Also, the story references an old event, but doesnt detract from the story. The art and colors just looks astounding. If youre new to the DC Universe this is a DC Rebirth title worth checking out.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Aquila #2

May 21, 2015

This was an excellent issue as it finishes off the meeting of the The Spartan and fall of Londinium, putting Aquila one step closer to his fated meeting with Ammit The Devourer. The story finished well that connects the arc from the first issue and has set up more to come from this character in the next few issues. This story is tailored for more mature readers because of the violence so be mindful of that. Otherwise, two issues in, I certainly can't wait to see where this story is heading.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Bloodshot U.S.A. #2

Nov 23, 2016

Bloodshot USA #2 is a fun thrill ride, that delivers on writing, action, and art. If youre new to Bloodshot or just want to check out more Valiant, definitely check out this title, and miniseries. I cant wait to see how this story wraps up and concludes.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Bloodshot: Salvation #1

Sep 21, 2017

Bloodshot Salvation #1 is off to a slow start, and sets up an interesting story going forward.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Book Of Death #3

Sep 24, 2015

Book of Death #3was an enjoyable read and the climax is going to be an interesting ordeal. The writing is concise and covers the missing pieces of the earlier issues. The art and colors create some beautiful imagery and keep the story movingalong. How Master Darque makes his appearance is questionable, but I hope it's addressed in the finale or some explanation to how he just appears out of nowhere.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Britannia: We Who Are About to Die #1

Apr 26, 2017

Overall, Britannia: We Who Are About To Die #1 is a great follow-up to the first Britannia, and I cant wait for the next issue to drop.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Brutal Nature #1

May 19, 2016

Brutal Nature is a surprisingly good issue, from the creative team of Luciano Saracino and Ariel Olivetti. The writing is great, and art reflects that. The story is easy to get into and gets you invested in the main character. The painted art looks beautiful, but there are some weird looking faces. This is only the first issue and I enjoyed it. Ill definitely bechecking out the next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Carnage (2015) #1

Nov 12, 2015

Overall, Carnage #1 was a fantastic first issue and cant wait for the next issue to come out. The story was clearly defined along with the art and colors enhance the story itself. The characters are interesting, especially the return of Eddie Brock. Since he didnt get into combat this issue, I cant wait to see him get unleashed against Carnage. If you're a fan of Carnage like this guy, pick this title up and give it a try.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Chew #55

Feb 25, 2016

Honestly, this issue could have ended three pages earlier, but it was still really good. John Layman and Rob Guillory did a fantastic job on this issue. Everything works and flows together like a nice savory steak. Were getting close to the end of the series and I cant wait to see how everything ends.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Chew: Demon Chicken Poyo #1

Apr 21, 2016

Demon Chicken Poyo is fun, goofy, and downright entertaining. The writing is good and colors look hot. If you love Chew, Poyo, or Santa, pick this title up.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Convergence: Suicide Squad #1

Apr 16, 2015

I really found this issue to be an interesting take on the Suicide Squad having them go against on of the most powerful heroes of Kingdom Come and make a siege on his fortress to take him down. With the new additions to the team it should be fun seeing them work or dont work together. The dialogue works well and gives us a reason to wonder why some of the others are back with Waller and what they were doing while the dome was active.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Curb Stomp #1

Feb 26, 2015

This was a great read and featured some strong ladies with varying personalities. The writing was good giving some depth to each character of the group. The art from Devaki Neogi is really good giving us a good visualization of the various characters and times they are in. The colors from Neil Lalonde is really good. I really enjoyed this first issue and looking forward to the next issue of the series.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Darkness Visible #1

Feb 22, 2017

Darkness Visible #1, is a solid title with an intriguing story, colors, and great visuals. I kinda wanted more from the story, especially the villain, but the character interactions between the father and daughter is superb. The villain's scheme was underwhelming, but the lead up to it is so good. Overall, if you like demons and humans living together, side by side, check this out thistitle.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Dead Inside #2

Jan 28, 2017

Overall, I like the book, but the art could use some improvements. The writing and colors are a highlight of the issue. If you like crime drama, this is a good little title to check out.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Dead of Winter #2

Sep 13, 2017

Overall, Dead of Winter #2 was enjoyable, and Ill definitely be checking out the next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Dead Vengeance #1

Oct 8, 2015

If you like horror, crime, and mystery this is straight up your alley with a great story, artwork, colors, and inks. With only a few issues left, Im curious how he ends up in the vat of water.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Death Be Damned #1

Feb 9, 2017

Overall this was a solid issue with some great storytelling, but weak on the art. Ill definitely keep reading to see how this whole story ends.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Death of Hawkman #1

Oct 5, 2016

Death of Hawkman #1 is off to a strong start as Adam Strange tries to piece together what has happened to Rann. The team working on this did an incredible job on this first issue, and I cant wait to read the next one. If you're a fan of either of these heroes or the creative team, check this title out.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Deathlok #1

Oct 30, 2014

did not find anything bad with this new number one at all except there may be more questions than answers but I will give it a few issues to establish what's going on. The writing and art was very good in this issue. I enjoyed this issue of Deathlok and I cannot wait to see what comes next from the team of Nathan Edmondson and Mike Perkins on this title. I definitely want to know more about Henry Hayes.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Deathlok #3

Dec 19, 2014

Overall this was a good issue of Deathlok. The story was good giving more of the story and Andrea hope trying to figure out location of Deathlok along with other characters. The art by Mike Perkins has been really good on this series and I have been enjoying his work. I really never heard of Mike Perkins before this series and now I have to go back and check out some of his other works. Andy Troy's colors really bring out the tech and characters. My only knock would be for the relationship with his daughter that has not been really fleshed out yet.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Divinity #1

Feb 12, 2015

Overall this book was interesting and Im really intrigued to see what happens next. The power that the character wields could make the plot very interesting. Matt Kindt has really solid story to give us along with the art from Trevor Hairsine. David Barons colors are really bring out the art. The story flows well and has really good pacing. The monologue that also happens is really clever once you get to the end.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Divinity III: Stalinverse #1

Dec 21, 2016

Divinity III Stalinverse is a good set up issue for whats to come. The solid story and writing makes this title a very interesting read. The art isnt bad, but could be improved upon, and the colors make this issue standout. Im definitely excited for the next issue of Divinity III Stalinverse, and the tie-ins.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Earth 2: Society #6

Nov 19, 2015

If you enjoy the story so far, this was a decent issue. I enjoyed it, but it could have been better overall. Wilson does a good job of trying to make Jimmyout to be the bad guy, but the issue doesnt give you enough to warrant it. Introducing Hourman and Johnny Sorrow, was a nice way to integrate these two into the new world. The art was well done and the colors looked amazing.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Ei8ht #1

Feb 19, 2015

I really found this issue being very good and not telling you what you want to know right off the bat, before giving you more info in later issues. Mike Johnson's writing is very good here and gives just a taste before letting you get know the two different worlds. We don't get to know a lot about the main character but theres something there in his story. The art is very good as well along with the small color palette of colors given. The line-work is great and the characters look very good and the world of the past and meld look really interesting. I didn't really find anything bad about this first issue but I cannot wait to read more.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Elektra (2014) #10

Jan 22, 2015

Overall this was good issue introducing a new character and I forgot that there is only one more issue left after this issue. Ill say I havent read much of Elektra but I have really enjoyed this run to the end. The dialogue from the character s and the art is some of the best Ive seen. An old foe come back for revenge, a surprising reveal, and well you can never have enough ninjas in one panel. The only thing some may not like that this issue may rush things a bit since this is the issue before it all ends. I still enjoyed it and wish it was not ending at all. Elektra has become one of my favorite characters through this series.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Elektra (2014) #11

Mar 26, 2015

The issue was a great send off to a great series from this team. The writing from Blackman is really good but with an ending like this, it could have been made a tad bit longer. The art from Del Mundo is fantastic and has been a great highlight in this throughout this series and ending it with a bang. The coloring from Marco D'Alfonso is really great and shows how dark this issue is and the violence that encompasses it. Its sad that this series is coming to an end but it really was a great run.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Everafter #5

Jan 4, 2017

Everafter: From the Pages of Fables #5 ends with a solid conclusion to this arc, and sets up some interesting elements that may happen in the future. The writers do an impressive job of giving you an engaging story that leaves you hooked. The art is great, and the colors bring it all together. One criticism I do have, is down the line, I hope that not all the big threats will end with a deal. If you're a fan of the Fable universe or The Wolf Among Us, check this new series out.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Fistful Of Blood #1

Oct 22, 2015

For a first issue, it wasnt bad and gives you enough to want more. Characters are interesting and our woman with no name is badass. Eastman gives you a simple story that is easy to follow which works. Simon Bisleys art is fantastic and gorgeous to look at. Tomi Varga works his magic on the colors and makes every scene look rustic and dusty. This is a matures title so be careful when picking the title up, but if you like westerns and zombies check it out.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
From Under Mountains #1

Oct 2, 2015

From Under Mountains #1, is a good issue, that gives us a taste of the 8house universe with a simple story and nice artwork that matches the tone of the world. With a few more issues, I'm curious how the story will play out. Ill definitely try to catch up with the other 8house titles to see how everything moves into place and get a better understanding of everything.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.6
Frostbite #1

Sep 28, 2016

Frostbite #1 is an enjoyable read, and introduces some new elements in a world covered in ice. The art is phenomenal and the colors bring out the desolate world. If you're a fan of Joshua Williamson, Jason Shawn Alexander, or Luis NCT, you should check this title out.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
G.I. Joe (2016) #1

Dec 28, 2016

To recap: G.I. Joe #1 was a good first issue, and I enjoyed it quite a bit. The story is solid, and makes you care about these characters. Showing the new status quo for the team was nice, and the ending has got me interested to see where the story goes next. The art is okay, but its not the strongest thing in the title.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Generation Zero #1

Aug 26, 2016

For a set-up issue, this is definitely a solid #1. I can't wait to get into the next installment of Generation Zero.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Ghostbusters 101 #3

May 24, 2017

Ghostbusters 101 #3 was a fun issue, and sets up how the two teams will stop the merging of their worlds. If you're a fan of the Ghostbusters, pick this issue up.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Ghostbusters International #10

Oct 23, 2016

Ghostbusters International continues to be a great title, and I look forward to seeing how this arc ends. The villains' evil scheme is quitegoodand makes you anxious to read the next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Godshaper #2

May 10, 2017

Overall Godshaper #2 is a great title that people should check out.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Grindhouse: Drive In, Bleed Out #1

Nov 14, 2014

I enjoyed this first issue of Grindhouse Drive In, Bleed Out, having a really interesting albeit a bit vague story of what is going or who are these killers that appear out of nowhere. The writing and art really shine in this grim tale in a snowy town. The dialogue of the characters is entertaining and the relationship of the two characters really pulls you in a bit on who they are. The killers that appear in this issue and the supernatural elements brings some chilling scenes in. The colors are really astounding and give life to this dark tale. I cannot wait to to see what happens at the end of this tale.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Hellbreak #2

Apr 30, 2015

This was a good read, with some improvements it can be better but it's only issue two. If you're a fan of horror and love Cullen Bunn's work, check this title out.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Hellbreak #4

Jun 24, 2015

I enjoyed this issue and can't wait for the next issue to see what happens next. Having the motives of Kerberos and the people that Jenner meets could have been at the end. The writing is good and the plot moves along at a steady pace. The art is good and the creatures look great. The colors help set the scenes, especially when in Jenner's dream state. I want to see how far this series will go.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Illuminati #5

Mar 24, 2016

Illuminati #5 is a fun book with a ragtag team of villains. The writing is great, giving each member time to shine in the title. Kev Walker's art was good, even with some of the art beingless detailed in certain partsof the issue. John Rauch's colors looked excellent and worked with the tone of the issue. Overall, I enjoyed the title and I cant wait for the Illuminati to head to Pleasantville.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Inhuman #12

Feb 26, 2015

This was a good issue of Inhumans setting up the stage for whats to come in the next few issues of the series before Secret Wars. The writing was good from Charles Soule, given some depth to the Medusa and Black Bolt relationship. The art from this issue is good but could have been better. Im actually kind of curious to what Lineage has in store for the Inhumans down the line. Overall this was a good issues that was fun.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
James Bond #2

Apr 7, 2017

James Bond #2 was a fine issue, but the plot couldve moved faster for my taste. I liked the art, but some of the characters faces looked off. The lettering and colors were solid. I hope the next issue picks up a bit more, than this one did.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
James Bond: Hammerhead #2

Nov 9, 2016

James Bond: Hammerhead 2 is a solid issue, but with this being only issue two in the story, I did want more from it. The writing and the art is terrific, but the colors be a bit brighter.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Judge Dredd #24

Oct 16, 2014

I really did not find anything wrong with this issue except for it being very drawn out with the Dark Judges and seeing less time with Council of five of the moon. Also seeing Dredd go back and forth between the ooze just to get the fabled exorcist rounds could have been done in this issue earlier. Overall this is a really good issue and only minor complaints to it but I cannot wait for the next arc dealing with Dredd as a fugitive.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Judge Dredd #27

Jan 29, 2015

I enjoyed this issue; It was a fun and action packed. We get to see how far Judge Cal would go in order to keep his seat as the Chief Judge and getting rid of Dredd. The dialogue and art was consistent and keeps me coming back to this book every month. Im curious though as to how this is going to end and whats next for Judge Dredd after this arc.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Judge Dredd #29

Apr 28, 2015

This was great setup issue for the beginning of the Crowd Control arc which brings back Judge Dredd trying to stop a dangerous threat to the city. The characters are well written and interactions between characters are nice especially between Chief Judge Cal and Judge Dredd. For a setup issue it had a nice pace and shows that with Mega-City One there is always a dangerous foe to combat. The aftermath from the last arc is present and I wonder how this arc will play out. The art by Nelson Daniel is great with some great details to characters and a very funny scene at the beginning before the droids begin to attack. I hope Duane Swierczynski doesnt make this arc too long because the Dark Judges arc lasted a bit too long for my taste. Overall this was a good issue and I cant wait to see what happens next.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Judge Dredd #30

May 28, 2015

This was a good issue with great art that has been very consistent. The dialogue is fast and to the point but gives you a breather to make you feel the impact of the story. Swierczynski delivered a nice wrap up to this last arc. The interaction of characters worked well together to serve their purpose. I didn't find anything wrong with the art and has been consistent with the series as a whole. Characters look great with distinct styles and colors made the panels look great. This was definitely one of my favorite series that IDW has put out. Judge Dredd can still be found in the ongoing 2000AD programs.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Judge Dredd (2015) #1

Dec 17, 2015

Overall this was a decent first issue of the relaunch of Judge Dredd. The story is interesting and colors were good but the art needs some improvements. I hope the title improves in the second issue, but I cant really give this new number one a high score.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Judge Dredd: Deviations #1

Mar 22, 2017

This was an entertaining one-shot coming from IDWs Deviations titles, and serves as a satisfying follow-up to the Cry of the Wolf story. The price for the title is pretty high, so if you like Judge Dredd and werewolves, pick this up. Also, if you want to read Judge Dredd – Cry of the Wolf, IDW has reprinted that storyline, whichcomes out Wednesday.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Justice League of America: The Ray Rebirth #1

Jan 18, 2017

Justice League of America: The Ray Rebirth #1is an overall solid issue that reintroduces us to the character of the Ray. The writing, art, and colors are amazing, and makes this issue shine like a ray of hope in the darkness of the DC Universe.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Lady Killer #1

Jan 8, 2015

This was a good first issue of this five part mini series from Dark Horse. The writing is really good and the art is well, I have no complaints about the art or the colors at all. This title is really well put together. I definitely will be picking this title up when it drops next month.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Lady Killer #3

Mar 5, 2015

I enjoyed this issue and it's taking a nice turn to see what happens to our lovely character at the end. The writing is really good with the interplay between being a wife and a assassin. The interaction between characters are done welland the art from Joelle Jones is always good to see. Just two more issues are left in this miniseries and Iam looking forward to the next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Lady Killer 2 #4

Mar 8, 2017

Lady Killer 2 #4 is still awesome, and I can't wait to finally see how this mini-series ends next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Lady Killer 2 #5

Aug 30, 2017

If youve been following Lady Killer 2 so far, this was a fantasticfinale issue. With the reveal at the end of this issue, I cant wait to see how the next series will begin.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Lobster Johnson: The Forgotten Man (One Shot) #1

Apr 7, 2016

Lobster Johnson Forgotten Man is a good, but albeit predictable story with amazing looking artwork and colors. I did enjoy reading this issue though and Ill be definitely be checking out whats next for Lobster Johnson.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Lobster Johnson: The Glass Mantis #1

Dec 31, 2015

I loved this one-shot and it makes me want to go read more of Lobster Johnson. The story is straightforward with some supernatural elements and accessible for nonreaders of the title. The story, art, and colors are great. I wasnt expecting it to be so good. If you like Hellboy and BPRD, you will like this one-shot.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Lone Wolf 2100 #2

Feb 4, 2016

Lone Wolf 2100 #2 has a good story, art, colors, and tender moments. The story seems familiar, but it keeps itself interesting because ofthe characters. Even though Itto is an android, he cares for this little girl and wants to see her when the cure is developed. Im definitely sticking around to finish of the next to issues of this mini-series.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Manifest Destiny #20

Jun 17, 2016

Manifest Destiny #20 hasnt disappointed me yet and continues to bring more mystery to the series. The story, art, and colors are impeccable. I cant wait to see how the next issue begins.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Manifest Destiny #30

Aug 10, 2017

Overall, a great end to another arc of Manifest Destiny, and I cant wait to see how the next one starts.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Mars Attacks: Occupation #4

Jun 29, 2016

This issue of Mars Attacks Occupation #4 is good, but does have its flaws. It feels like Ive read the story before and some of the twists, you can see coming with some guess work. The art is drawn well and colors look captures the tone of the world perfectly. With only one issue left, Im curious how the story will unfold. Also, the $3.99 price tag is a bit much.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Martian Manhunter (2015) #1

Jun 18, 2015

Rob Williams set up a nice story with an interesting character. Showing us that there's more to J'onn J'onzz is always refreshing. Having a threat that is all over the world is going to be challenging to deal with. There is a character that appears at the beginning that may play a part in all this. The story captured my attention and the art reinforces the issue. As a first issue, it was a great read and had enough for me to keep reading it.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Nancy Drew And The Hardy Boys: The Big Lie #4

Jun 21, 2017

Overall, Nancy Drew and The Hardy Boys: The Big Lie #4 is a good title that if you're a fan of the characters you might want to check out.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Negative Space #1

Jul 8, 2015

The team of Ryan K. Lindsay and Owen Gweni did an amazing job on constructing a great issue. The story and artwork go hand in hand with each other. After the reveal at the end of the issue, I can't wait to see how the next issue lays out.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
New Suicide Squad #18

Mar 10, 2016

New Suicide Squad #18 compliments the last issue well, and sets up some interesting things to come for the squad members. Tim Seeley is working his magic on this series and Juan Ferreyra manages to keep pace with him. The story is better than I was expecting, even with the larger amount of exposition going on, and the art and colors mesh together to create a unique style that captures the story. In some scenes, the characters dont look as good, but that doesnt detract too much from the book. Overall, I enjoyed this issue and cant wait to see how the Suicide Squad deals with their current predicament.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Nighthawk #1

May 27, 2016

Nighthawk #1 gets you right into the story and makes good use of the dark hero. The writing is solidand gets you right into the story. The villain is less than stellar, and the art, while not to my liking, worked for this issue. Ill definitely stick around to see where this story goes.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Ninjak #10

Dec 12, 2015

Ninjak #10 is a nice reintroduction to the DeadSide. The story is simple and brings us to a new side of DeadSide as well. Interaction and dialog between the characters are great. Artwork for both stories is good at best and colors lend well to both stories. I didnt find this setup issue to be strong but if a few things were changed it could have been great. Im curious how the story will end, so Ill stick around.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Predator vs. Judge Dredd vs. Aliens #2

Aug 31, 2016

Predator vs. Judge Dredd vs. Aliens #2, is definitely a title to check out if youre into these characters. The writing is solid, the art is amazing, and the colors just brings it all together. You definitely want to check out the last page of the issue, because it's killer.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Predator vs. Judge Dredd vs. Aliens #3

Dec 7, 2016

Predator vs. Judge Dredd vs. Aliens #3 is still a superb title, and if you're a fan of either character, you're going to enjoy this title. The writing is solid, the art is amazing, and the colors being this issue together. The villain's plan is still a bit weak for me, but the ending does make me want to see how it all ends.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Predator vs. Judge Dredd vs. Aliens #4

Jun 14, 2017

Overall, this crossover was fun and enjoyable. Im curious if Darkhorse has any more crossovers down the line because, I would love to see the Terminator vs. Judge Dredd.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Predator: Hunters #1

May 3, 2017

If you're a Predator fan, you can enjoy this title for what it is, but its mostly set-up for whats to come in the title. Other than that the art and colors save the book for me.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Predator: Hunters #4

Aug 2, 2017

The writing and dialog are just okay. There are a few moments with some nice character development, which makes you feel for some of the hunters. I do have some complaints about the issue though. I would've liked for this book to have a little more content to it, and moved a lot slower. The story goes by pretty quickly, and there are a lot of nameless soldiers that just die. If it was just a small amount of characters, it could make the story much tighter than it is now.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Reanimator #1

Apr 8, 2015

I liked this issue and it sets up more than meets the eye between West and Greene. We may get to know why West has an interest in this character and why this cult needs West in the long run. The writing of West was good and Greene was nice. Susan Greene is a very good character that can hold her own against some drug dealers. The art and colors work great together in this macabre issue dealing with more than just a cult.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Red Line #2

Apr 12, 2017

Redline #2 is overall a great issue and has me excited to see what happens next.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Redneck #3

Jun 28, 2017

Redneck #3 has a really incredible story that is bogged down by the art. Im going to stick with it though, and see if it improves down the line.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Redneck #5

Aug 23, 2017

I enjoyed Redneck #5, and it's still one of my favorite series this year. The only thing I didnt like was the art. It could be better, but its just fine.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Rock Candy Mountain #3

Jun 7, 2017

If you want a comic thats about butt-kicking hobos and the Devil, check this story out.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Rot & Ruin #2

Oct 24, 2014

I did not really find anything bad about this issue. The writing brings you in and lets you get to know these characters. The characters are likeable and have interesting stories furthermore; the characters are strong but also still have morals to them. This is a really good read and if you like "The Walking Dead" or anything zombie related pick this up. It's only two issues in so it will not be hard to catch up.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Rumble #2

Jan 22, 2015

I found this issue to be really good but the story itself is very vague on what's happening. I actually didnt even know the character Bobby had a last name until I read up a brief intro of the issue. I love the design of the characters and the creatures that appear. The artwork from James Harren is really amazing and colors from Dave Stewart are really amazing. I will stick with this series because I really love the art in this series and after seeing the scarecrow holding a giant sword really had me pulled in. I also love the look of the other creatures as well. However, I really want the story to come in and really blow my socks off.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Rumble #6

Aug 27, 2015

Rumble #6 does a good job of handing a life or death situation, trying to deal with it, and having consequences for our actions. We learn more about the past of Bobby and his current situation as well as Rathraq and what he did to protect people. James Harren's amazing art makes the story flow seamlessly and Dave Stewart's colors help the scene's pop. This was a great issue of a new arc thats easy to get into and I can't wait for next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Rumble #13

Aug 17, 2016

Rumble #13 comes back with a vengeance and keeps you enthralled. The issue is a slow burn, but quickly picks up the pace and moves at a steady pace. The writing is exceptional and the handling of the story is done well. I dont have any big negatives, outside of certain character motivations. I love the art and colors which still looks astounding. Im curious as to how this latest arc is going to turn out.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Savage #1

Nov 30, 2016

Savage #1 is phenomenal, and it has a rather interesting premise to it. The writing is solid, the art is mindblowing, and the colors bring it all come together. The story does leave some questions as to what is happening, but I cant wait for the answers to unfold.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Secret Identities #7

Sep 17, 2015

Overall this was a satisfying conclusion with great writing, art, and colors. The story connects the dots on certain characters pasts and ends on a good note. I didnt like how the conclusion was short but for three issues to be condensed into one big finale issue, it succeeds.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Secret Wars: Battleworld #4

Aug 13, 2015

Secret Wars Battleworld #4 was a great ride with two amazing stories about the Silver Surfer and foes. Stokoe and David did an excellent job on the stories even though they had only about eleven pages each to tell them. Just the artwork alone is worth the purchase of this book. Im definitely going to check out the other Battleworld issues and if you're a fan of Silver Surfer or Maestro, check this issue out. Also, I want to see James Stokoe do a Silver Surfer series.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Shadows On The Grave #2

Jan 11, 2017

Shadows of the Grave #2, is a solid collection of short stories. The stories get to the point of what it wants to tell, and ends with a fitting ending. The endings do get a bit predictable, if you watch horror films. Its not a bad thing, but its kinda obvious how some stories are going to end. The art is fantastic, and makes each story look unique. If you're a fan of horror or a fan of short stories check this little title out.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Shadows On The Grave #6

Jul 12, 2017

If you've been following this title, keep reading it, and if you're new definitely check out the earlier issues. The art is gorgeous and the stories within are solid. I cant wait for next issue of this title, and the various stories within.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Sinestro #22

Apr 28, 2016

One of DC's most underrated titles is good and makes things interesting with new leadership. The writing, art, and colors are amazing, but with the Red Lanterns returning it did bother me. I still enjoyed this issue and I cant wait for the next issue to drop for this title.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Sisters of Sorrow #1

Jul 19, 2017

Sisters of Sorrow #1 starts with a wallop and dives into the aftermath of it. If you're looking for a new title to check out this week, and love Sons of Anarchy, pick this title up.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Sombra #1

Jul 21, 2016

For a first issue, this was good and I enjoyed it. The writing is fine and gets you into the story. The art and colors make the issue look amazing. The are some violent scenes in the issue, but only pop up a few times. Also, Sombra #1 features a Spanish-language version of the issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
The Dark and Bloody #1

Feb 11, 2016

Dark and Bloody #1 does a fantastic job on the set-up and has a compelling character; but falters for being too similar in some areas. On top of that, having too few horror elements in the story brings it down for me.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.5
The Fly: Outbreak #2

Apr 23, 2015

This issue of The Fly Outbreak was good but not great showing that paranoia of who is infected and the dangerous effects of the infected who are a threat to deal with. The characters could have been written better and given more depth especially Seth. The story needs to pick up the pace a little but knowing what the effects will have on the others did have some interesting situations. Some of the sexual scenes in the issue seemed a bit forced and could have been handled better. The art is great with its painted look but does suffer from some stiff looking characters. Overall I liked it but it could have better and I hope that improves in the next few issues.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
The Humans #1

Nov 6, 2014

This is a really good title that really presents itself a little different from the rest. This title is also mature with some very explicit scenes but not too much to throw off the story in anyway. There is also a three page column page in the back that has Karns answering questions and letters. I did not really find anything bad with this first issue. I enjoyed what was presented to me. I can't wait to see wear this gang of misfits bikers go to next on their journey to wherever they're going and also we get a tease on one of the returning members of The Humans returning from the Vietnam War.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Humans #9

Nov 5, 2015

If you like Planet of the Apes, grindhouse films, and revenge, check out this title. Keenan Marshall Keller creates an engaging story with Tom Neely and Kristina Collantes, delivering on the art and colors. The first part of the miniseries is almost over with the next issue but will return next year.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Legacy Of Luther Strode #3

Sep 10, 2015

This chapter of Luthor Strode was fun and highlights how crazy the series is. The writing and art work well together as well as the art for both stories. There is some good and bad news. The next few issue will be longer but wont be out until next year.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
The Shield (2015) #2

Feb 18, 2016

If you have been keeping up with the The Shield, this issue is not a bad read. It does come with some drawbacks, such as having heavy dialog and being disjointed at times. Additionally, the writers could have given us something on Agent Chase or Victorias past or even more about the Burning Hand”. On the plus side, the title has some interesting characters, colors, and great looking art. I hope the next issue can improve, but I still liked what theyre trying to do.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Shrinking Man #1

Aug 5, 2015

The Shrinking Man has an amazing story, notable artwork, and colors that have me excited to see what happens next. The art is a bit rough around charactersbut easy to follow what was going on in the story. If you like things shrinking or a fan of Richard Matheson,check this title out.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Strain: Mister Quinlan - Vampire Hunter #1

Sep 14, 2016

If you're a fan of The Strain or Mister Quinlan, check this title out. Its a great introduction to the characters early beginnings. Couple that with the stunning art and colors, you can definitely sink your teeth into it. Also, don't forget to catch “The Strain” on FX.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
The Strain: The Night Eternal #4

Nov 19, 2014

Overall this was a good issue and the story is almost over now. If you're watching the show read the comics or novel to help you know what's going on a little bit better because some of the events of the show do happen a bit different compared to the comic or novel.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Strain: The Night Eternal #11

Jul 16, 2015

I cant believe that this series is coming to a close. This has been a great adaptation on the Guillermo Del Toro and Chuck Hogan novels. Ill miss the team of Lapham and Huddleston for making this tale arise in a graphic format. Lapham storytelling, Huddleston's artwork, and Jackson's colors help reinforce the darkness of the story. Since this story is coming to a close, look at the bright side as The Strain has come back on the air on FX.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Woods #22

May 6, 2016

I enjoyed this issue of The Woods and what's going on with the story. The art hasn't dipped in quality at all and the colors help bring out the look of the issue. With how this issue ends, I can't wait to see how next issue begins.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Woods #24

Jul 7, 2016

With the end of this issue, we are at the end of year two. The writing, art, and colors still make this one of the best stories out there. I cant wait for the next issue and the beginning of year three.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Transformers: Till All Are One - Revolution #1

Nov 2, 2016

Transformers: Till All Are One:Revolution #1 is an incredible issue for a one-off that links back to the "Revolution" storyline, and fills in some information about what is going on with the Microverse.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Uncanny Inhumans #0

Apr 1, 2015

Charles Soule gives us an interesting tale about the former king of the Inhumans. Having him him go on a quest to find a person that he holds dear to send them off with Kang is a hard thing to do. Steve McNivens art did a great job showing Blackbolts actions and interactions between the characters since the character doesn't really that much. Justin Ponsors coloring is great and really makes the story shine. Ryan Stegman does a great job of exploring more of the Inhumans with Iso and Flint and create a nice little story for them. Ryan Lees art coupled with James Campbells colors bring this short story together. I really enjoyed this issue minus the $4.99 price tag but if you're interested in seeing more Blackbolt or reappearance of Kang or Charles Soule and Steve McNiven, pick up this title. Blackbolt may be a man of a few words but his actions speak louder for him.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Uncanny X-Men (2016) #1

Jan 8, 2016

Overall, this was a not a bad issue by Cullen Bunn, Greg Land, and Nolan Woodard. The story is simple and has a nice team dynamic. The art is good and colors make the issue even better. Some people may not like Lands artwork, but I dont read a lot of his work, so it didnt bother me. I do wish the team's attire would have been cohesive. Im surprised this isnt another X-Force title, but one could dream.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Unity #17

Apr 16, 2015

To summarize, this issue of Unity was really great focusing on the character Livewire and her being a superhero with having a hard time being a regular person because of her powers. The interactions between past and present people has changed her especially with the fallout from the United that has affected her personal life. Matt Kindt does a great job at delivering a great story personal story of her trying to cope with having a normal life. The art from Pere Perez is really great with some great scenes of Livewire adapting her suit and taking down bad guys with ease. The colors from Brian Reber has been great in each issue. Livewire has had a tough time to find love but things are going to get H.A.R.D. for her and the team.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Unity #18

May 12, 2015

This was a good and simple story that brings the team together to fight a very powerful foe. The story flows nicely and the characters' interactions werereally interesting. Pere Perez has been killing it on the art and the action flows effortlessly. Andrew Dalhouse brings anice palette of colors to the issue. Overall, this was a good issue which ends with a new threat and a new storyline on the horizon.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Usagi Yojimbo #155

Jun 22, 2016

Usagi Yojimbo #155 is a solid issue with great dialog, characters, and art. Its new reader friendly, as its only the first part of a three-part story. The only drawback would have to be the murder mystery plot. Its been done so many times over the years, but I want to see if this mystery pays off in the end. Ill definitely be reading the next two parts of the story, to see if everything falls into place.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Weirdworld #1

Jun 15, 2015

WeirdWorld is a unique title coming from Marvel. Jason Aaron does a great job on this first issue introducing us to this strange land and the characters in it. Michael Del Mundos artwork looks incredible as always. His art shines in this title and makes it unique. The action is fast and brutal. Michael Del Mundo and Marco D'Alfonso on colors further enhance the titles appeal. I hope more people pick up this title before it wraps up.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
X #18

Oct 9, 2014

I did not find anything wrong with this issue at all. I found this issue really entertaining and had a nice flow to get more information on the what happens to X. The solid work by Duane Swierczynski really captures the tale of this mad plastic surgeon and Eric Nguyen's artwork complements the writing of this issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
X #21

Jan 15, 2015

I didnt really find anything wrong about this issue except it's going to be in a crossover with Captain Midnight which I have no problems about. Also the color palette for the background environments seem the same with minor color alteration. I havent read Captain Midnight, so Ill have to pick up those issues down the line. The dialogue from Duane Swierczynski is good and solid introducing a new unlikely ally into the fray of blood and bullets. X has really grown on me since i have been reading this series and I will stick with it to see what happens next.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for
the Week of...

October

September

More