Sean Winningham's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Comic Watch Reviews: 20
8.6Avg. Review Rating

4.8
Batgirls (2021) #11

Oct 11, 2022

If this was a comic for a specific middle school audience that enjoys the very colorful animation style of cartoons, then I would say that this comic hit the mark. But if it was meant for a broader audience, then I would probably skip this story if you are looking for a Batgirls story about Barbara Gordon, Stephanie Brown, and Cassandra Cain.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Batman Beyond: Neo-Year #5

Aug 2, 2022

Overall, this was a great story. Although the art had a couple of moments where I felt it struggled, the artwork as a whole was phenomenal. The composition and use of space were really well done, and the story was really fascinating and captivating. I honestly cannot wait to read the previous issues and for the next one to come out!

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Batman Incorporated (2022) #1

Oct 11, 2022

If you want a Batman team-up story that doesn't include the Bat family and gives you that Mission: Impossible spy thriller vibe, then this is the comic for you. It's new and different and it still fits under the world of the popular Batman theme, and it's been a hell of a ride so far!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.4
Batman Incorporated (2022) #2

Nov 8, 2022

Although Batman is the inspiration for this team, I love how original the stories and characters are here. The Batman fan in me feels like this is allowing us to live vicariously through these more accessible characters because the team is made up of more of the common person who dedicated themselves to bettering the world around them with what they're given. The creative team just does a wonderful job with making this such an exciting spy-thriller-mystery team story that this is easily becoming one of my favorite hero teams in comics.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Batman: One Bad Day (2022): The Riddler #1

Aug 16, 2022

This is a great study in how to write and draw a psychological thriller that includes beloved characters that have a long and established history. Whatever you think you knew about the Riddler and the Batman - you can leave it behind when you turn the cover.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.2
Deadpool (2022) #1

Nov 2, 2022

This is a great first issue for a Deadpool story. If you are someone that has always been interested in getting into a Deadpool comic run for the first time, you can't go wrong with this. It captures the character of Wade Wilson well and you don't need to have any previous knowledge of any story to dive in and enjoy this next adventure of the "Merc With A Mouth."

View Issue       View Full Review
8.2
Deadpool: Bad Blood (2022) #3

Jul 20, 2022

Overall, this was an average issue that wasn't necessarily thrilling and exciting, but it wasn't poor or boring either. If anything, it at least makes you appreciate the story as a collected series rather than getting it issue by issue. But anyone who enjoys Deadpool will probably enjoy this series.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.3
Fortnite X Marvel: Zero War #2

Jul 14, 2022

I can't say this enough - do NOT dismiss this run simply because it incorporates a popular gaming franchise. The creative team has done a phenomenal job of making this a thrilling story that all fans alike can follow and enjoy. It is not an easy feat to seamlessly tie two popular properties into one existing story, but the creative team made it look like it has always been together all along.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.2
Fortnite X Marvel: Zero War #3

Aug 17, 2022

This is an exciting story for all Marvel and Fortnite fans. It's easy to follow along plus there's action, mystery, drama, and humor - everything to make a comic enjoyable for everyone!

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Fortnite X Marvel: Zero War #4

Aug 31, 2022

Once again, the creative team behind this comic knocks it out of the park. This issue starts off with a fun "Indiana Jones-ish" opening and ends with a major action-packed fighting sequence that is so enjoyable to read as well as take in the artwork.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.2
Fortnite X Marvel: Zero War #5

Sep 30, 2022

The series as a whole was great, but this last issue felt rushed to the end if I'm being honest. It felt like parts were skipped just to deliver the end result and the last issue suffered for it. However, the story as a whole is wonderfully fun and I can't wait to see the next Fortnite X Marvel series.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Hell To Pay (2022) #1

Nov 2, 2022

If you're looking for a story that has mystery, action, suspense, and thriller,Hell To Pay is the way to go. From the first pages to the end of the issue, you're going to wish that they released it as a graphic novel because the first issue alone makes you feel like you just got a teaser and left wanting more!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.2
Joker: The Man Who Stopped Laughing #1

Oct 4, 2022

This is a fascinating story that has you hooked from beginning to end. Although some parts were predictable, that didn't stop you from second-guessing yourself nor did it stop you from enjoying it. Definitely give this issue a read!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Magic (2021) #18

Sep 9, 2022

Overall, this is a great issue. If you're not familiar withMagic: The Gathering, I would suggest starting at issue one. But once you get to this issue, I bet you'll become a fan of this universe.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.3
Planet Hulk: Worldbreaker (2022) #1

Nov 30, 2022

Whether you are a fan of Hulk from popular culture or of his comics, I think this is a story that everyone will enjoy. The mystery, drama, and suspense are like none other, and it leaves you wide-eyed for the next issue to learn more about the history of Worldbreaker.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.3
Poison Ivy (2022) #4

Sep 7, 2022

This seems like a great first arc for Poison Ivy, and the creative team behind this has done a phenomenal job in telling her story and honoring her character very well. Although the artwork was not appealing to me, it was more to do with style preferences than it does with the work itself. I cannot wait to see where the story goes for the future of Pamela Isley, aka Poison Ivy.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Spider-Man (2022) #1

Oct 5, 2022

As a casual Spider-Man fan, this series has already made me want to become a die-hard fan with all of the exciting elements that we are already getting in this one issue alone. Add it to your pull list today!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Spider-Man (2022) #2

Nov 9, 2022

The story may be the ride, but the artwork is what sells it as the experience. The creators behind this issue have done a phenomenal job of leveling up each story with a new twist and elevating the stakes for the protagonist. But most of all - the issue starts with a very,very exciting surprise Spider-hero character that I think any fan of Spider-Man will absolutely drop their jaw when they read it. And fun fact - I kinda dropped an Easter Egg in this article about this. Hope you enjoy!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
The Vampire Slayer (2022) #6

Sep 29, 2022

The creative team did a fantastic job overall. They captured the spirit of the popular television show. They transformed it into a new universe with a new story while keeping the fun, campy, mysterious, action-packed elements that make the Slayer world so exciting. When can I get the trade paperback? because I know I won't be able to put this down when I start reading the series!

View Issue       View Full Review
6.8
X-Men Legends (2022) #3

Oct 26, 2022

Overall, this is definitely an experience. It's not a series I would read again just because it doesn't appeal to me, but that doesn't mean it's bad. It's just something that I still have no idea what my own opinion is about the issue and the story. So this is one that you should try to read an issue (maybe cheap on digital or borrow someone's first) to see if this is something you'd like to read for yourself.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

December

7th

November

More