Theresa Campagna's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Batman-News Reviews: 16
4.9Avg. Review Rating

8
Batman: Beyond the White Knight #2

May 3, 2022

This issue is an entertaining installment to Sean Gordon Murphy's White Knight universe, and is sure to please fans of the Batman Beyond cartoon, even if I'm a bit concerned as to where certain elements of the story are going.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Batman: Beyond the White Knight #3

May 25, 2022

This chapter is a mixed bag for me. There's definitely stuff to like about Sean Gordon Murphy's universe, and I love how he writes Terry and the rest of the Batman Beyond cast. Often times, the massive changes to the main Batman cast make this feel like an original action/drama book, rather than a Batman book.

View Issue       View Full Review
4
Batman: Beyond the White Knight #4

Jun 28, 2022

I've just had to come to the realization that I just don't love the world of White Knight as much as I thought I did when it started. So much mischaracterization and drama has been drawn out for, I think, a lot longer than it should have been. This series is going on a hiatus now, but hopefully the second half will finally reconcile the political Gotham that Murphy has been dealing with and bring this entire universe to a final conclusion. Score: 4/10

View Issue       View Full Review
4.5
DC vs. Vampires (2021): Killers #1

Jun 28, 2022

DC vs. Vampires: Killers takes another big step in moving DC vs. Vampires' story forward. However, some poor artwork, dialogue, and continued wonky characterization for Harley make it so I can't call this comic good.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
DC vs. Vampires (2021): Hunters #1

May 24, 2022

The DC Vs. Vampires Hunted one-shot is an imperfect yet fun read that primarily focuses on a conflict within the Batfamily. It's an interesting continuation of the twist at the end of the DC Vs. Vampires miniseries, but does a decent job of standing on its own. It's got some great action and is a good little read if you are also into vampires. However, it might not be the best read for Dick Grayson fans.

View Issue       View Full Review
2
Harley Quinn (2021) #13

May 21, 2022

There's not a whole lot to say about this issue. It's just a little set up and filler for a new storyline with an already predictable ending. If Stephanie Phillips subverts my expectations and brings this arc to a different conclusion, I'll be happy.

View Issue       View Full Review
4
Harley Quinn (2021) #14

May 21, 2022

The Verdict storyline picks up in this issue, and I found myself more curious, but it's not enough to compensate for the core problems of the book.

View Issue       View Full Review
1
Harley Quinn (2021) #15

May 24, 2022

This entire book was just frustrating for me to read. All the elements I like about Stephanie Phillips' Harley seem to be missing. The comedy doesn't work, and the one time we are treated to any character depth for Harley, we are given a monologue that doesn't make sense. On top of that, the overall arc is as predictable as it comes. Come on, DC. I know you can do better for Harley.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.5
Harley Quinn (2021) #16

Jun 28, 2022

I didn't hate this issue like I did the last one, but a lot of problems still persist in this book, and in the general writing of Harley Quinn at DC Comics. I swear, I'm not saying any of this to attack Stephanie Phillips. I also swear I'm not some Harley Quinn hater who secretly posed as a fan to get this review gig. I just have to call it as I see it, and if you're looking for a quality book to follow, I'm afraid this isn't the one right now.Score: 4.5/10

View Issue       View Full Review
2
Harley Quinn (2021) #17

Jul 26, 2022

Neither the story or the characters make sense or have consistency. The storytelling pretends to have depth through some occasional monologues, though everything is actually very shallow.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.5
Harley Quinn (2021) #18

Aug 2, 2022

While the artist change-up for Stephanie Phillips' run of Harley Quinn probably won't save the series at this point, it does make the book a lot more palatable than before. I still think it was a bad choice to make this book go monthly though, since I don't think it has the clout or substance behind it to handle that.

View Issue       View Full Review
4
Harley Quinn (2021) #19

Aug 9, 2022

Task Force XX is a subpar series thus far. It seems like a definite case of quantity over quality in terms of DC capitalizing off of Dark Crisis and Harley Quinn's 30th Anniversary. However, for a character getting ready to celebrate 3 decades of existing, I'm not seeing the love for Harley in this writing. She has no purpose on this mission so far. Her writing is insufferable and completely devoid of anything I ever liked about the character. If I was first introduced to Harley with her being written like this, I'd have never become a fan in the first place.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Poison Ivy (2022) #1

Jun 7, 2022

Despite a few flaws, G. Willow Wilson's Poison Ivy is a really satisfying read, and a good compensation for one of DC's most misused characters. It's so enjoyable to read about one of Batman's most famous female rogues, and have her allowed to BE a rogue. I really hope it continues to be this good and that DC makes a firm stand as to who this character really is.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Poison Ivy (2022) #2

Jul 5, 2022

Poison Ivy #2 is less a big advancement to the story and more of a musing over who Ivy's character is, taking into consideration how she's seen by many today. Wilson still generally has a good voice for Ivy, but some story missteps make me wonder if this miniseries will ultimately be worthwhile.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Poison Ivy (2022) #3

Aug 2, 2022

I still don't think G. Willow Wilson's Poison Ivy is a bad book. There's definitely entertaining elements here. It's just that I think this book could be so much more. Poison Ivy has so much potential to be a complex, sympathetic character, but you have to do the work to make that happen and not confuse complexity with things that are contradictory.

View Issue       View Full Review
3
Suicide Squad: Get Joker! #3

May 10, 2022

Suicide Squad: Get Joker winds up being a meaningless, forgettable tie-in to a movie that's over a half a year old. No offense to Brian Azzerello and all he's accomplished as a comic book writer, but this is a book that I can see overlooked and spending the rest of its days at comic shops and convention stands, unable to be sold.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

August

July

More