Thomas J. Angelo's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Major Spoilers Reviews: 44
7.3Avg. Review Rating

10
All-Star Western #0

Oct 1, 2012

As mentioned before, All-Star Western is a book I have really come to love. So far there has not been a single issue released that I haven't enjoyed thoroughly. Western fans must pick up this book. If you're not a Western fan, you should still give this book a read, especially if you're growing weary of the standard superhero fare. This book has action, tragedy, revenge and moxy to spare. All-Star Western #0 hits the target right between the eyes and earns a perfect five out of five stars.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Alpha: Big Time #2

Mar 19, 2013

Alpha as a character is more interesting here than he was back in the Amazing Spider-Man proper, but the artwork is much less pretty. The story is interesting, but hardly anything epic. A possible manipulation by Doc Ock is hinted at, but beyond that, nothing much is brought to the table.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Amazing Spider-Man (1999) #696

Oct 28, 2012

Seriously though, Amazing Spider-Man #696 isn't a bad comic book. It was unbalanced, full of exposition with little punch. Next issue is the conclusion of the "Double Hobgoblin" story, and like so many comics these days, this issue will come to be judged by the whole rather than as an individual part. Here's hoping #697 provides the thrills and excitement that this issue lacked.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Aquaman (2011) #17

Mar 3, 2013

This issue of Aquaman is an easy recommendation for those who have read Aquaman in the past, were introduced to the character during the Justice League crossover, or just want to know more about the hero in general. It is best described as a "set-up" issue, as many events seem to be foreshadowed in its pages. It's a good read with fantastic art and well-worth your time.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Army of Darkness: Furious Road #1

Feb 24, 2016

A creepy cast of creatures is at the center of this Army of Darkness story, which also has an interesting setting and great action sequences. The only drawback for horror fans might be the absence of Ash for half of the book, but as a first issue, there's still a lot to like. If you're on the fence, give it a try. I'll be picking up the second issue to see where things go from here.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Avengers Academy #35

Aug 15, 2012

Christos Gage has done an excellent job of bringing some real humanity to the cast of Avengers Academy throughout its run, arguably better than any other Avengers book on the stands. It is easy to feel sympathetic for heroes who are struggling to prove their worth and find their spot in the world, or conversely for characters who never wanted the responsibility (or the curse) that super-powers may bring. While Jeremy Briggs stands a snowball's chance at depowering the Marvel U., the heroes of this book do not share the same safety and comfort. Avengers Academy is picking up a head of steam as it rushes to the conclusion of this arc, and it truly feels as though lasting change will be the end result.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Avengers Arena #4

Feb 17, 2013

There are a few problems inherent with this series that Hopeless has promised to address. Still, I can't help but be confused as to why none of the adult Marvel heroes (or even the teenage friends of those in the Arena) haven't noticed the absence of the cast. The whole situation is still so unbelievable"Is Marvel really going to allow the deaths of all of these characters? Most people would think not, and that perception tends to discredit the book somewhat. I mean, Reptil is not a major character by any stretch, but the guy has an obvious fanbase. Many fans are waiting for the bait-and-switch, with the most likely explanation being that the characters are trapped in a VR video game. Still, I must say again that what Hopeless is doing here is a great read. You might not like the concept, but it's hard to argue that the execution has made for a strong reading experience.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Avengers Standoff: Welcome to Pleasant Hill #1

Feb 19, 2016

Secret Wars started out with a bang, but lost steam for me after delays and what I felt was unnecessary padding. Event fatigue is a real thing, and for a book to get my dollars these days, it has to provide something substantial along with the flash and sizzle. Pleasant Hill is a Pleasant Surprise. I wasn't expecting to enjoy the book as much as I did. At its center is a very serious dilemma involving human rights and a hook that has me invested for the rest of this crossover. Give it a try.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Batgirl (2011) Annual #1

Nov 5, 2012

It's hard to recommend purchasing this book, especially at its high price point. The Court of Owls had their moment in the Bat-books, and it was superb, but they need some time to recover their status as a threat to Gotham. Again, Catwoman's moments really stood out in this book, but Batgirl's face-time suffered as a result. With the Joker's return happening in the ongoing titles, skipping this book is a safe bet. Even those looking for a jumping-on point would be better served, both by story and cost, by picking up the next issue of Batgirl.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Billy the Kid's Old Timey Oddities and the Orm of Loch Ness #2

Nov 19, 2012

The greatest strength of BILLY THE KID'S OLD-TIMEY ODDITIES is also its greatest weakness. It is extremely bizarre and wonderful, but it is so exotic that it is easy for new readers to alienate the title. Don't fall into this trap if you love horror or are in the mood for something strange in your reading list. There's a nifty little story in this book that feels like a classic grind-house film is playing out on the pages. Hotz creates a terrific ambiance and Powell spins a yarn like few other writers. Gooble, gobble, one of us!

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Dial H #0

Sep 7, 2012

While the first half of this tale is forgettable, I absolutely loved the last half of this book.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Evil Ernie #1

Oct 11, 2012

ProsSnider and Craig are creating something fantasticConsEntire back story needs fleshing out

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Evil Ernie #3

Dec 23, 2012

Evil Ernie has become a book I can't wait to read after only three months in print. This is a hyper-violent, horrific tale and as such may not be the right book for everyone. But for mature readers who enjoy a little fright now and then, and aren't squeamish about entrails, there's a lot of fun to be had in this book.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Ghostbusters #12

Aug 31, 2012

Unless you are a Ghosbusters fan, this issue is not the best jumping-on point. It's the final slice of a multi-part story, and next issue begins an arc focusing on a new paranormal extermination agency attempting to run the Ghostbusters out of business. A newcomer might not understand why or how our heroes have ended up on the West Coast. That said, there is plenty for fans of Ghostbusters here to enjoy. Those who have followed the series will feel right at home and remain in love with IDW's evolution of the brand, and if you've been longing to revisit your memories of growing up with the team, this title is for you.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Ghostbusters #15

Dec 3, 2012

This is a book that anyone with a passing familiarity with Ghostbusters will enjoy. The interplay between the large cast is handled extraordinarily well, as each member of both teams is given some great character moments. A month ago I would have been the first person to lobby Columbia to release Ghostbusters 3, but thanks to this book, I don't know if I need to see more on-screen adventures. IDW's Ghostbusters gives me everything I want and more from this franchise. I highly recommend this book to anyone who enjoys fun stories, spooky thrills, or good comics.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Green Lantern (2011) #13

Oct 8, 2012

It looks like Johns may be opting for the slow building of Baz rather than dropping him right into the middle of a conflict. This seems to indicate that Baz will be here a while, which is fine with me. This issue did a nice job of making me interested in his personal life and wondering where things will go from here. A lot of the material in this issue was already explored in last month's zero issue, so if you didn't like the new direction there, you won't much care for it here. Only hints of greater conflicts are shown this issue. I know I need to be patient, but I'm ready for some action! Simon Baz has all the makings of an interesting character and should be a great addition to the DC mythos. Green Lantern #13 gets an above-average 3.5 stars out of 5.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Green Lantern Corps (2011) #0

Sep 14, 2012

This issue was just fine as a solo read. If you'd like a bit more green in your read pile this month, give it a shot. There's plenty to enjoy in this issue. But as for the future, it wasn't quite enough to encourage me to continue supporting the series.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.7
Harrow County #9

Feb 10, 2016

From the opening sequence involving a chilling encounter between a drifter and a songbird, this issue had me hooked. This is horror at its best"full of weird, crawly nightmares and monsters of indiscriminate intention. This issue of Harrow County, just like the rest of the series, will grab for your throat immediately and dare you to look away. If you're a fan of the ghastly and strange, I cannot recommend this book enough.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.1
Haunted Mansion #1

Mar 14, 2016

The Haunted Mansion #1 is a great treat for fans of any age who enjoy spooky stories or the classic attraction.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.1
House of Penance #1

Apr 12, 2016

House of Penance #1 is the perfect book for American history fans to experience some unsettling thrills and chills.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
I, Vampire #16

Feb 3, 2013

This is not a book for new readers to pick up. My recommendation to them would be to start at the beginning and work your way to this point. But if you've been following the series from the start, this certainly is not an issue you want to miss.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Iron Man (2012) #1

Nov 9, 2012

I wanted to give this book a strong recommendation. There's nothing really wrong with it. I like the art, it's a pretty standard look into Tony's life, the action at the end is exciting and the looming conflict seems like it will be a fun story. After a lot of thought, my main complaint about this book is that it doesn't feel organic. Downey Jr.'s Tony Stark was a futurist, but he was a fun person, someone you'd like to hang out with. This iteration of the character feels distant, a guy that wouldn't think twice about using another human being and then tossing that person aside in order to attain whatever goal is being pursued. It rings hollow for the character. With that said, I'm hoping that this arc is going to focus on Iron Man's possible lack of human empathy and redefine the character. Not a home run first issue, but easily a double. Give it a shot.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Jonah Hex #0

Oct 1, 2012

As mentioned before, All-Star Western is a book I have really come to love. So far there has not been a single issue released that I haven't enjoyed thoroughly. Western fans must pick up this book. If you're not a Western fan, you should still give this book a read, especially if you're growing weary of the standard superhero fare. This book has action, tragedy, revenge and moxy to spare. All-Star Western #0 hits the target right between the eyes and earns a perfect five out of five stars.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Judge Dredd #1

Nov 23, 2012

IDW's debut issue of Judge Dredd left me a little flat. The book succeeds in a few areas. For example, Mega-City One is given some time in the spotlight, and the strange robots are a nice callback to the 2000 A.D. series. But Dredd himself is hardly seen in this book, and when he is, he's not the bad mammajamma lawman that he needs to be. The most exciting thing he does is blow up a fruit tree, and that's a little underwhelming for a series that is trying to boast the legacy and gravitas of Judge Dredd. If you're brand new to Dredd, start with the Complete Case File collections. If you're already a fan, it's worth a look, but don't get your hopes up to high.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Justice League #13

Oct 22, 2012

For regular readers, this is a definite pickup. For anyone else on the fence, flip through the issue before buying. It is a safe bet that picking up issue #14 will give you most of what you need to know as you continue through this series.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Justice League Dark Annual #1

Nov 5, 2012

Justice League Dark has really found its footing in this storyline, and this issue has done a perfect job of capping off the team's latest adventure. If you haven't been following this title, this issue is impressive enough to track down the previous issues, get caught up, and then finish up with this one. Seriously, it's that good. If you're not able to find those past issues, pick up this book anyway and enjoy the ride. You won't be disappointed.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Klaus #3

Feb 3, 2016

Santa Claus should never star in such a dull book.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.7
Madballs #1

Apr 22, 2016

Madballs #1 is like a visit from a long-lost friend who knows not to overstay their welcome.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Mars Attacks #3

Aug 23, 2012

If you are like me and enjoy the occasional manic and campy bit of science-fiction, and are not put off by human entrails, Mars Attacks! could be the book for you. The series has done a great job of hitting the most exciting parts of an alien invasion so far, definitely focusing on action rather than advancing an overarching plot. Again, the ending is so abrupt it is rather jarring, as you will want more than the book contains this issue. Hopefully, the threads from this issue will be picked up in the future. Still, don't let this deter you from what is some great sci-fi horror. From the art to the characterization to the dialogue, there is plenty in this book to enjoy.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Mars Attacks: Occupation #1

Mar 16, 2016

Mars Attacks!: Occupation is a bleak look at a humorless world run by Martian oppressors.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Marvel Zombies Halloween #1

Oct 18, 2012

This book was, in a word, excellent. For a one-shot, it contained everything one could ask for from a miniseries or even an ongoing. Heartache and grief for the lost father is here, some nasty villains, and a butt-kicking mom. I'd love to see the continuing adventures of our two protagonists as they continue fighting for survival in the wasteland of the Marvel Zombie Universe. This one-shot could very well be the start of a new saga in the franchise. But I shouldn't get ahead of myself here. Buy this book and enjoy it for what it is: a fresh take on the Marvel Zombies world and an excellent book to get you in the Halloween spirit.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
New Avengers #2

Jan 20, 2013

If you were put off by the first issue of New Avengers like I was, I still think that this book should be read before you decide to stick around or drop the title. New Avengers doesn't look like a title that is going to be action-oriented. Instead, it may be a title where characters must fight their own beliefs and the opinions of some starkly different heroes in order to maintain the greater good. This was a very good read and has me eagerly anticipating issue #3. And hey, if you didn't pick up issue #1, this issue is just as good of a starting point. Pick it up! New Avengers #2 earns 4 out of 5 stars.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.3
Puppet Master #12

Feb 19, 2016

So little happens that the horror enthusiast might be too bored to continue with the series.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Red Hood And The Outlaws #15

Dec 24, 2012

There's nothing that strikes me as wrong with this book, but there's nothing that makes me feel it's a "must-read" either. Joker's connection to Todd is not resolved in this issue, and Starfire and Roy aren't necessary to this issue's plot. If you've been a fan of Red Hood since the New 52 began, then this book will doubtlessly be more entertaining to you than the casual fan. Without that background knowledge of the characters, it is difficult to become emotionally invested in this issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.3
Spider-Man (2016) #2

Mar 5, 2016

Bringing Miles into the main Marvel Universe has kept things new and exciting while delivering terrific character beats.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Spider-Men #5

Sep 21, 2012

This series is hands-down the best story to come out of the Ultimate Universe in a long time. It is essential reading for any fan of Peter Parker, Miles Morales, or excellent comics.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles #14

Sep 27, 2012

I was a young and impressionable lad while the TMNT were in the midst of their greatest popularity. For a few years, they had the United States held firmly in their three-fingered hands. Still, I grew away from the franchise as most fans do, moving on to other flights of fancy. I've picked up the remastered Mirage TMNT hardcovers, and I've watched the odd new TMNT cartoons here and there, but that magic was never really recaptured until this comic was released. If you've ever considered yourself a fan of the Ninja Turtles, you should be reading this book. If you consider yourself too mature for the turtles, give the series a try. You'll be surprised by the depth of the themes in this book. IDW's TMNT has moved to the top of my monthly most-wanted list, and issue #14 provides a fantastic entry point for those looking to give it a try.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: Secret History of the Foot Clan #1

Jan 12, 2013

I never really intended to become a fan of IDW's various Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles series. I had a passing familiarity in my youth with the original animated show, but wasn't afflicted with "Turtle Fever." However, I have simply been amazed that this series has had such quality. There is a maturity to this book that places it way beyond kid stuff, and the adventures of the group are fresh and original compared to the normal superhero fare in books. This issue is not quite a jump-on point for new readers, but those familiar with the TMNT concept should pick it up. It may serve as a way to be pulled into the regular. Fans of Japanese mythology should also give this one a read. This is an excellent book, and will be at the top of my read pile next month, right beneath the monthly book. Well done.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
The Avenging Spider-Man #19

Apr 16, 2013

Maybe it's because I love the character so much, but this issue just wasn't quite what I wanted. It tried to do too much with too little space, and the pacing of the story suffered as a result. It was still a fun read, but won't have much in the way of lasting consequences or impacts on either character. The whole experience was like waking up from a dream that you enjoyed, but you can't remember what the dream was about.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
The New Ghostbusters #1

Feb 17, 2013

For fans of Ghostbusting in any incarnation, this book is a must-read. For those on the fence, definitely give it a try. It's a fun book that maintains the original sense of humor that made the movies the classics they are today. The new team is made up characters that are uniquely different from the original. This book has a freshness to it, and as the series continues I will be watching to see where the story will lead.

View Issue       View Full Review
3
Thunderbolts (2012) #1

Dec 11, 2012

I just didn't find myself enjoying Thunderbolts at any time. The characters don't seem to have a lot in common, and we saw absolutely no team interplay this issue. The team isn't assembling for any reason or motivation, just General Ross' promise that they will all get to kill a lot of people. The problem with a group of killers like this is that the Marvel Bullpen isn't going to let them kill any important villains. Hopefully Issue #2 will have a knockdown, drag-out, exciting moment that will make up for this debut, because right now, Thunderbolts is not something I can recommend.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Transformers Spotlight: Orion Pax #1

Dec 18, 2012

This is a book for Transformers fans or perhaps for those new to the franchise. It's not essential reading to understand any part of the Transformers universe or storylines. It doesn't give any new insights into the motivation of the soon-to-be Optimus Prime. But it does offer up a fun little slice of sci-fi action. If you've never read an IDW Transformers book, this book will give you a small idea of what the title is like, but it may not leave you wanting more.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Uncanny Avengers #5

Apr 1, 2013

There is a very good chance the speech in this issue gets swept under the rug in the months to come. There is another chance that Marvel and Remender use this to make some really important comments on sociology in America. Buy this book to hear the full scope of the argument, and then join in online for all the fun and informed opinions that the Internet is known for. A good book which could be the start of something truly amazing.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Venom (2011) #31

Feb 10, 2013

Though the series no doubt took a hit when Remender left, this issue did a lot to give me more hope for Bunn and the future of Venom. If we continue to get these inside looks at Flash Thompson's mindset, the character will have an opportunity to grow and be further refined. The parts of this series that have worked have shown how Flash has been dealing with the loss of his legs and the balancing of a superheroic lifestyle. There are some great ideas pitched in this issue, and a lot of foreshadowing. I look forward to the next issue in hopes that Bunn is able to get into a rhythm and keep the intrigue coming.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

January

December

More