Aaron Anderson's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Weird Science Reviews: 32
7.9Avg. Review Rating

7.0
Ben Reilly: The Scarlet Spider #10

Nov 20, 2017

This is a fast moving issue. You get many Characters thrown at you from the nineties. I didn't know many of them but it did not inhibit my enjoyment of the book. Will Sliney is a very capable artist, but his art falls a little short when it comes to conveying movement. It is still gorgeous to look at work though. 

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Ben Reilly: The Scarlet Spider #12

Jan 1, 2018

Peter David continues his 90's web weaving in Las Vegas by elevating the danger levels, by adding a known psychopath!!...well...sometimes you have to burn a city to the ground before you can rebuild it. This issue moved a long swiftly and nostalgically sending me down another whimsical wikipedia whirlpool that sucked away hours of my life, and that is not counting the hours more I will spend reading the material in question on The App. 

View Issue       View Full Review
7.8
Black Panther (2016) #172

Apr 23, 2018

Coates has defiantly improved on his storytelling. I read the first three issues of his run on this title and it was not poorly written by any standards but the message that Coates was trying to convey was just slightly muddled and meandering. Having read this last arc I look forward to going back and giving the rest of this story a closer look.  I really have enjoyed Leonard Kirk's art it reminds me of 90's Green Arrow Art with its heavy shadowing and inking but with a much crisper coloring job over the top of it. I am really hyped to read Black Panther in Space next.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Captain America (2017) #700

Apr 16, 2018

Must Be Captain America Reborn!! I like this book It totally feels like this is where the next writer should take over even though it's not. I suggest buying it especially if you're curious what Captain America is really about. 

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Champions #19

Apr 16, 2018

I think Jim Zub is playing it a little safe here. Maybe a little too safe. These heroes are already battle tested and he seems to dumb them down a little too much in my opinion. I can understand he wants to do that to allow for growth and suspense. The art is gorgeous it reminds me of watching the Ultimate Spider-man cartoon. Cho seems a little de-aged and written slightly out of character a little too much of a corny hipster in my opinion. Once Jim gets these characters voices down a little more I think this will be a great comic.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Daredevil (2015) #595

Nov 13, 2017

There are some intriguing story elements here that can be built upon, hopefully Soule takes advantage of them.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Daredevil (2015) #596

Dec 18, 2017

This is another issue that felt just a little forced at the beginning, but once you turn into the slide just a little bit it can be quite enjoyable. It really comes down to the cliffhanger. Lately Soule has really been delivering interesting cliffhangers again. I wouldn't mind a long story line with this status quo continually being the underlining plot going forward.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Daredevil (2015) #598

Feb 12, 2018

Charles Soule continues his systematic destruction of the characters I enjoyed at the beginning of his run on Daredevil. One can only hope this is the precursor to his leaving the title for good.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Daredevil (2015) #599

Feb 26, 2018

There have been way too many leaps in logic for my taste in this arc. Also, too many moments where you just have to fill in the blanks yourself. I love Garney's art, but frankly, he is not using a style impressive enough to help the nonsense being written in this title.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Daredevil (2015) #604

Jun 25, 2018

Some life has been injected into this book! I want to sing it to the heavens. Whether it was Soule having fewer comics to write (which I think that was temporary) or it was Mike Henderson coming on the book I don't know but this book has gotten good again. It has energy and intrigue again. It has me saying buy this comic again.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Doctor Strange (2018) #1

Jun 11, 2018

Going into this comic I felt Waid had an up hill battle right off the bat. He is following probably some of the best Doctor Strange stories written in ten years with Aaron, Hopeless, and Cates. Plus it feels a bit similar to all of them because yet again Strange is de-powered. This time he has no powers at all and he is stuck on a strange planet and that is the only thing keeping my interest. The art was was good but not as energetic as we once had and same can be said of the story. Sadly this issue had me pretty bored and depressed.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Doctor Strange (2018) #2

Jun 26, 2018

Whew, I literally expelled air when Kanna was introduced to this story and then I inhaled smiled and continued smiling till the end. The art is just fantastic by Jesus Saiz. Mark Waid had me as depressed as possible. I almost couldn't take it anymore and then we changed direction completely. The colors came back to the story the energy came back and I'm glad I stayed with it. 

View Issue       View Full Review
6.8
Doctor Strange: Damnation #3

Mar 25, 2018

I have been enjoying the main event book and the Doctor Strange tie-ins. There seems to be to many characters in this story and not everyone has something worth while to do. I believe Kudranski's art was stronger last issue but still over all enjoyable. The other tie-in issues have not been that enjoyable nor do they add to the over all story in my opinion. Having said that, after the cliffhanger at the end of this issue I am very curious what Damnation: Johnny Blaze Ghost Rider has in store for us.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.8
Doctor Strange: Damnation #4

Apr 29, 2018

I was so excited for this little crossover mini-event at the beginning and at the end, I wish I didn't waste my time. The balance that a team a book needs to have was just not here. It really seemed like the team didn't even matter, and the tie-ins were awful. The art was okay when hell was reigning in Las Vegas but after in the hurray point of the book, it felt uninspired. I left this event only enjoying the Doctor Strange book.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Domino (2018) #3

Jun 19, 2018

Gail has been weaving a pretty interesting story for Domino so far. She has been delving into her past which I know nothing about and I look forward to learning more. She has given her some colorful and interesting friends to play off of and a mystery surrounding them. She has also interwoven some pretty good action and humor. The art and coloring is just gorgeous. My only problem is how similar Domino's story is to X-23 but that still has time to change or go in a different direction.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Iron Fist (2017) #74

Nov 6, 2017

I can't say it enough, I Love This Series. It is a crazy Kung Fu, beat up everyone you meet along the way, adventure every time.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.8
Iron Fist (2017) #75

Dec 11, 2017

This was an okay issue. Somethings just happen because they needed to happen making everything feel a little too convenient for my liking. The big epic fight I expected turned out to be more of a side note. I suspected Constrictor to be a lame character but seriously he just laid down and died with no fight at all. Yet, I am still intrigued and excited to find out more about K'un-Lun.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Iron Fist (2017) #76

Jan 8, 2018

It's broken record time. Because, yet again I am screaming from the top of the hills how much I love this comic! Brisson, Perkins, Troy, and Lanham thank you for giving me a book I'm consistently excited for every time it comes out. Perkins when he draws a battle scene you literally feel exhausted as if you were in the battle yourself with the number of panels he is able to cram on a page. Brisson's fast-paced and high-intensity scripts are exactly what this comic buyer wants in his comics.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Iron Fist (2017) #77

Feb 12, 2018

I'm a bit torn on this issue. I really enjoyed, and had fun reading this whole arc. But this ending was pretty predictable. The stakes didn't seem high enough as if the pacing was a little off. Maybe if Danny hadn't telegraphed so obviously he was getting the Dragon at the end of last issue. Or maybe if Danny had left at the beginning of this issue leaving Sparrow and Choshin battling to the death leaving Danny to swoop in at the last moment only affecting the fight against the soldiers. But to have Iron Fist battle Choshin again when Danny had already defeated him easily in the #1, and the dual blades Choshin used seemed completely useless except to tear fabric just seemed to fall short in my eyes.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Moon Girl and Devil Dinosaur #30

Apr 29, 2018

Moon Girl and Devil Dinosaur is a really fun and light-hearted read. There is so much potential for character growth in this series I look forward to following her for years to come. I loved the idea of injecting the Fantastic Four into this book at the start. By the end though I am glad to see them go their own separate ways. I am just so happy to have Devil Dinosaur back. Beautiful colors and witty charismatic writing really sets this book out as a great comic for all ages. 

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Ms. Marvel (2015) #29

Apr 23, 2018

This is an excellent comic series that gives you the Peter Parker in school vibe of yesteryear but filtered through the eyes of a Pakistani American girl.  Nico Leon does Adrian Alphona levels of artwork in this book. Its fun teenage angst at its best. I loved this comic when I read it out of context having not read much of this series before. So much so that I went back and immediately started reading Ms. Marvel from the beginning. Then I enjoyed that so much I went and bought G. Willow Wilson's two published novels. The Butterfly Mosque and Alif the Unseen which I look forward to reading this summer on the beach.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Old Man Hawkeye #6

Jul 3, 2018

This comic uses consistently gorgeous, cover quality, art mixed with a fast paced, action heavy, story to keep the reader excited to purchase it every month. If that isn't enough for you to buy this book. Next month promises to reveal the fall of the Avengers!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Punisher (2016) #223

Apr 16, 2018

I am thoroughly enjoying this comic. It is a brutal gorefest dedicated to the loving memory of the past Punisher. All Hail the new Punisher War Machine. The art is gritty and energetic. The story is fast-paced and gripping.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Royals #10

Nov 13, 2017

This issues is not as great as its predecessors in my opinion, but it is still an excellent addition to the overall story. The story scope and imagination utilized, in this series, is always top notch. If you want to get Lost in Space and like it, DANGER! Will Robinson you have found the title that will do it for you.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Secret Warriors (2017) #8

Nov 20, 2017

I really like this team. Its a classic team dynamic a smart, stretchy, fiery, clobbering good time every ish Excelsior! Seriously though, eight completely enjoyable issues in a row. It has earned my vote of confidence. Give this team time to grow together and the fans will follow.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Secret Warriors (2017) #9

Dec 3, 2017

Rosenburg is excellent at witty, humorous dialogue, and at making sure that every team member is active in the story. The art team of Garron, Robson, Silva, with Cowls on letters continually give this motion picture quality art as well. This should go to the top of your to be read pile every time it is released.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Secret Warriors (2017) #10

Dec 18, 2017

I am saddened by the news of the cancelization of Secret Warriors. This has been a fun team book. Happily I will review this book till its conclusion. I am also glad to hear Rosenburg is getting another team book after this series, New Mutants. After all the enjoyment I got out of reading this team book, my resolution in buying that mini series is concrete. I hope you do the same.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.8
Secret Warriors (2017) #11

Jan 1, 2018

Questions get answers in this penultimate issue. Some of the transitions between scenes felt a little forced and confusing, but considering how much got packed into this issue its understandable. The art and the writing are still really spot on though. I think this run gives you a really good sample of all the characters involved. Making this a great trade in the future to give to comic lovers and skeptics a like.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Sentry (2018) #2

Jul 30, 2018

While the first issue was excellent in its execution of simple storytelling devices and bringing everyone on board, this issue excels by upping the stakes and layering plot twists with an exceptional craft. Where Jeff Lemire takes us next is anyone's guess but I'm fully on board for this ride.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Star Wars: Darth Vader (2017) #15

Apr 30, 2018

The art in this series is simply impeccable. As if every panel is pulled film clips from the movie. The story every time is fast paced and action packed. It's like you are following around a more intimidating Doctor Doom as he bends this galaxy to his each and every whim. 

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Tales of Suspense #103

Mar 25, 2018

The story is very cinematic in nature. Your eyes move through the story effortlessly. The tension has been raised every issue and the dialogue rings true to the characters involved. The art is nothing to write home about but it adds all it needs to add to the story.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Weapon H #4

Jun 26, 2018

Cory Smith your art WoW just wow this was Awesome. A Man-Thing spliced with a Groot to battle a Hulk spliced with a Wolverine. DO I NEED TO SAY MORE? 

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

November

October

More