Adam Kelly's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Comic Bastards Reviews: 113
7.4Avg. Review Rating

10
Alex + Ada #1

Nov 6, 2013

I also really enjoyed the art. From a technical standpoint, it's all very clean and from a storytelling aspect, it really hits home with the portrayal of a very lonely, isolated man in a very connected world. I can't wait to see what Luna and Vaughn have in store for this series. A simple idea was executed brilliantly in this first issue; it was nothing short of spectacular. Books like these are why I read comics.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Alex + Ada #2

Dec 11, 2013

I really enjoy the simplistic nature of this comic. It plays on human emotions and forces you to put yourself in the situation that Alex is in. The art reflects that as well as the futuristic setting. The art is very clean and isn't trying to be overly flashy or detailed. It serves its purpose and does it very well. I'm interested as to where this one goes, obviously I didn't give the whole story but they leave it off at a pretty big cliffhanger. There are a lot of different possibilities, but I trust that they'll make it memorable. I think many people can empathize with the main character Alex on one level or another, which for me is a big factor in enjoying this series thus far.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Alex + Ada #3

Jan 15, 2014

I won't give away the ending here, but it didn't have much of an impact like the other issues did. Again, I did enjoy the emotion that the art can convey, but we've seen it all before. The blank looks and awkward situations that Alex and Ada are in are starting to seem rehashed and I wish they could play on other emotions. I'll still be following this book, but I'm really hoping the next issue steps it up or this series will fall into mediocrity.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Alex + Ada #4

Feb 19, 2014

The issue was very heavily dialogue-driven as we've come to expect from this book. It's a slow-burn type of read but as I said, the ending is great and serves as a huge cliffhanger that raise tons of questions. Where it shines for me at least is the emotional and human (although sometimes android) connections. The art is great for capturing emotions and the loneliness and disappointment Alex feels at the moment. Although I still think Alex is weird for going along with his grandmother's ploy to get him over his breakup and not be single by getting an android, it makes me wonder if people will actually have androids for this purpose someday. Any science fiction fan should definitely be following this book, and I'm already looking forward to next month's issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Alex + Ada #5

Mar 27, 2014

The best way I can explain this issue is flat. There wasn't a build-up to anything, a real cliffhanger, or a sense of unpredictability. I'll read next issue but only because I'm covering the series to review. I honestly can't recommend picking this up but I hope fans of the series will stick with it. I'm not sure how many more disappointing issues like this I can take though.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Alex + Ada #6

May 10, 2014

That quote from Alex comes into play towards the very end of the issue, but I won't leave any spoilers here. I will say that this is one of the strongest cliffhangers this series has had thus far. On the other hand, depending on how you look at it this is the only noteworthy event of this whole issue. I still think the little everyday nuances that are thrown in add a level of realism to the book, but for some people I can understand seeing it as a turn-off. Hopefully issue #7 kicks things up a notch, but I'd be lying if I didn't say this issue was good and surely a turn-around from last month's lackluster installment.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Alex + Ada #7

Jun 18, 2014

I liked the few changes of setting-although that might not seem like much in other books, this one focuses a lot on Alex and Ada at their house, so it almost feels as if you've been cooped up in there with them. That part could be a good or bad thing depending on how you see the book, but things are really starting to heat up and I can't wait to see how the rest of the story unfolds.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Alex + Ada #8

Aug 6, 2014

This was definitely one of my favorite issues of Alex + Ada. At some points it's been great, at others very disappointing, but I'm hoping these last few issues hit their stride and really deliver. If this issue is any clue towards the last few issues we'll definitely be in for a few surprises.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Buzzkill #1

Sep 18, 2013

This book was basically a huge cliffhanger. I'm very much looking forward to next month's issue to find out a host of things: what is "Ruben's" real name? What has he done in his past to make Nikki hate him? What has he done as a hero? And the list goes on. This is an incredibly refreshing take on a genre that I normally don't enjoy; Buzzkill proves to be a superhero story I can't wait to read more of.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Buzzkill #2

Oct 16, 2013

If you're sick of traditional superhero stories, try Buzzkill on for size. You won't be disappointed.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Buzzkill #4

Dec 18, 2013

The storytelling and pacing of this issue was great, just like it has been this whole series. Like I mentioned before, although there are superheroes in this story, the main story about overcoming addiction to better yourself and for those you care about is a very organic and very human one. It's been a very emotional ride for Francis, especially when it was revealed last issue that Nikki was seeing Eric after her and Francis broke up. The action in the issue was just as brutal and intense as expected. The art is also has become some of my favorite that I've seen in Dark Horse's catalog. Geoff Shaw has a style that I'd instantly be able to recognize if I saw his art in another book, and I think that's a testament to how unique and refreshing this book is. Buzzkill is hands-down one of the best if not the best miniseries I've read this year.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Clockwork Angels #1

Mar 19, 2014

If you're a fan of fantasy, steampunk, or just great art and storytelling (which is why you read comics, isn't it?), check this book out. Sure, there's some Rush references like the cover reading 9:12 (21:12) in military time, but as I said you need no knowledge on the band to enjoy this great story.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Clockwork Angels #2

Apr 30, 2014

The art was again just as good if not better than the story, as I wouldn't want to read this book with any other artist. Crown City is brought to life through the off-kilter people that Owen talks to, the beautiful yet odd buildings and structures, and the aforementioned alchemical substance that fuels the city. My only critique for this book so far is that it's a head-scratcher to me how the Anarchist hasn't been caught yet. He doesn't have any real type of disguise-he just wears glasses sometimes but has other features that make him stand out like a sore thumb. It doesn't seem realistic to me that he can cause this much havoc in a city where everything is watched with Big Brother-esque vigor and not get caught already. That said, Clockwork Angels is gearing up to be one of my favorite mini-series this year has to offer.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Clockwork Angels #3

Jun 25, 2014

The storytelling is great and translates to a comic book well from the novel, but for me this series has especially shone in the art department. The art in this series has truly been mystifying and really brings the alchemy and secrets of Crown City to life in a unique way. I felt like I was there alongside Owen when seeing the Clockwork Angels for the first time. I think if a creative team can put you right in the story than they're doing something right, and this issue is no exception.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Clockwork Angels #4

Aug 6, 2014

If you're going to buy this issue, buy it for the incredible art. Otherwise, I'd just wait until next month to pick it up again.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Criminal Macabre: The Eyes Of Frankenstein #1

Sep 25, 2013

The art fit the feel of the book perfectly. It's almost sketch-like, there's not much detail but there's not anything lacking either. There's a lot to love about this book: it's easy to follow, the two main characters are crazy but loveable, and the introduction of Frankenstein and his problem only induce more questions. Since he's a monster but now a friend of Cal, whose side will he fight on in the war? How does Cal plan to help him find new eyes? I guess we'll have to find out in issue #2, an issue I will certainly be checking out.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Deadworld: Restoration #1

Dec 4, 2013

There's actually a lot more story than I'm recapping in this review, but I think it's well worth the price of admission to actually pick this book up. You must get this if you're even a casual fan of horror or anything zombie or undead-related. It's clear The Walking Dead took some cues from this book (some of them honestly seem like blatant rip-offs), so go support a book that got the zombie genre right first.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Deadworld: Restoration #2

Jan 1, 2014

All in all, I honestly don't think that there's any other book that deserves $3.99 as much as this one does. This is thinking man's horror done right.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Deadworld: Restoration #3

Feb 5, 2014

There is absolutely nothing negative I can say about this issue, so I won't. Go buy it.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Deadworld: Restoration #4

Mar 12, 2014

The only pawn on the table that will help get rid of Donna and her zombie horde is her daughter. Will there be an all-out-war or a simple way out? Check out this issue to find out, let's just say this last issue has the potential to solidify Deadworld: Restoration as one of the best miniseries of 2014.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Deadworld: Restoration #5

Apr 9, 2014

I know the year is only a quarter of the way over, but I think it's safe to say Deadworld: Restoration will be a serious contender for my "Best Miniseries of 2014" on our best-of-the-year list. After doing some research it seems like doing a miniseries every year or so works for Deadworld, so I can't wait for the next arc of this story. Both the writing and art have been great throughout this series and the fact that not everything is given to you story-wise encourages multiple reads. I do have to say the only critique I have for this issue was at some points it was a bit confusing going from different characters' point of view. Since this issue is so high-octane, it kind of takes away from the flow going back and re-reading things to make sure it makes sense. But other than that, there's too much to like about this series not to check it out.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Doberman #1

Jul 16, 2014

Like I said before, this issue was a breeze to read. It's a simple comic that is full of action, humor, and a bit of bizarreness, especially towards the end which I won't spoil in this review. The story is great, the art is very good, the characters are memorable and have their own personalities. It's really hard to not like this book, the only reason I'm not giving it a 5 is the fact that this type of story and genre is a bit overdone. I understand that that's exactly what they're going for and maybe it's a bit of a mock at the genre or at least a satire, but I think people might skip over this book just because it seems already done, but either way this is a great first issue and any fan of comics should check Doberman out.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Doberman #2

Aug 13, 2014

There's more genuinely funny occurrences in this issue; I actually found myself laughing out loud on more than one occasion. It's a dumb, juvenile type of humor (think a few brain cells past Beavis and Butthead) that's right up my alley and I love it. I can see how it's not for everyone, but all in all this book is just an old-fashioned romp of a read and I enjoyed my time with it.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Doberman #5

Jan 28, 2015

I don't want to talk any more about the story since this is the last issue, but overall it's a satisfying conclusion. I can't say it was great but I enjoyed my time with this issue like the rest of the series. There weren't really any laugh-out-loud moments, but I did find the awkwardness of Newton particularly funny this issue. Where Doberman has these heroic, fluid movements of bad-assery, Newton is always trying to scratch faces or land goofy karate moves. He even professes his love for Doberman only to get a cold, non-responsive answer. Overall, if you're looking for a comic with some humor and a whole lot of action, check out Doberman.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Edgar Allen Poe's The Raven and the Red Death #1

Oct 30, 2013

If you're in the spirit of Halloween and are looking for a great comic to sit down and read, look no further than this book.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Ghost (2013) #1

Dec 18, 2013

Overall, the best way I can describe this book is pretty much genre-defying. For me, the musical equivalent would be a band like Faith No More. It's clearly a supernatural book, but Ghost is arguably a superhero, there's clearly going to be drama elements, mystery elements, etc. That's one of the most enjoyable things about this book, just how refreshing it was to read. Definitely check this one out if you're a fan of any or all the genres that it features.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Ghost (2013) #2

Mar 12, 2014

The only positive I can take from reading this book is the fact that we get to see Ghost and Beleth waste some demons. That said, the cover features Doctor October, and Ghost's encounter her is just like the rest of this book, and that's underwhelming. If you read this book, all you really have to do is look at the last two pages and that's about the only relatively exciting thing that happens. I felt like I was reading a book that was PG-13 when it needs to be amped up to R or beyond. On top of the other problems I've had with Ghost it's just not gritty enough or enticing enough for me to enjoy. Perhaps they should take some cues from Ghost's old pal X"

View Issue       View Full Review
2.0
Ghost (2013) #3

Apr 16, 2014

I really wish this book were more organized creator-wise because I want to like this book, but ever since the first issue they've made it extremely hard to do so.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Grimm Fairy Tales #88

Aug 22, 2013

I'm definitely not one of the people Zenescope caters their books towards, but I still enjoyed this issue. I don't think I'll go back and read #1-87 anytime soon, but the refreshingly original story was good enough to make up for the average artwork and I might have to check out other issues in the future.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Grimm Fairy Tales #89

Sep 11, 2013

I was hoping that some of the intensity of last issue continued through this one, but it didn't. I understand that we need to see Sela's normal life, but I felt this issue was pretty anticlimactic and not very engaging. The only part that was intriguing was the last page, where everything came to a head and left on a cliffhanger. Maybe part two will be more what I'm looking for, but this isn't it.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Grimm Fairy Tales Presents: No Tomorrow #2

Sep 25, 2013

In my opinion, this was a solid book. It wasn't anything extraordinary, but it is definitely interesting enough to get you to want to find out what happens. At points it may seem a bit drawn out since Keres is extremely powerful yet you wonder how she hasn't killed Patrick yet. Her plans are starting to unfold, so I'm curious to see who kicks the bucket next month.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Groo: Friends and Foes #1

Jan 21, 2015

The writing and dialogue is great and the art fits the tone of the story as well. It's very cartoony and looks like what you'd find in newspaper comics strips. Witty, charming, and adventurous, this is a comic any fan should be checking out. I'm looking forward to next month's escapades with Groo.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Groo: Friends and Foes #2

Feb 18, 2015

I really enjoyed this issue and think although it's definitely marketable to children, anyone can enjoy it. There's tons of clever stuff in here from the snarky remarks of Rufferto to a googly-eyed man who asks one of the gypsies to dance for him. Overall, if you're looking for a book that you'll get a few laughs out of and is just a good time to read, check out Groo: Friends and Foes #2.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Groo: Friends and Foes #3

Mar 18, 2015

When I first started reviewing this series, I was a bit worried that there wouldn't be longevity and we'd get just random stories thrown together and a laugh here and there but not much. It might be a little too early to say, but so far I've enjoyed my time with this book and can imagine the misadventures of Groo and Rufferto are going to get even more ridiculous.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Groo: Friends and Foes #4

Apr 15, 2015

I really enjoyed this issue, yet I can't really understand why, but this childish, quirky book hasn't gotten old to me yet. I think it's a testament to the witty writing and vibrant art that have kept this series alive for so long. Out of these first few issues, I think this is the issue with the best funny moments from Groo saying "If I had two dragons" and holding up three fingers to Arcadio failing to impress townsfolk about his heroism.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Groo: Friends and Foes #5

May 20, 2015

Even five issues in, I still find myself finding humor in this series and enjoying the issues throughout. There isn't a ton that happens this issue which makes it easier to breeze through, but that didn't take away from my enjoyment. The art is great and vibrant as usual. I really liked the facial expressions this issue, it was especially funny to see Grooella's army frantically trying to tell Groo who they are in a terrified state. Overall, this is another solid entry in the series and I'm looking forward to next month's adventures and left wondering will Kayli ever find her dad?

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Hit #1

Sep 6, 2013

It's clear that a lot of research and love for the crime genre went into this project, and it shows. It's pretty astonishing to me that events just like these actually took place. I love everything about this book and can't wait for issue two next month. I have some burning questions, too: who's narrating the comic? Will the bartender snuff out the hit squad's operation? (And many more which I can't list or else I'll give too much away) Until then, I'm going to read through my review copy a few more times before picking it up at my local shop, and I highly recommend you do too.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Hit #2

Oct 2, 2013

I wish there were more real 'hit squad' stories in the back of the book like the first issue and some of the 1950's advertisements spoof-like advertisements would have been great, but these are minor gripes. This is a noir story that will have you deeply invested in its cast of characters and every seedy section of the city they explore. I'm excited to see what comes next, and judging by the nature of the twists and turns thus far, I have no idea what that is but I'll sure be following this story until its bitter end.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Hit #3

Nov 6, 2013

I don't know what else to say about the art other than it's one of my favorite books to check out in that aspect these past few months. I can say that the certain moments that were chosen to portray in the panels were among my favorite in all three books thus far. From Eddie Fuentes opening fire on Sticky and Slater from his front porch to their encounter in the smoky interrogation room, everything in both the writing and art department is yet again on-point. I've really enjoyed this miniseries and I can't wait to see how the last issue unfolds-I'm sure it won't be a happy ending.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Hit #4

Dec 18, 2013

There's way more to this book than what I'm recapping, but only to emphasize the fact that you should go out and buy this. This has been one of my favorite creative teams to read from these past few months, and if I'm not mistaken it was a first for both the artist and writer creating a comic book. That's insane for me to think of, the chemistry between the art and storytelling throughout this whole series has been phenomenal. Although I'm sad to see it go, this was a perfect ending to Hit; easily my favorite miniseries this year.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Hit List #3

Dec 4, 2013

I thought the art was good on this issue, but nothing to write home about. The action sequences with the two men murdering Jordan's parents and brother was a little underwhelming, as well as when Grahm was shot in the head. I felt like the gore didn't have enough impact to match the grit of the story. The coloring was good, but I would've liked some more detail in that aspect. Story-wise, although this issue was a bit all over the place, I felt it was a good progression with some murder for good measure. It left off on a great cliffhanger, and I'll definitely be reading next months' issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Hit: 1957 #1

Mar 2, 2015

The art is absolutely gorgeous in this issue right from the opening panels with Bonnie on the beach in San Clemente to the more brutal scenes of the hit squad doing what they do best. I did notice a slight change in the art around page 10 or so that was a bit off to me. Although still great art in my opinion, there was noticeably less detail and a lot more line work. This reminded me of the art in the first series where to me the art in this issue was a bit cleaner which I really enjoyed. The slight change might be jarring to some people, I felt it was a bit odd but nothing to ruin your experience of the book. Overall, Hit: 1957 #1 is a great debut issue and I can't wait to get back into the beautifully disturbing world of Hit again.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Itty Bitty Comics: Grimmiss Island #1

Mar 11, 2015

The art in Grimmiss Island #1 is great and fits the quirky, fast-paced and action-oriented nature of the comic really well. It reminds me of art you'd see in comic strips in the newspaper. It's very cartoony and pops out with a great vibrancy. Overall, anyone could enjoy this book after picking it up on the shelves which I think is the mark of a great all-ages comic.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Itty Bitty Comics: Grimmiss Island #2

Apr 9, 2015

I really enjoyed my time with this issue. This is everything you want in an all-ages book; there's something for everyone. It's charming, vibrant, action-packed, and overall lighthearted. I definitely wish I had gotten into something like this when I was little but even at 20 I found things to enjoy. I especially liked how the world was flipped upside down and it's a day ahead when Grimiss goes to the South Pole. The quick bond between him and "senor chupacabra" is also quite funny as well. I can't really say anything negative about this book-I wouldn't have read this if I wasn't reviewing it but I'm glad I did. If you're into all-ages books, you definitely need to pick this one up.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Jack Kraken One Shot #1

May 14, 2014

I would've liked a more proper introduction to who Jack Kraken is as we're thrown right in the first story. That said, it also made me want to read through the book again which is always a positive thing. If you're a fan of Tim Seeley's past work and are looking for something out of the ordinary, there's a good chance you'll like Jack Kraken.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Justice Inc. #1

Aug 20, 2014

I can't recommend this book to anyone unless you're huge fans of Doc Savage, The Avenger, or The Shadow. Even the extra footnotes at the end feel like something your grandpa is trying to tell you about the "good old days" at Thanksgiving dinner. It's all just very boring to me. The art didn't save this one for me either, it's good but not good enough to hide the other negative aspects of the book.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Kiss Me, Satan #1

Sep 18, 2013

The art I felt was very good, but fell flat for me in the action sequences. It didn't match the intensity for what was going on in my opinion. All in all, if you're really into werewolves, pick this up. If not, it's a pretty easy pass, at least until the story gets more interesting.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Kiss Me, Satan #2

Oct 23, 2013

I like the art quite a bit too, it's definitely above-average. I liked the action sequences in this issue a lot more than the last and the blood and gore was disgustingly detailed. If you don't take this comic too seriously and don't worry about the amount of clichs it adopts, you'll probably find yourself enjoying it like I did.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Kiss Me, Satan #4

Dec 19, 2013

I don't want to give anything more than that away, this issue is definitely worth reading. Next issue is clearly going to be an all-out-war, and I'm looking forward to seeing the conclusion of this miniseries. The art throughout this series has been gorgeous, but I especially noticed it in this issue. I loved the magic and action sequences the most, they were hectic, but still super detailed. Also, I felt like I was right beside Malcolm and Barnabus in the fight-the choice of angles to show in the panel were expertly crafted. The storytelling at first I thought was going to be a generic attempt at a supernatural/drama story, but has turned into a book that I'm really looking forward to see the conclusion. The pacing of this issue was great, and it progressed into a perfect cliffhanger for the final issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Kiss Me, Satan #5

Jan 15, 2014

Although I enjoyed this series these last few issues, I still think it had potential to be more. I never really felt that connected or invested in any of the characters-for me, Cassian was the most memorable but we never really knew that much about him. It was also almost anti-climactic when he didn't kill his son because he didn't seem that evil and therefore not much of a threat for Barnabus. That said, for me the highlights of this book have been the gruesome, gory action sequences thanks to the stellar art. If you look at it like a movie that you just go in to see some blood and gore and not worry too much about remembering the characters than you will probably want to check this out. Otherwise, the story may seem a bit predictable and may be disappointing.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Lady Killer #2

Feb 4, 2015

One of the reasons why I enjoyed the debut of Lady Killer so much was that it was such a breeze to read. That said, I really liked this second installment for the opposite: it starts to dig a little deeper and things start to get more complicated in Josie's already crazy life. The pacing may seem a bit odd to people with the action front-loaded but I think it was necessary to slam on the breaks and let us find out a little more about what's going on. I really enjoyed this issue-the writing is great, the art is gorgeous-there really isn't much not to like.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Lady Killer #3

Mar 4, 2015

I really enjoyed this issue and especially liked how we get more character development from Peck. Up to this point he's just been there for comedic purposes but in this issue he's there for anything but. I'd like to know more about Stenholm and the organization but I trust we'll learn some more about that in the last two issues. The art continues to be stellar and has been some of my favorite as of late. I can't go too much into detail about why I thought that because it'd be giving some of the story away, but if you liked what you saw the first two issues this will be no different. I'm really looking forward to see how this story comes to a close and I can't imagine it'll be pretty.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Lady Killer #4

Apr 1, 2015

Overall, this might have been my favorite issue of the series so far. I have no criticisms or qualms with it whatsoever. The action was great and very tense, the art is gorgeous as always, and the cliffhanger at the end has me very anxious to see the conclusion of this mini-series.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Lady Killer #5

May 13, 2015

There's not much else I can say without spoiling something which I really don't want to do. However, if you've been a fan of the series thus far, there's no doubt you'll love this final issue. Pretty much everything I've come to love about this series is present, just cranked to 11. At the end we're left wondering if we'll see Josie again, and it's a question I hope we find the answer to sooner than later.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Li'L Sonja #1

Jan 31, 2014

I think that this is a positive thing for a company to put out. I know there are a lot of people out there that think all comics are for little kids, but obviously that isn't the case at all. There's no way any young kid should be reading the normal Red Sonja books. The dragon in the story was saying that all things red are valuable and worth keeping-even though he's a bad guy; this is still kind of a positive point. Sonja is a redhead too, and I'm sure kids get made fun of all the time for being 'gingers' still. I think this book could act as a moral lesson, a character to look up to, as well as a way for kids to get into comics, so I see it as a positive even though it may seem like an annoying fad to some.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Nailbiter #9

Jan 8, 2015

Roger also gets consumed by the bees his grandfather concocts and the grandfather is pursued by a mysterious figure. At this point I honestly couldn't care less who that even was. I had to go look back to even remember that it happened. I know many other reviewers have been giving this book high praise, but I think it hasn't been worth giving praise for multiple issues now. I really loved Williamson's writing on Ghosted, but that started to falter for me after the first ten issues or so. Birthright is incredible so far, but that's only four issues in as of today. Nailbiter continues to disappoint, but I still have some hope it can return to how good it once was.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Quantum and Woody Must Die #1

Jan 28, 2015

This is a book I definitely recommend if you're a fan of comedy in comics done well and superhero stories that don't take themselves seriously at all.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Quantum and Woody Must Die #2

Feb 25, 2015

I really thought the comedy aspect of this book was very weak especially since I thought the debut issue was pretty humorous. I didn't laugh or even crack a smile once through this issue. There was even an Ebola reference which at this point is totally irrelevant. Since comedy is a big part of this series, it was really hard for me to enjoy this issue. The art was fantastic like last issue, but that's not enough for me to pull it out of just being an average book.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Quantum and Woody Must Die #3

Mar 26, 2015

Story-wise, Quantum and Woody are facing trouble this issue as the odds are stacking up against them. It finally starts to feel like they could actually die, which at this point I just wish they would. This time, as you could tell by the cover, animals are used against them and so is Terminal, the man who Quantum and Woody almost killed in the first issue. The action at the end with the animals was great and the art is great, but other than that there was much to be desired in my opinion.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Quantum and Woody Must Die #4

Apr 29, 2015

But overall, this issue was my favorite of the series. Although there was so much going on it was a bit hard to digest, the comedy delivered, the art was fantastic as usual, and as a first-time Quantum and Woody reader I'd definitely consider checking them out again in the near future on their main title.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Reality Check #1

Sep 4, 2013

This comic is very unique in my opinion. The story weaves about seamlessly throughout Will's past experiences, his struggle to become an accomplished writer and as a bonus, we even get a glimpse into his own comic, Dark Hour. The story itself is dramatic, endearing, witty, and overall just a lot of fun to read. The characters are strong, the art is great, and I was sucked in through every page.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Reality Check #2

Oct 2, 2013

Although there isn't a whole lot of substance to the story, this is just one enjoyable read. I breezed through reading this but was still interested the whole way through. Adding a bit of humor is always welcomed, and Reality Check delivers. There were a few times Dark Hour sounded exactly like Will created him in different real-life situations. He analyzes simple situations way too far. For example, when he's reading about Dubstep, he says "How can we dance to an un-danceable beat and still look cool enough to attract babage?" It's genuinely a fun time being immersed in Will and Dark Hour's adventures (or misadventures) as they continually fail to fix their respective troubles.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Reality Check #3

Nov 6, 2013

Overall, I'm looking forward to the conclusion of this comic. I think this book could've been very generic and an afterthought too many comic readers, but the way it's been handled through an engaging story with a sense of emotion while retaining a good bit of humor makes it break out of the superhero mold.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Reality Check #4

Dec 5, 2013

I did enjoy how it still isn't taking itself seriously. For example, when the cops show up after the fight between Will and the Devil-Inside, the cops ask who busted a hole in the wall of the clothing store they were in. The Devil-Inside looks at him and says "Don't look at me-I'm pretty sure it was the occupy fashion movement." If you're a fan of meta stories, looking for a few laughs or for books that know what they are and don't try to re-invent the wheel, then check this out.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Regular Show Skips #4

Feb 12, 2014

Sometimes I think "all-ages" should really mean "children's", but this comic can definitely be enjoyed by anyone who's a fan of quirky characters and even weirder stories.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Revival #15

Nov 27, 2013

I can't say enough about how much this series continues to wow me month after month whether it be the brilliant storytelling, the incredible art, or just how refreshing this book is to read. The only thing I can critique this month are two typos, one of them being: ""who lets you smoke weed all day"" Hey Image, need any more editors? But seriously, go pick this book up if you've thought about or have taken Revival off your pull list. Perhaps there have been less followers of it because it's getting up in the double-digits. That said, there's a lot of life left in this series (pun intended).

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Revival #16

Dec 19, 2013

One critique I have about this issue is that some people may see it as a little weighty or too deep story-wise. For a casual fan of this book, it may be getting confusing and the fact that some characters are coming back and we're introduced to new mysteries (like what was going on with May?) 16 issues in may be a little frustrating or a little intimidating. For big fans of the series like myself however, I wouldn't want it any other way. The story just keeps getting better each month, with brilliant writing and stunning art, both cover and interior. Revival continues to be my favorite $2.99 spent each month.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Revival #17

Jan 29, 2014

Again, lots more to read here but this is a book that I wish everyone was reading so I don't want to give too much away. Revival is still my favorite series and brings me back month after month to this twisted mystery, but this issue didn't draw me in as much as other months. There is a huge event that takes place in this issue, but all in all it was more disappointing and frustrating than anything. If that is Seeley's goal for the reader to feel, then he nailed it. At some point though I'd like to feel like I know what's going on though. With each layer of the proverbial onion pulled back, another three get added on. But who am I kidding; I already can't wait for next month's issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Revival #19

Apr 2, 2014

This issue was a great set-up for #20 with a huge cliffhanger and the introduction of a few new characters. As usual this book continues to be one of my favorites, and I'm already looking forward to reading the next installment.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Revival #20

May 10, 2014

While many other series falter when getting into this depth of issue number territory, Revival remains as great as ever and still reels me in like it did the first time I read the debut issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Revival #21

Jun 26, 2014

There aren't any other books like this out there and Revival continues to bring the thrills and chills in its own flavor of a great horror/noir story. Like usual, there's more layers to this issue than I'm letting on, but everyone should be following this book so I don't want to give up too much.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Revival #22

Jul 23, 2014

We also get to see an old friend in this issue-I don't want to give away who it is, so go pick up this issue. It's hard to do these reviews month after month because there's never really anything negative to say about this series. We've got a new setting, a few new characters-it's as if last issue was the start of a new season if this was a TV series and it's arguably just as exciting as the first time we saw a reviver back in the first issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Rocket Girl #1

Oct 9, 2013

Although there were some questions that I thought would be important to the first issue unanswered, I'm definitely interested to see what happens next month. Any fans of sci-fi, adventure, and action should definitely check this one out.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Rocket Girl #2

Nov 13, 2013

The art is again just stunning. It's detailed, bright, and dynamic. Just like the first issue, both time periods are brought to life expertly and the futuristic 2013 stood out even more to me, like the portrayal of the holographic news stations on Dayoung's Q-Pad. Also, we got a deeper look into Dayoung's personality. It's clear that she is very strong-willed and wise beyond her years. When Leshawn wants to go with her back to 1986, she just gives him a stoic look and says "You'll only slow me down." This was a great second issue, and I'm looking forward to putting more of the pieces of the puzzle together next month.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Rocket Girl #3

Jan 2, 2014

Although this book started off looking promising, I was extremely disappointed with this issue. It just keeps getting more confusing rather than making more sense each issue. Hopefully it turns around next month.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Rocket Girl #4

Mar 19, 2014

I think the beautiful art really made me forget that what was going on in the comics wasn't necessarily memorable or something we hadn't seen yet in this story (except for the ending). I guess I'll check out next month's issue, but I'm starting to lose interest in this series with each issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
S.H.O.O.T. First #1

Oct 16, 2013

To me the plot is very odd and I'm not sure who their target demographic is. I would understand them trying to pull in the atheist demographic since that seems to be pretty popular these days, but I don't think it's dark enough to pull in that crowd. There's a definite sci-fi and futuristic element to it, but overall it fails to impress or intrigue me.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Sally Of The Wasteland #1

Aug 3, 2014

From there it just gets weirder and ends so far out in left field you won't see it coming. The whole time I was reading this debut issue I enjoyed it, but I also felt like there wasn't a ton of substance. I kind of felt like I was waiting for a really notable event to happen, but it never really hit. I'm okay with that as the buildup was intense and I'm totally hooked for the next issue. I just think the pacing was a bit odd. That's just a bit of a nit-pick if I had to say anything negative about this book, because there's a lot to like. The dialogue is serious when it needs to be (I mean this is a post-apocalyptic story after all), but is hilarious at the same time. The action is great, the story is interesting and the art is good. I would definitely recommend this comic to anyone who likes a good post-apocalyptic story but isn't afraid to not take things too seriously.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Scum of the Earth #1

Jul 2, 2014

I really enjoyed reading this first issue and can't wait to read the next. Although not for those with weak stomachs or those who get offended easily, I think anyone who has supported what Action Lab: Danger Zone has been doing will get a real kick out of their time with Scum of the Earth #1.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Shaolin Cowboy #1

Oct 9, 2013

There's a lot to like about The Shaolin Cowboy. It's whacky, over-the-top, and at points laugh-out-loud funny (for example, the one satellite's name is CHENEY666). If you don't enjoy this book, you're already dead.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Shaolin Cowboy #2

Nov 14, 2013

Was it great to look at through? Sure. Can I recommend paying the 399 cents they advertise to buy it? No. Just go to the comic store and you can flip through it before you get the stuff on your pull list.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Shaolin Cowboy #3

Dec 11, 2013

Obviously I never want to give the entire story away in a review, but you'd be able to do the same in the comic shop in less time than it takes to read this review anyway.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Shaolin Cowboy #4

Jan 8, 2014

Again, the art is really the only redeeming factor to justify a purchase to people who've liked this series. It is incredibly impressive how much Geof Darrow fits into each panel and each page. But does that make up for the fact that there was barely any story or any real reason to want to keep reading Shaolin Cowboy after the first issue? Personally, I think not.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Sheltered #3

Sep 4, 2013

I already own the first two issues, so I was very much looking forward to this issue. I have to say, it didn't have those pushing-the-envelope moments like #1 when the parents were killed or #2 when it looked like Vic was getting ready to go kill Lucas, but I can tell that this was a build-up issue. I'm a huge fan of this creative team (especially since they're relatively unknown as of now, but that won't last long), so I trust they know where they're going with the story.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Sheltered #4

Oct 17, 2013

The art was phenomenal again (I mean, how can you not love that cover?). Johnnie Christmas is able to capture each essential moment and is able to convey other ideas at the same time (such as Lucas being distracted by that girl and boy while partaking in the heated argument with Joey) with ease. The expressions are especially memorable art-wise. It's fascinating following the different characters and seeing how they react to different situations in their newly-found situation with Lucas as the leader. I'm looking forward to seeing how far Lucas is willing to go to keep these kids under his rule and what happens along the way.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Sheltered #5

Nov 20, 2013

The story in this comic is quickly becoming one of my favorites, and this book is just getting started. Right after I read it I contemplated for a while what will happen next and I think that's the mark of a memorable read. The first trade comes out December 9th and collects this first story arc. If you're reading this review chances are you've read other issues in the series, but if you want all the physical issues in one place with extras definitely check it out. I can't wait to see what's in store for this next arc.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Sheltered #6

Jan 9, 2014

I loved the art as usual (I mean just look at that cover!), and the coloring is incredible as well. I can't say what parts I enjoyed the most art-wise because that would give a ton away. I can say I love how the characters express emotion throughout these books thanks to the art. At this point I've become so engrossed in the series that I can see a blank panel with just Lucas's expression and almost come up with my own dialogue for what he's thinking. By being able to get inside these characters' heads helps to relate to them or in Lucas's case at least try to understand what's going on inside his head. I come back month after month to this great creative team and have yet to be let down. This is easily my favorite issue of the series next to the first one, and I can't wait for the next installment.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Sheltered #7

Feb 26, 2014

This book continues to surprise, thrill and lets us know that sometimes the biggest enemy in the impending apocalypse is not a volcano or an earthquake, but man himself.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Sheltered #8

Apr 23, 2014

The art was great as usual and it's clear that some of the kids aren't willing to sit around passively anymore-they'll probably either want Lucas gone or Victoria gone, or possibly even worse. Tab's fury when she yells at Lucas and kicks him was very strong and surprising since she seemed mild-mannered. Things are spiraling into chaos thanks to Lucas, and if the kids can't trust Victoria as a leader, it'll be every man for themselves. In the situation and shape they're in, that's the last thing they should be doing.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Sheltered #9

May 28, 2014

Overall, if you're not reading Sheltered"why? This book has grabbed us all by the throat on day one and has refused to let up thus far. By reading the description for next month's issue, I can surmise that it's going to be even crazier than this issue. Until then, Sheltered #9 is more than enough to hold you over.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Sheltered #10

Jul 2, 2014

On the other side of the conflict, Mitch devises a plan to get Victoria, Tab, and Hailey out of Safe Haven. He gives Victoria the cell phone he got off of the dead body he was getting rid of a few issues ago. He tells her to call someone to pick her up once the phone gets signal-but he also asks her not to call the police or give away Safe Haven's location. Will they be able to escape? Will Cliff make it home? Is Curt finally dead like we all hoped he was going to be?

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Star Mage #1

Apr 16, 2014

Both the writing and art are great in this debut issue. Even though we weren't introduced to a lot of characters, they're already all memorable and have their own voice which is obviously very important to portray in a comic book. I feel myself pulling for Darien since he is an outcast and has been dealt a cruel hand in life. The art does a really good job of portraying his (and everyone else's for that matter) emotions which made me even more invested in the book. I would recommend this to anyone who likes comics regardless of genre or preconceived notions like I had. I honestly can't think of anything negative to say about this first issue and I hope the second issue keeps this momentum up.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Star Mage #2

May 21, 2014

Due to the lackadaisical nature of the rest of the book, the ending which would normally yield a great cliffhanger due to the circumstances left me feeling apathetic towards our two protagonists. I obviously very much enjoyed the first issue, but if the series continues along this path I might not be following it for much longer. I can only really praise this book if you're a huge sci-fi fan and don't mind reading long-winded character and world descriptions. Also, the art is great and really is the saving factor for this issue in my opinion.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Steed and Mrs. Peel: We're Needed #1

Jul 23, 2014

The art was good but not great; I was under the impression that the cover artist that did the Mrs. Peel cover was doing the interior art as well, so I was a bit disappointed. That's probably the best way to explain my experience with this comic: disappointing. I've been a big fan of what Boom has been putting out lately with books like The Woods and The Last Broadcast, but I'm going to have to give Steed and Mrs. Peel: We're Needed another chance next month and hope it's better than this debut issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Tales From The Con #1

May 14, 2014

One of my favorites and one of the first jokes occurred when a doctor is tending to a con-goer. The doctor says "I've seen golf knee and tennis elbow, but this is the first time I've treated quarter-bin finger." Other topics covered include fanboys, fans of print vs. print of digital, and the dos and don'ts at conventions. Sure, some of the jokes are eye-roll inducing, but it's all in good fun.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Darkness: Close Your Eyes #1

Jun 4, 2014

I liked the art in this issue a lot as well. There are few colors used other than a muted palette, making the bleak and dreary setting all the more believable when matched with the downright depressing writing. There are a few bursts of color here and there and when they are used, they really pop-but I don't want to give away why they appear so I can't say much more about that. Overall, I really think this is a great story regardless if you've read The Darkness before or not. Personally, I'm now very interested in going back and checking out the series after reading this one-shot.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Shadow #0

Jul 16, 2014

This issue alone made me a fan of The Shadow, so if you're a fan of vigilante and pulp noir-type stories, you owe it to yourself to check this book out. If you're already reading the series this purchase is a no-brainer.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
The Shadow Special 2014 #1

Jan 14, 2015

Overall, I can only really recommend buying this book if you're a big fan of The Shadow. I can't justify paying $7.99 for this book even if it is 48 pages. I enjoyed this book for the most part, but for me it didn't do enough to stand out from other titles on the shelves.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
The Twilight Zone: Shadow and Substance #1

Jan 21, 2015

That said, the art isn't anything to write home about in my opinion and I felt there was some wasted space. I got to the end of the story and was thinking "really, that's it?" Bottom line is there isn't much going on this issue. William has a few encounters with Billy which is the meat and potatoes of the comic, the rest is more or less filler. I can't recommend picking this up unless you're a big Twilight Zone fan or love stories with time travel.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
The Twilight Zone: Shadow and Substance #2

Feb 25, 2015

I did enjoy the ending even though it was a bit predictable, but that's the only part of this story I enjoyed. The rest had potential but in my opinion it wasn't executed well at all. I think the artwork in this issue was good for the most part, but to me the faces felt a bit flat which could have been some of the source of my disappointment in the lack of emotion. I think this series can be very good if some of these aspects are improved upon, but for now I can't recommend this new ongoing series of The Twilight Zone.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
The Twilight Zone: Shadow and Substance #3

Mar 26, 2015

I enjoyed the artwork again which gave a bit of emotion to the otherwise pretty dull story. But to me honestly that can't save this issue from being a disappointment. I really want to like this series and I think some interesting ideas have been presented but these last two issues have been making it hard to enjoy. Hopefully we get some explanation and backstory next issue or it's all going to fall apart.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
The Twilight Zone: Shadow and Substance #4

Apr 29, 2015

The art was also inconsistent, as sometimes you could see great detail in Lee's expressions but there are a few less than stellar panels that stick out like a sore thumb. I can't recommend this book unless you're completely obsessed with The Twilight Zone, even then I doubt anyone could enjoy this issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Thumbprint #3

Aug 28, 2013

If you're looking for a crime thriller that actually takes until the very end to figure out, has tons of twists and turns, and is incredibly original like Revival, look elsewhere. But, if you're looking for a quick read in the genre and a book that has an interesting enough story to keep you hooked throughout, be sure to check out Thumbprint.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Tomb Raider #3

Apr 23, 2014

I really enjoyed the art as usual, but what stood out to me the most were the few panels taken directly from the game where Lara is jumping from one broken half of the ship to the next while Roth has his arm stretched out in attempt to catch her. I believe this moment is captured in the trailer for the game as well so even if you haven't played it you may know what I'm talking about. The attention to detail is definitely enjoyable, but the original story is also very well-done which brings out the best of both worlds to a video game tie-in comic.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Veil #1

Mar 5, 2014

Stylistically, to me it seems like the art looks as if you're just catching a glimpse of something which really helps with the overall mystique of the book. The first few pages are perfect examples of this as we see a lit candle around a pentagram, an up-close shot of an armed man, the wind from the subway portrayed by papers floating around, and the exchange of money to name a few. What does it all mean? I can't wait to find out. Veil is one of the most refreshing books I've read in a while and proves to be one of the reasons why comics are just as a legitimate literature medium as any.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Veil #2

Apr 2, 2014

Again, I can't talk enough about how much I love the art in this book. It fits the story perfectly with a lot of dark tones and shading, but also has hues of purple, green, and red when the more mysterious events pop up. What the artist chooses to show in the book really compliment with the cryptic nature of the writing as well. We're not spoon-fed anything in this book for sure, and the same goes with the art. That said, there's little 'Easter eggs' if you will. For example, when Dante and Veil are running down an alley after Veil moves the dumpster, we see the rat poking out of Veil's shirt with a crazed look in its eyes. There's a lot I left out in my synopsis of the book, so I highly recommend you go out and buy this issue to find out what happens for yourself.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Veil #4

Jul 30, 2014

The art has become among my favorite in any comic I've been following, and the fact that Fezjula handles the coloring is also very impressive, as his palette makes for a unique experience. I felt the pacing and dialogue was a step up from last issue as well, and I can't wait for the final issue. I have no doubts that Veil will be a serious contender if not clear-cut winner for my favorite miniseries of 2014.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
X #14

Jun 11, 2014

Although we've come to expect adrenaline-pumping, high-octane issues month after month from this book, I feel like the writing is strong enough that I never know what's going to happen next. Although X does his best to clean up the streets, each visit to Arcadia is more corrupt, bloody, and dark than the last-and I wouldn't have it any other way.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
X #16

Aug 13, 2014

All in all, this was another solid entry in the series and I can't wait for the next story arc to start.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
X #21

Jan 14, 2015

Although I'm a big fan of this series, I can't help but feel like a lot of the issue was spent just kind of going through the motions so we could get to the explosive ending. You get some gruesomely beautiful scenes of X doing what X does best, and there's a bit of tension with Leigh and her stalker"but we all knew who her stalker was going to be, especially if you read the intro. And if you know who the stalker is, you know who else is coming-so I can't really justify buying this issue, maybe just pick it up off the rack and skim through it. If you read the past few issues you can pretty much tell what happens in this issue without even reading the whole thing. I have faith in the rest of the story arc being great, but I'd be lying if I said this issue wasn't a bit of a let-down.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
X #23

Mar 11, 2015

I don't want to spoil anything but the big events in this issue are thanks to characters we've already seen come and go which just feels rehashed. The only thing that I really enjoyed about this issue was the brief moment where we're given more insight to X. We get to learn what happened to his eye and a bit about what kind of person he was. Other than that though, I was very dissatisfied with this installment. This has been one of my favorite titles for a long time, but this issue didn't do anything for me.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
X #24

Apr 8, 2015

I enjoyed everything story and action-wise, and there were some exceptionally great panels of art in this issue. However, there were some noticeably and uncharacteristically weak panels in my opinion. Some of the art seemed like it was rushed. The main place where I noticed this was the one where X finally escapes from the addicts and yells "Enough!" To me it was definitely not visually appealing, which is contradictory to how much I usually enjoy the art. I'm not saying it was bad at any means, but I was distracted a few times by the quality which made me enjoy it less than normal. Overall though, we have another solid and brutal entry into X's bloodstained journey.

View Issue       View Full Review
2.0
Zombie War #1

Oct 23, 2013

The most ironic thing to me was that this was an oversized issue, yet not much happened at all regarding the advancement of the story. I think that if this plot were to actually take place, and it would be overwhelmingly terrifying. But honestly I didn't feel any of the intensity or horror that should have been present in a book like this.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for
the Week of...

January

December

More