Benjamin Raven's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: CourtOfNerds Reviews: 113
8.1Avg. Review Rating

9.5
All-Star Batman #2

Sep 14, 2016

All-around fantastic read that justifies the names attached and the $4.99 cover price. This series and this issue, specifically, an absolute must grab. 

View Issue       View Full Review
10
All-Star Batman #4

Nov 10, 2016

It doesn't get better than this for Batman fans. The slow progression of the relationship between Batman and Duke are the things that make Snyder stand out as THE Batman writer of our generation. He knows this character like none other, and he proves it with each passing page.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
All-Star Batman #5

Jan 3, 2017

The over-the-top action, video-game Bat-gadgets combined with the most personality from Batman we've ever seen make this a must-grab book. Seriously, you will fall in love with Scott Snyder's version of Batman in All-Star Batman.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
All-Star Batman #8

Mar 15, 2017

This book will make you feel things. Not necessarily emotions like happiness, anger or sadness, but confusion, anxiety and a feeling of not being in control. Also, Batman has Wolverine claw gadgets for a second (!).

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Amazing Spider-Man (2015) #9

Mar 10, 2016

One of Slott's strongest starts to an arc since his Superior Spider-Man days. From the Alek Ross cover to the Giuseppe Camuncoli art, this book has a pretty mouth. 

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Amazing Spider-Man (2015) #10

Apr 13, 2016

Slott just gets Spider-Man. It feels traditional and fresh all at the same time. His ability to jam-pack an issue without making it feel convoluted will never not feel unique. Camuncoli has the unenviable task of following up an Alex Ross cover, but the guy is becoming one of my favorite ASM artists in quite some time. 

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Amazing Spider-Man (2015) #11

Apr 28, 2016

This series is moving onto Superior things and issue 11 does a great job of wrapping up the Zodiac storyline while enticing the leader with what the future holds. 

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Amazing Spider-Man (2015) #12

May 5, 2016

A better Tony Stark/Iron Man than that in International Iron Man, and like I said, a fun Spider-Man story using his tangled past to make matters more even more complicated. You should come to expect some of the best art in the industry and cleanest storytelling when you pick up a Slott/Camuncoli ASM book. 

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Amazing Spider-Man (2015) #16

Aug 12, 2016

 There is a difference between meaningless repetition and what makes a character a character. Dan Slott once again proves that he is a master of walking that fine line. Also, Alex Ross is doing some of his best cover work of his career week-to-week on this series. 

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Amazing Spider-Man (2015) #18

Sep 22, 2016

Dan Slott has not been given an easy situation to work with here. Marvel has pushed the reset button on ASM more times than a 90s kid who spilled Surge on his Nintendo 64.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Avengers Standoff: Assault on Pleasant Hill Omega #1

Apr 27, 2016

I swear I enjoyed this book, but it was so frustratingly close to being something special.I'm sorry, but I don't need Steve Rogers narrating how he thinks this battle is a story "we'll bore our grandkids with someday." I want to see it, I want to feel it.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batgirl (2011) #52

May 27, 2016

Nothing groundbreaking here other than a proper goodbye to one of the most overachieving books and creative teams in recent memory.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Batgirl (2016) #1

Aug 5, 2016

Gail Simone and Ardian Syaf pick me up when I am down. One thing is clear, Barbara Gordon's Batgirl is safe in the hands of Simone and Syaf. Read this book.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batgirl (2016) #2

Aug 26, 2016

Another strong move forward for Batgirl in its second issue under Hope Larson and Rafael Albuquerque. She's away from Burnside, in another country and as far as away from the New 52. 

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Batgirl (2016) #3

Oct 3, 2016

Some consistency on the art would be helpful as there isn't enough here to recommend this book to non-Batgirl fans. The story is strong, but this issue was far from the complete package. It isn't all doom and gloom as this series is in its infancy and just needs to find its solid footing. 

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batgirl (2016) #4

Nov 7, 2016

Fans who stuck with this series are being rewarded with beautiful work from Rafael Albuquerque and Dave McCaig. Hope Larson's story ooze with classic Batman-ish cheese and mysterious new characters.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Batgirl (2016) #5

Nov 29, 2016

Things wrap up in squeaky-clean fashion as the only thing we're left wondering is where Batgirl is off to next.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Batgirl and the Birds of Prey #2

Sep 19, 2016

The Batgirl, Batman and Jim Gordon dynamic saves the issue, while the reader is left wondering what version of Canary and Huntress they'll get each issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Batgirl and the Birds of Prey: Rebirth #1

Jul 20, 2016

It's not a complete disaster, but the art really brings this issue down in the end. Babs looks like a different character from page to page at times and the "quirky cuteness" is forced down our throats and in every panel.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Batman (2011) #51

Apr 27, 2016

Snyder and Capullo hit us right in the feels with good, old-fashioned story-telling to end their near five-year run on the series.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batman (2011) #52

May 12, 2016

We close the door on the New 52's greatest success with a non-clichd, feel good comic book story. It's about growth, just as issue #51 was about Gotham's growth, #52 was about Bruce's growth following the death of his parents and his 10 years off the grid. No, it's nothing in terms of story, but it closes this chapter the way it deserved to be closed.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Batman (2016) #1

Jun 15, 2016

Great starting point, cliff-hanger ending with Tom King adding a determined, almost at peace layer to the Batman aura. This issue is not to be missed, between the building-blocks put in motion and the team of David Finch and Jordie Bellaire; Batman #1 is spot-on.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Batman (2016) #4

Aug 4, 2016

This issue goes for it all in a high-risk, high-reward plot jump. In the long term, I feel that it's the right move, but it might be a little too jarring for some. Finch and Bellaire once again mess well in Batman #4. 

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batman (2016) #7

Sep 27, 2016

Steve Orlando is the perfect fit to stick with Batman and Detective Comics through the Night of the Monster Men arc. The first crossover of DC Rebirth is a hit, and the perfect book for those ready for Halloween a month early. 

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batman (2016) #8

Oct 6, 2016

It's fun, it's weird, it works. Tom King and Steve Orlando bring the freaky monsters and obscure Batman characters. Sure, it's not the deepest but it's fun. We need more fun. 

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Batman (2016) #11

Nov 17, 2016

The artwork is so strong throughout the issue, and we are truly on the road to something very fun with Batman, Bane and co. Tom King just meshes so well with whatever artist he is working on, as the creativity in structure and format make the surreal nature of this issue just jump right off the page.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman (2016) #12

Dec 8, 2016

Tom King knows how to put his mark on a series. Batman #12 is bold, daring, deep and emotional. Prepare yourselves, because this is one hell of a ride and King is just getting started.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Batman (2016) #15

Jan 19, 2017

You know what? No matter the character, whether a well-known favorite or new piece to the fold, Tom King and Mitch Gerads keep you invested in the story at hand in Batman #15. You're not thinking about the past or what always happens, you're focusing on the night that Batman and Catwoman share. 

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Batman (2016) #16

Feb 3, 2017

An uncharacteristic Batman book that ends very much on character. Tom King, David Finch and Jordie Bellaire bring a funny-as-all-hell story to a screeching halt with a dark ending. An absolute must-grab for Bat-readers new and old.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Batman: White Knight #1

Oct 4, 2017

Sean Murphy proves once again that he is one of the most badass creators in the comic world. Not only did he create a beautifully twisted alternate reality take on Joker-Batman, but he made some of DC's most fabled characters look like badasses straight out of Tokyo Ghost.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Black Canary (2015) #12

Jun 8, 2016

Really easy to follow along on this weird, wacky, time-jumpy journey. An postive off-the-wall end to the Black Canary series. The last 3-4 issues of this series were fantastic.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Black Hammer #1

Jul 21, 2016

Lemrie, Ormstron and Stewart's work on Abraham Slam is worth buying, reading and adoring this series, alone. With a top-billing group like that, this story, art, colors and tone do not disappoint. 

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Black Hammer #2

Aug 17, 2016

Tell me what's wrong with this book. Go ahead, I'll wait. Just trust me. Buy this book. Lemire, Ormston and Stewart have something beyond special here. 

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Black Hammer #3

Sep 21, 2016

An absolutely fascinating dive into Barbalien, who before this issue was Black Hammer's least focused-on characters. We see so many different sides as we follow a character stuck "hiding in plain sight." 

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Black Hammer Annual #1

Jan 25, 2017

When it comes to giant-sized annuals, it doesn't get much better than Jeff Lemire's Black Hammer

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Black Panther (2016) #2

May 11, 2016

We're only scratching the surface of Ta-Nehisi Coates' Wakanda, but it's been extremely satisfying to see him build his world around T'Challa and not just through him. A lot of pieces are in play, and it feels like Coates is about to take us on a hell of a journey. Artist  Brian Stelfreeze deserves a lot of the credit by accomplishing the task of showing us so much with each passing panel. 

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Black Panther (2016) #3

Jun 29, 2016

Listen, Coates is a storyteller and that's what he's doing. He's building a foundation to tell a story on. The pace might not be for everyone, but this book deserves more attention from Marvel and its readers. Brian Stelfreeze is the perfect man to show us a lost T'Challa. Stay on board with this one, faithful nerds as we're getting there.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Black Panther (2016) #4

Aug 7, 2016

I'm sure a bunch of readers are clamoring for some more action, but I urge you to hang on. We're done with the first arc of Coates' Black Panther, and we're heading down a revolutionary road. 

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Black Panther (2016) #5

Aug 13, 2016

The drama, dialogue and art is still top-notch, but this series needs to diversify itself a bit. People lost their minds when teased with what little of the Black Panther and his suit we've seen in action during Ta-Nehisi Coates' run and it's time to give the beast another taste.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Black Panther (2016) #8

Nov 16, 2016

: These issues are starting to blend together as they kind of all feel the same. Chris Sprouse's artwork is smooth and meshes well with the dialogue-laden story that is Black Panther #8. This is an arc that is eight-parts deep, and I'm not even sure where we're going. These are books that you can't sit down and walk away from, they require introspective meditation work just to understand what you just read. 

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Cage (2016) #1

Oct 11, 2016

 All right. Cage! #1 from Genndy Tartakovsky is insane. Like insane-insane, but also insane as in good insane. Impressive work on a fun story and even more fun art. 

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Captain America: Sam Wilson #8

Apr 20, 2016

It's a very solid issue and I'm so high on it because this is a blueprint of how to follow up a widely acclaimed issue with a tie-in. It's an unenviable task, but Spencer wrote the heck out of this book. 

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Captain America: Steve Rogers #1

May 25, 2016

This isn't about canon. This isn't about keeping things the same. This isn't about the movies. This isn't even about the legacy of Steve Rogers aka Captain America. This is about the fact that Marvel, Nick Spencer and Co. just tried to pass shock value as is as actual creative content.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.5
Civil War II #2

Jun 16, 2016

What are people dying for if it only truly affects one or two people. This is supposed to be a Marvel-wide story, but it just doesn't feel like one.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.5
Cyborg: Rebirth #1

Sep 7, 2016

You've already heard this story even if you own a sliver of Cyborg knowledge. 

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Deadpool (2015) #10

Apr 20, 2016

Gerry Duggan's newish Deadpool series is successfully hammering home the belief that Deadpool is definitely a sarcastic and violent asshole, but he's a good guy who cares about the little people of the world. 

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Deadpool v Gambit #1

Jun 25, 2016

We're teetering on something more than OK.Danilo Beyruth's art, whether in insane Deadpool memory scenes or just Gambit and Pool gabbing, is fantastic. It has this kinetic, off-the-wall grittiness to it. Ben Blacker and Ben Blacker need to reel it in a little bit and gain some focus and they should probably pick on a new group.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Deadpool v Gambit #4

Sep 2, 2016

It's not great, it's not bad. It's exactly fun, but it's not exactly boring. The art is a blast and feels like a quarterback. Oh, and this isn't a spoiler: Deadpool and Gambit are basically not in this issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Flash (2016) #1

Jun 23, 2016

Williamson and Di Giandomenico are giving fans an enjoyable, fun, touching and introspective take on Barry Allen as The Flash. Book #1 is a slow down, if you will, and plate-clearer after all the big one-shot issues. This is The Flash book people have been waiting for, in my opinion.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Flash (2016) #2

Jul 13, 2016

Schmeckles: The Speed Force clearly sent Williamson and Di Giandomenico to save us, because this is a fantastic, optimistic and wholly good Barry Allen tale. 

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Flash (2016) #3

Jul 28, 2016

So far, Joshua Williamson and Carmine Di Giandomenico have proven themselves to be in love with The Flash mythos. The Speed Force is at the forefront, and there is absolutely nothing wrong with that. 

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Flash (2016) #4

Aug 11, 2016

Joshua Williamson's Flash is like the Tim Duncan of DC Rebirth. It's consistent, under the radar and the master of fundamentals. While The Flash #4 is another strongly crafted story, some readers will be thrown off at first by the major shift in artistic tone as Neil Googe takes over for Carmine Di Giandomenico. Googe has a more grounded feel to it, while Di Giandomenico added that frenetic feel to the mysterious Speed Force. 

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Flash (2016) #5

Aug 25, 2016

The art is so good that it hurts, writer Josh Williamson should write a textbook on the Speed Force and how to pace a story. Tell me what's wrong with this issue. I'm waiting.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Flash (2016) #6

Sep 15, 2016

It's another strong issue for Joshua Williamson and Carmine Di Giandomenico with The Flash No. 6. Angry, secluded Barry is back and this issue screams with an identity crisis. Also, holy cliffhanger! 

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Flash (2016) #7

Sep 29, 2016

I've praised Joshua Williamson's Speed Force mythos up the wall and back, but without Carmine Di Giandomenico, it would not hit as hard. That's not a knock on the writer, but just me singing the praises of the artist. This is a hard-hitting, depressing ride of an issue in what is shaping up to be one of the most enticing Barry Allen Flash arcs in some time.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Flash (2016) #8

Oct 14, 2016

The book that leaves curmudgeons scratching their heads trying to find something not to like.  Carmine Di Giandomenico's art is an energetic, emotional roller-coaster rides that provides a deep look into Barry/Flash's life, while Joshua Williamson balances new characters, old ones and his ever-changing main one with style and grace. 

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Flash (2016) #11

Nov 25, 2016

Joshua Williamson just gets Barry Allen and The Flash. He knows what works, his knows his fears, hopes, dreams and aspirations. His emotion and fears jump out of every page and whether you're a fan of the current arc or not, you know you're getting a true to form Flash story.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Flash (2016) #12

Dec 15, 2016

Williamson's ability in gracefully telling a story while setting up multiple storylines is fascinating. I never feel distracted or disconnected from the book I'm currently reading when it comes to his work. Carmine Di Giandomenico and Davide Gianfelice make for one heck of an art/colors combination as they show off their skill bouncing between Central City and the Shadowlands.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Flash (2016) #15

Jan 31, 2017

Even as many looked at this issue as a filler until we get to that juicy DC, Batman, Flash and Watchmen stuff,Joshua Williamson and Carmine Di Giandomenico show why they're one hell of a compatible duo.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Flash (2016) #20

Apr 17, 2017

It turns out, Williamson set up future storylines while making Iris West come off as just as much as a hero as Barry Allen. This rating is based off of Williamson backing up my designation as this book being the Tim Duncan of comic books.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Flash (2016) #30

Sep 15, 2017

: The focus between Barry Allen's confusion, Flash's inability to control himself and the introduction of a new work is led by Williamson's precise direction and Googe's badass creations. 

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Flash: Rebirth (2016) #1

Jun 8, 2016

This is one heck of a Flash book. Nothing is rushed, crammed in or prodded, it moves as smooth as possible. Batman fits in, Wally fits in, Barry's tangled past fits in. Hats off to Joshua Williamson and Carmine Di Gianddmenico. This is one heck of a Flash book. 

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Frostbite #1

Sep 28, 2016

It's one hell of a start to the six-part Frostbite miniseries from Vertigo. Joshua Williamson gives us an apocalyptic world that doesn't feel repetitive, and Jason Shawn Alexander and Luis NTC create a world that makes the reader feel like he/she is part of the new Ice Age. 

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Frostbite #3

Nov 29, 2016

Fantastic, dramatic writing from Williamson with deep characters, and fantastic visuals from Alexander. The violence, the unknown of being stuck in an Ice Age screams off of every page.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Future Quest #1

May 18, 2016

In my mind, Future Quest accomplished everything we could have hoped for and then some. Bellaire owns each book she's involved in, Shaner's pencils are so freaking clean that the two are a perfect match to bring this spy, adventure and somehow vintage and modern at the same time story to life. Parker delivers on all cylinders with a perfect, vintage, adventure spy tale. 

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Future Quest #2

Jul 8, 2016

Don't scoff at this or any other Hanna-Barbera revamps, because these are original stories that capture the spirit of the past. I can't think of a better trio I'd like to see conjoined at the hip other than Parker, Shaner and Bellaire. 

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Future Quest #3

Jul 29, 2016

A book about Birdman and The Herculoids is my favorite release of the week. Go figure. Writer Jeff Parker doesn't miss a step even as Evan "Doc" Shaner goes away for an issue as FQ3 splits into two short-stories. 

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Future Quest #5

Oct 5, 2016

Braks Parker seamlessly introduces characters and progresses the ones already in place on a level of his own. Shaner and Hi-Fi hit together, as the vintage feel screams earling morning adventure stories. 

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Godshaper #1

Apr 17, 2017

Schmeckles: Listen the issues people have with this book aren't real issues to me. It's an interesting, weird, off-the-wall idea with some beautifully creative art. Seriously, this book feels like half-Archie, half-Rick and Morty. Jonas Goonface is a name to watch out for and once we read more of Simon Spurrier's story, I think we're in store for a special duo on this Boom! Studios series. 

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Green Lantern Corps: Edge of Oblivion #5

May 12, 2016

Man, when you took Ethan Van Sciver out of a book ... it is really noticeable. That's not meant as a dig, but it's distracting. I'm excited for Rebirth and what it does for DC, but us every week readers are feeling the effects of scrambled creative teams and arc finales.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Green Lanterns: Rebirth #1

Jun 1, 2016

While Simon Baz is not at level of development where Cruz is, Humphries and Johns gave us a peak at a character just starting to blossom. Green Lanterns: Rebirth is a must-own for classic fans of Sector 2814. 

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Hal Jordan And The Green Lantern Corps #3

Sep 8, 2016

When you throw in Sinestro and a cliffhanger ending to go with these frenetic, energetic art and colors, you've got yourself a little piece of classic DC Comics heaven.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Hal Jordan And The Green Lantern Corps: Rebirth #1

Jul 14, 2016

This book does what it needed to do: It gave us a look at the past, present and future while letting Hal explain himself.It might be a rehash for the diehards, but it's an enjoyable one.

View Issue       View Full Review
3.0
International Iron Man #1

Mar 30, 2016

From the printing to the writing to the pace to the art, this book was an extreme letdown.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Jacked #2

Jan 15, 2016

For such a vulgar, descriptive and visually vulgar issue, this is such a smart book. 

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Jacked #3

Feb 19, 2016

The weakest of the series to date. Still a strong book, but for the first time, the gross comedic inner-dialogue felt forced.  

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Kingsman: The Red Diamond #1

Sep 13, 2017

Really solid book that laid the groundwork for an interesting miniseries. Eggsy is Eggsy without looking like Taron Egerton, and this book is as British as stuff that's British.A new creative team at the helm doesn't hurt this book at all, just gives the readers a fresh take.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Lady Killer 2 #1

Aug 13, 2016

The toughest part of this review was whether to praise Joelle Jones' writing or art to the moon. Well, I did both. Go grab this book that takes deranged 1950s housewife to another level. 

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Lady Killer 2 #2

Sep 19, 2016

Definitely not a kids book by any means, but Lady Killer #2 from Joelle Jones is an absolute must-grab for comic readers looking for something different.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Mycroft Holmes #1

Aug 9, 2016

It's fun, it's fresh and it's so much more than just a cash grab or publicity stunt. Kareem Abdul-Jabbar has some great characters here, and writer Raymond Obstfeld and artist Joshua Cassara do a great job in helping adapt it to comic book storytelling.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
New Gods Special #1

Aug 8, 2017

I feel that, that is what DC is trying to accomplish in honoring what would have been Kirby's 100th birthday. They are shining light on some of his beloved -- and possibly generationally forgotten characters -- in a fun and simple way for all levels of comic knowledge.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Rick and Morty #1

Apr 1, 2016

This book is pretty much geared to only diehard Rick and Morty fans and not much else. It's a fun read and I hope that it makes people more aware of the show, but that's the only real reason for this book another Rick and Morty series to exist. 

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Ringside #7

Sep 21, 2016

It's fun to see these characters tackle much different issues in the kick-off issue of part two. Ringside from Image is an absolutely dream for wrestling fans, and carries itself well-enough to find readers across the spectrum. It's worth picking up for its story-telling and obvious attention to subject matter. 

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Ringside #8

Dec 8, 2016

: The weakest in Ringside's run, but still worth a read to keep up on the super interesting arc going on. There aren't many books like this out there. 

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Rocket Raccoon and Groot #1

Jan 28, 2016

It's not a perfect first issue, but I get the feeling that this book wasn't meant to feel all-new, all-different but more of a, hey, these characters are going to be together now, kthxbye.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Rocket Raccoon and Groot #2

Feb 19, 2016

To be able to make the readers feel Groots confusion and pain cant be an easy task, but these two nail it. This book is worth a grab based on its creativity alone. 

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Rocket Raccoon and Groot #3

Mar 22, 2016

 Skottie Young is the master of Rocket Raccoon and he's making the friendship between he and Groot even stronger. Also, Andrade is coming into his own. 

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Rocket Raccoon and Groot #4

Apr 14, 2016

This book, which is literally a football game between Tony Stark and Rocket Raccoon, is nearly perfect. Skottie Young has captured Rocket Raccoon on the level that most writers only dream of while Aaron Conley's art is the frantic things dreams are made of. 

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Rocket Raccoon and Groot #5

May 10, 2016

Another wacky, off-the-wall story from Skottie Young with some plain, straight up fun art and colors. If you like giggling and reducing stress, this book is for you. 

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Rocket Raccoon and Groot #6

Jun 25, 2016

Skottie's last on the series goes out in a friendly struggle between Rocket and Groot. If you failed to keep up on this series, look out for the trade paperback. It's a fun wacky ride that did some great things for this Fur Baby and his Barky Friend.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Second Sight #4

May 24, 2016

It's an interesting read. I wouldn't classify it solely as a thinking person's book, as it was easy to hop on, but I'm still thinking about it after setting it down. Crime/mystery fans will really enjoy this Aftershock series.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Slam! #1

Dec 2, 2016

Veronica Fish brings the electricity while Pamela Ribon crafts characters so relatable that it makes this book stick with you for a bit. The art, the writing, the story, the characters ... it's all here. What else do you need in a comic book? 

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Slam! #3

Jan 23, 2017

Pamela Ribon lays out real and relatable characters while Veronica Fish brings them to life. This is one heck of a rewarding, and different, read.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Spider-Man (2016) #3

Apr 7, 2016

This is a fun book that looks to be setting up into some interesting storylines with Black Cat on the prowl and a mutant signing up for classes at Miles' school!

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Spider-Man (2016) #4

May 19, 2016

Big step down this month for Bendis-Man. There just isn't enough in this issue to constitute a $3.99 cover price. Issue #4 masquerades as an empty, tease of a think-book. Wait for next month's, disappointing to see such a monumental drop from last month's fantastic issue featuring Ms. Marvel and more. Just read #3 again and pretend you're up to date. 

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Spider-Man/Deadpool #4

Apr 21, 2016

Joe Kelly and Ed McGuinness have built something extremely successful in this series, which just so happens to hit its stride at lightspeed with Issue No. 4. This is a must-own for not just Spider-Man or Deadpool fans, but for anyone who can read. 

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Spider-Women Alpha #1

Apr 12, 2016

A solid 7.5/10 for being a solid character issue, having truly unique art and fantastic colors. Issue No. 1 made me want No. 2, and that's all that needs to be said.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Superman: Rebirth #1

Jun 1, 2016

 For Superman, any strong issue is good news. What a heck of a start for Rebirth. There hasn't been this much hopeful optimism surrounding this character for as long as I can remember. This grade would be higher if DC has been a little more tight-lipped with its solicitations.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
The Clone Conspiracy #1

Oct 12, 2016

It's absolutely insane, but it works. Slott starts a super interesting storyline, with a couple twists and turns, even with a somewhat action-less start. His events have been some of Spidey's best in recent years, so I suggest hopping on in time for issue #2 of 5.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Family Trade #1

Oct 12, 2017

Any debut issue with an interesting setting and a witty, self-aware, badass female lead character is going to reel me in. The Trumpian main character will justifiably push some away, but Jordan and Ryan have built the foundation for a solid, solid series in The Family Trade.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
The Sheriff Of Babylon #3

Feb 11, 2016

Wow. King and Gerads playing around with format. Just beautiful. I'm a format nerd and a 9 felt too low. 

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Sheriff Of Babylon #4

Mar 19, 2016

There is a reason Tom King was just named the new Batman writer. The former CIA operative can do it all and is not limited by genre. Mitch Gerads just keeps getting better. His name should be attached to any comic book that uses war/crime drama. 

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Sheriff Of Babylon #5

Apr 8, 2016

The least action, the least amount of characters but the most gripping issue from this miniseries.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
The Sheriff Of Babylon #7

Jun 8, 2016

This is another as close to perfect as you can get wartime, hardcore, real Comic Book reading as you can get. Tom King and Mitch Gerads are the hottest duo in comics. If you are not reading this book, we need to talk.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
The Sheriff Of Babylon #8

Jul 6, 2016

Storytelling, not just comic book storytelling, doesn't get much better than this. Mitch Gerads is on top of the art world and Tom King is right there with him. These are two creators clicking at an unprecedented level. 

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
The Sheriff Of Babylon #10

Sep 10, 2016

While King's plot brings a remarkable level of realism, Gerads work on both colors and arts is kind of mind-blowing. I can't think of anything else out there to compare it too, because in my eyes, he stands alone right now.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Sheriff Of Babylon #12

Nov 2, 2016

: Find a book out there that has a better combination of writing, art and colors that matches up as seamlessly as the Sheriff of Babylon does. The Sheriff of Babylon closes the chapter just as it started, with a kind of punch in the face realism unmatched in not just the comic book industry, but in any medium.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Thunderbolts (2016) #1

May 4, 2016

A lot of people are going to have a hard time looking past that "Thunderbolts" title to enjoy this book at the level it deserves. It's a strong Winter Soldier comic starring the Thunderbolts. Jim Zub wrote a heck of a Bucky story that just happens to be a "Thunderbolts" title; I'm over it and you should be, too. Artist Jon Malin's Kobik is worth the cover price, alone. 

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Thunderbolts (2016) #2

Jun 8, 2016

When focusing on Kobik, Thunderbolts #2 is a fun ride. Jon Malin's work in this issue is fantastic.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Tokyo Ghost #6

Apr 25, 2016

This is still a strong series, I'm just not sure they know how fast they want to go with the plot at this point. This is an especially explicit edition of Tokyo Ghost so proceed with caution. 

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Venomverse #1

Sep 8, 2017

The first issue of Venomverse from Marvel (with Cullen Bunn) was exactly what I thought it was going to be, in a crammed together confusing mess.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
X-Men '92 (2016) #1

Apr 4, 2016

Milla is the MVP of the first issue of this series as it feels just like an animated series. His colors and Firmansyah's art are what make this book worth owning. The big panels of Wolverine flying at you violently and cartoonish colors make this book pop. 

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
X-Men '92 (2016) #2

Apr 19, 2016

There is nothing other than Alti Firmansyah's art to make me want to tell you to buy this book. It's more than just cheap nostalgia, but not by much. 

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for
the Week of...

October

September

More