Brian Clements's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: AiPT! Reviews: 31
8.1Avg. Review Rating

9.0
Batman: The Dawnbreaker #1

Oct 4, 2017

I am blown away by the extremes already taken in telling this Batman's story. Humphries has pulled no punches with Dawnbreaker and I shudder while I commend him for the work.

View Issue       View Full Review
3.0
Dark Knights Rising: The Wild Hunt #1

Feb 14, 2018

This mini-series is off the rails in a major way and there's just no time to fix it before whatever happens with Justice League.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Dark Nights: Metal #3

Oct 11, 2017

Things do not end well. It seems they never will again.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Dark Nights: Metal #4

Dec 20, 2017

I want to see where this is going, but I am concerned that the two remaining issues just won't be enough space to tell the story that they've set up. I hope I'm wrong.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Dark Nights: Metal #5

Jan 31, 2018

I really dig what has been going on in the Metal line, but I'm afraid of the ending being a letdown.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Generation Gone #1

Jul 31, 2017

In the end, Generation Gone sets a provocative table. It could have fallen into any number of cliched traps. Instead, it gives the characters a chance to break through the obvious and, for lack of a better word, soar.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Generation Gone #2

Aug 24, 2017

The second issue of Generation Gone gets into the second act of the story of three suddenly super-powered millennials quickly.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Generation Gone #3

Sep 21, 2017

Don't get me wrong, the book is solid, just coming down from such a powerful first issue into a more predictable origin story. I'm hopeful that we will see the book move back into the promise that issue showed: a new take on superpowers for a new generation.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Generation Gone #4

Oct 17, 2017

After moving each character around the hero/villain continuum, including Dr. Akio, the General and the "government" itself, it seems we finally have lines drawn in the sand.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Generation Gone #5

Nov 15, 2017

Where they are taken next remains to be seen, but the genie is well and truly out of the bottle.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Ghostbusters: Answer The Call #1

Oct 24, 2017

Thompson nails the quick dialogue between the four that seemed to flow naturally in the film. Add in a series of new weapons from the Holtzman line of ghost-catching arsenal, a super-creepy big bad, and a heaping dose of Kevin and you've got a winner.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Harley Quinn (2016) #27

Sep 6, 2017

It's pretty entertaining, but did it really need to be made?

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Harley Quinn (2016) #30

Oct 18, 2017

Harley is, in her own way, taking agency in her life and trying to give it to those she might have stepped on or over in her previous life. Let's hope she gets a shot to do so.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Harley Quinn (2016) #31

Nov 8, 2017

Jimmy Palmiotti and Amanda Conner kick off the beginning of the end of their unforgettable run on Harley Quinn with a powerful issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Harley Quinn (2016) #32

Nov 29, 2017

Harley has grown stronger issue by issue, setting aside the anchor around her neck, finding love and friendship, and losing that which she truly cared about. It should affect her moving forward. Let's hope that this isn't the end of this new, better Harley Quinn.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Harley Quinn (2016) #33

Dec 20, 2017

As is evident from my reviews, I adore Harley as a character and have loved Conner and Palmiotti's run immensely. I will certainly miss their work, but am hopeful that the legacy they've created will continue well into the future.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Harley Quinn (2016) #34

Jan 10, 2018

This series has been a true bright spot in comics.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Harley Quinn (2016) #35

Jan 31, 2018

I'm going to give it a shot, but I have concerns for the future of one of my favorite characters.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Harley Quinn (2016) #38

Feb 21, 2018

Certainly, there is a long way to go for Frank Tieri and company in living up to what Conner and Palmiotti brought the the table, but if the beginning of this storyline is any indication, Harley is in fine hands.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Hawkman: Found #1

Dec 27, 2017

Writer Jeff Lemire does an excellent job working in some key elements of dreams and nightmares that purport to represent some inner turmoil.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Hellboy and the B.P.R.D.: 1954 #1

Dec 26, 2017

nestly, fill my days with tales of Hellboy-past, where frog monsters are but a wisp in the future. With four different artists in the book, not to mention the cover and chapter break artists, every page still feels like a Hellboy book in the Mignola style from cover to cover. Think we can hold off the apocalypse for a while and just go back to the good-old-Nazi-punching days?

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
She-Hulk (2017) #160

Dec 16, 2017

Writer Mariko Tamaki has found a balance between the internal struggles of Jen Walters to control Hulk and manage her PTSD while also introducing a plot more standard to superhero stories.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
She-Hulk (2017) #161

Jan 10, 2018

The Leader is an unironic classic villain, spouting lines like "This will be your undoing." Vintage Leader. In the end, Jennifer Walters comes to a realization that, to be honest, she should have had months ago.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
She-Hulk (2017) #162

Feb 7, 2018

Sometimes, artist Jahnoy Lindsay does really good, detailed work and other panels just look unfinished. The reappearance of the green She-Hulk breaking through is very well done and captures some of what I've enjoyed so much about Russell Dauterman's work on The Mighty Thor, another female-led comic that is being cancelled. The final pages of the issue, however, have some odd proportional choices and Jen's more cartoonish face just doesn't work as well with her larger, green-skinned form.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
The Mighty Thor (2015) #703

Jan 17, 2018

While I, personally, don't want this story to end, I can't wait to see where it's going.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Mighty Thor (2015) #704

Feb 21, 2018

Whether she wins her battle or loses, she made her own choice. No god forced her hand, no person influenced her. Through all her struggles, Jane is, no matter what, her own woman. Jane Foster is worthy.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
The Unbeatable Squirrel Girl (2015) #27

Dec 16, 2017

This issue, as always, is delightful. The jokes are quick, the story is funny, and the general plot remains serious as to the consequences without losing the joy that inhabits every page of Squirrel Girl. Writer Ryan North is quick and clever and artist Erica Henderson is the perfect person to pencil the provocative perlurious programmer

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
The Unbeatable Squirrel Girl (2015) #28

Jan 11, 2018

This is the most insane, roundabout way of getting out of Dormamu's trap and I am in awe of the thought process involved.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
WWE #14

Feb 20, 2018

This is a fun comic in general, but seeing real crossover with fictional stories is getting better and better with each issue that passes. Focusing on the Women's Evolution is not only timely -- it also could help bring in more readers to the comic.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
WWE: Survivors Series 2017 #1

Nov 14, 2017

This comic encapsulates the current WWE product: it is, at times, ridiculous, confusing, infuriating, and oddly brilliant.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
WWE: Royal Rumble 2018 #1

Jan 9, 2018

WWE Royal Rumble is as good as the event itself. Don't wait for the bell, run in and pick up this phenomenal tribute.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for
the Week of...

February

January

More