Brian Clements's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: AiPT! Reviews: 67
8.2Avg. Review Rating

8.5
Batman: Prelude to the Wedding: Batgirl vs. The Riddler #1

Jun 13, 2018

Writer Tim Seeley has put together a nice, tight adventure for Batgirl, centered around the upcoming nuptials.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Batman: The Dawnbreaker #1

Oct 4, 2017

I am blown away by the extremes already taken in telling this Batman's story. Humphries has pulled no punches with Dawnbreaker and I shudder while I commend him for the work.

View Issue       View Full Review
3.0
Dark Knights Rising: The Wild Hunt #1

Feb 14, 2018

This mini-series is off the rails in a major way and there's just no time to fix it before whatever happens with Justice League.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Dark Nights: Metal #3

Oct 11, 2017

Things do not end well. It seems they never will again.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Dark Nights: Metal #4

Dec 20, 2017

I want to see where this is going, but I am concerned that the two remaining issues just won't be enough space to tell the story that they've set up. I hope I'm wrong.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Dark Nights: Metal #5

Jan 31, 2018

I really dig what has been going on in the Metal line, but I'm afraid of the ending being a letdown.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Dark Nights: Metal #6

Mar 28, 2018

Like all things, it is by no means perfect, but for the work it has done and the new change to an entire comics universe it has wrought, it has been worth the journey. It is rebellious and shocking and will be remembered for introducing some of the most vicious villains ever seen in comics. And, in the end, that's pretty metal.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Generation Gone #1

Jul 31, 2017

In the end, Generation Gone sets a provocative table. It could have fallen into any number of cliched traps. Instead, it gives the characters a chance to break through the obvious and, for lack of a better word, soar.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Generation Gone #2

Aug 24, 2017

The second issue of Generation Gone gets into the second act of the story of three suddenly super-powered millennials quickly.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Generation Gone #3

Sep 21, 2017

Don't get me wrong, the book is solid, just coming down from such a powerful first issue into a more predictable origin story. I'm hopeful that we will see the book move back into the promise that issue showed: a new take on superpowers for a new generation.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Generation Gone #4

Oct 17, 2017

After moving each character around the hero/villain continuum, including Dr. Akio, the General and the "government" itself, it seems we finally have lines drawn in the sand.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Generation Gone #5

Nov 15, 2017

Where they are taken next remains to be seen, but the genie is well and truly out of the bottle.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Ghostbusters: Answer The Call #1

Oct 24, 2017

Thompson nails the quick dialogue between the four that seemed to flow naturally in the film. Add in a series of new weapons from the Holtzman line of ghost-catching arsenal, a super-creepy big bad, and a heaping dose of Kevin and you've got a winner.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Ghostbusters: Crossing Over #1

Mar 14, 2018

There's a great deal of exposition in this issue, but it really fills in some gaps that exist in reconciling not only the films and the comics, but the films with each other.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Ghostbusters: Crossing Over #2

Apr 20, 2018

This is going to be big, folks.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Guardians of the Galaxy: Telltale Games #1

Feb 26, 2018

The story Van Lente has written is a fun adventure worthy of the Guardians and the art is perfect for the irreverent team.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Harley Quinn (2016) #27

Sep 6, 2017

It's pretty entertaining, but did it really need to be made?

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Harley Quinn (2016) #30

Oct 18, 2017

Harley is, in her own way, taking agency in her life and trying to give it to those she might have stepped on or over in her previous life. Let's hope she gets a shot to do so.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Harley Quinn (2016) #31

Nov 8, 2017

Jimmy Palmiotti and Amanda Conner kick off the beginning of the end of their unforgettable run on Harley Quinn with a powerful issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Harley Quinn (2016) #32

Nov 29, 2017

Harley has grown stronger issue by issue, setting aside the anchor around her neck, finding love and friendship, and losing that which she truly cared about. It should affect her moving forward. Let's hope that this isn't the end of this new, better Harley Quinn.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Harley Quinn (2016) #33

Dec 20, 2017

As is evident from my reviews, I adore Harley as a character and have loved Conner and Palmiotti's run immensely. I will certainly miss their work, but am hopeful that the legacy they've created will continue well into the future.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Harley Quinn (2016) #34

Jan 10, 2018

This series has been a true bright spot in comics.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Harley Quinn (2016) #35

Jan 31, 2018

I'm going to give it a shot, but I have concerns for the future of one of my favorite characters.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Harley Quinn (2016) #38

Feb 21, 2018

Certainly, there is a long way to go for Frank Tieri and company in living up to what Conner and Palmiotti brought the the table, but if the beginning of this storyline is any indication, Harley is in fine hands.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Harley Quinn (2016) #39

Mar 8, 2018

Writer Frank Tieri and artist Ikani Miranda are really hitting their stride with Harley Quinn.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Harley Quinn (2016) #40

Mar 21, 2018

The latest issue from the new team of writer Frank Tieri and artist John Timms is perhaps a symptom of the growing pains new creative teams must go through to establish themselves apart from their predecessors.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Harley Quinn (2016) #41

Apr 4, 2018

How do you mess up a comic series so quickly?

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Harley Quinn (2016) #42

Apr 18, 2018

All of the credibility bought with the expert and nuanced storytelling -- mixed judiciously with actually funny jokes and puns -- has been squandered, as Harley is headed back towards being an afterthought in the DC Universe within her own story.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Hawkman: Found #1

Dec 27, 2017

Writer Jeff Lemire does an excellent job working in some key elements of dreams and nightmares that purport to represent some inner turmoil.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Hellboy and the B.P.R.D.: 1954 #1

Dec 26, 2017

nestly, fill my days with tales of Hellboy-past, where frog monsters are but a wisp in the future. With four different artists in the book, not to mention the cover and chapter break artists, every page still feels like a Hellboy book in the Mignola style from cover to cover. Think we can hold off the apocalypse for a while and just go back to the good-old-Nazi-punching days?

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Infinity Countdown #1

Mar 7, 2018

With all the hype leading to the return of both the Infinity Stones and Logan, everyone has high expectations for this series. If Duggan and Kuder keep up the good work, I think most people will be pleased.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Infinity Countdown #2

Apr 18, 2018

The big reveal on the final page is well worth the intrigue surrounding the future of the new Infinity Wars to come.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Infinity Countdown #3

May 2, 2018

The big reveal in this issue is BIG. Silver Surfer knows that Pym-Ultron is too powerful to stop, even teamed up with the might of Adam Warlock, so he heads for the one being in the Universe he knows has the ability to destroy an entire planet. The question, however, is whether Galactus the Lifebringer will devour one final planet to save the universe.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Infinity Countdown #4

Jun 6, 2018

As in many mini-series, especially those leading up to a larger event, there is a lull in the center of the story where pieces must be moved into place, stories must be sorted, plots must be plotted. Infinity Countdown #4 is that spot. I'm looking forward to seeing where we go from here.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Infinity Countdown: Daredevil #1

May 16, 2018

Writer Gerry Duggan has put together a good setup for the future of the upcoming Infinity event, allowing a cosmic story to affect characters on a smaller, more local scale.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Infinity Wars (2018) #2

Aug 15, 2018

While I hold cautious optimism about this series considering the bang-up start it has had, I am concerned about how far it will be allowed to go.  Is this a permanent sea change for the Marvel Universe, or will we find in issue #6 that it was all some kind of Elseworld/Dallas dream sequence? Given what has happened already and the speed with which it happened, I hope we're seeing a real change in the future of the heroes involved as well as the larger Marvel Universe going forward.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Infinity Wars (2018) #3

Sep 12, 2018

If Infinity Wars continues down this path, good things will follow.  They must, however, see it through. Making Gamora the baddie immediately was a bold move, but this cannot be another Civil War or Civil War II or name-your-event moment.  Follow through on this one and see the story out.  I guess it all depends on who is really in control.  Whatever happens in the end, though, can we keep Ghost Panther?

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Justice League (2018) #1

Jun 6, 2018

Writer Scott Snyder has picked right up where his DC Metal epic left us, forming the new league with new purpose.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Marvel's Avengers: Infinity War Prelude #1

Mar 23, 2018

Could we see the appearance of another near-immortal coming this April? Only time and the movies will tell, but this is an excellent introduction to a number of characters and plotlines that could be explored in the upcoming Avengers movies and beyond to Phase Four.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Modern Fantasy #1

Jun 6, 2018

If the first issue is any indication, many magical mysteries are afoot behind the scenes, including the question of when the abandoned floating castle might plunge to the ground, destroying everything in its wake. Fun times. Gotta run. Late for a meeting on synergizing assets that should only last four hours. Text me on my iScroll.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Mystery Science Theater 3000 #1

Aug 27, 2018

All-in-all, this is a solid go at essentially a brand-new format, integrating the biting (and the not-so-biting) wit of MST3K into the four-color pages of a comic book.  Much like the show, long-term success for the format will depend on the writing and the innovation rather than relying on nostalgia and easy laughs.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
She-Hulk (2017) #160

Dec 16, 2017

Writer Mariko Tamaki has found a balance between the internal struggles of Jen Walters to control Hulk and manage her PTSD while also introducing a plot more standard to superhero stories.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
She-Hulk (2017) #161

Jan 10, 2018

The Leader is an unironic classic villain, spouting lines like "This will be your undoing." Vintage Leader. In the end, Jennifer Walters comes to a realization that, to be honest, she should have had months ago.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
She-Hulk (2017) #162

Feb 7, 2018

Sometimes, artist Jahnoy Lindsay does really good, detailed work and other panels just look unfinished. The reappearance of the green She-Hulk breaking through is very well done and captures some of what I've enjoyed so much about Russell Dauterman's work on The Mighty Thor, another female-led comic that is being cancelled. The final pages of the issue, however, have some odd proportional choices and Jen's more cartoonish face just doesn't work as well with her larger, green-skinned form.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Star Wars: Lando - Double Or Nothing #1

May 30, 2018

With spot on dialogue by writer Rodney Barnes and excellent character design by artist Paolo Villanelli, this comic should be an easy hit for the long term. Lando and L3 bicker, take a job they probably shouldn't, get into some trouble, escape by the skin of their teeth, make some jokes about capes, lather, rinse, repeat. I'm in.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
The Mighty Thor (2015) #703

Jan 17, 2018

While I, personally, don't want this story to end, I can't wait to see where it's going.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Mighty Thor (2015) #704

Feb 21, 2018

Whether she wins her battle or loses, she made her own choice. No god forced her hand, no person influenced her. Through all her struggles, Jane is, no matter what, her own woman. Jane Foster is worthy.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Mighty Thor (2015) #705

Mar 21, 2018

This is one of the best comic series I have ever read and the creative team should be proud beyond measure.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Mighty Thor (2015) #706

Apr 25, 2018

Together, this team has built a legacy for themselves and for a character who will be truly missed. The bar has been set and the gauntlet laid down. Aaron, Dauterman, and Wilson have truly created a masterpiece. Congratulations.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Mighty Thor (2015): At The Gates Of Valhalla #1

May 16, 2018

Writer Jason Aaron has done a phenomenal job writing Jane Foster's Thor and I would love to see more of the goddesses of thunder, sooner rather than later.  Any chance to have some more kick-ass women traipsing across the galaxy, especially if they're carrying the intelligence of Jane Foster, the brashness of Thor Odinson, and the strength of Odin with them.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
The Unbeatable Squirrel Girl (2015) #27

Dec 16, 2017

This issue, as always, is delightful. The jokes are quick, the story is funny, and the general plot remains serious as to the consequences without losing the joy that inhabits every page of Squirrel Girl. Writer Ryan North is quick and clever and artist Erica Henderson is the perfect person to pencil the provocative perlurious programmer

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
The Unbeatable Squirrel Girl (2015) #28

Jan 11, 2018

This is the most insane, roundabout way of getting out of Dormamu's trap and I am in awe of the thought process involved.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Unbeatable Squirrel Girl (2015) #29

Feb 26, 2018

I am very much enjoying this galactic romp of Squirrel Girl's. North and Henderson put together a delightful comic every month and somehow weave together social issues along with discoveries of true friendship to create a character that is a hero everyone wants to be.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
The Unbeatable Squirrel Girl (2015) #30

Mar 14, 2018

Squirrel Girl is and always has been exactly the right amount of silly mixed with true goodness that everyone can get behind.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
The Unbeatable Squirrel Girl (2015) #31

Apr 12, 2018

Where other comics would have a "villain of the week" throw away after such a big space epic series, The Unbeatable Squirrel Girl takes them time to deliver a heartfelt and moving issue that should be read and appreciated by all comics fans.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
The Unbeatable Squirrel Girl (2015) #32

May 9, 2018

We will miss you, Erika, but, if this issue is any indication, Squirrel Girl is in the right hands. Paws. Whatever.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
The Unbeatable Squirrel Girl (2015) #33

Jun 13, 2018

The Unbeatable Squirrel Girl is one of the most sincere and consistently funny books on the shelf today.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
The Unbeatable Squirrel Girl (2015) #34

Jul 11, 2018

One of the best things about North's run on USG is Doreen's ability to not only see the best in everyone, but to make them want to see that side as well.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
The Unbeatable Squirrel Girl (2015) #35

Aug 10, 2018

As always, Unbeatable Squirrel Girl is a must for your pull list, no matter your age or gender.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
The Unbeatable Squirrel Girl (2015) #36

Sep 15, 2018

The plot is pretty straight-forward: spooky, matronly ghost shushes all of New York City, superheroes try and fix the issue. The real story here is the treatment of both the ghost and Squirrel Girl by the mainstream heroes who, not being able or willing to communicate, fail over and over again. Brute force isn't always the answer. As an educator, Doreen understands that sometimes the answer isn't kicking butts, but eating nuts and kicking peer-reviewed research!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
WWE #14

Feb 20, 2018

This is a fun comic in general, but seeing real crossover with fictional stories is getting better and better with each issue that passes. Focusing on the Women's Evolution is not only timely -- it also could help bring in more readers to the comic.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
WWE #18

Jun 20, 2018

Writer Dennis Hopeless has done what WWE Creative spent three years trying to do but just kept missing the mark: he established clearly the relationship these two men have had, why it broke down, and why the ultimate babyface Zayn would suddenly rescue Owens from a disastrous defeat at the hands of Shane McMahon.  Artist Serg Acua captures both Zayn and Owens well, but also establishes his own version of in-ring action in comic form.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
WWE: Survivors Series 2017 #1

Nov 14, 2017

This comic encapsulates the current WWE product: it is, at times, ridiculous, confusing, infuriating, and oddly brilliant.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
WWE: Royal Rumble 2018 #1

Jan 9, 2018

WWE Royal Rumble is as good as the event itself. Don't wait for the bell, run in and pick up this phenomenal tribute.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
WWE: WrestleMania 2018 Special #1

Apr 3, 2018

In the end, is this comic WrestleMania-worthy? Eh? Probably not. Except for the honestly funny "Savage goes to Wally World" section, this one's destined to be future endeavored.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
WWE: NXT Takeover: Into the Fire #1

Sep 19, 2018

Between this issue and last issue's portrayal of the late, great Dusty Rhodes, I feel like WWE NXT has hit its stride pretty well, telling a story that Dusty, and current COO and NXT Papa, Triple H, would love.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
WWE: NXT Takeover: The Blueprint #1

Sep 5, 2018

Toeing the line of kayfabe vs. reality in a wonderfully pro wrestling way.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

September

August

More