Brian Clements's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: AiPT! Reviews: 12
8.3Avg. Review Rating

9.0
Batman: The Dawnbreaker #1

Oct 4, 2017

I am blown away by the extremes already taken in telling this Batman's story. Humphries has pulled no punches with Dawnbreaker and I shudder while I commend him for the work.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Dark Nights: Metal #3

Oct 11, 2017

Things do not end well. It seems they never will again.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Generation Gone #1

Jul 31, 2017

In the end, Generation Gone sets a provocative table. It could have fallen into any number of cliched traps. Instead, it gives the characters a chance to break through the obvious and, for lack of a better word, soar.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Generation Gone #2

Aug 24, 2017

The second issue of Generation Gone gets into the second act of the story of three suddenly super-powered millennials quickly.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Generation Gone #3

Sep 21, 2017

Don't get me wrong, the book is solid, just coming down from such a powerful first issue into a more predictable origin story. I'm hopeful that we will see the book move back into the promise that issue showed: a new take on superpowers for a new generation.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Generation Gone #4

Oct 17, 2017

After moving each character around the hero/villain continuum, including Dr. Akio, the General and the "government" itself, it seems we finally have lines drawn in the sand.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Generation Gone #5

Nov 15, 2017

Where they are taken next remains to be seen, but the genie is well and truly out of the bottle.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Ghostbusters: Answer The Call #1

Oct 24, 2017

Thompson nails the quick dialogue between the four that seemed to flow naturally in the film. Add in a series of new weapons from the Holtzman line of ghost-catching arsenal, a super-creepy big bad, and a heaping dose of Kevin and you've got a winner.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Harley Quinn (2016) #27

Sep 6, 2017

It's pretty entertaining, but did it really need to be made?

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Harley Quinn (2016) #30

Oct 18, 2017

Harley is, in her own way, taking agency in her life and trying to give it to those she might have stepped on or over in her previous life. Let's hope she gets a shot to do so.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Harley Quinn (2016) #31

Nov 8, 2017

Jimmy Palmiotti and Amanda Conner kick off the beginning of the end of their unforgettable run on Harley Quinn with a powerful issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
WWE: Survivors Series 2017 #1

Nov 14, 2017

This comic encapsulates the current WWE product: it is, at times, ridiculous, confusing, infuriating, and oddly brilliant.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for
the Week of...

November

October

More