Brian Wayne's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Outright Geekery Reviews: 36
8.4Avg. Review Rating

7.6
Asgardians of the Galaxy #8

Apr 14, 2019

My anticipation did not fall short as far as how this team would tie in to the big battle.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Assassin Nation #5

Jul 16, 2019

It delivers with the laughs and the action.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Avengers (2018) #18

Apr 27, 2019

There's not a whole lot going on other than introducing the new Squadron Supreme and revealing that Coulson has struck a deal with Mephisto, but I'm still excited to see what happens and how it all ties into the big war.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Batman Beyond (2016) #28

Feb 4, 2019

If you are looking for something fresh, but somewhat familiar at the same time, then you need to read Jurgens' Batman Beyond.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Bitter Root #4

Feb 17, 2019

As long a these two can keep the balance between their storytelling and their message without shying away in one way or another at this point, Bitter Root is going to remain one of my favorite indie titles on the shelf.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Bitter Root: Red Summer Special #1

Jul 13, 2019

This title has managed to maintain its momentum of greatness.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Bloodshot: Rising Spirit #3

Jan 29, 2019

Dreary and action-packed all at the same time, and it definitely leaves you wanting more.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Fight Club 3 #2

Feb 27, 2019

I am excited for this title to be going again, especially in a comic book format.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.6
Giant Man (2019) #1

May 20, 2019

For being a story that I didn't think necessarily needed to be told, I am glad it happened.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Ice Cream Man #11

Apr 1, 2019

The imagination it takes to deliver this type of book must be vast"and deeply disturbed.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Metalshark Bro #1

Aug 5, 2019

One of my favorite reads of 2019.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Middlewest #4

Feb 18, 2019

This title has been amazing throughout, and this issue keeps up with the momentum that that last three issues have gained.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Middlewest #9

Jul 23, 2019

I love everything that this creative team is doing with this book.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Murder Falcon #5

Feb 10, 2019

It's everything a metal head could want in a comic.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
No One Left To Fight #1

Jun 17, 2019

I didn't know I wanted this, but now I am fully subscribed.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Old Man Quill #1

Feb 12, 2019

I have been anticipating this title since it was announced months ago, and I could not be further from disappointed.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Oliver #2

Mar 5, 2019

I could not be more pleased with a book that I had such low expectations for.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Rick and Morty vs. Dungeons & Dragons #4

Jan 30, 2019

More than satisfying and I highly recommend it.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Samurai Jack: Lost Worlds #3

Jul 30, 2019

A top tier read no matter what else is released that week.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.6
The Unbeatable Squirrel Girl (2015) #43

Apr 14, 2019

All I could hope for going into the first tie-in with a title I have never read before.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
The Unbeatable Squirrel Girl (2015) #44

May 13, 2019

"Squirrel Girl" is going on the pull list!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Thor (2018) #11

Mar 24, 2019

There is a long way to go before we conclude this event, and I could not be happier about that.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.6
Thor (2018) #12

Apr 21, 2019

I was taken by surprise to get an entire issue explaining that we still don't know if Loki is dead, and to not see Thor in any way in his own book.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
War of the Realms #1

Apr 6, 2019

When I closed this book I had to take a step back and think for a moment. If we get all of this excitement and death in just the first issue, how much more blood will be spilled in the next couple of months? I cannot wait to see how it all ends. It has been teased that the events of this story will play a big part in the future of our heroes, and I cannot wait to see what they have in store for us.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
War of the Realms #2

Apr 21, 2019

Another awesome issue, but I am starting to feel like this issue wasn't so much to advance the story as it was to make us more intrigued in the tie-ins involved.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
War of the Realms #3

May 5, 2019

I am loving every bit of this event, but it seems the main issues are more about pushing the tie-ins than progressing the story.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
War of the Realms #4

May 20, 2019

I am happy, and a little shocked, to report that I cannot find any reason for anybody to drop this event from their pull list.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
War of the Realms #5

Jun 11, 2019

Eisner worthy art; Amazing story.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
War Of The Realms Strikeforce: The War Avengers #1

May 21, 2019

I cannot make enough positive comments about this issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.6
War Of The Realms Strikeforce: The Dark Elf Realm #1

May 5, 2019

I would have thought that by now the tie-ins would start to feel redundant and unnecessary, but somehow the stories all seem to keep drawing me in.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
War Of The Realms Strikeforce: The Land of Giants #1

May 26, 2019

There is not a disappointing page or panel in this entire issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
War of the Realms: Journey Into Mystery #1

Apr 14, 2019

I had no idea what to expect when going into this book, but I could not have been more pleased.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.8
War of the Realms: Journey Into Mystery #2

May 13, 2019

The dynamic between this team makes me want this series to continue on beyond just the tie-ins of "WotR."

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
War Of The Realms: New Agents of Atlas #1

May 13, 2019

I don't know if I should be more disappointed in Marvel or Greg Pak for this series.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
War of the Realms: The Punisher #1

Apr 21, 2019

I am always skeptical when it comes to the writer of the voice of Frank Castle, but Gerry Duggan did not disappoint at all.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
War of the Realms: Uncanny X-Men #1

Apr 30, 2019

I am really loving how this event is not leaving any body, or team, out of the war.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

August

July

More