Hannan Mouawad's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: The Batman Universe Reviews: 43
5.9Avg. Review Rating

8
Batgirls (2021) #1

Dec 16, 2021

Batgirls #1 is a fantastic start to the series, and I love practically everything about this issue. From the art and colors to the little sight gags (like Barbara's mug that says "world's greatest dad" and her book on teenagers) to Stephanie's fearlessness, Cassandra's steadfastness, and Barbara's tired mom vibe, the issue provides a lot of ground for the series to build off of, and I'm really excited for more.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Batgirls (2021) #2

Jan 12, 2022

It's looking like Cass will have her hands full with dealing with Stephanie as each Batgirl works to figure out what exactly is going on in their neighborhood. The story, while only two issues in, is definitely delivering for me, and I hope it continues to do so as the story unfolds.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Batgirls (2021) #3

Feb 10, 2022

On the whole, I love the camaraderie between all three of the Batgirls and their interactions with each other, and the minor details included in the story, such as Barbara's love of coffee, Cassandra's unicorn onesie, and the employment of emoji's to illustrate a character's emotions. In addition, I am a big fan of the way in which Cassandra, in particular, is drawn, and how extremely expressive she is. Those two components continue to make this series quite enjoyable for me. Lastly, at this point in the series, I would say it is a fun and exciting read for younger audiences primarily but still amusing for more mature readers.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Batgirls (2021) #4

Mar 9, 2022

All in all, Batgirls remains a fun, if somewhat goofy, series, perhaps not strictly intended for young readers or fans looking for a feel-good read, but it would be greatly enjoyed by them. I am enjoying it, although I will admit that it isn't satisfying as much as I was hoping. Regardless, I'll keep reading along to find out how it all ends.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Batgirls (2021) #5

Apr 13, 2022

Ultimately, now we are left with one glaring question: what is Seer up to? Hopefully, those questions will be answered in the next issue and provide answers and a final resolution to the conflict and tension the story has been building up to!

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Batgirls (2021) #6

May 11, 2022

Spellbinder is finally safely behind bars, but his actions did provide a positive; finally, there is someone in Gotham City advocating for the Batgirls, and Grace O'Halloran isn't afraid to stand by her statement. Hopefully, her witness won't be the only one and will provide a path for the Batigrls to get back in good standing in the eye of the public.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Batgirls (2021) #7

Jun 15, 2022

The Saints, Seer, and the Batgirls (plus Nightwing) are all convening at the Iceberg Lounge, and there's no telling what might happen next. There's no trust lost between Seer and the Batgirls, so we'll just have to see how they'll manage to work together as the story progresses.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Batgirls (2021) #8

Jul 13, 2022

In the end, the Batgirls successfully kicked butt and, with some help from Nightwing, incapacitated the Saints, saved Seer, and ensured everyone got home safe and alive. It's a win in anyone's book, and despite the craziness of the evening and near-death experiences, Barbara and Dick were able to finish their date after all.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Batgirls (2021) #9

Aug 10, 2022

This issue provides a stepping stone into the plot that's been brewing since the very first issue, and already it's showcasing itself to be a bigger puzzle than the Batgirl's first presumed. Mr. Greene, although a grouchy and unpleasant-looking man, was a victim in an ever-growing series of deaths, and just goes to show that assumptions can be ever misleading. Despite their hardships, each young woman continues to tackle their challenges head-on and support the other. Chances are good that the next issue will continue to demonstrate those good qualities and reveal other hidden secrets about the Hill!

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Batgirls (2021) #10

Sep 18, 2022

The games don't end, and it's now apparent to the three best friends that Killer Moth is one of their primary suspects in this new string of events, but the identity of the second mysterious person is yet to be revealed. The ride is just getting started!

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Challenge of the Super Sons (2020) #2

May 13, 2021

The story of the Super Sons continues to deliver with its amusing dialogue and wonky predicaments. Despite its kid-like feel, this adventure of Robin and Superboy is one that is still enjoyable for those who love the characters, regardless of age.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Challenge of the Super Sons (2020) #3

Jun 10, 2021

Saving members of the Justice League from Faust's spells is only half of the work Superboy and Robin have cut out for themselves; taking down Vandal Savage is the other. Although the boys are facing two villains that usually go toe-to-toe with the Justice League, the story continues to cement itself in its humor and focus more on the dynamic between Superboy and Robin than intensifying the plot; a story I'm really enjoying.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Challenge of the Super Sons (2020) #4

Jul 15, 2021

I love the well-written dynamic between Superboy and Robin and the befuddlement of the Justice League members as random events happen to them. The banter, character relationships, and comedic insanity of this story are still culminating in a really fun read, continuing to showcase one more story of the adventures of the Super Sons.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Challenge of the Super Sons (2020) #5

Aug 12, 2021

Challenge of the Super Sons continues to be a ball to read, presenting a colorful and fun story that neatly blends action and adventure together in a solidly enjoyable story. From the dialogue to the relationships and pulse of the writing, I'm thoroughly enjoying this series and look forward to the future issues to come.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Challenge of the Super Sons (2020) #6

Sep 16, 2021

It's fun, a little goofy, a lot wild, and a series that stays true to the characters, making it a great addition to the tales of Robin and Superboy.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Challenge of the Super Sons (2020) #7

Oct 14, 2021

The story wasn't crazy complicated or deep; it was executed with a simple and rather predictable plot, but one that was fun and engaging, making each issue a worthwhile read. The characters, script, and art were all well done, and ultimately I had a really fun time reading this series. Here's to hoping DC might someday bring it back and continue the tale!

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Challenge of the Super Sons (2020) #12

Apr 15, 2021

Perfect for young readers but still entertaining for adults, Challenge of the Super Sons kicks off with snappy comments and fun moments, giving fans another story to add to their collection. I'm happy to once again be reading a story centering around Robin and Superboy and I'm ready to sit down, buckle up, and enjoy the ride!

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Future State (2021): Batman/Superman #1

Jan 27, 2021

Overall, I thought Future State: Batman Superman #1 was interesting; it decently expressed the dynamic between the two superheroes and sets the stage for the rest of the story. I enjoyed the little details that were included, such as the Superman key chain attached to Batman's USB drive, and I'm curious as to how things will develop next.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Future State (2021): Batman/Superman #2

Feb 24, 2021

Overall, Future State: Batman/Superman #2 was an enjoyable read and showcased a fun, yet interesting, dynamic between the two heroes. The way things were left between Batman and Superman at the end comes across as a strained and tense friendship, and yet with the vague feeling that if push comes to shove, egos will be put aside to help the other out.

View Issue       View Full Review
4
Joker: The Man Who Stopped Laughing #1

Oct 5, 2022

Ultimately, I want to be entertained with a story that I don't feel is a repeat. At some point, a change within the character might need to take place to give way to other plot developments and story ideas. However, the entire ethos of the Joker is comprised of a total lack of charity for anything in the world and the desire for twisted, perverted comedy. I think he's pretty much as manic as possible, so by introducing two Joker characters, the story might be able to develop in a way that would be otherwise unnatural with just The Joker. Let's keep reading to find out.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Joker: The Man Who Stopped Laughing #3

Dec 7, 2022

This series (which, to be fair, is centered around probably my least favorite character in the entire DC Universe) is simultaneously intriguing and also confusingly off-putting. It does a great job with its horror-ish look and feels and is supported by a somewhat crazy narrator. At some point, I'm sure all the characters are going to rendezvous, and I'm both interested and a bit apprehensive about how that reunion will go. I do like the artist's approach, however, with the cool tones that really contrast with the stark red blood and the layout of the panels.

View Issue       View Full Review
4
Joker: The Man Who Stopped Laughing #4

Jan 4, 2023

I did appreciate that Red Hood risked his life and chose to save the life of the police officer, despite the threat it posed to his own life. Although this issue didn't really do it for me, I'm really hoping the next installment in this series might provide some more relevant plot developments to really get the series rolling and serve to be a bit more entertaining.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Red Hood and the Outlaws (2016) #45

May 21, 2020

The plot picked up, and the story is reaching its climax; Im interested to see what happens next and how it will affect the Outlaws!

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Red Hood and the Outlaws (2016) #46

Jun 24, 2020

Although this issue didnt really satisfy me, Im still very much interested in seeing what Lobdell has imagined for the next few issues and how the story will end!

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Red Hood and the Outlaws (2016) #47

Jul 30, 2020

This issue was a fun read, and Im excited to see how the two different teams of Outlaws react to each other!

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Red Hood and the Outlaws (2016) #48

Aug 26, 2020

Im surprised to say I do want to find out how this will all get resolved and what the ramifications will be. Im looking forward to seeing not only Jason respond to this fiasco but the other members of the Bat-Family as well!

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Red Hood and the Outlaws (2016) #50

Oct 28, 2020

Throughout Red Hood: Outlaw there have been some wonderful and not-so-wonderful moments, delivering a story the impressed more at times than others. While the flow of the plot and the art werent always that appealing, the characters–Jason, Artemis, and Bizzaro– were endearing and entertaining and I did enjoy reading them as a team. Im grateful for the stories we were given and hope to see more with these characters in the future.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Red Hood and the Outlaws (2016) #51

Nov 25, 2020

Overall, Im happy with the start of this new arc and the direction the story is going. A group of community-based vigilantes, bad guys moving against each other with some rather explosive results, and Red Hood back in Gotham with the start of a new adventure.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Red Hood and the Outlaws (2016) #52

Dec 23, 2020

Though a little rough around the edges, Red Hood #52 neatly pulls crime and family into its focus as Jason's adventure in the Hill continues.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Task Force Z (2021) #2

Nov 25, 2021

Overall, this series is shaping up to be something fun, different, and interesting. There's a blend of characters, from new ones like Hanna Hobart to classic Batman villains like Bane and Man-Bat, and others that have yet to be made known, like Crispin. Jason's character is well-written; his dry sarcasm pitted against Crispin's aloof remarks aren't done in poor taste and balance neatly. The Lazarus pits, while referenced and heavily used throughout comics, haven't quite been fully fleshed out regarding their mythos and capabilities, and this series has the potential to insert something new into the world of DC Comics.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Task Force Z (2021) #4

Jan 27, 2022

Zombies, suicide squads, and villains desiring a second chance at their humanity are all elements Task Force Z is focusing on while also developing several moving plot threads. It's not easy juggling many different elements, so I'm excited to see how the creative will handle that and, ultimately, how everything will play out.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Task Force Z (2021) #5

Feb 23, 2022

Task Force Z remains entertaining and fun, successfully focusing on Jason Todd's character while balancing a large cast of characters and debating the dilemma of morals and ethics. In the end, there are a lot of moving pieces at play, and it will definitely be interesting to read how they'll all be resolved.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Task Force Z (2021) #7

May 4, 2022

Overall, Task Force Z is, minimally put, an entertaining read. Red Hood and Two-Face make a good pair, and there's enough of a plot within a plot to keep the storyline moving and provide the sense that things are progressing. Now, how Task Force Z deals with Batman in the next issue will be very interesting to read!

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Task Force Z (2021) #8

May 25, 2022

There are now multiple groups vying after their own end goals Jason with Task Force Z, Mr. Bloom, Geri Powers, and Batman and the other heroes of Gotham pursuing Jason and his team. Here's to hoping that it all leads to an epic conclusion.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Task Force Z (2021) #9

Jun 29, 2022

Task Force Z, in a few words, is a fun series. It's a bit wild and dark, dramatic, and a little over the top at times, but intriguing and with an engaging set of characters and a well-paced plot. The creative team, writer Matthew Rosenberg and artist Eddy Barrows, does a great job producing a story that is, overall, solid and enjoyable.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Task Force Z (2021) #10

Jul 27, 2022

There's a lot happening and still quite a bit to take place. Hopefully, the conclusions that will be provided in the upcoming issues will tie everything together and leave us readers satisfied.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Teen Titans Academy (2021) #1

Mar 25, 2021

Tim Sheridan and Rafa Sandoval open the doors to Teen Titans Academy and bring in new and old faces, most good and some bad, as the founding heroes step into new roles as teachers. The reminder of Nightwing's dark alter ego is a pointed strike at the first Robin and hint of the potential future to come. I'm excited to read how those future events will play out!

View Issue       View Full Review
4
Teen Titans Academy (2021) #2

Apr 29, 2021

Unfortunately this issue just didn't hit home for me as I found the young heroes to be disinteresting as characters and the capabilities of Nightwing and the other Titans bit underwhelming. The mystery of Red X still holds a sense of intrigue, but it's a bit off-set by my overall despondent opinion of this issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Teen Titans Academy (2021) #3

May 27, 2021

Teen Titans Academy continues to focus on its new characters and teases the coming of something evil, beyond just the involvement of the Suicide Squad. The final end-game and identity of Red X are still unknown, just like if, and how, the young heroes from Gotham might uncover it all.

View Issue       View Full Review
4
Teen Titans Academy (2021) #4

Jun 24, 2021

Overall, Teen Titans Academy #4 felt more like a filler episode to the series than providing anything else in terms of plot or character development. The metatextual parody had some funny moments, and on one hand, any Batman fan can share that sentiment with the teens from Gotham, but on the whole, the three main characters remain as unknown to me be as before. Hopefully, the next issue will grow the characters and plot a bit more along with my love for this series. Fingers crossed!

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Teen Titans Academy (2021) #5

Jul 29, 2021

Overall, Teen Titans Academy #5 does a good job giving us at least a tiny bit more information on three of the students at the academy, and what brought them there. However, I did find the pacing of the story to be a bit rocky, with a lot being crammed into twenty-four pages, and truthfully what, exactly, prompted Red X to unmask and share his identity to just the three teenagers from Gotham eludes me.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Teen Titans Academy (2021) #6

Sep 2, 2021

Teen Titans Academy as a whole seems to ebb and flow with moments well-written and somewhat abrupt plot changes. The somewhat rocky flow of the story doesn't engage me as some other comic storylines have, although I am crossing my fingers that that might change as the adventure develops. How this story surrounding Gorilla Grodd and his nephew might impact the deeper plot with Red X will hopefully be revealed in the issue to come.

View Issue       View Full Review
4
Teen Titans Academy (2021): 2021 Yearbook #1

Jul 1, 2021

The Teen Titans Academy 2021 Yearbook is a creative way of sharing a bit more about the students, as well as fleshing out the comic book world and making it feel real by adding advertisements and anecdotes that relate to the universe in which the heroes live. While it didn't knock it out of the park for me, the stories were, on the whole, short and sweet. The end of the yearbook ties it all back into the main thread of the story, and hopefully, soon the missing pieces of the puzzle will fall into place and reveal who Red X is now and his end-game.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

February

January

More