Hannan Mouawad's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: The Batman Universe Reviews: 18
5.8Avg. Review Rating

7
Challenge of the Super Sons (2020) #2

May 13, 2021

The story of the Super Sons continues to deliver with its amusing dialogue and wonky predicaments. Despite its kid-like feel, this adventure of Robin and Superboy is one that is still enjoyable for those who love the characters, regardless of age.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Challenge of the Super Sons (2020) #3

Jun 10, 2021

Saving members of the Justice League from Faust's spells is only half of the work Superboy and Robin have cut out for themselves; taking down Vandal Savage is the other. Although the boys are facing two villains that usually go toe-to-toe with the Justice League, the story continues to cement itself in its humor and focus more on the dynamic between Superboy and Robin than intensifying the plot; a story I'm really enjoying.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Challenge of the Super Sons (2020) #4

Jul 15, 2021

I love the well-written dynamic between Superboy and Robin and the befuddlement of the Justice League members as random events happen to them. The banter, character relationships, and comedic insanity of this story are still culminating in a really fun read, continuing to showcase one more story of the adventures of the Super Sons.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Challenge of the Super Sons (2020) #12

Apr 15, 2021

Perfect for young readers but still entertaining for adults, Challenge of the Super Sons kicks off with snappy comments and fun moments, giving fans another story to add to their collection. I'm happy to once again be reading a story centering around Robin and Superboy and I'm ready to sit down, buckle up, and enjoy the ride!

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Future State (2021): Batman/Superman #1

Jan 27, 2021

Overall, I thought Future State: Batman Superman #1 was interesting; it decently expressed the dynamic between the two superheroes and sets the stage for the rest of the story. I enjoyed the little details that were included, such as the Superman key chain attached to Batman's USB drive, and I'm curious as to how things will develop next.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Future State (2021): Batman/Superman #2

Feb 24, 2021

Overall, Future State: Batman/Superman #2 was an enjoyable read and showcased a fun, yet interesting, dynamic between the two heroes. The way things were left between Batman and Superman at the end comes across as a strained and tense friendship, and yet with the vague feeling that if push comes to shove, egos will be put aside to help the other out.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Red Hood and the Outlaws (2016) #45

May 21, 2020

The plot picked up, and the story is reaching its climax; Im interested to see what happens next and how it will affect the Outlaws!

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Red Hood and the Outlaws (2016) #46

Jun 24, 2020

Although this issue didnt really satisfy me, Im still very much interested in seeing what Lobdell has imagined for the next few issues and how the story will end!

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Red Hood and the Outlaws (2016) #47

Jul 30, 2020

This issue was a fun read, and Im excited to see how the two different teams of Outlaws react to each other!

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Red Hood and the Outlaws (2016) #48

Aug 26, 2020

Im surprised to say I do want to find out how this will all get resolved and what the ramifications will be. Im looking forward to seeing not only Jason respond to this fiasco but the other members of the Bat-Family as well!

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Red Hood and the Outlaws (2016) #50

Oct 28, 2020

Throughout Red Hood: Outlaw there have been some wonderful and not-so-wonderful moments, delivering a story the impressed more at times than others. While the flow of the plot and the art werent always that appealing, the characters–Jason, Artemis, and Bizzaro– were endearing and entertaining and I did enjoy reading them as a team. Im grateful for the stories we were given and hope to see more with these characters in the future.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Red Hood and the Outlaws (2016) #51

Nov 25, 2020

Overall, Im happy with the start of this new arc and the direction the story is going. A group of community-based vigilantes, bad guys moving against each other with some rather explosive results, and Red Hood back in Gotham with the start of a new adventure.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Red Hood and the Outlaws (2016) #52

Dec 23, 2020

Though a little rough around the edges, Red Hood #52 neatly pulls crime and family into its focus as Jason's adventure in the Hill continues.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Teen Titans Academy (2021) #1

Mar 25, 2021

Tim Sheridan and Rafa Sandoval open the doors to Teen Titans Academy and bring in new and old faces, most good and some bad, as the founding heroes step into new roles as teachers. The reminder of Nightwing's dark alter ego is a pointed strike at the first Robin and hint of the potential future to come. I'm excited to read how those future events will play out!

View Issue       View Full Review
4
Teen Titans Academy (2021) #2

Apr 29, 2021

Unfortunately this issue just didn't hit home for me as I found the young heroes to be disinteresting as characters and the capabilities of Nightwing and the other Titans bit underwhelming. The mystery of Red X still holds a sense of intrigue, but it's a bit off-set by my overall despondent opinion of this issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Teen Titans Academy (2021) #3

May 27, 2021

Teen Titans Academy continues to focus on its new characters and teases the coming of something evil, beyond just the involvement of the Suicide Squad. The final end-game and identity of Red X are still unknown, just like if, and how, the young heroes from Gotham might uncover it all.

View Issue       View Full Review
4
Teen Titans Academy (2021) #4

Jun 24, 2021

Overall, Teen Titans Academy #4 felt more like a filler episode to the series than providing anything else in terms of plot or character development. The metatextual parody had some funny moments, and on one hand, any Batman fan can share that sentiment with the teens from Gotham, but on the whole, the three main characters remain as unknown to me be as before. Hopefully, the next issue will grow the characters and plot a bit more along with my love for this series. Fingers crossed!

View Issue       View Full Review
4
Teen Titans Academy (2021): 2021 Yearbook #1

Jul 1, 2021

The Teen Titans Academy 2021 Yearbook is a creative way of sharing a bit more about the students, as well as fleshing out the comic book world and making it feel real by adding advertisements and anecdotes that relate to the universe in which the heroes live. While it didn't knock it out of the park for me, the stories were, on the whole, short and sweet. The end of the yearbook ties it all back into the main thread of the story, and hopefully, soon the missing pieces of the puzzle will fall into place and reveal who Red X is now and his end-game.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

July

June

More