Jim's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Comic Book Revolution Reviews: 71
7.3Avg. Review Rating

5.5
Action Comics #877

May 21, 2009

Action continues to disappoint the Revolution. It needs Superman back. Action without Superman has never worked.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Adventure Comics Vol. 2 #4

Nov 19, 2009

Adventure Comics #4 is worth picking up if you are a big Jerry Ordway fan or if you are fancinated by Prime's story. Otherwise I would pass on it.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Agents Of Atlas Vol. 2 #4

May 11, 2009

Another good issue. Next issue looks like a good time to start on this series if you have not been picking this up.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Agents Of Atlas Vol. 2 #11

Sep 22, 2009

Another good story with art that is lacking. With a more realistic art style, this would have been a great story.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
All-Star Superman #12

Sep 23, 2008

A great series that belongs on everyones book shelf or in their box of comics. I hope Morrison and Quitely team up again in the future.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Amazing Spider-Man (1999) #596

Jun 5, 2009

So far, "American Son" shows a lot of potential. Until it is completed I will withhold my final verdict, but it is on track so far. The big question is how far will Harry make it before Norman finds out about his plan?

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Batman and Robin #10

Mar 14, 2010

A good issue. Morrison was back on track. The art was good. I like the mysteries being investigated in this issue. It brings back the flavor of the old Detective stories. Any Batman story taking place in secret chambers with suits of armor has me hooked. Recommended.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Booster Gold (2007) #20

May 19, 2009

The issue was okay for some of the ideas but disappointing overall. Hopefully, Jurgens can free up the time so he can do all of the issues. Because of the quality of the series, I will be back next time for "Back to the Batcave".

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Booster Gold (2007) #25

Oct 21, 2009

Another fine issue. This is the way more titles should be done. Good storytelling, quality art, delivered on time.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Booster Gold (2007) #26

Nov 17, 2009

Booster Gold continues to be one of my favorite books. Jurgens and the gang turn in a quality book month after month.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Booster Gold (2007) #29

Feb 15, 2010

Booster Gold #29 was a disappointing issue that can be skipped. Hopefully, Jurgens' time away from the comic will recharge him and he will return more focused. However, I am worried about Giffin/DeMatteis taking over for Jurgens.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.5
Dark Avengers #10

Oct 24, 2009

I would think that this book is nearing the end of it's run since Dark Reign is ending. This is an issue that you can skip. Nothing happens at all that moves the story forward.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Dark Reign: The List: X-Men #1

Sep 25, 2009

Dark Reign The List X-Men #1 was much better than the standard X-Men story by Fraction that we have been getting on Uncanny X-Men. I would buy more issues of Uncanny X-Men if they were more like this issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Detective Comics #848

Sep 9, 2008

A good storyline that is damaged by the artwork. With a different artist, this would have been a more dramatic story.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Fall of the Hulks: Alpha #1

Dec 7, 2009

A great kickoff to what looks to be a promising event. I was lukewarm to this event until I read this issue. Now I can't wait. Marvel needs to keep these creators busy.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Fantastic Four (1998) #572

Nov 2, 2009

Fantastic Four #572 was a good read. This opening story arc was a good first story by Hickman and Eaglesham. I look forward to a long run by Hickman and Eaglesham on the Fantastic Four. Highly recommended.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Fantastic Four (1998) #573

Dec 2, 2009

Fantastic Four #573 is yet another reason to believe Hickman's run on this title will be a great one. I can not wait to get my hands on future issues.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Final Crisis: Revelations #1

Aug 16, 2008

Another good Final Crisis tie-in. This will be an interesting series to watch as Rucka leads some of his favorite characters on the next step of their lives.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Final Crisis: Revelations #2

Sep 16, 2008

A great series. By all means, pick it up.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Final Crisis: Revelations #3

Oct 14, 2008

The bar keeps getting raised with this series. This is the way a companion story should be done. It is connected to the main series but has it's own storyline. I can not wait to see where this story goes in the final 2 parts.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Flash (1987) #243

Aug 26, 2008

Rotating artists have hurt this book. Next month another one joins the team. If DC wants this book to succeed, they need to get a stable team on this title. Peyer wrote a good wrap-up to his run on the book. I hope they find him another book soon. With the right artist, Peyer would be great on the Flash.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Green Hornet #1

Mar 9, 2010

A decent start to the series. Smith tells a good opening story. Fans of street level characters will enjoy this story. The family legacy aspect gives it a different twist from most comics.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Green Lantern (2005) #33

Aug 5, 2008

This was a great issue. The addition of Sinestro really took this story to another level. The explaination of the Massacre of Sector 666 was informative and layed more of the ground work for the Black Lantern storyline.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Hulk (2008) #6

Sep 29, 2008

Not bad but not anywhere near the quality of the Peter David days of the Hulk. Anyone writing the Hulk needs to read David's books.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Hulk: Fall of the Hulks Gamma #1

Dec 28, 2009

A good book. It was my favorite Loeb Hulk story to date. If Loeb had written the Red Hulk like this, I would have enjoyed his series more. Even though he is not credited it seemed like Jeff Parker contributed some ideas to this story. I hope we see Romita Jr. on the Hulk again.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Incredible Hercules #136

Oct 21, 2009

If you can relax and enjoy a funny book, then Incredible Hercules is a great title to purchase. Pak and Van Lente continue doing a great job with this book.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Invincible Iron Man #4

Aug 10, 2008

The art made the story look great but when you read it, the story is a letdown. This issue appears to be a build up to the next issue. Hopefully, Salvador will have the opportunity to draw something more exciting.

View Issue       View Full Review
4
Invincible Iron Man #23

Feb 8, 2010

Disappointing. Inconsistent art combined with a repeat story combines to make an issue that can be skipped. I would recommend waiting until next issue to see how this story is wrapped up.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Invincible Iron Man #24

Mar 9, 2010

A good finish that sets the stage for the future. Let's see if Marvel can take it and build upon it. Good job, Mr. Fraction, for what I thought was a quality finish to this storyline.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Justice Society of America #37

Apr 6, 2010

An issue that can be missed. Last issue set up the story. The next issue should move the story along. I would wait and pick it up.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Legion of Super-Heroes (2004) #44

Jul 25, 2008

Another great story that moves along the various plots that Shooter has been building. The only fault was the art did not match the story. The quality of Shooter's writing makes this comic worth buying. Buy up the back issues and get up to speed. You will not regret it.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Legion of Super-Heroes (2004) #45

Aug 31, 2008

It is great to have Jim Shooter back with the Legion. Another super issue to add to his run. I can't wait for the next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Mighty Avengers #17

Sep 3, 2008

Not bad. I still am not a big fan of the Avengers as written by Bendis. He does a decent job on the small individual stories but I have not been impressed with his epics. To me a big part of the Avengers is the epic stories. Roy Thomas had his Kree-Skrull War, Steve Englehart his Celestial Madonna series, and Jim Shooter the Korvac Saga. In my opinion, Bendis is better on Spider-Man and other series featuring an individual hero. He seems to be trying for epic with this storyline. The ending of Secret Invasion will tell if it is fondly remembered years from now.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Mighty Avengers #23

Apr 2, 2009

A good beginning to a traditional Avengers series. With all the darkness surrounding the Avengers this book is needed. I hope to see a mix of new and classic villains for this team Zodiac anyone?

View Issue       View Full Review
5.5
Mighty Avengers #25

Jun 10, 2009

Mighty Avengers #25 was a disappointing issue. I expect better out of Dan Slott. This was a poor excuse for a Fantastic Four/Avengers fight.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Mighty Avengers #30

Oct 27, 2009

Dan Slott has returned the "real" Avengers to the Marvel Universe. When the Siege miniseries is over, I hope that Dan stays on the Avengers. He appears to have a plan and knows how to implement it.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Mighty Avengers #31

Nov 24, 2009

Another solid issue. Slott continues his run of classic style Avengers stories. Recommended to Avengers fans. Next issue should be a good jumping on point with the start of the next storyline.

View Issue       View Full Review
4
New Avengers #52

Apr 29, 2009

Another poor issue. Marvel, get a regular art team for this book. Force Bendis to focus on the main characters. The search for a new Sorcerer Supreme should be exciting. This book was far from it.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
New Avengers #58

Oct 30, 2009

New Avengers #58 was better than the last few issues but still not a good comic. Not much happened in this issue. Pick up the Mighty Avengers instead of New Avengers.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
New Mutants (2009) #1

May 13, 2009

The verdict on the return of Legion will have to wait for a future issue. We did not see enough of his character in this issue to make a determination. Wells needs to find a reason for this team to exist on its' own. From what I saw here, it is an okay story that needs more thought behind it.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Nightwing (1996) #147

Aug 9, 2008

Another good issue for Tomasi and Kramer. They are at the top of their game with this book. Carol is surprised that Harvey would help her. This is a mystery for a future issue. The cliffhanger leaves you waiting for the next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Nightwing (1996) #148

Sep 8, 2008

The story was as good as expected. The art was not as good as usual. The author is keeping the mystery going. Who was the sniper? Who is trying to kill Carol? I know I will be eagerly waiting for the next installment.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
No Hero #1

Oct 6, 2008

A good start to the story. I am interested where the story goes from here. Ellis and Ryp have my attention for at least another issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Nova (2007) #25

Jun 1, 2009

Nova #25 was another excellent issue in an excellent series. If you are not already buying this, run out and add it to your pull list. This is one of my favorite series being published today.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Nova (2007) #27

Jul 29, 2009

Another exceptional issue by the writing team. With the right inker, the whole issue would have been outstanding.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Nova (2007) #29

Sep 30, 2009

Another quality story. The art pulled down the story. Hopefully, the art picks up next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Outsiders (2007) #18

May 25, 2009

Outsiders #18 was another great read. I hope DC keeps this team together. A book only gets better when a good team stays together on a title.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Outsiders (2007) #19

Jun 25, 2009

Outsiders #19 was another great chapter in Tomasi's story. I cannot wait to read the next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
R.E.B.E.L.S. #6

Jul 15, 2009

Another fine issue. I hope DC keeps publishing this surprise book. I was not too excited when I first heard of this title, but R.E.B.E.L.S. has won me over. Highly recommended.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Realm of Kings: Inhumans #4

Mar 3, 2010

Another solid contribution to the Marvel cosmic line. I hope Marvel keeps Raimondi on one of the cosmic titles. DnA continue to mine the past (Omega) while building the future.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Red Tornado #2

Oct 13, 2009

Another good issue. I am curious to see where Van Hook is going with this story. So far, he has my attention.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Robin (1993) #175

Jul 26, 2008

A good issue. Nicieza does a good job of setting the tone for his tenure on the series. The art team was good(excellent at times). I am curious how this series will be handled after Batman R.I.P. and with the loss of Chuck Dixon. This is a good start.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Sub-Mariner: The Depths #1

Sep 7, 2008

So far, this is a poor story that is not supporting the great artwork being turned in by Ribic. Hopefully, the story improves by the next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Superman (2006) #692

Oct 6, 2009

Superman #692 was a good story that has been building slowly. I would like to see the Guardian move to his own title when Superman returns.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.5
Superman/Supergirl: Maelstrom #1

Nov 12, 2008

A disappointing issue especially after watching last week's Smallville. With the lack of story in part 1, I don't see how this can go on through issue 5. I guess we will have another couple of issues of Supergirl getting beat up. Then issue 4 will show her on the road to recovery. Issue 5 will probably featuring her revenge while Superman is unable to help her. I will give this series one more issue, but it is on the edge of the drop zone.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Superman: Secret Origin #5

Apr 13, 2010

A solid issue. Issue 5 continues a very good series. Not the best issue but it is another good one. Johns and Frank continue to show new readers the origin while still making it interesting for older readers.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.2
The Brave and the Bold (2007) #15

Jul 28, 2008

A good story that is pulled down by poor art. If Kolins had used the realistic style he uses on the cover, it would have been much better. The occasional good drawings kept the art from being rated lower.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
The Brave and the Bold (2007) #28

Oct 25, 2009

JMS/Saiz are a great team. They know how to tell a story and that is more than I can say about some of the other creators working on books today. Brave and the Bold #28 is definitely a recommended read.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
The Torch #3

Nov 12, 2009

Another fine effort from the Dynamite Entertainment studio. They have earned my respect with the various comics they created. I am putting anything they produce on my pull list.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Titans (2008) #18

Oct 15, 2009

An average superhero comicbook. I did not see anything new in this issue. Titans used to be cutting edge, exciting, original. This issue was none of them.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Ultimate Comics Armor Wars #3

Dec 21, 2009

This issue was weak on the story side but was well executed. If you are picking it up to find out more of the story, you will be disappointed. If you are looking for a summer blockbuster action story, this is a good book for you to read. I will withhold my final opinion until I see how the story wraps up next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Uncanny X-Men (1963) #507

Mar 26, 2009

The art continues to be good on this title. Fraction seems to have found his footing with the recent issues. He will have to be careful. X-Men fans expect big things from this book and Fraction will have to prove that he can deliver. He appears to be looking back at the Claremont issues for inspiration. Fraction's stories do not match up to Claremont's stories but Fraction is going in a better direction now.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Uncanny X-Men (1963) #508

Apr 17, 2009

Uncanny X-Men #508 was a well drawn issue without a story. This issue was a step backwards from the previous 2 issues.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Uncanny X-Men (1963) #510

May 26, 2009

Another disappointing issue. It did contain less wasted scenes and focused on the battle. I wonder if reprints of the old X-Men books would sell better than this?

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Uncanny X-Men (1963) #511

Jun 15, 2009

Uncanny X-Men #511 was a poorly written issue with good art. Next month's storyline looks more promising.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.5
Uncanny X-Men (1963) #516

Oct 19, 2009

A better than average issue of the Matt Fraction era. While it was not a great story it was more focused and that really helped if you can ignore the characterization established in previous stories.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Wolverine (2003) #68

Sep 1, 2008

Another great chapter in Old Man Logan. Millar continues to surprise me. Worth picking up if you are a Wolverine fan or just like seeing another version of the future America. If you like this story, you might want to try Kazuo Koike and Goseki Kojima's Lone Wolf and Cub. It is a classic story set in feudal Japan.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Wonder Woman (2006) #24

Sep 17, 2008

A decent comic. Nice art, good writing, but nothing exceptional. There was enough here to bring me back for the next issue but it is not something that will have me waiting on the edge of my seat.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
X-Factor Special: Layla Miller #1

Aug 24, 2008

A good one-shot that was damaged by the ending. I think David needed to end the story by showing Layla's return to our time. By leaving her in the future with no idea how to return, I felt the author cheated me. Layla did find Scott and help start the Rebellion but I found the story to be incomplete due to the ending.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Young X-Men #7

Oct 18, 2008

A very well written comic with o.k. art. The writer has gotten my attention. I am going to read the previous issues and will continue with the new ones. I feel the art is hurting the book but the writing will carry the story.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Young X-Men #8

Nov 20, 2008

This book has my attention due to the efforts of the writer. I still think the art is the weak link. With the right artist, this book could really take off.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

January

December

More