Joe Glass's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Bleeding Cool Reviews: 64
8.3Avg. Review Rating

9.0
All-New Guardians of the Galaxy #4

Jun 25, 2017

And hey, at least this series is safe from Marvel's early cancellation chop, so we'll get a creative team capable to telling a full story for a while yet.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
All-New Guardians of the Galaxy #7

Aug 4, 2017

So while the reason for Drax's current pacifism in All-New Guardians of the Galaxy may be a little guessable, it doesn't take away from the powerful way in which this reason would have its effect. And the emotion of the reveal still packs a punch.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
All-New Guardians of the Galaxy #9

Sep 6, 2017

Overall, All-New Guardians of the Galaxy #9 adds some interesting new elements into the widening story of the Guardians books. The hints of bringing back deeper history into the series is very intriguing, as well.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
All-Star Batman #9

Apr 19, 2017

Intriguing issues bringing twists within the context of the story, and also the nature of Batman stories.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
All-Star Batman #10

May 10, 2017

A great start to a new story arc, introducing interesting elements and mystery to go on.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
All-Star Batman #11

Jun 23, 2017

Overall, All Star Batman continues to try things different with Batman and give us stories that feel different but also add interesting new wrinkles to the mythos of the Dark Knight.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Batgirl (2016) #7

Jan 26, 2017

Overall, Batgirl #7 is a return to form for the title, not that it had fallen into bad form in the interim. But with a refocus, and a recenter, this return to Burnside feels as interesting and fresh as it did the first time.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Batman (2016) #22

May 4, 2017

A huge emotional pivot to Batman, and a tightly made issue, but little progress in the overall Rebirth mystery. However, it sets up for a big finish in final part.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman (2016) #25

Jun 23, 2017

Art by Mikel Jann and June ChungBatman #25 sets up what promises to be a promising, epic arc that will touch almost every corner of the Batman rogues gallery and the character itself, and the ramping tension in this issue serves to amp up the expectation for the reader. In the hands of this creative team, we can probably expect to see something that could become one of the biggest, most key stories in Batman history.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Batman (2016) #26

Jul 6, 2017

This is a tight issue, with powerful characterisation and ramping sense of danger. I have high hopes the team can keep this up.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Batman (2016) #28

Aug 3, 2017

This kind of wobble can often happen in the middle of a story, and not every beat will hit as well as the others. I have faith that we'll get back on track for the rest of this event, but sadly, this particular issue left me a little…wanting.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Batman (2016) #30

Sep 6, 2017

Because Batman pities him. And we pity him. His pain is something we understand, and we can realise “Oh my god, I'm Kite Man!” And isn't that funny?

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Batman (2016) #33

Oct 18, 2017

Jones has an excellent range of emotions of show that are clear and look natural and realistic, and creates the best ‘acted' comic visually I have seen in some time. Bellaire's colours, especially between scenes from the cooler Wayne Manor to the desert sands of Khadym, are strong and vibrant, and help add to the important clarity in the pages. Combined with Jones' linework, it creates some genuinely gorgeous artwork.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Black Bolt #5

Sep 6, 2017

Black Bolt #5 continues to be quirky, weird and absolutely special, and is a Marvel book that is well worth checking out.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Curse Words #1

Jan 17, 2017

The comic is fun, has an element of mystery, and an anti-hero pretending at being a straight hero, giving us the pleasure of seeing if he can truly change his nature. As first issues go, it's a really great start. It will be fun to see where the series goes in the future.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Dark Days: The Casting #1

Jul 12, 2017

So if nothing else, Dark Days: The Casting is the perfect teaser for what is to come in the next few months from DC, and it's shaping up to be a wild ride.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Dark Days: The Forge #1

Jun 13, 2017

Overall, Dark Days: The Forge is a great issue setting up a big event. There's still enough mystery and intrigue to keep fans guessing, but gives plenty of clues to make it tantalising and reveals that will make long-term DC fans very excited.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Dark Nights: Metal #1

Aug 14, 2017

Dark Nights: Metal #1 is a bombastic, twisted thrill ride that invites the reader to come in and enjoy, rather than stand back and be shocked. Metal surprises, but in the best way. Put those horns up. Rock the **** out!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Dark Nights: Metal #2

Sep 12, 2017

Dark Nights: Metal #2 keeps the ride going, by bringing in some more explanation, upping the stakes, and just showing how wild the DCU really is. It's so nice to see an event have such level and depth and be a whole heap of fun, too.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Dark Nights: Metal #3

Oct 11, 2017

Well, we have hit the mid-point of the main story of DC's major event, Dark Nights Metal, and Scott Snyder, Greg Capullo, Jonathan Glapion and FCO Plascencia really hit their stride with the series and the stakes for the DC Universe.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Defenders (2017) #3

Jul 13, 2017

Overall, this issue of Defenders in particular feels like a comic making masterclass in what a truly fantastic comic can really be and look like.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Defenders (2017) #4

Aug 11, 2017

In short, Bendis has done a great job with Defenders, but he wobbled a bit on the landing. Still, the potential in this series is a lot higher than most, and this is definitely a series to keep your eye on.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Defenders (2017) #5

Sep 14, 2017

All in all, Defenders #5 continues the pace and tone of this great new series, and it shows no signs of slowing down yet.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Defenders (2017) #6

Sep 16, 2017

The Defenders #6 culminates effectively, interestingly and genuinely entertainingly an incredible series at Marvel, and every single person attached to this book should be proud as hell about it. If you have not been reading The Defenders as yet….start.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Detective Comics (2016) #962

Aug 10, 2017

Art by Alvaro Martinez, Raul Fernandez, and Brad AndersonDetective Comics #962 is a superb comic, a great end to a fun arc, and it's great to see that there'll be plenty more to come.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Dragon Age: Knight Errant #4

Aug 2, 2017

A tense fantasy story with rogues and knights and court intrigue, respectful of the Dragon Age material and fun for fans of the game or the genre alike.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Eugenic #1

Oct 3, 2017

And distressingly, this is perhaps the one of the teams apocalyptic titles that feels the most hauntingly plausible.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Generation X (2017) #4

Jul 14, 2017

Art by Martin Morazzo and Felipe SobreiroUltimately, yes, this is not the Generation X I remember and that I hold so dear, and maybe that is part of the issues I have with it, but it does feel like it has tried to sell itself based on an older series that it hasn't so far illustrated much connection to outside of some superficial similarities and shared characters. However, this latest issue does give a few small pieces of hope that it could become more than that. Eventually.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Generation X (2017) #6

Sep 6, 2017

Generation X #6 artwork by Eric Koda and Felipe SobreiroGeneration X #6 really raises its game for me, so I am back on board but I'm still wary. There's still a number of issues I have with this series, but I am intrigued to see how this will develop going into Marvel Legacy now.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Generation X (2017) #7

Oct 18, 2017

This issue makes next to no mention of this premise, and as such, it makes it easy to focus on the relationships and dramas of the teen mutants and their teachers, and this is way more like the original series, so it finally i something that matches with the themes and feel of the original series more than just a title.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Generation X (2017) #7

Oct 18, 2017

By moving away from the problematic premise of the title, and focusing more on the teen angst melodrama of the original series, it creates a more fun and enjoyable book.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Generations: Phoenix & Jean Grey #1

Aug 10, 2017

I mean, it has a dust up between the Phoenix and Galactus, and him getting clocked out by a teenager! What more do you want?

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Green Arrow (2016) #28

Aug 4, 2017

Green Arrow remains one of the most interesting and relevant titles that DC is putting out into the comics market. If you haven't read it yet, now is the time to get on board.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Hawkeye (2016) #10

Sep 6, 2017

And Hawkeye #10 ends on a powerful final scene that could lead to some huge revelations for the character, so this comic still has me hooked.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Iceman (2017) #3

Jul 31, 2017

All in all, Iceman #3 may simply be hands down the best issue of the series to date, and gives the most succinct and complete idea of the creative teams goals. It leaves me excited to see just where they go next.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Iceman (2017) #5

Sep 6, 2017

Honestly, this issue strikes a wonderful balance between bombastic and intimate, and the team have put together a stunning issue, a vital and important new entry in the growing lexicon of LGBTQ+ representation and understanding in comics.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Inhumans Prime #1

Mar 31, 2017

Overall, Inhumans Prime sets up the Inhuman line with intriguing mysteries, allows the Inhumans to move from a well written (largely) but controversial time to a time when they can maybe finally be total heroes without causing the displacement of others, and presents a potentially exciting time of exploration and adventures to come. Setting up almost all the series of the line to come, and itself a great read with stunning art.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Jean Grey #8

Oct 1, 2017

It's a fun story, it's got great artwork, and in the grand scheme of the story through the series, it is a great and logical next step. It takes into account some old, forgotten plot threads, which is nice to see for existing readers. Unfortunately, I think it would overall be a little confusing to anyone coming into this fresh.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Justice League (2016) #26

Aug 4, 2017

This arc certainly has me interested and hooked to keep reading, particularly as the philosophical debate appears to be coming up: what does the Justice League actually change by saving the day from alien invasions, but not stepping into human conflicts? Should the heroes do more than just preserve the status quo? Will it be their inaction or a decision to take action that causes this dark future reality?

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Justice League of America (2017) #10

Jul 14, 2017

Overall, Justice League of America #10 is another entry in a series that is presenting us with a very new take on superhero-ing one that gives everyone a sense of importance. It carries an important message without bashing the reader over the head with it or boiling it down and oversimplifying it into another gratuitous hero vs hero bust-up over a difference of opinion.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Justice League of America: The Ray Rebirth #1

Jan 21, 2017

This is what a superhero story should be. It is hope. It is conscience. It is action. And it is accessible to anyone at all. JLA Rebirth: The Ray is a great example of what Justice League of America can bring to us. And it is bright indeed.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Marvel Legacy #1

Sep 28, 2017

Overall, Marvel Legacy #1 almost gets it right. In fact, it gets very close. However, it is far from the perfect, emotional and genuinely earth-shattering shocking moment that DC Rebirth provided. But it does come ever so close, and it is certainly enough to renew some cautious hope for the future of Marvel and where this continuing story will lead.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Mister Miracle #2

Aug 17, 2017

Mister Miracle #2 may not be as mind-blowingly amazing as the premiere issue in the series, but it's still a fantastic issue telling an interesting story, and that simply looks beautiful. And as I say, there is still clearly a lot more to the story than I think any of us can guess just yet.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Nothing Lasts Forever #1

Jun 13, 2017

Nothing Lasts Forever, just as Not My Bag and Self-Obsessed before it proved, is a wonderful snapshot into the life of Grace, with profound moments of realisation and self-discovery that all can relate to.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Punisher (2016) #13

Jun 28, 2017

Art by Kris Anka and Matthew WilsonWe get a Punisher who is like a threat looming through people's lives, and ultimately of extreme karma that leads to heavy injury and yes, death to those most deserving of it.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Redlands #1

Aug 13, 2017

Redlands is a brave and committed start to a tale of horror and rebellion that will keep you hooked and show you where that rebellion can lead. A powerful start to a great new series.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Secret Empire #0

Mar 26, 2017

As a whole, this is an incredible first issue to an event. It just remains to be seen if it will be enough to change the minds of those angered by the content in the story leading up to this.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Secret Empire #1

May 3, 2017

This is a great comic, in the most objective terms, of that there is little doubt. It may even be an important kind of story to tell right now. But it is not a good idea, the way it has been executed in this manner.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Secret Empire #4

Jun 15, 2017

All in all, taking this issue by itself and not as part of the whole, this is actually a very enjoyable issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
3.5
Secret Empire #10

Sep 1, 2017

In the end, Secret Empire #10 was a massive letdown of a final issue to an event. It was an ending we all saw coming from before the very first issue, and it's commentary on hope and fighting back against fascism felt unearned and even a tad problematic in and of itself. At the end of the day, after waiting and seeing, if it's not about the destination and about the journey instead, this still does not feel like a journey anyone needed to be taken on. And if it was about the destination? Well, I'm afraid it wasn't a very awe-inspiring one at all.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Star-Lord (2016) #5

Apr 1, 2017

All this being said, Star-Lord is simply fun, even when the story is given some pretty strong emotional weight. This comic genuinely made me audibly sigh (in sadness, not because of how thirsty it made me), but I wouldn't want to spoil why. Read it yourself! Go on! You'll thank me for suggesting it, I swear.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Star-Lord (2016) #6

Apr 19, 2017

A wonderful complete piece of character story, with consistent and beautiful artwork and a powerful issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Super Sons #5

Jun 25, 2017

Super Sons so far is proving to be a surprise gem of the DC Rebirth line, as it could easily have played completely silly, but instead we get something fun and with character and heart.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Mighty Thor (2015) #700

Sep 26, 2017

Marvel Legacy #1 has been definitively set up as a must read for the future of Marvel, but for my money, I would say that The Mighty Thor #700 might be just as important a book to read, too.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Wicked + The Divine #29

Jul 9, 2017

In this issue, we see things really start to fall about. The shit hit the fan, and now the characters have to deal with the mess. And that is just going to get messier.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
The Wicked + The Divine #31

Sep 6, 2017

The Wicked + the Divine #31 artwork by Jamie McKelvie and Matthew WilsonThe Wicked + the Divine is easily one of the best series on the stands right now, so it's nice to see us having reached the top of the rollercoaster again and heading for that deep drop, because after The Wicked + the Divine #31, things are going to blow up.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Ultimates 2 (2016) #100

Aug 16, 2017

Ewing and team have put together an incredible series that has built new layers into the Marvel Universe going forward, and provided a sprig of hope in a time when it's sorely needed.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Weapon X (2017) #1

Apr 16, 2017

It's a great, fun read, and I'll probably be sticking with this version of the X-Men stabbing squad for a while longer yet.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Wonder Woman (2016) #14

Jan 14, 2017

The team have done something which I feel has been a long time needed for Wonder Woman: they've created the story that speaks to the very core, the very essence of what Wonder Woman is. Of why she is important. They have made Wonder Woman's All Star Superman or Green Lantern: Rebirth. They've re-established why Wonder Woman is unique and vital.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
X-Men Prime #1

Mar 31, 2017

Overall, the X-Men Prime one shot is good, and it is nice to see the change in tonal direction finally, but it is a shame that it only really works as a primer for three titles and not the whole line.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
X-Men: Blue (2017) #1

Apr 16, 2017

Personally, I cannot wait to read more, and that this is including the teen O5 that is saying something. This series has the classic feel but still feels fresh and has enough exciting possibility for development that it could really become something, with a creative team who seem just made for making awesome comics.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
X-Men: Gold (2017) #1

Apr 5, 2017

X-Men Gold is a fantastic leap in the right direction. For so long, the X-Men books have been about survival, which has not worked well with the core allegory of mutants and what the X-Men are. Finally, this book is less about survival, and more about living.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
X-Men: Gold (2017) #7

Jul 9, 2017

X-Men Gold #7, ultimately, is one of the better Secret Empire tie-ins, mainly because it largely ignores the thrust of the event and just uses the setting for its own story needs.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
X-Men: Gold (2017) #13

Sep 17, 2017

Ultimately, though, it's the story and the weirdly compelling nature of that stories seeming metatextual commentary carries X-Men Gold #13, and sets up a good start to the crossover. It will be interesting to see how it plays out.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for
the Week of...

October

September

More