Jonathan Edwards's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Comic Bastards Reviews: 117
5.4Avg. Review Rating

8.0
A&A: The Adventures of Archer and Armstrong #12

Feb 1, 2017

I feel like this review is a bit more sparse than usual, but this is a pretty cut and dry conclusion. Not that that's a bad thing. When I was in the middle issues of A&A, I wasn't liking it quite as much, and I considered dropping the book. However, issue #12 makes me glad that I didn't. At the very least, it told a solid story with some nuance and subplots that do all come together in the end. And, that's something that's not as common as it should be.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Action Comics (2016): Special #1

May 2, 2018

I don't know if it's just my review copy or if it's an intended sneak preview (because it quite literally comes out of nowhere), but this special ends with a five or six-page origin story for a new character called Firebrand. As far as I can tell, she has zero relation to any of the previous characters who bore that moniker, but I thought I recognized her from a short scene near the end of Justice League of America #29. Sure enough, Steve Orlando is listed as a co-writer. I'm not going to say much about it (partly because I'm still not sure if it's included in retails copies), but I guess it's part one of "Call of the Unknown" from The Unexpected, and it's alright. Other co-writers Ryan Sook and Cary Nord seem to be capable of offsetting Orlando's characteristic shortcomings, even if there's definitely more narration than necessary. As for Action Comics Special #1, it's not bad, but I don't know if it's worth picking up. Landis's "Driver's Seat" is the best of the bunch, as well as the

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Batwoman (2017) #1

Mar 15, 2017

Batwoman is a series I was excited for, wanted to like, and thought I would, yet this first installment fell short. I'll probably at least give it a few more issues and hope it improves, but unless you're an avid fan of the character, or want to read everything that relates to the current Detective Comics run, this is a title you can probably get away with skipping.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Cannibal #5

May 10, 2017

I'm so excited Cannibal is back, and I can't wait for issue #6. I will say, unlike some other books that take breaks for a couple months, I don't necessarily think this is a great jumping on point. If you're still interested, I'd recommend checking out the trade that came out back in March. As far as I'm concerned, it's totally worth checking out, even if you don't end up digging the book. But if you've read and liked the previous issues, I'm going to say you definitely should pick this one up.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Cold War (2018) #1

Jan 24, 2018

As I said before, Cold War #1 isn't bad. But much like the art, the assemblage of its pieces just doesn't function. Maybe Tom's bloodthirstiness could've worked as a character trait if everyone else had been nothing but cannon fodder. And, maybe having a barely characterized supporting cast could've worked if there were a stronger protagonist and the heart of the story. But, when presented together, as they are here, it leaves the reader without anyone or anything to connect to or empathize with, and that makes it difficult to care about anything that's going on. So, no, I can't say I recommend this issue or book. And to be perfectly honest, I have no intention of giving it a second chance with the second issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Coyotes #1

Nov 5, 2017

All in all, Coyotes #1 is a decent start, and if you're into the premise, I'd say it's probably worth you checking it out for yourself. It'll likely leave you with some unanswered questions (for example: why exactly are these Coyotes chasing after girls?), but that's not necessarily a bad thing. Personally, I can enough potential and directions to take this book that I'll at least be coming back for one more issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Dark Knight III: The Master Race #8

Mar 31, 2017

This series wasn't good, still isn't good, and it won't ever be good. I'm certain the last issue will do nothing to change that. If, for some reason, you like all the nothing that's been done so far, or if you're reading for the morbid curiosity of it (like me) I guess picks this up. Otherwise, you can, and should, steer clear of this one. I can't wait to see the conclusion that won't actually be a conclusion and only lead into more of Miller's mad ramblings.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Dark Knight III: The Master Race #9

Jun 7, 2017

In conclusion, not just to this review but also the series, is the eponymous "master race" supposed to be referring to the Kandorians? That would be my first guess, but I'm never sure when Miller's involved. Furthermore, I could be wrong, but the Kandorians actions really just don't seem equivalent enough to warrant such a loaded comparison. Mostly, it's just "let us rule the world or else." Then again, it could always just be tasteless shock value attempting to hook readers. And truthfully, they were probably successful in that regard. DK3 is not a series I think is ultimately worth reading, but at least it doesn't end on a mean-spirited and awful note. Instead, it's much more of a "meh, alright I guess."

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Darkness Visible #2

Mar 15, 2017

I think it's safe to say that Darkness Visible has me hooked. Maybe not for the long run, but for a few more issues at least. There's a lot of potential here as long as the writing doesn't get sloppy. If you picked up the first issue and liked it, you'll definitely want to grab this one too. If you're looking for something completely different, this probably isn't the book for you. But, for a solid read complete with some contemporary fantasy world building, I think this is worth checking out. Plus, I can't think of any reason you'd really have to have read the previous installment to get the full enjoyment of this one.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Darkness Visible #3

Apr 5, 2017

In the end, Darkness Visible #3 is a pretty enjoyable issue. Although, that doesn't stop it from coming out of left field. Really, it makes me want a different series set in the same world where we can actually see all of the Shaitan's contributions to the war effort. But, it also doesn't prevent me from wanting to see where Daniel Aston's story goes. Hopefully, they keep it on course from here on out and not make anymore needless departures.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
DC Universe Holiday Special: 2017 #1

Dec 6, 2017

It was something of a mixed bag, but it was still a treat to read and review. In some ways, I think I might've enjoyed it more because of how much of a mixed back it was. And because of that, I'm going to recommend it. It's not a hard recommendation, mainly because it's difficult to justify ten bucks for a single issue of any book that isn't a collector's item. However, if you can spare it, I encourage you to get into the spirit of the season and partake in this bittersweet holiday treat.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Dead of Winter #1

Aug 2, 2017

So, here's the thing: even though I personally had problems with Dead of Winter #1, I'm having trouble calling it outright bad. The story still functions fine enough, and I'd be willing to bet that the more zombie inclined would still a get a fair kick out of it. So yeah, if a standard fare plot is enough for you as long as zombies are present, or if you really like the tabletop game, maybe give this one a look. But as for me, I think I'm going to go ahead and leave it here.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Dept. H #9

Dec 21, 2016

There's not too much more to say about this issue. In terms of art, it's pretty much par for the aforementioned course. There are some really nice panel layouts to be seen, with a great juxtaposition between color (particularly multicolor in some areas) and gray scale throughout. In conclusion, if you've been digging the series so far, I think you'll like this one. If you haven't, I doubt it'll change your mind.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Doom Patrol (2016) #11

May 3, 2018

A part of me wonders if all of this was supposed to set up Milk Wars from the get-go or if it was something Way had to work in later. I wouldn't be surprised if it were the latter, because, frankly, it works better as a standalone conclusion.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Fu Jitsu #1

Sep 27, 2017

AfterShock has been getting my attention more and more recently, and books like Fu Jitsu are why. It's a fun and entertaining read that doesn't take itself too seriously while still providing a story with a bit of meat to dig into as the plot unfolds. Granted, this first issue is mostly setup, but if you're in the market for something different then this one's definitely worth checking out.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Generation Gone #1

Jul 19, 2017

In conclusion, I do want to reiterate and emphasize that there are some depictions of outright emotional abuse on display here. It's rough material, and it hits you right out of the starting gates. So, I'd recommend you only check this out for yourself if you're comfortable (at least, as comfortable as someone can be) with experiencing such content.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Generation Gone #2

Aug 25, 2017

After the last issue, I was intrigued with Generation Gone but not quite wholly sold on Ales Kot again. Now, I think I am. At least for now. I'm honestly not quite sure if I'll be back to review the next issue, or if I will go back to my original plan of just reading it casually. Regardless, if you're a fan of the superhero genre and writers trying to do their own thing with it, I'd definitely say Generation Gone is worth giving a shot.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Go Go Power Rangers #2

Aug 30, 2017

In a way, I kind of feel like the "worst" part of Go Go Power Rangers, at least relatively speaking, is the fact that they are ultimately supposed to be the Mighty Morphin Power Rangers, and I worry about the possible foregone conclusion(s) that imposes on the series. Will it have to fall in line with the original canon or the canon of BOOM!'s other Power Rangers series? Because, I personally think that would be a detriment, when this is a book that has excelled in doing its own thing with the concept and characters. Regardless, this has definitely hooked me for the time being. And, I honestly think it's worth checking out for yourself even if you're not much of Power Rangers fan. Hell, I might even go as far as saying it's especially worth checking out if you're not a fan, if only for the possibility that having no previous context would make it that much easier to appreciate the great stuff this series has to offer.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Go Go Power Rangers #3

Sep 21, 2017

If you haven't tried this book out yet, you should. It's as simple as that. You don't have to be a fan or have even heard of Power Rangers before. This is easily one of the most accessible books I've read all year, and it's quickly situated itself among those I look the most forward to reading each month.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
God Complex (2017) #1

Oct 13, 2017

The more I sit and think on God Complex, the more interested in the book I become. Like I said before, this first issue is good, but it's not great, and those can be the hardest to review and recommend (or not). Yet, there is a slow burn appeal to this one that I am starting to feel, but it will be the next issue or two that really make or break it. For now, if you're into cyberpunk or mythology, or even if the juxtaposition of the two just seems interesting, and you have the $4-ish to spare, I'd say at least give it a shot and see what you think.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
God Complex (2017) #2

Nov 22, 2017

God Complex is a good book. Nothing more, nothing less. But, I'd only really recommend it if cyberpunk is definitively your thing. I'm on the fence about reviewing the next issue, but I'll at least keep reading for now. And who knows, maybe subsequent issues will prove me wrong about Seneca as well as finally dig into the real meat and potatoes of the Rulers. Here's hoping.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Helena Crash #1

Mar 22, 2017

For me, Helena Crash ends up falling in the niche of entertaining, face-paced, and streamlined enough that I do want to read more, so I know I'll be coming back for at least one more issue. If you're looking for something to get a bit of a kick out of without having to think too hard, and/or if you get a least a little chuckle out of the idea of illegal coffee, I'd say this is probably worth taking a look.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Helena Crash #2

Apr 14, 2017

Helena Crash thankfully seems to be moving in the right direction. Definitely grab this if you dug the first issue. In fact, I'd say it's still worth checking out even if, like me, it didn't quite pull you in. I'm excited to see what they do with issue #3. But if I'm not hooked after that, I might not come back for #4.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Helena Crash #3

May 3, 2017

Y'know, it's funny. I always end up feeling like my reviews for Helena Crash are on the light and simple side. But then I remember, that's kind of what the book itself is. It's a fun, engaging little romp that doesn't make you think to hard but is also far from brainless. Helena Crash knows what it is, wants you to know what it is, and wants you to enjoy it for what it is. Personally, I do, and if you haven't already, I think it's worth checking out to see if you do too.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Helena Crash #4

Jun 14, 2017

Perhaps some will look at the very end of Helena Crash and say it's some kind of cop out, but I'm inclined to disagree. Without spoiling those final moments, I will say that it is still does fully result from Helena's actions. There just happened to be an added bonus she didn't consider at the time. And, I think there's some poetry in that. Before, Helena refused to take sides in order to maintain her comfort and get by, but by going against both Rojo and White Demon for the sake of saving Hemingway, she ended up on top. I have to say, that might be the perfect ending for Helena, and that's why I'm not sure I want a sequel. If you haven't checked out any of Helena Crash, I suggest you give it a shot. The trade paperback will be out in a few months, and at this point, reading all four issues back to back is probably the way to go.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Hungry Ghosts #1

Jan 4, 2018

Hungry Ghosts #1 is a flawed first issue. Does that kill the series? No. At least, not yet. And, perhaps Bourdain and Rose will find better footing with subsequent issues. As it stands, it's difficult to recommend Hungry Ghosts, but the premise is still ripe with potential, so I'll at least give it another issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Hungry Ghosts #2

Apr 4, 2018

Hungry Ghosts #2 fails to improve on the previous issue in any way. The framing narrative's aforementioned neglect makes it feel like Bourdain and Rose only included it because they thought they couldn't get away with a horror anthology without it.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Hungry Ghosts #4

May 9, 2018

In conclusion, Hungry Ghosts is ultimately little more than one big missed opportunity of a book. The idea of a horror anthology book about a group of people playing Hyakumonogatari Kaidankai is still great, but this is not the way to do it.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
InferNoct #1

Sep 6, 2017

From what I can tell, InferNoct is going for something of a Lovecraftian feel, but I can't really tell you how successful it is at that yet. Really, I can't tell you much of anything about this series yet. The first issue kept my attention, but it doesn't really give a clear idea of the plot or direction of the story. Nor does it tell us much about Sam other than one or two things that can be inferred from lines of narration and dialogue, as well as one specific visual element. My best guess for subsequent issues is that Sam is going to become the old man's protege in whatever it is he does that undoubtedly deals with some dark and supernatural force. But as I said, that's a guess. And for that reason, I don't think I really recommend or not recommend this book. However, if the title and/or cover peak your interest, you do some research and like the premise, or if it just sounds interesting from what I've said here, then maybe check it out. But, only if you really want to.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Justice League / Power Rangers #1

Jan 11, 2017

Justice League/Power Rangers is an all-around mediocre but inoffensive read. I don't think I ever cared enough about what was going on to get angry at it. The only people I'd recommend this too are the diehard Power Rangers fans. And even then, I'd suggest maybe waiting for the trade. Because, I don't think there's enough going on here to justify waiting a month to find out what happens next.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Justice League / Power Rangers #2

Feb 8, 2017

One last gripe. Zedd manages to get some "monsters" to "make grow", but they didn't even come up with more than one design. So, when he sends multiple of them out to attack, we just get the same generic octopus monster repeatedly. That is so boring and disappointing, especially considering that the various Power Rangers series have tended to provide numerous monsters with specific and unique designs. So yeah, you don't need to read this book. And if you want to anyway, seriously, just wait for the trade. It's clearly written for that, and, once again, there's just not enough here to bother waiting a month in-between installments.

View Issue       View Full Review
2.0
Justice League / Power Rangers #3

Mar 8, 2017

The single best thing about this issue is the idea Billy (the Blue Ranger) comes up with for how to get back to the Rangers' universe, and it's not because the idea makes any sense.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Justice League / Power Rangers #4

May 17, 2017

Having got past the Hadron Collider shit, this issue actually wasn't as bad as the last one. However, I still hesitate to call it anything more than mediocre. Equipping the Rangers with semi-iconic accoutrements of DC characters is an aggrandizing gimmick that really feels a bit insulting given how little they've collectively done thus far to earn it. Furthermore, it's absurd that no one in the Justice League would voice any concerns over Cyborg plugging directly into Braniac's machinery. It's fine if he does it because the situation requires him to, despite how dangerous it is. But when that danger isn't even acknowledged in the first place, my only reaction to that plan backfiring is "well, what did you think was going to happen?"

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Justice League of America (2017) #1

Feb 22, 2017

In conclusion, I have a question. What the hell, Steve Orlando? Was there some standing order at DC demanding that, because Bryan Hitch's Justice League and Justice League/Power Rangers both sucked, this had to suck too? Otherwise, this is a dropped ball if I've ever seen one. I don't even know who to recommend this too. It's not like it's sinfully bad, and I'm sure someone out there would get some sort of enjoyment out of it. I just don't know who.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Justice League of America (2017) #2

Mar 8, 2017

Thanks to some really specific plot convenience, Lord Havok gains control of an entire country, and any aggression toward The Extremists can now be considered an act of war. This is another potentially interesting direction for the story, but I'm honestly not convinced it'll pay off any better than the book's other squandered opportunities.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Justice League of America (2017) #3

Apr 3, 2017

If I didn't know any better, I'd say Steve Orlando literally doesn't understand Batman at all.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Justice League of America (2017) #4

Apr 12, 2017

And with that, the first storyline of Steve Orlando's Justice League of America comes to a close. Don't buy it. Not now, and not after the trade comes out. More so than the money, it's just not worth the money. The only reason I'm not scoring it lower is because the art is legitimately good, and it always has been. As for me, this might be where I call it quits with reviewing JLA. It's really been a journey, starting with so much hope then ending up here. Of course, it all depends on what happens next issue. If things manage to get even worse (or somehow get substantially better) you better believe I'll be back for more.

View Issue       View Full Review
2.0
Justice League of America (2017) #5

Apr 26, 2017

This is easily the weakest issue of JLA to date, and the more this series falls apart, the easier it ends up being to write extensively about it. It should go without saying that I still don't recommend this to anyone.

View Issue       View Full Review
2.0
Justice League of America (2017) #6

May 10, 2017

I've asked a lot of questions in this review, and just about all of those were rhetorical. The reality is that they're not just nitpicks or me not letting my suspension of disbelief kick in. It's stuff that kept popping in my head while I was reading, as well as follow up questions that cropped up when I stopped to think about those initial ones. They are things so glaring that the reading experience becomes completely unenjoyable.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Justice League of America (2017) #7

May 24, 2017

The execution remains as rife with flaws as ever, but at least Orlando displayed some ideas that could have worked this time around.

View Issue       View Full Review
2.0
Justice League of America (2017) #8

Jun 15, 2017

This issue feels like a whole new low in the perpetual suck that is this series. On top of characters being dumb, inconsistent, and poorly written, loads of development happening offpanel, a shitton of sloppy exposition telling us about said development, as well as an entirely artificial and manufactured conflict regarding the "hypocrisy" of Batman, Justice League of America #8 has the most convoluted train wreck of a story to date.

View Issue       View Full Review
2.0
Justice League of America (2017) #9

Jun 28, 2017

There's plenty more dumb shit throughout this one. Obvious Batman aggrandizing, suddenly introducing a new character who's apparently supposed to be the actual family member of Makson's that was behind all of the shady dealings (and is in a grand total of seven panels), Ryan Choi talking about how he believed Makson had adapted to human life and trusted him, even though there was literally no justification for either in such a small timespan. And then, there's the ending teaser which comes straight out of fucking nowhere, and I'm sure that's where it'll end up going too. But, who knows? Maybe what we'll get in two weeks is Ray's mom talking some sense into her dumbass son. We won't, but a man can dream.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Justice League of America (2017) #10

Jul 12, 2017

Steve Orlando is really trying to position his version of The Ray as a counterpoint to Batman. I get them metaphor of light versus dark, but so far, Ray has been little more than a rebel without a cause or even a reason to rebel in the first place. I mean, I don't find JLA's Batman to be particularly well written, but he tends to be reasonable at the very least. Honestly, it feels like a lot of these ideas would've worked better if Orlando had used them to make his own series with his own characters rather than try and shoehorn it all into the DCU where the characters has established traits that need to be reconciled with. Hell, maybe that is the context in which he first came up with some of it. Whatever the case, Justice League of America continues to be a train that just won't stop wrecking, and maybe I'll actually talk about The Kingbutcher a little bit next time. Although, I don't know; he kind of sucks.

View Issue       View Full Review
2.0
Justice League of America (2017) #11

Jul 26, 2017

I'm just going to say it; DC needs to cancel this fucking book. Or at the very least, give it to a different, actually competent writer. Because as it stands, Orlando is completely out of his depth. He doesn't know how to write a team book to save his life, and I'm convinced that the efforts of Tom King, Tim Seeley, and James Tynion IV were the only things that made the Batman crossover Night of the Monster Men any kind of enjoyable. Don't buy this issue of JLA, and don't buy future issues either. If you had any remaining hope for this series, just give it up. It's not going to get better.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Justice League of America (2017) #12

Aug 10, 2017

I'm not going to beat around the bush. I still don't recommend picking up this book. Yes, it's nice to finally have a focused issue without any terrible philosophical "debates" or half the shit happening offpanel. But at the end of the day, that's what JLA isn't doing. What it is doing is nothing that's really worth your time or money.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Justice League of America (2017) #13

Aug 30, 2017

This isn't the worst that Justice League of America has ever been, but it ain't all that good either. Ultimately, I feel like it'll only reach one of two potential eventualities. Either it'll finally find its footing after months and months of trial and error and finally start making strides in a positive direction, or it'll go the much more likely route of becoming little more than a homogenized entropic mess, making the exact same mistakes in the exact same way in every issue. And at that point, I'll just stop reviewing it.

View Issue       View Full Review
2.0
Justice League of America (2017) #14

Sep 13, 2017

It might not be as structurally messy as previous story arcs, but it's boring. The attempt is an epic adventure story, but the environments and characters are dull, and there's no heart to the story.

View Issue       View Full Review
2.0
Justice League of America (2017) #15

Sep 27, 2017

Are you kidding me with this one, DC? What an utterly worthless issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Justice League of America (2017) #16

Oct 11, 2017

In the end, Justice League of America #16 manages to be better than #15. Yet, that's not saying very much, and, as per usual, it's still not good. And, you know what? I'm getting tired of it. I've read and reviewed every issue of this book thus far, and Jesus Christ, can it please just get better? As much as I've voiced my problems with Steve Orlando as a writer, DC doesn't seem likely to replace him or cancel JLA anytime soon, so I might as well want him to start doing well instead of" whatever it is he's been doing. But until that happens (if it does), don't buy this.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Justice League of America (2017) #17

Oct 25, 2017

Even though Justice League of America #17 ended up being mostly okay, I still wouldn't really recommend it. It's not an especially great issue, and it does nothing to counteract the mediocrity of the rest of this arc and, really, the series as a whole. Plus, the teaser for the next one doesn't make it seem like it's going to be all that good either. Maybe it's the mention of the Might Beyond the Mirror and her involvement with it, or maybe it's that "showing the hypocrisy of Justice" isn't an interesting idea. I don't know, but I'm not looking forward to it.

View Issue       View Full Review
2.0
Justice League of America (2017) #18

Nov 8, 2017

Admittedly, the premise here isn't an inherently awful one, but it's one that requires some nuance and careful execution to work. And, therein lies the problem. Neither of those traits are among those that Orlando's run on JLA exhibits, let alone excels at. What's more, you can actually see the internal logic try to be established, start falling apart and eventually completely break down throughout the first few pages. So, by the time the "conflict" really starts, you're already ahead of it and bored waiting for the story to catch up.

View Issue       View Full Review
2.0
Justice League of America (2017) #19

Nov 22, 2017

It's ironic that a book as clumsy and heavy-handed as Justice League of America would title one of its story arcs "Precision Strike." What's more, I think Orlando himself might be realizing that and panicking.

View Issue       View Full Review
2.0
Justice League of America (2017) #20

Dec 13, 2017

Despite how awful this issue was, there were a couple decent, even good, moments. One of the civilians finally decides to stop being a stupid asshole, pulls out her taser, and shocks Prometheus with it to help Prometheus. It's a breath of fresh air, but at the same time, no one else rallies behind her or tries to act similarly. So, for all we know, she's the only person that didn't buy into Prometheus's blatantly garbage rhetoric. Then, when the last two pages cut to Vanity, we see Ray just having stopped a bank robbery, and he actually has some genuinely amusing banter with the criminals. It doesn't make Ray any less insufferable as a character, but, y'know, points for trying I guess. So yeah, after having a decent-ish annual, Justice League of America #20 proves that main book is not in the business of getting any better. It sucks. Don't buy it. Not that that's any kind of surprising.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Justice League of America (2017) #21

Jan 11, 2018

I do have to give Steve Orlando a little bit of credit though. As flawed as his execution is, the idea that a city "loses its light" when a hero leaves, thus leaving it more susceptible to an actual dark entity, makes Justice League of America #21 a particularly inspired issue. Perhaps the most inspired of any issue so far. Now, if Orlando can just focus on writing plots that aren't automatically solved by characters reacting solely with their Id, we might finally get a book worth reading fortnightly.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Justice League of America (2017) #22

Jan 11, 2018

For now, it's probably worth entertaining the possibility that this book is finally getting better.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Justice League of America (2017) #23

Feb 5, 2018

Despite this issue continuing the newfound okayness of Justice League of America, I'm still hesitant to recommend the book or change my overall outlook on it. And, there are reasons for that. For one, while it does take two to tango, it takes at least three to form a pattern. So, if Steve Orlando manages to keep it mostly together in the next issue, perhaps I'll concede those points. But, at the same time, this potential new era of Orlando's JLA is passable but not great.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Justice League of America (2017) #24

Feb 15, 2018

Edwards's art fluctuates back to characters' bigger expressions falling short at times. I can't quite put my finger on why, but the result is something of an Uncanny Valley effect, where the exaggeration of a given face far exceeds the amount of genuine emotion it conveys.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Justice League of America (2017) #25

Apr 4, 2018

Simply put, Justice League of America #25 is a boring issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Justice League of America (2017) #26

Apr 13, 2018

Justice League of America #26 ends with a scene between Ryan and Lobo before the latter finally takes off. And, that kind of makes sense. Their relationship may have only been minimally developed throughout this series, but at least there was a little bit of development. So, contextually, it does ultimately work to have them together for Lobo's departure (even though he's inevitably going to return to help fight the last big bad). The last page also teases the next and final arc, where the villain Chronos goes after Ray Palmer. Wow, sure glad this book is going out with a story focusing on a supporting character rather than the eponymous team or any of its actual members. Except, I'm actually not.

View Issue       View Full Review
2.0
Justice League of America (2017) #27

Apr 13, 2018

The only remotely positive thing I have to say about Justice League of America #27 is that Ray continues his streak of finally not sucking by lamenting how easily Prometheus tricked him. But, that's not fixing any problems. It's just acknowledging they existed after the fact. Additionally, I was ready to question why Palmer didn't immediately spread the word about Chronos, but, in theory, Chronos could've appeared to the JLA only a mere instant after he disappeared from the fight with Palmer. That could be giving this book and Orlando too much credit, but there's plenty else to be legitimately mad about for the time being. Also, I'm going to go ahead and predict that, in the end, someone other than the God of Superheroes (possibly Ryan) will turn out to be the one that actually makes the imprint. Because Steve Orlando thinks he's clever. And, he's not.

View Issue       View Full Review
2.0
Justice League of America (2017) #28

Apr 25, 2018

There's only one issue left of Steve Orlando's Justice League of America and thank merciful God. Frankly, it's astonishing this book made it this far. Between all of the preachy superficial morals, half-baked story arcs, underdeveloped characters, misrepresented characters, illogic, mean-spiritedness, condescension, and blatant lack of genre-savviness, this has been an utterly miserable and mediocre trod. I'm not especially looking forward to Justice League: No Justice, and it's a damn shame that Priest's Justice League run is also ending to facilitate it. But, there's no way that Snyder, Tynion, and Williamson can do any worse with that series then Orlando's done with this one.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Justice League of America (2017) #29

Apr 27, 2018

And, with that, Justice League of America #29 and the series comes to a close. Will there be a follow-up? Maybe. Steve Orlando certainly seems to want one enough to set it up here, but who knows if DC will actually see it through. In conclusion, as much as I wish I could say it was a pleasure reviewing all five prequel one-shots, twenty-nine issues, and the one annual of Justice League of America, it really wasn't. But, it is something I felt uniquely obligated to commit to. As such, I don't think my work will be completely done until I tackle a certain five-issue crossover event when its trade is released in June. Spoiler: it's Milk Wars.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Justice League of America (2017) Annual #1

Nov 29, 2017

There you have it. It took an annual for Justice League of America to get another decent issue. Is it good enough to recommend? No, not really. In the context of JLA, it's an accomplishment. But when compared to the broader spectrum of quality, it's still not very high. If you're going to pick up anything DC this week, there's nothing, and I mean nothing, better coming out than Batman: Creature of the Night #1. It is absolutely exceptional and more than worth your time and money. In conclusion, does this mean I'm going to stop reviewing the main JLA book? Nope. It's still in the middle of a particularly awful arc, and for all we know, this annual is an isolated incident. No, I don't think I'll be done with this book until we get a full arc that's acceptable or it gets canceled. And, I still think the latter is the far more likely option.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Justice League of America: Killer Frost Rebirth #1

Jan 25, 2017

And with that, all that's left is to wait for the main attraction, Justice League of America: Rebirth #1, to be released in a couple of weeks. Really, this has been a whole month of setup, and I'm looking forward to see where all of that will lead. Despite its difference from them, I still think you should check this out if you've been enjoying the other JSA one-shots. Additionally, if you've been following Justice League Vs. Suicide Squad, I'd recommend grabbing this as well. Because, it's really does feel like an epilogue of sorts to the whole event.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Justice League of America: Rebirth #1

Feb 8, 2017

This book is really the fifth and final JLA prologue one-shot, and with the team having been successfully formed by the end of this issue, I'm hoping Orlando will start delving into some more substantial storytelling with the new Justice League of America ongoing series coming out at the end of the month. I'm definitely going to be checking that one out, even if I don't end up reviewing it. But frankly, I don't think this book will convince anyone to pick up that one. It's pretty much the same deal as all of the JLA one-shots have been (save for maybe Killer Frost). Pick it up if you're already interested and want some supplementary material.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Justice League of America: The Atom Rebirth #1

Jan 4, 2017

To be frank, I don't know if Orlando's Justice League of America will be any good. However, I liked this book, and I fully intend to check out Justice League of America: Vixen Rebirth #1 next week, and probably at least The Ray after that. If you're into DC and/or what they're doing with Rebirth, I think this'll be up you're alley. If not, I still think it's worth picking up. And if you dig it, there's more to look forward to.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Justice League of America: The Ray Rebirth #1

Jan 18, 2017

I'll be honest, I'm sold on Orlando's JLA one-shots. Are they the type of comic that'll change your life? No, I don't think so. However, the way in which they've been rooted so firmly in their title characters is something I respect. It'll be interesting to see if Orlando applies that same idea to the main book. And if he does, how will he adapt it to fit a team of seven? At this point, I really do see these less as one-shots and more as a series, so I think my previous recommendations stand for all of them now. Should you pick it up? If you're a fan of DC or the characters, go for it, especially if you intended to read Justice League of America.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Justice League of America: Vixen Rebirth #1

Jan 11, 2017

Score 4/5Writers: Jody Houser, Steve OrlandoArtist: Jamal CampbellPublisher: DC Comics

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Justice League: No Justice #1

May 15, 2018

Even though I was dubious at first, I'm going to straight-up recommend Justice League No Justice. The whole miniseries. It's easy to tell from this first issue how much it's just a damn entertaining event comic that takes the time to provide both blockbuster spectacle and smaller, more personal character moments.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Klaus: The Witch Of Winter #1

Dec 21, 2016

If you were a fan of Klaus, then I think this is worth picking up. It still earnestly believes in the goodness of Santa and Klaus himself for doing everything he does simply to help people. If you didn't read the original but are interested, you might test the waters with this one. And if you dig it, Boom! Studios released a hardcover collection of the full limited series last month.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Klaus: The Crisis in Xmasville #1

Dec 13, 2017

As someone who's been reading since the first issue of the original series, I enjoyed Klaus and the Crisis in Xmasville. And really, other people like that are the ones I'd mainly recommend this to. If you haven't read either of the other Klaus books, I don't think this is the best jumping on point. In addition to the prohibitive price, it frankly feels far more geared toward returning readers than new ones. But hey, if you really want to check this one out, and I'm the only dissent on the matter, then screw what I say.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Mighty Man (One Shot) #1

Apr 5, 2017

This was by no means nothing special. But, I did very much enjoy reading it. I don't know if someone actively following Larsen's books would. Then again, if this matches what he usually does with his work, they'd probably love it. If you've never read any of Larsen's work, maybe check this out. Even if it's not spectacular or life changing, something still might click. I for one know I'm more open to checking out more of his work in the future.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Mighty Morphin' Power Rangers Annual #2017

May 31, 2017

I'm glad I decided to check this annual out. Like I said, I don't think I'll be picking up the main book, but that was never my reason for reading this one. I wanted to see what BOOM! had to offer in terms of good Power Rangers books, and boy do they have their fair share of quality offerings. If you have any interest at all in the Power Rangers, or just kind of superhero stuff in general, I'd recommend checking this one out. Those who haven't been reading prior might not dig the first story as much. But then again, it could very well make someone want to go back and pick up Mighty Morphin Power Rangers from issue #1 (or I think maybe there was a zero issue before that?). Either way, the remaining stories stand well enough on their own to make it an overall worthwhile read.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Mighty Mouse #1

Jun 7, 2017

For a book with an Alex Ross cover, Mighty Mouse #1 is surprisingly average. It's execution is overtly straightforward, and it does little to actually get you invested in the story or characters. But, what's really discouraging is that there doesn't appear to be much of an attempt to use or reinvent the character in any meaningful way. You could swap in any cartoon hero, and it wouldn't change a thing. It's fully possible the plot will pick up in the next one, and as it stands, it's not really bad. But for now, I'm finding it hard to recommend to anyone except, I guess, any of the Mighty Mouse super fans (like Joey) that probably do exist.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Mighty Mouse #2

Jul 12, 2017

At the end of the day, this book still isn't really bad, but I still can't recommend it either. The interesting moments are too few and far between, and honestly, there are so many books out there that are just better than this in every way. With that in mind, I doubt I'll be coming back for issue #3. But hey, if you read and really liked issue #1, then go ahead and check this one out. Maybe you'll find something else in it that I didn't.

View Issue       View Full Review
2.0
Mighty Mouse #3

Aug 9, 2017

Before, I wasn't impressed with this book. Now, I hate it. The only slightly interesting thing that happens is the reveal that Mighty Mouse transfers his cartoon physics (or something) to whatever he interacts with. However at this point, I find it hard to really care.

View Issue       View Full Review
2.0
Mighty Mouse #4

Sep 20, 2017

I have two parting questions for Mighty Mouse #4. First, why does Mighty Mouse need help fighting the alien cats? Think about it, Mighty Mouse stopped them in the original cartoon they came out of, so why is he now incapable of doing so by himself? Second, why the hell has nobody heard of Mighty Mouse except Joey? I'm a goddamn millennial, and I know who he is. Someone, anyone, give me a single good answer to either of these questions. In the meantime, fuck this issue, and fuck this book. I honestly can't tell if I'm completely done with it now or if I've been reinvigorated to come back for at least one more review. Regardless, what you should is simple: don't buy this book. Period.

View Issue       View Full Review
2.0
Mighty Mouse #5

Oct 18, 2017

It's rushed, superficial, and hardly has anything to do with what we've seen from the lion's share of this series. So, there you have it, a pointless end to a worthless story. Don't buy it. Don't read it. Don't bother with it at all.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Monstro Mechanica #1

Nov 10, 2017

Look, like I said before: the premise alone should tell you whether you'll like this or not. And if you don't think you will, I'm sorry. Because, Monstro Mechanica #1 is perhaps the best first issue I've personally read from AfterShock (granted, there are a couple bigger names I haven't checked out yet). I definitely recommend picking this one up for yourself once it releases in December.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Motor Crush #6

Sep 6, 2017

As a series, Motor Crush is still enjoyable, and issue #6 is entertaining read that gives a little bit better context to the world. Plus, I'd say this is likely a better jumping on point. New readers can ease in a bit instead of immediately dropping them in with Domino dealing with the whole timeskip situation.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Mr Higgins Comes Home #1

Oct 25, 2017

I thoroughly enjoyed my readthrough of Mr. Higgins Comes Home. If it seems like I gave away a lot in this review, I promise I only really touched on setup that happens in maybe the first third of the book. And with Halloween just around the corner, there's no better time to check out its craziness for yourself. I will admit, $15 is a bit steep for the amount of content, and some distributors (Like Amazon and Barnes & Noble) list October 31st as their release date for it. But, if you can spare the cash, you should be able to find it as your LCS (I saw it at mine), and I highly doubt you'll be disappointed.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Mystik U #1

Nov 29, 2017

Throughout this review, I've been fairly critical of this first issue. Yet, none of the issues I've mentioned kill the story. And despite being acutely aware of them while reading, I still had an enjoyable enough experience. What's more, I'm sure there are those that'll really love this one, and there's nothing wrong with that. At the very least, it's well-intentioned, and there's not a moment of mean-spiritedness. So, do I recommend it? No, not particularly. But, if you're fine with the retcon and interested in what the DC equivalent of Hogwarts is like, there's no harm in giving Mystik U a look.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Odyssey of the Amazons #2

Feb 15, 2017

At the end of the day, this book leaves me with more questions than answers. Why can the Amazons and Vikings immediately communicate with one another when they should be speaking totally different languages? Why do these Amazons get to return to Themyscira when, as I understood it, those who left were not supposed to be able to find their way back? At what point in history is this story m0eant to take place (because, I can't shake the feeling that there's some anachronism going on)? I don't really care about any of the characters or what's going on, so there's not much of a reason for me to keep reading. Maybe check this out if you're super into anything fantasy. For everyone else, you can probably pass, and Wonder Woman fans ought to look elsewhere for more interesting and in depth looks into her mythos.

View Issue       View Full Review
2.0
Planet of the Apes / Green Lantern #1

Feb 1, 2017

Do not pick up this book. Don't even wait for the trade. It's a soulless cash-in, and I'm not sure if I'm more upset at BOOM!, DC, or both of them for it. The whole thing amounts to little more than the half-baked result of smashing together surface elements from two preexisting stories and forgetting to add any kind of substance. Y'know, I can tend to give books I didn't quite care for a second, even third, issue to redeem themselves. Not this time. I don't care.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Plastic #1

Apr 19, 2017

Plastic #1 is a strong and intriguing start, providing nuance to what could easily be pure exploitation. It feels like some punches are being pulled for the sake of easing us in, but it also serves to titillate with the question of just how hard they're going to nail us later. This book is, of course, not for everyone. But, if you can stomach the likes of Nailbiter and the similarly dark and gruesome, I highly recommend picking this one up.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Plastic #2

May 24, 2017

I'll be honest. Though I did really like the first issue, I was slightly anxious of Plastic potentially taking a sudden turn into inferior territory with this one. But, it absolutely didn't. I am so fucking sold on this series, and I will read all five God damn issues. It's still very true that this book isn't for everyone given the gore, dark tone, and subject matter. However, I do recommend this. If you haven't read the first issue, I'd urge you to find it and pick it up first, or, if necessary, wait for the trade. Because, you either want to miss all of this one or absolutely none of it.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Plastic #3

Jun 21, 2017

I know I've said it before, but I personally feel that the aforementioned depiction of sexual assault calls for one more reiteration. As much as I love this book for the unique worldview it presents, I recognize that it's really not for everyone. And, to anyone trepidatious to read due to the graphic content, honestly, you probably shouldn't. Look out for yourself first. But for everyone else, read this fucking book. I don't care if you wait for the trade in a few months, just give it a shot. Because, you're going to be hard-pressed to find another book that does the stuff Plastic does in the way that it does it.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Plastic #4

Jul 26, 2017

With one issue left to go, it is a bit saddening to know that a series as good as Plastic will be over by this time next month. Although, not a fiber of my being expects anything less than a wholly satisfying ending. Because as it stands, Plastic has remained one of the best series I've read all year.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Plastic #5

Aug 23, 2017

Plastic has been a trip. One I thoroughly enjoyed. With a unique and nuanced take on morality, love, and the lenses we see other people through, it's hard to describe it as anything other than one of the most interesting books I've read all year. The trade comes out in October, so if you haven't given it a shot yet, are interesting, and comfortable with more than a few gory details, I'd definitely recommend picking that up.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Red Sonja/Tarzan #1

May 2, 2018

The rest of the issue is more or less dedicated to elaborating on how Duul is a force of antagonism for both Sonja and Tarzan, who do end up meeting in the last couple pages. Sonja confirms that Duul can travel through time by means that'll assuredly by explained further in the future, then Red Sonja/Tarzan #1 ends on a pretty solid cliffhanger. And, I have to say, I think I'm going to come back for the second issue. Now, does that mean I'll review it next time as well? To be honest, I'm not sure. When the time comes, I might only want to read it for my own enjoyment. But, either way, I do legitimately want to know what happens next, and that's not something I expected when I first signed up for this book.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Retcon #1

Sep 13, 2017

Based on this first issue, I don't think I can recommend Retcon. I might come back for issue #2 just to see if it does start to shake things up in a meaningful, hopefully reality-bending, way. But for now, I'd say skip it. And if you're still intrigued by the premise of a military unit for the paranormal, seriously, just go read Cry Havoc instead. It's eerily similar in that regard yet also far more fulfilling a read.

View Issue       View Full Review
2.0
Retcon #2

Oct 11, 2017

Don't buy this, and don't hold your breath for it to get any better. The great premise of Retcon has been all but completely squandered, and there's no indication it'll be pulled out of its death spiral anytime soon.

View Issue       View Full Review
2.0
Retcon #3

Nov 15, 2017

Bigfoot shows up near the end of the issue in a sort of Swamp Thing-esque capacity. And to be honest, that's a pretty cool idea. Does it make any sense in this book? Hell no. It's just like having Aleister Crowley suddenly show up and having Alexandra turn out to be, well, Alexandra David-Nel. They're things that happen just so they can say they did. It's not smart or interesting or engaging. It's a bad comic desperately trying anything to get you to read it.

View Issue       View Full Review
2.0
Retcon #4

Dec 20, 2017

This is hands down the worst thing I've read from Image this year. Do yourself a favor, and don't your money or, more importantly, your time on it.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Royal City #1

Mar 1, 2017

If it isn't already obvious, let me be frank. I'm on board with this series, and it would take some substantial missteps to change my mind. As far as recommendations go, I'd say this is just worth checking out. I'm sure there'll be people who don't dig it, but this is shaping up to be a substantial story that I think you'd be remiss to not at least give a shot.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Royal City #2

Apr 19, 2017

I was already on board with this series from the get go, but this issue reconvinced me to be on board. If you're reading this book, my recommendation is too keep reading, and if you're not, start. At least give it an issue and your honest effort. Hell, you could probably get away with starting here if you don't want to hunt down the first one. I was originally inclined to take my own bias toward Royal City with a grain a salt when scoring this issue, but the Patrick and Greta stuff is what really pushes it past the threshold.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Royal City #3

May 17, 2017

I really don't have much else to say. This book is really good, and I'd thoroughly encourage anyone who hasn't checked it out to promptly do so. At this point, you might need to pick up some back issues to get the full experience or wait a few additional months and pick up the trade. Well, that or you could do what I'm going to probably end up doing and just buy all of it.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Royal City #4

Jun 21, 2017

If you're not reading Royal City but want to, I'm going to suggest you wait for either the first trade paperback or the first issue of the second arc (which will be issue #6) to jump on. For now, there's only one left to go, and from Image's description that "the secrets of the Pike family are finally exposed," I have a feeling that this issue might've just been the calm before the storm. And, that storm is going to be a strange and surreal one.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Royal City #5

Jul 19, 2017

Royal City is great. I love reading it, and for that reason, I think this might be my last review for it. From here on out, I kind of just want to experience Lemire's story, art, and all that comes with it for myself. If it wasn't obvious, this is a book I recommend. At this point, I'd say go for the trade when it releases in September. And if you dig it, you only have a month to wait before issue #6. I'm not even going to bother to say you should read this if you've been keeping up with the series. Because by now, I'm sure you don't need me telling you that it's still very much worth reading.

View Issue       View Full Review
2.0
Rugrats #1

Oct 18, 2017

If I haven't made myself abundantly clear by now, no, don't buy or read this. In addition to all of the betrayal and bastardization going on, the story isn't all that interesting either. So far it's nothing more than a one-note and ham-fisted riff on a single, debatably negative, aspect of contemporary life that has to degrade its adult characters to caricatures in order to try and make a point.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
She Wolf #5

Jan 25, 2017

Honestly, I'll probably still at least check out the next issue, if not review it. I'm somewhat curious to see where Tommaso takes the different direction and themes of Lizzie's story. That being said, it's hard for me to really recommend She Wolf #5. If you're someone who's been reading and enjoying it despite the generally lukewarm critical reception, or maybe if the art really grabs you, I guess pick it up. But if neither of those are the case, there's probably nothing here for you.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
She Wolf #6

Feb 22, 2017

While I did like this issue better than the last, I can't imagine how lost someone who hadn't been reading since the beginning would be if they picked this up. I don't even think I can really recommend this on the merit of the art alone. So, if you've been reading, this is probably one of the better issues and worth grabbing yourself. I think this is going to be my last review for this series. I'll probably keep reading, but unless something super crazy happens that recontextualizes everything, I really don't know what else I can say about this book that I haven't already.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Spy Seal #1

Aug 2, 2017

This issue also features a back-up story by one Joey Weiser. I don't have much to say about it other than that it's pretty short but still rather cute. All in all, Spy Seal #1 is a decent start and pleasant enough read. It certainly feels more grounded than She Wolf did, and it looks to be moving in a more stable direction too. I wouldn't call it a must read, but if the high concept charm is enough to catch your eye, then I'd say it's at least worth taking a look. Plus, it did leave me curious enough to want to come back for the next one.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Supergirl: Being Super #1

Jan 4, 2017

I could see how the end of the issue might hook someone, but for me it honestly fell a bit flat. I couldn't help but feel like not quite as much happened as I would've like, and I don't think I liked the characters quite as much as I'm sure they would've liked. I get why Kara is characterized the way she is, but I can't say it makes her all that interesting to follow. Despite that, will I read the second issue? Sure. It's a slow start, but it feels like it can go somewhere interesting. Would I recommend picking it up? Only if the premise sounds particularly interesting. Otherwise, maybe hold off on this one.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Supergirl: Being Super #2

Feb 22, 2017

Unless you're particularly opposed to Supergirl or DC, I think this issue is worth checking out, even if you didn't read the first one. Obviously, you'd have to infer some context, but I can't think of anything really integral that'd be missed by jumping on here. And if you read and liked issue #1, you definitely need to pick this one up. As for me, I'm invested. So barring any huge missteps in issue #3, I want to see how this series pans out.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Supergirl: Being Super #3

May 4, 2017

There's one issue left, and I cannot wait to read it. Every issue has gotten substantially better than the last, and I have a feeling there's going to be at least one big fight before this book calls it quits. If you haven't been keeping up with Supergirl: Being Super I'd definitely recommend giving it a shot, whether that means picking up back issues or grabbing the trade when it comes out. I'll probably be doing that myself, as I, stupidly, decided against buying actual physical copies for myself.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Supergirl: Being Super #4

Jun 28, 2017

At the end of the day, Supergirl: Being Super has enough slice of life charm, as well as thoughtful maturity in its handling of more serious subject matters, to be a pretty good read. Does it do as much for Supergirl as something like Superman: Birthright did for Superman? Not quite. But to be fair, that latter series was three times longer than this one. If you've been reading along, I hope you enjoy this ending at least as much as I did. And if you haven't gotten the chance to check this book out yet, I'd recommend giving the whole thing a shot when it comes to trade.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
The Beef #1

Feb 28, 2018

Like the processed food it attempts to satire, The Beef #1 doesn't have much substance to offer. Chuck is a bland, charmless character. Gaelan and Khristos spew so much hate and throw around so many slurs that the book is effectively promoting prejudice rather than denouncing them for it. And, the uninspired story has been done before and better. But, at the same time, it could definitely be worse. Who knows, maybe things will immediately pick up in the second issue. Or, maybe they won't. Either way, I don't think I'll be coming back to find out.

View Issue       View Full Review
2.0
The Cabinet of Doctor Caligari #1

Feb 15, 2017

No, you don't need to buy this. I recommend this to no one. Not because it's bad per se. It's just goddamn pointless. At first I thought I might recommend it to anyone who super loved the film or any horror enthusiasts who were particularly interested in the early twentieth century. But then, I realized they would probably just be insulted by it. If you'd never heard of Caligari and the story itself interests you, just go watch the film. It's in the public domain, so the whole thing, color tinting fully restored, is available to watch for free on YouTube.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
The Few #1

Jan 18, 2017

Overall, The Few #1 was good, but it wasn't really hooking me. That is, until I got to the last page. I'd still hesitate to use the word "hook", but when I read that, it changed my entire expectation for the direction of the story. I don't want to overhype it, but I'm definitely going to check out issue two because of it. If you're into post-apocalyptic stuff, you'll probably get a solid kick out of this. If, like me, you're not really, I'd say you could check it out if you want, but you really don't have to.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
The Few #2

Feb 22, 2017

If you liked what all Lewis started in the first issue, I'm sure you'll like where he take it with this one. If you haven't been reading but are into the post-apocalyptic scene, this is probably worth taking a look. Really, I think this is one of those issues that serve as a nice barometer for the book as a whole. If you're not really digging the series by the end, it's probably safe to say you don't need to keep reading.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
The Once And Future Queen #1

Mar 1, 2017

There's also a, perhaps unintentionally, Shrek reference, and that was weird. There're other little things I could harp on throughout, but at the end of the day, my impression of this book is more indifference than irritation. At the very least, it seems like everything, even the stuff I don't think quite works, is coming from the right place. Plus, I feel like there are definitely people who would pick this up and really dig it. If you're someone who's really into Arthurian Legend, I doubt this will really challenge you. But, if you're grandly unfamiliar and interested in seeing more equal representation in comics, this might be worth taking a look.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
The Once And Future Queen #2

Apr 12, 2017

I presume we're going to be seeing the Lady of the Lake at some point soon. Really, if she doesn't appear than something is wrong. I'm also not too keen on the apparent downgrade of Morgan le Fay to a more subordinate role. It also rings odd to me that, if Morgan Pari is meant to be connected to the Fae (spoiler: she is, but that should be more than obvious), that she would write books where she portrays the Fae as "Dark Faeries." Rani makes the comparison in the first narration box of the issue, specifically using the term "extra-nasty." And, that would imply that the Dark Faeries are already nasty in the context of Pari's book. But, why would she demonize her own people? Is that meant to be foreshadowing for her being some sort of double agent? If it is, I'm going to be mad.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Trinity (2016) Annual #1

May 31, 2017

At the end of the day, this book is going to do little more than reinforce how you feel about the series. If you've been into it so far, you'll probably dig this one. If you dropped it, I don't think this is going to make you pick it back up. And if you never started but are interested, maybe skip this one. Either grab the first trade, find a copy of Trinity #9 from a couple weeks ago, or wait until the start of the next story arc instead.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Underwinter #1

Mar 22, 2017

Yes, unless you are specifically opposed to moody sensuality in your horror (or musicians), I'd say this one is worth picking up for yourself. There's the earlier presumed "demon shenanigans" to uncover in their full extant and character who feel like they've got a little more going on with them than it might appear. And once again, even if you don't end up digging Ray Fawkes for his writing, you'll still be getting the visual spectacle that is his art.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Underwinter #2

May 1, 2017

I'll be honest, this issue did have me rethink the book a bit. If you read the last one and didn't quite care for it, you probably don't need to keep reading. If you did like it, you can probably go ahead and pick this one up. Although, I would keep in mind that Fawkes's writing is perhaps preferencing the trade over monthly reading, but issue #3 could prove me wrong. But for what's it's worth, Underwinter #2 didn't kill for me, and I will be back for the next one.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Winnebago Graveyard #1

May 22, 2017

In the end, it's hard for me to call this book bad. I don't know if I'll come back for the next one, but I could easily someone enjoying it. As for recommending it, if you're a really big Steve Niles fan and/or the premise sounds particularly intriguing to you, I'd say maybe pick it up. Otherwise, I'd maybe look elsewhere to satisfy your horror fix.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

April

March

More