Mexi Gremillion's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Comicosity Reviews: 107
9.4Avg. Review Rating

9.0
Adventure Time/Regular Show #1

Aug 2, 2017

Adventure Time/Regular Show is a fun crossover event that brings two insane worlds colliding into one another. If youre a fan of Adventure Time or Regular Show, youll definitely like this comic.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Adventure Time: Islands #1

Dec 1, 2016

Adventure Time: Islands is a great read, especially if you are a fan of the TV series or any of the other Adventure Time comics. It seems to tie into the lore as well as provides a great life lesson to any kids reading it. Id highly recommend it, whether for yourself, for that niece of yours who dressed up as Fiona for Halloween, or just for any fan of Adventure Time.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Afar (OGN) #1

Mar 29, 2017

Traverse the worlds of Afar. Read as you sink into a desolate desert land. Gaze as you pass the world of yesteryear, the looming ruins and technology of the past that are scattered across the unforgiving lands Beotema and her brother Inotu trek. Travel through space and time with Boetema as she displaces herself, possessing the bodies of people from distant lands light years away. Read Afar.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
America #2

Apr 5, 2017

America is one of my favorite comics at the moment. America is likeable and strong, yet has depths and flaws. The characters that the creative team has chosen to surround America with are fun and awesome people. I didnt expect the story to become one of finding peace and understanding ones ancestry, so thats an exciting turn of events and Im looking forward to seeing how America reacts to where she comes from and how she grows through understanding her familys past. This is definitely going to be an awesome arc. Now, get off your butt and read it!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Animosity #2

Sep 14, 2016

Like I said before, what are you doing with your life if youre not reading Animosity? It is a fantastically written and drawn what if scenario that has the realism of Walking Dead but with talking animals. Read it.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Backstagers #8

Mar 30, 2017

While this is the conclusion, I hope theres more in store some day, but as is, its a well-written piece with a satisfying conclusion. Read Backstagers.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Batgirl (2016) #2

Aug 24, 2016

The combined efforts of these four allow an intricate web to be woven as the mystery of this arc continues. There is some room for improvement when it comes to the relationship within the comic as well as the mystery itself, but it is the second issue of the run and Im sure all of that will be better as the series progresses. Beyond Burnside Part 2 is a good read and you should check it out.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Batman Beyond: Rebirth #1

Sep 28, 2016

Batman Beyond Rebirth #1 is a good read. I had never actually read any Batman Beyond before this, Id only watched the show as a child, but this makes me want to go back to the earlier comics and read more while waiting for the next issue. Its as cool as the television show is, and if you are a fan of the old Batman Beyond show, youll definitely love this. I highly recommend it.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman/The Shadow #1

Apr 26, 2017

I cant say how much I recommend reading this. Buy it. Buy it, buy it, buy it, steal it from your friend or borrow it from your older sibling, because this is a fantastic comic and everyone should be reading it.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman/The Shadow #2

May 24, 2017

I especially love the bizarre doll-like features of the Stag. Hes inhuman with these dead white eyes, this strange animal skin attire, and this series of clumsy stitches sewing up his yellow shirt as if it were keeping the Stag in one piece, as if clumps of sand or bushels of hay would fall out if they were displaced. Its unnerving and spectacular.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman/The Shadow #3

Jun 28, 2017

Batman/The Shadow is a spiraling waltz downwards into the darkness inside the heart of men and the insanity that drives one towards it. It is a great exploration of who should be deemed evil and what happens when two forces of nature shake the already unstable fabric of a city hanging by a thread. You should read this comic.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman/The Shadow #4

Jul 26, 2017

Read this. Read Batman/The Shadow right now. It is a fantastic crossover event and I wish the crossover would last longer than just the six intended issues.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman/The Shadow #5

Aug 23, 2017

What have you been doing with your life if you havent been reading Batman/The Shadow? Seriously, this series is so good! Its well written, its well drawn, and the conclusion will be out next month so be sure to read all five issues that are out if you havent already!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman/The Shadow #6

Sep 27, 2017

Please. Please read this. Its so good. I love the sort of square of foils the writers create with Batman, the Shadow, the Joker, and the Stag, showing that good and evil are multifaceted and that people may be similar from a shallow perception, but digging deeper into their character can reveal splits, branching both heroes and villains to differing opinions on law and order. Its an intriguing glance into what could have been and I only wish it were longer. I highly recommend this entire crossover.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Batman: The Red Death #1

Sep 20, 2017

If youve been reading the Metal event so far, Id definitely check out this tie-in. It probably wouldnt make much sense if you havent read whats been going on in the main story line as of Metal #1 or #2, but Id say that if youve been liking the event, youd like this brief backstory into one of the many batmen in Metal.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Batwoman: Rebirth #1

Feb 15, 2017

While not much exactly happens in this first issue, I do feel like its a worthwhile read, whether it be a refresher of what has already happened in Batwoman or if you havent actually come around to read Batwoman yet and need to know all the important points in her past so that everything makes sense for the next issue. Overall, it was a good read, though, Id say the next issue will probably be even better.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Bill & Ted Save the Universe #1

Jun 21, 2017

Oh my gosh, I dont even know why youre reading my review, just go ahead and read this comic now. If you love the films, youll definitely love this, and if you thought the films were too goofy, you may be pleasantly surprised with what this team does with the series. Seriously, this issue is most excellent.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Bill & Ted Save the Universe #3

Aug 16, 2017

Read Bill and Ted Save the Universe. Oh my gosh, please read it. Its SO GOOD! Its everything the movies are and more and if you like a couple of decently intelligent, surfer-talking band dudes traversing the stars while grappling with being good sons, fathers, and husbands, then this is definitely for you.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Black Cloud #2

May 10, 2017

I recommend this comic. Black Clouds keeps the reader on its toes, only feeding spoonfuls of information about the other world and the magic that encompasses a certain few people from that world. Zelda, while not exactly the most sympathetic character, does feel well rounded and is an individual who draws you in and makes you want to know more about her. Its a great comic and I cant wait to read the next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Black Panther: World of Wakanda #3

Jan 19, 2017

I recommend checking Black Panther: World of Wakanda out. Its a great series so far and its only getting better.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Brave Chef Brianna #1

Mar 1, 2017

That was when I knew this was going to be a special comic. I highly recommend checking Brave Chef Brianna out.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Brave Chef Brianna #4

Jun 8, 2017

This is still a comic you should be reading. Was this the ending I necessarily wanted for Brave Chef Brianna? No, but its still an awesome ending and a series I wished went on longer than just four issues. Go check it out!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Bug: The Adventures of Forager #3

Jul 12, 2017

Oh my gosh, read this. Read it like now. Its a really well-written comic and the style stands out amongst those out at the moment. Its an awesome series that more people should be reading.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Catwoman: Election Night #1

Nov 2, 2016

Overall, this comic is great. I should have come into this knowing thered be a lot of parallels and political satire, but even without the mental prep, it is an interesting first issue that makes me wonder what exactly is going to happen next issue. If you want to avoid politics, dont get this, but if youre interested in looking at our own world through the lens of DC comics, I highly recommend Catwoman Election Night.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Cave Carson Has A Cybernetic Eye #2

Nov 16, 2016

Im a fan of the Young Animal Imprint, so it probably doesnt come as a surprise when I say I recommend this comic. Though the story hasnt exactly caught up with the characters, I think the writers have time to make something fantastic since its only the second issue. Cave Carson has a Cybernetic Eye is a fascinating series and is worth your time.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Civil War II: The Accused #1

Aug 10, 2016

The Accused #1 may feel a bit rushed, but it is one that will make you think and one that will captivate you with its visuals.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Cloudia & Rex #1

Jul 5, 2017

Oh, definitely read this comic. Cloudia & Rex starts out fantastically and its the kind of series that people should be reading.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Coady & The Creepies #2

Apr 19, 2017

Check out Coady and the Creepies if you have the time. It gets better every issue and its premise is intriguing, to say the least. Its definitely a comic to look out for.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Crosswind #1

May 11, 2017

I would definitely recommend giving Crosswind a read. While most of the first issue is set up for the overarching plot that will occur, there are interesting scenes that entice the reader into reading more and I would say the twist in the end would make anyone wonder how everything will turn out for both of the main characters, since they are both placed in high stakes situations with very little information as to what situations theyre in and what they can do to remedy them. Its a comic that makes you want to read the second issue and a comic worth reading.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Cyborg (2016) #1

Sep 21, 2016

Overall, Imitation of Life Part One: Awakening! is a good read. Some things are a bit on the nose at times, but the writing is well done. There are a lot of questions that come with Victors existence and its interesting to see Cyborg spiral into an existential crisis. Id say the lettering is honestly worth it, since its the most imagination Ive seen in lettering in a while. Its definitely a series thats started off on the right foot, and Im excited to see where it goes.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
DC Comics: Bombshells Annual #1

Sep 1, 2016

I highly recommend reading this. Even if you havent been reading Bombshells (which, shame on you, what are you doing with your life?), I would still recommend this. Its not hard to follow whats going on. The overall arc of the doubly long issue is fantastic and the end reveal is pretty great.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Death Be Damned #1

Feb 8, 2017

If you love a good western tale with some supernatural elements, I recommend Death Be Damned.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Demonic (2016) #1

Aug 18, 2016

Demonic is not going to be for everyone. It is not my cup of tea. However, if you like the tone of Kirkmans creator owned titlesand youve been itching for a retro seventies-esque comic with supernatural elements, Demonic maybe for you.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Diablo House #1

Jul 5, 2017

If you like old-school horror tales, I definitely recommend this comic.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Doom Patrol (2016) #2

Oct 12, 2016

I think Ive said this before, but if youre not reading everything in the Young Animal imprint, what are you doing with your life? Stop what youre doing. Go to a comic book store or onto comixology or however you get your comics. Buy everything by the Young Animal imprint and read it. How have you not already? As the Shia LeBeauf gif would say, DO IT!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Ducktales #0

Jul 19, 2017

Oh my gosh, read Ducktales please. Read it. It's so good!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Eternal Empire #1

May 3, 2017

Eternal Empire is a good comic so far. It hasnt exactly captured my attention, but I could read the next issue. I feel like the twist at the end is enough to make me at least pick up issue #2 to see what its all about.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Faith #2

Aug 24, 2016

Overall, Her Greatest Enemy is a fantastic issue and lives up to its name, even if it doesnt seem so at first. Chris Chriswell and Faith play off each other well and Im excited to see whats in store for the next issue (hopefully, Archer will make a brief appearance). I highly recommend it.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Faith #6

Dec 7, 2016

Faith is always worth a read. It would be sort of weird to start reading Faith at issue #6 in the middle of an adventure, but I do highly recommend reading from issue #1 and just binging the six issues that are out, if you have the time. Faiths a great role model, an awesome hero, and leads a strange yet intriguing life. Theres no reason not to read Faith.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Ghost Rider (2016) #5

Mar 31, 2017

You should be reading Ghost Rider.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Giant Days #23

Feb 1, 2017

You should definitely read Giant Days. You can, in theory, start reading from this issue, but its probably best to start from the beginning. The characters are fun, the world is sometimes magical, and reading slice of life stories is always a treat. Check it out!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Go Go Power Rangers #2

Aug 30, 2017

Id say read it. If you like Power Rangers or are just curious about the series, check it out. It wont hurt you and I feel like this is the kind of series that can just get exponentially better over time.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Goldie Vance #5

Sep 7, 2016

Goldie Vance starts her latest case off to a great start. The mystery isnt something you can guess the answer easily, the usage of a variety of great women throughout the comic series is inspiring, and I feel like its a comic that people of all ages would enjoy. This is definitely something I recommend reading.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Goldie Vance #12

May 3, 2017

What can I say? Im a sucker for a good detective story, especially when it has a wide variety of interesting characters and a plucky main. I really love Goldie Vance, and I definitely recommend reading all of the series, if you have the time. The cases get kookier and more fun each arc and I cant wait for the next issue to come out. Go check it out!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Hawkeye (2016) #1

Dec 14, 2016

Hawkeye starts its first issue off to a great start. I love the characters. I cant wait to read more about Ramone. Kates character is constantly fun to watch, especially with her quick-thinking skills. While the twist in the end wasnt exactly too big of a surprise, Im excited to see where the first arc will go from there. What are you guys even doing reading my review? Go read Hawkeye now!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Helena Crash #2

Apr 12, 2017

You should be reading Helena Crash. Right now. You shouldnt even be reading this review, you should just be reading Helena Crash. This comic is filled with unique art and a fantastical world that makes you want to know more about it from the glimpses you get from the two issues that are out. Chapter 2: the Curse of the White Demon is an exceptional issue and you should just go and read it right now.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Helena Crash #4

Jun 14, 2017

Helena Crash #4 is a great conclusion to Helena Crash. It ends the series on a high note while leaving room for a sequel series or additional issues, which I hope the team is able to do. The world is wonderful, the art is unique, and the characters are as colorful as they are terrific. You should definitely read Helena Crash.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Heroines #1

Jun 1, 2017

Heroines is a comic you should check out. While not much happens in this first issue, exactly, it does create the build up for the premise and I do think that issue #2 will be an even more intriguing read.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Hulk (2016) #2

Jan 26, 2017

Read Hulk. Just read it. It is the tale about a woman coming to terms with trauma and odds are its going to get even more raw in the next issue. I, for one, am excited for that.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Invincible Iron Man (2016) #3

Jan 18, 2017

The emoting in the scene really sells it. It feels like a child melting down, finally talking about her turmoil and trauma. Its a fantastic scene.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Jem: The Misfits #1

Dec 21, 2016

Jem: the Misfits is a super fun read. Im a giant fan of stories from the villain's" perspective, and this one really works. Its an entertaining new series and I definitely recommend it.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Jessica Jones #4

Jan 12, 2017

If you like Jessica Jones, whether it be in her television show or in her other appearances in comics, youd probably love this.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Jughead (2015) #10

Oct 27, 2016

I dont even know what youre doing with your life if you havent already started reading Jughead. Its one of my favorite comics out there right now. Jughead, as always, is one of the best things in this comic. Sabrina and Salems dynamic and rapport are hilarious. The ongoing storyline could have been stopped if a few choice characters just had a heart to heart and talked for a few moments about a certain persons truths, and for that, Im a bit annoyed, but for the most part, this issue is awesome and I highly recommend it.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Justice League (2016) #16

Mar 1, 2017

Is this Justice League arc a bit clunky due to the wibbly wobbly, timey wimey choice they made to go with time travel? Yes, it kind of is. But this slightly convoluted choice has given the team an opportunity to explore multiple events in the timeline, which has been super interesting to see. Id recommend it if youve read Part 1 of the Timeless arc and are a fan of the Justice League comics in general.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Kim & Kim: Love is a Battlefield #1

Jul 5, 2017

Kim & Kim Love is a Battlefield is a fantastic comic. You should read the first iteration of the series before diving into this one, but youre probably fine if you dont. The series has intriguing characters and a strange yet mind-blowing omniverse. Plus, theres an essay called Queer Universe by Ellie Collins at the end of this issue thats definitely worth the read. Go check Kim & Kim Love is a Battlefield out if you have the time!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Kim Reaper #1

Apr 5, 2017

You should read Kim Reaper. I rarely see a comic that is written, drawn, and colored by the same person when it comes to reviews like this and I find it to be spectacular that Graley pulls this feat off and pulls it off well. The characters are fantastic, the story is hilarious, and the world is interesting. Go check it out!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Ladycastle #1

Jan 25, 2017

Theres a sense of understanding. The man grows with his students, his students become teachers themselves to him. Respect is forged. Ideas of the pastdiminished to a realm of ignorance. Only the truth stands now, and that truth is that that woman is the greatest and bravest of knights.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Lumberjanes #29

Aug 18, 2016

Lumberjanes is a spectacular comic. This issue is no different. From Molly having her own Greek mythology fanfic down to the fun design of the monster, this issue, like most if not all the issues Ive read of this series, is unique and a pleasure to read. I highly recommend this comic to people of all ages.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Mech Cadet Yu #1

Aug 2, 2017

Oh my gosh, Read this. Read it now. Its so good! If youve been looking for a good mecha underdog story with some awesome characters and a hint of Iron Giant, this comic is perfect for you!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Mech Cadet Yu #3

Oct 12, 2017

If you have the time, definitely read Mech Cadet Yu. This isnt your ordinary kid meets robot then has adventures comic. This comic is leaning towards showing what the harshness of war truly is and the naivet of those who go into war not fully understanding what theyve signed themselves up for. It truly is worth the read.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Misfit City #1

May 10, 2017

You should definitely check out Misfit City. Its a fun story about treasure hunts and awesome young ladies living in a small coastal town. I think its worth your time.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Misfit City #3

Jul 12, 2017

Read Misfit City. Its an exciting treasure romp filled with adventure, danger, love, and friendship. The humor and dialogue in general is on point and all the pages are just wonderful to ogle at. If you got the time, check it out.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Moon Girl and Devil Dinosaur #17

Mar 22, 2017

Moon Girl and Devil Dinosaur is definitely a comic you should be reading by now. Should you start at The Smartest Girl There Is! Part 5: X Equals? No. You should probably start at the very beginning if you havent been reading Moon Girl and Devil Dinosaur. Its a tale about a girl striving for acceptance, living in a world thats constantly telling her how she should act and what she should be. Its about a girl insecure with how people see her and her need to prove herself. Its a story about a girl and her time traveling dinosaur. You should definitely read this.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Moonlighters #3

Jul 28, 2017

Moonlighters is a fun, episodic comic about a couple of awesome werewolves on every day adventures with a dash of fantasy for rent money. If you like slice of life supernatural comics, this series would be right up your alley.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Moonstruck #1

Jul 19, 2017

I would definitely reading this. Yeah, there is one joke that felt kind of iffy to me, but overall, its a wonderful comic made by some great talent and I hope that Image publishes more comics like this one.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Mother Panic #1

Nov 9, 2016

Im not going to say Mother Panic is for everyone. Its definitely not for children. But I will say that I highly recommend it and if you like the Young Animal imprint so far, you will love this.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Mother Panic #4

Mar 8, 2017

If you like Mother Panic already, I do recommend this issue (if you havent read Mother Panic, though, seriously, what have you been doing with your life?). It veers away from the original tone of the comic, yes, but I still think this is a solid issue and Im looking forward to Broken Things Part 2.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Motor Crush #4

Mar 8, 2017

Motor Crush is a fantastic comic you should have been already reading ages ago. Should you start at issue #4? Probably not, its definitely better to start at the beginning. If you like super cool racing, not so distant future looking comics that are something between Speed Racer and Blood Plus, this is something youd probably like.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Motor Girl #2

Dec 14, 2016

Motor Girl is a treat. Its this breath of fresh air in a sea of fast paced and serious comics. It takes its time to work through feelings, it allows the quiet scenes, and for that, it prospers and stands out. I highly recommend this comic.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
New Superman #3

Sep 14, 2016

Made in China Part Three is the best issue of New Super-Man thus far. I highly recommend it, though, you should probably read Part One and Two first.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Nightwing (2016) #2

Aug 3, 2016

Ill be honest and say Im not thrilled that the story arc at the moment is basically a slightly different scenario to that of Grayson, but they have done enough with Raptor as an established foil to make me think they may break Dicks cycle of super spy double agentry at some point. Im not in love with Raptor, but the issue does shed light on how Dick became the person he is now while he was Robin and has pretty great quips between Raptor and Nightwing.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Nova (2016) #3

Feb 1, 2017

You should definitely read Nova. Its not too far into the series yet, the main characters are relatable, and something terrible is bound to happen soon enough. And who doesnt like that kind of tragic drama?

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Over The Garden Wall #15

Jun 28, 2017

Over the Garden Wall is definitely a good read. Its a strange dive into a Victorian, Huckleberry Finn kind of world with fairytale creatures that balances the fears of wives tales well with their whimsicality. I wouldnt say start at #15, but definitely read this if you have the time.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Paper Girls #9

Sep 9, 2016

Paper Girls is a comic dripping with 80s homage, yet is done tastefully with the complex and imaginative ideas of a modern creator of science fiction. Its a piece that makes you think and a piece that makes you come back for more. One shouldnt start on issue #9 if the want to start reading Paper Girls (Why would anyone start on issue #9 of anything? Go buy and read it all!), but if youve been loving Paper Girls so far, this issue will not disappoint.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Quantum Teens Are Go #1

Feb 22, 2017

Read Quantum Teens are Go. Its fantastic. I dont even get all the fancy shmancy theoretical science thats going on, but its a super fun read with well-written characters that has an intriguing twist at the end. Reading this makes me want to read Kim & Kim to see Visaggios breakout Black Mask hit. But seriously, do read Quantum Teens Are Go.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Quantum Teens Are Go #4

Jun 15, 2017

Quantum Teens Are Go! is a comic that people should read. While I believe the comic would have done better pacing-wise with another issue or two, the comic leaves room for a sequel series, and I hope the writers are able to continue. I love Natalie and Sumesh as characters and it would be magical seeing them travel the universe together.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Raven #2

Oct 19, 2016

Raven should be read, not just because Marv Wolfman is a treasure, but because the entire team does an amazing job. Ive always been a fan of Raven and this comic does her justice. I highly recommend it!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Real Science Adventures #2

May 17, 2017

I like the scenarios that the characters in both The Flying She-Devils and The Sparrow are placed in. I find the little summaries of information for both of the comics to be fun to read. Its a decent comic overall.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Reggie and Me #2

Jan 12, 2017

I recommend reading Reggie and Me. I recommend most things I read by Archie Comics, but I really do recommend Reggie and Me. Its a fantastic comic that everyone should be reading.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Rose #1

Apr 12, 2017

I'd definitely recommend reading Rose. Its a high fantasy tale with slight modern tweaks to it. Its a tale of revenge and tragedy, of a land overcome by darkness which will be saved by a ray of shining hope. Its well written, its wonderfully drawn, and its something you should be reading.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Samaritan: Veritas #1

May 24, 2017

Id recommend reading Samaritan: Veritas. Id say that reading other titles with Sam in them, like both of the Tithe volumes and Edens Fall may be a good idea before jumping into Samaritan: Veritas, but you could probably read this comic without reading previous works with her if you want. Samaritan: Veritas is worth the read, though.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Scales And Scoundrels #1

Sep 9, 2017

Definitely read Scales & Scoundrels. It reminds me a lot of Nimona or Fairy Tail, though, it feels like its less of a comedic series. If you like some good fantasy with some well-written characters, then I highly recommend this to you.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Seven to Eternity #1

Aug 29, 2016

Overall, Seven to Eternity has started off well. The first issue is a bit rushed, but I feel that the upcoming issues will most likely have better pacing and will also fix a few of the problems that this one has. Im excited to see whats in store. I recommend this to anyone who loves a good fantasy-science fiction combo.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Shade, the Changing Girl #1

Oct 5, 2016

Shade, the Changing Girl is a comic you should be reading. Its interesting in a really weird, out there way, the mystery makes me wonder who the Changing Girl can trust, and the Madness is definitely going to have consequences somewhere down the line. What are you even doing reading my article? Go read Shade, the Changing Girl already!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Shade, the Changing Girl #3

Dec 7, 2016

I always highly recommend anything from the Young Animal Imprint and this is no exception. Shade is a wonderful acid trip into Madness and a strange creature coping with a new reality. I dont even know what youre doing reading this, go read Shade the Changing Girl #3 NOW!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Shade, the Changing Girl #6

Mar 1, 2017

Read Shade the Changing Girl. Read it right now. Drop your phone, your computer, your old timey-print out because you weirdly print out articles you want to read and go read Shade the Changing Girl. It is insanity and it is wonderful, and while I have mixed feelings about what goes on in this issue, it is still an overall phantasmagorical read.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Solo #1

Oct 14, 2016

This is the first issue, so I say try it out for yourself. I am going to read the next issue, so its not like Ive been dissuaded from the series, dont take this as me thinking this is not a comic you should take some time to read. Im always an optimist, so I believe Solo can definitely become a fun comic with a lesser-known character that doesnt make me feel like I dont belong to the group that should be reading it. Because I do want to read a comic like this. I really do.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Spell On Wheels #1

Oct 19, 2016

The usage of shadows is masterful. I love that, even with the assaulting sense of the break in, the trio allow this piece of levity to flourish. It shows that this comic will have some darkness in it, but it wont be all gritty. It will be a well-balanced hodge-podge of joking, epic witches, ridiculous villains, and a dash of dark.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Spy Seal #1

Aug 16, 2017

You should totally read this. Tommaso is a fantastic creator, the backup feature is the best, and its just a fun read in general. Check it out.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Star Wars: Doctor Aphra #2

Dec 21, 2016

Star Wars: Doctor Aphra is a fantastic comic. If you liked her in the Darth Vader series, youll love her here. Her droids are a delight, her casually uncaring attitude towards others is great, and learning about her depths just makes her a more compelling character.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Steven Universe (2017) #1

Feb 8, 2017

Steven Universe is a comic mostly for fans of the show or children. It doesnt seem to be going in the direction of the darker themes seen in the series, but this is just the first issue, so who knows? If your looking for a comic for your kids or a kid you know, this is probably a good one to get.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Suicide Squad Most Wanted: El Diablo #1

Aug 10, 2016

While packaged as one issue, El Diablos Home Again and Boomerangs What Goes Around Comes Around Part 1 seemingly have nothing to do with each other….yet. Both parts of this issue are set up for a six part story that will eventually collide with one another. Though I wish there was a bit more than set up, I am still interested in seeing how this goes.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Super Sons #2

Mar 15, 2017

This is the tale of these two learning to understand each other. This is a tale of finding friends in people unlike yourself, and that is greatly needed, especially now. Read it. Read it, read it, read it.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Super Sons #5

Jun 21, 2017

I highly recommend Super Sons. Especially if you like comics like the Teen Titans, I highly recommend Super Sons. I love this issue and I cant wait to see what happens with these two kids in the future.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Supergirl: Being Super #1

Dec 28, 2016

Read Supergirl Being Super. Read it. What are you even doing reading my review? Read it now.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Teen Titans (2016) #1

Oct 26, 2016

Read it. Read this comic. Damian is a treasure, and though he will probably not lead the Titans at this very moment, I can already tell that this marks a new chapter in his life, a chapter of great growth. Bringing Damian as the glue to the Titans this time around brings a new swath of enemies to choose from and I cant wait to read more.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Teen Titans (2016) #5

Feb 22, 2017

I love a good Teen Titans story. Some of my favorite comic arcs are from the 80s version of the New Teen Titans. This harkens back to what I love about the Titans while injecting freshness into the concept. I cant wait for the next issue!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Teen Titans (2016) #7

Apr 26, 2017

Oh man, if you havent been reading Teen Titans, you really should be. It takes the core of what made popular iterations of the series work, like the emphasis on character relationships and their relationships to their parents, and adds an injection of freshness and modernity. Its fun, action packed, a bit dramatic, and one of my favorite comics out there right now. You really should be reading Teen Titans, guys.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Teen Titans (2016) Annual #1

May 31, 2017

If you love the Teen Titans, you should check out Teen Titans Annual. If you dont know much about the team and have never read anything theyre in, I suggest doing some reading before you start with this title. However, this is a Titans comic any fan would be happy with.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
The Deep #5

May 17, 2017

Definitely check out The Deep. Its a fun romp in the ocean with times of heightened tension. Its overall a tale about explorers going where no others have gone before and a tale about finding Atlantis, and that combo is just all sorts of interesting.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
The Mighty Captain Marvel #2

Feb 23, 2017

Id say this is a good read. Its a story about a woman frustrated with the people around her and how she keeps a cool head, nonetheless. It has an ongoing mystery that Im sure will bite Carol in the butt soon enough and Im interested in seeing how that will go down. Reading this comic makes me want to go back and read previous Captain Marvel comics in order to have a better understanding of her crew and her history. If you like Captain Marvel, youll definitely like her new series.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
The Shadow/Batman #1

Oct 5, 2017

Overall, I like what theyve got so far! Do I still miss the Joker? Yes. Does bringing Damian make me feel better? Oh, a million times yes, youre basically saying You cant have the Joker, but what about we throw in one of your favorite characters instead?. I think this first issue of the second crossover is worth a read.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Unbeatable Squirrel Girl (2015) #11

Aug 24, 2016

If you havent started reading The Unbeatable Squirrel Girl, you probably shouldnt start at 001011, its a bit weird to start at issue #11 on anything, though, you can if you want to. If you have been reading The Unbeatable Squirrel Girl, this issue will not disappoint.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Unstoppable Wasp #1

Jan 4, 2017

What I recommend reading The Unstoppable Wasp. Nadias adorable, her quips with Ms. Marvel, Mockingbird, and Monica Rappaccini are extremely entertaining. What this issue starts, as the first arc, is something Im very excited to see. Why are you even reading this? Go read The Unstoppable Wasp now!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Transformers: Lost Light #2

Feb 1, 2017

Transformers Lost Light is not for someone new to this series, I definitely learned that the hard way. However, Transformers in a whole is definitely worth reading. If you like other things youve read in the franchise, Im sure youll love this. I love it, and I didnt get what was going on for the most part.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Violent Love #1

Nov 9, 2016

Violent Love wont be for everyone. Its a mature historical comic about deadly people making terrible choices. But if you like Fargo, if you love Bonnie and Clyde, I suggest you check this out. Daisys character is intriguing from the get go and I feel like the series will only get better as it progresses. I would recommend it.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Wild Storm #2

Mar 15, 2017

I love the old Wild Storm universe, and maybe Im bias because of that, but I really do like the Wild Storm. I say start with the first issue, but definitely read the Wild Storm, especially if you are a fan of Wild Storm characters in general.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for
the Week of...

October

September

More