Rob Stryczek's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Comic Watch Reviews: 20
8.0Avg. Review Rating

7.8
America Chavez: Made in the USA #3

May 5, 2021

Vazquez absolutely came through this issue with reveal after reveal! I really do like the decision to reveal how Americas childhood is very different from how she remembers it. I enjoy how her mothers are scientists both from the Bronx making the two more relatable. My mom was born in the Bronx so that right there is something that I could personally connect to. I have high expectations of what this creative has planned for America!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.6
Champions (2020) #4

Feb 17, 2021

I really enjoy how Ewing incorporates the X-Men into helping these on-the-run teen heroes. Its really important to show that Scott still remembers how much he cares about his old friends and is willing to do anything he can to protect them from harm. In these memorable interactions, we get to see Kamala, Riri, Miles, and Sam learning that it is absolutely okay to make mistakes. We even get a sweet scene of Viv learning the same from a different perspective. This creative team does a great job in keeping you engaged as these fearless heroes find themselves on the run. Ewing does an exceptional job building these teen heroes, and I cant wait to see them continue to live up to their potential.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.2
Champions (2020) #6

Apr 21, 2021

Lore sets this team in the direction in wanting to take down Roxxon and their negative influence over social media. We see the team trying to work through their unresolved conflict from the previous story arc, while facing their tyrant of a target. This creative team shows that these characters are nowhere near perfect, yet they won't give up in getting justice for how they have been wrongly treated. It's very clear that this team has a soft spot for Riri and I'm very excited to see their plans for her and the rest of the team.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
DC Pride (2021) #1

Jun 8, 2021

Tynion starts this anthology off with a story of self acceptance and learning to find comfort in who you are. Navigating through the alienating trenches of life can feel almost suffocating. This creative team put together a powerful story to show their love for Batwoman. Absolutely a beautiful story that hit me close to home.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Eternals (2021) #1

Jan 1, 2021

Eternals is an enticing first issue that opens the door to a new era for this cosmic family. We get a very suspenseful glimpse into what is to come through what they discover. Ill be looking forward to what this prominent creative team has planned.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
Eternals (2021) #2

Feb 10, 2021

This creative team does a great job tying in together many different perspectives of what the Eternals experience. From intense fights to their interactions with each other to even how they interact with Humans. I have high expectations for the next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Excalibur (2019) #16

Dec 23, 2020

I love seeing Excalibur being able to support each other in their time of loss. Even when disagreeing, they can find ways to continue together. By the end, we see them forming a stronger unit with the beautiful flow of their powers coming together. Meggan joining this lineup is absolutely exciting to me, as I have been a long time fan of this character. Im really looking forward to what this creative team has planned for her and with the fun cliffhanger, the direction of the team in Reign of X.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Excalibur (2019) #17

Jan 27, 2021

I give props to Tini Howard for using this issue as a doorway to demonstrate the unbreakable support system that Betsy has. In one reality she has the love from a nation and people who will do her any favor, and in the reality we are more familiar with she has the strength of a team that refuses to give up on her return. With each issue this lovely creative team continues to surprise me in wonderful ways while keeping my love for Betsy Braddock alive and strong.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.1
Excalibur (2019) #18

Feb 10, 2021

I am very interested by the threads of mutant magic that Howard has been building towards. With Apocalypse introducing Rictor and the cast to the concept, I am very curious to see how they will continue to incorporate this into future stories. I love seeing Kwannon appear before the end, this sets up questions on what her role will be the next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.9
Excalibur (2019) #19

Mar 24, 2021

Kwannon takes the reins in this issue to bring back Betsy. Its nice to see the two of them being able to welcome each other, rather than continue to avoid each other. The inclusion of the other Captain Britains is a nice touch to show how interconnected Betsy is with them. We finally solved the issue of how to successfully bring our Betsy back, but now who will Malice possess? Malice hasnt always had the most pleasant interactions and goals so I imagine it cant be that friendly.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.2
Excalibur (2019) #21

Jun 9, 2021

Tini Howard excels at tying the Gala into the main storyline. This creative team brings fans a fun issue that utilized the excitement of the gala, while also mixing in some deliciously suspenseful moments to set up more stories for the team.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.4
Future State (2021): Suicide Squad #1

Jan 26, 2021

For the Black Adam story, we see heroes putting their last hope into Black Adam. While this story lacks an interesting cast of enemies, it does makes up for it with the dialogue Black Adam shares about how his past trauma affects him. The art does an incredible way of capturing the beauty of the planet of Kahndaq.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.9
Future State (2021): Teen Titans #1

Jan 12, 2021

Overall, I enjoy the setting we see the Titans in during the chaotic future that they find themselves in. The stakes are incredibly high, and even with them recovering from a destructive past they are able to persevere and work together as a strong unit. With a home destroyed and their foundation fractured the Teen Titans show that they are still a family. I am very curious as to what the next issue brings with Dick Grayson carrying the Deathstroke mantle and Red X and as to what this duo has planned.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Future State (2021): Suicide Squad #2

Feb 23, 2021

The creative team for Future State: Suicide Squad is able to execute the stressful position that Task Force X brings onto the members. It's a traumatic job that forces the team to go beyond their comfort level all for the goal of someone who has them under control. Its an issue that will pull the heartstrings of those who have attachments for these unforgettable members. The Black Adam portion, this creative team shows us the sacrifices that heroes are willing to make in order to stop an evil force.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.4
Future State (2021): Teen Titans #2

Feb 9, 2021

I enjoy the placement of the flashback grave scene occurring right before the Titans get ready to leave for this mission. By them acknowledging Titans who died in the flashbacks, and later getting to see Red X summon their spirits was incredibly well done. This creative team is able to craft together an issue showing the unbreakable connection of family that the Teen Titans will forever have no matter what enemy they face. Im incredibly happy to see Red X finally being used in Titans books, and I now will be looking forward to Teen Titans Academy.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.2
Harley Quinn (2021) #2

Apr 27, 2021

I do enjoy this theme of taking accountability and how we see the two different types of it. Both Harley and Kevin come from a genuine place in wanting to atone for their past when the time is right. Strange, on the other hand, is willing to abuse someone in her own personal torture session. Phillips is able to set up dialogue to have Harley respond to show that she understands the mind very well and can see who is genuine in making up for their past crimes.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.2
Iron Man (2020) #7

Mar 17, 2021

Cantwell creates scenes that explore the vulnerability of Tony and Patsy in this series. While this issue focuses more on their telepathic confrontation with Korvac, we still see glimpses of that through interactions. This issue begins to show Hellcat that she can work to get the upper edge on Korvac through Tonys support even if he keeps blocking their attempts for the time being. This creative team flourishes in storytelling and beautiful art.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.4
Runaways (2017) #33

Feb 3, 2021

For fellow X-Men fans, they will absolutely love the second half of this issue. The appearance of Wolverine and Pixie coming in for a rescue mission is a fun Krakoa connection and Im very curious to see how the next issue continues this. I absolutely adore the scenes showing how Nico is a huge support system for Karolina. If you enjoy the slice of life idea for superheroes then this is the issue for you.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Runaways (2017) #34

Mar 3, 2021

This issue did a very good job using guest characters from another series and easily incorporating them to team up with some of the Runaways. I absolutely love the fun ways Nico and Pixie interact with each other throughout this. The reactions in the issue from Chase, Molly, Wolverine and even Old Lace were a joy to see. I would honestly love to see Rowell write more of Pixie in the future.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.2
X-Force (2019) #20

Jun 2, 2021

This issue Percy brings us a delicious glass of what our chaotic X-Force is up to. From the exciting moment of Logan and Domino taking Deadpool down to Emma Frost confronting Sage on Terra Verde this was an excellent issue. I love when a team is able to provide themes from their current story arc in an event that flows with many titles. This is an extension of how great the x office works with each other. Can we talk about how Emma served it that entire issue!? With Emma being my favorite x-men member this right here is the gala event I have been eagerly waiting for and I am very well satisfied.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

June

May

More