Roderick Ruth's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Read Comic Books, Comicosity Reviews: 109
8.1Avg. Review Rating

7
Adventure Time #11

Jan 11, 2013

Fans of Adventure Time and readers that love zany, all-ages books will definitely enjoy this issue. If you haven't caught the fever yet, now's a good time to jump on!

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Adventure Time #12

Feb 1, 2013

While this issue isn't the greatest of the 12 issue run so far, it succeeds in remaining extremely faithful to the Adventure Time mythos and ethos, in addition to being an entertaining and enjoyable read. While the cliff-hanger ending didn't leave me on the edge of my seat, I'm still looking forward to seeing our trio of characters get into more trouble with the next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Adventure Time #13

Feb 22, 2013

Ryan North has sufficiently impressed readers a like with his handling of the Adventure Time comic series. If you pay attention to the bottom margins, North gives some fun and light-hearted comedy to an already comprehensively fun issue. All-in-all, you definitely get your $3.99"s worth. Looks like next issue might wrap up this "Ewlbo" story arc, so jump on while you still can!

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Adventure Time #14

Mar 20, 2013

Essentially, fans of this franchise will undoubtedly be pleased with this issue. It looks like Lumpy Space Princess will be featured next month, so I'll be definitely looking forward to reading that and the conclusion to the "Princess of Rad Hats" back-up story.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Adventure Time #16

May 22, 2013

With all that said, this issue is a great jumping on point for readers that may have been on the fence about this series. This issue is a wonderful example of why Adventure Timehas been so popular for Boom! Studios and why this is the hottest selling all-ages book out there right now.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Adventure Time Annual #1

May 29, 2013

Overall this issue was a fun read, and fans of the Adventure Time series should be picking this issue up immediately. The good-spirited nature of these stories intertwined with fresh perspectives of new creators makes this a welcome venture for hardcore fans and new ones alike.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Adventure Time Comics: Summer Special 2013 #1

Jul 31, 2013

This anthology collection of Adventure Time stories is another success. With a great collection of entertaining stories and palpable art, this is a must have for die-hard and all-ages comic book fans alike.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Adventure Time: Fionna and Cake #1

Jan 2, 2013

The backup story “The Sweater Bandit” by Noelle Stevenson is cute, but aside from that offers nothing else besides a way to feature some of the other gender-swapped characters, Marshall Lee and Prince Gumball, but overall gives us a great encompassing view into this world.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Adventure Time: Fionna and Cake #2

Feb 6, 2013

Sadly, there isn't much to offer in this issue as it's mostly silly fighting that takes place in this issue. If you missed the first issue, you're not going to find much to really cling on to or understand when you pick up this issue because Allegri does not provide you with any recap or call back. If you did read the first issue, then you will find that this issue is a nice continuation and it gives you all the action that you may have found lacking in the previous one. Overall the second issue of Adventure Time with Fionna and Cakeseems to bemissing some genuine intention despite the beautifully cute art, the gorgeous letters, and the surprise guest at the end.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Adventure Time: Fionna and Cake #3

Mar 6, 2013

Overall, this was a decent issue that thankfully hits its stride. At the halfway point of this 6-part limited series, it seems like Natasha Allegri has a lot more to offer with Fionna and Cake and I'll be looking forward to reading the next one!

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Adventure Time: Fionna and Cake #4

Apr 10, 2013

This series has been very consistent and enjoyable throughout and issue #4 is no different. Adventure Timefans will enjoy seeing the alternative versions of their favorite characters and fans ofAdventure Time with Fionna and Cake will not be disappointed.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Adventure Time: Fionna and Cake #5

May 22, 2013

With one issue left, it seems this series will be gift wrapped in a shiny bow for the end and is making for an enjoyable magical carnival ride so far.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Adventure Time: Fionna and Cake #6

Jul 4, 2013

Adventure Time with Fionna and Cakehas been a wild and fun journey with moments of beautiful magic and elegance combined with slapstick silliness and humor. While there was a bit of cohesion issues in this story, the trip was well worth it and Allegri has completed a memorable and splendid story that solidifies itself within theAdventure Timelore.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Adventure Time: Marceline and the Scream Queens #6

Dec 13, 2012

As an avid Adventure Time fan and Marceline being one of my favorite characters from the series, I'll miss collecting the awesome (and sometimes pricey) variant covers from this series. Fortunately, Kaboom! is following up this series with the runaway, gender-swapping, fan-favorites in Adventure Time with Fionna and Cake, so there's something to look forward to.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Age of Ultron #4

Apr 11, 2013

Overall, this issue ofAge of Ultronis another filler issue to get us where we want to go. While there isn't much notable to the issue, it is a necessity to better edify the events we are about to see and Bendis leaves us with a nice little cliffhanger that honestly plays true to the character he was writing it for. The stakes and objectives are all laid out there, we're just waiting for issue #5 to take us there.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Age of Ultron #5

Apr 11, 2013

Overall, this issue of Age of Ultronis another filler issue to get us where we want to go. While there isn't much notable to the issue, it is a necessity to better edify the events we are about to see and Bendis leaves us with a nice little cliffhanger that honestly plays true to the character he was writing it for. The stakes and objectives are all laid out there, we're just waiting for issue #6 to take us there.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Armor Hunters #1

Jun 11, 2014

While there is still much more to learn about the Armor Hunters, Venditti, Braithwaite, and Martin have crafted enough palpable content in this issue for readers to grab a hold of and sink their teeth into. While brand new readers may not have much of an investment into Aric and may have little to endear for that character with what is presented in this issue, there is still so much else presented, that the bigger picture in this comic book series isn't lost. The stakes have been set and a rising conflict is about to take place, and fans of action and sci-fi can expect some cool moments in this series. Needless to say, I'm looking forward to more from this series.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Astro City (2013) #1

Jun 7, 2013

It's hard not to be intrigued by this series, for new and old readers alike. Rest assured this was good enough to keep my interest long enough for the next one.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Avengers Arena #1

Dec 12, 2012

Frankly, this series has polarized many readers who are fans of this title because they do not want to see their favorite characters dying. They love the characters, but don't want to see them die. Let me break it to you guys; these characters have had cancelled runs and simply put, have a difficult time co-existing anywhere else in the Marvel Universe. Though it breaks my heart to say it, each one of these characters are completely disposable and we should all be thankful that Hopeless, Walker, and Martin are giving us another shot at enjoying them. While some characters may stay dead (please keep Darkhawk and Nico alive!), who knows what their future will hold "it is comic books after all".

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Avengers Arena #2

Dec 21, 2012

I'll continue to let Hopeless dangle the proverbial carrot in front of me for a couple more issues, but I expect a bigger payoff sooner, rather than later.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Avengers Arena #3

Jan 11, 2013

Overall, while we do get another glimpse of the other teens on the island and up close and personal encounter with X-23 and Darkhawk, this issue feels mostly like a filler. There's something terrorizing these kids, but we have absolutely no idea who or what it is and frankly, there's no reason really to care until the last scene. I just hope it's not the smoke monster from LOST"

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Avengers Arena #7

Apr 10, 2013

Hopeless provides us a flashback issue this week, and it's a nice respite from the regular teenage drama that is starting to boil over with the current events of Murder World. The homage and cameos featured during Arcade's birthday party were hilarious and could have been milked a bit more, but having the likes of Taskmaster and Thunderball belittling the wimpy Arcade was a pleasure in itself to see.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Avengers Arena #10

Jun 6, 2013

In essence, this issue moves the story along and gets from point A to point B. There is hardly any genuine lamentation or regards in this issue, especially for the fact that there was less charisma for the death in this issue than in the previous issues. The cover of the issue insinuates a “warrior's last stand” confrontation, and frankly, we don't get that. Unfortunately, due to this character's popularity and importance in this series, it doesn't ring with any permanence or finality. Needless to say, fanboys of the genre and of these characters will stay on board, while others could see this as a breaking point to finally move on from.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
AVX: Consequences #3

Oct 24, 2012

Things are shaping up in AvX: Consequences. Gillen is clearly laying down some groundwork for the events to come and if you though Scott didn't have a plan when he was captured after the events of AvX, think again. Apparently, being a martyr and a political prisoner isn't all that Cyclops has in store.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
AVX: Consequences #5

Nov 7, 2012

By the end of this issue, you begin to really see the sadness and isolation Cyclops willingly forces upon himself for the greater good of mutant-kind. Those that choose to dive into upcoming Marvel NOW! titlesAll-New X-MenandCable & The X-Forceshould definitely pick this issue up as a primer for those other books.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Batman and Robin (2011) #0

Sep 13, 2012

Fans of Grant Morrison's Batman and Robin run will already be familiar with this origin story and might have concerns with the Damian's incubation tank and scientific engineering described in the back pages of the issue. I would suggest holding off and waiting to see what happens in upcoming issues. This is The New 52 and each writer in the zero issues has taken some sort of liberties to create a more interesting story. This easily continues to be one of my favorite Bat-books out and if you're looking for a jumping on point to start reading this title, get this issue now!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman and Robin (2011) #19

Apr 10, 2013

While the Carrie Kelley storyline seems like a bit of fodder and the hype of her returning as Robin for now, this issue could not get any better as they portray Batman's desperation and obsession.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Batman and Robin (2011) #29

Mar 19, 2014

Tomasi and Gleason have a clear direction that they share with their audience in this issue and upon finishing it, you will salivate for the next issue and arc. Damien and Batman fans alike that May have been led astray from boggled events and monetary sacrifices, should definitely jump on at this point so that they don't miss out when this storyline reaches it's peak.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Black Science #3

Jan 29, 2014

This issue has only scratched the surface for what we can come to expect with Black Science. It's clear that Remender, Scalera, and White are firing on all cylinders in capturing our interest –mentally and visually –that I can't wait to see how much further this series can push the envelop of this genre. If readers have been on the fence with this series, this issue will cement what Black Science is going to be all about and hop on board now before you get left in another dimension.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Black Widow (2014) #2

Jan 23, 2014

This issue delivers quite the punch in 22 pages. There's a connection to this character that you've never quite experienced before. She isn't arm candy for another male hero. Her feminine sexuality isn't exploited to the point of vulgarity. There's an admiration in her willingness to try and do the right thing. There's also a pity that we feel when she is unable to properly accomplish it. At the end of the issue, we are ultimately reminded of the Black Widow's humanity. Edmondson and Noto are building a great foundation for Natasha Romanov to boastfully stand upon, and one which can only lead to better stories for the Black Widow. This is the most genuine version of Black Widow that I've ever read and I can't wait to read more.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Blackout #1

Mar 26, 2014

Having no prior knowledge of the title or its inclusion in Dark Horse presents, I'm at the mercy of detailed visuals and storyline and unable to get genuinely excited about this introductory issue. While it's execution is respectable, the issue just doesn't garner enough interest, visually or literally, and with a premise that alludes high hopes for fans of science fiction and action genres, this issue offers little in both regards. Instead it modestly and safely, treads water and doesn't give readers any of those genre expectations that we desire from comic books of this type.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Burn The Orphanage: Reign of Terror #1

May 7, 2014

In spite of all the cosmetics and facetious nitpicks for Burn The Orphanage, it assuredly has its heart in the right place and definitely stays true to the core of what this series has been all about: video game, action style, fun. While this issue has some short-comings, Grace and Freedman should be admired for their persistence and bravery for attempting to bring credibility to an openly cheesy premise that tugs on the heart strings of the children of the 80′s like myself. So much so, that I'm more than willing to follow up on the potential of the story in the next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Captain America (2012) #16.NOW

Feb 5, 2014

This issue was a well-timed respite from the regular storyline happening in Captain America, and as described on the cover, is a prologue to the “Iron Nail” story arc. While Marvel has labeled it as a #1 amongst it's “All-New Marvel NOW!” line, I wouldn't say that it is a necessarily a great jumping on point for new readers looking to dip their toes into the realm of Captain America. In fact, the only appearance of Captain America is only a faux version that appears meek and laughable, and is guaranteed to confuse new readers. Aside from that, for continuing readers of this series this will be a refreshing treat that adds another breadth of character examination to a new player in the Captain America roster of heroes/villains and hopefully bring more cadence to “The Iron Nail” arc that Rick Remender is building towards.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Captain America And The Mighty Avengers #1

Nov 12, 2014

Al Ewing and Luke Ross have laid out enough of a foundation for their debut issue of Captain America And The Mighty Avengers to captivate new readers and sustain Mighty Avengers fans. While there are some serious issues being contended with in this issue, there is still enough humor and fun to keep a lot of readers interested.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Chin Music #1

May 8, 2013

While the story for this issue seems to have fallen a bit flat because the writing only tends to hint at all of it's plot lines and give the reader nothing to substantially stand upon, you can at least enjoy this issue for the art.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Clone #1

Nov 22, 2012

I'm willing to give this series the benefit of the doubt and check out the second issue, purely because it's Schulner's first attempt in the medium and hope that there is a more cohesive story plotted out for this series as a whole. Like I said before, I like clones. But if you're short on money and on the fence at the comic shop or online retailer, you could hold off on this one.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Collider #1

Jul 31, 2013

While this introductory issue isn't quite the hair-raising, jaw-dropper that one might expect with first issues fromVertigo these days, it did establish itself as a congruent story with a lot more interesting things to tell. We've only just hit the tip of the iceberg in this series, and I'm looking forward to seeing more of what this creative team has to offer. The premise of “physics gone wrong” is interesting enough to the science fiction fans out there to stick around and check this out.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Comeback #1

Nov 22, 2012

Although this story involves time travel, it's not overloaded with extraneous science fiction or overlywroughtwith paradox talk. In fact, what makes this issue great is that it seems to bring the genuine question from anyone that's ever experienced a tragedy in their life. Instead, we get a nice spin on the age old question of “what if you could change the past?” I'm looking forward to reading Comeback #2, in what looks to be another promising series from Image.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Danger Club #4

Oct 4, 2012

The cover alone is almost worth a peek at this book and with the trade just released for issues #1-4, there's no excuse not to jump on this issue. Fans of Watchmen, Teen Titans, and The Strange Talent of Luther Strode will find something to latch onto in this series. The homage of golden age comics in the first page, juxtaposed with the hyper-violent edge of modern comics of today has effectively created a visually awesome depth to this story. Read this book now!

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Danger Club #5

Apr 19, 2013

Overall, this would've been a very sufficient book for me, if not for the grandiose, cliff hanger we experience at the end of the issue that genuinely creates poetic excitement. Again, the span of this story and premise is so vast that could almost go anywhere and the characters are likable enough to see this entire thing through. The Walker/Jones/Drake fanboy in me will continue to read this title regardless, but new readers need to experience it for themselves.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Deadly Class #2

Feb 26, 2014

If this issue feels heavy, that's because it is another 29 page follow-up to the 29 page debut, almost three issues for the price of two. While some may still be impatient with this series because we're still in the midsts of introducing our characters and setting up the world of Deadly Class, Remender and Craig almost guarantee something palpably exciting for the next issue andthis creative team still has me curious for more.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Deadly Class #6

Jun 28, 2014

As much as Deadly Class is an homage to the time period of the 1980′s, it's also a surreal dedication to adolescence and the growing pains of emerging into adulthood when you have been spawned from the outskirts of what's normal. Deadly Class is the comic book equivalent of sunglasses, a black leather jacket, and a switch blade: bad ass, cool as f***, and dangerous. This issue delivered a more than satisfying end to it's first arc, and has yet to lose steam. By the last panel, you realize that Deadly Class #6 has broken out of orbit and is officially on it's own course. Needless to say, I am undoubtedly there with front row seats salivating for what's next.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Deadly Class #8

Oct 15, 2014

The team behind Deadly Class have managed to definitively capture these emotional fluencies in comic book form to the utmost pinnacle of their craft in this issue. With a premise of teenage assassins from the 80's, writer Rick Remender has manifested a beautifully evocative script filled with cogitative narrations, viscerally poignant dialogue, and cogitative direction. Artist Wes Craig fabricates a symposium of desperate violence, insidious introspection, with galvanized emotion. And colorist Lee Loughridge has enraptured the pages with a complicated subtlety that inarguably evokes the readers sensibilities. Frankly, there is no surprise that this creative team has inevitably managed to produce some of the best comics out on the stands right now.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Doctor Spektor: Master Of The Occult #1

May 28, 2014

This comic book was a pleasant reintroduction into Doctor Spektor: Master of The Occult. Creators Mark Waid and Neil Edwards have created a premise and style that some comic fans could compare as a version of Tony Stark's Iron Man with supernatural abilities, complete with his own version of Jarvis and Pepper Potts. To some that might seem like an awesome adventure to experience, and to some it may seem like an arduous road that we've already been down before. Regardless of which side of the fence you fall upon, Waid and Edwards still put out a solid issue and have literally left the door wide open (by the last panel) that it'll be hard for readers to tame their curiousity and not want to run after them for another issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Earth 2 #5

Oct 5, 2012

Unfortunately, it's issues like these that often make me feel that I may have outgrown this genre. The first issues of Earth 2 were very promising, and while I know that this is the New 52 reboot and an alternate universe, it lacks the freshness of the earlier issues and leaves a bitter “been there, done that” taste to mince on.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Happy #1

Sep 27, 2012

Fans of Garth Ennis and The Boys, will immediately feel right at home with this series. Darick Robertson does some of his best work in this issue and is able to seamlessly illustrate Morrison's deranged story with the greatest of ease. Close ups and panels are gracefully done and visually resonate with every page turn. Grant Morrison's imagination runs rampantly fervent without any editorial boundaries in this first issue. If this is any inclination for what to expect in future issues for this 4 part series, then put me in a straitjacket and sign me up. I'm whole heatedly on board for this raspy, kick-in-the-balls Christmas story.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Happy #3

Dec 21, 2012

We finally get an inkling of where this story is going, but I have absolutely no idea how it's going to end. I am anxiously awaiting the twisted conclusion to this demented Christmas story!

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Happy #4

Feb 21, 2013

That's not to say that this issue isn't a good read. Given the premise of the book, some readers probably wouldn't be surprised by the way it turned out. The grandiose climax that we hoped for just seems to flatline and barely justify all the visual gratuity. Happy! seems toprobably read better in a collected format, so readers wondering about the series should grab all the issues at once or wait for the trade paperback.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Harbinger (2012) #10

Mar 20, 2013

Overall, this issue is a great precursor for readers to jump aboard just beforeHarbinger Warsstarts next month. There's sufficient amount of recap to bring new readers up to speed and enough to give you a great sense of where it's heading for the upcoming comic event.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Harbinger Wars #1

Apr 4, 2013

So whether you're painting a red circle on your chest or putting on a blue Harbinger jacket, this issue seems to be promising a lot of action and fun for forthcoming issues of Harbinger Wars.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Hawkeye Vol. 2 #10

May 1, 2013

While this issue is missing a lot of the glitz, glamour and fun that we are used to enjoying from reading Hawkeye, Fraction and Francavilla once again demonstrate that there's still enough room to handle serious subject matters (even after the Hurricane Sandy issue). Kate Bishop still retains her elegant brash in this issue to make readers smile but it looks like the duo of Hawkeye might be in for quite the challenge in the future.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Justice League of America (2013) #2

Mar 21, 2013

In essence,JLAis a book with a ridiculous premise but is carried heavily on the backs of Geoff Johns and David Finch. If any other creative team were on this issue, it may fall ceremoniously flat. Fortunately, this creative team keeps the wind in the sails with this title and provide a very solid performance.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Manifest Destiny #9

Aug 20, 2014

Manifest Destiny has just enough clever, just enough adventure, and just enough terror for any comic book reader to enjoy. We devour with our eyes the fantasy of the story, and hold our breath in captivation when it horrifies us. I can't wait to see where we go from here.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Mind MGMT #7

Jan 22, 2013

This comic genuinely is packed with so much storyline and details that if you only read an issue once, you're bound to have missed something. I personally read this issue 3 times already and have to read it again to clarify a debate I have with my friend. I'm astounded at how much stuff Matt Kindt puts into each issue and the fact that he does both the writing and artwork for this series. Matt Kindt continues his tradition of placing easter eggs everywhere in this issue. Fans of the TV showLOSTorTwin Peakswill find a plethora of suggestive items for readers that like to read between the lines. EvenLOSTco-creator, Damon Lindeloff, has whole-heartedly endorsed this series. Kindtalso “kindly” gives a great introduction for any reader that might've missed the earlier issues, so this is a great time to pick up one of the most fascinating and intriguing stories coming out ofDark Horseright now.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Moon Knight (2014) #7

Sep 3, 2014

Moon Knight #7 marks the second season of the All-New Marvel NOW! series, and is noticably riding on the coat tails that was left by it's former creative team. While it has noticably big shoes to fill, I would be hard-pressed to find anyone that could aptly step up to the challenge. With that being said, as a huge fan of the previous run, this has much more to go in order to genuinely capture that excitement I previously had for the series and much more to improve upon before one can say that this is a safe bet.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Nowhere Men #1

Nov 29, 2012

With that said, Image seems to have another winner on its hands. While all this issue has to offer is mostly a highly-stylized introduction to a large cast of characters, it's evident that Stephenson is setting the stage for something grand. From front cover to back cover is uninhibited; each and every character in this story seems to be well planned out and the scope of the story seems to be epic in proportion. Of course it's only the first issue, but this creative team looks very promising and one to certainly look out for in the future.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Nowhere Men #3

Feb 4, 2013

This series has been fantastic and should be on the radar for any fans of science fiction or thriller genres. The book is very immersive and no page is wasted. There are story-related ads that give subtle insight to the story and the creator credits are on the back cover, so you're definitely getting money's worth for $2.99. I highly recommend you get in now before it's too late.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Nowhere Men #4

Mar 20, 2013

Nowhere Men #4 gives you more than you could ever ask for at a $2.99 value. There aren't many books out on the shelves that can deliver this quality of story in one issue and leaving desperately panning for more by the shocking twist at the end. I can't recommend this book enough.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Numbercruncher #1

Jul 18, 2013

The scope and magnitude of this story has great potential and any comic book fan that is in anticipation of any of the latest Vertigo titles coming out right now, should definitely pick this one up as well. This title will bicep curl Titan Comics into the mainstream community, so get in now, before it's too late!

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Outcast By Kirkman & Azaceta #2

Jul 31, 2014

I'm hesitant to call this issue a slow burn due to the lack of plot-driven progress in this issue. We learn so much in this issue about Kyle's relationship to his mom, to his sister, to his brother-in-law, and even what is looming upon the town in 22 fast pages. What Outcast thrives on is being a horrifically palpable, character-driven story. It's putting relatable people in dire situations and slowly crafting a something that makes you pay attention when something happens and ultimately care about it when it does. I'm in.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Pretty Deadly #2

Nov 27, 2013

On the whole, this issue further fuels the fires of readers interest. We're offered minimal continuation storywise from what we were previously introduced to as the story shifts focus more onto the lead character Deathface Ginny, but writer Kelly Sue DeConnick gives us just enough tease and uncertainty to keep the reader wanting more. It's too early to tell if we DeConnick, Rios, and Bellaire will be able to deliver on the idyllic grandness that we are promised with these two issues, but I'm assuredly teeming with interest in finding out more.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Prophet #28

Aug 29, 2012

Overall, this book prides itself on its uniqueness and esotericism. Graham's complete and enamored dedication to the Prophet universe is a blessing and a curse. Its blessing is that it takes you on a faithful and realized journey that never becomes inconsistent with its characters and universe. Unfortunately, it refuses to slow down and its intricate plot lines can make it difficult for new readers to really sink their teeth into any one issue. For those that have been regularly following Prophet, reaching Earth seems to be the overarching goal of this title and we are finally starting to see some inkling as for what Brandon Graham has in store.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Punisher (2014) #2

Feb 21, 2014

Overall, this issue is a solid effort by Nathan Edmondson and Mitch Gerads to create a new habitat for the Punisher to unleash himself in. Even though Frank still shoots bad guys in the face, Edmondson and Gerads The Punisher still seems a bit gentrified with his newfound pals and the introduction of a new pet. While I don't necessarily agree with the metaphorical application of Hawkeye and his t-shirtgarment to Frank Castle andthis new series, I'm still curious about the direction Edmondson and Gerads plan on taking us in future issues. While Frank Castle's character is ostensibly a relentless guy with weapons as his superpower, he's still part of the Marvel Universe and a part of comic books, and the last page will remind you of that. The Punisher iscertainly a new perspective that we haven't quite encountered before and it should still earns the attention of Punisher fans and comic book readers alike.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Punk Rock Jesus #6

Jan 2, 2013

Does Sean Murphy solve every loose end in this issue? Not at all, because I find it hard to believe you can have a Jesus storyline without some sort of resurrection built into it, but the ending was fitting enough to leave me satisfied that I was glad I went along for one hell of ride!

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Sex #1

Mar 7, 2013

On the whole, Sex sells. It creates enough interest and intrigue in this introductory issue that go further than just having a provocative title on the cover. Where we go from this issue has yet to be determined, but for now I recommend you enjoy Sex.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Shutter #1

Apr 9, 2014

This issue is a demonstration of Gestaltism in comics, where the sum of these creators is greater than all of their individual parts. Joe Keatinge, Leila Del Duca, Owen Gieni, and Ed Brisson combine to give a palpable comic with just enough promise and curiousity to keep readers on board and wanting more. This was a solid enough of an effort that I'm looking forward to seeing just where we go from this issue's cliffhanger as well as seeing more of the endearing past adventures and growing pains that Kate experienced with her father.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Shutter #3

Jun 11, 2014

This issue is still set-up for the most part as we begin to learn all of the characters that will be put into play, but do not necessarily know anything more information in regards to the plot. A villainous fox is introduced that has a war history with a lion. A salamander that reluctantly attempts to murder Kate after receiving divorce papers and worrying about alimony. There's even a flashback of Kate's best friend and the reveal of his transgender challenges during childhood. While all of these seem noble to portray in the story, it seemingly offers little insight to the plot while we have been teased on the idea of Kate's “siblings” for three issues now. In lieu of the scattered story directions, there is still much enjoyment to take away from this series and enough to like about it to keep reading.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Southern Bastards #4

Sep 3, 2014

Southern Bastards is a modern tale with the visceral elegance of sandpaper and an open-hearted honesty that makes it impossible not to absolutely love. The humor and the grim reality of this issue is enthralling to try and comprehend and disappointing to fully accept. With this issue wrapping up the first arc of titled “Here Was A Man”, and an epilogue that is sure to leave fans with their mouths gasping, I cannot wait to see where Aaron and Latour takes us from here.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Space Punisher #3

Sep 27, 2012

If you're a fan of B movies and spontaneous action, this is your series! Frank Tieri has built up this 4-part, limited series into a boisterous piece of entertainment. Texiera's realistic painting style truly invokes the sense that you are watching an old movie classic within a comic book. Though this series isn't officially a “What If” title, Tieri builds an mouth-watering cliffhanger that puts The Punisher against the omnipresent and all-powerful Watchers, with a weapon that makes them metaphorically shit their omnipotent robes. I have absolutely no idea where or how this could end, but I anxiously awaiting the last issue of this miniseries with elation.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Suiciders #1

Feb 26, 2015

What Bermejo does best in Suiciders is that hes able to give us enough character interest, stylized brutality, and visual detail to entice our curiosity and keep me wanting more. Suiciders has the foundation to emerge as another great title from Vertigo. Fans of post-apocalypse stories and glorified combat will be welcome at the door, but Ill be staying for the socio-economic commentary and postmodernism allegory that is sure to come.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
The Hypernaturals #3

Sep 4, 2012

Overall, this issue is a set up for much more to come. The supplemental material of Hypernaturals advertisements and correctional documents featured ensure the reader that this world is very thoroughly thought out. If you haven't yet, I suggest you picking up issues 1 and 2 (and searching for the free issue that was given out on Free Comic Book Day) before the next arc begins.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
The Hypernaturals #4

Oct 3, 2012

As an added bonus, new readers can definitely jump on with this issue without feeling lost in all the story and I definitely recommend that they do so. I'd hate to see this title not get a fair run due to lack of readers, but if the stakes aren't heightened in the next few issues, I may just recommend the opposite.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
The Legend of Luther Strode #2

Jan 14, 2013

This is easily one of my favorite books fromImage Comics right now. It's a fun vigilante/anti-hero story, coupled with highly stylized gore and action. There's also a nifty reenaction in the comic, along with beautiful pin-ups from some other great artists. Find out why Justin Jordan, Tradd Moore, and Felipe Sobriero have been getting all this recognition and check it out for yourself.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
The Legend of Luther Strode #4

Mar 27, 2013

Writer Justin Jordan admirably rides shotgun for this issue as he doesn't try to muddle the issue with any scenes of exposition or heavy dialogue. Jordan himself has admitted to readers in the back pages of issue #3 that The Legend is much more of an action book than The Strange Talent, and is respectively working within those genre boundaries. While the issue is visually alive with hyper-violence, it's a big departure from Jordan's usual style of writing and this issue definitely totes a vapid line for it's characters. The stakes seem very minimal for Luther and watching invincible titans go at each other's throats can only be cool for so long.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
The Legend of Luther Strode #6

Aug 7, 2013

There's a bit of a teaser at the end of the book after writer Justin Jordan's written words and pin-up pages that alludes to the follow up series titled "The Legacy of Luther Strode." With this series being confirmed to become on-going in October, here's to looking forward to more blood, guts, slicing, dicing, stabbing, shooting, and STRODE!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Manhattan Projects #7

Nov 7, 2012

Seriously though, what are you waiting for? This is probably the best Image book out there right now, and with the release of the trade paperback collection issues #1-5 and the fact that Hickman admitted that they're on a 6 week delay, there's no excuse to not catch up to this title in time!

View Issue       View Full Review
8
The Manhattan Projects #8

Jan 2, 2013

Overall, you need to be picking up this book because of just how much fun it actually is to read. I mean there is a talking Russian dog that is able fire automatic weapons at robots with FDR's face and the cliffhanger at the end of the issue has me horrified of what will happen with our distasteful hero Wernher Von Braun after he's left into a bloody, paraplegic pulp.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Manhattan Projects #9

Feb 13, 2013

This issue was a fun ride –plain and simple. Fans of the series already will be gleeful in delight, and I think this issue caters enough to new readers to have them jump on board as well. Whichever category you fit into, you won't be disappointed.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
The Manhattan Projects #10

Mar 13, 2013

While this issue detracts from the main storyline happeningThe Manhattan Projects,fans of the book already know that this series can go anywhere it wants and believe me,it does. So this doesn't feel like an intermission really at all. In fact, after reading the last six words on the last panel, I'd be interested in seeing wherethisstoryline pans out.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Manhattan Projects #11

Apr 24, 2013

This issue was fantastic as we see what happens to a universally loved man that becomes feared by everyone. It's hard not to get excited for all the crazy things that are sure to come afterThe Manhattan Projects have officially decimated their opposition and joined forces withStar City of Russia. One thing is for sure, everyone has secrets and it will be very interesting to see how each one unfolds.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
The Manhattan Projects #12

Jun 14, 2013

Overall, this issue reveals that Hickman has a lot more in store for us with The Manhattan Projects and his storytelling his often layered with multiple plot simultaneously occuring.While this issue offers new insight and motivations to past events, it also manages to posit even newer ones and keep us waiting in suspense for what will happen next.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
The Manhattan Projects #13

Aug 7, 2013

This series is too much damn fun to pass up. This issue was good enough to get Manhattan Projects fans salivating for more as the stage has been set for all sorts of crazy stuff to happen. Break out the chemistry set, wipe the blood from your nose, adjust your lab coat, and crack open a beer –you're in for a treat.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
The Manhattan Projects #17

Jan 1, 2014

This issue is the forefront and another strong indicator of the slow, rising-action story that writer Jonathan Hickman is known for. The Manhattan Projects has been nothing but an entertaining comic book series. So much so, that artist Nick Pitarra even injects the writer John Layman and artist Rob Guillory of the comic book series Chew into a couple panels to get their heads lopped off, just as a wink to them and the audience. This is one of the plethora of reasons you can't help but enjoy this book and why it is so much fun.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
The Manhattan Projects #21

Jun 20, 2014

After all is said and done, we have a comic book that chronicles a quick and fun space adventure. Fans of The Manhattan Projects, will be enriched as we follow the exploits of Laika –the space dog that made an impression by talking, firing machine guns, and pissing on their enemies –and there's a surprise at the end that makes you wonder where the hell Jonathan Hickman is going to take plot line. New readers could pick this issue up as a one-shot and still get substantial enjoyment from it. This issue and story doesn't try to pioneer any new story-telling techniques or wear you down with overbearing character sentiment. What it does do is offer boisterous entertainment. If you're into zany, science fiction then this series will always be your bread and butter.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
The Massive #4

Sep 4, 2012

Brian Wood delivers great, real world dialogue in this issue and there is some great tough guy one-liners being spat between Callum and Arkady, that fans of Wood's DMZ would like. I'm enjoying the pace of these books, and looking forward to finding out what happens on their next journey.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
The Massive #5

Oct 10, 2012

This book continues to grab my interest with every issue that comes out, although sometimes I get frustrated with how little actually goes on in each one. Wood spends an immense amount of time building the environment as a character and very tepidly giving us the development of the human characters in this world. Though I know I'm being baited into each and every issue with only a hope of discovering more, I also know that Wood has a great track record of rewarding faithful readers (see DMZ). Come aboard for the adventure of The Massive.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
The Massive #8

Jan 22, 2013

On the surface, not a lot happens in this issue as Wood is tactfully putting all his characters in place for some grandiose moment. But below the surface, what makes this an interesting read is that each of the characters in The Massive are planning and thinking something different than the others, and it's all happening at the same time. No one knows what any of the others are going to do, and this provides for some great tension building and reading enjoyment "not to mention, a great cliff-hanger. If you haven't checked this series out, grab the trade (out March 20th! " Tyler) and catch up now!

View Issue       View Full Review
9
The Massive #9

Feb 28, 2013

When all is said and done, this "Subcontinental" story arc clearly parallels part ofThe Empire Strikes Backmovie, where the heroes of the movie are deceived by Lando Calrissian upon seeking refuge on Cloud City. Whether that's a result of Brian Wood also writingStar Wars forDark Horse also, is neither here nor there and I'll leave the rest of it for you to assess. Nevertheless, "Subcontinental" does provide a nice respite for the readers to evaluate just where Callum Israel and the rest of the crew of the Kapital are at mentally, especially with the reveal of Callum's medical condition. Overall, this is a great read for fans of the series, and if you haven't picked it up yet you owe it to yourself to do a bit of catch up.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
The Massive #11

Apr 24, 2013

Once again, not all your questions get answered, but you continue to get another fantastic issue that adds another layer to the vast world that Brian Wood is building here, and we are getting closer and closer to the payoff.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
The Massive #12

May 22, 2013

Brian Wood is crafting a slow burn of a story withThe Massiveand allowing his characters and world to develop in a very organic manner. My only concern is that we may need to start seeing more questions getting answered rather than salivate over the same questions we've had 11 issues ago. Needless to say, this is still an exceptional issue with enough suspense and intrigue to keep me going on.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
The Massive #14

Jul 27, 2013

In spite of the challenges that the characters are facing, there is no point where we genuinely feel like these characters won't make it out alive. Of course this could be Wood lulling us into a false sense of security, but at this point in the story the stakes need to be upped significantly, especially for this apocalyptic, black ops, martial law on the open seas story or else we all might just abandon ship or get lost at sea.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
The Pound: Ghouls Night Out #1

Sep 18, 2012

Being that this is my first introduction to the series, I was a bit lost jumping right into this book. The prologue was brief and wasn't able to set the tone properly for myself as a new reader and I had little knowledge of the guest starring character Proof. I'm sure for the cult following of fans for this series this is a great anticipated return to The Pound's fun and silly horror in Ghouls Night Out.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
The Walking Dead #110

May 8, 2013

What's exciting about this issue is that we are dealing with entirely new people, situations and environments in The Walking Dead realm. There are only so many scenarios that our beloved main characters can experience before things might start to feel a bit boring or redundant, and this issue sort of welcomes a fresh perspective and lets Rick Grimes take a backseat for once. It's not necessarily an important Walking Dead issue, but it's a decent indication that we won't be over saturated with things we've already seen before.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
The Walking Dead #111

Jun 14, 2013

So 11 issues after the infamous 100th issue where Negan brutally killed one ofThe Walking Dead‘smost beloved character and this may be the issue where Negan might establish a fanbase. Of course “pride goeth before the fall” and Kirkman and Adlard leave us with a resounding last page that sums up the character completely. It's going to be war soon.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
The Walking Dead #112

Jul 12, 2013

At last we have a properThe Walking Dead issue to sink our rotting teeth into and get excited about with the the 10th anniversary of this series. With the Saviors, Survivors, and Kingdom events looming around the corner, get this issue before the world ofThe Walking Deadis turned upside down in the coming months. The line has been officially drawn.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
The Walking Dead #113

Aug 14, 2013

More or less, this issue delivers a lot of what we've come to expect from the world of The Walking Dead " solid visual story telling, slow tension building, with some overdramatic violence sprinkled in. Purveyors that are looking for gratuitous zombie killing should look elsewhere from this issue as the undead slaying is nonexistent. Much credit should be given to Robert Kirkman for not giving in to the "zombie porn" impulse and allowing the story to breathe and let the true monsters shine in this issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
The Walking Dead #117

Nov 27, 2013

I'll admit that my excitement has been waning intermittently for The Walking Dead, but this issue has given me the spark and enthusiasm to see where and how this comic book will move on from here.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
The Walking Dead #118

Dec 14, 2013

Ultimately, this issue reminds us that once again no one (and I mean no one) is off the table when it comes to death in The Walking Dead. Your heart strings get pulled in a way that hasn't been done in quite some time for readers of this series, but it definitely ups the stakes for what's in store for the following issues.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
The Walking Dead #119

Jan 9, 2014

Issue #119 gives us more or less the same stuff that we've been accustomed to in The Walking Dead. Sadly, there seemed to lack anything tangibly genuine to take away from this issue as it's hastened and generic plot didn't bring much integrity to actions of the characters. It felt like we were rushing to get to the bigger and more important reveal towards the end of the book. Kirkman has a lot of ground to cover and it regrettably shows in this issue. Thankfully, the last five pages of this issue elevate your pulse and give you the jaw dropping moment that reminds you why you're a fan of The Walking Dead again.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Trees #4

Aug 20, 2014

There's an immediacy to typical invasion stories in science fiction, but this series decides to go the opposite direction. Instead of giving into the allure of the trees themselves, Ellis is gently coaxing you into seeing just how a direful, yet seemingly docile, alien presence can stoke the fires of varying emotions within humanity. That assuredly won't stay that way for next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Trillium #5

Dec 5, 2013

It's obvious that we have still only touched the surface of the potential of the series. Jeff Lemire is clearly trying to break the molds of the science-fiction and romance genres with his auteur storytelling and visuals. Trillium may not be an easy pill to swallow for all comic book readers, but it undeniably unique and confidently beats to the rhythm of its own beautiful drum.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Veil #1

Mar 5, 2014

So far, this debut issue appropriately stokes enough curiousity to jump on board. Greg Rucka's story is interesting enough to stoke the fire for horror fans and Toni Fejzula's unconventional visual art style elevates your interest beyond what you may have expected.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Wayward #1

Aug 27, 2014

Wayward pulls directly from the anime/manga genres and makes it function. The introductory issue has laid out the basic pieces of groundwork needed to be built upon and the art was able to captivate simultaenously. While it may not be anything groundbreaking for fans of the genre, there is still some great Japanese lore that Zub and Cummings are deriving from and their incredible faithfulness to the landscape of Tokyo might be proof enough that this series is worth paying attention to.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
What If? AVX #1

Jul 3, 2013

In the end, while this issue gives you a lot of things to say that happened, there isn't much else there to hold on to. While the originalAvXevent had suffered from similar problems, theWhat If?question that Palmiotti is presenting is probably the least interesting one that could have come from a comic book that is using itas it's premise –what if Hope possessed the Phoenix Force?, what if Professor X wasn't killed?, what if Cyclops had stayed in control of the Phoenix Force?, etc. There's a myriad of more compelling story ideas to tackle here. Fortunately, there are still three issues left to save this four-part miniseries from becoming a complete wash.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Winter Soldier #9

Aug 29, 2012

At $2.99 and with Brubaker departing from this book on issue #14, now is as good as ever to jump on this issue and see it's way to the end.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Winter Soldier: The Bitter March #1

Feb 11, 2014

Rick Remender and Roland Boschi channel legendary auteur Jim Steranko and his Nick Fury: Agent of S.H.I.E.L.D. series and make it entirely they own. Remender is not only telling a Winter Soldier story, but he's also telling a Ran Shen story. It's going to be interesting to see how Remender and Boschi will unravel how this character went from being an agent of S.H.I.E.L.D. to his modern state. Needless to say, this was a great first issue for this mini-series and one that fans of Winter Soldier and pulp, spy stories should not miss.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Wolverine and the X-Men #17

Sep 27, 2012

It's great! It's funny! It's fantastic! This issue is genuinely a fun read and it was a great departure from the overbearing and (sometimes) forced gravitas that's been happening with Marvel as they wrap up their AvX story arc. Jason Aaron continues to impress by making each and every issues better than the last, though after reading this I believe it'll be hard to top. If you like fun comics, or like Mike Allred, or like Doop, or just want a departure from the very over serious, this is a must read!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Wolverine and the X-Men #19

Nov 4, 2012

While I still miss Chris Bachalao's pencils on earlier issues in the series, Nick Bradshaw has stepped in the art roll quite nicely. I hope this team can stay consistent for the rest of the issues, so that the series can really establish its look. In spite of the lingering plot points from issue #18, Aaron gives you everything you need to understand this series in this issue and even a lurking new villain to enter the fold. If you haven't checked it out yet, do it “NOW!”

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Young Avengers (2013) #14

Dec 20, 2013

If you have been a fan of this series, you can relish in this and rejoice. Kieron Gillen even has a recommended playlist for music at the party (which I must admit isn't bad really, in terms of “party music”) to kick off the celebration motif of this issue. So pull up your skirt or roll up those sleeves and get ready to dance with this issue because the next one might be all tears.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

June

May

More