Roger Palmer's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: DisKingdom.com Reviews: 103
7.4Avg. Review Rating

5.0
24: Legacy - Rules of Engagement #1

Dec 20, 2017

24 Legacy Rules of Engagement is a solid tie-in, it helps give more backstory to the main character, but its just a shame this wasn't out during the show airing on Fox to benefit from the hype around the series. If you enjoyed the series, this might be worth checking out but sadly I just didn't connect with it.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
All-New Wolverine #31

Mar 2, 2018

All-New Wolverine #32 is a really enjoyable issue, its full of fun, action and that feeling of family. This is a great issue for anyone to pick up, as it's exactly what a one shot should be, one solid story that anyone can jump in on.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
All-New Wolverine #32

Mar 19, 2018

Issue 32 of the All New Wolverine is a solid issue, it's an enjoyable read but nothing amazing either.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Amazing Spider-Man (2015) #793

Dec 28, 2017

A great issue of Amazing Spider-Man, with lots of interactions with other Spider characters like Venom, Black Cat and Anti-Venom, however we don't really get to see much development of the main villain, Maniac. But it's the bad “Superman 3” style Spider-Man that is so interesting.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Amazing Spider-Man (2018) #1

Jul 15, 2018

A great reboot issue, with a big epic showdown with a quick fix, a great issue to jump in and try out. A easy recommendation.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Amazing Spider-Man (2018) #2

Jul 29, 2018

This issue takes me back to watching Spider-Man cartoon's on a Saturday morning, which is exactly what I want from a Spider-Man story, conflict with MJ, some humour, some villains and some great action. It's a great time to jump in!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Amazing Spider-Man (2018) #3

Aug 12, 2018

Amazing Spider-Man #3 feels like a Saturday morning cartoon, it's light hearted and being a fan of the 90's Spider-Man, it works, but it's not anything amazing but an enjoyable read.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Amazing Spider-Man (2018) #4

Aug 26, 2018

Amazing Spider-Man feels like its gone back to the 90's with over the top stories, humour and style, which I love. It's a fun, comic book romp, that I have been enjoying greatly.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Avengers (2016) #675

Jan 15, 2018

This “No Surrender” storyline kicks off with a bang, with loads of action, loads of heroes and a huge question hanging over the entire Marvel universe that had me wanting to jump to the next panel instantly and by being weekly, it will keep me entertained. This first issue completely sold me on getting invested in this story.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Avengers (2016) #676

Jan 18, 2018

Once again, the Avengers continues to tell a interesting story that has some major aspects to it and it's certainly peaked my interest in this series and I certainly want to keep turning the pages to find out what's happening next, which is the one problem, since we know so little after reading it, but I'm sure it'll become clearer as it goes on.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Avengers (2016) #677

Jan 29, 2018

With this being still very early on within the “No Surrender” storyline, this issue starts to position the Avenger teams into the right positions to have some big battles in future issues, the use of Quicksilver to break up the flow really helps keep things interesting. I've been enjoying this series and now I'm left with more questions, that I can't wait to find out more and with a weekly series, I don't need to wait long.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Avengers (2016) #678

Jan 31, 2018

Surrender is no doubt going to be an epic story, but now we are a few issues in, the plot has slowed down and this means this issue has very little to move the story along. My big issue with this issue is how confusing the battles get, I often had to flip back and read it again, which is a shame, since I'm really interested to see where this story is going, but as we get closer to the middle arc, it might be a while before we find out anything. But it still has some fantastic artwork and some awesome fight scenes. It's an epic issue, but it's struggling under the weight of its own cast size.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Avengers (2016) #679

Feb 8, 2018

Marvel has been hyping up this series for a long time and it's been an interesting month so far, with this issue really giving us some meaning and backstory to what is actually going on and it's made the whole story much more interesting.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Avengers (2016) #680

Feb 14, 2018

This story arc is interesting but the focus on the less known heroes is dragging it down, bringing in the original Wasp seemed a little anticlimax and we have the exact same cliffhanger as last week, which hopefully brings a huge name onto the field to make this story move up a gear.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Avengers (2016) #681

Feb 22, 2018

Avengers #681 is now almost half way and it's just taking so long to getting to the point and it's so confusing due to the amount of characters involved. I'm hoping it's going to be worth it, as this series isn't cheap.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Avengers (2016) #682

Mar 1, 2018

A great issue that continues a interesting story, with some fantastic artwork, but at this stage, if you aren't invested already, it might be best to hold off for the trade book.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Avengers (2016) #683

Mar 9, 2018

Avengers 683 is without doubt the best issue in the series and has been one of the most enjoyable comics I read for ages.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Avengers (2016) #684

Mar 14, 2018

Another great issue from this story arc and all the build up to this series is starting to pay off as the newest character, Voyager, is coming into her own and the addition of the Hulk is a great move, since it delivers a much more simpler focus.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Avengers (2016) #685

Mar 22, 2018

Another great issue with loads of action and some classic Avengers in action, which is exactly what I want to see. I really enjoy the weekly blast as it keeps the story fresh in my head and simple to follow (especially since it doesn't need a chart to keep track).

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Avengers (2016) #686

Mar 29, 2018

This issue had a couple of major surprises and some big fight scenes, I was really impressed, making it one of my favourite issues from the run.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Avengers (2016) #687

Apr 7, 2018

This issue feels like a quick breather for the series ahead of the big final battle, which is a shame as the last few issues have been really good. It might not be the most action packed issue, but it does what it needs to.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Avengers (2016) #688

Apr 13, 2018

This issue is all about getting the band back together and I really enjoyed how the writers did it, with Quicksilver standing out as a true hero.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Avengers (2016) #689

Apr 22, 2018

Avengers 689 is a nice ending, it has all the trademark moments, sacrifice and team work, but there wasn't anything that original or groundbreaking. While we still have one more issue of this series to go, it doesn't feel like it went anywhere since it's all gone back to normal.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Avengers (2016) #690

Apr 26, 2018

This is a good finish to the series, its been a blast reading this story each week and wish Marvel did this more often. On its own, it might not be amazing, but as part of the larger story, this was an enjoyable read and finishes off the "No Surrender" story with a good note.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Avengers (2018) #1

May 12, 2018

A solid Avengers comic book, it sets the scene, gives us a insight into where our heroes are in their life and gives us a global problem for the Avengers to Assemble to take on. It's got everything a #1 issue needs to set the story up, but it has some problems.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Avengers (2018) #3

Jun 21, 2018

This is exactly what I want from an Avengers book, it's packed full of major superheroes facing extreme odds in saving the world from impending doom. It's over the top and I love it.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Black Panther (2016) Annual #1

Feb 24, 2018

I was really hoping for something to get my teeth into following the excellent Black Panther movie, as someone who has never paid too much attention to this character, I was interested in expanding my knowledge of the Black Panther and this issue just confused me. For Black Panther readers, this might be a perfect release, but this wasn't was for me.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Daredevil (2015) #600

Mar 30, 2018

Being honest, I was disappointed with this issue, I had hoped this would be a good issue to jump into the world of Daredevil since its been a while since I last read any. But sadly it just didn't hit the mark, it suffers from having too many heroes involved, who barely are used, or used those extra pages to give a huge brawl between the major players, which what the cover had suggested. This wasn't the milestone issue I was expecting.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Despicable Deadpool #291

Dec 27, 2017

Despicable Deadpool #291 is a fun read with lots of action and plenty of comedy, plus it continues to set up future episodes, with Deadpool taking on the evil version of Stevil Rogers.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Disney Frozen: Breaking Boundaries #1

Aug 3, 2018

Frozen Breaking Boundaries is a fun comic book, that is perfect for younger readers who want some new unique Frozen stories. It's got some great artwork and is one of the strongest Disney comics I've read this year.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Ducktales #3

Nov 26, 2017

This is another great edition of the new Ducktales series, two decent stories with a lovely art style that delivers something for new Disney comic fans, but keeping everything that has made these characters so loveable. A easy recommendation for anyone who loves the new series on Disney XD.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Fantastic Four (2018) #1

Aug 11, 2018

Seeing the Fantastic Four back and at the forefront of Marvel is a great sight. This issue helps set the current situation with the Ben and Johnny, while also setting up the return of the rest of the family. If you're a Fantastic Four fan, this issue is a must have and a great jumping on point for those new fans wanting to see the family in action.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Infinity Countdown #1

Mar 11, 2018

This series promises to give a big impact to the Marvel universe and this issue kicks off in perfect style, lots of fun and action. It does feel more like a Guardians of the Galaxy comic than a major event, but I really enjoyed reading this issue and can't wait to see where it goes.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Infinity Countdown: Prime #1

Feb 23, 2018

This is a great introduction to the upcoming Infinity Countdown event, it sets the tone, places the characters and gives a history lesson on the stones. I really enjoyed this issue, though I'm not sure the extra charge for the history lesson at the end is warranted.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Infinity Countdown: Adam Warlock #1

Feb 11, 2018

As a one shot to introduce new readers to who Adam Warlock is and set up that a big threat is coming soon, which is so serious, Kang can't fix it, no matter how many times he tries, so needs help. I really enjoyed it, I'm interested to see where this story arc is going and I'd recommend checking it out.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Infinity Wars (2018) #1

Aug 3, 2018

Infinity Wars #1 felt like it burst out of the gate and stumbled, but I'm willing to give the next issue a go, since I think the story could be very interesting with a different direction for the “villain” but its a shame it didn't live up to the hype.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Infinity Wars (2018) #2

Aug 17, 2018

Infinity Wars #2 feels like a big blockbuster,full of superheroes and big action, but is just an average story since nothing will stick.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Infinity Wars (2018): Prime #1

Jul 27, 2018

While the story is a little slow at places, there are some impressive scenes that I loved, especially those in the final few pages. I also think the artwork is fantastic, so its worth checking out if you've been reading all the other "Prime" early issues, but casual fans should be aware, this isn't anything like Infinity War the movie.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Iron Man: Hong Kong Heroes #1

Mar 24, 2018

If your looking for a simple Avengers one shot, this is a good pickup but the inclusion of the new female hero in a new version of the Iron Man suit, which seemed a little unnecessary, but it helps links it into the attraction in Hong Kong Disneyland. It's a great little title and worth checking out as I really enjoyed it, its simple but effective.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Lockjaw (2018) #1

Mar 4, 2018

Lockjaw is a breathe of fresh air, with so many major comics being so serious, it's nice to see something a little light hearted and funny in places. If you want to try something a little less intense and more "Saturday Morning Cartoon", give it a try.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Marvel Two-In-One #1

Dec 21, 2017

Bringing The Thing and the Human Torch together again to hopefully bring back the Fantastic Four into the Marvel Universe has to be a good thing (and now the issues with Fox being removed, the Fantastic Four can return to past glories). This is a very enjoyable read, with “Fantastic” artwork that make this a easy recommendation.

View Issue       View Full Review
3.0
Marvel's Avengers: Infinity War Prelude #1

Feb 4, 2018

This is a rather poor tie-in that just doesn't seem needed, I was hoping it might set up something new or give us a hint for Infinity War. I'd say save your money and watch the movies again or for the first time instead.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
New Mutants: Dead Souls #1

Mar 18, 2018

Coming into the New Mutants as a complete novice, this issue has done a good job in keeping my interest in the characters to keep reading the rest of the series. While this is the first part of a miniseries, it feels like a standalone issue, which is a great for new readers like me.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Old Man Hawkeye #1

Jan 11, 2018

Old Man Hawkeye is a great start to the series, setting the tone and where Hawkeye and other characters are. I'm really excited to see where this series goes and I like the idea of being in a different universe, since it throws all the rules out the window and can tell a different story.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Old Man Hawkeye #2

Feb 19, 2018

Old Man Hawkeye #2 is a interesting story arc and feels different to the majority of what's going on with other Marvel comics right now. But it's a shame this issue feels so slow but I love the artist style.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Old Man Logan (2016) #34

Feb 3, 2018

For some reason, I just didn't connect with this story, especially as I was jumping in since it was the start of a new story arc, most of what was happening had little impact because I wasn't invested in it. Which is a shame. If you've been into the series for a while, it might be completely different.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Peter Parker: The Spectacular Spider-Man #298

Dec 21, 2017

#298 is another fine Spider-Man comic, with lots of action and continuing to build interesting aspects for the main story arc. I had a flashback to the classic animated series from the 90's, and that certainly has left me wanting more.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Phoenix Resurrection: The Return Of Jean Grey #1

Dec 31, 2017

This issue helps set up the rest of the series but also suffers from leaving a reader with lots of questions, I'm interested to see where this goes in the later issues but it does suffer from trying to do too much in too short a space, but bringing back a well-known character from the X-Men is always going to be popular and I enjoyed reading it, so issue 1 did exactly what it was suppose to do.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Phoenix Resurrection: The Return Of Jean Grey #2

Jan 3, 2018

Issue 2 continues the great story involving the return of Jean Grey and hopefully some other X-Men characters. While there might be too many characters to do them all justice, it's great to see the X-Men back on top form lately. If you haven't already got into this series and love the X-Men, this is a excellent series so far.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Phoenix Resurrection: The Return Of Jean Grey #3

Jan 10, 2018

This is one of those issues where the story barely moves forward, its interesting to see all the pieces slide together but on its own merits, very little really happens. Once again the art style is great and one of the best things about this series.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Phoenix Resurrection: The Return Of Jean Grey #4

Jan 27, 2018

The last big issue before the end of this series ends with a cliffhanger and delivers a disappointing resolve to the return of "dead" X-Men, after months of building it up before this series was even released, just got thrown aside, which is a shame. I'm really hoping the final issue ends on a better note as this has been a very slow building mini-series.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Phoenix Resurrection: The Return Of Jean Grey #5

Feb 1, 2018

This is a fantastic finale to the series, amazing artwork and a big finish, though I can't help but think this series could have been done in just a few issues, since it really plodded along in the middle. It's a great finish to a mini series and so little too place in the first four issues, that a new reader could jump straight to the final, so this issue is well worth reading.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Planet of the Apes: Ursus #1

Jan 6, 2018

I got a huge kick of this comic book and it's sold me on reading through the rest of this series, it's good impressive artwork and the franchise offers a completely different backdrop than most comic books and for casual fans, it's a good jumping in point to have something different.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Rise of the Black Panther (2018) #1

Jan 8, 2018

For comic book fans who want to get a history lesson into the Black Panther, this is a good starting point and a great way of getting up to speed before the movie hits the screen.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Star Wars (2014) #38

Nov 11, 2017

With a brand new story kicking off and seeing how Luke, Leia and Han deal with the aftermath of the events of Rogue One is going to be interesting. While Rogue One helped set up the events of A New Hope, it's nice to see some new stories from these original characters.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Star Wars (2014) #39

Nov 26, 2017

Star Wars #39 continues to tell an interesting, post Rogue One story with the original main characters dealing with the ruined planet and trying to stop the Empire from doing it again. I'm really interested to see where this story goes.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Star Wars (2014) #40

Dec 17, 2017

Another great book with an interesting story that helps fill in the blanks about the aftereffects from Rogue One, which I'm really enjoying and the art style makes it unique but can distract from the experience. I can't wait to see where this story is going.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Star Wars (2014) #41

Jan 5, 2018

As the fourth issue in this series, this feels more about continuing the story than delivering a finale, plus Star Wars titles have a tendency to leave everything in status quo, as we know all the events ahead of them. It's a fabulous looking comic, as the art style really shows off the amazing Jedha planet, but sadly the story just doesn't go anywhere.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Star Wars (2014) #42

Jan 19, 2018

For Star Wars fans, this is business as usual, but there isn't anything amazing or groundbreaking to make this issue feel anything but average.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Star Wars (2014) #43

Feb 9, 2018

This issue does a great job in closing the Jedha arc and also setting up some future interesting relationships, but the big battle between Luke and Commander Kanchar, just felt a bit anticlimactic.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Star Wars (2014) #44

Mar 8, 2018

Star Wars #44 is a solid start to a new series and giving more backstory of the world of Admiral Ackbar is welcome. It looks great and the interactions between the characters helps forge their relationships. It's also a good point jumping into this series if you haven't already added this to your monthly selection.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Star Wars (2014) #45

Mar 25, 2018

As part of a graphic novel, this issue would help continue the main story, but as a single issue, it just doesn't warrant the price. It's just a very average issue on a whole.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Star Wars (2014) #46

Apr 8, 2018

A fun comic that I enjoyed reading, but eventually it might be nothing more than a stop gap in this arc.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Star Wars (2014) #50

Jul 8, 2018

Issue 50 of Star Wars delivers some impressive big ship battles and its always great to see the Empire at full force, especially Darth Vader. The artwork is also very good and while the pacing is a little slow, I still really enjoyed reading it and love taking a monthly visit to the original Star Wars characters, but its hard to be too excited since there is never any threat to the main cast.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Star Wars (2014) #51

Jul 22, 2018

Another great Star Wars comic book, it delivers exactly what you'd expect, big space fight scenes plus all the major characters are involved. The artwork is amazing and as a whole, this comic is worth checking out.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Star Wars Adventures #6

Jan 16, 2018

Issue 6 is a great fun adventure for younger Star Wars fans, plus I like how it has a mix of different eras. Having one story featuring a brand new character from The Last Jedi, followed by another based on Podracing, isn't what I was expecting and I think this is good for Star Wars fans. With two new fun original stories, this is a easy recommendation for younger Star Wars readers.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Star Wars Adventures #7

Mar 7, 2018

This series continues to impress me, it feels like a good old fashioned "Saturday Morning" comic or cartoon, its bright, colorful and a lot of fun. For younger Star Wars fans, its perfect.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Star Wars Adventures #8

Mar 27, 2018

I really enjoyed this issue, it's cute, it's fun and sometimes I feel Star Wars loses that sometimes as older fans forget Star Wars was created for families and children. This comic is like a Saturday morning cartoon and I think it's exactly what younger fans should check out.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Star Wars Adventures #9

Apr 17, 2018

Another solid issue from IDW and a refreshing take on Star Wars, giving younger fans a more fun feel. It's got two nice stories and I enjoyed reading it, but it won't blow any older fans away.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Star Wars Adventures #10

May 13, 2018

Another fun issue from IDW, with a new Star Wars movie coming out later this month, this is a great way of showing younger fans who these characters are. It's a great Star Wars comic and delivers exactly what I expected from this series.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Star Wars Adventures #12

Jul 24, 2018

Star Wars Adventures continues to be a fun action packed comic book, its simple, its effective and it works. It brings the entertainment back into Star Wars and feels like a Saturday morning cartoon. I really enjoyed this issue, the second story might have been a little too simple for my liking, but the main story was great.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Star Wars Adventures #13

Aug 28, 2018

The Star Wars Adventures happily fill the void for a casual comic book, aimed at younger audiences, which is what Star Wars is really all about. While the Max Rebo story was too basic for my liking, I really enjoyed the conclusion of the main “Intermission” story, which delivered an interesting take on “war”.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Star Wars Adventures: Forces of Destiny: Ahsoka & Padme #1

Jan 23, 2018

Forces Of Destiny is a great series for younger Star Wars fans, with this issue standing out above the previous issues as it has a stronger story and shows both characters as strong females and it's an original story.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Star Wars Adventures: Forces of Destiny: Hera #1

Jan 16, 2018

A simple but effective Star Wars title, which is aimed at a younger audience and successfully hits all the core Star Wars elements. But the addition of a large talking otter and the simplistic story does mean older Star Wars fans should avoid, but make it perfect pickup for a younger reader.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Star Wars Adventures: Forces of Destiny: Rose & Paige #1

Jan 30, 2018

Rose & Paige is a decent Star Wars comic book, it's great for younger audiences but not as simplistic as previous issues for adult readers. It does have a all new original story and helps develops the sisters relationship plus it has a great artistic style that is a highlight of this series.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Star Wars Adventures: Forces of Destiny: Rey #1

Jan 9, 2018

This Forces Of Destiny Rey issue looks fantastic but is simply retelling the opening segment of Star Wars The Force Awakens, that could have been released 2 years ago. I really wish this had been an original story set just prior to the events of the movie, as the art style is fantastic, but was a huge let down since its feels like a missed opportunity.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Star Wars: Darth Vader (2017) #10

Jan 13, 2018

Another great Star Wars title that delivers a fantastic battle, a connection between Rogue One and Revenge of the Sith. Plus showing a young Darth Vader in action.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Star Wars: Darth Vader (2017) #11

Feb 16, 2018

It's a good start to a new story and continues to show the inner turmoil within, but this issue feels a little average, since nothing major takes place and Vader never feels under any danger, which is the hardest thing about this series, we are suppose to be rooting for him but realisticly I just want to see him as a full on evil Vader like we see him in Rogue One.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Star Wars: Darth Vader (2017) #12

Mar 1, 2018

A really solid Star Wars title, easily one of the better issues I've read recently, it's dark and a bit brutal, it's exactly what I want from a Darth Vader issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Star Wars: Darth Vader (2017) #13

Mar 15, 2018

Another fantastic issue of the Darth Vader series, which is very easily become my favourite Star Wars comic book of the year, it always delivers something great and this issue is no different.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Star Wars: Darth Vader (2017) #14

Apr 15, 2018

This Darth Vader issue is another highlight in today's new Star Wars comics and it's interesting to see stories involving the Empire.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Star Wars: Darth Vader (2017) #17

Jun 18, 2018

Darth Vader 17 is bursting with action and a fantastic end to the Burning Sea story arc. Easily one of the best Star Wars comics I've read this year.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Star Wars: Darth Vader (2017) #18

Jul 16, 2018

A perfect one shot Star Wars comic book that is a easy book for any fan to just pick up and enjoy, it truly shows why Vader is one of the best villains ever.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Star Wars: Darth Vader (2017) #19

Aug 13, 2018

Once again this Darth Vader series continues to impress and this issue is full of a nasty and evil side of the Empire, which I love to see. Darth Vader is an easy recommendation to any Star Wars fan.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Star Wars: Poe Dameron #22

Dec 22, 2017

Another solid Star Wars comic book but with it focusing on events leading up to The Force Awakens, it does feel like it needs to jump forward a little and represent the Poe we see in The Last Jedi.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Star Wars: Poe Dameron #25

Mar 26, 2018

This is a great way to finish off the story arc and bring us right up to date ahead of “The Force Awakens”, I've been enjoying this series and how it helps fill out the new characters from the new movies and this issue felt like a great way to end it.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Star Wars: Poe Dameron #29

Jul 20, 2018

This is a fine Star Wars comic, its got a small battle scene to keep things moving, but its your typical filler content that leads nowhere, which is always a problem with these stories. It's pretty average, but I did enjoy reading it.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Star Wars: The Last Jedi - DJ #1

Feb 2, 2018

If your coming to this comic expecting to learn more about DJ, you'll be disappointed, since we learn very little about him or his past, since the events of the comic only take place maybe hours before the events of "The Last Jedi". It's a fine one shot but nothing really happens.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Star Wars: The Last Jedi - The Storms Of Crait #1

Dec 29, 2017

The Storms Of Crait is a nice little one shot for fans wanting to know a little more about Crait, but it doesn't give anything away that most people wouldn't have worked out from watching “The Last Jedi”. With aphotorealistic realistic style and featuring all the major characters plus great action, it's a easy recommendation for Star Wars fans.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Star Wars: The Last Jedi Adaptation #1

May 12, 2018

Honestly, if you haven't seen the movie, spend the money from this series on the Blu-Ray and if you've seen the movie, this issue isn't worth reading. I just think trying to cram an entire movie into 6 issues, means so much of the movie has been lost and trying to squeeze in some additional scenes in as well, just results in an average experience and ultimately feels a little pointless. I'd recommend trying out the Star Wars or Darth Vader series instead.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Star Wars: Thrawn #1

Feb 25, 2018

Since I've read the book and know where this series is going, I'm not going to continue reading the rest of the series, however if you haven't read the novel and want a great version of it, I'd say get in on this series now as it's a great story with some fantastic artwork.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Incredibles 2 #1

Jul 15, 2018

This is easily one of the best looking Disney comic books for a while and with original content, that fits in perfectly with the new movie, its a perfect tie comic book series and a good way of getting younger children into reading Superhero comic books.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Life Of Captain Marvel #1

Jul 21, 2018

The Life Of Captain Marvel is a great book and I'm looking forward to reading the other issues in this series. The artwork is excellent and I enjoyed how this tries to show a more emotional aspect to Superheroes.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Mighty Thor (2015) #702

Dec 20, 2017

Mighty Thor #702 is all about setting up the story and while it doesn't feature too much action, the internal conflict and impending death is a interesting aspect that make me come back to find out more.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
The Mighty Thor (2015) #703

Jan 20, 2018

The Mighty Thor is easily one of the best monthly series right now, it's telling an incredible story and has some fantastic artwork.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
The Mighty Thor (2015) #704

Feb 21, 2018

This story just keeps on delivering some of the best work from Marvel at the moment and I would seriously tell any Marvel fan to check out this story arc.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Mighty Thor (2015) #705

Mar 22, 2018

Another awesome issue, the story and artwork are excellent, it has everything you'd want from a comic book. A huge epic battle and an emotional ending. Easily one of the best comics I've ever read.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The X-Files: Case Files - Hoot Goes There? #1

Jul 17, 2018

#1 has pulled me in and I certainly want to know what is going on in the second part. The artwork isn't perfect but the story delivered exactly what I wanted from the X-Files, no big story arcs or conspiracies, just a good "what's going on here" investigation.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Uncle Scrooge (2015) #37

Jul 24, 2018

A fun time traveling classic Scrooge McDuck adventure that was very enjoyable to read. A easy recommendation to any Disney fan, especially if you love Back To The Future!

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
X-Men: Gold (2017) Annual #1

Jan 14, 2018

This issue includes two single stories, both of which have a nice upbeat story and leave on a good note, though the second story felt a little over the top. And while it's a bigger issue, it comes in at a higher price and with some great stories going on within the X-Men books, this might have been better as a introduction to get new fans into the Xmen. It's a nice upbeat book but I was disappointed.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
X-Men: Grand Design - Second Genesis #1

Jul 28, 2018

If you want a high speed take on the history of the X-Men, either to get up to date on all the happenings if your a new reader or fancy a trip down memory lane, this is a good pick up, but for me, it just didn't click and I won't be coming back for part 2.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
X-Men: Red (2018) #1

Feb 10, 2018

This is a easy recommendation for this weeks releases, its got lots of action and tells a interesting story, which is core to the X-Men origins. This is a huge step up from the "Return of the Jean Grey" series and I'm certainly going to add this into my rotation.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
X-Men: Red (2018) #2

Mar 10, 2018

X-Men Red feels like a traditional X-Men story, it has every thing you'd want and more. It could do with a little more action, but the way they use Jean Grey's powers are smart and get the job done. A solid X-Men issue.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

October

September

More